Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Aiman Batang Ai Resort & Retreat 3 stars

Aiman Batang Ai Resort & Retreat, Batang Ai 95900 Lubok Antu, 95900 Lubok Antu, Malaysia

#1 of 1 hotels in Lubok Antu

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 74 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.2
    The mattress was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The blankets are old. The food are very pricey. The fees for the half-day activities are too high for locals.

    The mattress was comfy. The activities are awesome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.3
    To get there, you don't need the shuttle bus; you can rent a car, use your google maps
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place needs maintenance. But we still loved it!

    We loved the location! Leave your car at the carpark, the jetty takes you to the hotel in just 5-10 minutes. Spacious rooms, great pool, good restaurant. We took a jungle tour. If you pre book, you can do a whole daytour further into the jungle. We didn't know, would have loved that!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location! Disappointing food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food was not good. It would be better if they hired a hawker to prepare their food. The staff could have provided a better service.

    Location is amazing. Right in the middle of the lake.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.5
    everything is good.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i got different booking room but when i am came i got different from i am booking..that was not fair for local people want to stay there.. i came there not for free..i pay like the others people do it..the only white people you could give the best thing but how about the local people?air conditions and tv is a very bad.. that needed too be replace the new..i will come back there again and i want too see what approve from your site...cheers

    everything is good..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    A magic and charming place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms closer to the power generation unit are not really comfortable because of the noise. This is a pity because in a such location you would expect to fall asleep surrounded by the magic silence of this unique place.

    A magic and charming place, in the middle of a lake and surrounded by the beautiful rainforest. The resort is at considerable distance from every inhabited center and it is about the only place to stay to visit this superb corner of Borneo and the nearby Iban communities. The structure is very beautiful, reflecting the unique architecture of the traditional Iban longhouses. Though somewhat dated, the rooms are large and comfortable. The restaurant area, the main lobby and the other common spaces are well cared. The pool is a great added value, especially after one day spent on excursion. Good breakfast and excellent cuisine: though there are no alternatives for lunch or dinner, the prices are absolutely reasonable with respect to the quality of the food. They organize several kind of excursions and recreational activities. Of course the most attracting one is the visit to the Iban community, crossing the lake on a light longboat. The staff is very friendly and helpful, making all possible efforts to address any customer requests. If you are travelling through the Borneo you cannot definitively miss this place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    5.0
    Massive investment needed go get this place to the level of comfort and safety needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is terribly worn out and even dangerous. It needs to be completely renovated and refreshed form arrival jetty to stairs, bridges, bathrooms. Rooms are ols fashioned but spacious. The place feels abandoned and is neither well managed not kept clean. Food was not great and theu were out of many items like jam, ice cream, diet coke etc.

    This is about the only place to stay to visit the Iban Longhouses. Since it is remote and hard to get there (only one road mostly in bad shape) the tourisme has not yet taken over...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    2.5
    A scam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A shame! They are charging mad prices and are letting the place go to pieces. 90/100 buildings occupied by bats and staff friends squatting the empty rooms and smoking. Good pricey and really an awful oily mass. As to excursions they charge 160rm pp and give locals in the longhouse junk food as payment!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.1
    Serene vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Waiters was already clearing tables and rearranging noisily even during the time we were still having our breakfast. Even before the breakfast schedule was concluded.

    We were welcomed well upon arrival and room was prepared well with the air condition switched on.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.5
    Foods and scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was disappointed with the souvenir shop. We have a lot to offer to tourists hence the Resort should put in more efforts and investments to have a proper souvenir shop.

    Foods and scenery

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    5.0
    No expectations, no disappointments.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    there isnt much variety for both breakfast and dinner buffet. Food quality is bad. Beer is expensive. The lightings of the resort is very dim and walking around the resort at night seems kinda spooky.

    The staff were friendly. Its located in a remote area and if your looking for peace and quiet then u will love this place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    6.3
    Staff was freindly and helpfull looking at details of needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an offer from the hotel during gawai which was about RM 200 cheaper for 2 days than booking.com. which i didnt know which also includes free breakfast for my kids where actual fact i had to pay for one pax extra.

    Staff freindiness

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.9
    A perfect getaway for family and small groups with plenty of nature, culture and adventure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fishing rod and its line. The fine nylon line could have been longer and we be given some good fishing tips for this line fishing. The boatman changed our fishing spot twice but we were not in luck. Maybe it was because the line was not long enough and the sinker too light for hungry fish to take the earthworm bait. I didn't enjoy the chicken satay that we were served. It was not well marinated with spice and the meat was kind of tough. The beef satay was better tasting.

    Sunny-side up egg was done well. I liked the view of part of the horizon from the common verandah of the longhouse where we were housed. It overlooked the greenery and trees. I enjoyed the courteous service and helpfulness of the staff. Our guides on several outings were knowledgeable and showed that they were committed to their work, that they enjoyed it. I liked the wide selection of the buffet offering and the breakfast meals. I really liked the selection of outdoor activities. Safety measures were taken against any possible danger when we were out on the lake and at the canopy walk. I enjoyed the herb and vegetable garden. I also enjoyed the longhouse visit: the lunch of ethnic cuisine, the opportunity to interact with some of the residents and the dances put up for us. We had enough time at the longhouse to look at the handicrafts. I found the prices reasonable. We could watch two of the Iban residents work on their 'weaving' and wood carving and ask them questions about their craft.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    5.4
    A beautiful place, not more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was not very friendly, the hotel was set up 20 years ago by Hilton, then was sold to a Malaysian company. In this hotel you invest years, equipment is in poor condition. You can feel the feeling faded glory of this hotel, which is probably the main feeling of my visit.

    A beautiful place, not more

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    7.9
    LOVE NATURE
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price of food and drink was freaking expensive. Not worth the price. Same goes to activity package price, per head price was cutting throat.

    The room, swimming pool, friendly staff and the breathtaking view...

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    7.9
    Not Bad Actually
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More options on the food menu, activities and Wifi coverage. Also, the mini bars could perhaps could be incorporated into the room service. Please have room service - it would be great to have it. More TV channels. Improve TV and phone reception.

    Quiet place, good for a family retreat.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.2
    A wondetful and comfortable sleep and food we get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed sheets could be renewed.

    Evening open buffet and breakfast buffet is wonderful. Tour from hotel to ıban longhouse was marvellous. Your sşte we saw that every body were not happy obout the buffet. We went there with big question marks. But when we sawvthe buffet we paid and got it. Ok its quite expensive but ı thought it is normal, you are getting a luxuary service in the middle of the wild forest. So it costs a lot also for the hotel. Next year ı can go again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.1
    The environment, you may obtain more outside photo from me...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property lack of maintenance

    The environment, you may obtain more outside photo from me if you interest.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.0
    the environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel is poorly maintained

    the environment

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.1
    Definitely a good place to escape from city life
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food is limited to only certain hours. Chef could be on standby for snacks

    The serenenity

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    5.4
    good for honeymooners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the price. it is way too expensive specially the food (mostly no taste)

    i like the view, the location, the staffs, the room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Great place to stay even though it is in a remote location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great place to stay even though it is in a remote location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    Paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very beautiful, relaxing environment, excellent service, real paradise

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.3
    Long travel from Kuching, but worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive beers

    Nice area and pleasant stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    7.5
    Good
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    food

    lake view...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    4.2
    Poor value for morney
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rundown, no maintenance, lack of facilities

    View of the lake

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    7.5
    The scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    The scenery

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    7.1
    Peaceful..serene nature.Love to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel compound should be kept neat.offered buffet are not variable.limited choice.should offer more sarawak style food

    Beautiful nature.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    7.5
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    View

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    7.1
    Unique
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water not included in the bufet. TVs are crt type.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    7.5
    Great jungle experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not well trained. The property needs some renovations

    Great location. Loved the pool and ping pong tables. Amazing jungle walks.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    7.5
    Purpose have water sport activities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen Duplex Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance room from lobby

    Green environment

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    6.3
    Friendly, helpful management team
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This place doesn't quite yet fulfill a role: It's too shabby to be a 'resort' in any luxury sense, yet the immediate forest is so devoid of wildlife due to hunting and logging that it's not a place for ecotourists either. Although there are great plans in place to change both, I suspect it will take several years to accomplish. I wish them luck they deserve it. We still had good time in a low key way (the place was quite empty) and therefore quite relaxing. Wish the local staff were confident enough to show a bit more personality By the way, the authenticity of the Iban long-house style construction means that none of the rooms has a good view: they all look out onto a dark corridor. To get a view you have to walk out or sit in the restaurant

    Friendly, helpful management team Great views (although not from the rooms)

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    5.8
    Rooms are really nice and comfortable in the main longhouse...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Old resort looking like dying. Most of the longhouses are looking like haunted and abandoned, and condemned, with bats and dead geckos, the heavy haze we had made it very strange. Many things are not repaired (roofs, electric pool lamp floating in the children's pool) or badly maintained (odd toilets: one red, one white in the toilets near the pool, odd tiles at the pool, wall partly painted in the restaurant...). To go there by boat it's not a real pier, it's lost near the dam and crowded of mosquitoes. Food is good but not exceptional.

    Rooms are really nice and comfortable in the main longhouse even if they look old fashioned (ie cathodic TV) there's not always water on the tap. Pool is correct.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    10
    This place is incredible, situated superbly in against the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not the fault of the resort, but check the PSI ratings before planning your trip - all of Sarawak can be very polluted due to smoke from fires in Kalimantan and this can limit outdoor activities.

    This place is incredible, situated superbly in against the lake in batang ai. It is built true to the style of the longhouses, but much sturdier and more luxurious. Don't be deterred by the transport there - the Hilton arranges transport from Hilton Kuching (for an additional fee) or tour companies can arrange to take you to the jetty. Tours are managed by the hotel: trekking, longhouse visit, waterfall/canopy walk. The food was delicious as well.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.1
    - amazing location and very charmy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - a little bite old room -in Asia particularly there is only solution. In this Hilton I had the impression that everything was an issue - no fresh juice , very limited menu at the restaurant (only 6 Asian choose...)

    - amazing location and very charmy

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    6.3
    open air main reception lounge and recreation area was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No Internet is unacceptable - TV channels very poor and again totally unacceptable - walk up the stairs from the ferry very tiring

    open air main reception lounge and recreation area was excellent and next to the pool

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    9.2
    The activities awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The activities awesome! Value of money

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    10
    Love the natures
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Love the natures

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    8.8
    I have visited twice before.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I have visited twice before. The new management are doing really well and have great ideas for future eco development

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    7.5
    Staff are friendly and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not well maintained. Room 902 door are hard to open. No room service.

    Staff are friendly and very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    8.8
    Beautiful lake view, canopy walk trekking, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Almost nothing.

    Beautiful lake view, canopy walk trekking, great staff.

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    5.8
    Natural
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Food so expensive

    Natural

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    5.8
    No transport to National Park;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No transport to National Park; which was the reason for our trip. Largely western menu - no local fruits etc. Tennis court needs maintenance.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43