Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Lodge at Chichen Itza 5 stars

Avenida Principal 2, 97751 Chichén-Itzá, Mexico

#3 of 10 hotels in Chichén-Itzá

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 145 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    5.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.2
    good value, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no wifi in room. no telephone in room to contact the reception.

    We were in Sarah Brightman (the honeymoon suite). It was a spacious room. Clean and quiet. Staffs were very nice. Laundry service was very cheap compared to downtown. Food was delicious and cheap. Very close to the pyramid. Great value for money!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.8
    Highly recommended! One of my best overnight stays in México. Take a bungalow!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is awesome! Directly next to the Ruins of Chichen Itza, you can book a personal Guide at the reception and visit the famous temples in the cool morning air without those thousands of tourists. I would recommend to take one of the nice bungalows behind the hotel. Those are situated in a well maintained garden next to some cool and crystal blue pools. The restaurant is very good, what a great show when the friendly servant prepared the mayonaisse for the Caesars salad next to the tables. Do not miss the stunning 3D Show in the sphere of the Planetarium.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful landscaped grounds, access directly into Chichen...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Down side is getting there if you fly to Cancun. We rented a car so it was not an issue for us.

    Beautiful landscaped grounds, access directly into Chichen Itza ruins from the hotel, attention to detail of staff. Air-conditioning broke in the night, we were going to tell the staff but the cleaner noticed and had it repaired without us even having the chance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Magnificent hacienda
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for one night at the Lodge hotel, we had a bungalow with a pool view. The room was spacious, bed very confortable. The hammock on the therasse and the view was amazing. We had i tour in Chechen Itza, entered in eastern entrance that wasn’t crowded. After the long and hot day we entered the pool.. instead of in the bus back to Cancun..🤪 The restaurant was good, had a la carte dinner. Good breakfast. We had a good night sleep with the sounds of the jungle. Be careful there are lots of mosquitoes. We forgot to buy repellent😜

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.8
    Expensive but fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive but fantastic. The best place to stay to visit Chichen-Itza, we were able to visit with the site almost empty as the hotel as a direct entry to the pyramids. Great breakfast, good pools.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely superb accommodations adjacent to Mayan ruins!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This is an incredibly beautiful hotel in a historically significant location. The grounds are magnificent! Our room and patio were lovely, comfortable and beautifully appointed. The craftsmanship -- carved woodwork, stained glass, sculptured gardens -- is exceptional. Patio dining was delightful as was the main dining room. We can't wait for a return visit.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.8
    Worthwhile. Best way to beat the crowds to Chitzen Itza at 8:00 am via a private entrance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    The waiters in the restaurant were not very friendly or helpful, when we just wanted to order desserts, since we had dined on our way a few hours earlier.

    The location is superb. The grounds are lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.2
    Definitely worth the stay. Relaxing, unique, good food and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would be nice to have heated swimming pools. No Wifi in the room, which is fine, but the wifi in the lobby should be better.

    Very cool and unique place. The staff really make the effort. Excellent location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    3.8
    frustrating --
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked two rooms deluxe suites that were advertised with Jacuzzi's and wifi and paid 1000.00 for both. There is not hot water for the Jacuzzi, nor is their wifi in the rooms. The manager is unavailable and the girl at the front desk can do nothing. Although I paid for upgrades, The Lodge did not deliver. I believe some kind of a refund is warranted. Thanks, Janet

    This is a beautiful property, in the perfect location. Stunning gardens -- gracious waitstaff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    very impressive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    to short to find any flaws

    immidiate pick-up from parkinson facilitie, check in earlier than regular check in hours, direkt access to archiological site.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Magic near the Pyramids
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Gorgeous grounds, swimming pool all to our selves. Room was quiet and spacious. Buffet on patio was fun and good rest from the ruins. Their guide was very knowledgeable, had worked with local anthropologists. Don't miss the 6AM early entry when you stay at the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    Beyond expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the buffet breakfast that was included.

    Everything was absolutely beautiful. I felt like I was in another world. Cabana room was so comfortable. Restaurant food from menu was delicious. Staff we’re always friendly and helpful. Loved early access to Chichen Itza.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.1
    Awesome position, but don't expect the room quality to match the price point you pay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - ANTS ANTS ANTS everywhere in the room: I grew up in the countryside, so overall it was not a big deal for me, but I do know that you have chemicals to keep them away, so this is a maintenance problem, not a location problem. Considering how expensive this hotel is, having a room full of ants it's not acceptable! I complained at the reception and I got a "sure, will do something about it", but nobody even apologized or offer something to make it up for the issue experienced. - ROOMS DON'T MATCH THE PRICE POINT YOU PAY: You are paying a lot for the location, not for the room, quality. At this price point you would expect nice and fancy rooms. Nope! you are going to sleep in a room that does not even have windows that lock, just mosquito nets and blinds :) It's like camping, but with a bed and a bathroom (also full of ants). - The little Maya Planetarium show is not really worth it and and the headsets that they use for the show smell like sweating. Time to change them guys

    - Amazing location. You are inside the archeological park. Rest, have breakfast and and enjoy Chicken Itza'. Come back, rest and repeat. - Very nice resort property - Parking availability - People here are helpful and almost all the people that I interacted with strive to do the best they can to help you out. - Availability of shops and bars on site - Great restaurant - They can arrange a guide for you in the language that you need (of course, this is going to cost you 900 Pesos)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    The early access tour of Chichen Itza was an excellent way...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow All Inclusive-Privileged Early Access to Chichen Itza
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The early access tour of Chichen Itza was an excellent way to visit the ruins. The guide was knowledgeable and very enthusiastic when describing the history and current conditions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Fantastic property plus great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic property plus great service. All staff act like they are owners in taking pride and providing service. A small paradise in beauty and comfort. Plus great access to the ruins before all the crowds show up.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    6.7
    Guests seem unwanted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They seem unready for guests! Workers used power tools right outside our window. Only one (poor quality) restaurant was open aside from the tourist buffet. The pool was closed from 10 p.m. to 7 a.m., yet it was being cleaned during the day when we wanted to use it. The A/C and fan in our room malfunctioned, and it took a very long time to remedy the situation. We had to hike a long way to reception to report problems, get water/snacks, etc.; a phone or intercom would save us from walking miles in the heat. The manager was terribly rude and dismissive when I brought my concerns to his attention at check-out. More than the actual problems that we encountered, nothing is more upsetting than having the manager tell you "you're wrong."

    Peaceful gardens and a spacious, well-furnished room. Perfect location for visiting the archeological site.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful resort walking distance to Chichen Itza.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds could have been a little more comfortable but overall weren't bad.

    The resort grounds are beautiful and very well kept. The pictures on the web-site do not do it justice. Great location for Chitchen Itza. You can walk over in the morning and use a separate entrance for the hotel which is much faster. We rented a guide through the hotel who was terrific.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    7.1
    As a bird lover I was very pleased to see birds on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little too warm. Internet was only available in the lobby, not in the rooms.A suggestion, perhaps offer wet towels for arriving customers at the front desk. This is something other venues provide in the area.

    As a bird lover I was very pleased to see birds on the property. The best moment was when early in the morning I saw the peacock by the pool. We stayed only one night. Our primary goal was to visit the temple.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic location, great room, subpar food, poor customer service with exchange rate shenanigans
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is one restaurant at the property that is very expensive ($100 USD for two people) relative to the quality and quantity of food. The service is very slow. What they call a "pie" is more like a dry cake. They were supposed to have a buffet but inexplicably closed it (with no advanced notice) the second day we were there. The bar drinks are weak, over priced, and the bar staff doesn't know any drink that isn't a typical "Mexico" drink. The ATM was broken the entire time we were there and the nearest functioning ATM we could find was in Vallidolid. The hotel charged us a 21 pesos exchange rate when the bank rate was 17.5, so we were charged $60 more for our room than the rate on booking.com. The hotel staff was very unhelpful on resolving this and I'll likely have to file a dispute with my VISA card. Pay with pesos in cash if you don't want to be hit with double exchange rate problems.

    The Lodge at Chichen Itza is superbly located next to the ruins and the grounds are fantastic. The hotel front desk arranged for a guide to meet us for a tour of Chichen Itza that was knowledgable, friendly, and funny. The room was comfortable, with air conditioning and fluffy pillows and a great bed. The Jacuzzi bath was great after a day of walking around and the water was nice and hot. The chocolate factory on the grounds was tasty with bars for around 100 pesos.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    9.6
    Romantic setting in perfect location adjacent to the sites
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food is boring, tepid and neither international nor mexican

    Evocative bungalows and hotel RIGHT at the site Wonderful pools Perfect way to visit the sites and have a relaxing time

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    10
    Exceptional!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! The beauty of the hotel, of the grounds, the room, the lovely friendly staff, the location right at the entrance of the archeological zone of the mayan ruins, the food, the general energy of the place. ..and the chocolate store very close by! Truly an amazing experience.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    9.6
    Perfect place to stay and enjoy Chichen Itza ruins
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not much. Wasnt cheap but worth it

    beautiful tropical property - we had a deluxe bungalow with a pool right in front of it - loved our thatch hut separate casita with a big covered porch with rocking chairs to enjoy the outdoors and views. Love our mosquito netting on bed - room was a great size with a safe, coffee maker, daily water bottles provided, ac, overhead fan, jacuzzi bathtub, good size bathroom, lots of towels. Ruins were right next to property - they provided a private guide for a good price. Food was good, Service good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location and facilities-food sad!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was quite inferior for the price and a property of this quality other wise. They just don't seem to understand or to have experienced good food. Items called Ucatecan "cuisine" were uniformly heavy and without subtility or taste appeal.

    The service was excellent. The mostly Maya staff were warm and congenial and lent a special warm and genuine quallty to our visit.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    7.9
    Chichen Itza at early hour!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon leaving we asked if the reception could help with mailing some postcards, as no stamps could be bought at such an isolated place, they just wouldn't help. Also since most restaurants near Chichen Itza close at early hour there were few dinning options.

    The hotel shares the same entrance and reception with Mayaland, so get directed there. Location was great because you have not-crowded-at-all Chichen Itza to yourself when most ppl from Cancun arrive after 10 a.m and when the weather gets really hot. Throughout the history many celebrities stayed there, very clean room and the whole place is like a beautiful garden. Breakfast was good as well.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    7.9
    We stayed in one of the bungalow and it was superb with our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow With Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi working very badly. Restaurant not at the same level as the accomodation. Part of the hotel invaded by daily tours.

    We stayed in one of the bungalow and it was superb with our "private" swimminpool just in front

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    8.8
    100% ideal for visiting the Mayan Ruins!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed there because we wanted to visit the Mayan Ruins. They actually had their own entrance! Perfect. The thatched chalet was well furnished and comfortable and had a pool.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    9.2
    The best place to stay for Chichen Itza
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the air conditioners do not work. The beds are shorter than "normal" and, more importantly, the mosquito nets are too small. The noise from the neighbouring village, Piste, can be unbearable and go on late into the night on Fridays and Saturdays.

    Easily the best location for Chichen Itza, with its own private entrance. Bungalows are large and comfortable with lovely bathrooms and leaded, stained glass windows and the entire hotel complex is beautifully decorated and in gorgeous grounds. Restaurants are good and there's a great bar. Staff are friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice for visiting the ruins
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family oriented Retro taste

    Great position, right inside the chichen itza ruins

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Chichen Itza
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifull garden & sweet people !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    Location is amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow With Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lights went out for several hours and the staff wasn’t very helpful

    Location is amazing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow With Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn’t stay forever!

    Everything! Beautiful place!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.5
    The smell
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    I stayed in a beautiful poolside Bungalow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in a beautiful poolside Bungalow. The room itself was fantastic as were the grounds. Definitely bringing my loved one next time here.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Breakfast was a little boring and the same I can tell about...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow With Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little boring and the same I can tell about dinner. Problem with the dinner quality....diarrhea after...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    4.6
    Regular to poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow With Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service, no phone in the room, personnel asking for tip on cash all the time

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow With Loft
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast

    everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing setting, very close to pyramids and early entry access.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.9
    b
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow With Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bungalow with roof made oyt of straws. very rustic and full of insects

    location. next to chichen and exclusive entrance

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow With Loft
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location.Good staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    10
    Beautiful, luxurious oasis in the heart of the archeological park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked it all!

    Staff was helpful, polite and friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    10
    Impeccably maintained property
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Impeccably maintained property

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet breakfast

    Wonderful grounds and vegetation. Excellent room in bungalow

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    9.2
    Excelent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food esa not good

    Location and ser ice

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    9.6
    Paradise in the Jungle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too soft

    The hotel was staffed by local Mayan people which is important for their economy. The ambience and location was excellent

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    10
    A Grand Hotel with a lot of History
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is a piece of history. You must see to believe.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    9.6
    The location can't be beat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The one pool near our bungalow was not as clean and didn't have cushions on the chairs.

    The location can't be beat. There is a fantastic view of the Observatory at Chichen Itza from the lobby. The walk to the entrance of the ruins is about 50 yards from the hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. A very memorable stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    10
    The grounds are beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The grounds are beautiful. Location is perfect-you walk right into the entrance to Chichen Nitza. We had a relaxing afternoon birdwatching right from our porch -- we were upgraded to a lovely bungalow.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    6.7
    excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    shared facilities with the cheaper hotel room when we expected' the Lodge' to be a different hotel from the Mayaland (CHichen Itza) hotel, as it is significantly more expensive

    excellent location

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    7.9
    Lovely clean lodge in a perfect position next to Chichen...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We are both average sized people (I'm a size 10 and 5,4) but the beds were still small and once draped with a mosquito net meant they really were not big enough for 2 people. We spent most of the night fighting with a mosquito net in our face, as did our children in the other bed in the room. Given we stayed the night to prevent an early start from the coast, it was a waste of money considering we didn't sleep anyway!

    Lovely clean lodge in a perfect position next to Chichen Itza with high quality food for an evening meal

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    9.6
    The Lodge is magnificent with the location and amazing staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The GPS could not find the hotel. It was just about 1-2 km from actual entrance to Chichen Itza, but you have to reseach location ahead of time. This is just a tip, not hotels fault.

    The Lodge is magnificent with the location and amazing staff! We were impressed with beautiful grounds. We stayed at bungalow 2B. The whole bungalow has three parts. Ours was in the middle, but it was quiet by 9pm. It was quite an experience to sleep in bungalows with roof made from dried leaves of palms. Very unique experience, but one night was just enough to try. There is airconditioning which is quite strong. There are three pools at the property and lovely birds and exotic plants surrounding us. We had yummy dinner and breakfast and they were both excellent!! Mayan people are the best hosts!! Victor our quide at the Chichen Itza was the best guide we could have wished for!!! He have stayed with us hour and a half longer and have explained everything in such detail and allowed time for us to translate to our parents. He was patient and answered all our questions. It was the best 750 pesos spent yet!! Property has separate entrance just for the hotel guests, but charges full price tickets. Be prepared to have exact amount in pesos if you want to speed up the process at the register. Lines could be quite long because people pay in dollars pr credit card. It took us less then one minute, but that was after waiting for 30 minutes for 6 people ahead of us. Remember the price of about 220 pesos per person includes federal and state entrance which you pay separate in the same stand.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    9.2
    The position and the hotel and grounds were absolutely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bungalow was dark and we lost a couple of things in the gloom. The bedroom was very humid and the noisy AC didn't make a big impression on it. We had asked for a king-sized bed but got two doubles instead.

    The position and the hotel and grounds were absolutely stunning. The swimming pool was perfect. The food was excellent and all the staff (except at reception) were friendly and helpful and had perfect English. Being so close to the ruins and being able to avoid the crowds was a big bonus.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    6.7
    Beautiful grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms smelt damp (although obviously clean) and bathrooms were dated. Restaurants were not very good. we had the self service buffet for lunch and the serving areas were very messy, food had run out and was not being replenished.

    Beautiful grounds. Close to site.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    10
    The staff and hotel was way beyond what I was hoping for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They we didn't book an extra night.

    The staff and hotel was way beyond what I was hoping for. They were able to help us with our every need and went above and beyond to make our stay remarkable.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    10
    This is one of the most beautiful hotels I have had the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This is one of the most beautiful hotels I have had the pleasure of staying at. We stayed in one of the loft bungalows and it was so much fun. The property is breathtaking and so convenient if you are going to visit the ruins. Food is awesome as well!

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    7.9
    Really lovely grounds - with meandering paths and pools and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bugs - but this is part of the jungle experience I suppose! Also the wifi was very poor.

    Really lovely grounds - with meandering paths and pools and bungalows. Dinner menu at first seemed limited but the food was fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    10
    Everything was wonderful, from the food to the service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything was wonderful, from the food to the service. The grounds were beautiful, day or night, with a spectacular view of El Caracol from the main entrance. Beyond the private entrance to Chichen Itza, there are quite a few other attractions pretty nearby so it's totally worth the stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    8.8
    2 mins walk into Chichen Itza site- perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Hotel used as a package tour hub from breakfast onwards- seems an odd call, given where The Lodge is pitching itself/prices Attitude of some staff in restaurants (maybe because of above) really sucks... rude, try to palm off guest to buffet, texting/leaning on furniture during dinner.... doesnt seem to have overall management in control

    2 mins walk into Chichen Itza site- perfect Lovely setting and bungalows Many of the staff great- especially the initial meet and greet/bell boys (but let down by many in restaurant)

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    7.5
    The private gate into the Eastern end of the Chichen site is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    As at the hacienda uxmal the food at dinner is execrable. Why? The second night we escaped to the excellent chicken shack in the village. Every day they drown the grass creating stinking wetlands full of mosquitoes. If the wind is in the wrong direction you are really in trouble!

    The private gate into the Eastern end of the Chichen site is what you go to The Lodge and Hotel for. Bar service and snacks are nice. Decent birdwatching.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    9.2
    Loved the bungalows and the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not being able to use a credit card. Couldn't add much to our room tab. Had to pay cash even for a cup of coffee, guide and spa

    Loved the bungalows and the location

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    8.8
    Well situated to experience the ruins.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Restaurants a little expensive - though food was decent.

    Well situated to experience the ruins. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice big pool close to bungalows.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    9.6
    Incredible location, friendly staff, very nice breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room service dinner was slow and food was not very good. No phone in room to order food. Sleeping under mosquito nets was tricky.

    Incredible location, friendly staff, very nice breakfast buffet. The jungle setting is amazing and having a pool right outside our room was very sweet after a day at the ruins. Getting to the ruins early made a huge difference in beating the crowds.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    8.3
    Great positioning for getting into the site early, and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great positioning for getting into the site early, and a lovely location. Little bit tricky if you haven't got a car to get to the evening light show, as you can only enter for that from the other entrance. Hotel not terribly helpful about that either, or regarding the tickets (which are currently free) as they are more interested in selling their planetarium experience. I was upgraded to a bungalow which was great, but unfortunately despite asking repeatedly, I couldn't get them to hang a hammock on the porch like there are on most (the clips were there, but no hammock). Sitting by the pool was lovely as it was so secluded.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    9.2
    The resort was serene with a natural yet luxurious feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The waiters were not very attentive. It took a very long time to place our orders and receive our food.

    The resort was serene with a natural yet luxurious feel. The food was delicious.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    9.6
    Best experience at a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Buffet was good. But could have been better. Nothing bad.

    Best experience at a hotel. Staff ran to do things for you. Even with out asking

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful setting, lovely pools but most important - access...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Crowded breakfast made a scramble for early start.

    Beautiful setting, lovely pools but most important - access to the ruins.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom past its prime, food underwhelming for the price

    Great location

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    7.5
    Really nice resort, great staff and perfect place to see the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little pricey.

    Really nice resort, great staff and perfect place to see the monuments from.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Some insects when eating

    Beautiful setting. Great weather. Comfort in the jungle!

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    8.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I have to leave.

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    9.2
    We liked the hotels location, the scenery is beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Time of normal check out is not in line with a visit to chichen itza temple

    We liked the hotels location, the scenery is beautiful

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    10
    would have appreciated a bigger bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    would have appreciated a bigger bed.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    9.6
    Staff delightful and very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff delightful and very helpful

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2015

    6.7
    most unfriendly staff we have ever seen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    most unfriendly staff we have ever seen

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    10
    The food was superb, extremely nice and attentive staff do...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food was superb, extremely nice and attentive staff do their best to accommodate your needs. No inconveniences whatsoever.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful landscape and garden, inside the ruin, nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful landscape and garden, inside the ruin, nice room. Nice food.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: