Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villas Teotihuacan Hotel & Spa 3 stars

Periferico Sur San Juan, 55800 San Juan Teotihuacán, Mexico

#6 of 16 hotels in San Juan Teotihuacán

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 342 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    3.3
    An overpriced hotel due to the location, save your money and stay in Mexico City...better hotels!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were hairs on the pillows and on the shower, the rooms are small and very dark, the bed frames are made of concrete and against the walls (zero room for adjustment), there is no mobile signal and the WiFi connection is very weak in the rooms.

    Great location to visit the pyramids and the breakfast was tasty and abundant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Perfect trip to Teotihuacan
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything about this place. The location to the pyramids. The style was awesome with Teotihuacan themed decor. The food was incredible! And when I asked for a late check out... no problem. Oh ya. The pool! Great to dive in after a day climbing pyramids.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    Exceeded our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    DOuble bed was small.

    Staff were really accommodating. The pool guy removed the cover for us in order for our son to swim after we returned from the ruins. The restaurant staff were really nice and helpful - I even got to taste something on the menu that I was curious about. This was all after we'd checked out that morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    great stay,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    but the pool and spa were not working... would have been nice to have been told ahead of time as we had planned on spending an afternoon enjoying the facilities but had to change our plans

    great stay,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.9
    super nice staff - we were two families travelling together...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    super nice staff - we were two families travelling together and we got rooms next to eachother and they even got us new rooms next to the pool which was perfect for the kids - and their parents.. Restaurant good, fair prices..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Cosy comfortable stay within walking distance to the entrance of park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should provide bath slippers as it gets chilly at night with cold floor tiles.

    Great location just right outside the park. The room was cosy and comfortable. The staff was most helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.5
    Visit the mystical archeological wonder of Teotihuacaàn and stay here-pool not heated!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms kinds down on their heels kinda like a time warp. Everything is ok just a bit underwhelming. Location to the pyramids 10.0 sold us tickets to the “Nocturnal Experience “ Ticketmaster price 390$ the charged 500$ even saying they were saving us money? Staff kind, helpful and responsive-breakfast not included.Visit the mystical archeological wonder of Teotihuacaàn and stay here-pool not heated!

    Food was a mixture of regional and tourist fare. Large buffet Christmas morning that was more authentic but less interesting than other local cuisine

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.2
    The room is small but very cozy and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free welcome drink for geniuses is a myth, never got one.

    The room is small but very cozy and quiet. There is heating which is very nice to have in November, as nights are cold. Interior is very interesting with thick stone walls and sleeping alcoves. Staff is very helpful. You can walk to pyramids and be the first there before tourist buses arrive.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Cute place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    American food from menu is not per say American style, just beware that it is different. And the WiFi was not working. Other than thst it was great.

    Very cute

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    7.9
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WI-FI very weak only in reception area. restaurant for dinner and breakfast terrible and expensive

    The location. 5 minutes walking from the archeological site entrance.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.2
    A welcome retreat for the senses
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was slow and intermittent.

    Perfect location with large grounds that invite you to walk around. You see the monuments from the hotel, and a nice 10-minure walk will get you to the front entrance. The hotel staff arranged a wonderful local guide, Luis, who was knowledgable, accommodating and reasonablt priced.The pool is inviting and provides a refreshing swim after a long day of exploring Teotihuacan. Two nights there with family of 5 were well spent. No better value.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.6
    LOCATION JUST OUTSIDE THE PYRAMIDS SITE WAS EXCELLENT, AND...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cABLE PROVIDER WENT DOWN AND THERE WAS NO INTERNET OR TV DURING MY STAY.

    LOCATION JUST OUTSIDE THE PYRAMIDS SITE WAS EXCELLENT, AND THERE WAS NOTHING QUITE LIKE A DIP IN THE POOL AFTER CLIMBING PYRAMIDS ALL DAY.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.8
    Great place to see ruins
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Water pressure for shower in our room was not very good, but the other rooms seem to be fine.

    Ideal location for visiting archaeological site of teotihuacan. Nice rooms with a lot of local flavor. Restaurant was also good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    5.4
    Inaccurate Description of Amenties
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very hot (90's) in MX when we visited. We specifically looked for a room with air conditioning due to the high temps. This hotel lists that it has air in its description. It most certainly did not. The staff seemed unconcerned about the description and how hot it was. I asked for a fan. They weren't sure they could get one. When we returned in the evening, they did get us a fan - it was still very hot and loud in the room with the fan. I would have booked a different hotel if the description had been accurate.

    Location is very close to archaeological site.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely property with the best location in Teotihuacan
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed mattresses a little too firm. Shower levers for hot and cold water were difficult to operate and adjust. Not much printed or written information available about hotel amenities and services and how to take advantage of them; it would be nice to have a list of available services and their phone numbers inside each room.

    Beautiful property, ideal location, nice common areas, lovely pool, nice restaurant, courteous, attentive staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Pleasant 3-Day Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Laid back hotel with the same friendly staff as I remembered the last time I was there 2 years ago. Surprisingly they remembered me :-) Rooms are clean and the food is good and with a view of the pyramid complex just a short walk up the hotel driveway to the street to see the view. To get to the first gate and the closest distance, is about 15-20 minute walk depending on your speed or you can arrange for the hotel to get you a taxi. There is no ATM at the hotel so be sure you get pesos at the airport prior or you can get a taxi into town and use the ATM at Bancomer.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    10
    Wonderfully quiet oasis by Teotihuacan!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I love this place! This was the second time I stayed here, the first time was with my son. The rooms are very pleasant to stay in, although the beds are small if that is of concern. If you are there for t.v. watching the t.v.s are small and somewhat awkwardly placed, although why you would go to watch t.v. I don't know. The food in the restaurant is good and very convenient for breakfast or a break in the afternoon. The location is wonderful, it is a quiet oasis right close to Teotihuacan, you can see the Pyramid of the Sun and the Moon from just outside the property, albeit on the other side of a chain link fence. There is a nice pathway to walk around to the entrance to Teotihuacan. If you are tired after wandering you can easily catch a taxi back to the hotel. Lots of birds on the property and space. Decent wi-fi. Very friendly staff. The pool is nice to sit around and sip on a drink in the afternoon, and from all appearances to go into, although I didn't personally make use of this.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was really good.

    The staff was very welcome and kind. We sent them a message that we will arrive at 5 am. The Hotel's doors were opened for us and our room was ready, so we could check in immediately. The Hotel has a charming decoration and hotel's restaurant was very delicious. It is just 10 minutes walking to Teotihuacan. You can also book a hot air balloon ride in the hotel. I would also recommend this hotel to my friends and will definitely stay in this hotel once again when I am in Teotihuacan.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.6
    Closest accomodation to the ruins of Teotihuacan near Door 1...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Closest accomodation to the ruins of Teotihuacan near Door 1 and 5 Restaurant in the property by the pool has good food We stayed in a suite with a shared bathroom good for 3 friends

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    3.3
    Very disappointing stay at Villas Arqueologicas Teotihuacan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a genius Booker with booking.com I requested and had confirmed in advance an early check in and welcome drink - it turned out I was checking in with the Manager (and they offer express check in ) she said she knew nothing about my early check in although I showed her the email which was ignored plus the drink was not offered so I asked for it as was gasping to be honest and needed something cold in the heat. The Manager then said to go to the bar to get a welcome drink whilst we waited for our room to be ready bearing in mind we had been on a public bus for a few hours and looked forward to cooling down and changing clothes - the barman knew nothing about it he said reception usually sort so we had to go back and queue again to see the Manager who then got us after over an hour from arrival two glasses of hibiscus juice . We were then put in a room with no wifi even outside as family wanted to congratulate us on our anniversary so had to wait fo be moved - Once they finally admitted the first room we were put in had wifi probs in the area !! We finally got into a room at 3:25pm over two hours after arrival !! So much for early check in etc.. I booked this for our 30th wedding anniversary to be close to the pyramids for the Equinox - both rooms given had a very small double bed not wide enough or long enough for two tall Europeans plus a single bed in the same room not known about in advance so we slept in separate beds for 3 nights . The Manager said all rooms are the same ! A member of staff said that a lot of people find the same problem pity we didn't know in advance hence noting now for others Its such a shame we had requested in advance a lovely room for our anniversary being celebrated whilst there . We found out before leaving that some rooms were villas and would have upgraded but the staff were not bothered at all to make us comfortable All contact with the hotel will be documented with booking .

    I can say the rooms were clean with nice toiletries The maid did her best to display towels with flowers on for our anniversary which was a nice gesture and was appreciated Teotihuacan is amazing though

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    7.1
    Nice property
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    a few mornings we needed to have breakfast early- the tables were not set up the night before so you came in to missing place settings and with some tables still having dishes on them. The staff were not prepared at opening time and would forget to bring things or not come over to you- by the time you received your meal it was often cold. Although it did taste good.

    The room was clean and comfortable, and the overall grounds were very nice! Good location if you are coming just to see the pyramids- it's within walking distance.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    9.6
    Great value; great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant food was not delicious. The pool water was frigid!

    Our room was great, and the location could not have been better. The staff was helpful with arranging a taxi back to Mexico City.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.6
    Great place. Quite a surprise due to low price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in seemed confused about booking.com reservation. Not overly friendly either. Rest of the staff was great

    Pool was great, clean, cute rooms and super close to the ruins. Food wasn't bad too!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    10
    Ideal base for visiting pyramids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi poor and unpredictable. Beds on small side and bit too firm for us.

    Relaxed, friendly ambience and staff. We were allowed to keep our room till 4pm (free) because of a late flight. Easy walk to pyramids.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    10
    Wonderful place to stay to see Teotihuacan!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds in our rooms consisted of a double and a single. For those accustomed, or wanting, larger, bed size would be something to look at.

    My almost adult son and I had two rooms here for our recent visit to Teotihuacan. We stayed 2 nights but easily could have stayed more. The rooms were really cute, a little small maybe for some but for us they were great. Each room had two beds, if larger people were sharing a bed it might be a bit tight, but for singles or for two not large people it was fine. The rooms were also wonderfully clean. Each room had a work desk as well. Showers and wi-fi were good. T.V.s in the room were small but had hdmi connections if you're wanting to connect to your own device(s). Plenty of electrical outlets and lighting was good. The rooms did have heat, but there also were plenty of blankets. I used the heater on low one night, my son was overly warm so he did not. The rooms did keep cool during the day. It might be relevant to note that home when we left was -27C, this is why my son was a little warm. The locals appeared to be cold. The hotel grounds were wonderful, peaceful and quiet with lots of beautiful birds. A fantastic place to come back to rest after a hot day wandering the site. The food at the restaurant was good and the staff very friendly. The reception staff were also very friendly. English was limited but efforts to communicate were sincere, and the limited English was sufficient. We had a driver bring us out from Mexico City, it only cost 700 pesos and was far more comfortable than taking a bus with luggage! There is a parking area if you drive. The sitting areas around the pool were lovely. It is about a 10 min walk to the park entrance along what appears to be a newly constructed pedestrian walkway. If you get tired you can take a taxi back, they are available at all but one park entrance, un-negotiated rate is 50 pesos. The hotel reception can provide park maps, be sure to get one. I would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    10
    Brilliant location for the Pyramides
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to criticize anything really. There was a lovely fireplace in the bar area and it wasnt lit on a very cold evening, that is as bad as it was.

    Friendly, helpful staff. They sorted out our onward transport in a flash. Good food and service. It was cold when we stayed, the staff tried hard to heat the dining room to keep us warm. Brilliant location to walk to the Zona Archaeological and start the tour of Teotihuacan.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    8.3
    They were very helpful arranging local tours for us, which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner in the restaurant was so-so.

    They were very helpful arranging local tours for us, which worked out well. The manager also followed up on how we liked them after we left.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    8.3
    Beautiful building, food at the restaurant was more than...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was not very knowledgeable. I was told by 2 staff members that the zona arqueologica opens at 8am and 8.30am while it really opens at 7am. Prices for laundry were ridiculously high, like, for the price of 1 item I got 3kg washed in Mexico City. Way to few lounge chairs by the pool. And I didn't appreciate to be woken up at 6.30am by the wining of some little kid right in front of my door. The latter is not the hotel's fault, but yes, there are a lot of very young children, and sadly, some of them were not properly taken care of by their parents.

    Beautiful building, food at the restaurant was more than decent (best option in town if you ask me). Massage was a bit pricey but all worth it. It is a 10 minute walk from the gate 1 to the ruins - so it's the best location possible.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    7.5
    Good location, really close to the ruins.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was icily cold and could not be used. Rooms were a bit stuffy, it was hard to breathe at night. The food at the restaurant was not the best but alright.

    Good location, really close to the ruins. Rooms are cute and the alcove-style beds make you feel like you are in a period piece.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.3
    Basic accommodation but location is ideal for seeing pyramids in Teotihuacan
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic, dated property.

    Perfect location for the pyramids in Teotihuacan

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Splendid
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Victoria Benitez and the rest of the Staff, are very Heartfull, Helpful and Professional. The Food, Location and Hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.9
    Facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food at restaurant, poor internet

    Facilities

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    You can’t be the location right next to the Pyramids in fact...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can’t be the location right next to the Pyramids in fact there are ruins on the grounds to sit at night and Stargaze.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    It was close to Teotihuacan.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool looked a little dirty.

    It was close to Teotihuacan.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    the location is great, very close to pyramids, very nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location is great, very close to pyramids, very nice room and comfortable beds

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.5
    Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water the first day

    Service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.2
    We had a super stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, the ambiance, the food - it was perfect for our needs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.5
    The food in the restaurant was a very nice surprise, it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food in the restaurant was a very nice surprise, it was lovely and the staff were great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, next to the archaeological site.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Calm , close to pyramid walking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything - it was magical

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent quality to price ratio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    /

    Architecture of the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    The best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit too small for 3 persons.

    Clean and quiet hotel. Just a short walk to the pyramids.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only comment I can make is that the towels where too hard...

    Very clean, well organized. Beautiful old hacienda building

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    Best place to stay in teotihaucin
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room size

    The pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Archaeological visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff was very friendly even though we had a language barrier. Food was excellent, especially the dinners.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    very good located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decent internet connection in the room and hotel (problems occured in former evaluations on Booking)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel full for old world charm. Excellent restaurant and staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Food was excellent, the hotel is very beautiful and full of character.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.9
    Location and beautiful decorations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of the rooms

    Location and beautiful decorations

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    10
    Good location, very close to the pyramids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location, very close to the pyramids. Really cute room!! WE LOVE THE SETTING. There's also a pool and everything looks really nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.2
    Funky rooms with a great colonial vibe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard beds

    Funky rooms with a great colonial vibe. We loved all the little niches.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    8.3
    Simple and functional hotel from which to beat the crowds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Right on the edge of the archaeological site Perfect place to start off the visit the remains

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    8.3
    Teotihuacan very convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was cold, kids were frustrated.

    Pyramids are 2 minutes away. La Grota restaurant near gate 5.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    8.8
    Ask price of xtras before order !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    High price for laundry 3 kilos for 60$dls ?? Most expansive expense in my whole trip!!

    Location, design and cleaning.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    9.2
    Good option near Pyramids
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    Restaurant delivered great food, Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    7.1
    Best location for the sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in restaurant was cold and not tasty

    Best location for the sights

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    8.8
    Great location just next to the entrance of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location just next to the entrance of the archeological site, you can walk to it

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    8.3
    Good location but overpriced food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overpriced food. Nearby restaurants provide good food with cheaper prices.

    Less than 10 minutes walk to the gate of archaeological site.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    8.8
    The only place for amazing Teotihuacan
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were exceptionally hard.

    The only real place to stay in Teotihuacan. Friendly, humble but clean. Basic but tasty restaurant and very quiet.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    8.8
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room

    Close to pyramids and nearby restaurants

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    9.2
    Nice staff, nice food, great location to see the pyramids
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi didn't reach as far as our bedroom but for us this wasn't really a problem as we could just go to the pool or other common areas if we really needed it for anything

    Nice staff, nice food, great location to see the pyramids

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    10
    The beds where simple but comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pool was closed the day we were leaving. We had hoped to soak a little after our early morning track to Teotihucan

    The beds where simple but comfy. The location is the best aspect. 15-20 min walk to the ruins. The bus back to Mexico is in front of gate 1. Well places friendly staff even with language barrier.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    9.6
    Perfect location - it's really 5 minute walking distance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location - it's really 5 minute walking distance to the first gate of Teotihuacan Z.A. Pool. Perfect for the evening and after visiting zona archelogica. We recommend lunch at the pool - restaurant has got really tasty mexican food, good prices, we especially recommend pot with mixed meat and vegetables and marinated cactus among them. Don't miss it!

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    7.5
    The room and grounds were nice, clean and colorful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is an "event hotel." BEWARE WEEKENDS. Had a wedding on the grounds (outside out room) Saturday night that went until 4 am. A request for staff to move us, was denied. As we were leaving, people for a business meeting were arriving. I would have rated it higher except for this.

    The room and grounds were nice, clean and colorful. Pool was not heated, but probably good in summer months. Restaurant, in site, was okay. More expensive than surrounding places, though.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    8.3
    We took a bus from Mexico City (about $4).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We took a bus from Mexico City (about $4). We got off the bus at Gate 1 and easily walked to the hotel. Views of the Pyramids and ruins are stunning. Hotel has an authentic, cute, comfortable feeling.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    7.9
    Fantastic location -easy walk to pyramids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wedding was taking place one evening - our room was over near the outdoor wedding and the noise level ( loud DJ and music) lasted until 3 a.m and felt like it was inside our room. Better planning to put non- wedding attendees on the other side of the building would have helped! The next night was fine.

    Fantastic location -easy walk to pyramids. Lovely setting and very nice helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    7.5
    Location is excellent, very near to the pyramids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They used Raid like air freshener ... you couldn't escape from it ... and I don't do well around toxins. Avoid the restaurant. It took 3 reminders and a half hour to get my breakfast latte. And we were the only customers. It is a Mexican hotel so there is nothing comfortable about the beds. No internet in the rooms.

    Location is excellent, very near to the pyramids. It was very clean and well appointed. Shower was really nice. Good for a couple. Few others were there so it was quiet. The layout of the room was typical Mexican and very functional.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    9.6
    Very similar hotel to its ‘twin’ near Chichén Itzá.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very similar hotel to its ‘twin’ near Chichén Itzá. The service in the restaurant is very friendly and they serve fine Mexican meals. The entrance gives a view on the archaeological site, although it’s still a walk of about 20 minutes to the first entrance gate of Teotihuacan. If you want to return by bus to México D.F. you need the bus station at entrance 2. This gate is still further away from the hotel, but we had the luck that the hotel manager, who likes a chat with his guests, offered us a free ride to this bus stop.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    8.8
    I liked the proximity to the pyramids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I did not think that having to pay the bill BEFORE I actually saw the room was a standard practice. It is the first time that I have ever been asked to pay a bill at check-in.

    I liked the proximity to the pyramids.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    9.6
    so close to the pyramid, nice restaurant, good room with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    wifi do not reach the room so well. But if you sit outside, the mosquito will attack you.

    so close to the pyramid, nice restaurant, good room with swimming pool in the middle of the hof. Very nice staff,

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    8.8
    Villas Arqueologicas is a perfect location if you want to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    When you sit down at the restaurant, they bring you fruit and juice before you order breakfast. I thought this was complimentary. When I went to check out, the hotel wanted to charge me for this despite not ordering it. Review your bill carefullly.

    Villas Arqueologicas is a perfect location if you want to get to Teotihuacan early. It is about a 10 minute walk to Puerto 1. The hotel used to be a Club Med and has all the amenities of a modern, US hotel. Despite a last minute booking at the least expensive price, I was given a suite. It also had a nice restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    10
    I just checked out from the hotel and was so sad to leave...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I just checked out from the hotel and was so sad to leave because the staff was soooo nice and really went above and beyond to help me. Victoria was wonderful in telling me where to go and what to see. Paco at the front desk was just all around awesome and the waiter Isiral I will miss the most. We chatted a lot about the Aztecs and history and whatever else after having so much tequila. The Aztec Ceramony on the hotel grounds was beautiful. As far as the food and drinks.....REALLY Really good! I will be returning hopefully the end of the year with friends and maybe my mom.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    8.3
    We had a great stay here!
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    We had a great stay here! Pool was amazing. Staff were great. Best place to see the ruins because you get to wake up early and get to the ruins before the tourists come in! Will stay again.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    8.5
    The comfortable room, tastefully decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant was overpriced. We got up early to visit the pyramids but we couldn't get coffee before 7am.

    The comfortable room, tastefully decorated. The closeness to the archeological site. The pool, although it was too cold to swim.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    10
    Walking distance to the pyramids, quite place, nice pool and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bad WiFi in our rooms

    Walking distance to the pyramids, quite place, nice pool and nice restaurant inside the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    9.2
    Located a short walk from the pyramids, making it possible...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Located a short walk from the pyramids, making it possible to see the sights around 8 am before the crowds and the scorching hot sun.

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Villas Teotihuacan Hotel & Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: