Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Universo 3 stars

Lopez Cotilla 161 Zona Centro, 44100 Guadalajara, Mexico

#119 of 166 hotels in Guadalajara

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 541 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner wasn't working. Bathroom was dirty and we found cockroaches. Other thing is that the beds we're dirty. It seems like if they haven't clean in a while.

    The price is fair

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing is that a female really needs a face cloth. I had to buy something so I could keep your towels clean.

    My 4 th stay at Universal because I like it. The location is perfect for shopping and sight seeing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air-conditioner was a bit too loud.

    There is a closet with hangers. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The staff were friendly and performed their duties professionally. Both elevators werked fine. The hotel is close to close to many things. WiFi worked most of the time. Quiet location: minimal traffic noise and no loud discotheque music to disturb my sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, breakfast excellent, a great buffet, for a good price 88 pesos, alll you can eat.. Will recommand to visit old GUADALAJARA, just 5 or 10 minutes walking from the hotel, 140 pesos from bus station, 250 to the airport, with UBER, CHEAPPER.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Group
    • Suite with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was clean but was kind of old. We couldn’t close the bathroom door. The AC didn’t work! The sheets from bed and towels were clean but the pillows(inside) were nasty!

    I Love the breakfast it was delicious and affordable! The staff was extremely the nicest!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The filthy room , the censored wifi, the very rude front desk, the finger trimmings all over the dresser,the plugged tolliet, the plugged sink? the black mold in the shower. not giving me my money back because I sat on the bed

    The location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to complain 4 times. Dirty bed sheets, Broken bed, Disgusting yellow pillow, Open vents on every door "got really loud & annoying", Roaches, & Pincher bugs. Leaking toilet. Just very uncomfortable for the 3 nights.

    The shower pressure was perfect. I like the free water bottles. Private Parking Garage.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was extremely run down. The mattress looked as though someone may have bled to death on it. The bed itself rocked with a hammering noise as it was set up on some kind of rigged box to stabilise it. The bathroom stunk badly. The sink pipe to pieces and started spilling onto the floor. The shower head was falling apart so to fix it, someone has stuck a bar of soap behind it to hold it up. I could go on...

    Staff were very nice, location great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't have anything negative to share.

    I was pleased with just about everything: comfortable bed, place with a few hangers to hang clothes, the maid service, the breakfast menu, and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could hear the noise coming from the street such as cars, loud music early in the morning, and even people having a conversation or walking down the street. They need to replace their windows and obviously install better ones. No TV channels available except music channels during the first day and on the second day all I could see was a blue screen on TV while I was in the room.

    Bed was comfortable and WiFi was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had a leak that made al the bathroom floor wet. Some of the linens were stained.

    Location was good. A lot to do and see nearby. Facilities were ok.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None. All is good.

    The location is good. A few blocks walking to Cathedral, restaurants, and shops. Rooms are cleans and spacious with larger size of double bed. Good WiFi connection.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • K Suite with Two King Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi didn't work. The sheets had lots of stains, and some hairs on the floor n bed 😞 one of the two elevators didn't work so the time to wait was longer.

    Staff was great. Room was comfortable. Food was good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • K Suite with Two King Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are only to elevators (lifts) and may take a while to use, One day we waited over 15 minutes to go downstairs and had to walk 6 flights of stairs with suitcases to check-out. Apparently one elevator was being used to transport the laundry/sheets/towels.

    Very central location ans UBER is always available. We paid about $10 US dollars from hotel to airport using UBER

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a great affordable hotel for young people who want to party in their room and hang out with friends. Since we were traveling as a family (w/ a baby) we left after one night . Service was great, staff was kind and it's an in an ideal location.

    Employees were really nice .

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perhaps a little noisy due to location and the glass blinds, but not the hotel's fault.

    I had a nice stay and added two more days to my stay. The staff was extremely friendly and kind. I will come back to this hotel and recommend it to others

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was in the process of being repaired. A lot of holes and some mold in the bathroom.

    The location. Easy access to so many places.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible higiene

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ac was not on point and the room was not like I expected

    The staff amazing and location also good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some street noise from the traffic.

    Great central location. Felt safe walking at night to nearby restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    location is excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal amable y servicial

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not what I expected of this hotel.

    The restaurant in the hotel has good food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restarunt is very much lacking...

    The location was great...easy walking distance to many historic and shopping venues.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor cleaning

    Excellent Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed/ time of restaurant hours

    Price/ service

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • K Suite with Two King Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great for the location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms old, in need of repairs

    Close to Centro Historico

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Suite with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything, everyone was very nice there.

    it was ok! I had two great days there!,I sleeped very well.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with 2 Double Beds
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surrounding area, Condition of room (old)

    Close to Centro Historico, parking on site

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were on the 4th floor & could not get any Wi-Fi signal whatsoever...very, very annoying! The rooms are in desperate need of updating/maintenance; the taps leaked all over the bathroom counter & the water constantly dripped onto the floor.

    The location was great.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The dirstiest hotel I've ever seen, it shouldn't even be allowed! Dirty sheets ( the previous guest might have slept with his shoes on) butts on the floor, papers, hairs everywhere in the bathroom.... they clearly never clean it. And the neibourhood is shady.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They did not give us the room we paid for, air conditioner did no work, no towels,

    Location was good, free parking was great.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We had no internet or television for a day

    The beds were big

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant food was not very good sent the meal back and was not charged

    easy access to down town

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing everything good

    Everything

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Browse Hotel Universo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: