Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Berjaya Langkawi Resort 5 stars

Karong Berkunci 200, Burau Bay, 07000 Pantai Kok, Malaysia

#2 of 8 hotels in Pantai Kok

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2568 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If the room is far from the lobby, you’d have to wait for their shuttle service as it is unadvisable to walk by yourself, and this can be time consuming during the peak hours.

    The ambience was amazing, as it had a rainforest feel to it. Natural voices of the wild could be heard throughout the resort, although the only wild animals that could be seen are the monkeys.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lots of plastic littering the left part of the beach : the staff was cleaning the part immediately near the swimming zone, but would be good to extend to plastic picking on the entire beach after high tides

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The old cars which shuttle you around the resort were polluting the air with strong smoke and were really noisy. We could hear them day and night from your chalet. It's 2018 already. Maybe it's time to upgrade to some electric golf cars. - Also, the air in the room was stale. I'm guessing they don't really open the windows due to the monkeys. The mattress and pillows also smelled kind of stale. Sheets were clean though.

    - The Rainforest Chalet was really deep in the rainforest and we liked this. We got to observe the wildlife up-close (macaque monkeys, colorful and noisy birds, lizards, etc.). Our chalet got surrounded by monkeys at one point, so bear in mind to keep the doors closed. - The room was nicely decorated and had all necessary amenities. - Room service was also great and affordable. We had dinner in our room and enjoyed the food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location was a little far away from the city center. It should also have a proper medical facility where even prescription drugs are available.

    The restaurants, the beach side Bar, excellent view from the Room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Rainforest Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's one flight of stairs guests have to take every day to get to the main restaurant and to the pool. The staff will always help with strollers, toddlers etc, but a ramp is definitely missing

    All staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful and the shuttles always quick to arrive

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Specifically, Jemson from reception and Dominic from Pann Thai, were very helpful. Also, location was right beside the Sky Cab (Langkawi Cable cars) which was great for first timers like us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Add Salt to dishes , it helps . Serve Real tea and Coffee and not machine made .

    The Location was good but the property was possibly rated 5 stars 25 years ago and by today's standard is a 3 star. The superb staff however makes up for high price of a 3 star.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Chalet
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Vegetarian options are very limited in all the restaurants and not particularly good. Breakfast is large but so-so in taste/quality. Traveling to other restaurants outside the resort is a challenge too - especially with small kids in tow.

    Loved the location and the friendliness/service orientation of the staff. To a person they were warm, engaging and went the extra mile to make us feel comfortable and welcome. Close to the cable car.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would have liked to have seen a better effort in cleaning up the mangrove as there was rubbish everywhere!! really took away from the experience for the kids.

    great for families with great things for the kids to do.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Booking any activities or services through the resort is very expensive. When we shopped around for activities, we found it easy and less expensive to book direct with the company via internet and whatsapp.

    Berjaya is the kind of place where you just slow down, breath deep, and sink into total relaxation mode. It is a long taxi ride from Kuah and Chenang, which could deter some, but the Oriental Village at the bottom of the driveway has served our purpose for food, pampering and a little shopping. The resort location is gorgeous! Nestled in the rainforest, on the edge of the ocean, it is a stunning location. The chalets are neat, clean and well fitted out. Staff are wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble. Everything is run with a relaxed efficiency.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room booked unavailable on checking in, seems twin bedded rooms are scarce. We were given an upgrade but that is not the point. Shaver socket almost hanging off the wall in bath room. Shuttle service from lobby to rooms was slow and vehicles noisy.

    Good food in the Thai restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly no complaints.

    The rain forest chalet was perfect relaxing location. The staff were excellent always trying to make sure your stay was perfect. Food and drinks reasonably priced. Thoroughly enjoy the stay, will return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thai restaurant is very good, if you decide to try the beach resto coctails are not recommended at all, huge difference in quality comparing to Thai resto

    Despite it's isolated from any town/village you can find everything at the site, well organised transfers to the cabin, very polite and friendly staff, great breakfast and very nice beach, great Thai restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was damp making the room smell musty and bedding also damp. Bed was also quite hard.

    Free shuttle service. Good location. Friendly staff. Nice pool and access to the beach. Good restaurants on site.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the property is very old & needs an complete renovation , location is good , but the rooms are not upto the mark as 4 star property.

    the property is very old & needs an complete renovation , location is good , staff is fantastic , very co operative.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rainforest Chalet

    We were disappointed with the Rainforest Chalet as it was a bit shabby and a long way from the resort with no view. We upgraded to the Pemium Chalet which was absolutely gorgeous, amazing view and beautiful room. The housekeeper did a lovely “I love you” sign on the bed in rose petals and the next day left a dog made from towels with my glasses on - so funny! Loved it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wait time for shuttle bus pick up sometimes a bit long. I found it better just to walk to the lobby and breakfast than to wait for shuttle.

    Chalet in rain forest with monkeys was a unique experience. Breakfast was great with many options. Very nice infinity pool with waterfall and tree full of monkeys. Many water sports available on site. I rented a kayak and paddled to a nearby island.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible service Not clean washrooms Cockroaches every where Lods of monkeys, not a quite place for honeymooners

    Location is good. Close to oriental village and cable car. There is a great German eatery in oriental village. Which is a must go place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff didn't know a lot of things. Property was run down and the linen bin outside our hut has some stinking rubbish which the staff put clean linen into although the clean linen was in a plastic wrapper but the point was they don't bother to clean it out.

    Beach was fantastic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fewer options for a vegeterian diet. Except for breakfast, other meals did not have much options

    Excellent location and landscape. Very courteous staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was dirty, pillow cover was smelly (smell like the covers are not fully dry), the bed sheet felt sandy, the staff weren’t friendly and did not handle guests in a nice manner (i had an incident with the shuttle service and instead of clarifying (the concierge staff), they were assuming that it was my own mistake

    The ambience

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing significant for change

    friendly and pleasant staffs especially those buddy drivers - sincere and accomodative. Water chalet is quite expensive for someone who has to take 2 rooms. will try again next time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited food options for Indians. They make you feel as if you are in a budget hotel. They don't serve water on the table at the coffee shop; you need to go and get it. Same is with coffee. Staff (other than the front desk) are unwelcoming.

    Location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in one of the forest chalets and, despite it may need a little renovation, our stay was wonderful. Breakfast has lots of variety and the beach is calm and beautiful. The SPA is amazing and the service is really good!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Rainforest PLUS
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything is just fine! I recommend this hotel, everyone coming to relax on Langkawi. I liked absolutely everything. And, the location is above all praise (especially proximity to the Sky cab and the Sky bridge)! The beach is perfect. The nature and the view are amazing. The houses created the feeling that we were in a forest fairytale. The staff was always friendly and helped us. A truly unique atmosphere reigns in the Chinese "Oriental restaurant" and the "Pahn-Thai restaurant" on the coast. We will definitely return here. :-) :-)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Rainforest Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Land Chalet is old and dated furniture etc + toilet has no closing window therefore room gets smelly.

    Location was great. Rainforest studio are new/modern but beds are a bit uncomfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The check out process and shuttle to pick up the luggage is a bit slow. There is no lifeguard at the pool, and no one to enforce the swimming pool rules, or keep the swimming pool clean.

    we loved the place, the room in the forest, the sea view from our balcony, the quietness. The beach is beautiful and relaxing.. the staff is friendly, the thai restaurant & the beach restaurant are great for dinner. the shuttle was efficient most of the times (our room was close to the central area). Very close to the cable car and airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff are not very friendly. The reception staff were terrible and completely inflexible. I had many problems with them and every time they were unprofessional. Not a single request I wanted was met. 1) I asked for an airport shuttle pickup a few hours prior to my arrival to the hotel but they responded that airport pickup must be booked 3 days in advance! This is not acceptable for a 5 star hotel. 2) I arrived at the hotel without having exchanged my money to local currency. They requested I pay the full room payment upfront. I asked them to wait until I exchange money. They said that I had to leave a deposit so I left a 200 USD deposit. The following day, I completed the full payment for my stay and I asked for my deposit back but they insisted I cannot get my deposit back until checkout. I didn't know what that money was held for since I completed the full payment of my stay. After a heated argument they gave me my deposit back but they demanded I leave another deposit for the room key until I return it on checkout. Of course I refused. They have zero trust for their guests and that is terrible service for a 5 star hotel

    Very good breakfast. Very nice rooms with chic design

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and welcoming staff. Always there to answer any queries with a smile. Room spacious and bed comfortable. Very nice swiming pool area and great location (minutes away from cable car)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed our stay so much. We get the chance to be upgraded to a suite room with a breathtaking ocean view. The resort is big that you have to request for a shuttle to go around. It is located near the Sky Cab and it offers free ride to go there. The staff are very friendly. Take a walk to the far end of the beach. The view is pretty awesome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Berjaya is one of the best places you may choose if you are looking for relaxation and relief, the sea view and forest were fascinating, the staff were very friendly, it was hard to say good bye!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very less availability of veg food, particularly for my wife who is a vegetarian. The room was too small for a infant who has just started walking.

    Loved the stay and food at the restaurant. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the cleanliness of the pool was a concern at one point, my daughter pointed out t a member of staff that it needed to be cleaned up. on top of that, the hotel beach was fantastic, but once you went outside to the adjacent beach it was full of plastic, which was very depressing.

    the setting of hotel is fantastic, very educational or both adults and children. We enjoyed Dev's Nature walks immensely. On top of that all hotel restaurants offer fantastic selection of very good and delicious dishes at very reasonable prices

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a lunch in a restaurant near lobby. The food was terrible. We were having dinner at the beach reataurant. Food wasn ´ t bad but it took half an hour to bring us drinks

    Nice resort with beautiful beach. Great breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family chalet are way too far from the pool and beaches... The food was not as expected

    The forest view and the beach .. Staff are so freindly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn’t particularly comfy, can’t find menus anywhere other that at the restaurants themselves (even though there’s a section in the book in the room there’s no menus in it). Found there’s a small choice on soft (fizzy) drinks.

    Resort is in a beautiful setting with lots of fun wildlife around. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Helpful staff, quick and check in, beautiful property with monkeys, nice swimming pool. Great entertainment music every evening. Good dinning options.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We understand that the resort is almost full all the time which makes the transfer by the buggy little difficult since we had to wait 30 minutes once so we can get a ride, but apart from that it was amazing

    We had a wonderful time the kids loved it

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place is a little remote from everything. Unlike other places I stayed in Langkawi you cant stroll out for a walk to a nearby bar or anything. The evening entertainment was a bit dull for me, so while I would stay there again for sure, I would maybe only do so for a few nights.

    I stayed here for 1 night at the end of my trip and it was heavenly! The beach was beautiful. The pool fab. I stayed in a treehouse and monkeys clambered over my balcony. Very close to the cable car so easy to do that whilst staying here. The breakfast buffet was phenomenal, you name it, it was there! The choice of restaurants for evening dinner was also good, although I was disappointed with the size of my seafood platter! I could have eaten it twice! Not great value for dinner.. :D

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The combination of a very beautiful beach with a great scenery of islands in front, combined with the rooms located in the rain forest is a unique experience. The pool layout and pool bar are also very nice and the pinacolada at the pool and beach bars was delicous.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dinner buffet was well overpriced for the quality food and they also wanted you to pay for any drinks (not just alcohol).

    Great accommodation. The room was very nice. Great beach. Near the Oriental Village for other food choices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 7 nights

    3 hours in ferry from Penang to Langkawi was tiresome. Recommend flight. Take only marked Taxi. Private are way expensive.

    I felt like in paradise. Beautiful location, very nice people, pools not crowdy, empty beach, delightfull meals and awesome weather. The best vacation of my life.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food quality was not good and there was no taste at all. I pre-checkin arrangements. he room was not ready when i arrived, it took me 1 hour to settle as AC was also not working. Staff attitude during breakfast was also not friendly.

    The Location was near to Bridge and was fine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check In is terrible, only by trainees. Long. Access to rooms only via old buggies and a pain, lots of time The hotel is getting very old and is hard to maintain.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated prop. They can update the rooms furniture and overall feel.

    Location view . Very Close to several activities. Thai restaurant superb. Breakfast very nice. Staff very courteous. Pool and beach recent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were small bugs in our room! The resort it located in a rainforest though so bugs is expected and they give you bug spray which helped but there were loads of these small, black ant-like bugs! Also don't eat at the Oriental Pearl restaurant onsite, the service was absolutely terrible and probably is the one and only thing we hated about the resort which put a damper on what was up until then, an amazing experience overall.

    Quiet, beautiful resort which has utilised the nature around it rather than destroy it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food-wise there are not many options. We only tried the buffet once and it was Ok. The location is not close to the city and it's a bit isolated.

    We stayed 2 nights in a family chalet in Berjaya Langkawi hotel and it was simply amazing. We had a clean room and an incredible view. The staff were very professional and helpful and everything was perfect. The only issue might be waiting time for shuttle buses as the rooms might be far from the lobby but we didn't wait more than 5 minutes every-time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Rainforest PLUS
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was terrible. In particular, the balcony was COMPLETELY UNSAFE as some of the railing was coming apart. I traveled with small children and we couldn't use the balcony at all because we feared for the children's lives. There is simply no excuse for such a state of disrepair. The only reason we stayed is because everything was booked up for Chinese New Year.

    The breakfast buffet was great. The Chinese restaurant was really good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was suprised to see that they charged for the tennis courts etc... this should all be included in the price! The food at the chinese and indian resturant were just ok..

    Location/ beach were beautiful, and the accom was lovely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like the need of a ride whenever I needed to go to my room or the other way around; because you can't walk to your room... this resort is huge !!

    Room was clean, it was inside the jungle, and also I loved the clean beach !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest PLUS
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very suitable for people with walking difficulties as the grounds are vast and there are alot of stairs and slopes, the shuttle service helps but there are still a lot of stairs to restaurants and pool etc.

    Fabulous property with chalets spread throughout the grounds, a beautiful white-sand private beach, good pool with swim up bar. All staff polite and professional, a good choice of restaurants. Shuttle service to and from chalets.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was still quite some garbage lying around....waterbottles....tissues...empty wrappers...cigarette buds....and in the parking area there was heaps of garbage! And the fumes from the visitor carts was really quite bad, and too much motorbikes and noise of these.....

    The natural setting, the hornbills, the primates!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room sealing fan is not running smooth and it old one.May be installed Long before

    We need some good indian food break fast in the dayang cafe itself

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Alcohol prices could be lowered considering Langkawi to be a complete duty free island.

    Helpful staff, Great location, good onsite restaurants, fantastic rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too quiet on night though Oriental village 10 min walk was great but still only 1/2 restraunts open in the village after 7pm (last order 9:30pm) restraunt in hotel were very expensive except for beach bar

    Amazing location for day time, beautiful beach and beautiful rainforest chalets especially room 3210 with beautiful views of sea! Monkeys were amazing to watch round the pool (please be wary of brown monkeys - black monkeys with white face were friendlier!) Pool was fab and service was fab... room service food standard (burgers) were well worth it would definitely stay here again!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rainforest chalet is not exactly the value for money, given the price. Overpriced breakfast menu.

    The wonderful beach and the location of Thai restaurant, pool and other facilities are also good and it is very near to cable car and Oriental village, which makes it very convenient for travellers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative can be said, we found a spider in our room but what van you expect your in a rainforest. To get around and see local sites you will need a car, for which there is a free car park!

    Staff helpful, facilities excellent, property clean. Amazing restaurants. Beach nice. Every thing you see on the Photos is what you get. GREAT

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was very expensive for the quality that you get and there is no other eating places close by so you are forced to eat there or take a taxi to town.

    The resort is in a beautiful location overlooking the sea. It is very large and spread out so not for the faint of heart. There are shuttles that can take you to your " cabin" however you may have to wait for a bit.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Chalet On Water
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We regret that we dont have enough time to linger around!!!

    We stay in the Chalet on Water, we can even spot the fish swimming under our balcony. The staff are friendly and very helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was lovely, large and spacious. The only issue was that our balcony had no view, and by no view I mean all we could see was a large green plant. Of course I like plants and it's beautiful to be surrounded by the jungle (this is why we booked it!) but it was so large that no light was passing into our room and it made everything seem very dark. I could see other apartments had a significantly better view and I wish I had gone to ask if we could swap, but we were very busy and tired when we arrived. Sometimes the wait for the shuttle can be long, but this did not bother us. Note the resort is larger than it seems on pictures - again not an issue for us, but may be for others!

    The staff were very friendly and the resort was lovely. The little shuttle that takes you to your apartment is exciting and you feel a great sense of adventure when travelling to your room. The private beach is also brilliant. I wish we had known about the beach front breakfast before our last day as the view was stunning! Our room was large, spacious and had many facilitates. We loved the pool area and dining options. We were close to many exciting places of interest, such as the cable cars which were only a short walk away and we found it easy to travel to other places from the resort. We did enjoy having a car too, the parking was in a good location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had a terrible stay, luckily for only 2 nights, mostly due to the diabolical staff at the reception and restaurants. Had menus slammed in front of my face when I asked about the dressing's ingredients. Food presentation at the main restaurant is very 90s, nobody serves food like that anymore. For the same price we stayed at Hyatt and had a selection of organic teas in the room, Berjaya offered us only LIPTON! No bathrobes in the room, pretty shabby chalet, very old-looking electric cars, faulty plugs which burned my iPhone, holes in the towels (very old and used too) by the pool. I don't remember when I had to reserve a sunbed by the pool last time, probably 20 years ago. You still have to do it at Berjaya. Despite the fact that hotel was packed restaurants were open only for a few hours. Tried to book their highly-regarded overwater Thai restaurant right at the check-in only to discover that it is booked 3 days upfront. Surely if you are fully booked the restaurant should work all day so all the guests have a chance to enjoy it. The whole hotel is operating to make it as annoying for the guests as possible. Pool bar is closed at 6 even though the pool is open till 8pm and it's still not dark outside till 9pm. Beach bar closes at 8 too, together with fully booked restaurants you basically have no choice but eat where they have a table. A few times staff at the beach bar simply forgot about our drinks. During my stay I saw many people screaming in the frustration or finding an irony in that ill customer service. My iPhone got fried as soon as I plugged it in to charge in the room, begged reception to help me to find a charger to check if my phone is still working but they pretty much distanced themselves from my problem and told me to deal with it myself. Had to scrounge around the swimming pool asking random tourists for a charger, so embarrassing.

    Starbucks kiosk and beautiful location, wild life

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The fact we had to pay extra for breakfast! The monkeys that almost attacked us and we couldn't leave our room for half an hour.

    There was lots on site, I liked the fact there were plenty if restaurants to choose from, free towels for the pool, the free shuttle service was great too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall i need to say that hotel has its glamour but it is a bit outdated. This is seen especially in cottages. Rooms in general needs to be refreshed, air condition system needs to be changed, lightning as well... When you pay 350 eur per night you would have expect more.

    We have enjoyed being in nature, close to monkeys, forest sounds. Sand beach is nice, as well resort pools and overall environment. Room was spacious and bright. Staff is very friendly and hospital.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Chalet
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The family chalet was two smaller adjoining rooms. It was perfect for our family of 4 - the kids had one side and we had the other. Whilst some of the rooms were quite far from the main hotel facilities the shuttles were frequent and easy to get. The restaurants at the hotel were particularly good and provided a range of dining choices that suited us and the kids.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Massive lack of sun beds around the pool (unless you get there very early to reserve then you won’t get one!). The first family rainforest room we were allocated was disgusting, what I would expect at a 2* hotel. It was dirty with broken dirty furniture, hairs in the bed. Squished dead bugs on the wall and the list goes on. I complained straight away and requested a new room so we were offered another which was ok but not up to 5* standards at all. From reading other reviews I guess we were unlucky and got some rooms which were not recently refurbished.

    Lovely pool and beach areas.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Rainforest Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wished we could afford to stay longer!

    Lovely location close to the cable car. Beautiful beach & pool. Friendly shuttle drivers. Four restaurant options & beach cafe.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were missing towels sometimes and the onsite food aside from the Thai restaurant is not entirely inspiring. It did feel a little bit businesslike and not very personal, of course it is a big resort but this was still perhaps a shame. Sometimes information, like location of ATMs and closing times of local restaurants, was not accurate.

    The setting is beautiful and the Thai restaurant on site is fantastic. The beach and pool are wonderful and the staff in general are very helpful. The room is very clean and you are close to the Skybridge and cable car. Although we couldn't get early check in we were kindly given a drink voucher to fill the time.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms are showing some signs of aging (but it was expected, as I read from the reviews before)

    Nice location Jungle sounds (stayed in rainforest chalet) Private beach is nice Helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service provided by the staff, their attitude towards guests, and their rude behaviour. Imagine them asking for 100 Ringitts when asked for a painkiller !!!

    The location and the ambience

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much!!!

    A room in the forest! View on beautiful trees! The room is very comfortable as well as the balcony. The pool is fanstastic, the beach beautiful with view on the mountains: amazing sunsets. We tried the Thai restaurant and the each restaurant and both were delicious. The resort is very respectful of nature: there are spectacle monkey and macaques, hornbills flying around, flying squirrels etc it is well organised to go back and forth from the room in the forest. There is a little truck going around (would be better if it was electric to preserve nature even more). Finally there is the oriental village with the cable car at a 5 minute walk, where there re duty free supermarkets, food court (German corner was delicious) and shops. We had two fabulous nights there and already plan to come back!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a couple of minor issues that prevent it from being perfect. The resort seems a little under resourced in certain areas. Shuttles are needed to get to the farthest parts of the resort but they're often very busy. The pool was also always packed and at times they ran out of beach towels.

    The location is absolutely stunning. The chalets are amazing and the staff are well trained and very friendly. The resort has a wonderful pool, beach, spa, restaurants and the backdrop of the jungle with the wildlife surrounding you make this a magical place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The shuttle buses are not enough. We had to waith for 10-15 min for a shuttles from villa to reception. Sometimes we just go by walk to save time. We did not like the Thai restaurant. Restorant was closing at 2200 and when we made our reservation for 2100 no one told us. Whent we arrived we had to wait for setting a table as we are 7 people plus 2 babies despite that we advise how many we are when doing the reservation. At 2215 the waithers started to push us to finish, taking our plates even though we were still eating. The food was bad. 2200 for closing of a restaurant is too early.

    We love the place, the beach, the villas, the jungle. Great staff, very polite and helpfull.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rainforest Chalet
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The only negative issues for us included the need to take a hotel shuttle to get from your chalet to to the hotel lobby area, where facilities, including restaurants and recreational facilities, etc. were located. In addition, the Berjaya Resort is located in a gorgeous, but remote area of Lankawi Island. In order to visit any attractions (i.e. other beaches on the island, shopping areas, etc.) required an additional hotel shuttle bus or taxi ride.

    This is an outstaning property and it's five star rating will well derserved. The location of the "forest" chalets provide the feel and visual of being in a rain forest. Private beach and pool areas were asolutely breathtaking - the word exceptional is inadequate to properly discribe this property.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Suite on Water
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was slow. Called room service after our room got attacked by monkeys- they came after more than 1.5 hours, 4 calls and a threat of a formal complaint.

    The location, the chalet, the facilities were beyond amazing and better than we expected. We tried several restaurant options and found them all very good. The pool was simply wonderful. The room itself was very comfortable and tastefully decorated.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both rooms bathroom sinks either blocked or plug got jammed and weren't fixed during our stay. Shuttles were a pain to take. Having to pay extra for every activity.

    Friendly trainee chef. Good breakfast. Pool. Rooms were nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Berjaya Langkawi Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: