Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Mexico hotel reviews
  3. Quintana Roo hotel reviews
  4. Cancún hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort

Reviews of Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Retorno del Rey Mza 53 Lote 37 1 Sec A Km 14, 77500 Cancún, Mexico

#38 of 197 hotels in Cancún

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 532 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    7.1
    Beach and pool were nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Steakhouse restaurant served very poor food, frozen vegetables not cooked properly, poor cuts of meat, decor from the 1990s. Breakfast buffet - most of the “hot” foods were cold. Milk not cold for cereals. Very disappointed with the food in general, actually resorted to eating out in restaurants in Cancun to avoid the poor food.

    Beach and pool were nice Staff friendly

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    7.1
    No hot water during the day 3 days in a row is unacceptable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food and service quality of gone down, staff not as friendly food not as good as before.

    No hot water during the day 3 days in a row is unacceptable. Both service and food quality have gone down since 2 years ago. We revisited because we loved it. But after this time around, we doubt we will recommend it to anyone. :(:(:(

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    5.8
    Location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First day there we where hassled by staff trying to sell us vacation packages told him numerous times I was not interested and they continue to harass us the first two days. Food was just OK our last day there we had no hot water. the Jacuzzi was not working neither where most of the waterfalls at the pool.

    Location was good. Poolside and beach side service was great

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    8.8
    OK but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very aggressive way to sell "elite" package when you just arrive and you would just like to rest from your trip. Room not ready, even after normal check-in time (3:00PM). Three days to fix water (one day hot, one day cold). Not that much choice for food, compared to other facilities in the area, especially considering the price.

    Staff ran the extra mile to please.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2018

    7.9
    All inclusive
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food at the steakhouse was meh, as well as the service. Also we when we ate at the steakhouse we were pressured to purchase a bottle of wine which was confusing to us. Then the process for signing for the bottle was very awkward, the hostess asked us for our room number multiple times and returned to even check the number inside of our wrist band. A very strange experience.

    The bed was very comfortable, very nice pool and the gym was awesome. The buffet had the best option for meals. Check in and check out was super easy and the front desk staff was great.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    7.1
    We made it fun!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is definitely not of the same quality as other lifestyle resorts I’ve stayed at. Really didn’t like the food only the hibachi restaurant. They were doing construction/fixing a room next to us late in the evening. Room only thoroughly cleaned the first few days but towards the end they didn’t even really bother. You definitely get what you pay for. Spend a little more for better quality and food.

    Most of the staff was very helpful. We had a nice view from our room.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    10
    Staff are amazing and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sometimes the food needed to be warmer. We were on the Penthouse floor and the party nights held on same floor were a bit too noisy to be held on the same floor as guests sleeping.

    Staff are amazing and helpful. The food was very good in the main Hotel is clean great hotel would definitely stay here again. One of our favourite hotels.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    8.3
    I thought it was a good value for the money spent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Sandos Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Evening shows were a bit cheesy, but I did enjoy the champagne evening with the bartender show and magician.

    Cabana and chaise availability was good. The food was generally very good with good presentation.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    10
    I loved the people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food choices. The restaurants were open on different nights so you could potentially miss one. We didn't get to go to the steakhouse because it was closed on Saturday.

    I loved the people!!! Especially Manuel!! He is amazing!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    10
    Best resort experience ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything at the resort was perfect. Unfortunately it rained most of the time we were there. Not their fault but still dissapointing

    The food was incredible, all inclusive really means all inclusive. The room, bed, showers etc. We're perfect. They seem to have thought of every detail and I was very impressed. The staff were the friendliest and most efficient of any place I have ever stayed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    10
    Everyone was so nice and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Everyone was so nice and helpful! Amazing room, food, and service. Every single server took care of you! Great parties and music. I will be definitely coming back again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    10
    Fantastic staffs, I love everything about this hotel - from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fantastic staffs, I love everything about this hotel - from food, to hotel entertainments to the drinks served to the comfort of the rooms. I will definitely will be coming back

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    9.2
    Amazing Stay. Amazing Resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Honestly, there weren't too many things that we didn't like about the resort. The quality of the food from room service wasn't great, but it was sufficient enough. And like I stated previously, it wasn't the fault of the resort, but an entire family showed up to Ganji (Hibachi spot) and basically ate everything off menu. It inconvenienced the rest of us and set us back 30 mins (also because they showed up late.) The reservation typically lasts an hour. And one of the staff members who were waiting in the restaurant (Ganji) the night before saw us standing there, and completely ignored us. We just wanted to ask about reservations for the following night, but instead got the door closed on us like we wanted to stand there and watch the show from in the hallway. Our AC started leaking as well, but that was taken care of as soon as we mentioned it to the staff.

    The stay here was amazing! We had an awesome time with the help of the staff. Paris, Ernesto, Maya, and Estaban (Chef) were all friendly, professional, and kept a smile on their faces. The room was clean and always stocked. The restaurants were pleasant to eat at. There was plenty of food choices and they made sure to ask if you had any allergies beforehand. The Hibachi spot was our favorite! I understand it's an all inclusive resort, but it's only courteous and fair to tip the people who are waiting your tables. It doesn't have to be an substantial amount each and every time, but leaving something there for the people taking care of you is the right thing to do. There were little things we had to deal with that was out of the resorts control, but other than those things, everything went well. Room service was available whenever needed. The pools were never overcrowded.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    8.3
    Good place to relax and to enjoy good food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fact that Booking.com never sent our reservation details to the hotel ruined what could have been an excellent experience! The hotel was not ready for us, they gave us the wrong room, we were not provided with all the details upon arrival, we were asked to come back at 5:00 PM and even then they gave us the wrong room! It wasn’t until the next day at 3:00 PM that we were given the right room. They were very kind and apologetic, but this is something we were not expecting on the last few days of our trip in Mexico. Furthermore, there are some areas of the hotel which need a quick upgrade and replace! Furniture, elevators, tennis courts, and rooms! Finally, we were never able to go for a swim at the hotel’s beach! :( they did a great job cleaning the alghe (sargazo), but the sea was always wild in that area!! :( we took a bus for 20 minutes and we were able to enjoy a nice beach on the same coast!! Probably not the hotel’s fault, but it was not nice that in order to enjoy a nice beach you had to go somewhere else!

    We love the location of the hotel since we didn’t have a car in Cancun. Also, the variety of food offered in each restaurant was like an adventure every time we were getting ready to eat. Food was fresh and delicious, especially the one from the morning buffet breakfast and the japanese restaurant. We loved Efrain, our chef!!! :) the pool ambience and the daily entertainment was really nice! The staff around the hotel is very friendly and efficient!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2018

    5.0
    I think I would have gotten more for my money in a different hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Customer service was not that good. Food was about a C-. Problems with AC in dinning area every single day it was hot and uncomfortable. Only 1 pool towel a day. Dishonest front desk.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    9.2
    Just got from a week vacation, we had a great time food,...
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just got from a week vacation, we had a great time food, drinks,friendly staff, helpful with tours, i like that its in a great location ! Easy to get pretty much everywhere!Definitely recommend!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    8.8
    Quaint boutique hotel in the Spanish countryside.
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We did not get the double bed we requested - strange to have single beds at a hotel clearly geared for couples.

    Lovely boutique hotel in the Spanish country side. Close to the beach by car and also has a nice pool area. Friendy, super helpful staff. Continental breakfast was served in a beautiful, bright room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    8.8
    Sandos was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Liked it all. Only thing i would add is probably some charging ports around the pool area

    The Staff was awesome, very accommodating and went out of their way to ensure you are having fun on your vacation. And the food was just simply amazing every time I ate at a new restaurant it became my favourite meal.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2018

    10
    Excellent Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff was great and very accommodating. The pools are great. Lot of choices for food. The entertainment team had a lot of activities and events available on-site. The hotel was nice and clean, the wifi was great! We had a couple of issues with the amenities in our room (our safety lock ran out of battery and our AC was leaking) but the staff fixed it right away. Great place if your looking for a quiet and relaxing hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2018

    6.3
    Hotel needs updates! Do more research.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It looks nice on photography but the property’s is old. They are not as tidy as they should be. Overnight towles were every where by the pool area. The staff did not pick them up from the day before. Our fridge was not restocked each day. They had a leaking ceiling in the main lobby for days, which made the lobby very messy and hot. Sandos could be so much better if they tighten up on there property.

    You get what you pay for

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    7.1
    Great location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too many rules. It’s a beach resort but can’t wear a vest to breakfast. Booked all inclusive but no coffee after 11pm, ordered room service but no pancakes for kids in the morning, same choice of food everyday at lunch & no fresh fruit juices during the day.

    Great location and friendly staff. Ricardo was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    4.6
    The city is beautiful, but the cost/benefit of the resort do not worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It is a all inclusive resort and the frequency that they serve beverages are very poor, the resort was not crowded and my perception is that there were lack of staff to cover the demands and consequently took to much time to serve the meals and provide a better service as is supposed to have in an all inclusive resort. The room cleanliness and pools were terrible. :(((((((

    The staff is very good and supportive. They are always smiling and ready to help.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel, amazing staff and an overall great experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing hotel, amazing staff and an overall great experience! Can’t wait to come back again.. the Japanese Resturant was quite a show and the staff around the pool / beach bringing drinks & food were very attentive and super friendly!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    9.6
    Great resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beaches and all the seaweed, but apparently this is just how it as this time of year :) (Choose the time of year you go :)

    Great staff, super friendly and great mix of entertainment

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    10
    It was a very good first vacation, the only real problem I had was my rings missing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like the pool side service. The staff allowed some people to move our things when we got up early to reserve the pool beds even though they didnt allow us to move people's things and there was a female staff who wore a baseball cap who absolutely refused to wait on my sister's and I. And most importantly I had three very important rings disappear and did not get them back nor have I heard anything about them.

    I absolutely loved the staff..everyone was pleasant and extremely welcoming. The concierge Lucero was amazing any thing we needed she made sure to help us with she made us feel very welcome! Matthew Pauley was also amazing he also assisted us when needed. And went above and beyond to make our vacation great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    7.9
    First time to go on vacation, so learning experience for me it was overall ok because of staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sandos Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No hot sauce for breakfast, no pool bar, reservations for dinner, small dress code in asterisk on bottom of daily flyer, lack of information such as trasnportaion or sight seeing. No one said which bus goes where what average price for trips was and how much I can save on bus versus taxi, which taxi companies are a ripoff, where not to go, what not to do, etc

    Staff friendly. View excellent, restraunts lacking flavor but staff made up for that with personality

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    10
    It was rainy season so I did not get to spend time at the beach but Sandos was worth the trip.
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was pleased there really wasn't anything that I didn't like

    The staff were very professional and polite. The facility is kept nice and clean and despite the bad weather when I was there the entertainment crew really made the stay worth while.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    3.3
    The best moment was walking out the door
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wow. Where to start... At the beginning. We arrived at Cancun airport and had organised a transfer through the hotel, which is a 3rd party provider Seek&Go (separate note, I had to send through 3 emails with ALL of our travel details to organise this). After all that when we arrived at 11pm after a 1 hour flight delay, they weren't there. Company has bright green shirts, there were only about 20 people waiting for transfers, we showed our reservation confirmation around and the other providers said they weren't there. We waited 20 minutes and then got a cab (same price anyway). Arrived at Sandos near midnight to a lobby that looks like it hasn't been touched since the early 2000s, is as other reviewers have said un-airconditioned, and smells a bit like a musty poolside locker room. The lobby bar was very rowdy which makes sense because you would need to drink a lot here to make spending all that money bearable. We voiced our displeasure at being left stranded at the airport to which the guy on night shift was somewhat apologetic. He said he couldn't do anything about it and that we could meet with Seek&Go at 9am the next morning to explain to them what had happened. We were over it so that seemed fine. We were then checked into our "Deluxe Room" which advertises partial sea views. See photo below. We headed straight back downstairs to which the guy on reception agreed that it was terrible, and there was nothing that could be done until 9am the next morning as there were no other rooms (I checked, they did appear to be booked out). Additionally, we had asked for a king (it was our honeymoon) and we got two queens. After a horrible night's sleep (the room and linens smelt and were slightly damp - I had to grab a towel from the bathroom to put it over the pillow in order to sleep), we went down for breakfast at 7 hoping for some redemption. Breakfast was depressing.

    Location was fine. Room was really quiet despite noise from downstairs. The airconditioning in the room worked. Wi-fi worked. To give staff some credit (see below) they did allow us to check out and only pay for the 1 night. In theory we could have been charged for the full 5. Once we voiced our concerns to the lady at reception on day shift they did offer us a room upgrade (which must be what other people have taken to keep quiet) and she was very apologetic on this front.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    6.7
    The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Since the weather was not the best, we decided to spend one day at the spa. We booked 6 massages and was hoping to spend time in the sauna and whirlpool. Both were not available because they were not working. One afternoon, We sat on the patio outside the bar watching the ocean and saw that they had speakers out there. We asked if they could play music for us, but they said they were not working. The Tennis court was also not open because it was under repair. We were hoping there was a hot tub on the resort, but there wasn't.

    The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The food was really good. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. I also liked seeing several security around the property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    6.7
    Amenities not working!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All their amenities were not working. The jacuzzi, the steam room, the speakers for the patio. The roof was falling through in several areas because of water dripping/leaking through. We came on a week that it rained the entire time so to not have these amenities was definitely a disappointment.

    The actual rooms were lovely. Clean and comfortable! The food was delicious!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    7.1
    Good location..facilities not working.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pools were awesome but there was no bar service out there or music. Speakers weren’t working. Spa services such as jacuzzi, steam room, etc were not working.

    The location was great. The pools were awesome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    5.4
    The location was great, pool area and beach front cabanas...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The air conditioning in the room was TERRIBLE. The worst I've ever experienced. It never got cold and kept our room FULL of moisture. Everything was damp All.the. time. I'm sure they will be having a serious mold issue soon because of this. Also, the restaurants were never all open at the time. On the last night we planned to go to the Mexican buffet but they closed it because they said the hotel was under 60% capacity. Very unfair considering we paid the full rate. All the restaurants should be opened as advertised. Lastly, the pool needs a better filtering system. There were little debris in and around the pool that really bothered me. All the cabanas near the pool and ocean need option for covering so it's not just direct sunlight beaming down.

    The location was great, pool area and beach front cabanas were nice and convenient. Gorgeous layout.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    8.8
    The hotel was excellent and we would love to go back there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everywhere you seem to be trying to please you just to give them a tip even though you've already paid for it. If you do not leave a tip they are insulted. The room service does not offer almost anything and in fact comes to a situation where you will not want to order anything. We also discovered that a large part of the room service is not even available even if you paid for all inclusive and for this you have to pay much more.

    The room is clean, the staff are very nice and helpful, the restaurants are good except for the afternoon restaurant by the pool. The hotel with the pool and the beach are really beautiful, the single gym is well equipped and large. Be fun and worth the money! There is no need for another hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2018

    7.5
    Great hospitality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff went out of their way to assist with making it our best stay! At first we had some issues regarding food and service but we would like to specifically say a huge thank you to Grisel in concierge, to head chef Guido, and to Abel & Gonzalo in the restaurant for their incredible hospitality and food and making it a memorable last day for us!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    9.6
    It was a great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel it’s a bit old but everything is functioning just fine. The room on the sides of the building still gets to see the ocean but just not as perfect.

    The staff were all really nice, and the food was really good. We even got champagne and a rose at welcome check in. There was enough beds on the beach and no waits for food. There was refills of our fridge/mini bar every day, and the room service was great too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    8.8
    Very friendly and responsive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The facilities are not in great condition. The air conditioner in our first room was not working so we had to change a room(the changing process was pretty smooth though). The safety box in our second room had several buttons not functioning. Also the seaweed is a pain if you like to swim in the sea.

    Very friendly and responsive staff. Some of the night shows at bar were very nice(Mexican show, Spanish music etc.) Food is good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing and rejuvenating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was no liquor provided in our fridge and we never got our bottle of wine.

    I enjoyed the how the meals were cooked and the freshness. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were fluffy and soft.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    5.8
    Don´t book it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was very disappointing. Restaurants were not good, drinks were not carefully made, beer was not cold. It seems like it used to be a good hotel but right now is losing its charm. Besides that I had booked a transfer to the airport with SEEK AND GO the company that the hotel has a partnership and they were 15 minutes late in my departure, I tried to complain in the lobby and the guys in the front desk kept a "poker face" just like nobody has nothing to do about the subject. I don´t recommend.

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2018

    7.1
    Good, but i think there is a lot of better hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    cocktails are like juices, pepsi totally watered, beach staff slow and not interesting when is no tips

    some staff I liked, three restaurants out of a total of five, view from the Deluxe Room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    9.6
    Great Choice - will definitely return next time in Cancun!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sandos Suite (3 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They left a new bottle of wine in our room each day. Also, when my wife discovered she had left her cell phone in the room after we had traveled 60 miles away, we called her number and they answered. We were so happy to retrieve the next day! Very Honest and Commendable!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    5.4
    location, people are kind and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we asked bottle water several times and they don't provide bottle water and we got sick (I and my daughter). we went to emergency room. it happened middle of trips. we stayed hotel room two days for nothing.

    location, people are kind and friendly. food is okay...but water is not okay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2018

    7.1
    Great experience but with a some disappointmwents
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room arrangement. We asked to be moved immediately we arrived but they chose not to help us or said that they were unable to do so. Constant music/noise outside from midday to 5.00pm Hot food was rarely served hot.

    Location. Outside pool and restaurant design. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    10
    Fantastic resort and will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You have to get up very early to reserve the pool or beach day beds, otherwise by 8am most will be reserved with towels.. sometimes they won’t be used all day until the afternoon which can be frustrating when there are many empty day beds but none available to use. This was to do with the guests though

    Great in-house restaurants with quality food. There were short delays for the restaurants which was great. Amazing staff who accomodate your needs Beautiful rooms and facilities Pool and beach access was fantastic with many day beds and chairs to relax on

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2018

    8.8
    Romantic couple's first vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not all the restaurants were open every night, they alternate. Only one of the beach front bars was open but that could have been time of year (January). Night time entertainment at bar one was okay but they did it during dinner hours so we missed it many of the nights. If you need to exchange money there at the hotel they gouge you on the exchange rate. If you want to be by the market and downtown area then it's a ways away (bus or taxi) and not any shopping near by. If you want to stay at resort the whole time then it's great. Shower head in room was bad/broken and bed side phone was broken. Room service menu/food was not a good choice. No hard alcohol in the mini fridge, only beer, soda, water. No grab and go snack area which would have been really nice to have on excursion days.

    Awesome cabanas at the pool and on beach front. No reservation needed. First come first serve. Very Friendly staff. You will get a rose and champagne right when you walk thru the door. Bed was very comfortable. Large pool areas x3. The Buffet was great and so was the French restaurant...favorites of the 5 options available. Upon check out we got to stay and use the facilities all day long and use the spa shower to clean up before our flight so we still got to enjoy the day on the beach. Very cool! All in all we would stay there again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    8.8
    beautiful pool area with design furniture;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the airconditioning of the hotel The Vine in front, made a lot of noise because our room looked upon it; service in dining area was sometimes (not always) slow or without conviction, depends on the waiter. All-in meals were very good, especially great breakfast, but dessert was poor in our opinion (very few choices!)

    beautiful pool area with design furniture; very good meals, esp. great breakfast; remarkable beach front

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2018

    7.5
    Nice value all inclusive for the cheap price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Moldy/seaweed odor in main lobby and at 6th floor bar, Brandon at the front desk was rude when we arrived and had a double room for p ur anniversary and he didnt want to place us in a room with a king bed so we had to complain to a manager to get moved to a room with a king bed, older building could use update to air conditionijng system. Would spend more in the future return to Cancun for more luxurious accommodations

    The beach and room beds were comfy, the restaurant Gajin had tasty food and the hibachi experience is entertaining, the water treatment at the spa and moonlight by the beach massage package (Jessica and Angelina worked on my and my husband for 80 minutes deep tissue) as excellent, the Seasons steak house had a really good waiter name William and good food. New Bear's eve celebration with dinner and live entertainment was great! My first all inclusive experience and overall positive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2017

    6.3
    We only had 2 1/2 days, beach was superb. Food and hotel facilities not as fancy as webstite make it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Standard and quality of food and drinks. Drinks were mainly ready mixes (mojitos etc)and very sugary. Dinner options were plentiful but poor quality food, cheap processed stuff to feed the masses.I was glad to see the back of that food. Fridge in our room didnt work. We asked 3 times to get it fixed and 3 times they claimed that they had.no cold drinks for us.

    Beautiful beach right on your doorstep and fantastic sunbeds on the beach. Service of drinks and food at the beach was included.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2017

    7.9
    Excellent food, top shelf drinks, &great staff, but the pools are in the shade & it has rough beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I assumed we would have queen beds, the full beds were a little small and I was scared my kids would roll out of bed. Not having a vent in the bathroom made it difficult to dry suits and towels. The beach was rough and had a large "step down" due to the tide pulling on the sand. It was difficult for kids to get close to water. If you want to swim in the ocean, this is not a great place for that. Kids could not get in the ocean due to the large waves.

    Staff, food and drinks were great! Excellent staff! Outdoor lounging areas are gorgeous. Bars & restaurants are very nice and have a good atmosphere.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2017

    5.4
    Close to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dust water came out, but receptionist kept saying "It's normal here!". Well, It's NOT normal! Also I made a call for cleaning broken wine glasses around 3pm, but house keeping never came. I made more than 3 calls which always said that they would arrive in 10min but finally they came at 7pm.

    Close to the beach

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    6.7
    okay with the price, will not stay at the same hotel next time we go, great beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    old facility, broken elevator (hot without AC, does not stop on certain floors, too small barely squeeze in 5 people, too slow often have to wait for too long as only one of the three works), bad painting smell inside, bad air circulation, food is really low quality when you stay over 3 days as they repeat the same thing, most soups are too salty,

    the beach and the pool

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2017

    9.6
    Had an amazing time filled with both activities and relaxation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I wish there were tennis courts, they were under construction when I was there so they were not usable. A hot tub would also be nice. The room service was pretty bad food.

    The staff was great a helped with activities to do, and things we shouldn’t miss out on. Very kind and made me feel very comfortable. The resort is also right on the beach which was amazing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    9.2
    The hotel is very nice and the price is super fair.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only problem was the staff service at the beach, this service was very slow. As well, we had a small issue again with the restaurant from the beach/swimming pool, we ordered our dinner and it never arrived. A part from it, was a great experience!

    The hotel is very nice and the price is super fair. Awesome 3 swimming pools and the bed from the room was amazing! The restroom is super big!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    9.6
    It was great 4 star hotel with a gorgeous view and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hot tub was broken and has been for some time. the pools were really nice, but unusable after 3 since the shadow from the nearby hotel covered them.

    We enjoyed the food not five star, but not Dinner either. It was good selection with good chefs and plenty of choices. I enjoyed the fake casino night and the ability to pick your own cabana on the beach was relaxing and nice. The hotel wasn't that full so service was never an issue. We found most of the hotel staff to be accommodating except the couple that didn't speak English.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    2.5
    If you don’t care anout where you stay this is the place for you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I went for a wedding and let’s just say none of us were satisfied. The staff were friendly but the service was terrible. The food was subpar at best. The entire hotel smells like mildew. They ran out of alcohol and instead of asking what we would like, they made their own substitutions at will. At one point they were serving what we believed to be grain alcohol without saying a word. They were always doing construction or repairs and painting round the clock like they knew something needed to be done, but it was noisy and would wake us up at all hours. I would be hard pressed to go back to Cancun again based upon this visit at this resort.

    The only good thing about this resort was their lunch option at St. Trop. The beach was somewhat nice and so was the pool.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    9.6
    A lovely break from the hustle and bustle, fun and relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was always full with so many options to choose from, and variety every day. I wish I had gotten a room with a clearer view of the sea but the room was good nonetheless. The room was a little sound porous but it never disturbed my beauty sleep, so I have no complaints. There were 4 restaurants to choose from, my favorite was the Teppanyaki restaurant followed closely by the Seasons. Wonderful atmosphere, friendly staff and clean environment, whatever you do make sure you book a deep tissue massage with Vittorio; Amazing!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2017

    8.3
    Mexico is Beautiful... Sandos is lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The constant time share sale!!! Every day!!!! And the USA Tourists always come first! The Italian Restaurant has never been an Italian Restaurant it is awful!! The rest were fab

    The hotel and staff are wonderful! Nothing was too much trouble and the service was fab

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2017

    7.1
    concierge let the rest of the staff down
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Following the air-conditioning breaking in the room overnight resulting in water on the floor, down the wall and condensation causing clothing and property to become wet/damp, we raised concerns with concierge. They were rude, went out of their way to find reasons for why the air conditioning breaking was our fault, told us we were lying, did not ask if my friend was ok when I explained she had slipped on the water and hurt herself, spoke in Spanish complaining and criticising us, not realising one of us understood Spanish. It ruined how we viewed our three days with them and they really let down the wider staff who had been really lovely and helpful throughout. I am still so disappointed, it could have easily been resolved in a positive manner. Enjoy your stay here but do not expect any assistance, empathy or help if something goes wrong.

    Room and facilities were lovely and the majority of staff were kind, helpful and made the stay enjoyable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    7.1
    Overly pleasant but there were issues with noise from window
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I feel sorry to write this, but it seems I've got a "lemon". Noise from the chiller next to the hotel was awful, you basically can't open the window not feel yourself on the highway. For the 3 days of the stay, room was never cleaned. They made one attempt, but I was in a shower, they never come back. Too bad that overly pleasant experience was ruined with those issues.

    Resort is generally good, you will love the bar, and cocktails. Staff was really attentive. Room was big, and clean when we arrived. Amenities are great as well as restaurants. White sand beach is just in front. Also, 3 big pools. Restaurants are amazing. Food is good and really fresh.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    9.6
    Awesome place! Great food, great service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is a bit far from the main area. It will cost 9 USD to go to the main area. There is an ATM in the hotel, but you can get only USD, not Pessos. And they take the highest commission that I ever saw - for 20 USD I paid 28.5 USD.

    The service is great! The staff were very helpful and friendly! Good food - really all inclusive. Good gym and spa.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    10
    Perfect vacation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    More trashcans would be beneficial

    Best vacation week in a long time. Staff is exceptional. Everyone is so friendly it's almost unbelievable. Entertainment team is fantastic, especially Ernesto, Eduardo and Adan (Yoga class is a must). Carlos was our server by the pool and really attentive and always with a smile. Samuel made us feel very welcome at the check in. Diana and Melissa (hostesses) at Zango restaurant are sweethearts. Everyone made us feel like at home. Made my birthday a very special day. We were staying in a suite with 2 balconies and 2 bathrooms. Fantastic views. Perfect stay!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2017

    10
    would stay again here
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bathroom needed some repairs.

    The quality of service was great. They had candy and all the drinks that I wanted in my hotel room. The food was great. They had entertainment every night. the hotel was beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2017

    4.2
    No thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    I regret booking this hotel and I don't suggest it to anyone. Cleanliness is my #1 concern! Followed by non-existing comfort. 5 stars? does not even feel like 3 to me. The rooms are not clean and used glasses and cups are not being replaced daily. The minibar is poor and the AC very loud. The aisles are constantly full of dirty dishes left for a long time out of the rooms, and the disgusting smell that comes with it. We annoyingly hear noises from everywhere: music and people screaming at the pool, drunk people coming back from the clubs at night and the undergoing renovations upstairs. The food is dramatically disappointing from breakfast to dinner. The restaurant staff often forgets to perform simple tasks like bringing spoons with the coffee or serve water when the glasses are empty (as water is nowhere else to be found during meals). The facility is old: a bucket was placed in the gym to hold the water coming from the ceiling. On top of that the staff doesn't really pay attention to abandoned glasses a bit everywhere. The "doctor" did my medication right in the middle of the lobby! To sum up, the price is ridiculously high for the value.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2017

    10
    Food and entertainment were exceptional! Staff - very friendly and willing to help!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a big deal, and I guess this is common for Mexico, bottled water tasted not great.

    Staff was amazing! Food was excellent, especially in Seasons steak house! Wonderful vacation!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    9.2
    1. Really very noisy from conditioner of hotel behind, if...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. Really very noisy from conditioner of hotel behind, if you open the window!! there is noisy also in the pool, in the beach, everywere! I will not come back Maybe for someone it's not a problem, but i I had a headache 2. Dress code for the breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2017

    2.9
    The worst experience I ever had.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The service was really poor, food had really bad quality, drinks where really bad, the staf was unprofessional, The hole experience was a disappointment I will never comeback to that hotel. Waisted all my money.

    The beach

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    7.5
    I would come back except for the poor airline service and connections!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was quite satisfactory, except the room was two twin beds not a king size (not romantic!), and my girlfriend and I were disappointed our room did not have a balcony.

    Quarters and bed were quite comfortable, and staff kept quarters clean and resupplied well. Valet car parking was good Most of staff was was courteouse and friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2017

    10
    Great trip & definitely coming back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food wasn't that great except for the Japanese restaurant & the Italian food buffet. But hey, I was still satisfied

    The staff was super friendly & catering, the hotel was very clean, & peaceful! I was pleasantly surprised

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2017

    6.3
    Modern Hotel, beautiful instalations and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel isn't really a five star. The staff working on the restaurants - excluding the Chef - were not prepared to serve well. They have difficulty, for.example, to bring spoons with the coffee, and the service was very slow. There is not enought employees to serve all guests. The hotel provide a luxury optional service to the guests. So, best places at beach or restaurants are reserved to these guest. I was with my pregnant wife at the beach and we stay in a restrict area to those guest, because there isn't enough beach umbrellas (many of them was broken). So, Angel (security) and Ulisses (royal service manager) asked us, in a very unpolite way, to immediately exit the area. I asked them just to call someone to install an umbrellas for us at the other area, and, for my surprise, they didnt do anything, while we spent almost ten minutes waiting for someone to help us, under a strong and hot sun. Our problem was solved only when Diego,( a lifeguard) gentilly stop his job to serve us - it was not his duty, while "Sirs" Angel and Ulisses spent their time in the shadow talking and laughing. Despite these facts, I share my "clean" towel, that this "five" star "resort" offer to us. Disgusting... we spent five days there and we didnt see the pools water has been changed. They just put some chlorine, so the water is dirty. So, my advice: look for others hotels and don't spent your leisure time at sandos, if you won't be desapointed in your vacations.

    Modern Hotel, beautiful instalations and location Nice quality of beverages and delicious breakfast. Front desk attendence was very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2017

    4.6
    Disappointing two weeks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Breakfast was good but the menus in all restaurants need variation especially for people staying longer than four days.

    pool area and beach were the best parts of this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2017

    6.3
    Ok facility, but will not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The public areas (main lobby, hallways, restaurants, and bar 1) was warm and humid as if air conditioner was not turned on. It seemed all the air conditioning was pumped into the restrooms in the public areas which were very cold. The tile inside and outside of the pool restrooms were slick when wet. The concrete and tile humps at poolside were horrible to lay against. The staff at the spa made a pest of themselves during the week in an attempt to get guests to pay for the spa facilities. Most of the Bar 1 chairs and couches were not comfortable, and mismatched. In general it seemed the facility tried for a upscale fashion appearance and upscale fashion food, but I just did not enjoy.

    The room was very nice and the beds were comfortable. The staff was very helpful and attentive. The bathrooms were very nice and clean. The live entertainment was very good. The bed like cabanas at poolside was nice. The poolside restaurant with the wood fired pizzas were great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2017

    9.6
    Great Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    There was a sulpher smell in the bathroom in our room and also in the lobby bathroom. Not sure what it was but heard other guests also complain. I was also not entirely happy with the fact that we had 2 Queen beds instead of a king as requested but this was addressed by staff.

    This was a lovely resort with great entertainment and value for money. Choice of places to eat was fair and mostly good food. The service was great and all the staff were amazing. We loved Yoga with Adamo, the water aerobics and the water volley ball games. Everyday at lunch, there was a cooking show which we enjoyed!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2017

    5.8
    Great pools, nice beach, well maintained building and rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mediocre food, specially for this price. Lack of variety of specialty restaurants for dinner, worst Italian food in my life at the Italian restaurant. Juices in cocktails are the worst posible quality which makes them unbearable. No pool bar. Service at the pool is very intermittent. For this price I'd never ever stay here again. Way better options out there

    Great pools, nice beach, well maintained building and rooms

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2017

    7.1
    We had a great time at Sandos!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I do have to say that the food was okay at most of the restaurants, but the room service could use some improvement. Also, our room was not the cleanest. It looked like someone threw up on the back of our bathroom door and it was never cleaned up.

    The staff was all very friendly and helped make our stay as enjoyable as possible. I loved the activites they had going on around the pool area, especially the water aerobics. Ours instructor Liz was awesome!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2017

    10
    Sandos is Cancun at its best!!!!!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is nothing that I did not like.

    what I loved the most was the hospitality. Kudos to Erick from San Tropez bar. Kudos to Esteban and Angel. I feel that the staff is one of the most amazing ones I ever encountered. I cannot wait to go back in February!!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2017

    7.5
    The all inclusive portion of the property was the best part.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The list is large....very large. I received a response to my question about transportation to the hotel less than 36 hours before my arrival, when I checked my email 24 hours prior to arrival I followed the directions in the email and I was told I needed to reserve 3 days in advance, the email stated I would incur no charges however when I attempted to schedule, I was told I'd incur a fee. This was an anniversary Trip, my husband and I were celebrating 5 years (21 in total) but 5 legally married, my husband requested flower petals, flowers, a "Happy Anniversary" written on our desert plate, nothing was done for us, not even a damn "Happy Anniversary" banner on our door like the photos show. However, the people down our hallway seemed to be celebrating a birthday and were able to have "Happy Birthday" written on a desert dish. My reservation in Cozumel was much cheaper but we went with this place because we were under the impression something special could be done. Room service takes ridiculously long. I ordered 45 minutes before my scheduled departure for an excursion and never received my order which I was told would arrive in less than 30 minutes. Oh, the night before we were scheduled to leave we were approached by someone who said "Every night we offer a discounted rate to the discos, would you like to join us" we were there 4 nights and were never offered this before. Would've been nice the night we arrived. 😒The lighting in the bathroom is beyond horrible. Lots of mirrors but so dim!

    The all inclusive portion of the property was the best part. Meals/drinks, everything included in the stay

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: