Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Lodge At Uxmal 5 stars

Main Street 3, 97884 Uxmal, Mexico

#2 of 4 hotels in Uxmal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 165 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Marvelous Hotel!!! Just Incredible!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That hotel just doesn’t have any „minuses“ :)

    Everything was just perfect! That was the best hotel we stayed during our two weeks trip and that was outstanding!!! Calm hotel with amazingly well done facilities! Nice people and staff members! Pool was marvelous!! They actually they have two pools!!! The hotel is located just in front of Uxmal temple! Highly recommended to everyone

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    We wish we could visit every year for 2 weeks or more each year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow With Loft
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing better would be to stay longer at the Lodge.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Luis, Pedro, William, Rosa, Manuel, and so many other staff extremely attentive. Beautiful pools and grounds. Breakfast generous, typical, and delicious. Nearby Hacienda is spectacular. The Lodge is within walking distance (less than 300 feet) to the Uxmal Entrance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.4
    more for young honeymooners, not for anyone married 15 years plus. not ultra deluxe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    see above

    this is an archaeological hotel with the best location. i was at uxmal in 1975 (no hotel) but my biggest concern is the term "room service" without a telephone this translates to going downstairs to the bar/restaurant ordering your food/beverage returning to your room and awaiting the service. within the hour upon delivery, your order should arrive (with the service charge). seniors should be aware that medical assistance is only a couple of floors away. the barbachanos family/travel agency have been the center of this region with the hotel mayaland a beautiful mexican white cement/black iron hacienda. lodge at uxmal has a tiny reception desk located in an open air thatched hut with a gentleman with a notebook computer. the main restaurant with only 4 adults and 2 children at 2 tables awaiting breakfast was always over half an hour wait. 1 good tv channel 3 others b/w distorted, no outside news

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful lodge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a bit stingy to charge extra for espresso at breakfast.

    The lodge offers direct access to the site. Staff is very friendly and helpful. We had a room on the first floor, with beautiful woodwork and stained glass features, and a cathedral ceiling. It felt like an African safari lodge. Beautiful grounds and pool. Dinner is not very varied but good and fairly priced.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    We had a fantastic stay in a beautiful and enchanting place with wonderful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    This is an incredible find!! The grounds are beautiful, the facilities are comfortable, meticulously maintained and well appointed. The staff is FANTASTIC -- we were provided a rare level of service! The food is great. You could not wish for a better stay. To top it off, it is within feet of one of the important Mayan ruins.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.8
    I highly recommend it! But bring your own food or eat elsewhere if you can.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food was overpriced and nothing special.

    Fantastic! Loved the pools & the grounds, and the location was amazing. The staff went way way way out of their way to help us & made us feel like rockstars. Safe, fridge, & coffee makers in the rooms were very useful. We chose it over the hacienda and we were glad we did.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    Great stay - would have been even better with an enclosed air conditioned restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Open air restaurant, roof but no sides meant you had to wear insect repellent to eat there or get bitten! There was also a free range cat that roamed the restaurant every time we ate there.Unfortunately my wife became unwell after eating in the restaurant on our first night.

    Great location, friendly staff with a great pool. Very friendly welcome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    8.8
    HOTEL IN THE MAYAN RUINS
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Food expensive

    1. Location ( at the entrance to the Mayan ruins ). 2. The pool ( by the gardens in the jungle )

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.6
    the efficiency and friendliness of the staff, the service,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The swimming pool is not adequate to the level of the hotel: it looks like to be for children.

    the efficiency and friendliness of the staff, the service, great organization in providing all the best solutions to meet clients' requests, the room, the nearness to Uxmal monuments.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    9.6
    Mayan Culture, History, and Hospitality, ALL IN PLAIN VIEW OF THE PYRAMID.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing.

    Short Answer: Everything Long Answer: I was in Uxmal in 1989 and at that time "The Lodge" was not built yet, but I very much remember the Hacienda as a highlight of our trip and that was one of the reasons why we wanted to re-visit. "The Lodge" is first class in every way, the lay out, the style of buildings, the materials used, and the exquisite craftsmanship is a real delight to study, and that alone is worth the trip from snowy Canada to sunny Uxmal. The location, just across from the archeological site is a welcome fact that may well be one of the most important ones to choose "The Lodge", rather than any other hotel, especially for senior visitors having problems walking. Now comes the staff of "The Lodge", ... they are simply wonderful, and I can not recall any other place that could match them !!! Their smiling faces, their friendliness, politeness, eagerness to help comes straight from their heart and can not be mistaken for anything else. These are the staff members I am talking about: Rolando Alba, Donya Pastora, Lupita, Flor, David, Luis, Manuel, Ana, Manuel, Donya Rosa, Victor and most especially, Luis Felipe Chan, who knows everything, gives excellent advice about everything Mayan, and if need be, fixes problems of any kind, if they should occur. Some of the things we did, was a visit to the Chocolate Factory, a tour of the original Hacienda Plantation, a day-trip to the ruins of Kabah, Sayil, and Labna, all of them worthwhile to visit, topping of the day with a wonderful meal at the "The Pickled Onions" in Santa Elena, and last but not the least, another unique experience was the authentic Mayan breakfast with Donya Rosa, Victor and Luis! To finish of, ONE MORE BIG THANK YOU TO ALL THE STAFF, THAT MADE OUR STAY AT THE LODGE UNFORGETTABLE. Erich & Joy

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    10
    Beautiful experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful experience in the heart of Mayan country. Located right at the entrance of the archeological zone of the ruins. The staff is absolutely lovely, happy to help, more than they need to. The hotel grounds are beautiful. The rooms are very comfortable. The food is delicious. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    9.6
    Just Relax and Enjoy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To reach the heaven... you've to be pure or have enough money :-D A bit expensive in comparison with hotel in Mexico... and the restaurant is definitely not cheap...

    Perfect location. Ideal if you plan to attend the night show of Uxmal or if you just want to swim in one of the 2 pools after a rough visit of the ruines. Super staff, parking free... and yes just 2 minutes walk from the Uxmal entrance.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    9.2
    Perfect place to stay while visiting Uxmal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow With Loft
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grounds are pretty but a little unkempt Wish there had been a few more people

    Wonderful friendly staff - incredible location right next to ruins let's you go both to sound and light and fur day time touring Great breakfast included Beautiful stained glass windows - definitely take an upper story room to get the thatched roof

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    6.3
    Close to the ruins.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not as good as its sister hotel in Chichen Itza. Bring mosquito repellent as I was eaten alive. Request a room on the ground floor to avoid the traditional hatch roof and the mosquito nets over the beds.

    Close to the ruins.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    10
    what a magical stay and the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    There wasn't anything i didn't like. It was easy access to an evening show set up by the concierge and a great hike to visit choco story. It was fun and worth it. It was also set up by the concierge.

    What a magical place and the concierge that assisted me was over the top good. It truly was above and beyond.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    8.3
    If you want to see the ancient Uxmal site you must stay here to beat the crowds and then relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hurting myself when I slipped on very slippery stepping stones leading to the pool

    The proximity to the Uxmal ruins - meant we got there before the crowds, which was magical

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    7.5
    Nice lodge convenient to Uxmal ruins
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattresses in Yucatan seem hard, but serviceable. It was fine.

    The Lodge was nicely laid out, with swimming pools, both covered and outdoor eating, pretty landscaping and whimsical outdoor sculpture. It is located immediately across from the entrance to the Uxmal ruins. Both the lodge and ruins are less crowded than Chichen Itza, but we'd still recommend an 8 am tour in the cool of the morning.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    5.8
    Poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price - it far exceeded the original booking price. We were quoted an initial price by Booking.com in pounds sterling, on arrival the hotel quoted their price in US dollars but we ended up by paying in Mexican pesos. Somewhere along the line the price had escalated wildly - even allowing for the post-Brexit pound. We payed nearly £200 per night and this was poor value for money in Mexico. The hotel was noticeably under occupied during our 4 night stay - most guests only staying 1-2 nights. The restaurant was mediocre and very expensive. Breakfast was included but to eat a Mexican breakfast you had to pay a supplement. Vegetarian options were very limited and ridiculously expensive. We abandoned the hotel on our last two days and ate lunch and dinner at the cafe in site entrance (not great but at least it was cheaper). Only 5 TV channels and of these only one was in English. Only one hand towel issued (same in other Mayaland property). Cracked cups in the room and restaurant. Some staff were just angling for tips - this became tedious as it didn't always match the service. This was by far the worst hotel experience we have had in Mexico and this was our fifth visit to the country.

    Convenient location opposite site entrance. Nice grounds but small compared to sister hotel in Chichen Itza. We were upgraded for free on arrival. Nice room under thatched roof. Large shared balcony area with rocking chairs. Some of the staff were very helpful and not just on the lookout for a tip.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    10
    Wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow With Loft
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better without the group of mariachi sculptures at the entrance.

    The place is divine. Simple and at the same time sofisticated. Very good taste. Could not be better

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    9.2
    Quiet luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We discovered on the last night tha

    It is just opposite the tourist entrance to the Uxmal archeological site, but in late September it's low season so it was very quiet. We stayed in the luxury bungalow and had the pool next to it to ourselves for two days. There is a larger pool behind which serves the other bungalows and looks very nice too. You could see the top of the largest pyramid from the restaurant, which was quite a sight in the evening when it was illuminated in different colours when the sound and light show was taking place (you couldn't hear a sound from the Lodge). The room was very nice, twin double beds and a large bath (and free Wi-Fi for those who can't live without it). The room had fresh flowers and the housemaid did towel origami, everyday a different animal. They offer guests the chance to experience a Mayan breakfast in a traditional Mayan hut in the grounds of the hotel, a great experience for those wishing to learn more about the way the Mayans used to live. The staff were very attentive but not intrusive, the food very good and the margaritas delicious, it was one of the highlights of our trip to the Yucatan.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.8
    Special thanks to Luis who organized everything for us and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Special thanks to Luis who organized everything for us and made our stay unforgettable!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location, beds, pools.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, beds, pools. Super helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.6
    Amazing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing atmosphere. Nice staff. Location can't be better for visiting the Maya site.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location with friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, friendly staff, restaurant

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.1
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI didn't work at all

    The location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    9.2
    Food could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    10
    Treat yourself.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower. And having to leave.

    Clean, Quiet, Comfortable. The staff from check in to leaving was wonderful. Food outstanding!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    9.6
    First Class Facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cost was pricy.

    The rooms were beautiful and comfortable. Bathroom and shower worked very well.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    7.1
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Mayan Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proximity to Uxmal

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    9.6
    Great Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lunch buffet was always de same. It would be better if they was some variety.

    everything. Room, pool, bathroom was perfect.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    9.2
    Location is unbeatable to visit Uxmal and the Ruta Puuc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The restaurant is a bit of a letdown.

    Location is unbeatable to visit Uxmal and the Ruta Puuc. Nice and big rooms with outside space. Overall nice hotel.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    10
    The location is great and the staff couldn't be more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location is great and the staff couldn't be more gracious and hospitable. They put out a hammock for us, fruit in the room, carried out bags.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    9.2
    The Location is fantastic just outside the Mayan ruins and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked everything. We would just suggest a wider menu in the restaurant. The WiFi was not very strong so that would not connect in the bedroom and there were only a couple of channels on the TV, but then again in a place like this you really don't want to spend time watching TV or checking emails!

    The Location is fantastic just outside the Mayan ruins and very close to the Museum of Chocolate. The place is quiet and we enjoyed chilling out in the swimming pool. The room is very clean and the food in the restaurant is absolutely tasty. The staff is very friendly and helpful. In particular Luis Chan (the Customer Service Manager) is very attentive, very friendly and on our stay helped us having a great holiday by organizing a Mayan breakfast, a visit to the Acienda and in general being ready to meet all our needs. We would definitely go back.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    9.2
    The setting in the jungle next to Uxmal Ruins is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff won't let guests relax. They continually try to sign them up for a variety of activities.

    The setting in the jungle next to Uxmal Ruins is beautiful. Design of the buildings and landscaping as well

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    5.0
    Close to Archaeological Site of Uxmal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In and under our bed were some bugs. Though one man came to clean the room we found bugs again next morning. Though the staff were cleaning the hotel all day long it was not very clean, especially the second pool.

    Close to Archaeological Site of Uxmal

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    8.0
    very poor information from Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    very poor information from Staff. We missed the Sound and Light because they gave us wrong information and they also described a full buffet (sucking pig, etc. etc.) which was NOT the case at all.

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    9.2
    Staff were all exceptionally friendly and attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were all exceptionally friendly and attentive. Luis Chan made sure we got to really experience and understand the local culture, and that all of our needs were taken care of.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    9.6
    William, Jorge, our guide, Luis, and actually the whole...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The ruins should open earlier!

    William, Jorge, our guide, Luis, and actually the whole staff made our stay there special and memorable. If we hadn't dentist appts. , we would have all agreed to stay another night.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    6.3
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    it feels like a forgotten place, banking on its location... while the staff is nice and smiley, they seem to have zero training and thus the service is simply terrible. the food is mediocre, and the facilities in serious need of TLC... the organization is a mess...2 actual examples: "oh, the masseuse is not here...let me call...oh, she won't come today" "we have no Mezcal" "what is that then?" "oh, didn't see it"

    location location location

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    9.6
    The kind and helpful staff and wonderful location making...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The kind and helpful staff and wonderful location making visiting Uxmal (and other local sites) much more manageable. A special mention for Luiz who shared his knowledge of his Mayan heritage with us and who, along with Victor and Irma made us a delicious Mayan breakfast! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, thank you.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    9.0
    The concierge Luis Cham was so kind and extremely helpful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The noise of the big busses just opposite the main entrance to the ruins, early in the morning their engines were on and very noisy!

    The concierge Luis Cham was so kind and extremely helpful, wonderful person, so nice to guided and helped by someone that loves their job and puts all his effort to advise you. This young man will make a career. must say all the staff was friendly and full of attention.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    9.6
    Location fantastic right next to ruins
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing . Get a room on first floor with flat roof not thatch more efficient air con and no need for mosquito net over bed.

    Location fantastic right next to ruins

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    10
    The lodge is located very close to the Uxmal pyramids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The lodge is located very close to the Uxmal pyramids. It has unique rooms, beautiful gardens and pools. Most of all we were impressed by the friendlyness and kindness of the people who work there. They invited us to their traditional Mayan breakfast and tought us some Mayan words. Our Kids loved it!! Thanks (yum bo'otik) to Luis for making us feel so welcome. We will come back for sure.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    10
    The lodge was chosen for its location across the street from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The lodge was chosen for its location across the street from Uxmal, but we'll return because of the thoughtful, warm staff and the deep history and unspoiled nature of this part of the Yucatan.

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    10
    Great Location just in front of the ruins 2' walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing : everything was great !

    Great Location just in front of the ruins 2' walking distance, beauty of the site, great pool area (kids were very happy), kindness of the staff

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    10
    We stayed for 4 days, and chose because of the location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our king size bed was very hard... this is our only complaint.

    We stayed for 4 days, and chose because of the location, nearest the Uxmal archeological site. The ruins are breathtaking and Jorge was an excellent guide. The Lodge is a superb hotel, gorgeous in its rusticity, with beautiful gardens and pools, extremely clean rooms with down pillows and luxurious bathrooms. Meals in the attached restaurant were delicious, as was the special Maya Breakfast. Superb service, thank you Luis for your care and attentions!

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    7.9
    Location is perfect, in front of the archeological site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Overpriced, walk 500 meters and you have nice accommodations for less then 50% of the price of the Lodge. Same company, but a hotel setting.

    Location is perfect, in front of the archeological site. Rooms are in bungalows around a pool. Staff was attentive.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    10
    Nice stay in Uxmal just in front on the archeological site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice stay in Uxmal just in front on the archeological site. Pretty place and staff very profesional.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    9.2
    Amazing place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Amazing place!

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    10
    Wonderful rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful rooms Wonderful food Faultless staff Beautiful location

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    10
    The craftmanship in the rooms is incredible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The craftmanship in the rooms is incredible. the location, service, is of the best I have ever experienced

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    8.3
    Luis was very helpful giving us all the information we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Shower very difficult to get hot water!

    Luis was very helpful giving us all the information we needed to see everything in the 1 day we were there

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Browse The Lodge At Uxmal traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: