Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang 4 stars

25A Farquhar Street, 10200 George Town, Malaysia

#77 of 132 hotels in George Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1372 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes staff were too busy they forgot manners and smiling. There isnt any safe way to across the road around hotell.

    Breakfast was delicious and room was nice and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Concierge charges for vehicles are double of the normal fares. It is better to use Grab or Uber.

    The checkin was efficient & smooth. Room had a super view of the Penang sea. Staff is very efficient in handling special requests. Special mention to breakfast restaurant team for providing packed breakfast at 6 am. Loved the bathroom. Rooms & bathrooms are spacious. Amenities provided are adequate. Everything just works great except that, do not book vehicles through the concierge persons. They charge almost double than the normal fares. Just use Grab app to book the vehicles. Much more efficient & hassle free.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bathroom sink area only wiped around anything on the vanity (dust left), no face washer until last clean on day 4, no hand towel, shower holder broken and left on bathtub for 5 days, rubber band left on floor for 4 days (Vacuuming?), no clock or radio. Newspaper delivered first 3 days then no more (they couldn't say why). Concierge's sometime open the door, most of the time standing around talking and unsure about some tourist attractions.

    Location is great being at the end of Penang Rd it is. in the Central area of Georgetown.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing springs to mind

    Property is in walking distance of main attractions in the city. Don’t rely on the tourist type maps invest in a decent street map. With the warren of streets is easy to find yourself going in circles

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no water dispenser in the hotel. We need to purchase our own extra drinking water from the nearby mart.

    The room is clean and comfortable. The location is very convenient to go around by walking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is not my 1st time staying here and i saw they had made some good "improvements" inside the room as the hotel itself is a bit "old". The main reason i stayed here is because of the location and value for money! They served good buffet as well at the Three Sixty Rooftop Restaurant and Bar! Best place to chill with amazing view! Highly recommended!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby of bay view is quite awful and i don’t know why ordering room service on the first night was so difficult. But subsequent days were okay

    Room was clean and comfortable. Room service beef burger and nasi goreng was super awesome

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff do the bare minimum. The wifi password is renewed everyday. It will require us to go down to the lobby and take the paper, everyday. When calling the front desk, they refuse tell us the password over the phone. I hope they have a very good security reason for it. Also, avoid Saturday night if you like peace and quiet.

    Great location, good view. Parking is quite convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were dirty and had ants, bites had to change room 3 rooms !!! The BOOKING.COM was S$62.00 but was charged much more at S$80.00 (RM233.00 )) !!!! Reception insist that Booking.com advised to charge this price. I have a copy of booking.com instruction?? OVERCHARGED NO HAPPY

    so so

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The beds were extremely hard and I mean hard. The hotel is noisy and the pool was not worth swimming in - looked dirty. The breakfast was not worth going down for - cold every morning and of very poor standard. If you can afford a few extra dollars the Eastern and Oriental Hotel which is virtually next door is lovely. We wished we had booked there in hindsight.

    The staff were very obliging and friendly and the location was good. There were convenience stores and eateries close by and the Hop on Hop bus stop was also in close proximity.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cocktails in the bar were not of a high standard - tasted like cheap mixes. The revolving restaurant looked rather tired and in need of a refurb.

    Lovely breakfast in hotel - excellent choice. Nice small pool and spa bath. Lovely view from rooftop bar. Excellent central location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our late checkout was changed due to a big booking the next day. No real big drama - we just had to rush packing.

    The location is fabulous. Good value for money. Great pool. Excellent staff. I first stayed here because of a recommendation of friend of mine who stayed here because of the Heorgetown Festival. They are sponsors. That is reason enough to support this establishment.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked 1 month ahead requested for a smoking room with a Queen size bed. Yet they gave me a non smoking room with 2 single beds, saying no smoking room available. After checked in, discovered the aircon was faulty as not cold at all. Then I called up the front desk & the manager immediately changed my room to a smoking room with queen sized bed. But then again even though I got the smoking room, turns out the toilet bowl is choked... after flushing, water takes awhile to drain.

    The staff were all very polite & friendly except for the front desk lady who have a terrible attitude.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception is very slow and poor manpower planning at the reception..long queue for check in and check out..bad service

    Nice room, comfy, convenient place

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I personally found the bed a bit hard. But all else was great.

    The efficiency at check in and do their best to get us a room well before check in due to our long flight from Europe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived at the hotel at 1pm, we were told to wait for the room to be ready at 3pm—This was disappointing because we requested early checkin before and they don’t seem to care much. The bed and pillows were hard and uncomfortable.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plug point for kettle was not near the table for coffee making.only gave2 coffee and 2 tea watchers daily. Could have provided more and given only 2 on extra request.only 2 creamers and sugar

    Staff were polite and helpful with directions etc

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The checking in was slow has the room booking was done on line Front counter staff not so friendly - why put staff in front that can’t help in the booking of public transport should help out with alternative transport for us ?? Taxi ...

    The bed is comfy and room quite spacecious but the pillow too soft for my liking location ok

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i don't remember so i guess everything was perfect ! Maybe the Hotel is a bit far from the center but that's alright

    Good wifi (very rare in Malaysia) Nice swimming pool and jacuzzi, too bad the sun is not shining there all day long The staff is very helpful Nice Gym The rooftop bar is just perfect !!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The night we arrived was a bit sour as we were welcomed by a staff who didn't smile at all, even once. We didn't feel that we were welcomed to the hotel. The parking was far from the hotel and the lift was not made available on every floor. Please train the staff including bellboys, security guards, receptionists to treat the customers well. We do not expect to be pampered, but a smile would be good enough.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Check-in procedure was nightmare that you have to queue up for 30 minutes at 3 pm sharp, they need to improve the check-in procedure. Parking also troublesome that there is no multiple entries ticket that guest will need to endorse the ticket every time leaving parking lot, inconvenience and sometime reception is too busy that you have to wait. Hotel just too old , need proper face lift for the whole hotel not just bathroom only in room, carpet is just not up to date. Major renovation for the whole hotel is required for guest to return.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ants .... the check in is at 3pm. Staff is unwilling to release room earlier even it’s ready. At 3pm make everyone queue up to pickup the access card. Slow and time wasting system.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On site 7/11 or happy shopper

    A very nice, comfortable and friendly hotel. Only one criticism, although essentially fully equipped the bathroom was a bit awkward and small.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi available in room but very weak or overcommitted;

    Handy location for work nearby and also near many food-choices - both touristy and local-cuisine; Large comfy room; Helpful staff;

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The final price included an extra 10% service charge. This should already be included in the booking price or not at all.

    Easy access to main part of Georgetown

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior abit old fashioned and can be improved, didn’t like the 2-layer blanket/duvet with the rough brown layer exposed - uncomfortable when it touches your skin. Abit of Noise could be heard from the club downstairs at night. Pool also barely get direct sunshine due to its location (although this may be preferred by some)

    Big rooms, pool availability, everything standardly comfortable for the hotel of its kind.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one at the counter should be more friendly and helpful. And please put someone who can smile in greeting customers.

    Very clean room and the environment was good. Easy access to everywhere because it’s located at the central.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The checking in process was ridiculous. We waitied in a queue for half an hour to then be told our room wasn’t ready and that we needed to come back in an hour baring in mind we were already an hour after the stated check in time. Eventually got to our room, which was fine. Unfortunately our tv remote wasn’t working which meant we couldn’t turn it off as they have an information channel on when you come in the room. We went downstairs to ask reception for some new batteries only to be told we should go to the shop and buy some. When we said no we just want the tv off, the receptionist said “I will phone your room when I have some. Bye”. He didn’t ask our room number so how he was going to do that I don’t know. Very rude and dismissive

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower fell off the wall immediately I touched it, although it was fixed quickly. It was a little tired with signs of wallpaper beginning to come off.

    The food in the revolving restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing Have been there for the 6th time.

    Early cleaning of room.We could extend our check out time as we checked in late, due to ourlate arrival and had to take a late departure flight.Apprecia.ted the extra pillows too

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much.

    Quality of care was excellent. We had a concern with our room and spoke to the check-in people who immediately arranged a room change. Care and attention at breakfast was perfect. Porters were always helpful. The breakfast itself was a wonderful mix of cultures, catering to virtually everyone's taste. Location was good, walking distance from a selection of restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inaccessible for pedestrians (hotel totally locked in by busy roads), swimming pool has power cable running through it (!), some floors smell strongly of cigarette smoke.

    Nice staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure about this but all of us keep sneezing whenever we stay in the room. Maybe a bit dusty.

    I like most of everything.. a babycot also was provided for our baby at no cost. Room very spacious. Could accommodate another queen bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When i need to pay for printing . I bet it should be free since i am working at hotel also . And we provide free printing .even if you want to charge , it should not be more than RM1/piece

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just little things like the fact you can't get a cappuccino any more in the machines at breakfast.

    We have stayed at the Bayview many times and would always stay there when in Penang. It is luxurious without being pretentious,mother staff are efficient in a quiet way. On our first night when we had been travelling for nearly 24 hours we tried to get to sleep but our neighbour's were very noisy and despite telling them, they didn't stop. The manager straight away upgraded us and we had a deluxe room for the rest of our stay. Wonderful. Also, the pool and jacuzzi are excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The trainee didnt validate my parking ticket even when was told to so. The parking attendees were not helpful. Had to go downstairs again to sort it out. The heater in the morning didnt work.

    The bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room quality is poor. Under staff. Does not get proper reservation details. Overall the hote is run down and it’s like 3 star quality.

    the staff service is acceptable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor WI-FI connection!!! The windows doesn't open in the room. Maybe they should refresh some furniture, it is quiet old. But in general, we liked to stay in the hotel.

    Location is good enough. Very cozy and comfortable bed. We were alone in nice swimming pool area (in January). This is hotel with some history behind and authentic atmosphere.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The piping and air conditioner sound

    The piping and air conditioner sound in whole night. And I and my family members can’t sleep well. Hope can improve next time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom were adequately sized, and clean. Conveniently located, near to Hameed's famous Soup stall, and other diners. Requested for a room with good view of the New Year fireworks, and we were obliged. It was a very short stay so we didn't get a chance to try out their facilities. Will definitely try their 360 degrees revolving restaurant if we get a chance to visit again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    carpet need to be replaced

    The bed is perfect! Location is good and very near to major banks. will come back to stay again. Feels like titanic, old - classic but the location is good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel carpet is a bit worn out

    the location is good. good eateries or pub behind the hotel. room size is reasonable. superb revolving restaurant with the george town view

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy corridor, people talking the whole night Sheets were stained Toiletries provided only upon request, such as toothbrush and toothpaste I've visited lots of 4 stars hotel, and toiletries are basic items expected Check in only with 2 superior rooms and 1 standard room by Zulaiza only at 4.30pm. were told the other 1 superior room and 2 deluxe room to be ready in 15 mins Suggested all to rest in my room 1027, the other 2 deluxe were checked in around 5pm The last superior room was only available only at 6.30pm when family gadvzo go out for dinner. Went to counter to check why do late room not ready because chambermaid knock off at 5pm and many calls made to check since check in at 4.30pm Then the same front staff Zulaiza took the room 1031 key from the front desk and hand to me I told her it was ridiculous to withhold the room key since 4.30pm and family waited 2 hours without having the chance to rest in the rooms thatl gave paid in advance And seriously, Bayview charged to my credit card the days before my family setviut to Penang. The family has prepared CASH to pay, but Bayview gas charged to my credit card without any prior notice. I had a shock with I received charged alert by my UOB bank. Take money very fast but service so lousy. When asked for all explanation to the advanced charged on my credit card and the late check in, they can only say SORRY, peak season. That's NOT a excuse to be accepted Will NOT recommend or use Bayview again Does not live up to 4 stars accreditation.

    Bell boy very helpful and alert and ready to help . Of course, tipping is expected

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in process is horrendously slow The place is very tired You can get way better value elsewhere. Try the chulia mansion. Better everything

    The rooms are large

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pipe in the bath or shower drained water very slowly. Clogged and took sometime to drain. The toilet flush was the same. But other than that everything else was good.

    The good breakfast meals and the room overall was comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just need some improvement for the hotel to separate staff for check in and check out and servicing for information due to long queue for waiting which causing wasted time.

    Environment and room was very comfortable. Like it very much.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is confusing. Should have put bigger signage so people dont have to go for round to search the parking area.

    The room is spacious and comfortable for two. Our room facing the sea and we like it! Its a walking distance to roti bakar transfer road and hameediyah nasi beriyani which i love most!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was appalling. It was extremely hard and uncomfortable. My existing back and leg problems were aggravated by sleeping on this mattress. The pillows were also of poor quality. We checked out as a result and moved into a better quality hotel at our own expense. We blew good money on a very poor quality establishment. Never again!

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Improvement on little things could have been rated 10/10. There was no teabags or milk powder supplied for our last night, and the security guard was extremely rude to our driver.

    We were upgraded

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool'size are small and too deep with 3.5m which caused many people to cramp in 1.2m pool and hot jacuzzi.

    The size of the room has met my expectations as well as its comfortability.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An ideal place to stay and the location is strategic to move around in town. I like the rotation cafe as I could witness the beautiful view of Penang island.

    Yes. I could sleep soundly. I like the spectacular night view and and I enjoyed staying there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be great if there is a shower area space for standing shower apart from the bathtub. The price of the property was a little too pricey, especially when the location is quite a far walk away from the heart of where the food are.

    The hotel staff were approachable, they were patient in attending to our needs.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice rooms, fantastic concierge staff, comfy beds and great location! A lot of good food and entertainment around the hotel. Everything is within walking distance. A nice rooftop revolving restaurant and bar.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not up to standard, buffet spread was bad and food was not tasty at all.

    A very nice, clean and decent hotel.Room service and staffs were very prompt and efficient. Anything we ask for was delivered to the room within a few mins.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the guidelines that says can't check in early. Many times I stayed only day time from 12 pm till 8 pm....but I paid for one night. I believe the hotel administration preferably permit early check-in let's say by 11 am for those who wish to stay day trip.....as I usually do. Thanks

    The comfort zone are there ever ready for anyone who wish to spend a night or two or more

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. the corridor walkway was very dark and so scary, should add more brighter light 2. the food choices for buffet dinner at 360 degree view restaurant is super less, and the food is taste not nice at all, i just eat few then go out to look for dinner again, wasted my RM88 x 2 packs. 3. took half an hour plus upon check in at counter due to the pricing i booked with Booking.com is vary with their Hotel charges, end up they ask me to wait the answers during check out. The next day we check out also used half an hour plus due to have to tried so many time to match the pricing with my Booking.com receipt! I thought the hotel will follow back the pricing as per stated in Booking.com receipt? 4. the aircond is very noisy, cant sleep well for all the night 5. hav to go counter to let the staff scan our car park ticket when everytime driving go out, it is very inconvenient to us since other hotel will gv a room pass to access parking as well.

    1. the view at the 360 degree restaurant is very nice, love the environment 2. like the moving concept of the restaurant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet. Public bus from airport to downtown (Komtar) Georgetown can take one hour in rush hours, so be aware of that when departing from hotel to airport.

    It has a good location with centre of Unesco part of Georgetown 10min walk away. View out of hotel room was amazing since windows in room were very large. There is also a nice bar on the roof of the hotel with nice outdoor lounge with very nice night views of Georgetown. Room was clean, bathroom okay too. Breakfast for westerners might be too heavy and unusual, but u can have a decent breakfast - just avoid the coffee and grab it somewhere on the way. From the station were public bus from airport drops you off there is a 15min walk to hotel or u take a taxi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooftop bar had great views but the cost of a beer was very high indeed.

    The friendly helpful staff, the large room and comfortable beds. The great view of Georgetown , and the location. The lobby bar and nightly live entertainment. Great quiet pool area, The 5 min walk to the nearby Red Garden food hawker centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Aircon - very noisy. Witnessed by Room Service Boy. There is a white mark in one of the glasses.

    Senior Bellman (Abdul) very friendly and helpful. He still remember me.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is a bit old, hence you can imagine the toilet door would be squeaking when you open and close it. Entrance to carpark is disaster, i made 3 rounds before finding it correctly.

    Room quite spacious and bed is good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard beds,. Clean but very old sheets. Thin walls, you could hear the neighbors very well. When it was check out time there were only 2 people working and they were extremely slow. The hotel needs 2 more people working at that time..

    Excellent location. Good breakfast. Nice rooftop bar.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were upgraded to a bigger room and the hotel staffs were very accommodating (Heating of food for baby etc). Room was carpeted so it was child-friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The new staff need more training. Buffet breakfast is lousy. Housekeeping not doing a good job. Lobby lounge music is bad.

    Some of the old staff. Location is perfect. Nice and comfortable room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very far from the beach (almost an hour)

    Rooms were clean ( a bit on the small size but value for money), Excellent breakfast, good location of the hotel, near restaurants and china town and old india town and airport is not too far. Very friendly staff. Good for short stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) Breakfast = The menu quite the same for 2 days I spent.. No fried rice.. only got mee for 2 days... 2) TV channel = Quite dissapointed a limited TV channel.. No FOX Sports channel to watch football & FOX movies... 3) No place to hangout your towel in the room after having bath for to dry it up. 4) Praying mat will only available in your room upon request.

    1) Near to famous attractions and food (e.g Sup Hameed & Kopi House International) 2) Nice view from the hotel.. sea view...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed an towels were old and dirty and we had to ask and control the room service to get really clean ones. The breakfirst is not designed for european taste and mass processing.

    The bar is realy nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff are really friendly. Good buffet for breakfast. And the property is walking distance to almost everything you might want to visit. Great stay (Y)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed sheet and pillowcase are not clean. With stain n smell. Pillows too soft.Bath towels with stain. Room not sound proof.

    Beakfast is great- many choices and tasty.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The parking entrance and exit is a bit irritating - can't really be helped because it was built that way, not much you can do but be extra vigilant on your way out.

    The location was amazing! Lots of great food places in less than 1km - it's also really near the coast and priced quite well. Would definitely come back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Best Hotel in Georgtown. Spacious room with a partial harbour view. Variety of cuisines in the breakfast, Malay, and Western elements. Great Roti Canai too. Super Location on Lebuah Farquhar right near the Penang Road and Blue Mansion. Eastern and Oriental is just the next block. Good restobar Olive bearby. Rooftop restaurant good but we couldn't do as baby was tired.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture is a bit old and I suggested to request non connecting door room.

    Love the location and friendly staffs. Surprisingly our room has been upgraded. For short period of time, the staffs really treated us well with warm services and super helpful for all our enquries

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough signs in the parking lot to show the exit. One exit is quite dangerous as it also allows incoming cars.

    It's location and value for money

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plugs in the room wasn't working and only left one is functional. The room fa facilities should upgrade.

    It's comfortable and good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrive, the toilet wasn't completely clean. Also we had some trouble to find the path to the hotel's parking

    The location of the hotel, inside the patrimonial heritage neighbourhood of penang (we can see the "Blue Mansion" from our rooms's window) and its skyline bar & restaurant providing the best panoramic views for the island. Also the breakfast buffet has a wide variety of recipes to choose.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have been arranged to one of the linked room. The room soundproof is so poor. The other side was just normal chating but I can listen very clearly what they talking about. So I have requested another room, but it was a smoking room. Not linked room, more quiet. Unfortunately the room toilet have very poor drainage system. It flood my feet with all the shampoo water in the bath tub when I finish my bath. The car park is at another building, abit distance to the lobby, acceptable. Parking fee waive-able for hotel guest.

    Roof top bar, nice city view. 3.5m swimming pool, but small

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: