Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bel Air Collection Resort & Spa Riviera Maya 4 stars

Km 265 Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez, 77710 Xpu Ha, Mexico

#9 of 11 hotels in Xpu Ha

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 248 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    6.8

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.9
    Lovely setting
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No beachfront. Sargasso covering what little beach there is. Many mosquitos. Balconies in cabanas all closed for repair.

    Lovely setting in the jungle. Staff friendly and helpful. Knowing some Spanish is helpful. Large swimming pool. Good food with good service. Staff will take you in golf carts where you want to go in the resort but distances are fine for walking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    We had a great time there. We were close to our friends and the event at the Esencia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a gigantic property and there was a lot of walking and/or waiting for a cart. We were in town for a wedding at the nearby Esencia resort, and we had to walk back and forth along the highway in the dark, which was not so good. Also, the property in general looks in need of some freshening up.

    The room was more than adequate. It was cleaned well every evening. It was an excellent value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    for nature lovers great resort becose of cenote bar and canoe. And rooms with jacuzzi!!! amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved cenote bar, canoe, and a room with a jacuzzi!!! it was possible to order a meal with a delivery, pizza wasnt the best in our life :) so order something different. Golf cars help us with luggages. Nature around was lovely, racoons and birds were really nice. Interesting place. Pool was nice, but beach dont (you can walk left to another resort :) ;) they had much better sandy area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    6.7
    Cenote was pretty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a pastry and you can’t swim in cenote without a life vest. They put a hold on some cash and I still haven’t gotten my refund for not using it all on food.

    Cenote was pretty. Room has nice layout

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    4.6
    Looks like an haunted hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No beach with sand, a lot of things are broken.. 2/3 of the hotel have been destroyed by an hurricane and never rebuild and now hide...

    Looks like an haunted hotel..scary but funny

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    5.8
    Different experience for a one night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is more run down than other hotels we stayed at while on this trip. Food service was slow. The beach on the property is very rocky and they don’t allow swimming in the ocean there. However, they will bus you to a beach access a few minutes down the road if you want to swim in the ocean.

    Pool bar staff was excellent. Property is pretty quiet. Hammocks on the balcony were relaxing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    2.9
    Awful.. could not wait to leave!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! Worst hotel we have every stayed in. Very dated can’t believe it’s still operating needs closed down & revamped it has so much potential but the whole place is just old and looks like it should be closed!

    The staff were really helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.1
    Staff were extremely pleasant . Maintenance required .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hot water was infrequent Roof leaked when it rained Tea and suger was not replaced in the room each night Not enough staff at the Sushi and cocktail bar.

    Pool areas were very clean and tidy. Entertainment was good. Staff were great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    4.2
    Disspointing "Luxury" resort at ribiera maya
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very overpriced and run down / old resort. Food was bad and service slow and poor. The beach is not on sight and you must take a van to a section of a somewhat crowded public beach to use their beach club The place has known better times

    The zenotes and crystal clean lagoon mangrove in sight are really cool and there is a manatee couple that leave in there so if you are lucky you could spot them

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    5.0
    I like the nature around the hotel.
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the hotel is kind of abandoned, you always have the feeling that you are in a horror movie. There use to be a zoo inside of it but due to goverment regulations, they have to take away the animals to a zoo. So it looks like an empty zoo in ruins.

    I like the nature around the hotel. It is located between tulum and playa del carmen. Perfect if you have a car to travel around.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    2.5
    Awful hotel, health hazard rooms, poor staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room a genuine health hazard, and this hotel ruined the first days of our holiday. Air conditioning barely worked, and rivers of moisture run down the walls in the morning. We asked to be moved to a new room immediately but as the property was full there were no others available. I'm 35 and in good health, but woke short of breath from the dank moldy conditions on the room. I went to talk to reception at 9am able moving rooms. It took until nearly 4pm for them to show us a new room (during which time we had no room and had to leave our luggage behind reception). Whilst less damp, the room was still bad enough to be uninhabitable. We were able to get a refund for everything except for the first night but it really ruined the first few days of our holiday. Staff were unhelpful and obstructive during this entire time. Room service had no menus and didn't speak English (despite what it says on the listing). The hotel itself is not near anything so if you are planning on staying I'd recommend a rental car. The pool area is tatty, the beach small, rocky, and unswimmable. The grounds are full of broken shelters, sad abandoned animal enclosures (I believe they once had a zoo).

    Nothing good to report.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    4.2
    I do not recommend this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I do not even know where to start. We arrived about 7 p.m. and it wasn't easy to find the place coming from Cancun as the sign of the hotel is not properly iluminated and there was a Christmas tree in front of the sign so we almost went by it and realized it was it at the last second. The check in process took a really long time. The man who attended us was distracted. Cecilia was really nice and tried to make up for him, but the overall experiance was bad. We also got told that we couldn't get a baby crib even though I booked it in advance. After almost an hour we were taken to our room. A nice bell boy took us there with a golf cart and when we entered we realized there were ANTS everywhere, on the floor, bed etc. We travelled with our 9 month old baby so we couldn't stay there. To our surprise when we phoned the reception they told us to wait and check if we are going to be moved. Even the bell boy told the reception that we HAD TO move, but it took some time to do it. First they offered us a twin bed room and finally after waiting for another while we got a king size bed as we paid for. We got moved to the new room. And that was just the first adventure. The following night it rained in our room! Water was dropping from the ceiling as there was a jacuzzi in the room above us (in ours too, but we didn't dare to use it). The whole night we couldn't sleep, the drops were folling right on thr level of our heads and the three of us had to sleep together as we didn't get the baby crib and early in the morning, about 6:30, before going for a day trip I talked to the receptionist about the problem. Imagine our suprise when we come back at night 7 p.m.that the person at the reception had no idea about this issue. The one from the morning shift forgot to write it down. They sent at 7:30 p.m.

    Cecilia and other members of the staff are very friendly. Most of them tried to help us, but the hotel is a disaster. A pity. Cecila deserves to work in a better resort.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    5.0
    Accomodating staff in a run down property
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property is not what booking.com advertised. Property very run down, rooms are in need of repair. Caution tape around hand railings, holes in floor due to decaing timber not a property that I would recommend. The staff did their best to accomodate however property needs serious maintenace. Bar service and choice is poor. The all inclusive option is a bad choice. Very expensive for accomodation. Even more so for food and drinks.

    The staff and the kayaking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.3
    Great for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is getting older and older and it doesn't seem that it is getting the love and care needed to keep it as great as it used to be.

    Great room with a jacuzzi; beautifully located; great for long walks; lots of birds

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    2.5
    Most horrible overpriced dump ever
    • Group
    • Bungalow with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not at all what they pretend to be This is a overpriced dump No beach to swim, rude staff and long lonely walks From one area to the other just to go anywhere Everything is horrible about this hotel And they cheat in the restaurant and your room service tabs adding more items ---- so watch out Also 2 fellow guests had their cash stolen out of their room safe Don't go there It's a disappointing place all around

    I loved the pictures on the booking website

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.0
    Very good staff, but worn out facility and poor service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Terrace
    • Stayed 10 nights

    - When you first arrive at the hotel, you have to cross the security office and the gate. The security will ask the name and will check the details. I was disappointed, that the security was not offering to wait there, until somebody arrives with a buggy (available at the hotel) to pick up the heavy luggage and drive it to the front desk. - In general the room was ok, but decoration was really bad. The place was old and worn out. Plants were missing. You would not feel very comfortable and warm. - Unfortunately hand towels were missing most of the time. - The bath was ok, clean but sometimes, water was not warm respectively took very long until it became hot. - We did not book all inlusive. They brought mineral water every day. At the checkout process they wanted to charge for the water. Ridiculous, never heard about that in any other hotel. I protested heavily until the charges were dropped off. - Every day in the evening, room service brought complimentary cookies. But in one case, room service entered the room without knocking, this is a no-go. What if a guest is naked at the time??? - What we did not like, that most of the time, we had to wait for the buggies a long time, before we were picked up from the lobby to our rooms or to other areas, as the distances are long to walk. - The food at the restaurants were really bad and lacked creativity and quality and were most of the time like a bad joke and to the worst, most of the food on the menu was not available. At least here they could have done more, to make up for the worn out hotel. - One evening we wanted to try out the sushi restaurant. They would not let me in, because I was wearing flip flops. Other than that I had a T-shirt and shorts.

    - We stayed for 10 days between the end of November and December. The greeting at the front desk was pleasant. The front desk manager explained us the amenities, the area, available services and so on. - The room service was very nice. Most of the time, our bed was decorated with nice handmade figures (swans, elephant, dogs) out of towels. - Our room had a yakuzi. - Coffee was complementary. Every day the coffee powder and sugar was refilled. We liked the hammock outside at the patio/veranda, which is available for the own use. Sometimes you can observe different sweet animals outside in front of your patio (e.g. racoons). - There were not all animals as written in the description. But this is ok with us, as we did not book a zoo :D but we saw a crocodile, which of course was in captivity. - What we really liked, was the daily offered shuttle to the designated beautiful sand beach (5 minute drive) and back to the hotel and the friendliness of the staff. They are really friendly and try to get out the most out of the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    5.8
    Not like it use to be when it was Xpuha Palace.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is in need of a lot of maintenance.....very dangerous.....decks, staircases... AC didn't work and no hot water at times in the rooms....

    The food was very good at the buffet...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.8
    Needs to be more professional and needs absolute maintenance. Nice Jungle Resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Rooms need an absolute maintenance, everything is pretty old and not maintained - The shower was broken and the toilet sewage stunk so bad - Restaurant's food is not really great - Staff try to be really nice and helpful but not professional at all - Hotel is far from Tulum center - Service was so slow

    - Hotel's shuttle to the beach was great and the bach close to it is nice - Nice jungle resort - Staff is friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Amazing staff and relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We also didn't care for the Sushi rolls at the Sushi bar. All of the Sushi rolls were made with cream cheese, and that is not to our taste. However the dynamite balls and chocolate martinis at the Sushi bar were amazing.

    This is our second time at this resort, but the first time in four years. Last time we were here we were blown away by the excellent service and friendly staff. We were thrilled to discover that service has gotten even better. Throughout our stay we have been greeted by the most friendly staff of any hotel we have ever stayed with, and have been treated like kings and queens. Juan made our check-in very easy and enjoyable after a long day on the road, and made sure that we got a great room. At the restaurant, Adrian, the head waiter, made us feel like family from the moment we sat down that first evening. Over the five days at the resort we received exceptional service at the restaurant at the hands of Cheyen, the hostess with a big smile and sunny personality, Yuri, Simon, Lazaro, Manuel, Giermo, and Ochoa, the always attentive and friendly wait staff, and Francisco and Alex, providing wonderful drinks at the restaurant and pool bars. The restaurant staff also conspired to provide our friends and us with a very special dinner on one night, and a special lunch the next day. Our housekeeper, Gloria, provided exceptional service as well, providing special touches with towel art and flowers on our bed every day, as well as a handwritten note to welcome us after she made up our room for the first time. My wife received an amazing relaxation massage at the hands of Rosalba and we both received a terrific therapeutic massage from Anabel. This resort is still our favorite resort that we have been to, and we will be back again. If you are expecting glitz and glamour, this is not the place for you. This is a very natural resort, and is generally quiet and slow-paced. It is perfect if you love nature, and don't like the crowds. Our only disappointment with the resort is that they moved the animals that were being rehabilitated here to another location. That was a really neat feature of the resort last time we were here.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.1
    Nature is very beautiful, they have nice lagoon with free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs a little refresh. Wi-fi is poor, it didn't work inour room as well as TV.

    Nature is very beautiful, they have nice lagoon with free kayak. And you have lots of animals everywhere you go.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    5.0
    Not expensive option in Riveara Maya lacking good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Terrace
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doesn't have its own beach. Just an access to rocky seaside. The transportation which you can take every 30 minutes according to schedule during 9 days never arrived on time. We had to wait on average 40 minutes while moscitos were very annoying and demand at the lobby to call the driver. Food was impossible to eat in the restaurants. Nearby there are no restaurants. Fortunately you can take public transport to arrive to eat in Puerto Venturas. One day we forgot umbrella in the restaurant when we came back stuff couldn't find it and never did. It was obvious it was taken by someone.

    By hotel transportation you can reach a beautiful beach in 5 minutes. However transport is not regular. Territory of the hotel is very nice. Rooms are big and have jacuzzi.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    4.2
    Disappointing Return Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel has completely gone downhill since our last visit. We were very sad and disappointed to see this. We had to ask reception to come clean our room as there were feces scattered on both beds from the creatures living in the palapa roof. There was also no towels and the bath did not look clean. All the animals from the mini zoo where gone and in general the beautiful well maintained landscape that was once there is now gone.

    Sunset champagne and kayaking at the cenote was about the only thing that remained the same from our last visit in 2013 and we were happy that at least this was still there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.9
    Good but could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bungalow with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food can improve and they serve only one wine brand which is by the way undrinkable.

    Beautiful setting in the mangroves, amazing, lush jungle gardens

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    2.9
    Worst Resort Stay Ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner in the room did not work. There were wild life running around. There was a surprise exchange rate fee so they charged me and extra 40$. The beach was not connected with the resort, we had to take a 15 minute shuttle to the beach. Resort is not well lit at night. Rooms are in the woods. Restaurants did not have air conditioning and there were limited staff in the facilities. Bars closed at 6. Snorkeling was in a swamp and there were crocodiles. Worst vacation I've ever experienced. Chased in room by wild animals. You have to take a shuttle to get around the resort because everything is so far. Customer service was horrible, every time I would call they would put me on hold and then hang up on me.

    Free wifi

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.6
    Perfect place to take your furry family for vacation
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow with Terrace
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food.

    The staff was fantastic. Every person I encountered took very good care of anything I needed. The jacuzzi in the room and pets being allowed we're why I chose this hotel and neither of those aspects disappointed. They had beds and food bowls for my dogs plus plenty of paths to take them for walks. The property was very beautiful. The kayaking and pool offered lots of fun. The spa was amazing! I had a facial and massage and both were fantastic!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Need to tidy away the old cages - most of the caged animals are gone but I wish they could find a better home for the chimpanzees

    Lots to do on site and in the area, lagoons, cenotes tours etc.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    5.4
    Bel Air was interesting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Looks like an old deserted zoo. lower rooms are dark and smaller, and cost the same as upper rooms. Rooms and property are not maintained.

    Food was decent close to beach

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.6
    Home away. From home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like to have a hot plate like some rooms have and after. Three years and four times we are still asking

    We feal the meals are good but a bit pricie when traveling on a budget, so all mealls were eaten off resort ecept one. Great place for nature lovers. We. Go. Back each year.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    2.5
    Very expensive and bag hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no own beach where U can swim. There is damp in the rooms. There are a lot of insects ilright in the room. Bad internet. Very bad slow and lazy service. Beach is about 10 min by shuttle. There is a very small beach place for all hotel. Very small portions and expensive food in the hotel. I have no idea how this hotel has 4 stars

    Zoo is included

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    10
    Home away. From home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We. Would reallyy love to have a micrawave. Or hot plate.

    We always enjoy our stay. This is our third year and it.feals like one big happy family.we travel on a budget and. The bel air gives us value. For. Our buck.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    5.0
    Health concerns
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Bungalow with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant was very much over priced, we were billed in error twice at the restaurant, the food was incomplete of what we ordered, and a family member got sick from orange juice in the reception. And it was very sad to see the caged chimpanzees and jaguar.

    The front desk staff were helpful, courteous and helped us when we had a medical problem due to the suspected bad orange juice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    9.6
    Luxury in the Mayan jungle!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Terrace
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although most things in our room worked very well a lot of our 9 days, the hot water heater and the a/c were temperamental daily. We wanted to use the amazing jacuzzi nightly, but the hot water would fail late in the day. The AC we aren't sure why it would stop compressing but they would come fix it. Wifi, tv, hair dryer, iron, safe and plumbing worked great.

    The architectural palapa design and quiet ambiance was wonderful. All the tropical birds in our trees. We were in 907 upstairs and far from any noisy kids. The cenote and vegetation were very nice. We would like to return. The staff was very nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    3.8
    Not worth a special vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Smelly rooms (mildew and mold), uncomfortable bed, scratchy linens and towels, dead bugs and debris falling from the ceiling onto our bed at night. Inconvenient distance between front desk/room/pool/beach/restaurants with no shuttle ever around to transport us. Empty animal cages everywhere (used to have a zoo?) and the cages that did have animals contained very unhappy, depressed, anxious animals.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    2.9
    Book it if you don't love yourself
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is deceiving. Upon booking, they sell you the hotel a certain way but once you get there you realize that is not the case at all. Rooms have a weird smell. There is no beach front. There is one but it's rocky and you're not allowed to swim there, you need to take a van (free nonetheless) to make it to their beach club. The whole hotel is actually a dilapidated zoo. It looks like the end of Jurassic park. With empty cages and ominously low you're not sure if an animal has escaped or is sleeping or they know better now about animals in captivity and let them go. While the lobby staff was nice, there are basic cues and norms that they lack. I got cut while walking in the property and went to the lobby for a bandaid. They proceeded to direct me to their gift shop to purchase a bandaid (can you say first aid kit?) The restaurant food was subpar, we quickly learned that in order to make the trip worth it we had to stay away and explore different beaches and restaurants but it was a real shame because we could never resort to the hotel room or hotel to provide that comfort at the end of an exploration day. The grainy TV has 10 channels and it is all in dubbed Spanish.

    The best part of the trip was the waitress at the beach club Yuri. She was the most attentive and nice during our stay giving us insider tips on where to go.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.4
    mangroves
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    guest are small.cant open the sliding doors to the balcony.place was no longer maintained.

    mangroves

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.7
    Rooms improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not up to standard. Restaurant should improve their food.

    Hotel grounds are the best, including the cenotes and wild life.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    2.5
    Mess
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible mess in the rooms. No cleaning ever. Terrible service

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    2.5
    Worst management and night staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    N/a

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    4.6
    Reception staff working with the corrupt taxi service
    • Group
    • Bungalow with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff working with the corrupt taxi service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Cenote on site!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long wait to get a taxi

    Cenote on site!. Staff was extremely friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    3.8
    The resort is natural.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is terrible.

    The resort is natural.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    Brill stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Terrace
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Loved the nature and the rustic rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    4.2
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad location, no direct access to the beach, fair food, amenities and services very deteriorated

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    6.7
    nice enough stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the Staff not very helpful, too busy doing nothing

    Nice place

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.8
    The beach is un other place not at the hotel bit they have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach is un other place not at the hotel bit they have transport. The beach is amazing!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    6.3
    Hotel ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No beach

    Hot tub was big and nice

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    3.3
    Very unpleasant, not at all what I expected from the online presence.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have breakfast

    Didn't have breakfast

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    2.5
    it's a NO GO!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything... Terrible place...

    it's a NO GO! Rooms were dirty and old (something you can't see from the pictures), staff unhelpful, food horrible.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    9.2
    Comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Information or staff to speak to about the animals. Some aspects of maintenance. Inconsistent bedding and towels- mostly good but some very old. I had the worst mojito ever here- caipirinha was good tho.

    Comfortable rooms. Lovely environment. Food good once we'd got the hang of the buffet and grill. Kayaking with manatees. Wildlife around the resort. Friendly and humorous staff in restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    4.6
    animals were beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff not helpful some were not nice. Room service took two hours. Food at both restaurants and room service was very bad. Woke up covered in bug bites after sleeping in the bed.

    animals were beautiful. Very casual atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    4.2
    Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor over priced food, restaurant service slow, they advertise good communication with customers - that is not true. Could not get towels for room!! Waited for shuttle a half hour at the Japanese restaurant I would rate at 2 or 3!!

    Beach

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    8.3
    I absolutely loved our breakfast menu, they offered...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The artificial orange juice for breakfast has an extremely water down taste. Had some problems with the wifi connection being stable. Had a minor leak in the room when it rained. Offered a small safe for valuables which we kept our passports and somehow they came out humid, they money we kept in there was somewhat wet as well. Dislike the location since I hoped to find nearer stores or places to eat outside the hotel. Stores inside hotel closed early.

    I absolutely loved our breakfast menu, they offered authentic Mexican choices. Coffee was awesome! Completely fell in love with the design of the rooms and the entire hotel itself. The pool was beautiful, air conditioning in rooms works great. Room service cleaned up well. Truly enjoyed the scenery of our balcony.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    7.9
    Los animales del zoológico son lo máximo,las habitaciones...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    el personal del snack no quisieron servir nada, ha pesar de ser dentro del horario establecido, solo estaban atendiendo a algunas personas que ya estaban muy tomados, al parecer les dieron propina extra. No se vale,

    Los animales del zoológico son lo máximo,las habitaciones exelentes.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    10
    We can't believe we never stated at this hotel before.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We liked everything because we seek out alternative travel options. This resort isn't for tourists looking for the over-indulgent all-inclusive loud crowded commercial style vacation. This hotel is well done & a truly relaxing place where time stands still. Surely it is booked solid for holidays, so we enjoyed April just after the Semana Santa Easter crowds, although it was US school vacation week. The hotel name doesn't match the eco chic trendy luxury it offers. We had never booked there because BelAir connotes California style. This is more Costa Rica style, Upscale Mexican rustic Caribbean style. Mixing natural elements with all the ammenities of great service, AC, flat screen TV with CNN, jacuzzi, well equipped health club, spa, etc. It has it all, but done so well blended with nature. We had a rental car, but there is bus service to Tulum & Coba ruins. Accross the main road there are many ecopark swimming/kayak/diving options in cenotes. Five minutes north is the resort village of Puerto Aventuras, with many restaurants, shops, hotels, & the large marina & golf course. On the property there is cenote swimming and a 500 meter kayak route through jungle and mangle (mangrove). They even do sunset romantic champagne service at several scenic spots throughout the natural areas.

    We can't believe we never stated at this hotel before. We have stayed at many resorts on this coast, but find them too crowded & commercial. BelAir is very well managed & maintained, eco chic serenity. Quality linens, w/ details like pewter trays in room for coffee station & minibar. Huge wooden porch overlooking natural cenote, with lounge chairs, hammock & garden table set. Excellent AC. Grounds & gardens beautiful with stone walkways to hidden natural areas. Villas are 2 story with large porches catching the breeze, set in groupings hidden in jungle, connected by stone pedestrian & golf cart pathways. Property is oceanfront with 2 large pools & lounge area facing sea, but rocky coast at that point. No worries! The sandy beach is just ten minutes away with quick van service. The Xpuha beach area they have in a secluded coastal bay is exceptional. The long white beach is remote & has only a few boutique hotels along its length. Many areas are beautiful virgin beach while we were walking the coast. The beach club area has a tasteful bar & many umbrellas & lounges. The same beach has a European kitesurf school & beach restaurant all of natural wood & palapa construction with wonderful food & drink. It's called KSM "Living the Dream" and you can lose yourself in the great atmosphere. On the other side a locally owned beach restaurant with latin music, great bar, & Mexican food for a great afternoon in local ambiance with a cold Corona & great fresh ceviche of shrimp, octupus, fish. The hotel Staff are super courteous & spoke English well (although we didn't need them to). Golf cart service all over the property. We didn't try the restaurants but did get room service 2x. (which expectedly takes an hour to arrive but is like US hotels- Club sandwich, etc.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    3.8
    Exotic, jungle-liked feel that does not match the starred...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extremely inconvenience. Insect poo on the bed in the first room and spider in the shower in the second room. Dont stay on the top floor since dust from hay on the roof is everywhere in the first room. Canceled the second night and almost moved to another hotel with the penalty in the first night (but we are too tired). The cancellation process here is hectic and it wanted to charge an extra 5% for refund of the second night (we did not allow it). Wifi signal is poor but better than nothing

    Exotic, jungle-liked feel that does not match the starred hotel. Unhelpful support from Booking.com to deal with the Hotel

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    10
    I lost my mother on 12/04/2014, and needed to go to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The beach was not able to be used, but there is a bus that takes people every 15 minutes to a beach 5 minutes away called Xpu Ha and is really worth it! Is paradise!

    I lost my mother on 12/04/2014, and needed to go to an isolated place where I could be in touch with the nature and re-charge my positive energy! I couldn't have chosen a better hotel for my purpose. This hotel is magical, situated in the middle of a jungle, perfect for testing and enjoy the nature!

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2015

    10
    The zoo was amazing and the room was Second to none.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beach could be better, but there are a million better beaches near by and easily found.

    The zoo was amazing and the room was Second to none. All the animals and trainers were inspired and happy. Jacuzzi tub was excellent and the value of everything was incredible. Great cenote's and free activities.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2015

    9.6
    perfect place to stay and relax, really feeling in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nothing really

    perfect place to stay and relax, really feeling in the middle of a jungle. the hotel has a zoo (very well kept) with all kinds of animals. We fed almost all kinds of animals including kangaroo (in mexico!) and coatis came to our balcony asking for a snack. Hotel definitely for nature lovers. Very quiet, nice comfy beds and staff extremely friendly and willing to help.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    5.4
    the people attitude to help .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    a lot to improve in the cleaning around the room.....! And the restaurant ....! Too Few cars and bell man.....! Not wait for fast attention.... There is no Beach....! The kids swiming pool is not well mantain....!

    the people attitude to help .....!

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    4.0
    The room was very nice, spacious and it came with an jacuzzi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Almost none of the staff knew English (of course it's mostly our problem, we should Know better spanish when comming to Mexico). The food was terrible, so terrible that we took the colectivo every night to get out of the hotel to get propper food. This is not a luxury hotel, luxury is not messured in the number of employees taking orders in the breakfast and then forgetting all or parts of the order. This is maximum a 3 star hotel. The Rooms are located in between the zoos cages, behind our room we had the lion cage, if your here with kids it might be nice but we didnt come for watching a stressed panther in a cage. I would not go back to this hotel, we prefer to eat better than we sleep.

    The room was very nice, spacious and it came with an jacuzzi. We also liked the beach even though it we had to take a bus to get there.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Guests also reviewed these properties: