Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Berjaya Tioman Resort 4 stars

P.O.Box 4, 86807 Tioman Island, Malaysia

#15 of 28 hotels in Tioman Island

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1188 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    7.5
    Nice for a Short Gate Away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden View Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be careful with Sand Flies in the Beach area. Have to walk some distance to restaurant to get a meal or to Hotel Lobby. Its not so convenient with luggage to stroll all the way in the stone pathway. If the Hotel can offer bicycle for free to hotel guest to ride in the compound that will be great.

    Awesome Breakfast with variety of choices. Clean room with good WiFi. Relaxing Beach with sitting area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    8.3
    happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only bad thing about the hotel is the management using the location to increase prices of all activities and facilities in the hotel or even for transportation out of hotel.

    The resort is beautiful in everything. Just walking in there would refresh your mood and make you full of joy.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    7.1
    Pros:
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cons: 1) price for the bottle of water which is too expensive, 10RM inside the hotel, 2RM outside the hotel 2) long walking distance into the diving centre form our room or exit/entrace into the resort (I am writing about that because we were travelling with 4 years old child) 3) broken air conditioning inside our room, after a few attempts to fix that by hotel staff we were moved to another room which was helpful (during the nights is also very hot and you cannot open the windows due to the monkeys) 4) apart from 2 restaurants next to the hotel entrace there is nothing on walking distance, to get to the Tekek tou need to take a taxi 5) no possibility to do the snorkling on Renggis Island if you rent a kayak from the resort, there is no more platform to attach the kayak.

    Pros: 1) proximity of scuba diving as well as diving centre, great place for snorkeling at Renggis Island, you can see black tip sharks, sea turtles, etc. 2) teasty breakfast with wide choices of food 3) nice swimming pool next to the beach with sliders for young kids (there were two, one was out of order unfortunatelly) 4) outside the hotel, next to the entrace, there are two restaurants with cheap and great food (one is malaysian with great sea food, another one is chinese)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    5.8
    Berjaya Tioman Resort - Garden View
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Garden View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanness and maintenance its not good. First room we get it’s power point problem, and the lights is not on, we ask for a room change. After change, we thought it’s good but there is insects hide under the bed and blanket, getting bite by them on first day while I’m sleeping. Hurt and itchy. After that my wife go and complain to the front office, they decide to upgrade our room to sea view room, but inside it’s dusty and the furniture it’s not complete as we seen on the website. But it’s late we having activities next day so I ask my wife to calm down. After our activities, when we come back to room, the room it’s already clean by cleaner, we thought it’s a special service, but when we check our bag it’s opened and we lost of few hundred dollars, we feedback to them while checking out, they said will get back to me but until now we still haven’t receive any news from them, quite disappointed for this short trip.

    The view it’s very nice, activities are interesting.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful beach on an aging hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room's toilet was quite old and the room could be cleaner. The overall hotel was aging. You're limited to the hotel for food choices, but they have two restaurants (the Thai one is quite good).

    The beach was beautiful and quite empty during the day. The activities like scuba and snorkeling are great. The sea life is beautiful just by the beach.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    8.8
    Lovely relaxing beachy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden View Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some reception staff with smile gap and lacking "service" concept

    Very spacious room, separated shower stall, good property layout, lovely beach, dive centre staff friendly and helpful, nice and varied breakfast buffet

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.2
    Very good!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Beach Chalet Triple
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No shuttle to the town, that is quite far.

    I loved everything, the resort is great, huge and the facilities are very good. The bungalows are perfect for a family and to relax and the beach around is great. The food at both restaurants is very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Excellent resort for all families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The slide at the pool was not in operation.

    The buffet is excellent. The room is comfortable and clean. The facilities is excellent with guidance given by En Musa who is so friendly and help tourist with all the choices available. Check in was fast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel for a relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden View Chalet
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - hotel was nice, but some places were not super clean. Especially the public toilets like the restaurant. - during the day we missed a lunch menu, with a little bit more small dishes. - resort is clean and nice, outside the resort you will find a lot of trash on the beaches and next to the road.

    - The location, the beach and the facilities. - lots of possibilities for activities to book at the resort. - the different restaurants and friendly personnel. - the look of the resort, houses were built in traditional Malaysian style.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.1
    Private beach and its very near to Tekek main jetty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You can reach 10k steps goal easily if you stay here. From room to lobby- to restaurant- to main gate- to Island hopping jetty all takes quiet a distance walk.

    Private beach and its very near to Tekek main jetty. You feel safe too since the Tioman police office is in Tekek. You will have option to dine outside since there are two restaurant just outside the hotel gate. One is chinese restaurant (super delicious seafood) and Malay restaurant which serve Thai, Malay, Western and other seafood menu which good and reasonable price.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    4.2
    The only thing is good in the resort is the breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The resort not well maintain , really worst. The terrible 4 star resort where I've been stay . Lot of maintenance problem , air cond leaking , no water pressure in shower , floor is very dirty and the beach is not well maintain. Totally not acceptable.

    The only thing is good in the resort is the breakfast, variety of food.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.1
    The area in front of Berjaya is excellent for snorkelling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden View Chalet
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The main restaurant always seemed to be short-staffed and we sometimes had to wait a while to be served or to catch someone's attention. Similarly, upon check-in and check-out at the reception, there were only 2 staff serving about 20 people. Since there are only so many ferries arriving and departing each day, the resort should provide more staff to assist with check-in and check-out during those peak times.

    The area in front of Berjaya is excellent for snorkelling. There were a lot of healthy coral all along the house reef and a lot of marine life to see. The resort area is huge and well maintained with a variety of wildlife to be seen around the resort area (monitor lizards, birds etc.)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After showering the whole bathroom Floor was wet. Swimming pool too small for number of peole. Very few TV channels.

    Good buffet -breakfast and dinner though would have liked the opportunity to als try the Thai restaurant (not included and not exchangeable). Nice rooms and spacious grounds. Gorgeous beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    Extremely Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just note that to get out of the hotel is a bit of a hassle. As it is quite far. You'll have to rely on the hotel buggy/buses/van to get out of the hotel if you don't mind the long wait. Breakfast buffet was just okay.

    I love the view from the jetty. The water is gorgeous near the Berjaya jetty, so swim there instead. It's also very close to Pulau Renggis. My room was beautiful and very comfortable. The staff is friendly and attend to your needs as soon as possible. Overall it's a great place to stay with family.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i went there with my husband but they gave us a room with two single bed. I think its very inappropriate. then, you should change the menu for breakfast packed for those who check out earlier in the morning. i just got some bread, fruit and mineral water. other than that, everything very excellent. i'll come again with my families!

    good environment, comfortable room, very clean room and public areas, interesting and luxury place, excellent food, many facilities, more interesting activities, good staff services.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.8
    1st trip to tioman, nothing much for snorkleing activity, perhentian is better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Beach Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    check in system very slow and not efficient, knowing that its a peak long wekkend they shoid have preprepare guest list

    room 201 is ok, close by the pool and restaurant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    6.7
    The water is clear and the beach is clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The resort looks a bit rundown. The tracks leading to all the chalets need some resurfacing.

    The water is clear and the beach is clean. We went on a public holiday so the crowd gave a festive atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    4.6
    Nice place difficult to get to the island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden View Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting to the island is difficult, the rooms are a bit dated especialy the bathroom had trouble with the safe keypad as it was old, there are facilities the like the games room but they are not free

    The location is great lovely swimming pool

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    5.4
    Meet our standard but service staff could me more warm and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact its a 5 star hotel thr do we hv other choice?

    Its a very old hotel and last we stayed we took up more than 5 rooms 16 yrs ago. Glad to have been back here. Even though we enjoyed the stay, I must comment that the staff treat malay guests quite differently than Caucasians. The double standard treatment are quite apparent at the dining area, front desk etc. Seaview rooms that we 1st booked are not really facing sea but sideways. The aircon not working well and we had a really sunken mattress on the other room. Hence I requested for a change to Garden view which they mentioned had been refurbished. It has clean bathroom but son found a bedbug on the pillow. That change had me called and explain like 1000 times. The hotel in need of full revamp, it has aged w time, no fun activities to offer. Our boat dropped us at the Berjaya jetty and my father whose 83 yrs old cannot walk far. Saw 1 security and asked if we could get him send my dad as he's on motorbike, he refused and asked us to call front desk. He said only can send buggy for check in and check out. How inconsiderate. Hsekeeping respond to yr request like after 3 calls thru the day. Front desk staff need to be train to welcome guest w a smile. Such attitude.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden View Chalet
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Sandflies!!! A resort of these dimensions must have a disinfestation against those insects! Wifi worked very bad. Not very friendly and helpful staff. Not well organized. We booked with the hotel a snorkeling tour: the day of the tour was very windy with high waves, not a perfect weather to snorkel and indeed we thought the tour would be rescheduled. Instead, we did it but was not worth it because it was impossible to swim and on the boat we were all sick.

    Very nice chalet with garden view. Good buffet breakfast with a lot of choice. There is a scooter rental and two information booths were to book trips and tours. Thai restaurant is very tasty.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice for a few days on the beach with plenty of snorkelling
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Beach Chalet Triple
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There are only two restaurants in the resort, so there is not a great variety. Outside the resort are two local restaurants, a Chinese and a Malayian one. Both were ok but not great. Unfortunately there are not enough beach chairs for everybody.

    The rooms (we had a room next to the beach) are clean, big and the beds are comfortable. The beach is excellent, with enough space for everybody. Also snorkelling near the beach is nice with plenty of colorful fish. Apparently there are sometimes sandflies, but we were not bitten once. Also the sea is not very deep near the beach, so kids can swim and snorkel without danger.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.0
    Nice beach, not so nice resort, would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleanliness is a real issue here. It just isn't clean, there is dust everywhere, stains on walls, dead ants. The cleaners swipe the room, but never vacuum or clean thoroughly. On top of that, there was a huge cockroach in our room during the last evening. The whole place (room, but basically the whole resort) is incredibly outdated and worn-down. That buildings are old and worn down a little is acceptable, but there are so many basic things that need to be replaced/repaired. In the room there are wires sticking out of walls, holes in walls that havent been closed, dirty shower curtains, ceiling plates that have shifted revealing an opening, etcetc. These things are so simple to fix, that it's just rediculous. The staff are overall very uninterested in you as a guest, almost to the point that you feel you are bothering them just by being there. Whether it's in the restaurant, at the lobby or in general, all the same.

    The beach is very nice, food in the restaurant/breakfast okay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    Position, beach, sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden View Quad Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food quality not exceptional if compared to price. Table service sometimes not accurate. Structure is huge and not recent but fine. Get a seat at the swimming pool very difficult. Not organized entertainment

    Position, beach, sea. Lot of space in the beach

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.0
    Close to the jetty for arrival/departure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden View Chalet - Family Escapade
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is dated..could use refurbishment. Service was ok but could be improved too.

    Close to the jetty for arrival/departure. Large property with restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    5.8
    Clean rooms despite the age of the property
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Beach Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shuttle transport to the jetty was (very) old Staff were not attentive during check in and check out There were no responses to our query via email before checking in We even tried calling them a couple of times but nobody picked up the phone The rooms need to be renovated and upgraded to deserve the 4*

    Clean rooms despite the age of the property

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden View Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort is quiet huge, so there is many people everywhere, the breakfast buffet was full, the main swiming pool also... but there is another one smaller and very quiet.

    Beautiful resort, confortable rooms, very clean. We loved the resort beach, it's beautiful. Shuttle for the ferry.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.7
    Good with children but no charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little old (ants, water dripping from the air con) and very noisy (No isolation from the neighbours or the road nearby). Swimming pool only open from 9 am till 7 pm, game room closed at 10pm... Too expensive overall for the services provided

    Great breakfast, nice location and small fitness room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.0
    It was okay. But I will definitely stay in juara village next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden View Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were dirty. They stole most of our safety deposit money and gave no reason for why. Our air-conditioning was leaking water onto the floor.

    The location is good right by the beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel for family and friends to enjoy holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden View Chalet - Family Escapade
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet in the room is flooded after shower.

    Overall is excellent. Reservation staff, housekeeping staff, and restaurant staff are friendly and they react fast toward customer need. I request for extra bed for my children during my check in time. The housekeeping staff is reached within 15 minutes as per promise. Restaurant staff always make sure the table is clean for customer. And they serve good coffee too. The beach is clean and we enjoy the most fun in the seaside. The seawater is transparent clean where we can see fish in the water. The snorkeling point is just few miles away from the resort beach. Renggis island is really the best snorkeling point.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.3
    Overall a quiet and clean place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden View Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and not good maintained Far away from jetty and no normal transportation was provided. Reception always no answer.

    Very clean beach just outside the resort Very beautiful view and environment. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.3
    The hotel is fine, breakfast is acceptable, the restaurants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden View Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is used to over selling the rooms, we had a room that we had not hired, after 4 nights I realized that it is a policy. Good luck with this topic. Another thing that I did not like is that in the room they had put the TV at 1 m height, (ridiculous) which meant that we had to move around it to go from one side to the other. The pool closes at 7pm (?) Half an hour before the sun goes down, forget about watching the sunset while having a drink in the pool.

    The hotel is fine, breakfast is acceptable, the restaurants are very expensive but there are options outside, to do snorkeling you have to move because it is all dead in front of the hotel itself. There are other lodging options on the island, you may consider exploring them.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.7
    The Resort itself is nice .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden View Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    buffet : always short of something ( glases or coffee or food or juice or ...) Staff did not clean up the tables even many people where waiting. We where waiting more than one hour for our desert in the thai restaurant . Answer from the waiter :we have a lot of customers , you have to wait . No “sorry “ no “ i go and así the kitchen “ Arrogant uselessstaff . storries like this i could tellabout everyday of our say ( 4 ) Big change in comparison with our last say ( 5 years ago ) NEVER AGAIN

    The Resort itself is nice . Bed comfi massage in the spa is a must have

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    5.0
    The location was fantastic, the beach was great, the pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden View Quad Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The customer service was literally non existent, staff didn’t smile or welcome guests, when asked for help they were very dismissive, particularly the restaurant by the pool and the check in desk. We were a family with infants and when we asked for baby chairs we were kept waiting or told to get it ourselves. The rooms were in bad shape, particularly the bathroom, they are old and dated, the bathroom is dirty with poor water pressure and the toilet was disgusting. We resorted to using the main hotel toilets and avoided our chalets! This cannot be the standard that is advertised (apparently a 4*) it reflects really badly in comparison to other berjaya resorts. Also housekeeping we had 2 chalets next to one another one was cleaned whilst the other was left till after 6pm, this is awful service for hotels. Not at all impressed

    The location was fantastic, the beach was great, the pool was also good despite one of the slides being out of service. The general maintanence of the outside of the hotel was to a high standard. And therefore pleasing to see. The travel and tour reps were extremely helpful and thorough! Thankyou!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    Great breakfast buffet, Nice atmosphere, nice room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden View Chalet
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in restaurants was a little slow, not enough sun beds at the big pool, only two restaurants in the resort - after a few days you need alternatives

    Great breakfast buffet, Nice atmosphere, nice room, beautiful location with beach in the front and jungle in the back

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    3.8
    Not what we expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Chalet
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rubbish everywhere. Uncomfortable bed. No water pressure in the upstairs bathroom and little if no hot water. Minimal food selection for westerners at the buffet. The resort itself is in need of major repair work.

    The outsourced laundry was very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.5
    Everything is made to be easy (Jetti Transfer, Trips,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden View Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was basic and old with just 5 minutes of warm water. Huge hotel structure, mass tourism. Slow wifi.

    Everything is made to be easy (Jetti Transfer, Trips, Restaurants always open, Sunchair on the beach, ...)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.3
    A good place for a beach resort but its old already.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had stayed in Tioman Berjaya for about 5 times. Its getting old and upgrading needs to be done. Last time, i can safely says that it is the best resort in Tioman, but now, its just another option for a stay. I believe there are better lodging in its vicinity.

    The beach is beautiful and a great place to chill and wind down.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    Check your bills, they overcharge!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The billing is really messy, they tried to overcharge us room rate, turns out it the bill belonged to someone else. At the end when we got back and checked our room checks, we were still being charged for a few dining items even though we paid cash directly

    The hotel cleanliness and general service were okay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.5
    A paradise with many areas to improve to deserve ****
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden View Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly or very reserved staff; some of them coming across as arrogant. Long waiting time for lunch or afternoon snack orders at pool side. In the room: AC did not work properly, fan speed could not be regulated. Beware of the sand flies at the beach! - the repellent kindly offered for free by the Ressort did not work for me. Arrival at and departure from the Ressort was stressful. No help offered for the luggage, we had to beg for it. Breakfast: very crowded during high season time in early August.

    Wonderful location at the beach. Overall, attractive setting, that may have seen better times. Good breakfast and dinner buffet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    A great place to relax and do nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Chalet
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we first arrived we were told the room on the beach with a view that I had booked online was not available but with some insistence we were able to move into a beachfront room on the second day. In our 6 night stay the electricity in our room went off 3 times and the air conditioner leaked, dripping all night. In a resort this size the rooms vary a lot and some staff are fabulous and others more surly.

    Our eventual room was large with wooden floors and a lovely Eastern ambiance. Breakfast each morning was fabulous with lots of variety. The beach cocktail bar had beautiful views of the sunset each night and the Thai restaurant was very romantic. Even though this is a very large resort we didn't feel overwhelmed by it and still had some privacy. Beach towels, two pools and deck chairs and shade huts on the beach were everything we needed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic all round holiday - top marks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden View Quad Chalet
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In didn't matter as the resort & Island are fantastic but the bungalow rooms are basic..

    Everything else: Great beach / excursions - jungle and island snorking / restaurant/ games room / beach bar and live music - I'm very fussy and I didn't want to leave!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.4
    Very dated hotel in desperate need for renovations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is extremely dated, and the prices are still very high. It must have been nice 30 years ago, or it might be worth if they charged 1/3 the current prices. Bathroom has old tiles and some of them are broken, air conditioning is very old, TV is old.

    Transportation to/from the pier

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.0
    This resort is on a very long and and very nice beach, with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This resort is on a very long and and very nice beach, with lots of shadow when it is very sunny and warm. It is located close to Tekek, which gives you the opportunity to have activities or eat outside if you want .The hotel offers interesting activities too. The view from the beach side chalets is beautiful, and if you get a renovated one, the air conditioning and bathroom are very new. The staff is doing his best and everything is clean around . We could have stayed much longer than 5 days.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.4
    Nice beachfront property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor customer service. There was a long check in line. The front desk reception insisted we had booked a twin room when I had booked a double. They were flustered and seemed very untrained. Not sure why you have to order certain items from the restaurant instead of the pool when they can easily combine this. Food at the restaurant was just okay/edible, nothing amazing.

    Nice beachfront property. Shuttle services to and fro to the ferry.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.2
    A peaceful resort with everything you need for blissful relax by the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden View Chalet
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The resort is indeed a bit dated, however very clean, so that did not bother us at all. The prices of services (e.g. kayak rental, restaurant meals, spa etc.) are a bit steep.

    Overall, this is an extremely pleasant place for a relaxing holiday. Clean, wide beach, 2 swimming pools, no crowd, enormous public space, and well-kept garden. The house was just enough for us, we had all we needed. Housekeeping and clean towels and sheets + fresh water every day. Diving center 500 meters away. Good choice of food for breakfast. I'd come back there for sure.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    The service shuttle, the staff, the restaurant, beach bar...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Superior Chalet - Family Retreat
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The service shuttle, the staff, the restaurant, beach bar music animation, poolbar etc... In short : everything. Haven't been able to relax like this in years, everyone is smiling and kind. The beaches are not has dreamy has in the perhentian islands but the hostel services outperformed everything we found so far in Malaysia. A bit too much Chinese tourists at the start of August (they are numerous, loud, no manners and spit alot). So go in July ;)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    9/10
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Garden View Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its big and you have a private beach. So close to walk from the room. Game room is awesome. I was very pleased with the stay and would loved to come again in the near future.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.3
    Over priced but great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place feels a little dated (was probably Super luxurious in its day) but it’s still clean and has good facilities. It is over priced compared to what it would get elsewhere in Malaysia but tian seems a little over priced in general

    Great location and the beach that the resort is on is one of the best. Staff were excellent and friendly and even got a pick up from the jetty

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.7
    The Berjaya resort at Tioman island is just more older than the berjaya at Redang, redang was greT!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com didn’t informed that the breakfast is not included for kids, we hd to pay! No small towels, but only two big towels were provided. The rooms are wuite old and uncomfortable as everything can be heard from neighbors. Toilet was awful!!! No holiday fun attractions were provided like banana ride and etc

    The variety of breakfast was great! Cleaners were very polite. Service transportation was provided for going to clinic! Has clean beach, and wide area to walk!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.1
    Culture buffet with traditional Malaysian food is delicious
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden View Quad Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food is not the same as their menu picture. The buffet theme is different from their website information.

    Culture buffet with traditional Malaysian food is delicious

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Clean, quiet, friendly and helpful staff from the front desk...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missing face towels and slippers. Hooks for clothes to hang. Bed is a bit soft. Else everything is fine.

    Clean, quiet, friendly and helpful staff from the front desk, drivers, Matahari restaurant staff, cleaners n security guards.. nice scenery facing beachfront.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    4.6
    too expensive for this kind of quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything about "berjaya resort" did not meet expectation. Room poorly maintain. Surrounding also poorly maintain. Breakfast buffet should be more choices and varieties.

    The beach and location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    Great stay! I stayed here 20 yrs ago and revived memories :) Highly recommending!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden View Quad Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food: breakfast is same every day and should have more choices of local food. Around our bungalow the surrounding was not so clean?!, which is not the case with the rest of resort (mostly clean). Pool bar so expensive and not giving real fruits in moctails (mixing soft drinks instead).

    Staff: they gave us free upgrade of the room, first row from the beach, facing the beach. Other staff very friendly, smiling and greeting. Big and comfortable room. Very clean! Food: Two local restaurants in front of the Resort entry (Chinese and Malay) , with great choice and quality of local and sea food (since Berjaya restaurant has no wide offer and prices are much higher) . We went to Malay place every time and is great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.0
    enjoying and full of wonderful memories...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Garden View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the sewerage that lead to the sea. the management need to put a stop to this releasing of the untreated water coming from the food outlets to the sea.

    the cleanliness and the beaches very relaxing...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.3
    With a better manager should be excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unreliable information from the front desk. Maintenance problems: no tv reception, broken bed lamp, sink does not drain, leaking toilet, internal phone defect, and that was the first day. Poor check in not equipped to deal with the batch-arrivals from the ferry. (this is such nonsense: it happens every day and they just do not organize)

    Location and grounds very good. Spacious rooms, well equipped (once everything works). Wifi good for mails, not for downloads. Restaurant very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location, comfortable stay, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms need maintenance. 2 showers out of our 4 rooms didn't function properly. 1 Toilet overflowing. 1 tap in the basin leaking.

    Great location. Good variety at breakfast. Beautiful sunsets to be seen from the beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    The property location is amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Sea View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was not great. i was overcharged for my spa bill. i had to carry my luggage to the reception after check out as no buggy/staff were available.

    The property location is amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    nice resort, but over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Chalet - Holiday Escapade
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked the Holiday Escapade package, but I would not recommend this. The breakfast is general included and as extra we had a ferry transfer (70RM/person return) a shuttle from Tekek jetty to the resort ( seemed to be for all free??) , dinner buffet for two (but we ate once in the Thai really good for two and 206 RM incl. drinks); The buffet calculation I don't know, but here is only water and tea included, all other drinks are separately to be paid. The snorkeling or Kanu activity was 30RM, but the trip with 3 stations and 3h was an extra charge of 60RM/person. All in all I could not really find the Value in the package.

    Breakfast was very good, dinner (buffet) as well as a la carte (Thai) was really good. Rooms (beach chalet) are spacy. The resort offers many activities from golf, till ATW tours. The staff was really friendly and supportive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous location, beautiful beach close to great snorkelling!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden View Chalet
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Music at the bar was always a bit too loud although we enjoyed the live music. Buffet wasn’t great but we liked the Thai restaurant.

    The beach was beautiful- had it to ourselves after walking a short way from the centre of the resort. The view. The balcony. Fridge and kettle in the room were really useful. Snorkelling at the little island was brilliant and so close!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous holiday - can't wait to go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden View Quad Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perhaps more shuttle buses can be provided for guests to go to town and back particularly in the evenings, independent of the ferry arrival and departure times.

    We loved the lomg stretch of private and sandy beach. i know Tioman well and this is the definitely the best bit of the island!!! The location is excellent as we are onlya short distance from Tekek village and can easily pop into town for food or a bit of shopping. The staff were warm and friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    Very nice family stay. I would reco for families only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Beach Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Resort too big. Pathways unclean. Main restaurant quite poor. Golf course is not maintained, but very cheap. Chicken and egg... Diving center didn't make any effort to take us to the best spots.

    Comprehensive leisure activities. Nice beach, large rooms. Good thai restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    There was less manpower on weekends & public holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was less manpower on weekends & public holiday.your management team should have been aware of that n handle the staff leave more efficiently

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.8
    low water pressure, the water heater is not work properly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Beach Chalet Triple
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    low water pressure, the water heater is not work properly. Berjaya staff not provide bath towel everytime they clean the room and collect the towel. We have to call them everyday to remind them. the provided bus from tekek jetty are not properly and safe for the passenger.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    Would recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Garden View Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plugs socket in our room didn’t work, we went and told reception they then fixed them. However it seemed during the night and some of the day they didn’t work. Only downside to our stay.

    Great swimming facilities, thought the swimming pool was great! The restaurant was very good and fairly priced given that it is a resort! Breakfast was also fantastic! We did a snorkelling trip which was good and fairly priced! You get what you pay for!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    Our Beach Chalet 209 Stay in Berjaya
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Beach Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi need upgrading very bad connection. Our beach chalet room 209 have a old wet mushy smell. Think you should air the room or put some fragrance. Staff at the snorkelling centre are not very friendly rush and hasty. Facilities need repair and upgrade. On checking out. We were told to queue behind new check in tourist with only 2 slow working staff. Long wait until near ferry time and I got angry.

    Beautiful beach, friendly hotel staff and good restaurants food. Like the old malay heritage house style hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    3.8
    Staff is very friendly and try to cover all the hotels...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden View Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst experience ever from administration point of view. They required a deposit which is common many hotels and when I made check out they told me refund will be done same day. 20 days and still waiting for me refund...I wrote them several times but they always put an excuse... Unbelievable!!! The hotel is not close 4 star resort, could be 20 years ago but not now as everything is old. Location is really far away from everything and you will need a bike or a car. Breakfast very poor too. I wouldn’t recommend anyone.

    Staff is very friendly and try to cover all the hotels problem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.3
    Good beach,Resort should improve on maintenance
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Superior Chalet - Family Retreat
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel need renovation and improve on the maintenance.We were biten several times by mosquitoes. Food choices limited and too spicy.

    Lovely beach and surroundings.Great snorkel excursions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.7
    We went in a week were was very quite so we were happy with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Beach Chalet
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is outdated but clean.

    We went in a week were was very quite so we were happy with that. Had a beach chalet, it’s spacious and comfy. We had food a la carts in the restaurant and it was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Good place for Family,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Beach Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Food at the Hotel was just OK, the breakfast had the Quantity, but the quality was lacking. The Dinner was very much expensive, so I didn't try it.

    The Staff was very Helpful and well behaved. They were able to guide you on what things are around, including food and also other attractions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.8
    OK, but fairly disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms in the chalet are run down and need maintenance. The wood floor has wide gaps in them and they didn't border to filled up the gaps. They only supply bath towels, not face towels or other toiletries. We had 3 person in one of our rooms and they only packed 2 breakfast instead of 3 for that room, the voucher clearly said 3.

    I was disappointed for what we paid for.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    Superb superb superb.. I love it with my family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Beach Chalet Triple
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.. for that much far island we cannot expert to good things.

    I really enjoy my those days.. the staff was good. The environment excellent..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    3.3
    I used to stay here before, but it's not the same anymore. :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Beach Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact that this hotel did good last year, and now, everything just went bad. The toilet for my beach front chalet is leaking. The foods was not taste good at all anymore (in room service) The staff was not full with smile anymore

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.3
    Nature around is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden View Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Stuff wasn't friendly, except for the ladies in the breakfast restaurant. Locations is not optimal, getting "official" taxi service to the city - poorest experience I had in Malaysia. It's kinda beautiful trap - nice nature, but poor and pricy food in restaurants, so if you want to visit nice places you have to get a cab, which is stress there. So, you have to choose. One time we had to walk like 25 minutes, because of the taxi mafia, which are right on the hotel's property.

    Nature around is great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.8
    Hotel was too big / unpersonal to feel comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden View Quad Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big pool was very dirty and mostly closed. Slides didnt worked... not very motivated staff at beach bar.

    Good food - great snorkling Trip - clean rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    4.2
    Bad experience at Berjaya
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden View Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and poorly maintained. We were bitten by bed bugs!! The swimming pool was down due to burst pipe. Our room air con and phone not working. The shower water flow is pathetic. No face tower were given. Will give this hotel a pass for my future visit to Tioman

    Location.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Berjaya Tioman Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: