Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club 3 stars

Boulevard Kukulcan km 4 Lote D.8.3 Calle Pescador, 77500 Cancún, Mexico

#113 of 161 hotels in Cancún

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 995 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    4.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the 3rd time I jave stayed in their premises and this one was the first time that they served a rather poor breakfast. Coffee was great but the main course was terrible.

    There was one staff member who was clearly overwhelmed and he projexted his frustration upon at least 8 people who were being patient (including me and my mom).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Unfriendly and unwilling to help staff. - Dirty and smelly room - Poor breakfast. - No wi-fi in any room, just in common areas.

    Just location and price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean in the restaurant area or around the pool. We only stayed for two days but still the same empty and and juice bottles remained around the pool. Drink fridges we’re almost empty and the staff on the restaurant were so un happy. The most awful music was played in the restaurant from 4pm in the afternoon so not relaxing at all. More the music you would listen to in an awful nightclub at midnight not a restaurant/pool side vibe at all.

    It was a good price and the room was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff isn’t really helpful and friendly. They accepted that we payed in dollar but they weren’t accepting coins and didn’t have change. The room is really small for 4 people. It’s 30min buy bus from Playa Delfines.

    It’s a great value for what it is. It’s 5min from the ferry to Isla. A little bit far away from the beach but you can take a bus (R1, R2) for 12pesos no mater where you go. It’s really green is the backyard.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For some reason after the cleaning ppl come they take all the towels even though I left towels on rack (not on floor). I am conservative and would use same towels for 2-3 days. They do not replace towels and you have to go to front desk to get clean ones.

    Free breakfast food was just ok. You would probably be better off not paying for included breakfast and order off their menu. The restaurant was very good and reasonable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi only works in lobby,lack of communication between staff member about my payment,no towels when i checked in so had to collect them myself at the reception Air con wasnt working in bedroom

    Well located

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room was not clean (hair in bed and shower, trash from other people), no towels, false information about a trip due to sell own arrangements

    nothing, luckely we stayed only one night

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The disadvantage is that the wifi is not available in the rooms. Every morning at half past five the noise from the kitchen air conditioning disturbing the rooms near the hotel's restaurant. The staff does not respond to requests before the end of the shift. Missing towels, blocked toilet piping or leaking water from the room above us we had to urge repeatedly, and problem had not been solved untill the next shift coming to work. The provided toiletries consist of soap and shampoo only.

    Expect that the hotel is quite a way from the best beaches in Cancun. We had a car. Otherwise you have to use either a bus or a taxi. The size of the room is sufficient, but there are few storage spaces for two people for several days. Very comfortable beds, access to a small terrace with a table and chairs directly from the ground floor room and a large balcony in the room on the second floor. The hotel on the banks of the lagoon is surrounded by a pleasant tropical garden. Excellent breakfast with main course change, restaurant by the pool offers all-day dining at a good price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No a/c no wifi except for the main lobby. The wifi connection was so bad due to all the free loaders that come from the street to use the wifi. I had protitutes and a street begger come and harrass me while i was in the lobby surfing the net. The room had a moldy smell to it and if you tried to air it out, you would get a mosquito infestation

    Cockroaches were kind enough to leave the room when I opened the door

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are really not comfortable and one bed was broken in half.the bed sheet are so worn out that you see through them.my husband burned his arm closing the shower. The staff is nice .The food was ok but not much variety.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was not great, at least a quarter of the shower head was not working. The services were not great, we asked reception for 2 pool towels which they said housekeeping would bring to the room but they never arrived and then we needed to request an extra bath towel as housekeeping only left 1 towel (there were 2 people staying in the room). The WiFi only works in the reception area which the hotel does state in their description however it’s not overly convient. The continental breakfast is very basic

    Big room with 2 double beds with breakfast included in the price of the room. Location was okay (is about 10mins from the main hotel area of Cancun Beach) however there was a bus stop at the end of the street and it only cost $12 pesos each to get to the main area. Also the ferry to Isla Mujeres is about 300 metres from the hotel which was great for us as that was our next destination so we just walked.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    I would hardly call the breakfast buffet Continental, no variety of buns, and got tiring during our 2 week stay; scrambled eggs, beans, watermelon and white bread for toast, which you had to put through 2-3 times. (they need a new toaster) I was hoping they might change the fruit each day. Two days a week they changed the eggs to French Toast and Pancakes (both too cold to spread butter on)

    Dinners were excellent but so large, my husband and I should have split all dinners. The ambiance certainly has charm, curving paths to the rooms being 'carved out of the jungle' however it was hard to find sun to tan, but we now know which rooms have sun on the balconies for future visits. Was neat to see a banana palm on the patio and a coconut palm growing from a fallen coconut! The 'jungle grounds' were kept up and the water was crystal clear and interesting to watch the fish!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi in the rooms and the WiFi didn't work at all for us in reception or the dining area for two out of four of our days their. There was a Starbucks nearby so it wasn't the end of the world but an inconvenience. If we are being picky it would be nice to have a remote for the TV and WiFi.

    Kitchen and dining staff were great :) the place was clean and comfortable. Fantastic shower. It was a short walking distance from the beach.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No WiFi in the room and sometimes the one in the lobby did not work so that you would have to go to the restaurant and order something to have WiFi access. 3 out of 4 nights I had to explicitly ask for towels as they seemed to always forget to leave any in the room.

    Room was very big.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice large room and bathroom, with two double beds and air con! Sheets and towels changed daily and nice patio for each apartment! The rooms are solid and so are totally sound proof, although are starting to look a bit worn now. The complex sits on the dock on the side of the lagoon with lovely views from the bar area. Unfortunately no WiFi in the rooms but can get it in the lobby or bar We found this a nice alternative to the large hotels, but could still get to lovely beaches within a 2 minute walk or just get on any bus to the hotel zone (they run every minute - 12 peso’s each), there is also a supermarket close by! Plus the ferry to Isla Mugeres is literally across the road (and goes almost every hour) Great place - would recommend for the price!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I've never been in a hotel room that's been so damp and clamy. I tried turning on the AC (after being told multiple times the remote was in my room, for them to have it at the front desk the whole time!) but it smelt so bad and didn't help. I also have never been bitten so much in my life in one night. The WiFi is only on the lobby too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    first room had blod and other stains on the beds, second was incredibly humid and almost moist. We slept there reluctantly for one of the two nights we booked and rebooked for a new hotel the next morning. Do not go here

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I WISH THEY HAD MORE STAFF, AND AT LEAST TROLLEYS TO PUT THE LUGGAGE AND MOVE IT FROM THE ENTRANCE TO THE ROOMS, WE HAD 3 BIG BAGS, IT WAS DIFFICULT TO MOVE IT ALL TO THE ROOM.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Had stayed at this location some time ago for a few nights, was not impressed then but decided to give it another chance in order to keep my expenses down. Hotel off main road and you probably wouldn’t find it without directions. Spartan at best. Upon arrival staff was courteous and showed me to my room. I had requested a first floor room due to hip surgery. The room was not too far away from entrance but required climbing several steps then descending down another 8 or so to the room which was like a basement room. The room appeared to be clean, albeit spartan. Two beds with mattresses on the low end of the spectrum. No clothes closets or bureaus. 1 chair with a small desk and small tv. TV had at best three nondescript tv channels in English. One news, One sports(football), and a channel that I was not familiar with. No amenities in room ie: coffeemaker, microwave, small fridge, iron, etc. two small bottles of water provided ((you would not want to drink the tap). Hand towel in bath and no bath towels or wash clothes. Lighting in room was minimal although A/C (in wall) was adequate. Had to speak to housekeeping for towels. Shower drain gurgled continuously and warm, (not hot) water was just so, so. The restaurant on premises was reasonable and food ( what I had) was good. Service for lunch/ dinner wa courteous, helpful and prompt with ameniable staff. Although ads for the hotel note free breakfast, I was unable get it with my reservation ( I paid more than this advertised price too!) The pool area was reasonably kept except for some vegetation and I did not see it appear to be running filtration while there. Wi-fi available only by front desk area and in restaurant. An area by the front desk was set up sort of like a small lounge area, with open walls, wooden benches and acoustically loud due to other guests, not the least inviting nor comfortable.

    Price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My watch was stolen, in the evening there is no possibility to buy anything on the premise of hotel or even ask for ice. Wifi only in lobby, very weak GSM signal in rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Where do I start. Room had no towels. When we requested towels, we got two beach towels...no hand towels, bath towels, or wash cloths. When we requested yet again, we got two bath towels, one wash cloth (the staff person told me that the wash cloth was the only one in the facility) and no hand towels. The shower was awful, good pressure but it would not maintain temperature. Were either getting scalded or frozen. When I ask for a refund for the two additional days we booked upon arrival (the remainder was non-refundable), the manager stated he would but never did.

    Very reasonable price and the room was sufficiently sized.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    they forgot us at the airport flying in prices change at the restaurant with the waiters booked attractions in hotel lobby forgot to pick us up again got dropped off at the airport wrong terminal drop off

    would stay again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food at the restaurant was not tasty and looks like some ingredients had been frozen for a long time. This is some critical that the hotel must improve.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not speaking good English, no elevator, small beds, breakfast is a joke. One day there was no electricity and water so imagine the heat and smell. No towels in the room when we arrived, no hairdryer or iron. Wi fi not working. Basically we paid only for a roof above our heads.

    Good location, tours from the hotel, good staff but lacking resources

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like the parking lot, very crowded, hard to park the large van but still a great place to stay..

    Very nice place, very quiet, nice big rooms, comfortable beds, nice towels, great coffee in the morning and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was small and a little dirty.

    The staff was really nice, even though we stayed there for only two nights. Overall the hotel and the rooms were pretty nice and clean, I'd definitely stayed there again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The staff DO NOT speak English as it states!! Beds were pretty uncomfortable but ok, room was pokey with not even a mini bar, shower was nice, and they give you two bottles of water on arrival until you can go and buy your own. TV only has like 2 channels in English also. Pool was nice, no spa though, and stairs only to rooms so you have to lug your luggage up like 3-5 flights to your rooms. Overall was good to stay in when we were hardly there.

    Was ok. Place was neat and tidy and cleaned regularly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is not a hotel I would choose for a long stay in Cancun. It is good for a one or two nights. The breakfast is not good at all and the aircon makes that much noise that we preferred to sleep in a warm room.

    It was clean and with basic facilities.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the internet is a embarrassment to the 21 century ,really owner it was so sad to see clients gather around at front desk trying to use the wifi.. spend some money it is not rocket science to put wifi every where maybe $2000. .we did not like the scuba diving classes in the pool,when we were trying to be on vacation we spent one night and then left 3 days early!the staff is very good.It could be a unbelievable place to stay with a little capital and the right management.. truly for the dive people

    location staff were great the jungle and boats

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool taken up daily for scuba classes, always noisy. Wifi in the rooms was very poor, but fine in the lobby and pool area.

    Very affordable for a hotel so close to the main drag of the hotel zone. Steps to the bus, and a 10 peso ride to anywhere in the hotel zone. Nice hotel to spend a couple nights in the trendy Cancun hotel zone. Comfortable room, clean and a great friendly staff. Very accommodating to us.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool can be cleaner. Noisy air condition.

    The hotel surprised me in very positive way. The hotel is huge but very interestingly designed. It is located next to one of the lagoon on the north of Cancun´s Zona hotelera. It is very easy to get anywhere in the famous Zona hotelera or in city Cancun from the hotel because many public buses drive there. The hotel has a perfect restaurant and food is in very reasonable prices. Breakfast was tasty and good. The lady on reception was kind. Room was very big, simply furniture but contain everything what you need for stay. The separated blocks of rooms are situated in kind of "tree jungle". Cleanliness was also good. Good value for money and quality. Near the hotel is high tower with view on the city and very nice and long walking path. Highly recommend. Next time in Cancun I will come back to this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled bad (but was clean), the air con is at least 15 years old (no remote, very noisy and I can only hope that the filters have been changed recently), the safe had no lock, there were no small towels in the bathroom. The wifi was supposed to be available around the reception but even if the signal was full, there was no internet. Only possibility - go to the restaurant (where you will find the slowest service ever). The pool didnt look good...

    It is really close to the departure point for diving The staff is pretty helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food in restaurant, Mexico has such great food this was sub-par.

    The location is laguna, and quiet. It is refreshing to see a hotel in Cancun with the charm of the jungle left in place. Beautiful trees, flowers, vegation. A nice oasis within walking distance of Playa Linda and the laguna art park. Only needed one night in Cancun and this was affordable and perfect. Restaurant could use some improvement. No other complaint.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a good cost benefit for those who do not need internet and do not have problems with umidity. Depending of the room there is no internet and smell bad for alergic people.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Breakfast was pour. no cheese, no marmalade, no black tea and always white bread. it's not healthy to eat white bread, and for 2 weeks (!!!) The bathroom need handshowers.! The safebox was out of order. After 3 days they fixed it, and I had to say many times. NOT MANANA (!!!) TODAY!!! I really got angry before they fixed it.....

    Bed was comfortable, the stuff was nice. Peaceful place. Nice tropical garden.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    on some occasions the pool had a few people doing a scuba course so not much room. it didnt happen too often.

    clean rooms, air con, bar and restaurant staff friendly, bus stop right outside in both directions

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loud aircon, Free wifi is only in the lobby and restaurant.

    For what you pay, it is about right. It's not the flashiest place to stay, and there are a lot of niggling things, but for the price, it is appropriate.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!

    This was the most horrible hotel we have stayed in Cancun. Not what they advertise at all! Very dirty, rude staff, the food at the restaurant was horrible. Our room had a safe with the lock missing. First day there and we come back from an all day tour only to find our room wide open! We freaked out! When I spoke to the reception guy he said no one was in your room today, not even the maid! That was a big fat lie! Our beds were made, new towels on bed and the maid had taken the tip from the nightstand. They didn't even apologize. The reception guy started talking to me rudely and my husband had to step in and let him have it. We packed our staff and booked at the Ramada Cancun. Then while waiting for a ride to the new hotel, their concierge started harassing us trying to ge us to pay the hotel for a cab. The rooms were disgusting! Full of black mould, the floors were dirty, the springs on the bed were broken, no internet as advertised and the staff plain rude and ignorant. SAVE YOUR MONEY, DONT STAY THERE! Especially if you have children. Very shady place!

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is not convenient - next time we'll stay downtown. Customer service was rather bizarre. When we checked in, we were TWICE sent to occupied rooms (opened the door to find people/stuff inside) which made me uncomfortable that anyone could walk into our room. They clearly don't note which rooms are occupied, because every single morning someone would knock on the door at 8am to see if the room was occupied - we're early risers, but still! Housekeeping never left enough towels, and sometimes left no towels at all, and front desk couldn't find them. Front desk wasn't very helpful in general. It was weird that customer service was so lacking when you're technically in the hotel zone - maybe they feel like they can slack off cause the place is so cheap? Seems like it would be simple to provide basic things like an available room and towels.

    The hotel had a nice atmosphere - right on the lagoon and lots of trees to create a jungle feel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor breakfast. Damp smell in room. Quite far to both Cancun center or hotels zone.

    Very nice surroundings of the hotel. Plenty of trees and bushes. Nice yacht marina. Free parking. Room big enough.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room I got was on the first floor, it had strong smell of mold, and also problems with electricity (which was turning off during day and night), so I asked to change room and they helped me right away. Tip- ask a room on the second floor!

    - Localization (beginning of zona hoteleira) - breakfast- just ok (some days they had yogurt and some fruit, other day not). - Staff was very kind and helpfully all the time, I had to change room and they helped me right away.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel made a mistake to give us a room that was still being occupied. We were very surprised when we entered the room seeing lots of personal belongings.

    The location is very good. Close to the pier to la isla de mujeres.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived late at night and there was no option for food or drinks available. There were no towels in our room when we arrived and the front desk handed me 2 that he had to brush the dirt off of after picking them up off the floor behind the counter. We did not have a pleasurable experience at this resort. We left as soon as possible in the morning so did not investigate the area or property further. No elevators on the property either.

    Shower water pressure was good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Low and cuting out WiFI signal. Small room. Soft mattress on bed. Not good for ours back during sleep.

    Helpful staff. Good breakfast. Quiet location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arived the room had a very stuffy smell. We had to keep the windows open for quite awhile to get it out. The bathroom had a bad smell coming from the drain through out the entire stay. Tap water smells really bad. We used bottled water for brushing our teeth. No wifi in the rooms. No beach access, though you have lagoon access where you can't swim as there are signs warning about crocodiles. The swiming pool is always in the shade, so are the sunbeds next to it. Pool is also constantly being used for dive training by an onsite diving club. The inclusive breakfast is very poor! Only one choice of warm meal a day. The only fruit they have is watermelon. Come on, in Mexico surely they can do better than that with the variaty of fruit they have growing. No other restaurants within walking distance, you need to take public transport. And what was the worst of all was that we nearly lost our flight due to the transfer company they use. We had prepaid and confirmed our airport transfer in writting a day before leaving for 4am. The driver showed up half an hour late. Then he managed to get stopped twice by the police for speeding which resulted in even more delay. The driver even asked us for money to give to the police so they would let us go quicker..! Very basic experience overall. Next time I'd rather spend a bit more for a better hotel.

    The onsite restaurant was quite cheap and the food they served for purchase was alright. The price of the room was inexpensive.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ordered a fish plate for the evening meal and when it arrived my vegetables were fridge cold. Like it needed to be warmed up again. The fish was pale and noting crispy and it was suppose to be "a la parilla."

    It was very well kept, clean, and nice vegetation in the hotel. Very pretty. And the cleaning lady did a great job. Always attended to my room. Beds when I arrived back to the hotel was made and my room was clean. She/he did a good job.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast-no eggs/cheese/ham just pancakes, bread and papaya, butter and marmalade! Coffee, tea, juice and milk No wifi in the rooms/only in the bar (free) Far away to walk on feet from the Coco Bongo (Center of Hotel zone) but great bus connection!

    Clean rooms, nice atmosphere! There is a bar in the hotel where you can get food and drinks! There is also a swimming pool with sunbeds! Free wifi, good connection at the bar and reception Located on the marina with yachts Great bus connection to the hotel zone and Cancun Centro- bus comes every 2-3 minutes (R1/R2 - 10Pesos per person) Nice personnel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not so clean, it smelled of bug spray when we arrived and the shower and the WiFi did not work properly.

    The rate is cheap for a hotel in the Hotels Zone.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was a bit of humidity and mosquitoes. Would be good to put mosquito nets.

    Good area in the hotel zone. All surrounded by tropical plants. Nice tropical garden with pool and restaurant next by, serving Mexican food all day. Breakfast starts early and finishes late so you can enjoy it any time. Rooms were clean and beds were super comfortable. Staff was very kind and helpful. Big shower with hot water working well and lots of water pressure. AC working well. For the price we paid I think we had really good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. Eggs were not the best, almost without any salt and pepper. And the fact that they did not include water with the buffet.

    Value for money. Rooms and facilities are quiet simple; which I personally find great, because they don't pretend to be any further than they really are.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid the hotel with Amex month before the arrival, and on our check in staff told us that Amex wasn't accepted beacuse they have 5% bank provision on it. We agreed with that but they still didn't want accept it when we wanted to pay booking on the spot, despite the fact that Amex is listed as way of payment on booking.com. They were very unpleasant and said to us if we don't have other way of payment they won't give us rooms (on the other part of the World). Wifi is not available in the room.

    Location. Room space. Cleanless.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattresses but food and drinks and rooms lovely

    Lovely location on the lagoon and great for looking at all the boats. Close to the bus station for our early trip the next morning

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very, very basic and untasty breakfast.

    Very nice rooms, big bathroom and big shower. Beautiful, tropical garden, nice pool. I would definetely come back for this price.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found few hair on the blanket, so I guess they just reused it from previous guest...on the first day the breakfast was poor - only sweet offer with no fresh fresh fruit or jogurt.

    The location is approx in the middle of the hotel zone and city center so you can choose which direction to go (also by bus). The closest beach is just across big street. Very nice garden leading to the restaurant and small marina. On the second day there was good offer of fresh fruit for breakfast. Staff was ok.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Different food/breakfast...i miss the do not disturb shield for the door! Especially in the morning!the pool could have been clean

    Nice place, beautiful nature/plants around the hotel!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location one block from Kukulkan on the lagoon. Not fancy, just nice. Close to beach and buses without any traffic noise. Very accommodating staff. Great jungle landscaping. I don't know if all rooms are the same. Mine was modern, super clean and nicely furnished. Flat screen TV, good and quiet AC. Clean bathroom with lots of very hot water. Strong WIFI at all times. Very decent breakfast, changes every day.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms look nothing like on pictures. Ours was really dark and the walls were dirty. So were windows and bathroom towels. No wifi in rooms is a bit bothersome.

    I guess the only positive thing was the location of the hotel in Zona Hotelera, but finding a beach was a mission. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is basically toast and served outside w lots of scavenging birds. It's not at all soundproof and we were waken daily by staff and neighbours. It's location is a bit off, so there are not many foodoptions closeby.

    2beds, both vert comfy. Nice ac, curtains that blicked sunlight and clean. Barhroom clean w nice hot shower. Walkingdistance from Playa tortugas public beach. Nuce price, 330usd/1w2ppl. 3 supermercados in the area.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing really not to like.

    If you are expecting five star luxury you will be disappointed but travelling on a budget this hotel proved to be the perfect option. It's really clean, the restaurant food is cheap and the staff are friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air condition work was good but too noisy made us can't not fall in sleep .

    This hotel location very good ,walk to the ferry just 5 mins ,our room every clean. Staff friendly to us and helpfully.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i have lost my necklist in the hotel , and the room keeper stole it , after he find that we have another order, the room keeper returned it to us. do not live in this hotel , it's terribel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Terrible breakfast options, no eggs, just beans and vegetables. Cereal and bread are ok but not the best option for a long stay.

    Excellent Location, close to the Hotels Area (5 minutes bus ride) and the Ferry Deck to Isla Mujeres

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room on the ground floor, it smelled a bit. The sheets were a bit dirty and the airco really noisy. We had the feeling other rooms might have been better.

    The location was fine, close to the ferry to isla mujeres. The hotel it self was good, the public area had a nice cosy apeal.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basically EVERYTHING that was stated on the website it did not have. I know you're not always suppose to believe pictures but the pictures really fooled us. The pool is definitely not as luxurious as they make it seem, happy hour is ONLY for an hour and not all night as it says, and there wasn't even a hair dyer in the room. Another reason why I chose this hotel is because of the breakfast and it was decent. They tried to vary the combination of eggs, bread and beans as much as they can. But there are birds that are vultures for the food. Wifi isn't in all the rooms as they stated and the only good spot is at the bar

    The room was decent. But a decent room in Mexico only means a comfortable bed and AC. The bar was good during happy hour and the only bartender made good cocktails

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC in some rooms is not so new and makes some noise but in the complex works well.

    The rooms are clean, great location for traveling to Isla Mujeres from El Embarcadero and to the Cancun's airport

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -It could be nice to have some fruits for the breakfast. -I needed an airport shuttle, sent the email twice, but they told that did not receive it, that`s why no one was waiting me in the airport. Later I talked to the driver of the hotel, he told that he was in the airport at the time I had arrived , but no one informed him about my coming.

    The location was good enough.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are many steps, so hard move with a heavy suitcase. The staff didn't have very good english. It was very noisy, neighbours and staff woke us up every morning by making noise. The breakfast is extremely simple. We found a cockroach in the room. Sheets and towels were dirty and spotted.

    The Location is quite good, easy to reach both the center and the hotel zone.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff doesn't speak English, for 5 days they didn't manage to fix my airconditiong so we were burning hot, they lost my reservation and needed to prove them for and hour that I really have it

    Cute little hotel in good localisation, easy way to get to downtown

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    UBIACION

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free breakfast is very bad, so please don't consider it while booking.

    A good place to stay for the price we pay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    beds were too hard

    bathroom was nice with large tiled shower

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luis at the counter very friendly guy and very accommodating

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need lamps by the beds.. crockery cups☕to use and an electric kettle/jug for tea 😊

    Breakfast was outstanding... excellent 👍

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet only worked in in the lobby

    Value. Good restaurant on property. Nice pool. Near busline

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service should improve .... very slow and not always efficient

    The pool and the location are good.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sotavento Hotel & Yacht Club traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: