Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sandos Playacar Beach Resort All Inclusive 5 stars

Paseo Xaman-Ha Manzana 1 Lote 1, MX 77710 Playa del Carmen, Mexico

#66 of 191 hotels in Playa del Carmen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 727 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    4.6
    Completely underwhelmed. There are much better hotels for the price they charge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Rivera Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No one responded at all to email/messages communications with the hotel over several months via email and via Booking.com messenger to get a cot bed for my 20-month-year-old daughter. When we arrived late the hotel did not have one and the hotel was fully booked. The room was dated, situated in a poor location and smelt musty. The hotel did try and get us a cot bed on arrival which took 2 .5 hours to give us an answer and several trips to reception / late night phone calls. In the end, they did not have one available. The beds were damp and my daughter had to sleep in one. We complained and the duty manager was rude, would not look us in the eye and hopeless. We all woke up very congested. so next morning we went to see him again. We said we wanted to check out and we were told that we would have to pay for 3 days and we had only stayed there 12 hours or so. I thought unreasonable. We spoke to the manager the next morning who was very helpful, but by this time it was too late as it was a bad start to our holiday and tainted the hotel for us. We had expected to wowed, not one thing at this hotel fitted that bill. We only had to pay for one day in the end, though I think we should not have had to pay given our experience, but we didn't want the hassle or argument and put it down to just a bad experience and one of those things.... The all inclusive drinks were not made of premium alcohol brands, the breakfast experience I had was average at best.

    It was a very large family friendly complex with lots to do for kids.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    2.5
    Never never want to go back any more
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we wait so long for check in and it took 45 min to wait for the bus, the service there was very slow and bad!! Room was too small for 3 people, is doesn’t looks like 5 starts hotel!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice stay for familiy vacation trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Pool and beach seatting space (poor), drink quality (sodas with low flavor level-watery, or too sweet for alcohol based drinks), coffee serving service at Festival buffet was very slow, mainb pool always crowded (it´s small for whole hotel people) so I kept at Riviera Blue pool (quiet, always available seats there but no music or activities available there, Riviera Blue restaurant is great for lunch btw)

    Night Shows, food quality, cleanliness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    A dream vacation, no doubt about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rivera Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The algae, sweedwead or whatever is the name that were in the sea and the beach near the sea. Nobody is to blame, was a natural event, I understand was everywhere at the caribean beaches, but very unpleasant to stay in the water close to the beach or even swimming there. Nothing to do with the hotel service, they tried to withdraw the algae off, but it was impossible for the amount constantly flowing to the beach.

    Everything was excelent, staff, facilities, pools only for adults and pools for families with children, excelent restaurants, friendly and profesional staff. No problem at all, a place to come back but more time to enjoy a great vacation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.3
    The grounds were beautiful and the beach was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Riviera Junior Suite (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having only 1 buffet area for breakfast makes it crowded and loud. I also found this resort to be rather expensive and would choose somewhere else. We have stayed at a number of resorts in the past and I would not choose to return here. The location is okay but taxis charge way too much for a 5 minute ride to town. We also went to the sister resort Sandos Caracol- which has much more of a jungle feel, has more activities (like waterslides, kayaking, a cenote, etc) and i would habe much preferred to stay there but was at Sandos Playacar for a wedding

    The grounds were beautiful and the beach was fantastic. We loved walking around the property. It is well kept and lovely. Our room (a jr suite) was large, had a jacuzzi tub and very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    4.6
    Sad sad experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where to begin??? 1. The guy at the reception when we where checking in seemed honestly annoyed with life, he didn’t even say “welcome!” 2. As soon as we were checked in some other guy who seemed nice, apparently was so because he was trying to get was to become members of the resort hotel chain! 3. We got the around 3 o’clock and were very eager to get a bite, I mean, we where in Mexico! Great food is a given, right? Well, think again... not only the first day, but every single day it was a disappointing when it came to the food... the “Mexican food” at the property was just sad, we know our mexican food, Grand Velas standards kind of mexican food so I know what I’m talking about and this was just not even a 5 out of 10. 4. The staff... we’ve been to Playa d Carmen 5 times and every time local people has proven to be the nicest most adorable and friendly I have ever met... until we got to this place... With a very very few exceptions they were not even polite, at the restaurant one night I had to ask 4 different times for someone to help us with some drinks and every time I was rudely send away saying “ Your server will go help you in a bit”... well, 20 minutes later we got our drinks.... it was just shocking how they just seen so unhappy to be working there... 5. The cleanliness was just as bad as the rest, it looked like they cleaned just the parts they though you would notice... the shower doors were plain gross and the floor mostly sticky. I get this was an “all inclusive” not comparable to the standards at “Grand Velas” where we’ve been before, but we’ve also been to another not so expensive all inclusive and still gotten A good experience with people’s attitude, cleanliness and great food there so I can honestly say that this place is definitely not worth your money at all!

    The location of the property was convenient

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.8
    Food options was great, hotel staff were very friendly all the pools and food will keep you stuffed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Rivera Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Of course the property isn’t responsible for the guests that stay there but me and my friend were very uncomfortable at one point sort like we were singled out!

    The food options were amazing my friend loved them me not so much.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    2.9
    Awful in every way. Every. Single. Way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything Check in took 2 hours with no line. All doors to our three rooms wouldn’t open. Had to wait to be picked up to walk all the way back to the desk. We spent our entire first day and night messing with room doors. Air conditioning broken. Took three days to fix. Dirty towels in bathroom on floor upon arrival. Lady stole $9 of cash lying on dresser. Staff is rude. Restaurants are very far away from the actual resort. We only ate at one, the Steakhouse and let’s just say eating rubber would have been better. This place is a disaster. We left on day four to go to another hotel. Cancelled our trip halfway through. You can put lipstick on a pig but it’s still a pig.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    4.5
    Mostly stayed at another resort because of how poor it was total waste of money for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rivera Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peoples attitudes could be better. people could not steal champagne out of your mini fridge. the beds could be a lot softer the price could be a lot cheaper the food could be better especially the late-night menu

    I like they had a bath in the bedroom

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    A very relaxing and beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rivera Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The adult pool could've been cleaner.

    We loved the tequila session organised on 14th Feb at 2:30. We can't remember the name of tge man who was running it, but he was incredibly informative and it was a very memorable experience. One of our highlights - thank you 😊

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.9
    The fourt and last stay. Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Rivera Junior Suite
    • Stayed 14 nights

    À LA CARTE restaurants present you a wine price list as you sit down, instead of a Margarita, you didn’t choose your meal yet, so how do you know if it’s red, white, or rose, the cheapest 550.00 MXP (IN AN ALL INCLUSIVE???) MEXICAN, no Mexican music, no candles, no Mariachis, no Sombreros, and NO FAJITAS, in a Mexican restaurant?? FRENCH no candle light supper, French music from some speakers, and if you set to close, it was really disturbing, and of course the unforgettable wine pricelist. Food was (Comme ci comme ça) They start with a basket of COLD bread rolls and sweet butter. Dress code Christmas evening; at the other table 12-15 person, some in beach short and FLIP FLOPS?? BRAZILIAN; the only thing resembled to brazilian, that they served on a long metal rod different meat that was dry and salty. Again holidays, and no decoration, music, candle light, We quit the place and went to the buffet for dessert and coffee. ITALIAN; they had nice statues the front before no more, inside it’s not more italian, you start your meal with a pizza, ??? wine list, no music no candles. ASIAN; was the only one that looked Oriental, food OK. The black tables had lots of mileage on them, the paint was worn all over, but..... they didn’t attacked us with the wine list. It’s a plus. I’m putting lightly if I say we were VERY DISAPPOINTED. For someone who didn’t see it before, or better, it will pass. Rooms need a facelift, the decor is the same as our first visit 10 years ago, but CLEAN, employees do they best, they are friendly polite everywhere on site.

    14 days during Christmas & New Year holidays. Airport shuttle, the hotel wants $150.00 USD We did some shopping and found one for $91.59 CAD. Comfortable vehicles, good polite drivers, and on time, and $$. Changes since our last visit; Good WI-FI all over the site, Big stage for evening entertainment, nice decor around the MEETING POINT, but that is where it ends. This was our fourth visit, and last one.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    Almost everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurants are not ready for big groups. They don't have enough big tables and they don't handle this situation properly. Some staff try to look for solutions but some just don't care.

    Almost everything was perfect.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    6.7
    I liked the hacienda rooms, food was delicious, drinks were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sales person for Sandos vacation club Gaston an Argentinian gentlemen was a complete jerk, (sorry for the word) but there isn’t another way to describe his attitude was horrible, I was trying to enjoy my honey moon and he told me that if I couldn’t afford a vacation package I should not be traveling. He was definitely rude and arrogant. We did not feel welcome at all.

    I liked the hacienda rooms, food was delicious, drinks were decent , the show and the disco were pretty cool.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.9
    Food was great, people were friendly, lots of activities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Riviera Junior Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The booking process was disappointing as what I booked wasn't explained that I was so far away from the beach. I also asked to be located near my family (we had 5 rooms in total) and that wasn't honoured. We asked to be moved to the beach and they told us that we are down grading our rooms but they wouldn't refund any of our money. Disappointing process.

    All inclusive was wonderful, kids always busy with something to do.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.6
    Amazing vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rivera Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything in this hotel. The food was great, many different restaurants that don’t require reservations. The beach is perfect and the best among nearby hotels. Music everywhere (showes, beach, pools) is great! Animattion team - energetic guys and beach games during all the day. And evening shows - spectacular, every show must visit.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.5
    Will be back for sure, the room aside, the property is meticulously cleaned and beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Ocean Front
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool could be bigger for sure, compared to others in the area. The bathrooms could use a heavy duty cleaning. We were on a ground floor room to start, oceanfront, but the bathroom was so smelly we switched rooms. Room service menu needs some additions.

    The beach was amazing, the staff were great and very polite. The atmosphere there was very nice and seems to attract good clients. Food was good, stayed 10 days and there was enough selection

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic experience too short
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were looking forwarded for the Brasilan restaurant. Something went wrong. Too noisy, they had a wedding and the music didn’t even match like the other restaurants; 60’s 80’s in English, in addition to the decoration. The food ok but we had stomach ache. The hotel dollar exchange was really bad. We went out of the hotel to exchange for pesos because it was not even comparable with the banks or other ATMs. I read some other comments about the outlets for phones and others electric items. You may find only two. Make sure you bring one of those that have a lot connection to charge several items.

    Wonderfully staff always eager to help with a smile. The bell boys specially Jorge and Javier were extremely helpful. We aske for any type of questions and they’re knew the answers. Food was perfect. They catered for any body from different regions. Top restaurants .... hard to choose. The Mexican gourmet excellent and delicious, the Italian and French were also excellent the presentation and food hard to rate too good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    6.3
    They did finally change our room only if we became members and showed us what elite members get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was working right , cieling fan wasn’t working ,hair dryer fell apart in my hand , safe was not working got locked out twice

    the Beach was beautiful and the food was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.8
    Great service and the best beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Some places were not in use. Don't know if it was because they are changing something or because is was not high season.

    By far the best beach of Playa del Carmen is here. That is the best thing of this hotel. Excellent service and food. In particular the French restaurant. We bought the RCI (Royal member) pack, so will go back for sure. On the past there was no different categories while you stay there, now they have different categories. But they gave us the silver one after the Royal Member tour.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    6.7
    It was so-so, will not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rivera Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confusing place, staff had wrong information about opening times and poor directions to locations. Gym opened late had to walk to front desk to get someone to open. Brazilian restaurant was awful, would not recommend it at all,

    French restaurant was great !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.6
    Great experience in an all-inclusive
    • Couple
    • Rivera Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wanted to rest all day and be in the room and staff knocking too much. We did put the sign to sleep (Zzzz) but after one of the days they cleaned they took away that sign. So they would always knock a lot.

    Good food in the Asiana, in the Festival buffet. Fast check in. Fast check out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Overall a great experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They tried to sell us timeshares in their Elite Club on the first day. Very offputting. The food in the steakhouse and Brazilian restaurants was very poor in comparison to the Mexican on. We spent all week trying to find where the room water cooler was plugged in only to find on the last day it didn't even have a cable.

    From the moment we arrived to the time we left we were made very welcome. Room was spotless but a little basic. The property is spread out down to the beach but there is an excellent regular buggy service. And we were 50 yards from the beach and right next to the pool anyway. Themed activities on the beach every day and a great show at night. The food was excellent in the main with a couple of exceptions. All in all an amazing trip.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    5.8
    I have been in lots of resorts in playa car this is the worst
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Riviera Junior Suite (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tha rooms are far from the restaurants and main pool and the beach.. it takes a long walk to get there. the food is very average. The stuff are unfriendly and rude!! It claims to have 9 pools in fact it has only 2.. the others is adults only pool., club member only pool ets..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.1
    Over all I would recommend this resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The Italian restaurant and the little coffee shop staff could provide better customer service. Overall the room was clean. The only problem was that although the air-conditioning was functioning the room had a bad soggy smell, I have called room service and they sent a technician to replace the air filter in the air-conditioner, which really did not solve the problem. When I asked to be moved to a different room they said they can't do it. On the fourth day we found two bugs in the room, it might have got in as the cleaning staff was cleaning our room. Did not see any other after that. I would recommend to stay at a 1,2 or higher levels. That is what I will do next time if I go to this resort.

    Overall we had a nice holiday at this resort. The staff was friendly and attentive most of the time. We very much enjoyed our dinner at the French, Asian and Brazilian restaurant. The room was just as the online pictures. We stayed on the main floor near the pools and restaurants. The beach and the warm ocean is beautiful, the sport activity staff is friendly and is nice to have the different daily beach activates. The food is great and safe. Over all I would recommend this resort. We had some problem with the room, they did not move us. But after we arrived home I received a letter from their general manager apologizing for the incident and reassuring that they will make changes so they provide better service in the future. I thought that was a nice gesture I hope they do follow through and ensure that every guest has the same experience regardless which level and building they stay at the resort.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    3.3
    Sorry we booked at Sandos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rivera Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The food was not good. The same items were served daily, with no flavor. There were only 2 shuttles running through the resort, which is not enough. Sometimes we would have to wait 20 minutes to catch a shuttle to the beach and restaurants. Unacceptable! One day during our stay there was only one shuttle running throughout the day. These shuttles only carry 10-12 people. It is such a long walk to the beach, the shuttles are really needed. The rooms are shabby. We couldn't get the maid to leave wash clothes daily. Several days the refrigerator was not restocked. At the adult pool, the activity director hung out with the younger guests and formed a tight group, ignoring other guests. It was like she just wanted to party with her buddies. The tile floors in the rooms are very slick when wet. Someone in our group fell and was really hurt. The hotel did not care. I would not recommend staying at Sandos!

    Some of the servers in the restaurants were really nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.8
    Good for family vacation if you don't care for decent drinks "incuding coffee"
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Riviera Junior Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Cheap drinks at the bars with no option to buy or upgrade to better ones unless your some kind of member, main pool closes at 5pm, no access to coffee shops, bike rentals, towels before 8am, too many pushy agents trying to force you to take the sales pitch tour.

    Rooms, food, location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Excellent, I am recommending to friends and I will consider returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Rivera Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not get a good explanation of the facilities. The vouchers and planners were not given straight away. We picked them up on day 5.

    The animals around the property were a bonus

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice but dont engage in their "facilities tour" they just try to sell you their vacation packages!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their Royal Elite sales representatives trying to engage you in their vacation packages. They are very pushy and you end up spending all morning with them.

    Wide range of food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.1
    Ubication (Playacar) is excellent, near Playa del Carmen...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Riviera Junior Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    After arrived whe changed the room to another one near the beach cheaper than the previous one. They did not show the room before. The new room was terrible, like a room of a 2 stars Hotel (on the background, humid, dark). The AA did not work for 2 days, with 32 °C, the floor became wet.

    Ubication (Playacar) is excellent, near Playa del Carmen city. The Hotel is safety for children. Personnel of the restaurants, beach bar, bedrooms, are very kind and polite.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.7
    Ok for a short stay, go somewhere else for your week long vacation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Rivera Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The front desk staff. The girl who checked me in didn't even tell me how to find my room in the massive resort, I had to ask her. They don't seem to care if you weren't one of the guests who booked an expensive package vacation. After I checked in, I couldn't get into my room with the key card they provided me, apparently it was a problem with the reader on the door as the battery was low. I had to walk back and forth twice in 35 degree+ heat before they could figure out to send a staff member with me. Keep in mind it's a huge resort, so it was 10 mins each each. Then we had to wait outside for one of their tech staff to show up to replace the battery. Instead of making me wait in the heat, they could have just given me another room. It took an hour before I could get into my room.

    The room was fine - typical of what you can expect from an all inclusive. Bed and pillows all comfortable and good sized room. Food at the main buffet restaurant was pretty good. Other staff members on the resort were great (besides the front desk staff).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.9
    Great family all inclusive hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rivera Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception staff were stressed

    The hotel is so big there is no friendly customer service. The staff at the front desk have queues all day and night and look stressed. Although they are reasonably helpful if you ask. No mention of the genius perk drink on arrival. The food was great, the room was great and the beach was amazing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.2
    Just great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rivera Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Too much food)))

    The food was great. Long beautiful beach. Great show performance at nights. Only positive emotions. I asked for a quiet room and got what I asked for)))

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    5.0
    Table for one? Oooooh poor you! A nightmare vacation!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Rivera Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - I had a horrible stay at Sandos as a solo traveler. Firstly, I went there to feel antonymous and have a rest between two very busy trips, you know, hibernate, but the staff's reaction was all the time very disrespectful and indiscreet, showing pity that I travel alone. - Entertainment on the beach was very intrusive - 40 min waiting to be seated for dinner while restaurants were empty - 4 people tried to issue an invoice to a foreign company within 4 days and no success - Rude bellboys - WIFI was practically non-existing - Horrible sun beds in the non-VIP area - Overall, I had an extra night in Playa del Carmen and I was so happy to leave this rip-off place with no taste

    Food variety was great and the beach is amazing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.3
    Loved it, but didn't love some of the guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My shower was dirty and there was a guy named Ben also staying at the resort who kept interrupting the shows at night. He went on stage during my last night there and ruined the performance and no security or anyone did anything which made me upset. I didn't pay to see him, I paid to see the actual scheduled performances.

    Bed extremely comfortable, entertainment great

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    3.3
    Beautiful dream that became a nightmare
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rivera Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shady timeshare/vacation design that's part of the hotel. The hotel will never admit it but it's in collaboration and owned by the same company as the timeshare/vacation club called Royal Elite. We made the mistake of being conned into attending a timeshare/vacation club presentation. From the moment we checked in, we were profiled and manipulated into buying a timeshare/membership. If you are a couple or a family, they will offer you a free massage or room upgrade or free gifts in order for you to go to one of their sales pitch/presentation. The sales rep even had the audacity to tell us that the major credit card companies was sponsoring the free gift and in order for us to receive the gifts we had to bring our credit cards to the presentation so we can get our free gifts. Every staff member is implicit in this scheme. From the front desk to the waiters, to the parking lot attendants to the Royal Elite sales rep. This is a system-wide corporate culture that feeds on the naivete of their hotel guests and ends up conning people for their money. Whatever you do, do not fall into this highly effective and well-design scam. If someone mentions to you about a presentation or a club or a tour just say no and walk away. This hotel does not care about you as their guests or your experience. They will try to tell you that you can make a great return on your club membership or that you can get the dates you want it you book at least 90 days ahead. They will tell you that its a great financial opportunity and yiubcab Airbnb it. They will tell you anything you want to hear so they can sell you a membership that will last for 30 years!!!! And the greatest catch? You have 5 business days to rescind the contract. If you find yourself, like us signing a contract, doing a google search, reading the horror stories on timeshares and vacation clubs and having jist the littlest of doubts...then CANCEL IN PERSON within 5 days!!!

    The beach was amazing. The spa and spa staff was great. Food is okay. Same food is pratically served in every restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.1
    beautiful beach and eco
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Ants in the room . No room view of sea. While booking this reservation booking.com and / or the resort did not specify what kind of all inclusive we were getting ( hence bracelet colors and meanings) only mentions standard but no detail even when i called and asked both the resort and booking . Walking distance from my room to the lobby was insanely long. Rude drunk 30 somethings kept interupting the performances the resort was having by going on stage and bothering the entertainment at night. There was even a kids day which fell on a Saturday and this same drunk 30 something year old man kept going on stage (with children i might add ) acting ridiculous and hip thrusting in the back round . Last night was on sunday and was a reggae night and same drunk guy went on stage at night and ruined the performance. i paid for this trip yet security did nothing to stop this drunk individual who kept disturbing everything and let him keep going on the stage.

    the bed was extremely confortable. beach is amazingly beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.6
    Friendly staff, clean beach, lots of restaurant choices...GREAT value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Riviera Junior Suite (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing I didn't like was the lack of choice of premium alcohol. Other resorts would have Absolut vodka or El Jimador/Herradura tequila if one wanted to have quality liquor in their mixed drinks. Here that option was only available to the Elite Club members in members only bars. Also, there was no swim up bar in the main pool.

    "Eco friendly resort". My daughter had a blast spotting the iguanas, guinea pig like rodents, donkey enclosure, cats and other animals scattered thruout the resort. Overall lots of eating choices, clean beach, clean and updated rooms and public areas. Loved the mexican grill place with crepes and "Chipotle" style tacos and burritos. Couldn't believe the kids club had arcade style video games free to play! Service was excellent everywhere. Ate at the Mexican restaurant and the Brazillian steakhouse. The former was better with their 5 course menu option and available premium tequila (finally!). The buffet had plenty of choices for everyone and the family section where we stayed had its own large pool, bar area and buffet lunch.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Wonderful, Beautiful, Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Riviera Junior Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I didn't like the fact that right after check-in, you are greeted with a staff member who tries to get you to go to a breakfast for time-share purposes or to pay more money so you can upgrade. Before she talked about the breakfast (which we said no to), she explained about the resort and all it's amenities. Some of the things she mentioned were incorrect or didn't apply to us. (She mentioned a Taco Van - which we were very excited about. It was never open, for the entire 7 days we were there.) There was a pool very near to our building, but it was only for the Black or Gold bracelets (which she didn't mention). There were quite a few bars and breakfast restaurants that you had to have the G or B bracelet to attend. Having just the "Blue Bracelets" we were quite content and didn't really feel like we missed out on anything. Two members in our group were upgraded to the Gold because they had an issue in their room. Only the Gold & Black can attend the French Restaurant (which our rep did not tell us). The funny part is that the two members in our group (with the Gold bracelets) wanted to go to that restaurant one night, but ended up joining us at the Brazilian restaurant because the French one was closed! Be aware that if a staff member from the Spa approaches you and tells you about the promotions and gets your room # and name, you will be charged for the service, even if you didn't make an appointment or decided not to have the service. If you decide not to have the service, be sure to visit the SPA and cancel in person so you don't have a "surprise" charge at the end.

    Loved this resort. I have stayed at many all inclusives over the years and this so far is my favorite! We stayed in the 9000 block in a Jr. Suite. The room was awesome...plenty of room for me, my mom and my teen-age son; who slept on the sofa bed. We were at the resort with other family members and the girl at the desk made sure we were all close together. Bathroom is huge and the beds are comfy. It's a very quiet building - (of course it depends on your neighbors, & luckily we had quiet ones). Short walk to the first set of pools and a longer walk to the main pools and the beach. However, I loved the walk and thought of it as part of my daily exercise. Good way to work-off all the food and drinks - lol. If you really don't want to walk, they have a tram that you can take. We LOVED the pools near us - an awesome little bar and restaurant bar. That's where we hung- out most days. Much quieter than the pools closer to the beach and always were able to find several chairs to accommodate our group. The beach is lovely and the water is amazing - so many shades of green and blue!! It's nice that you don't have to line-up (like other resorts) to make a dinner reservation. It's first come, first served. At best, we only ever had to wait 25 min, and that's because we were a group of 7. The food was excellent and the buffet for breakfast was amazing - something for everyone. Anyone that complains about the food obviously likes to complain period. I am a cook and have eaten at many high-end restaurants. For a resort, and the number of people they are feeding, I give them full marks! The Asian, the Brazilian and the Mexican restaurants were our favorites! I went for a massage and it was truly lovely. I promised the girl (Laura) that I would mention her in my review. She was fantastic! The staff is amazing! Super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.6
    Family Fun in Mexico!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Air conditioner in the room was loud when turned on. It helped when the music was still going on outside until 2am.

    Beach...beautiful. Good...delicious. Activities...so many for the whole family.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    5.8
    Great location but missed the mark on the food and beds....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Riviera Junior Suite (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed slept like a board and the food was not good. The buffet was good for breakfast but was not good at other times. Chayita was amazing and the Cupcake Cafe was awesome. All of the other restaurants was not good.

    The arrangement of the property was good and made me feel comfortable with my kids. Chayita was amazing and the Cupcake Cafe was awesome. The staff was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    6.3
    Love the food and the beach but everything else was a disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I hate the hard selling of club membership and time shares, I got phone calls every 8:15am asking me to have a meeting with those people selling them. I also didn't like the fact that the Sandos reception didn't attempt to help me with the problem I had with the travel agent Booking.com, the first thing the person at the reception did was to charge me a 50% extra! The room wasn't that clean either for a 5-star resort, also there were no coat hooks in the bathroom and the water closet lock didn't work (Room 6302).

    Food was awesome and most of the staff were very helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    7.5
    Good enough for us on a 4 nights vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Ocean Front
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When they say " ocean view" it does not mean ocean view. They didn`t have a room for us so they upgrated us but still we did not have an ocean view.

    The employees are really nice. Beautifull garden .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful and carefree beach experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Riviera Junior Suite (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    We find the price a little high.

    Excellent service! Gorgeous beach! Beautiful area! Great food! Magnificent complimentary shows! We think it is the best place for family vacation on the beach. The sea is very quite, with only little waves. The area is family friendly and safe. The all-inclusive food and drinks were excellent. We will definitely consider going there again!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    6.7
    Beautiful fun place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront Superior King Room - Adults Only
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow check in and check out service. Room had bad odor to it. Howler monkeys in our section of hotel were very loud in early morning.

    Beach was nice, hotel was pretty and wildlife friendly. Food was ok, drinks were good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel.. Great location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront Superior King Room - Adults Only
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially we were put in a bedroom that had a dreadful smell of sewage- but this issue was resolved. The walk from one end of the resort to the beach is quite long (but this is only a small thing). I think it was over priced overall but I did enjoy it. The wifi only worked for me in the lobby.

    The staff In the restaurants were exceptionally friendly and helpful so that was great! After an incident with a bad smelling bathroom we were upgraded to a junior suite which was really lovely! The hotel is clean and well kept and the gardens and tennis court are lovely. the food is good for all inclusive with the Italian being my favourite! And the location is great! Really enjoyed the experience

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    7.9
    Sandos Playacar has something for everyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was a bit slow at times if you call for a bellboy or room service and check in and out lines take sometime but this is due to high occupancy at the hotel. This is a huge hotel so walking distances can be far but they have golf carts to take you around. The only downside to our stay was We had a hiccup in our room of a leak from the ceiling causing a puddle on the floor and the drywall collapsed and the vent fell which was dangerous. They moved us to a better room though closer to the beach and extended a 50% discount off the night that this inconvenience happened. There were 0 issues with the new room.

    Location was excellent and the nightly entertainment was outstanding. There are a variety of retaurants to choose from and always something different at the buffet. The watersports are great and the Zumba at the beach was fun too. They have 7 days of different themes for the beach so it feels like you're in a different setting. For example, Wednesday's is Mexico theme - the buffet is Mexico themed, so is the beach and the music at the beach, there's a Jamaican day, a Malibu day etc. At times there was no music is playing at the beach and some people brought their own speakers. Staff is always smiling and ready to help! I would go back to Sandos if I found a good deal. The location is perfect. Not a luxury hotel but a solid moderate hotel with a great beach and variety of food & close to 5th Avenue. $10USD cab one way to town. You'll have a great vacation if you choose Sandos !

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    5.8
    A complete scam from booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oceanfront Superior King Room - Adults Only
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am completely unsatisfied with your company! I feel that I was unfairly charged extra for my booking , I was under the understanding my booking was originally for two people and that was not the case according to you. Charging me an extra 500 dollars for something I believe you messed up. I will be sending a more detailed letter to your cooperate office with my displeasure. I will never be using your site again and I am going to spread the word of the way your site does business.

    The property was just average with below average food

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    5.4
    The room was terrible, the bathroom wad awful;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was terrible, the bathroom wad awful; the shower arm was about to fall, the thing where you graduate the warmth of the water was substituted by a big nail. The tile tile on the shower and bathroom was not very hygienic........ Lots of restaurants but you never eat well during your stay

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    6.7
    First experience in a resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rivera Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - we had to walk from the lobby to the room (far away) with our backpacks; there are golf carts to transport people around but we weren't told this at the lobby when we checked in and weren't directed to the place were they pick people up (so ask about this when ou arrive) - the day we left, it took a long time for a cart to pick us up at the pick up point (10 to 15 minutes, there were other people with bags waiting), so leave your room a little early the day you check out. - the a la carte restaurants were terrible, worst food we ate in mexico (we ate in a lot of places and different towns before coming to the resort); the service at the restaurants isn't very good and the food looks like it came from the frozen isle of the supermarket. - there was always a line and waiting time to the restaurants and buffet (unless it was before 8 am); this was low season, i don't know how they handle all the people when they're full. - the toilet in our room was not great and the water sometimes smelled funny. - we only stayed two nights but i think it must get pretty boring after this. All in all, this has a bad quality/price ratio (but this is probably true for all resorts).

    - they gave us an upgrade (not very high season so they had better rooms available): we changed from a suite in the riviera section to one with an ocean front in the ground floor, with a very nice view. They also gave us a gold bracelet, that gives access to the adults only zones. - the beach was beautiful: there are too many things and activities happening and too much noise on the left side, but on the right side (which is reserved to gold and whatever bracelets) is a lot quieter (although you still hear the crazy on the left side) and there is a beautiful stretch of empty beach to the right where you can go if you like a more 'wild' setting. - the breakfast was very complete. - the room was comfortable and the wifi worked well in this zone of the resort.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    8.8
    Great hotel, we enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rivera Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Distances within the resort can be large, it is about a 10 min walk from the standard rooms near the reception to the beach. Since the main restaurant was closed, limited options for breakfast and lunch. Another drawback is that the menu is always the same in the different restaurants. Also that there were so many grasshoppers near the `pool' (breakfast/lunch) restaurant was disgusting. They should definitely do something on that.

    Clean and spacious rooms, enough beach chairs at the beach + pool. The advantage of this big resort is that it offers a lot of diversity, it is subdivided in different areas with each its own atmosphere. It is not just one or two blocks with rooms plus a restaurant and a pool. Also there is enough entertainment during the day for the guests if you are interested in that. The wide variety of restaurants included in the All-In price, was a plus. (Especially because the main restaurant was closed during our stay due to construction works). WiFi connection in the whole resort, not only the public areas as described on Booking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    7.1
    Nice place for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rivera Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non refill of drinks in minibar. Different restaurants for members. At breakfast restaurant where a lot of grasshoppers.

    Internal transportation with golf carts.Daily Animation at plaza and beach.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    The people were very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Ocean Front
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough first aid kits if any.

    The people were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Pricing was great
    • Group
    • Rivera Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room 7608 had the shower light out so we kinda showered in the dark and there were a lot of June bugs in the room.

    Pricing was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Rivera Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything Worst place I’ve ever stayed. You’ll regret it.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting at the front desk for everything

    The pools

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    Gym and game room could use an upgrade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Riviera Junior Suite (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym and game room could use an upgrade. Long wait times at restaraunts if eating after 7.30pm

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.4
    Just great beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room confort

    Beach

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    3.8
    I had higher expectations on the room itself.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had higher expectations on the room itself. Also, room service. It was limited and not what I expected.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.8
    Location and beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Quality of food, old facilities and rooms, quality of alcohol

    Location and beach Staff was nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    overall good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard (3 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be careful with belongings. I lost mu sun glasses and could have been found if investigated further!

    overall good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    Amazing staff Samantha and Emilio were extremely friendly and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More selection for food. I was a bit disappointed with the Mexican restaurant would’ve have liked more authentic Mexican food and desserts.

    N/a

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Excelente descanso.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    El mar, La playa.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.1
    Week in Sandos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rivera Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable beds and moisture in the rooms

    Nice food, beach and location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.5
    Playa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rivera Junior Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distancias hasta la playa . Acoso vendedora royal elite.espera carros de golf para translados a Buffet . Hasta de 25 min .

    Playa

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.5
    Excellent food beach location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Rooms huge clean and comfortable bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.5
    Very easy going hotel
    • Family with young children
    • Riviera Junior Suite (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nice people working at hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    5.0
    Facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Rivera Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    10
    THE FRENCH RESTRAUNT WAS AMAZING
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Rivera Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    THE FRENCH RESTRAUNT WAS AMAZING

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    7.5
    Great times - good people - great beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oceanfront Superior King Room - Adults Only
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the lunch options were very limited as breakfast closes early for those traveling from the west

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    10
    Great place to relax and enjoy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rivera Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Humidity...

    The beach, the room, the restaurants, the location...

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    5.4
    All Food and Drinks Horrible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food and drinks were horrible! Construction noise on the. beach through out the day.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    8.3
    Great location atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Rivera Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found a roach in the room. The orange juice was not freshly squeezed.

    Location family atmosphere

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    9.6
    Very nice resort, good value from Booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rivera Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hydro massage pool on adult area not working, renovation work undergoing on some restaurants

    Staff was amazingly nice

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    9.2
    very big resort, comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Rivera Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the smoking everywhere...

    very big resort, comfortable beds. good food. nice beach.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    10
    Great facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rivera Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ASIANA RESTAURANT

    Friendly staff & cleanliness of facilities

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sandos Playacar Beach Resort All Inclusive traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: