Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Viva Wyndham Azteca All Inclusive This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Avenida Paseo Xaman-Ha 8 Lote Hotelero 1, 77710 Playa del Carmen, Mexico

#35 of 191 hotels in Playa del Carmen

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 237 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    4.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2018

    10
    Mexican restaurant was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bamboo restaurant wasn’t good. Our waiter gave us very minimal service. Would not go back to this restaurant. Our room was kind of humid.

    Mexican restaurant was great. Staff was very friendly and helpful . Everything was super clean and organized. Buffet was good with a lot of different options to choose from. Animation team was cool and friendly. Drinks were good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No policy for hogging beds with towels. Couldn’t sit next to pool as people put towels on beds and often the beds were unoccupied all day or most of day

    Coffee was very good. Most of the food good. Staff nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing place for a family!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The buffet food was pretty bland and boring...have had better at other resorts. Never had a chance to eat at the restaurants. Francisco at the excursion table was not helpful and we felt like we were boring him with our questions. Found our own excursions.

    The staff was excellent! Did love that they had someone from the staff join you if you were dining alone, Ulysis was a pleasure to speak with during this time. Bartenders were excellent. I wish I could remeber the gentlman that check us in...went out of his way to make us feel welcomed, especially since we were having trouble with our credit card! The property was super clean! Taxi service excellent! Beach location was more than we could have asked for! Don't hesitate to stay here, we will be returning!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2017

    8.3
    No internet in the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No internet in the rooms. Internet in lobby very slow. Without free internet in the rooms we will not return nor recommend the hotel to friends. No mariachi music.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2017

    3.8
    Very bad service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I asked for early check in and I arrive early nonetheless the check in I finally got with 2 hours of delay (5 pm). There are 4 restaurants but you can only eat in one of them for the other 3 you should pick one for a dinner. There is nobattendance at beach area and you need to walk about 200 mts just to get a drink.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2017

    10
    Overall my stay was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That nobody at that resort left tips for the stuff. Guest were really rude, (Italians, Argentinians)

    Everything but most important the staff, they are really nice and hard working people, but it seems that the owner doesn't care for them.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2017

    2.9
    Terrible Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Since I had to check out 13 hours earlier than my check out time, I asked early check in at 11:30am but the experience was terrible because I got the room at 4pm!! One hour later than stated check in time. The view from the room (supposed to be to the pool) was to an ugly yard (all views at ground level are bad no matter if it says to the pool, beach or whatever). There is no attendance on the beach or pool area to get drinks so you have to walk like 5 minutes and to wait other 10 more to get a drink. The room is very basic, no bar, no wifi, old and with a strange odor. In description says that there are 4 restauran but 3 of them you can book only once the rest you have to use the buffet restaurant.

    The food is limitred to one restaurant but acceptable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2017

    10
    Perfect smaller resort. Great location & food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No coffee in the room but I was able to get some at the 24hr snack bar. Beds could have been softer. More chairs by the pool.

    Wonderful food & great selection. Perfect location not crowded. Friendly & knowledgeable staff. Nice small resort we felt like we had the pool & beach to ourselves. Walking distance to shopping centers. Plenty of lounge chairs on the beach. Smoking guest rooms & smoking areas. Liked being able to go to both resorts to dine at & using both facilities.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2016

    2.5
    This place sucks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Horrible food. We had the honeymoon suite and it was bad! The hot tub in the room had big chuncks of minerals coming out, Even after we had service come and fix it 2 times for a total of 2 hours. Coffee tasted burnt. Loud noises outside your room. Literally everything was bad. We will never come back, as we even checked out 5 days early! Big scams from occidental vacation rentals at the property next door. Staff is super picky and watches your every move.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2016

    4.6
    Will never retun!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was rude and not knowledgeable. I was told "you don't deserve...." and "your not one of our VIPs". Not treated as a valued customer. Food was not good

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2016

    10
    We would go back in a heartbeat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Music on during the day was a bit Not my thing gangster rap and swearing

    Staff amazing they cleaned within an inch of the resorts life! And so helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2016

    9.6
    Wow, Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel offers free internet in the area of the lobby(very weak in the rush hours). It is optional to buy internet package (premium - all over the hotel) which costs 35$ for a week. The tour company which works with the hotel is very kind until the moment you pay them. In the moment after they are not helpful and even a bit rude.

    The hotel is amazing. The most beautiful private beach which I ever seen. The entertainment staff is really good. They have activities all day long... dancing, singing, bingo and more. The food is excellent. The hotel has an agreement with another hotel so they share their facilities with each other. The location is good real close to the fifth avenue and the pier to Cozumel. Don't think twice, go for it you won't regret.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2016

    10
    The place to go for a very very good all round holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    Just about everything. The whole complex was very user friendly. Staff could not do enough for you. There were lots of activities which you could take or leave. Maid service brilliant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2016

    9.2
    It's a great place for the family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    It's a great place for the family. A smaller resort which was perfect for us. Amazing beach and the kids club was absolutely fantastic, our 5 & 4 yr olds kept asking us if they could go back to kids club. So thank you to Roselia , Nancy and the girls for making it the trip of a lifetime.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2016

    7.1
    Overpriced and very Benidorm-ish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No wifi available. You can buy wifi for $35US per week, but can't buy by the day. We were there three days, so that was a bit poor. Some inconsistencies with staff. We were told a trip would return at a particular time, and were assured we could do it the day we were leaving, and be back in time to get to the airport. It came back 2hrs late, and when we raised it, were told it was our fault for not telling the guide we had to be back at a particular time, despite making it very clear when we booked, and two other couples being told it would return at the earlier time. Overall, it was very much a huge resort, catering to lots of people, so all good is mass produced, and it shows. I think it was overpriced and would not go back there.

    All inclusive was good, don't have to worry about accumulating a large bill or carrying cash.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2016

    6.7
    Nice place. Would come back if I get the right rate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Five dollars for a room key? Free WiFi around the reception area only. Fleas in the little plaza.

    Hotel is ok for the price i paid. +/- $600 for me and my son for five days. Food at the Italian restaurant was good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    6.7
    Not as I expected the only positive was the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restraunt food cold and pre cooked very very poor

    Barr food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    10
    will go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    wifi poor

    Everything

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2017

    10
    Bed was a bit hard and very low.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bed was a bit hard and very low.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2017

    10
    We had an amazing time!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Ocean Front
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Leaving a message on the phone and hearing a voice message to what they want.

    The stafff was amazing!!! Attentive and kind!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2016

    8.3
    La comida y las bebidas por 24hrs :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    La comida y las bebidas por 24hrs :)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2016

    8.8
    Good food, very good customer service and all the staff very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good food, very good customer service and all the staff very friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2016

    10
    Lovely days
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Wi-Fi too dificult too get and And ando hace to pay

    O love the Buffet everyday

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2016

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were pretty firm. Bottom shelf liquor. Didn't have the good stuff.

    Great location. Awesome staff. Clean Beach. Good food.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2016

    10
    Excellent service, great value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent service, great value for the money. The staff was amazing. Great location and onsite restaurants and amenities were great. The beach was perfect!

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2016

    7.9
    The staff was very friendly and always accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    You can't get a lounge chair by the pool because the same people put their towels and bags on them while they aren't even using them. I saw a couple leave the resort then came back 3 hours later and sat in their "reserved" lounges. Common courtesy isn't always used so ma uh be a sign sayig if your leave the pool area for other activities then you should allow others to use the few poolside lounges.

    The staff was very friendly and always accommodating. Also, you are allowed 3 restaurant reservations for a 7 night stay but if you go to the guest desk between 2-3 and there is an open reservation, in any restaurant, you can have it. We were able to eat at a restaurant 5 times which was wonderful.

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2015

    10
    Amazing Staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The tending of the beach could use a little more seaweed cleaning.

    Amazing Staff. Amazing People. Great Location. Clean facilities. Great value. Never change!

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2015

    8.8
    Staff treated you very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff treated you very good. We really loved the animacion team and their performane. Also rest of staff very friendly and good work

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2015

    9.6
    Fantastic employees
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Had 2 bouts of diahrrea after eating!

    Fantastic employees

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2015

    9.2
    Very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice hotel. Amazing beach, food & staff.

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2015

    10
    The staff was great and very welcoming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff was great and very welcoming! Great value for the price.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Guests also reviewed these properties: