Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort 5 stars

Retorno del Rey Mza 53 Lote 37 1 Sec A Km 14, 77500 Cancún, Mexico

#23 of 161 hotels in Cancún

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 409 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wow. Where to start... At the beginning. We arrived at Cancun airport and had organised a transfer through the hotel, which is a 3rd party provider Seek&Go (separate note, I had to send through 3 emails with ALL of our travel details to organise this). After all that when we arrived at 11pm after a 1 hour flight delay, they weren't there. Company has bright green shirts, there were only about 20 people waiting for transfers, we showed our reservation confirmation around and the other providers said they weren't there. We waited 20 minutes and then got a cab (same price anyway). Arrived at Sandos near midnight to a lobby that looks like it hasn't been touched since the early 2000s, is as other reviewers have said un-airconditioned, and smells a bit like a musty poolside locker room. The lobby bar was very rowdy which makes sense because you would need to drink a lot here to make spending all that money bearable. We voiced our displeasure at being left stranded at the airport to which the guy on night shift was somewhat apologetic. He said he couldn't do anything about it and that we could meet with Seek&Go at 9am the next morning to explain to them what had happened. We were over it so that seemed fine. We were then checked into our "Deluxe Room" which advertises partial sea views. See photo below. We headed straight back downstairs to which the guy on reception agreed that it was terrible, and there was nothing that could be done until 9am the next morning as there were no other rooms (I checked, they did appear to be booked out). Additionally, we had asked for a king (it was our honeymoon) and we got two queens. After a horrible night's sleep (the room and linens smelt and were slightly damp - I had to grab a towel from the bathroom to put it over the pillow in order to sleep), we went down for breakfast at 7 hoping for some redemption. Breakfast was depressing.

    Location was fine. Room was really quiet despite noise from downstairs. The airconditioning in the room worked. Wi-fi worked. To give staff some credit (see below) they did allow us to check out and only pay for the 1 night. In theory we could have been charged for the full 5. Once we voiced our concerns to the lady at reception on day shift they did offer us a room upgrade (which must be what other people have taken to keep quiet) and she was very apologetic on this front.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Since the weather was not the best, we decided to spend one day at the spa. We booked 6 massages and was hoping to spend time in the sauna and whirlpool. Both were not available because they were not working. One afternoon, We sat on the patio outside the bar watching the ocean and saw that they had speakers out there. We asked if they could play music for us, but they said they were not working. The Tennis court was also not open because it was under repair. We were hoping there was a hot tub on the resort, but there wasn't.

    The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The food was really good. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. I also liked seeing several security around the property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All their amenities were not working. The jacuzzi, the steam room, the speakers for the patio. The roof was falling through in several areas because of water dripping/leaking through. We came on a week that it rained the entire time so to not have these amenities was definitely a disappointment.

    The actual rooms were lovely. Clean and comfortable! The food was delicious!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pools were awesome but there was no bar service out there or music. Speakers weren’t working. Spa services such as jacuzzi, steam room, etc were not working.

    The location was great. The pools were awesome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning in the room was TERRIBLE. The worst I've ever experienced. It never got cold and kept our room FULL of moisture. Everything was damp All.the. time. I'm sure they will be having a serious mold issue soon because of this. Also, the restaurants were never all open at the time. On the last night we planned to go to the Mexican buffet but they closed it because they said the hotel was under 60% capacity. Very unfair considering we paid the full rate. All the restaurants should be opened as advertised. Lastly, the pool needs a better filtering system. There were little debris in and around the pool that really bothered me. All the cabanas near the pool and ocean need option for covering so it's not just direct sunlight beaming down.

    The location was great, pool area and beach front cabanas were nice and convenient. Gorgeous layout.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everywhere you seem to be trying to please you just to give them a tip even though you've already paid for it. If you do not leave a tip they are insulted. The room service does not offer almost anything and in fact comes to a situation where you will not want to order anything. We also discovered that a large part of the room service is not even available even if you paid for all inclusive and for this you have to pay much more.

    The room is clean, the staff are very nice and helpful, the restaurants are good except for the afternoon restaurant by the pool. The hotel with the pool and the beach are really beautiful, the single gym is well equipped and large. Be fun and worth the money! There is no need for another hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff went out of their way to assist with making it our best stay! At first we had some issues regarding food and service but we would like to specifically say a huge thank you to Grisel in concierge, to head chef Guido, and to Abel & Gonzalo in the restaurant for their incredible hospitality and food and making it a memorable last day for us!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel it’s a bit old but everything is functioning just fine. The room on the sides of the building still gets to see the ocean but just not as perfect.

    The staff were all really nice, and the food was really good. We even got champagne and a rose at welcome check in. There was enough beds on the beach and no waits for food. There was refills of our fridge/mini bar every day, and the room service was great too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The facilities are not in great condition. The air conditioner in our first room was not working so we had to change a room(the changing process was pretty smooth though). The safety box in our second room had several buttons not functioning. Also the seaweed is a pain if you like to swim in the sea.

    Very friendly and responsive staff. Some of the night shows at bar were very nice(Mexican show, Spanish music etc.) Food is good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was no liquor provided in our fridge and we never got our bottle of wine.

    I enjoyed the how the meals were cooked and the freshness. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were fluffy and soft.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was very disappointing. Restaurants were not good, drinks were not carefully made, beer was not cold. It seems like it used to be a good hotel but right now is losing its charm. Besides that I had booked a transfer to the airport with SEEK AND GO the company that the hotel has a partnership and they were 15 minutes late in my departure, I tried to complain in the lobby and the guys in the front desk kept a "poker face" just like nobody has nothing to do about the subject. I don´t recommend.

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    cocktails are like juices, pepsi totally watered, beach staff slow and not interesting when is no tips

    some staff I liked, three restaurants out of a total of five, view from the Deluxe Room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sandos Suite (3 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They left a new bottle of wine in our room each day. Also, when my wife discovered she had left her cell phone in the room after we had traveled 60 miles away, we called her number and they answered. We were so happy to retrieve the next day! Very Honest and Commendable!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we asked bottle water several times and they don't provide bottle water and we got sick (I and my daughter). we went to emergency room. it happened middle of trips. we stayed hotel room two days for nothing.

    location, people are kind and friendly. food is okay...but water is not okay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room arrangement. We asked to be moved immediately we arrived but they chose not to help us or said that they were unable to do so. Constant music/noise outside from midday to 5.00pm Hot food was rarely served hot.

    Location. Outside pool and restaurant design. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to get up very early to reserve the pool or beach day beds, otherwise by 8am most will be reserved with towels.. sometimes they won’t be used all day until the afternoon which can be frustrating when there are many empty day beds but none available to use. This was to do with the guests though

    Great in-house restaurants with quality food. There were short delays for the restaurants which was great. Amazing staff who accomodate your needs Beautiful rooms and facilities Pool and beach access was fantastic with many day beds and chairs to relax on

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all the restaurants were open every night, they alternate. Only one of the beach front bars was open but that could have been time of year (January). Night time entertainment at bar one was okay but they did it during dinner hours so we missed it many of the nights. If you need to exchange money there at the hotel they gouge you on the exchange rate. If you want to be by the market and downtown area then it's a ways away (bus or taxi) and not any shopping near by. If you want to stay at resort the whole time then it's great. Shower head in room was bad/broken and bed side phone was broken. Room service menu/food was not a good choice. No hard alcohol in the mini fridge, only beer, soda, water. No grab and go snack area which would have been really nice to have on excursion days.

    Awesome cabanas at the pool and on beach front. No reservation needed. First come first serve. Very Friendly staff. You will get a rose and champagne right when you walk thru the door. Bed was very comfortable. Large pool areas x3. The Buffet was great and so was the French restaurant...favorites of the 5 options available. Upon check out we got to stay and use the facilities all day long and use the spa shower to clean up before our flight so we still got to enjoy the day on the beach. Very cool! All in all we would stay there again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the airconditioning of the hotel The Vine in front, made a lot of noise because our room looked upon it; service in dining area was sometimes (not always) slow or without conviction, depends on the waiter. All-in meals were very good, especially great breakfast, but dessert was poor in our opinion (very few choices!)

    beautiful pool area with design furniture; very good meals, esp. great breakfast; remarkable beach front

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Moldy/seaweed odor in main lobby and at 6th floor bar, Brandon at the front desk was rude when we arrived and had a double room for p ur anniversary and he didnt want to place us in a room with a king bed so we had to complain to a manager to get moved to a room with a king bed, older building could use update to air conditionijng system. Would spend more in the future return to Cancun for more luxurious accommodations

    The beach and room beds were comfy, the restaurant Gajin had tasty food and the hibachi experience is entertaining, the water treatment at the spa and moonlight by the beach massage package (Jessica and Angelina worked on my and my husband for 80 minutes deep tissue) as excellent, the Seasons steak house had a really good waiter name William and good food. New Bear's eve celebration with dinner and live entertainment was great! My first all inclusive experience and overall positive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard and quality of food and drinks. Drinks were mainly ready mixes (mojitos etc)and very sugary. Dinner options were plentiful but poor quality food, cheap processed stuff to feed the masses.I was glad to see the back of that food. Fridge in our room didnt work. We asked 3 times to get it fixed and 3 times they claimed that they had.no cold drinks for us.

    Beautiful beach right on your doorstep and fantastic sunbeds on the beach. Service of drinks and food at the beach was included.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I assumed we would have queen beds, the full beds were a little small and I was scared my kids would roll out of bed. Not having a vent in the bathroom made it difficult to dry suits and towels. The beach was rough and had a large "step down" due to the tide pulling on the sand. It was difficult for kids to get close to water. If you want to swim in the ocean, this is not a great place for that. Kids could not get in the ocean due to the large waves.

    Staff, food and drinks were great! Excellent staff! Outdoor lounging areas are gorgeous. Bars & restaurants are very nice and have a good atmosphere.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dust water came out, but receptionist kept saying "It's normal here!". Well, It's NOT normal! Also I made a call for cleaning broken wine glasses around 3pm, but house keeping never came. I made more than 3 calls which always said that they would arrive in 10min but finally they came at 7pm.

    Close to the beach

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    old facility, broken elevator (hot without AC, does not stop on certain floors, too small barely squeeze in 5 people, too slow often have to wait for too long as only one of the three works), bad painting smell inside, bad air circulation, food is really low quality when you stay over 3 days as they repeat the same thing, most soups are too salty,

    the beach and the pool

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish there were tennis courts, they were under construction when I was there so they were not usable. A hot tub would also be nice. The room service was pretty bad food.

    The staff was great a helped with activities to do, and things we shouldn’t miss out on. Very kind and made me feel very comfortable. The resort is also right on the beach which was amazing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only problem was the staff service at the beach, this service was very slow. As well, we had a small issue again with the restaurant from the beach/swimming pool, we ordered our dinner and it never arrived. A part from it, was a great experience!

    The hotel is very nice and the price is super fair. Awesome 3 swimming pools and the bed from the room was amazing! The restroom is super big!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hot tub was broken and has been for some time. the pools were really nice, but unusable after 3 since the shadow from the nearby hotel covered them.

    We enjoyed the food not five star, but not Dinner either. It was good selection with good chefs and plenty of choices. I enjoyed the fake casino night and the ability to pick your own cabana on the beach was relaxing and nice. The hotel wasn't that full so service was never an issue. We found most of the hotel staff to be accommodating except the couple that didn't speak English.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I went for a wedding and let’s just say none of us were satisfied. The staff were friendly but the service was terrible. The food was subpar at best. The entire hotel smells like mildew. They ran out of alcohol and instead of asking what we would like, they made their own substitutions at will. At one point they were serving what we believed to be grain alcohol without saying a word. They were always doing construction or repairs and painting round the clock like they knew something needed to be done, but it was noisy and would wake us up at all hours. I would be hard pressed to go back to Cancun again based upon this visit at this resort.

    The only good thing about this resort was their lunch option at St. Trop. The beach was somewhat nice and so was the pool.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was always full with so many options to choose from, and variety every day. I wish I had gotten a room with a clearer view of the sea but the room was good nonetheless. The room was a little sound porous but it never disturbed my beauty sleep, so I have no complaints. There were 4 restaurants to choose from, my favorite was the Teppanyaki restaurant followed closely by the Seasons. Wonderful atmosphere, friendly staff and clean environment, whatever you do make sure you book a deep tissue massage with Vittorio; Amazing!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The constant time share sale!!! Every day!!!! And the USA Tourists always come first! The Italian Restaurant has never been an Italian Restaurant it is awful!! The rest were fab

    The hotel and staff are wonderful! Nothing was too much trouble and the service was fab

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Following the air-conditioning breaking in the room overnight resulting in water on the floor, down the wall and condensation causing clothing and property to become wet/damp, we raised concerns with concierge. They were rude, went out of their way to find reasons for why the air conditioning breaking was our fault, told us we were lying, did not ask if my friend was ok when I explained she had slipped on the water and hurt herself, spoke in Spanish complaining and criticising us, not realising one of us understood Spanish. It ruined how we viewed our three days with them and they really let down the wider staff who had been really lovely and helpful throughout. I am still so disappointed, it could have easily been resolved in a positive manner. Enjoy your stay here but do not expect any assistance, empathy or help if something goes wrong.

    Room and facilities were lovely and the majority of staff were kind, helpful and made the stay enjoyable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I feel sorry to write this, but it seems I've got a "lemon". Noise from the chiller next to the hotel was awful, you basically can't open the window not feel yourself on the highway. For the 3 days of the stay, room was never cleaned. They made one attempt, but I was in a shower, they never come back. Too bad that overly pleasant experience was ruined with those issues.

    Resort is generally good, you will love the bar, and cocktails. Staff was really attentive. Room was big, and clean when we arrived. Amenities are great as well as restaurants. White sand beach is just in front. Also, 3 big pools. Restaurants are amazing. Food is good and really fresh.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a bit far from the main area. It will cost 9 USD to go to the main area. There is an ATM in the hotel, but you can get only USD, not Pessos. And they take the highest commission that I ever saw - for 20 USD I paid 28.5 USD.

    The service is great! The staff were very helpful and friendly! Good food - really all inclusive. Good gym and spa.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    More trashcans would be beneficial

    Best vacation week in a long time. Staff is exceptional. Everyone is so friendly it's almost unbelievable. Entertainment team is fantastic, especially Ernesto, Eduardo and Adan (Yoga class is a must). Carlos was our server by the pool and really attentive and always with a smile. Samuel made us feel very welcome at the check in. Diana and Melissa (hostesses) at Zango restaurant are sweethearts. Everyone made us feel like at home. Made my birthday a very special day. We were staying in a suite with 2 balconies and 2 bathrooms. Fantastic views. Perfect stay!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bathroom needed some repairs.

    The quality of service was great. They had candy and all the drinks that I wanted in my hotel room. The food was great. They had entertainment every night. the hotel was beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    I regret booking this hotel and I don't suggest it to anyone. Cleanliness is my #1 concern! Followed by non-existing comfort. 5 stars? does not even feel like 3 to me. The rooms are not clean and used glasses and cups are not being replaced daily. The minibar is poor and the AC very loud. The aisles are constantly full of dirty dishes left for a long time out of the rooms, and the disgusting smell that comes with it. We annoyingly hear noises from everywhere: music and people screaming at the pool, drunk people coming back from the clubs at night and the undergoing renovations upstairs. The food is dramatically disappointing from breakfast to dinner. The restaurant staff often forgets to perform simple tasks like bringing spoons with the coffee or serve water when the glasses are empty (as water is nowhere else to be found during meals). The facility is old: a bucket was placed in the gym to hold the water coming from the ceiling. On top of that the staff doesn't really pay attention to abandoned glasses a bit everywhere. The "doctor" did my medication right in the middle of the lobby! To sum up, the price is ridiculously high for the value.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a big deal, and I guess this is common for Mexico, bottled water tasted not great.

    Staff was amazing! Food was excellent, especially in Seasons steak house! Wonderful vacation!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. Really very noisy from conditioner of hotel behind, if you open the window!! there is noisy also in the pool, in the beach, everywere! I will not come back Maybe for someone it's not a problem, but i I had a headache 2. Dress code for the breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was really poor, food had really bad quality, drinks where really bad, the staf was unprofessional, The hole experience was a disappointment I will never comeback to that hotel. Waisted all my money.

    The beach

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was quite satisfactory, except the room was two twin beds not a king size (not romantic!), and my girlfriend and I were disappointed our room did not have a balcony.

    Quarters and bed were quite comfortable, and staff kept quarters clean and resupplied well. Valet car parking was good Most of staff was was courteouse and friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food wasn't that great except for the Japanese restaurant & the Italian food buffet. But hey, I was still satisfied

    The staff was super friendly & catering, the hotel was very clean, & peaceful! I was pleasantly surprised

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel isn't really a five star. The staff working on the restaurants - excluding the Chef - were not prepared to serve well. They have difficulty, for.example, to bring spoons with the coffee, and the service was very slow. There is not enought employees to serve all guests. The hotel provide a luxury optional service to the guests. So, best places at beach or restaurants are reserved to these guest. I was with my pregnant wife at the beach and we stay in a restrict area to those guest, because there isn't enough beach umbrellas (many of them was broken). So, Angel (security) and Ulisses (royal service manager) asked us, in a very unpolite way, to immediately exit the area. I asked them just to call someone to install an umbrellas for us at the other area, and, for my surprise, they didnt do anything, while we spent almost ten minutes waiting for someone to help us, under a strong and hot sun. Our problem was solved only when Diego,( a lifeguard) gentilly stop his job to serve us - it was not his duty, while "Sirs" Angel and Ulisses spent their time in the shadow talking and laughing. Despite these facts, I share my "clean" towel, that this "five" star "resort" offer to us. Disgusting... we spent five days there and we didnt see the pools water has been changed. They just put some chlorine, so the water is dirty. So, my advice: look for others hotels and don't spent your leisure time at sandos, if you won't be desapointed in your vacations.

    Modern Hotel, beautiful instalations and location Nice quality of beverages and delicious breakfast. Front desk attendence was very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Breakfast was good but the menus in all restaurants need variation especially for people staying longer than four days.

    pool area and beach were the best parts of this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The public areas (main lobby, hallways, restaurants, and bar 1) was warm and humid as if air conditioner was not turned on. It seemed all the air conditioning was pumped into the restrooms in the public areas which were very cold. The tile inside and outside of the pool restrooms were slick when wet. The concrete and tile humps at poolside were horrible to lay against. The staff at the spa made a pest of themselves during the week in an attempt to get guests to pay for the spa facilities. Most of the Bar 1 chairs and couches were not comfortable, and mismatched. In general it seemed the facility tried for a upscale fashion appearance and upscale fashion food, but I just did not enjoy.

    The room was very nice and the beds were comfortable. The staff was very helpful and attentive. The bathrooms were very nice and clean. The live entertainment was very good. The bed like cabanas at poolside was nice. The poolside restaurant with the wood fired pizzas were great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    There was a sulpher smell in the bathroom in our room and also in the lobby bathroom. Not sure what it was but heard other guests also complain. I was also not entirely happy with the fact that we had 2 Queen beds instead of a king as requested but this was addressed by staff.

    This was a lovely resort with great entertainment and value for money. Choice of places to eat was fair and mostly good food. The service was great and all the staff were amazing. We loved Yoga with Adamo, the water aerobics and the water volley ball games. Everyday at lunch, there was a cooking show which we enjoyed!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mediocre food, specially for this price. Lack of variety of specialty restaurants for dinner, worst Italian food in my life at the Italian restaurant. Juices in cocktails are the worst posible quality which makes them unbearable. No pool bar. Service at the pool is very intermittent. For this price I'd never ever stay here again. Way better options out there

    Great pools, nice beach, well maintained building and rooms

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I do have to say that the food was okay at most of the restaurants, but the room service could use some improvement. Also, our room was not the cleanest. It looked like someone threw up on the back of our bathroom door and it was never cleaned up.

    The staff was all very friendly and helped make our stay as enjoyable as possible. I loved the activites they had going on around the pool area, especially the water aerobics. Ours instructor Liz was awesome!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is nothing that I did not like.

    what I loved the most was the hospitality. Kudos to Erick from San Tropez bar. Kudos to Esteban and Angel. I feel that the staff is one of the most amazing ones I ever encountered. I cannot wait to go back in February!!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The list is large....very large. I received a response to my question about transportation to the hotel less than 36 hours before my arrival, when I checked my email 24 hours prior to arrival I followed the directions in the email and I was told I needed to reserve 3 days in advance, the email stated I would incur no charges however when I attempted to schedule, I was told I'd incur a fee. This was an anniversary Trip, my husband and I were celebrating 5 years (21 in total) but 5 legally married, my husband requested flower petals, flowers, a "Happy Anniversary" written on our desert plate, nothing was done for us, not even a damn "Happy Anniversary" banner on our door like the photos show. However, the people down our hallway seemed to be celebrating a birthday and were able to have "Happy Birthday" written on a desert dish. My reservation in Cozumel was much cheaper but we went with this place because we were under the impression something special could be done. Room service takes ridiculously long. I ordered 45 minutes before my scheduled departure for an excursion and never received my order which I was told would arrive in less than 30 minutes. Oh, the night before we were scheduled to leave we were approached by someone who said "Every night we offer a discounted rate to the discos, would you like to join us" we were there 4 nights and were never offered this before. Would've been nice the night we arrived. 😒The lighting in the bathroom is beyond horrible. Lots of mirrors but so dim!

    The all inclusive portion of the property was the best part. Meals/drinks, everything included in the stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly, a cologne I had just purchased went missing. When I brought it up to the manager as we were checking out, I was told I would be contacted about it but that never happened. We had a wonderful experience minus this problem. We would like to have returned since we visit Cancun annually, but we're now hesitant about this location.

    Everything! The food, facilities, spa, and activities were great!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You should know the infinity pools are not really infinity looking and the jacouzi did not function while we stayed.

    Food was good and varied. Staff very attentive and nice. The cabanas around the pool and on the beach are a great adition we dis not see in other hotels. The beach is big and spacios considering the amout of people. The hotel isnt too big so you really get a lot of attention from the many staff members and get to know people if you want. Activities were fun ( Casino night, pool&beach vollyball ect. ). Over all good value.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    limited food options as the buffet restaurant wasnt open - so had to stick to the few restaurants within the hotel with limited and the same menu options every day.

    nice pool, excellent beach location, comfortable rooms and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On our first day there was a power outage for almost 4 hours!! nothing worked - no lights, no air condition - NOTHING. It took them almost 2 hours to get the generator to work but he did not supply electricity to the rooms only the loby. The hotel staff was not helpful and did upandt nor explain anything about the situation. When we checked out we were suprised to discover that they charged us fully for the room and did not offer any compensation. This was very dissapointing since they absoultley ruined our first day of the trip. In addition they had a water leak in the hotel lobby and there was a bucket there for the all duration of our stay.

    Overall it's a nice hotel with good variety of choices to eat and drink.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a room with a balcony. The gentleman at the front desk refused to move me from the second floor which it overlooked the patio and the next building wall. I had no view. I spoke with the Manager Edgard that night and he moved me to 7th floor. I was very pleased from the moment forward. My room was super clean, thanks to Elpidio.

    The staff was amazing, Laurencido-was very efficient, Severiano at Zangos treated us well and had a great sense of humor. Mario at Zangos was very efficient also.They deserve extra gratuity, bring some extra cash.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sandos Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was friendly but unhelpful, for instance I needed to cancel transportation and they not only never responded to my multiple emails prior to arrival but insisted I still pay. Food was decent, but either slow or the wrong order. I only had 1 towel in my room, odd considering my daughter was staying with me. Also, NOT child/family friendly, which is fine but just beware if you are considering this location for your family.

    The beach was very nice. The staff was friendly. The location was only 25min from the airport. The overall design of the hotel was nice, clean and modern.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Noise coming from the next hotel air conditioning units and our hotel's compressors was constant. We couldn't hear the ocean because the noise was so loud. In restaurants we had to stand in line (hostess disappeared with the party before us and took extra long time to come back) and were asked each time ( breakfast, lunch and dinner) the following questions: room number, how many people and did we have any food allergies, even at the buffet. These questions about room number and allergies were also repeated by every server at every table, too! The hosting staff really seemed to be disorganized just getting people seated for any meals. The facility needs lots of maintenance. We saw a lot of damage, especially on the outside and the furniture throughout the facility just looked really worn down. Light bulbs were out in almost every fixture throughout the hotel, including the red neon side of the side of the building advertising the name of the hotel. The "A" in Sandos was burnt out. We asked for vodka and tonic at 5pm at the bar and were told that they do not have any tonic. Bartender offered Sprite stated they are the same anyway. They also ran out of cognac and didn't replenish for most of the week. At every dinner there was one red and one white wine to choice from. That's it! The servicing staff was great, they really tried along with the cook staff and especially the buffet and buffet desserts. Fortunately, the food was all fantastic and that took the edge of these other issues. Staff at the reception desk was clueless. We never go an overview of the facility and actually had to ask the receptionist to give us the bracelets. She forgot. This place is designed to recruit people to join the membership. We were constantly harassed to attend seminars etc. For a "5 star" rated property, I am hard pressed to understand how this could be an accurate rating. This was not a 5 star hotel, by a long shot.

    Nice canopy beds near the pools and on the beach. Waiters in all restaurants were very quick, friendly and professional. Hard working people.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A couple of the restaurants were a little noisy, but not bad.

    The restaurants were good and the food and service was super! The facilities were very nice. The balcony behind Bar One was cigar friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Food was mediocre, nothing special. The majority of the rooms do not face the sea, you have a sea view kinda from the corner. Price is rather high, so are the expectations from the hotel when you pay this amount of money. But you get maybe a half from what you expect.

    Polite and helpful personal.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That they closed the a restaurant completely on one of the nights, which seemed a bit cheapskate to us, especially as they had the VIP restaurant open exclusively for those who have/can afford memberships.

    The bed and the view was amazing. It's a little bit of paradise.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initial room was awful. Took a couple hours and some arguing to get the room I thought I was getting when I paid to upgrade. Construction underway was obnoxious.

    Great beach. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the construction/ renovation that is going on is very loud and will continue for the entirety of our stay. I am being told that I cannot switch rooms until Saturday. Had I known that the property was undergoing construction I would have never booked this resort.

    The staff is very friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The new Vine Hotel is way too close and as a result of it, the rooms further away from the seaside facing this new hotel are really noisy, you can´t open the window. Also the area by the tennis courts and upper pool is extremely noisy. We were very unhappy when we arrived but the hotel staff found better rooms facing the other side and closer to the seaside. After that change we were happy and really enjoyed our stay.

    The beds were really comfortable and rooms were clean and had a great view. Staff was nice and helpful. Beach is clean, water incredibly blue and warm. We liked the location, its not too busy. Size of the hotel is nice, you dont get this big factory feeling. There were no mosquitos and there are great restaurants in the vicinity.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurants and amenities for this hotel were definitely not 5 star and well below value for money. The food was really poor with little choice of restaurants and the food that was served was not always fresh or poor (tough) cuts of meat and bread stale every morning at breakfast

    Rooms and accommodations were nice and clean. Staff by the pool were attentive and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a terrible smell of bleach around the bed and the smell from the bathroom smelt like someone had smoked a Cuban cigar prior to my stay. The worst part was the noise coming from the exterior extractors running 24/7 from the neighbouring property "Secrets".

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wish our room faced the ocean- not just to the side. Sound of air conditoning units from Secrets nextdoor.

    Very nice location- easy to get to from airport and close to other attractions. Fun activities organized each each day and all of the staff went out of their way to make our stay fun, - even learning our names! Food at the restaurants was very good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The showers could be better

    Everything was great! It was our first time in Cancun, but for the price-benefit we think Sandos was the best choice, we found it to be one of the smallest hotels in the area, but for us it was a good thing since it wasn't so crowded and it was very easy to get tables at the restaurants and beds by the pool (which was very good, big pools with an excellent view of the beach). The staff was very friendly, they always had events planned for the entire day, like volleyball and cooking lessons by the beach, so it's impossible for you to get bored. The food (especially at the St Trop and at the Seasons restaurants) was excellent and they also had a big variety of delicious drinks. The room was great, very good in size and the bed was the most comfortable ever!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes we had to ask twice for things , but they are such lovely hard working people that really didn't bother us too much .

    The amazing unforgettable welcome we received , and from that moment on how much they care that your stay with them Is perfect. The best hotel we have ever stayed in .

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything! We received a free upgrade to a junior suite, and it was gorgeous. All of the furniture was comfy and it felt very homey. The bed was comfortable, the balconies had great views, the staff was wonderful, and the food was good. Nothing to complain about here! We will definitely return if we go back to cancun.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We initially get the twin bed as the bed choice wasn't send from Booking.However,we were offered to join the beds as we wanted to have the room close to our friends room.Or change the room the next day.Which was proptly done.

    This place made my holiday!The staff is really nice,attentive,there for you. On my birthday, I get a bottle of champagne in my room.Actually, first time that the hotel acknowledged.Huge birthday wishes sight drawed in the beach sand. We fell in love with the pool and beach at the first glance. Great gym. We loved the food - healthy options like fresh veg and fruit juices, all different kinds of seeds.Non stop champagne and tequila anytime.😍😃 Perfect place just to get pampered and relax

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The St trop bar on the beach was closed and being refurbished. This meant that there was no easy food outside, also they were making a lot of noise. The "LUXURY" hotel also found strange times to clean, normally 7 in the morning. This made holiday lay ins impossible

    Staff were great and friendly, beach location perfect.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to physically go to the concierge desk to make reservations. Voucher for taxi to the airport wasn't actually a voucher, more like a ticket that you didn't pay for yet.

    Food was excellent! The Resort was very well kept and the concierge desk was more than accommodating! Overall grounds were very clean. Very very reasonable in price! Highly recommend for couples or even a group of friends to just go and have a few days off the grid.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything - the staff were very kind and helpful, food was excellent and diverse, the room and its facilities, the pool, the access to the beach - all was just what we wanted

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    the view from our room and the constant noise of Air conditioning & ventilation equipment.

    The Staff, were all lovely. Helpful and cheerful they could not do enough for you very impressed.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Sandos is a quick ride from Cancun Airport. We were in the water before we knew it! The size of the hotel was perfect. It's a small hotel geared to adults. It was real easy to get around, not crowded in any one area, and offered a variety of restaurants. St Trop, the outdoor eating area by the pool offers great oven pizzas and ceviche among a variety of other items. Everything we had was excellent! Wendy and Luis were great! We met Luis the very first day and always made a point of checking in with us. We met Wendy at the beach and she delivered us outstanding service as well. The two of them were remarkable. The activities staff were engaging and very pleasant. Adam, Veronica, Liz and Pamela invited you to participate in a variety of scheduled activities, if you were interested they welcomed you and got to know you. If you were not interested they respected your choice. A real friendly and genuine group. Beach location was terrific. You can walk for miles in either direction if you want to. The sea was a times rough but tamer at other times. Always waves though. Lots of people in the water. Just be on guard as it can change pretty quickly. Sandos had a nice soft sandy bottom. We found the bottom just a few hotels down wasn't so nice, more "shelly" and tougher to your feet. The Spa service was top notch! Sandy and Felicita were terrific and Jose Luis serviced us wonderfully! Thank you Sandos for wonderful stay! We'll be back!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Noise from air condition outside.

    Room, view, friendly staff, pool, beach, food, everything:)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor lighting

    Lots of activities and not as crowded as other hotels in cancun

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: