Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel San Francisco Plaza 4 stars

Degollado 267, 44100 Guadalajara, Mexico

#103 of 166 hotels in Guadalajara

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 325 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.4
    The place is dirty!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the dirtiest hotel we ever seen. My baby's legs got black just a second after crawling on the floor in our room. We asked to change a room and the options where either stink of cigarettes or even dirtiest. We didn't have hot water until we asked the stuff to turn it on. The breakfast doesn't worth the value. The neigborhood is not friendly for toyriats, very poor area.

    The building was beutiful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as clean as I expect, really old towels, we asked for an iron and they have only one for the whole hotel, so I have to wait a lot to have it. Close to dowtown but not in a nice area.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    I’d definitely stay here again.
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The didn’t love the layout of the bathroom. It was hard not to get water everywhere while showering. But that’s a small issue.

    The staff was very friendly. Room service was awesome. Overall it was a clean and comfortable stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    Inexpensive restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a lot of walking to get to upstairs rooms, especially if you use the elevator. Not a good area to walk around in later at night, though there is a significance police presence.

    Inexpensive restaurant. Elegant colonial style with a courtyard. Good value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    8.8
    Very affordable to stay, great location for sight seeing and lots of food options
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right outside the hotel was nothing. A lot of closed businesses with graffiti.

    The location is great because its innthe heart of downtown. You can walk every where. The food and snacks are all near by. The shops are huge and a lot to bring back home. The hotel had a lot of cmmexican culture which I loved. It's not luxurious hotel so mot many amenities available.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    5.4
    Quick overnight stay to fly out in morning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness and upkeep of hotel needs improvement.

    The architecture is great, needs some upkeeping tho. Walking distance to Gdl. centro for site seeing and shopping.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    Really beautiful and extremely affordable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The water in the shower smelled liked sulfur but I do know that has to do more with the plumbing in the city in general. Still wish they could find a way to fix that.

    Super amazing room. Big and I loved the windows to the courtyard. I still can't believe how cheap it was!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Great value and great location to explore Guadalajara.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel echoes a lot so you might hear people walking and talking.

    Great location, comfortable hotel. They have a variety of types of rooms. Our party was made of up three couples and everyone's room was different. Some considerably larger than others.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.2
    Welcome 2018 stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No hot shower on my first night, Receptionist told me that maintenance was working on it. It would be great if the Buffet breakfast would also include eggs served "Sunny side up" or omelette style.

    I love the ambience, architecture, courtyards and cleanliness of the property. Located five blocks to town and three blocks to Calle 16 de Septiembre (Los 2 Templos). Also, Great Wifi signal!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.9
    A clean, updated room in a great location for seeing historic centro with uncomfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a room with one king bed when I made the reservation. However, upon arrival we were shown to a room with two beds. After I 12+hr day of travel I didn't want to deal with it but in hindsight I wish I had. The two beds were TERRIBLE! On both you could feel metal springs coming through the mattress. It felt like sleeping on a box spring. Who knows, maybe we were? ;)

    The hotel was very clean and in a lovely historic building.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.5
    Overall It was fine. A nice big old colonial building. Rooms clean and comfortable. Towels too thin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was 3-4 blocks from center of city. At night I felt a bit uneasy walking alone as I was as you have to pass a few bars on way to hotel.

    Room was large. Bed was comfortable. Quiet room except when construction started at 7 a.m one morning.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay :) we would definitely stay again !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a large historical building with semi outdoor courtyards with tile floors so the noise travels.

    Huge bonus was the restaurant in the lobby. All staff were friendly and very helpful :) The bed was comfy and the extra blankets were nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.1
    I would recommend staying there, although wish they improve their customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Part of the staff that I saw is not what we called “sufficient customer service” they are not very helpfull and somethimes even seem to be mean. Price of the breakfast (need to pay extra) definitely to high 100pesos - in walkable distance you can find many places where you can eat better and for the modest price.

    Hotel is big, beautiful colonial building with great patio. Although people from Guadalajara say that the district is “feito” - which means it is a bad neighbourhood nothing bad has happened - it is very close to the catedral square, it is a really city center - even at night there are a lot of people crossing the streets - so I haven’t felt unsafe at any time. Veeery close from the hotel there are bus stops that can get u to the Tlaquepaque or other interesting points of the city for 7/12pesos.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    The building was kind of neat - it has a couple of interior...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the downside, and a small thing, the pillows were very dense and firm.

    The building was kind of neat - it has a couple of interior courtyards that the rooms open on to. It is in the historic part of town and a short walk to the huge mercado. Our cab driver told us the area was dangerous at night, but we sat out in the little park in front of the hotel at night and were not bothered by anyone.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.8
    This old world hotel is really beautiful inside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet continues to be a challenge in this hotel. Older building and multiple levels I guess create challenges. The internet on my phone seemed to work well but on my laptop it was hit or miss and very frustrating. Friday night there someone was doing some kind of work after 10 p.m. with pounding and drilling. Not the best for trying to get to sleep.

    This old world hotel is really beautiful inside. Great areas for relaxing in the lobby area. Bird cages with a variety of birds to watch. They are remodeling rooms and my room, 105, was very large with all new tile, lighting and outlets.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    2.9
    Grumpy personal, no refund. Avoid it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty, no chances to see room beforehands. We declined staying and asked for our money back, straight refusal from the very grumpy lobby attendant. the hotel building is also in complete reconstruction so expect noise and annoyances..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    5.0
    Not a 4* hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were unclean and the only thing that functioned properly was the lights. The breakfast was terrible, there are bird cages where you eat which stink. This is not a 4 star hotel.

    The courtyards outside of the rooms look nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.3
    i book for 2 days through bookings but only could stay for...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    attention.. i had to ask about the internet.. later ask for a control for the air conditioner both i feel should have come naturally.. i have stayed many times in this hotel.. good location for me..

    i book for 2 days through bookings but only could stay for one.. i think i paid a different rate over 700 p

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    7.5
    Relatively close to Centre and great shopping!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a good neighbourhood to be walking around in at night. Called the red zone whatever that means.

    The morning Buffet Breakfast was very very good. Loved the fresh fruit and fresh omelet & unlimited good coffee!!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    7.1
    Watch out on Saturday night!
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extremely noisy on Saturday night until 3 am with a night club right across the way. Asked for a room away from the street side and was shown a dark hole next to the lobby. They have 100 plus rooms... I think he could have helped us out. Instead we were told that on Sunday it would be quiet. Music went on to midnight from another nearby club.

    The hotel itself is nice and appears recently remodeled in fact some areas were still in progress. Very clean and most of the staff were very very nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    7.9
    Bad wifi but still a good deal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds weren't the best. Bad wifi, very hard to maintain a decent connection. But still a really good deal.

    The location was excellent, right by the Teatro Degollado. Staff was extremely helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    3.3
    Our room was not clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean. Staff not that friendly. We were booked for 3 nights but are leaving after 2 nights.

    Our room was not clean. The hotel is rather run down. The best part is that you can sit on a patio on the roof.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    4.2
    ok location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no windows in the room. It was a bit cold too. People were listening music very loud and partying in the courtyard at 2 am in the morning. Sheets were not clean. No hair dryer in the room we didnt get one even we asked for one.

    ok location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    6.3
    Great location but needs a face lift.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower has a half a door so the water runs out of the shower onto the floor in the bathroom.They are trying there best to modernize the hotel as for us we would probably stay there once all the renovations are done.Still a good value for your money.

    We have stayed many years at this hotel and like the location.They are doing some remodeling which it does need badly.We only ate breakfast at the hotel and it was good as well as our waitress Betty who has been there forever super nice lady.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    6.7
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is realy noisy. The bathroom was old and there was a cockroach in there.

    The location was good. The staff was lovely and helped me to choose my day trip at tequila.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    7.5
    I emailed the hotel to advise them that I would be late...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I emailed the hotel to advise them that I would be late arriving (8 pm)at the hotel,,,my original had said that I would be arriving by 6pm They emailed me back and said that it wasn't guaranteed after 6 pm and that they would cancel me at that time.... I had to telephone them the next day to confirm that they would hold the room for me..and they agreed..but no later than 8pm...they already had my credit card number...I fail to see how this was appropriate behaviour on their part...I contacted them just as a courtesy...It almost made me cancel my trip to Guadalajara..because it is high season and all the hotels were booked.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    5.0
    the air conditioner and the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the rooms were usually not done before 2, the cleaning people probably just did the beds and cleaned the shower so overall the room was dusty, and since we got there, there was a dead roach by the window through out our stay. also when we got there we had no hot water in the sink.

    the air conditioner and the location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful ambiance close to City Center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The closet had a couple small cockroaches in it. The TV had poor reception.

    I liked the furnishings and the comfort of the bed. The gentlemen behind the desk were very nice and helpful as was the bell hop.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Great value for the money in the historic district.
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location. Traditional courtyard. Old world charm. Really good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.3
    Cleanliness, close to the center of town, very pretty lobby,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the bars around it, all the construction and detours.

    Cleanliness, close to the center of town, very pretty lobby, filtered water in the lobby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    I always stay at this Hotel in GDL so I am alway pleased.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Weekend lots of noise due to young travelers.

    The staff and location is wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.9
    Got sick from food at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got sick from food at breakfast. Still have diarrhea. Waiting for results from doctor.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    5.8
    Location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building shook everytime a truck or bus passed by, which was very often.

    Location was great

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.9
    Great location, great value but needs attention.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff unable to provide any tourist information. Hotel could have been cleaner.

    Location and value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Classy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Building itself very nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    Pleasant
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the room need a heat for cold weather

    I like the room and the easy access to the local restaurants and shopping centers

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    We stay here every year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stay here every year. We love it. Our son is now 5 and he always loves talking to the birds in the courtyard.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    8.3
    ----- I will be back ! ----
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was surprised how nice the hotel was , the location is great and it is on a small plaza so there is no traffic noise .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    I will recommend it. Good location everything close. The hotel is great. And the staff are excellen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was. Great the staff was. Really good. And the room excellent...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    8.3
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel in midst of renovations

    Newly renovated. The front desk staff were so helpful & friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    9.2
    very happy with everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing really

    pretty well everthing

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    8.8
    great value for money, friendly staff, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no hairdryer in the whole hotel

    everything

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    9.2
    I really enjoyed my stay here, a classic hotel. You will feel living one century earlier.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staffs were very nice. The Mexican breakfast was very delicious, they had one of the best coffee in town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    8.3
    Good value for an interesting place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Front desk people never smile.

    Walking distance of Centro Historico. Rooms are clean, good size , beautiful ancient furniture.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    9.6
    Step back in time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If room is on street side can be noisy

    Beautiful colonial building with many courtyards. Staff are wonderful especially the bellboys or men.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    2.5
    no good
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everyteen

    everyteen

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    7.5
    Great . Just what I need it, Clean and easy place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All good

    Great Location. You get what you pay

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    5.4
    The building is amazing althoug it is old and hence it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The rooms are very aged and are in desperate need of renovation. Bathroom was moldy and the vibrations from traffic was a bir annoying. Day reception staff was not friendly. However, night reception staff was pretry good.

    The building is amazing althoug it is old and hence it vibrates with traffic. The inner patios are fantastic. The fountains are beautiful, but they make a noise (water and pump), so not ideal for late sleepers.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    9.2
    I really like the hotel, the location , the room and ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The only thing is the bed was really hard.

    I really like the hotel, the location , the room and one thing that I like is that they serve breakfast in the court yard beatiful !

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    7.9
    We loved the convenience of the hotel being central to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The building had a lot of architectural interest but could be updated in places where the building was deteriorating such as the bathroom vanities. Wall Painting could be more exact with less drips and the central courtyard needed a basic wash down.

    We loved the convenience of the hotel being central to the old downtown district. The building itself had a lot of history and some very interesting architecture. Our room was clean and the leather seating in the courtyard was nice, as that is where the computer WiFi worked the best. I liked the fountain and the birds in their cages.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    9.6
    Our room was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    First room was moldy. They moved us into an excellent room. Pillows to big but I did bring my own.

    Our room was great. The staff were wonderful. Good location.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    5.4
    Staff was pretty welcome and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No hot water at all in the shower. No power for water. Very cold in the room and no way to make warmer (no heater and the door has ventilation holes in it right to the street, which you can not close).

    Staff was pretty welcome and nice. Very good location 5 minutes walk to most beautiful places of Centro

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    7.5
    This is a nice older hotel with a personable staff and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was a small leak from the toilet that kept the bathroom floor wet. We didn't complain so don't know what the response would have been but we liked our room.

    This is a nice older hotel with a personable staff and good location. I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone. They have a good restaurant and serve an excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    7.5
    It's located in the center of the historical section of...
    • Couple

    The hotel is definitely in need of updating and maintenance. At one time it would have been a palace. The beds are too soft, an unusual thing for Mexico where' it's usually the exact opposite. They will give you a front street room if it's available. These are very large rooms, huge, with french doors opening out on to balconies. They are really nice, but don't do it if you are a light sleeper!!! The traffic noise is unbearable, the noise from the bar across the street is unbearable, and being serenaded by some street person at four in the morning isn't much fun. I considered throwing a shoe at him. After one night I requested another room and was happy for the rest of my two week stay

    It's located in the center of the historical section of Guadalajara. The staff, especially the front desk staff, are exceptionally pleasant. All of the front desk staff spoke very good English. A good cooked breakfast is available as well as a hot buffet in the morning. I only tried the breakfast so I can't speak to lunch and dinner. The rooms are very spacious! Arena Coliseo is within a short walk if you want to attend a Lucha Libre (Masked Mexican Wrestling) show. I love Lucha Libre and it's one of the reasons I chose this hotel. The front desk atrium fountains and caged birds are really charming with it's wide open space and colonial atmosphere, Parking is off-site by about a block at a neighboring hotel's lot. It can accommodate large vehicles. I was driving my full size Bronco. The lot is attended 24 hours a day and is safe.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    8.8
    Nice hotel, good location and good value for your money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I asked for a quiet room, but we got a room with windows to the street and it was quite noisy. We were also forced to keep the window open because the room had a very strong disinfect smell when we first went in but luckily it didn't give me a headache. Wi-fi was iffy. Overall was mighty pleased with the place.

    Nice hotel, good location and good value for your money. I loved the style of the hotel, all the tiles and plants; very beautiful. Extremely beautiful courtyards to relax in. They had good buffet breakfast and the restaurant had good food as well. Staff was great, friendly and helpful. This isn't a luxury hotel by any means, but we liked it.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    5.4
    With some work, this could be a lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My bathroom floor was soaked, the toilet tank was only half full and did not flush properly. One of the staff asked me too many personal questions and was too too friendly, inappropriately so. They offered to change my room but I chose to change hotels.

    With some work, this could be a lovely hotel. The restaurant staff was good.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    7.1
    Big room, nice building, location is in the historic place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Far from from the nicest places of GDL, traffic to move from historic zone. No internet in all rooms

    Big room, nice building, location is in the historic place

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    10
    I love everything about this hotel except no wifi in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No wifi in the room. I had to spend way too much time in the lobby.

    I love everything about this hotel except no wifi in the room. The location is ideal, it's historic and quiet, the staff is great, the restaurant is good and not too expensive, close to everything.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    8.3
    The hotel is in a wonderful old building, one that reminds...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Make sure you don't get one of the windowless rooms. We were first given one such room, but changed rooms the next day and the staff was very accommodating. The building is old, and so unavoidably some maintenance is always being done.

    The hotel is in a wonderful old building, one that reminds you of the past. With statutes and green plants in the foyer and hallways, it gives you a splendid taste of the old world. The location is fantastic, the breakfast that is offered tasty and fulfilling, and the staff is friendly.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    5.8
    Location was great, easy walking to historic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Facility is very old. Showers have only a trickle of water. We had to change rooms because toilet kept backing up. Our friends had same problem with theirs. Bathrooms really need updating. Overall, probably would not return here but for the $ it was ok.

    Location was great, easy walking to historic. Quiet street. When we had issue with toilet, staff moved us immediately. Common areas are very nice and decorated well.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    6.7
    The courtyard is, indeed, relaxing and attractive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    As others have posted, the wifi is terrible. After about 8 in the morning, it is slow. After 9 p. m. it is useless, even in the lobby. The hot water tap in my bathroom leaked and pressure was low. Shower ran hot and cold without touching anything.

    The courtyard is, indeed, relaxing and attractive. Rooms are spacious and, although the immediate area is a bit shady, it is well located to the major sites and action.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    7.9
    The location was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The water pressure of the shower was practically non-existent. It was noisy at times, sometimes street noise, which couldn't be avoided, but sometimes noise from partiers who were coming into the hotel at very late/early hours. I thought it was a little pricey, at least for Mexico.

    The location was very good. The staff was attentive and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    7.1
    Beautiful interior and nice big bed in a nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The drains were old so when it rained, they smelt and tiny cockroaches came up to wander about. Also the room was SO noisy with every sound from the lobby and restaurant bouncing about all day and night.

    Beautiful interior and nice big bed in a nice room. The bedroom was lovely and clean and, we felt, good value for what we paid.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    7.5
    Location was convenient to the historic district and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The front desk staff seemed to be uninterested in assisting guests.

    Location was convenient to the historic district and the housekeeping staff were quite friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    6.0
    I was happy with the internet connection, and the exterior...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was very unhappy with the first room they gave me (dirty bathtub) and then with the size (miniscule) and smell (overpowering cleaner) of the second room but then they gave me a very nice room. Wondered why I had to push for it/

    I was happy with the internet connection, and the exterior and the lobby are quite pretty

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    10
    Apart from the hotel looking amazing, what I appreciated the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I stayed in room 205, lovely room but wifi reception was not that great. However the hotel had many lounges with great wifi.

    Apart from the hotel looking amazing, what I appreciated the most during my stay was the nice and very helpful staff. Abraham at reception can sort out everything for you (which is very helpful when youre a non-soanish speaker like myself).

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2015

    8.8
    The hotel lobby and dining room were beautiful and were full...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You had to go to the lobby for WiFi. The food was not very good. You had to know which direction to head out from the hotel, as it was close to the good and the bad of Guadalajara. La Cucaracha.

    The hotel lobby and dining room were beautiful and were full of the sounds of birds and fountains. The staff were helpful and one waitress, in particular, was a bundle of warmth. The location was only about a block away from Historico Centro.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    9.6
    Attentive staff, indoor patios with parakeets and plants and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-fi was very slow. At about 5 pm it was virtually unusable, perhaps because many others were online as well?

    Attentive staff, indoor patios with parakeets and plants and places to sit. Dining room with real linen tablecloths, nice breakfast buffet.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    9.6
    Staff was very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    9.2
    Staff was especially helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Staff was especially helpful and friendly

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    8.8
    Staff extra helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WifFi often overloaded

    Staff extra helpfull

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    8.8
    I have reviewed this one previously.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I have reviewed this one previously.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds are hard and pillows lumpy

    Location

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    5.4
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Towels were not clean bathroom is a mess when shower is used breakfast was poor and low service quality

    location

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    6.9
    Abraham, dining staff, comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room 208. You know how noisy it is already.

    Abraham, dining staff, comfy bed

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel San Francisco Plaza traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: