Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Calypso Cancun 3 stars

Boulevard Kukulkan km.4 lote:D-8-0 Hotel Zone, 77500 Cancún, Mexico

#138 of 161 hotels in Cancún

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 206 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On several occasions I was awakened between 6am to 7am to slamming doors and loud talking. After 10pm there were people in the halls talking loudly, running, and keeping me from sleeping. One lady was even in the hallway with a screaming baby for a couple of hours. It was overall too noisy!!!! On another note, I asked about a taxi to the airport. The guy at the counter quoted one price and another guy worked in the hotel was asked to help me. He gave an even higher price. When I asked for the price quoted from the first guy, he said he didn’t know, it was not the hotel who gives the ride. He, in my opinion, was covering for his coworker.

    The place is really clean. I enjoyed the view from the 6th floor of the ocean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon check in I was told only 1 of us could get the breakfast that I paid for specifically. We never ended up even eating BF there however so I guess it was a waste.Although it appeared clean and tidy. The rooms back balcony door was open upon arrival. There were no lights, and we had to flag someone down to go find the breaker box. I attempted a shower, and the heat in the water didn't last long enough to even get the shampoo out of my hair. 3 mins tops. Brr! There were NO covers on the bed, just 1 very thin sheet. Thin enough that you could see the quilted mattress pattern underneath. Ugh. When you checked in you were given the key, an AC remote, and a TV remote. And upon check out we had to wait ( which made our taxi wait) to have the room checked for leaving.

    The sheets were clean, eventually I got to sleep.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff stole my friend's phone out of our room while we left it charging during a tour and were less than helpful in attempting to locate it/file a report. They also lacked organization skills and attempted to charge us for towels/other items that had already been returned to them. The elevator was broken. There is wifi but only in the lobby/pool area. Additionally, our toilet seat was broken.

    The breakfast was limited but delicious. The room looked exactly how it did in the pictures.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    31.12.17 I came at 04:00 h pm from the pool. not water. was promised for 40 min later, after an hour still no water. after 2 hours a guy came to check it, because the water would have been reinstalled. at 07:00 h pm I left the hotel with no shower at all. I had to use the restroom in the lobby/pool. 10:00 h I came back from the city and had to change the room. internet only in the lobby and was sometimes off. no fridge in the room. would be nice to get some money back for the inconvenience.

    nothing special, regular and a little old hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s no refrigerator or microwave in the hotel room. No washcloths were provided. The toilet got clogged on our last day which wasn’t fun.

    The room was quiet and the size was good. The pool area was nice and relaxing, especially in the evening. The tacos at the restaurant on property were good. Athough the hotel staff didn’t speak much English, they were very helpful! It was easy to get transportation into downtown Cancun and other attractions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the room, big swimming pool did not look clean, the water had a milky colour. Staff doesn't understand English so makes it difficult to communicate.

    Cleanliness and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't have beach front acces

    Location was good, breakfast was a plus, convenience store on property helps. Over all it was good for the price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No locks on door as someone mentioned. But I felt safe the entire time. Oh and the hotel elevator is comedic in its disrepair but honestly it typically goes to the 9th floor and then immediately takes you to your floor after, hardly bothered me really.

    Great value hotel, no frills and shower heads need to be replaced but if you've been in a Mexican budget hotel before you'll be pleasantly surprised. Although there's no bar or anythi

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They only spoke Spanish if it was not because I knew fluent Spanish my friends would not know nothing going on sometimes they had to call my cell phone just so I can translate what they want to tell them when I wasn't at the hotel

    Staff extra friendly

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Website stated coffee pot in room, wasn't the case. Pool was cloudy. $8 per person included in booking price but hotel wanted another $8 per person.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    some guests were too loud that i couldn't get any sleep and the staff didn't stop them for being loud. bad policy. no wifii in rooms.

    friendly staff, good location, close to market, pharmacy, bus stop, downtown, hotel zone.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We hired an Uber to the airport, the taxi drivers onsite were not impressed and started banging on the windows as we drove away. WiFi only works in the lobby, a moderate annoyance. Not real bars or restaurants onsite.

    Close to both the restaurants and bars of Zona Hotelera but also, not that far from the downtown. Large rooms with great views over the lagoon, not bad for sunset viewing. The pool area is great, a highlight of the property. Bus stops very close to the property, lets you get to and from the main areas as you require.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No wifi in rooms. It would be a plus. But wifi is in lobby or pool area. We have Tmobile so we get free data. No fridge or ice buckets/machines. But you can buy cold items (beer, water) daily at the market store on site! The pools are nice looking. We never used. But music or a working bar (there was one!) would have enticed us to stay. The elevators were slow and old but we, again, took stairs. we like to stay fit.

    The King Bed was very comfy. Nice at the reception desk. Most spoke enough English. The Air Conditioner worked very well. TV worked ok. Cleaning ladies were super nice and did great jobs! The restaurant was excellent for the price. The pools were beautiful. Directly across from El Embarcadero so the Ferry to Isla Mujeres was easy. (Parada) bus Stop directly in front of hotel. Starbucks just down the street. Public beaches were in walking distance. Well, if you are like us, we love to walk. Hair dryer available at the front desk. The room was bare needs. bed, table, chairs, shower, closet, mirror, balcony. But hey, you are in Mexico! get out! On site Restaurant and Market. Our room overlooked the beach and the El Embarcadero pier. Beautiful!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfriendly staff, didn't understand English. Location of Hotel in front of busy Highway, no breakfast, big room but not clean! There was used mens underwear in the closet !!! Bathroom horrible, disgusting, NO hairdryer, you will get one from the resecption upon request. You have to sign a paper for that old hairdryer they will give you. ridiculuos. Stay away from this hotel. Pay 50 Euro more for night and you will get awesome rooms at Hotel Zone.

    That I only stayed for 2 nights!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the elevator was the wackiest I've ever seen - as you descend floors the indicator goes from 6 to 3 to 6 and when you reach the ground floor it reads 53!

    Central location and a great view of lagoon and Isla Mujere. Large room and comfy beds.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi only accessible in the lobby and pool. Other than that everything was great!

    The front desk staff was always helpful with helping us catch our tours! Everything inthe room is clean and convinient!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish we had payed a little more to be on the beach. It's so close... yet so far away.

    Everything was clean. Staff are friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean. Good valternative for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old rooms. White depressing lights. Old facilities.

    Clean. Nice staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proximity to busy street

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, Manager of Calypso hotel provided the room with view on Lagoon and higher floor, very clean and nice hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at check in time

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ICE IN THE HOTEL NO REFRIGERATOR IN THE ROOM

    EVERYTHING'S

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cleanliness

    Romina at customer service... Only person able to offer solutions to different situations..

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like the hotel

    Nothing.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    unhelpful staff

    leaving

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi never worked

    The location was good, the R1 bus stop just outside the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms staff facilities breakfast

    Good location to go to islas mujeres

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very slow staff without any English knowledge.

    beds, huge rooms.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    No internet in rooms only in lobby

    Restaurant and Cleanliness

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No wifi in the room, low water pressure, elevators didn't work half of the time we would have to go down one floor to call the lift. Hotel receptionist constantly on our backs about room payment when they charged us the first night as guarantee and kept out credit card information for incidentals. The wifi at the lobby didn't work sometimes and I could never connect to the wifi by the pool.

    Good view and good location

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No fridge

    Not bad for the price. Helpful hotel staff. Convenient store/restaurant on hotel grounds. Bus station is right outside the hotel - less than 10 minutes to the main clubs/bars. A few restaurants couple blocks down from the hotel with delicious food. Our room had a nice view, clean room and bathroom. Wifi only works in the lobby, but that was a thumbs up for me as you get a chance to interact with people from around the world.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There's no wifi in the room and the one in reception is patchy.

    The room was huge. We stayed there for NYE and the night after and it was nice and quiet (we went to the beach to party and returned for a peaceful sleep). The R1 bus stop is a stone's throw away to get you into the hotel zone or Cancun town. The porter is a gem.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    WiFi only in the lobby, no signal in the room (I stayed on the 10th floor)

    spacious room, more like apartment close to the beach great Mexican food nearby

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    didn't disclose beach club access is only from 10-6, didn't disclose wifi only in lobby and downstairs, was supposed to get a triple room with sofa couch and instead had the extra room completely empty of furniture

    staff was extremely helpful in giving recommendations and transportation advise. store right in front of hotel made snacks, drinks easy access. not a 5 star hotel but great for the price of being a clean hotel serving the purpose

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shower head could have been nicer, but that is really the only constructive criticism I have.

    I really liked the geniality of the staff working there, as well as the good price for how nice the hotel was.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No decent restaurant within easy walking distance. Hotel is not on the beach, public beaches are a busride away. Hotel staff is not particularly caring

    Comfortable hotel with good beds, very clean Convenience store at the entry to the hotel

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing we did not like about our stay at this hotel.

    The staff were very helpful and very friendly. Very impressed by the cleanliness of the hotel and our room. The restaurant was very clean and excellent meals and service. The hotel grounds very clean and quite attractive. Close to shopping areas by bus. .

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Solo traveller

    The wi fi connection is only in the common spaces and not in the rooms. The room doors are not the most secure I've ever seen.

    The hotel is close to beaches and from there it is easy to move around with buses/taxis/feet.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Upon arrival, my reservation was lost. My boyfriend and I had to wait one hour for them to find it and then ended up asking for more money than I orginially booked for on booking.com. Becareful, if they find a opportunity to charge you more, for anything, they will. And doing so, will give you a huge smile.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    unhelpful staff and unfriendly

    convenient location

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff were not friendly or helpful

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Guests also reviewed these properties: