Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villas HM Paraiso del Mar 4 stars

Avenida Plutarco Elias s/n, 77310 Holbox Island, Mexico

#31 of 72 hotels in Holbox Island

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 640 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    4.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sent two emails before arrival about arranging a transfer from the airport however never recieved a response

    Breakfast and great restaurant / bar staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit noisy due to some construction on the beach. Also the noises from the stairway were really loud.

    Nice and large room, awesome staff, nice beach and pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was perfect, the bike rental was free which made exploring the island amazing. But most importantly, the staff were so accommodating, we really were able to fully relax at the start of our honeymoon - they even booked our transfers! This was the highlight of our Mexico trip as it really was so isolated from the bigger cities and really felt like an adventure.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach could have been cleaned up by the shore, lots of dead seaweed and brown water. It didn’t really bother me, but I dont know why the hotel didn’t clean it up at.

    I enjoyed the relaxed vibe and the staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tours and services bought through hotel (paying extra hotel fee) extremely deficient. Rest of services (at the hotel) and facilities, great! My mother and I decided to get the tour to ‘3 islands’ through the hotel, paying 550 mxn (instead of 450-500 as offered in the beach) as a ‘quality assurance’. It failed completely. The guide didn’t arrive since as the ‘captain’ joked, he might have been partying.., no guide meant almost no explanation of the beautiful birds island and water spring. Also it meant that we were asked to pay the (low; 1 usd) fee to the water spring which was meant to be included. While the ‘captain’ was a nice guy, he didn’t know enough to tell us what we were seeing and didn’t speak English. Also, they didn’t bring us back to the hotel as was sold, and boat was quite packed (with far more people than life vests). The last day- perhaps naively- we decided to trust again the hotel asking for the private transport service to Cancun (taxi to ferry, ferry, and taxi from Chiquila to Cancun). The approx. 20 usd extra than organizing everything ourselves wasn’t worthy neither. Taxi never came and 20 min later we took another taxi. Overall: external services bought through the hotel were deficient and seems unworthy to pay the hotel fee. No compensation whatsoever.

    The rest was excellent: abundant breakfast, beautiful facilities in front of the beach, large room and very kind staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beach, bar wait staff.

    Beach was very disappointing with the sea grass and the volume of it, Mother Natural but a real let down. Hotel was a good B rating. Staff at pool bar was a little slow to non caring. Front desk had a little trouble with language, but hey I'm in there county. Breakfast buffet was good and wait staff showed a higher level of caring.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we arrived the room we booked was not available anymore. But after I asked for a better room, we did manage to get a good room, so we decided to stay an extra night. We asked the same day at the reception, where they told us to come back the next day. The next day, the same story, please come back tomorrow. This is what we did the next morning, to find out that they had not taken the booking and we had 30 min to check out as the hotel was full. It took me about an hour to get to speak with the manager. The manager only said sorry, and that was it. On our last day of holiday we had to quickly find another hotel, not suffice to say that we were not happy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit older and might need some renovations, especially valves in the bathroom (but not too bad, still functioning). No moskito net over the bed could become an issue especially in the wet season. We just had one busy night out of four in which we hunted a moskito. WiFi signal is pretty poor in the room. A bit further to walk to the city center with the main restaurants if you're not on all inclusive.

    Nice atmosphere and close to the beach. Good breakfast buffet with a lot of variety. Overall good choice to stay if you're in Holbox.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (4 persons)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom wasn't the best one we had during our trip with 3 kids but we managed.

    The property is right on the beach, very calm and quiet. The kids loved the pool and the beach is surreal with all this white sand.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite (3 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor complaint - tea and coffee facilities in the apartment would have been nice. They were not particularly happy to accommodate at the bar in the evening, and sometimes you just want a cup of tea!

    The master bed was comfy, the breakfast was good - freshly made omelettes, smoothies and a mix of international offerings - quesadillas, hams and cheeses, American bacon, chorizo etc. Beautiful buildings and grounds with resident raccoons, iguanas and birds. Keep in mind that you walk straight in off the beach, so the apartments ends up being very sandy. Air con good, shower heat and pressure good. We had a master suite, so had 2 sea view terraces and a jacuzzi, which was a delight. Was supposed to accommodate a family, but honestly the sofa beds were soft mattresses on stone seating, so wouldn’t be suitable for teenage kids for long stays. Perfectly adequate for a short stay though. Staff friendly and helpful and grounds constantly maintained.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room, although plenty large enough, lacked anywhere to put clothes and was rather dark.

    Breakfast was really good and the hotel was just a short walk from the town centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The all inclusive food is over-priced. We preferred the food outside at the restaurants. But the drinks and snacks at the bar were great.

    Great location on the most beautiful beach of Holbox. Beautiful organization of the hotel's beach. Calm atmosphere, at the pool and the lobby. All staff were very nice !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit dark mostly because of all the trees/greenery on the property. We didn't really have much a view but the hammock outside on our balcony was a great touch!

    Great location, short walk into town and right on the beach. The pool was set back from the beach and mostly shaded by trees so ideal if you would like to sit back and read a book but if you're looking for sun stick to the beach area of the resort. The property itself was beautiful- lots of trees, plants and flowers made it feel like you were in a rainforest.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disorganized when checking in when more than 2 or more families are checking in at the same time We didn’t receive cards for beach towels and were not given property wrist bands.No one seemed to be in control. No plate service during the evenings at the restaurant during our 2 night stay.

    Location on the beach. Rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food leaves a lot to be desired. Also, we would have appreciated a little more resourcefulness and willingness to accommodate from the front desk.

    Staff is definitely the best attribute of this hotel - incredibly friendly and serviceable! The beach is fantastic and the facilities are beautiful and well tended to. Gorgeous place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Superior with Spa bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not clean at all, the sheets have not been changed, the spa was not cleaned as we could see a foot print, the table was full of crumbs. The staff was not helpful, even we have asked many times, they did not clean our room, neither move us to another room. The service was awful, they hung up on us each time we called, the staff did not want to come and check the room. They act like they do not understand english. No soap in the bathroom, old room and facilities.

    Worst hotel, service and staff..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bike rental complicated and confusing

    Close to the beach Very nice atmosphere Rich and tasty breakfast Good Service Center in 5-10 min walking distance Comfortable beds Very clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I first got there they said they only had a master suit available but I had looked before upon my arrival that through booking there was a js so I booked through booking. They asked for my credit card upon my arrival and I believe someone in receipt ion cloned it because I didn’t give out my credit card any where else and they scanned it. I’m very disappointed. So do not give out any credit card information.

    The room was nice and the location the bar tending staff and food was amazing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room (jr suite) was amazing, clean, enough space, great light, super nice pool and beach area! All the facilities! The food was good, especially the soups and the fresh juices!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were brilliant, and room clean and comfortable. The beaches are shabby chic but I like that you have the convenience of a resort (I was on vacation with my mum) with the flexibility of having a laid-back town to explore, mix with the locals and enjoy the local restaurants and culture.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Big, nice and clean room. Very nice staff - reception, breakfast personell, bartenders (my man loved them most as they were very good at making coctails). Excellent breakfast. Hotel is well kept. You can rent a bike / kayak here. And iguanas near the pool :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff at reception should have been kind enough to warn us of beach flies which happen when the kind blows offshore. We didn't know about this phenomenon and were literally eaten alive by then. One week later and we are still suffering from this. If they had warned us (they live in the area so they know how painful this can be... we live in Montreal and we obviously wouldn't know) they would have saved us a painful post-vacation.

    Property is amazing. Staff at rooms and restaurant also amazing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Premium All Inclusive
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor coctails in all-inclusive, not the best beach on the island ( dirty).

    Great breakfasts, free bikes for Geniuses, nice facilities, they checked us early in the morning, less mosquitos than in hotels nerby.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was sometimes really slow from the bar and snack menu. Our room wasn’t always cleaned to a great standard. They allowed workers to start spray painting right next door to our room so all the paint fumes and paint sprayed all over our room.

    Breakfast was great! Good sized hotel for kids, easy access to beach and pool. Amazing location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room air conditioner was constantly acting up....the first room they gave us was on the third floor with a very tight and winding staircase to the top....for those with ANY difficulty climbing narrow stairs, the third floor is not an option......the bed was a little on the soft side and we woke up in the mornings with a sore lower back. Hey all was forgotten as the staff, food and location was incredible! Over-all an excellent value. We will go back for sure! If you are a big snorkeling fan...this location is ok....not as good as other places like Cozumel.

    The staff, food and location was incredible! Over-all an excellent value. We will go back for sure! You can walk every where and all the roads are soft sand! The local "golf cart" taxies are cheap and quick to take you to nice restaurants etc. Be sure to bring mosquito repellant and sun screen! The ocean was super warm and very shallow around the entire beach area (safe)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff on the reception was irresponsible and unhelpful. In the room after cleaning almost everytime were missing towels and soap. Won't recommend this place to anyone.

    The place looks good, breakfasts are good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from the room: a wall. Most of the staff speaking only the local language, the facilities on the outside locations not cleaned, annoying noise and music in the middle of night (needed to call the reception to make it stop), transportation to the boat poor

    The village is nice and well located, the staff is helpful, the food and breakfast very good, the room cleaned

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (4 persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was at the back of the hotel near the check in and there was some new building work going on. They have tried to hide it behind a fascade but it did mean we couldn't really have our windows open as there were passing builders - maybe ask for a room closer to the sea.

    Dining was excellent. The hotel is the far end of town so its pretty quiet but so pretty. Pool was nice but a bit small

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite (3 persons)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were a lot of mosquitoes in the lobby area. We didn't find them anywhere else. Think they came from a swampy area next to the pool.

    The beach was wonderful. The pool great and the people were helpful. It was within walking distance to town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The arrival at reception seemed like a dream. The reception hall is beautiful but not at all in line with the style of the hotel which is much less posh and refined. The queue for check in was endless. Just before it was our turn, a couple of very rude Mexicans steps in front of us and sits down unfathered by the fact that we were standing in line. The girl at reception notices this and notices us complaining but shrugs and moves on. Another time we were talking with a guy at the reception counter when another guy comes and starts prodding him hard on the shoulder until he turns around. Such unprofessional behaviour. If a guest is talking, you wait for the conversation to be over, you don't interrupt a guest! The rooms were nice but nothing special. The beach is one road and one hedge away from the sunbed area . Though it's just 20 meters away, don't expect to see the beach while sunbathing. In spite of this would not recommend this hotel.

    The only good point was breakfast, the staff is really courteous and helpful, they had special dairy-free pancakes made for my girlfriend every morning and the guy who made them was really nice!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A/C with problems my last day/night, and the Maintenance people never show up to fix it. They need to improve the maintenance on the A/C, I heard it wasn't only our room with issues. Also they should have their own taxi/hotel transportation from Hotel to the town center, its a waste of time to be waiting for the town taxis. They need to add more people to the front desk, the poor guys there cannot handle all the guest when it's only one person.

    The front desk people are very friendly; Diego was very helpful and open to suggest places and activities; the restaurant buffets are really good; and in general the hotel is really nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in and checking out takes a very long time. I was also disappointed because the other people in my party who checked in after me received an ocean view room and I asked for one.

    The location was great, on the beach. There aren't any umbrellas or shade so if you are not in the water it is very hot. We didn't have a beach view, was in one of the side rooms. Breakfast was great with a fresh juice bar.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we had a really big problem with our transportation because the staff made a mistake and never bothered to notify us. instead of trying to help and solve the problem, they ignored us and didn't care if we missed our flight. they did not speak english (or pretended to not speak english), told us we had to pay double the price (even though it was clearly a mistake on their end), and were not helpful at all!!!! overall had a great time because the island is beautiful, but the customer service was unacceptable!! the worst i've ever experienced and i am a world traveler for over 16 years now and often. however, after the new staff came in for the morning shift, there was a man who was really great and very helpful!! he fixed our problem in 2 minutes and was able to get us to the airport and not miss our flight. thank you! sorry for not remembering your name, but your english was prefect and you mentioned you lived in the States, so you understand and value customer service! thank you!

    amazing island! amazing time!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 14 nights

    On some days guests played blue tooth speakers in beach lounge area, very annoying as hotel does not play piped music there so you can hear the wildlife and birds. Hotel reception area, A.C or fans would be good.

    Relaxing, beautiful beach. Fantastic staff. Clean big rooms. Island location. This place is a real paradise. Cant really fault it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress, stuff was giving us excuses for random things (can't use the free kayaks because the person with the key isn't there, or the marine patrol isn't allowing it that day when there were tons of kayak's from other hotels in the water, Ou and this was going on or 5 days with random ridiculous explanation)

    Location, beach, food, village

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Now for what I didn't care for much. The room is in need of a renovation. At times I felt I was in a cabin - very rustic. Beds and pillows not comfortable at all. The A/C however worked magnificently and I loved having a hammock on the balcony. Overall I really did liked this resort and the location is perfect. I would absolutely LOVE it once it gets a facelift and comfy beds!

    Stayed for 3 nights at this hotel a couple of weeks ago. Loved the grounds and all the staff is exceptional. The wifi, very bad and that might be all over the island. The breakfast which is included is very good, with a fresh juice/smoothie bar and an omelette station. Lots of fresh items to choose from. The bar has very good priced drinks. Lobby was wonderful for enjoying a cocktail on the way to dinner or at the end of the night. The beach area is beautiful. Plenty of lounge chairs. The beach is just across a tiny road way - really hate calling it a road because it isn't a road in the sense we think of. Just trust me its not a road...lol The beach itself is magical. This entire island is magical! The location, for us was just perfect - cant be beat. A nice 10 minute walk into town. I preferred being on this side of the island and would stay in this area again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food for breakfast was good and fresh but the dinner was just average. Glad we only bought the breakfast plan.

    Our room was wonderful, we liked relaxing on the patio.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was horrible, the AC didn't work properly, there was sand all over our room. The rooms are built horribly, so you can hear everyone coming in, out, kids screaming, the workers outside. The hotel next door was quiet and clean and we ended up moving there.

    What did I like? Nothing about this hotel. The property is pretty and serene but its loud so that ruins it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com mislead me on the property.... the room was not what I had purchased (though after noticing -diego had re-located and upgraded us). Also, it would have been nice to have chairs on the beach.

    The staff (especially Diego) were extremely helpful in making sure we had all that we needed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bracelets we had to wear were so sharp and hurt anytime it touched my body :/

    Staff was amazing, helpful, and kind. Our room was always immaculate!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wireless internet was extemely slow and didnt work at times

    We came here for a honeymoon and we couldn't have asked for anything better.Breakfast was great. Everyone was super friendly. This was an extremely relaxing vacation.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is not much I really can say here. Everything was 10 out of 10. The only one thing I can say is when we arrived at the airport our transport was not waiting. But with a quick call to the hotel they apologized and had it sorted in just a few minutes.

    Everything about this little resort was amazing. From the warm welcome we received on arrival to the sad goodbyes we got on departure. Staff were professional at all times and made you feel like part of their family. I loved that breakfast had a huge selection of fresh fruit & veg with someone on hand to make fresh juices or smoothies. I do love having my green juices for breakfast so this was a bonus. I also loved the location of this hotel. Right on the beach front. Some hotels on the island weren't so lucky and had a rocky beach but ours was perfect. This hotel was only a 10 minute walk along the beach to the town if you wanted to visit some bars & eat out elsewhere. The hotel staff also arranged all our transportation for us and had the option to book some tours with them also. I would recommend this beautiful hotel to anyone & everyone who will listen.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great spot directly on a quiet beachfront for a girls' vacation! We loved spending the day there as wandering into town in the late afternoon and evenings. The hotel's restaurant food was delicious and had great variety, but sadly all four of us ended up with food poisoning! Pay careful attention to the prepared food on the hot buffet line. Otherwise, the rooms and staff were nothing but lovely!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much alcohol in the drinks. Would have enjoyed more authentic Mexican food at dinner I would have appreciated knowing there wasn't going to be chairs/umbrellas in the actual beach.

    Breakfast was wonderful. Drinks were very reasonably. I loved the towel art surprise each day. Property was well maintained.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt expect top notch luxury as Holbox is not a full fledged tourist destination yet but rather still virgin- which makes it so charming. However, besides the breakfast, this hotel is realy not worth the money. Towels have stains, bed linens have stains and are not properly ironed. The toilet seat was broken and water pressure depends on the location of your room. We changed rooms twice- the first time we were checked into a ground level room that rather resembled a prison cell- no light no nothing. Then we moved to the too floor which was already nicer, until we upgraded and layed extra for a beachfront bungalow- but truly, its not worth the money they ask! The beach is beautiful and allows you to take km long walks. The staff in the restaurant was very friendly and comforting. The reception staff rather gives you the impression as if no one is really in charge and doesnt really care about it either. And there is a most annoying towel policy: you have to exchange your beachtowel everyday by bringing jt to the reception, whenever you want a fresh towel. Oh yah and the pool? Ahm well I am not sure weather this can actually qualify as pool. What is sad about this hotel is that wifh a little twist, it could get so much better

    Holbox is an amazing and truly magical place and in this respect, the hotel is perfectly located. 800m walking distance to the main square and situated directly on the beach that you can walk for hours

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had severe problems with the plumbing in the room. They did not appreciate the significance of the problem. They were insensitive to the problem.

    The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our initial check in process was terrible. We knew we had overpaid for the two rooms ($283 and $210 for two identical basic rooms), but t was a last minute decision to go to Holbox and there was very limited room availability in any hotel. I was grateful to find these accommodations through Booking.com. We arrived at the hotel about 3:00 pm and were told we did not have reservations. I showed the woman at the desk my confirmation and she still insisted that she might not be able to get us rooms. After multiple phone calls and discussions with other staff, she finally acknowledged that she had two rooms. The charges for each room were presented as $283, a very high price for his hotel. I again showed her the confirmation including the two different prices agreed upon at the time of booking. She again made phone calls and spoke to various staff before she agreed to adjust the room rate for the one room to the original confirmed rate of $210. She acted like she was doing us a favor and made sure we understood we had to pay $283 for the other room. This price included breakfast only which was fine with us as we were anxious to try some of the recommended restaurants on the island. We are an older couple, traveling with friends. At no time were we anything but polite although we were quite concerned about the prospect of not having anywhere to sleep that night. The whole process took almost an hour and at no time did she ever offer an apology or any reassurance that she cared if we had a place to sleep. It was such a negative experience, it was difficult to enjoy an otherwise nice hotel. We would never recommend this property to anyone.

    Nice beach area, clean rooms and comfortable beds. The included breakfast buffet was very nice. Impressive lobby area

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't get me wrong the whole place is beautiful and is nice and relaxing. But if you ask...The bed could have been better. We decided to upgrade the room since the one we booked wasn't what we expected after seeing the photos.

    The property has a sense of place. The master suite is very nice! Right in front of the ocean and relaxing.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is wonderful, with a unique atmosphere and rooms situated nearly on the beach! Breakfast was very nice as well. As the air conditioning in our room was broken, we got offered a different room with an even better view on the beach. There are hammocks on the patio, a very quiet and friendly ambient. Definitely worth recommending, especially if you are looking for a quiet time and peace of mind.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was terrible. But this is an issue in all of Mexico not just the hotel.

    The hotel and staff were lovely and were helpful. Breakfast was lovely. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were too many mosquitos and for the upper rooms you have to climb a round stair twoo floors.

    Location was excellent. Rooms are very nice and the whole resort is beautiful. Breakfast was amazing. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we booked was unavailable due to mechanical failures we were told. Room we were given was unacceptable. Mosquitos were relentless and beach far away from property with main road seperate g the two. We changed hotels after paying for the first night despite the above just to get out of there and found another property. Booking.com then charged us an early cancellation fee $330!

    Staff was very friendly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Villas HM Paraiso is a very special hotel. It is located across a dirt road from a pristine beach. During low tide you can walk on sandbars for miles and miles. The main and only town on the island, which in some ways feels like a throwback to a different era, is a 10-15 minute walk away (perfectly safe to walk back at night on beach or road - there are few cars on the island but you can take golf cart taxis or rent a golf cart or bicycle). Staff at the hotel was lovely and attentative. Food was excellent. Only downside was mosquitos - bug spray for the most part did the trick.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel for holbox. This is not a fancy island so if you keep expectations in check, this hotel was perfect. The room was a good size. The staff was fine and the location to town is great. We didn't do the all inclusive, just breakfast and it was good. They also helped us book activities when we got there.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff was SUPER nice. The food was diverse and delicious. (The eclairs with a cherry on the top were my favorite. )The property is well maintained and the beach was beautiful!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No complaints

    the staff was exceptional. From the managers to housekeeping, I can't say enough about their attentive friendly demeanor. Special kudos to Ricardo; we ran into him downtown on a Sunday and he helped us find a cab when they were very scarce. Isis was so sweet, just a beautiful person. Great hotel!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located in a jungle so be prepared for mosquitoes! No sitting or shades on the beach

    Interesting disigned hotel. Large room. Nice pool. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wished the front desk knew a bit more about the ferry schedule to/from the island. This is important for all travelers.

    Everything was really good! We would stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They r in the process of building more rooms but the room and facilities we were at were beautifully decorated and they're on top of everything that needs to be done.

    The property is fabulous! Very clean and the upkeep is great!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Restaurant would've gotten old very quickly if we'd purchased all-inclusive and had to eat there consistently.

    Location, rooms, and service were all excellent, particularly for the price!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in took nearly a half hour, the process was completely unorganized. The suite we were given had not been properly cleaned, we actually thought we were entering an occupied room - there was a plate of rotting and moldy fruit and an open bottle of wine on the table. The bar staff didn't even know how much a bottle of beer was.

    The beach is beautiful, the hotel on the other hand was horrendous.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff was amazing, the hotel was in mint condition and the service was excellent. The grounds nicely groomed every morning. The food very tasty, with lots to choose from. All in all, we had a wonderful experience. I highly recommend this hotel to all who are looking for a relaxing, safe holiday.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wish the pool was open til later then 8:00pm

    The pancakes were unforgettable - wish I could have them every morning! Loved the smoothies! Felt like I was eating healthy on vacation!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 2 ATMs on the island not working our entire stay! Left the island not leaving tips for staff as a result😟. Bring pesos!

    Ocean view worth the extra, the rest of the units seem a bit cramped.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The windows were inconvenient, you could only have them open without any type of curtains, so either we were completely cloistered in a cave or completely open to the public view.

    The hotel was peaceful and the location fantastic, very easy to walk in less than a minute to the beach, and beautiful gardens all around the rooms. It was far enough from the main town to be quiet, but close enough to walk there easily in under 10 minutes. The staff were very kind and accommodating, and the buffet lunch was also good--it had a variety of vegetables, which in Holbox is surprisingly hard to find.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was not very knowledgeable or helpful. We had to take our own bags to and from the room. Feels a bit too much like a big resort for the calm and peaceful surroundings of Holbox.

    We were upgraded to a very large room next to the beach which was great!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should have cintranella candles in the bars to maybe help steer the mosquitos away! They're a little annoying at night at the bar by the lobby.

    The staff! Very friendly!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool area wasn't appealing - quite small and needed more regular cleaning (so just head to the beach!)

    This hotel hassuch a great relaxed atmosphere - we felt at ease the second we arrived! So peaceful and with a beautiful beach right outside. Breakfast was great and the beach bar was very handy. We loved it.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Superior with Spa bath
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No Wifi in rooms. Dinner closes early.

    Everyone was super friendly and helpful here. I felt at ease and the food is yummy. We got the all inclusive deal and got a nice package and drinks for the sunny weather. The rooms were so clean and comfortable. Our room had a great view of the ocean and a hammock. Loved it. Can't wait to return.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Transportation. Having access to bikes free of charge. Pick up and drop off to ferry too.

    Everything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't have anything to eat after 10pm.

    amazing beach view , great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite Superior with Spa bath (3 persons)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was in general good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place,ambient was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, nice loungers by beach, solid breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    excellent location, beautiful beach and villas, in overall beautiful place

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Villas HM Paraiso del Mar traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: