Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sunscape Sabor Cozumel - All Inclusive 4 stars

Carretera Costera Sur KM 12.9 Zona Hotelera Sur, 77600 Cozumel, Mexico

#14 of 42 hotels in Cozumel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 408 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Paid WiFi

    4.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    The beach 12$ away one way was beautiful. Many people were too. Life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deal of the Day
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was terribly frustrated by the fact that it's impossible to find my house. Everybody else admitted they had the same problem for days. Looooots of walking. My legs are sick. So you can imagine. Who made the design is heartless. The young lady on reception didn't like me and didn't try to hide it. Couldn't find my itinarary and moved on to other people. WOW!

    the beach that you have to ride the taxi to. Wonderful. Sand and blue clear water. OMG. The furniture was clean, unlike in other hotels. It's a gem. The greenaries. The pink flamingos. The food for the dinner, breakfast eh.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.3
    Just the basics
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was not great. The buffet was terrible and food was out in the open for flies to keep landing in. Food variety was not good at all. Rooms were very dated and could use major upgrade. Walls were dirty, showers were dirty and pillows were old and lumpy. At other resorts you can walk right into the snack bar and get what you want. At this resort you have to wait to be seated and served. This slows down everything and it isn't quick at all. WIFI is free in lobby. WIFI should be free in entire resort. When placing us in a room they should have kept in mind there would be loud maintenance going on right above us and put us in a different room. We are on vacation and wanted to wake up when we decided but that wasn't the case here. They also decided that the area on each side of our door would be a great place to store the equipment. Bring mosquito spray and ask for a room closer to beach.

    The staff. In all honesty if it wasn't for the hard working amazing staff I would give this resort a zero. They were so very nice, wanted to ensure you were happy and when you ask for something they took care of it in a reasonable amount of time. I feel if they updated the rooms and made major changes to food (and drinks) this resort could easily be a 3 or maybe 3.5 star resort.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.7
    Relaxing time when spent outside the rooms; facilities have seen better days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Big variance in room quality (especially when compared to next door Secrets facility. Our two rooms were in bad need of repair/remodeling. Air conditioning leaked water, bathroom pipes leaked water, bathroom door in disrepair, small refrigerator was disgusting. We tried to change rooms but by the time two became available, it wasn't worth the effort.

    Very nice staff that attempted to be helpful. Main pool area is pleasant. Breakfast @ Portofino's restaurant was always very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Fun and relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of a think right now! Would come again :)

    Great beaches for snorkeling and laying out and enjoying the view. The entertainment staff is awesome, works extra hard to make sure you are enjoying yourself! Great nightly entertainment. Arbey in entertainment and the others were great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    6.7
    We’ll stay elsewhere next trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was subpar and the drink quality was very disappointing. Also what we booked was not what we were given when we went to check in. I booked a king bed overlooking the ocean but was given two double beds overlooking the street. Apparently what I booked was only “when available.” It shouldn’t allow someone to book something that wasn’t available. The room we got also had an ac that did not work so the stay was hot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    I will definitely return to Sunscape Sabor Cozumel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 7 nights

    If you arrive in Cancun, you need 2-3 hours to get to the hotel.

    This is a wonderful hotel with qualified staff. Personal speaks Spanish and English. The hotel area is very clean and green. A clean beach with plenty of sun loungers and beach towels. Good quality of food. Great animation team. At any time of the day you will find free by the sea or by the pools. The water in the pools is clean, once a day the personnel do a water test. You will need a water shoes if you want to walk in seawater along the shore or engage in snorkeling. A lot of stones a little further from the shore, if you go into the sea. Snorkeling equipment is provided by the hotel for 2 hours free of charge. Also you can use a catamaran and kayak. The bed in our room was very comfortable. Rooms are cleaned every day. Shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, shower cap, sewing kit is presented by the hotel. NO toothpaste!!! Free mini-bar (beer, cola, juices). The hotel provides 4 bottles of drinking water every day. The hotel offers SPA, fitness center, a lot of excursions and car rentals. Currency exchange at the reception. I will recommend this hotel if you everyone who want to have a good rest time!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice lower-end all inclusive for the price. Recommend for budget oriented and families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deal of the Day
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I love mojitos yet every one I ordered was inconsistent and not very good. Only 2 or 3 limes and mint leaves in each, lots of soda water and not enough simple syrup. We left the resort to get better mojitos at additional cost. The buffet was about the same regardless of the meal (seafood stew from the night before was on the breakfast buffet). Get there early or options get slim. The poolside cafe will only serve hamburgers, hot dogs, nachos and fries to go. Everything else such as the ceviche has to be eaten at the table (which was annoying as I did have a table in the sun less than 25 feet away- see picture of dining area and where the group in back is standing where I could not take my food). Why care if I eat it inside the restaurant or take it to the beach? If you are used to a higher quality menu items and great buffets you might find this lacking. No room service either! :-( Speaking of beach, plenty of chairs and hammocks. VIP is NOT worth it. The $200 they give is in separate coupons... like 3-$40 credits for the spa but you can not combine them for the $190 1 hour massage! Or 3-$10 credits for wine but non-combinable for the $80 bottle of wine!

    We loved the size of the resort more than the sprawling one we stayed the previous week. All the rooms are close to the ocean and it is a fairly short walk from one end to the other. Pool, bar, beach and room all close together. The rooms were comfortable and the housekeepers were great. Evening entertainment was a nice surprise. Staff was AWESOME! Kept our fridge stocked. We had a car and it was very easy to park and come and go as we pleased. We didn't bring kids but the kids program here looked amazing. Great value all-inclusive for kids and you get some adult time! Nice sand but also rocky. Bring water shoes. Mexican restaurant had the BEST flaming dessert!! Attempt to get you to go to timeshare presentation but we easily declined.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Excellent. Relaxing. Well taken care of.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms at Sunscape Sabor were more rundown than the rooms at Secrets, and several of the rooms of my friend's had a musty smell. I was pleased to be upgraded.

    I actually got upgraded to their adults only sister resort right next door (Secrets) due to overbooking, so my review is based on the room at Secrets and the facilities at Sunscape Sabor. Pools were great. Food was good. Entertainment was entertaining and fun. Can't complain. Rooms at Secrets are considerably more comfortable and nice than the ones at Sunscape Sabor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.6
    I loved the fact all the restaurants had outdoor seating, so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Tropical View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked it all!

    I loved the fact all the restaurants had outdoor seating, so you always had a great view. The food was good and always found something I liked.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful outside and relaxing - very clean - not crowded -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deal of the Day
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room disappointing - booked king but given doubles -frig not stocked- bathroom needed work - but terrace and view and location of room for us was great

    Beautiful outside and relaxing - very clean - not crowded - lots of beach area - everything included - would definitely recommend

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.1
    Had fun with our group but wouldn't return just as a couple
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is not as nice as it's advertised on Booking.com or their own website, lots of pictures of the next door resort that's adult only are advertised on the website as Sunscape Sabor.. Not all the restaurants were open when they should have been, and bar would closed down 15 minutes before their actual closing time.

    The pools were nice, staff was friendly, drinks were good!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    4.2
    Incredibly overpriced for a pretty view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall, the food was only slightly better than a school cafeteria. NEVER had food warmer/cooler than room temperature regardless of what it should be. Wait staff were hard to track down after initial order. Terrible policies regarding exchange rate and converting money. ATM charges 16% to transact. If you don’t have pesos, you pay almost 2/3 more in USD for some things but the hotel won’t exchange dollars for pesos. Terrible mosquito/midge/mite problem both in room and on property- covered head to toe in bites despite using repellent lotion. Thought it was bedbugs due to extremism of bites. Bed linens had stains. Only given 2 bottles of water per day then you have to go to the bar for a glass of water (no where to refill your bottles). AC worked well but didn’t dehumidify so towels never dry after shower and dry clothes are very damp when you put them on. Confusing upsell of excursions (different people quoted different prices/details for same excursions). Public restrooms are spaced far/inconvenient. Overall old/run down bldgs. For reference- I’ve been to over 25 resorts in the Mexico/Caribbean and traveled throughout 12 countries. I’ve stayed in homes, hostels and up to 5 star (legit 5 star) resorts. Im not that ‘entitled/Ugly American’. I just know what value is at each price point. This is not it.

    Staff were very friendly. Some buffet items were quite good. Grounds well maintained. Beautiful water colors.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    Great location and ambiance. More attuned to families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Timeshare like salesman very hard sell of a over priced dream. Spoiler alert $69,000 for access to a website to buy reduced accommodation rates. Repetitive food menus. Weak drinks but plentiful. Go to lobby bar for a good G&T Coffee what coffee???? More like dish water.

    Beach front, “almost” adult only pool. Egg lady does great fresh to order omelets that set you up for the day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.8
    Good choice for a few days all inclusive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms should be next on their list for upgrades.

    Nicely decorated rooms, interesting architecture, nice gardens, beautiful buffet location, good food selection, well prepared, nice beach with some quiet locations.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.9
    Nice simple all inclusive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Spa services were extremely expensive. Some of the pictures on Booking.com show the spa which seems like it is included. A 1hr massage is over 100USD. No premium liquors. when it was slightly windy, no snorkelling or Kayaking were available.

    Great Location, on the beach. Good pools and great activities on site. Restaurants were okay, but the menu was not extensive. staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.5
    Worthwhile trans-continental effort to enjoy Winter Sun
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Although taxis are continuously available without delay and ' town' is relatively closeby, traffic congestion can often delay that journey disproportinately. Some local tours - to nearby 'mainland' for example - are probably better to arrange independently from both cost and organisational viewpoints.

    Unexpected upgrade to SECRETS adjoining property with it's 'PREFERRED GUEST' status and related facilities - if an 'adults only' and all-inclusive environment is required, then this would be a strongly-recommended option. Unobtrusive security is strictly enforced and is effective - overall facilities are extensive, including adjacent landing-pier for various water-borne activities

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.2
    Perfect for a family trip, one of the better hotel resorts around Cozumel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is not the newest, and you can feel it a bit. But the common areas were fantastic.

    It's a great place for a family, there is a lot to do, the food was great, lot of restaurants to choose from, beach is nice, pool is nice, rooms are nice, everything was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    7.5
    Disappointing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low quality food and poor cleaning service. Dirty plates left in front of the rooms overnight, maybe for days. Poor lightining in the room and bedroom. Water leaking in the shower. Mirror and shower made for people with maximum 1,5m height. Roof fan and room lightining can’t be controlled separately, or you have both turned on or off.

    Comfort of the beds. Silence. Beach in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.8
    Staff was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dishes and glasses from the preview guests that were standing outside the door were left that all 4 nights that we were there, even though housekeeping came by every day, attracting ants and who knows what else. The room itself and everything on the resort was very clean though! I was missing a little snack buffet by the pool somewhere in between the meals, maybe some fruit and cookies perhaps. The snackbar dishes were nice, but too much to actually be just a snack to me, and i didn't want to spend time in a restaurant again.

    Staff was very friendly. Lovely Christmas decorations even though we were there the week after New Years Great water pressure in the shower. Lovely views while eating by the water at the Italian and the buffet restaurant No stress trying to reserve a table in the a la carte restaurants early in the morning like at some resorts, you just walk up and wait your turn.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.9
    Only down side was the issue with diving pick ups at the dock
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deal of the Day
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dive company we booked could not pick us up at the resort because the hotel started to make them buy tickets to use the dock. But they only have a limited amount of tickets and always run out.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.8
    A first class, very low-key stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one thing that might keep us from returning (especially with our young adult children) is that there is little night life for adults and the place essentially feels dead by 8:30 or 9:00 p.m.. While the theme night folk dancing was fantastic, there was no place for us to dance as a couple until 10:30PM. Every night at 10:30, there was a DJ who would play music in the lobby bar (often the bar would be full of people watching tv or sports, and there would be am abrupt shift to loud music). By that time, very few people would show up to dance, making it an uninviting atmosphere. We were tired by then after being in the sun all day and it wasn't worth waiting around through hours of nothing, in order to dance a couple of songs. We recommend that the hotel make some adult options available earlier, beginning at 8:30 or 9:00 p.m. Also inconvenient: The shower and sink water smells like sulphur/ sewage. The plumber told us that wasn't normal, so the hotel moved us to another room. Unfortunately, the smell was exactly the same in the new room. The drawers in both rooms were faulty, and there were some design flaws in the second bathroom, like shower spray getting all over the bathroom floor, and no way to leave the bath mat there, with the bathroom door opening in. On a number of occasions, there were no towels available at the pools, and one day it took hours to resolve the problem (which almost resulted in our missing a snorkeling trip). When my husband insisted that we needed an immediate solution, as our 2 hours of waiting had run out, the front desk ended up bringing us towels from Secrets Resort. We were grateful to the staff for its ability to resolve problems, and those towels saved us from freezing on a windy boat ride after snorkeling. Btw, we agreed to attend the "90 minute" vacation club presentation, in exchange for a free snorkeling trip and book. Don't do it!

    Most things at the resort were first class, and we are fans. The food and service was simply the best of any all-inclusive anywhere. The day we arrived, we had lunch at Portofino while waiting for our room, and every single thing we ate was delicious. The brownies were so good that we returned searching for them a couple other days. When we couldn't find them, I asked the chef when they would be available again. They weren't scheduled, so he made us our own batch the next day! Sadly, I didn't get his name.... The breakfasts at Market Cafe were all-world. The omelette making station is incredibly efficient and excellent. Guests would put their own ingredients on a plate and hand it to the omelette makers, who would scramble *fresh* eggs for each omelette and use plenty of cheese. I would get bacon from the station next door, and the omelet makers (we normally had Maritza) would chop it up on the grill, so it would be mixed throughout my omelette. The people at the omelette station were simultaneously cooking the pancakes, french toast, and waffles, which were also the best of any buffet anywhere. And they did it all with grace and seemed totally relaxed. We loved that every restaurant had a host who would seats guests. It was so civilized, and prevented a free-for-all with tables, with people getting food at the buffet and having no place to sit. We also appreciated that the staff walked around to each table to let diners know ahead of time when the buffet Was preparing to close. The servers at the a la carte and buffet restaurants understood fine dining. We never waited around for water refills or for someone to check on us, but service was never intrusive. The staff knew the menu very well and made excellent recommendations. We felt so pampered. The bartenders did a great job and were eager to please and take drink recommendations. They use top shelf products, especially when requested. The rooms were spacious, comfortable, and cleaned well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.6
    Great overall, probably wouldn't do an upgrade needs better service. Everything else was excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad service when it came to fill up bar in room. Light shortage and cold water in shower in the upgrade I did to the honeymoon suite. Any other services that were requested took staff a very long time to do.

    Service at the bar with the bartender Alvin.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    5.4
    Good place to take your family with kids, not for relaxation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were quite a few amenities in our room which did not work when we arrived, and because it’s such a big resort you are just a number. The facilities are clean but they quite old and starting to look rundown. If you are looking for a relaxing time and to feel treated on vacation this is not the best option for you.

    Sunscape Sabor All Inclusive is a good place to take your family with kids on a budget.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.2
    We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay at this resort and look forward to coming back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Tropical View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The proximity to the downtown area was a bit inconvenient, requiring a fifteen dollar (American money) taxi ride in each direction (approximately a nine to ten mile ride). But, every taxi driver that we had was extremely friendly and helpful! One went as far as stopping at an area along the beach to show us the beautiful sunset. The resort did not have any transportation options. I did not look into renting a car or scooter. The coffee was not very good.

    The accommodations were very clean and comfortable. The staff was generally very polite and attentive. The all inclusive nature of the resort was very convenient and reasonably priced. Beds were very comfortable. The location of the resort, right on the water, made for a beautiful location. The food was good and there were three choices of where to eat dinner. The buffet restaurant along the water was beautiful, especially for morning breakfast. I would definitely stay here again in the future!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.2
    Perfect weather and beautiful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was a bit annoyed by the periodic sales pitch, though at the same time realized that that was their job. Also the music was too loud.

    The people helping us. Waiters, entertainers, and other staff very responsive to our needs

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    7.1
    Not as good as we were hoping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deal of the Day
    • Stayed 5 nights

    First and foremost - this hotel was advertised with WIFI costing 2.40USD per day. In fact it cost 14USD per day, with a 39USD charge for the week. That's for one device. For a family staying that cost is exorbitant - and when you consider the cable channels were often interrupted by poor signals, and the entertainment was less than expected, it rounds up to a pretty drab experience overall. Likewise, the free bike hire was also untrue, and we were told that cycling without a guide was not recommended. Instead, many staff spent their time harassing guests about timeshares or tours in the main lobby while they were trying to get access to the free WIFI. This free service was poor and often cut out. Another disappointment was the food - which was invariably dull - and we often don't complain about these things. My wife became ill after one meal in their Mexican restaurant - which lead to a short bout of food poisoning lasting nearly two days - and left us sticking to the buffet after that than risk any further adventures. It was a shame as we'd had a great time in Mexico, and what should have been a relaxing luxurious stay, turned into something much more functional and bland.

    There was much to like about this hotel - primarily the secluded location and access to the beach. The staff on the whole are friendly and happy to help, and the drinks and food easily accessible. Our room was very comfortable and the maid was great in helping us whenever we asked for replenishment.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    5.4
    Room not updated, don’t let them push sales presentation on you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They push a sales presentation on you that is supposed to last 90mins, but lasted 5 hours. All the pictures on the booking are updated photos, but our room was one of many that was not updated. It’s all a bit deceiving.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.3
    Good value and near the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value and near the beach. Not too big either. Think the highest rises are 4 story. Upstairs bungalows are nicer with more light but tend to be twins. Suggest contacting directly before arrival to get upstairs bed and a king bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Sunscape Cozumel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ongoing construction and noise. Did not see or interact with management and could not tell who they were. Housekeeping seemed understaffed as it usually took till afternoon to get room cleaned.

    Private beach with great views. The staff was friendly and worked hard to keep the place clean and organized. The variety and taste of food was ok. Felt safe.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    9.6
    Welcome home :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didnt like the food in Da Mario restaurant, wasnt much Italian, but other restaurants were good. Free wi-fi only in the lobby. Beach wasnt "carribean" as we expected and the water was really shallow but OK.

    Friendly staff (especially bartenders who were always prepared to serve us all drinks we wished), spacious room with minibar, entertainment and activities during the whole day.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.6
    Great affordable place to stay and enjoy yourself
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Italian place I was looking forward to was under construction when we were there (but understand you have to do work sometime). Its a bit dated but they're working on that too.

    It's a great location and a great value. Had a wonderful time and highly recommend the resort. Beautiful beaches and the food was great at all the restaurants (just know the grill has the same menu every day).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    8.3
    Lovely beaches, great pool, fun staff-especially the entertainment crew. Worth it!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our friends were at Sunscape and we couldn't dine together at Secrets.

    The room we booked was not available, so we were upgraded to Secrets. The food and drink were great at Secrets, slow service at the bar at Sunscape. All staff was friendly. Beach is lovely! Tour booking was easy and totally worth it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.6
    Staff super nice and friendly, snorking masks available for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the description of the Deluxe Tropical Garden room on booking.com included either a terasse or balcony, we had a room without any of the two. On the contrary, our windows opened to the walk path - so a bit creepy when people walked passed and saw directly onto our bed. When we asked reception, we were told that we had to pay extra for a terasse/balcony.

    Staff super nice and friendly, snorking masks available for free, availability of a more « quiet » poll and beach area for those not too keen on 24/7 music, buffet restaurant was good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    8.3
    It was pleasant and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Beach was a bit tight and the beachside recreation facility shut down at 1630. Not a great place to snorkel but far enough from town to avoid all traffic noise.

    Staff and food were well worth it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    3.3
    Bad, not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't clean at all, the shower was awful and it was very different than the pictures. It's "all inclusive" but the food and drinks are very basic and not tasty. Not recommended!

    Close to the beach

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Excelente!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like that I actually had to check out and leave, I certainly could have stayed for much longer!!! I went into a depression for this! AND I LIVE HERE!!! I can't EVEN imagine what it's like for others that leave the property AND the island.

    The Property and Staff exceeded my expectations, especially the Staff. Food choices and quality was above and beyond. This was a "StayCation" for me and I now found my new "happier place" on the island.....WOW!!! Well done! Muchas gracias a todos!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.0
    Good to know - "Children cannot be accommodated at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Good to know - "Children cannot be accommodated at the hotel." NOT BELIEVE !!!! In the water from the shore almost can not enter, sharp stones. Pesonal smiles, but do not respond to complaints. The hotel is undergoing repairs, all day unendurable hand tool noise.

    Good to know - "Children cannot be accommodated at the hotel." NOT BELIEVE !!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.9
    SHORT AND SLEEPLESS
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The food was horrible , The room smelled and there are a ton of children and LOUD ADULTS!! If you are an adult with not children traveling with you move to Secrets

    ONLY STAYED FOR ONE NIGHT !!! We stayed for one night and the room smelled like mold and we had the most noisy neighbors. We complained and the moved us to Secrets which a rate a 10/10 !!! Sunscape is a place for families not lovers. The staff was great and helpful but I would not come back .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.0
    Never again there
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property looks old and with severe maintainance issues (doors are falling down) everywhere smells like mold

    Very poor service in all the property!!!! The food was good but the people there dont have any idea of service

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't receive the room we ordered, the bathroom was old and filthy, there was no terrace or balcony. Food is mediocre at best. Free wifi is almost non existent.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.6
    'Paradise' 'Highly recommended' Had an amazing time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue we had was on our engagement night. We called for a bottle of sparkling wine to be delivered to our room for celebratory drinks and they never called back or delivered it.

    Their 'pop the question' package was amazing and I couldn't have been happier with how it was done! Suites are relatively simple but very good, bed was fantastic. The entire resort setup was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.9
    The food was good.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where our room was. We made reservations 10 months in advance and we were put in the last building at the end of the resort. Room was ok but not like we are use to when we travel (our rooms are 5 star and this one was more like 3-3.5...sorry). Lastly, we were supposed to have refrigerator filled with drinks and water every day. Refrigerator was not turned on and no drinks were delivered until the LAST day of our stay. One day I had to call 3 times just to get some water (I had a Heart Transplant and one of the things I must have at all times is water). Other than that, it was fine.

    The food was good. Friendly staff (except one lady at front desk was a little abrupt (maybe had a bad day?). Getting to use kayak, snorkel gear, etc was great. Liked layout of resort...nice way to walk and explore.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.6
    Trying to return already ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The lunch / snack menu could be expanded a little.

    All staff - desk, concierge, house keeping, restaurant - were AWESOME - anticipated and responded quickly to requests. Plenty of options in the restaurants for dinner. We enjoyed the seafood dishes most. Lots of information offered about off-site excursions ... made it easy to plan.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    7.1
    The wait staff were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hassled about time shares. Selection of food never changed.

    The wait staff were amazing. Jorge went out of his way to make us happy. They left towel. animals on the bed when we tipped.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.8
    beautiful beach, good snorkeling, relaxed atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Tropical View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    had to wait to be sited in restaurants and then wait for our food

    beautiful beach, good snorkeling, relaxed atmosphere Pick up for diving from nearby pier

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    7.5
    Great staff but needs some updating!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deal of the Day
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was awful and the whole hotel desperately needs an upgrade. It's very budget so if you want luxury, this is not your place!

    The staff are amazing! Really friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    7.1
    Overall great stay at Sunscape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the condition of the oceanfront room was rough. Missing paint from the floors and bathtub. Homemade locking mechanism on the sliding door.

    Staff at the bars were much friendlier than at Secrets Aura next door. Breakfast selection was great and the beach was beautiful. Location of the room was to die for.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    10
    Great Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We were in an ocean front suite 1/2 block from the Porto fino restaurant, so was easy to get breakfast and dinners. All the staff was great throughout the Sabor Resort. One especially nice time was birthday dinner provided to us at the Market Cafe. Wonderful caring staff and Especially Jorge who did all he could to make the evening special. Can't say enough about his service. Enjoyed the evening entertainment. The grounds were beautiful. The restaurants were great. Enjoyed the snorkeling just off the beach. Would recommend. Would come back. Recommend upgrading to ocean front suite. Excellent!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    8.3
    Worth the Money, with some caveats
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Hotel does not exch USD/peso - Taxis will add ~$10USD if you pay in cash from the equivalent rate, beware - Curb staff was not helpful in arbitrating the situation; basically said take it or leave it, rather than enforcing appropriate prices. - Da Marios pizza is awful, no sauce even, and their service sucks.

    The breakfast buffet was amazing. Restaurant staff were great, entertainment staff was also fantastic! Bartenders super nice and helpful. Clean, beautiful property. Ability to use Market Cafe on Secrets side (best restaurant in resort) was a fabulous perk. And finally, other guests were lovely, and the snorkeling off the beach was surprisingly good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.5
    beach is the best part; food will leave you wanting for something better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deal of the Day
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food is worse than any place I have ever traveled (30+ countries for reference)--no flavor, no spice, no authenticity. It was worse than a school cafeteria or retirement center. Hard to request drinks or food when sitting on beach or by the pool. Staff did not come around and were put off if you asked them for anything. Very cheesy activities--bingo, beach volley ball....it's clearly geared toward the cruise ship type person.

    Plenty of chairs on the beach to enjoy the view and the free activities (snorkeling, SUP, etc.) were nice. The room had great AC and was large.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    7.5
    Not so sure I'll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deal of the Day
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room! Which wasn't value our money. Everything was old, it needed painting and the bathtub seemed dirty because of rustiness.

    Loved the restaurants Staff (specially Luis) and Food

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    7.9
    Entertainment staff was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Had to check out with bags for 3 hours just to change rooms to a king bed from double bed

    Entertainment staff was great. Specialty restaurants were good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    9.2
    Why were there no rsvp
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't have our rsvp We were not happy about that Was it booking.com mistake The food was just ok Service was a slow pace

    The beach was beautiful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    7.9
    Sunscape was exactly what we were looking for as three...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deal of the Day
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The spa is extremely expensive - $200+ for a massage. Have to pay to use the hot tub which is inside. Would have appreciated some healthier snack options outside of main meal times.

    Sunscape was exactly what we were looking for as three friends in our late 20s who just wanted to relax. Not wanting to pay the money for a super fancy resort, we found Sunscape to be a good bang for our buck. The food was pretty good, they have gluten free options that are labeled. Guacamole is bottomless and delicious. The staff was friendly and responsive, rooms were clean. Most importantly, it had a nice beach and pools. We also appreciated not feeling pressure to dress up every night as the vibe is casual and comfortable. It wasn't terribly loud either as it was mostly an older crowd which was fine with us. Nice little gym and yoga studio too.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful setting and resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Ocean View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Damario pizza not that great. Crust thin and tough.

    The Patio mexican restaurant was the best for dinner. All menu items great. Portofino awesome for breakfast buffet. Wide selection of hot and cold items, including made to order omelette- something for everyone. Wait staff uniformly very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    6.3
    So-so at Sabor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was not good-mushy, cold, same thing, made the same way at buffets. Communication of planned activities in eve was poor. Cleanliness not the greatest-black hair all over bathroom floor. Beds not comfortable

    Beautiful beach. Great entertainment; friendly staff; location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    7.9
    Great value, great food and unlimited drinks! A great place for a family vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deal of the Day
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The property is a little tired, could use some updating with painting of rooms, buildings etc. Had a water outage for about 3 hours one day, so it was a little inconvenience.

    Value, entertainment and hospitality of the resort. People were so nice and helpful, from all of the restaurants, bars and shops. The employees take great pride in their work, as I saw them cleaning up the property as a group one morning, all saying "Hola" and picking up leaves, trash and sprucing up plants.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    5.8
    Rooms not like on pics - watch out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very crowdy beach and watch out as pics from the room are not as in reality (they use the suite pictures on all room category)

    Entertainment program and nice beach and restauran.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    7.9
    Nice stay, however bathrooms are well outdated. I wouldn't quite rate this hotel 4 star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Bathrooms are well outdated. Difficult to get a coffee outside the room but with a complaint was all sorted. Although most of the staff was nice some of them are uninterested. Beach is small and crowded and a part of it was reserved for premium customers (premium beach? hmmm)

    Diverse restaurant choices, couple of swimming pools. Most of the staff was nice, entertaining nights. On occasion bar staff would serve drinks on the beach.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    9.2
    Great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Internet was poor. Could not get the pay internet to work and free Wifi in lobby was intermittent and slow. The location is far from downtown. Costing 15$ cab each way. Perhaps they could do a shuttle have it go to town 3-4 times a day, then pay cab on your way back.

    Food was quite good. Beaches very nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful resort -- but not at dinner time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Breakfast was fine, but dinner menus never changed and most of the food served for dinner came lukewarm and was mediocre at best. Wine service was dreadful. The bottles we ordered came long after we'd begun eating our main course.

    All of the staff were helpful and totally lovely! The pools were great. All in all, the resort was a comfortable and pleasant place.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    9.2
    The location on the beach was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location on the beach was great. Also, if you aren't into swimming in the ocean the hotel has two pools :) Daily activities and entertainment were the best part.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    8.3
    Overall, good value ... but will not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant "Portofino" was a mess. Constantly opened late, food wasn't prepared well, and both the supervisor and the hostess (dinner) were rude when we raised our concerns. Property was aging and not well-maintained; cheap fixtures, old furnishings, drapes didn't fit the windows and had holes in them -- this was in the king suite. Private jacuzzi had plants overgrown and leaves strewn about ... not very inviting.

    Proximity to the beach was fantastic. Well lit property at night ... safe and nicely decorated. Most restaurants served quality food with a nice variety. Bartender (Wilbreth) and waiter (Maximilian) were exceptional.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are quite easygoing couple and honestly our expectations were quite low, however this hotel is more than bad. We spent our honeymoon in there ,and during booking I informed them about king size bed. when we arrived,they tried to give us different room, and when we insisted they asked " honeymoon certificate " which we never heard about that! Rooms were old, food was really bad except Porto Fino restaurant. Most important thing alcohol is really weak, for example you need to drink at least 7 glass of gin and tonic for getting tipsy ! Somehow if you are drinking in Secrets Aura( next resort belongs to same company) you can get drunk with 2 glass of gin& tonic. Sea is blurry, and smelly afternoon, if you are planning to go there for diving or snorkeling just skip it ,and find an another resort close to Fiesta Americana area. In general it was disappointing!

    This is a pretty looking hotel, but that's it.. except than beach and gardening everything was just okay. We just liked food in Porto Fino restaurant, other ones are just terrible!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    7.5
    Lovely hotel with a great coast line
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for wifi as there is none free within the hotel. The cleanliness of the room was below an average standard. The shop located within the development was over priced in comparison to normal ones in Mexico.

    The hotel grounds were beautiful with a lovely beach. The choice of eating places and quality of food was exceptional - although some of the waiting times can be quite long. The staff were great from as soon as we checked in and good energy throughout the whole day and evening.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    9.6
    Overall we had a wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not enough vegan food, rooms a bit run down

    Yoga & fitness classes, free snorkel, kayaks, and SUP boards, unlimited food and drinks, spa was terrific, staff very friendly and helpful, evening entertainment fun, great price with Booking.com

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    10
    Wonferful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The entertainment and staff was excellent, Victor is very good at coordinating activities and getting guests involved. Room and grounds were very good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    8.8
    Just need a downtown shuttle!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Explained above

    My only suggestion would be that for your resort to be an excellent experience you should offer some type of shuttle to & from downtown for your guest. I would definitely have enjoyed my stay more but the $15.00 taxi each way is definitely a BIG NEGATIVE. You could have a van to leave at scheduled times and designated locations for pickups downtown. Shopping adds to the vacation experience & a $15 taxi charge each way is DEFINITELY hurting your Guests overall experience! That would be a consideration in me returning or recommending to others. Your staff are Excellent & your accommodations lovely. Thank You. Robert Horton

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 5 nights

    First room was very small, old and needed renovation. The bedsheets were not clean. Fortunately we were allowed to change the room

    Great restaurants with great food Second room was great. Enough space, clean and quiet Very lovely and helpful staff (unlike many other hotels we have visited in Mexico)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    9.6
    Relax and enjoy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The pizza restaurant didn't provide good service. Otherwise, we were totally happy.

    We loved the beach, the water was beautiful and we enjoyed snorkelling straight from the beach. We loved the all inclusive price so thoroughly enjoyed relaxing and not worrying about the cost of eating or drinking. Loved being there during the slow season so not many people.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Best resort ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Ocean View Double
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that I disliked

    Everything is beautiful and the service is excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deal of the Day
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We kept getting ants in our otherwise clean room.

    We enjoyed the western sunset views.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    4.2
    Ok experience but not impressed with the complex
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness and lack of restaurants Location is too far from town

    Pool areas and beach were very nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.9
    Average all-inclusive. Good for families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deal of the Day
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are old and my minifridge was not working. TV made a terrible sound.

    Great area in Cozumel. Private beach. Food is really good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    3.8
    Don’t stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Tropical View King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were so outdated with old furniture, totally not 4star. Staff were very rude and not helpful at all Food was terrible

    Location was good

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sunscape Sabor Cozumel - All Inclusive traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: