Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang 4 stars

Jalan Tanjung Bungah, 11200 Tanjung Bungah, Malaysia

#6 of 7 hotels in Tanjung Bungah

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2586 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tour desk operator needs to be more friendly and professional. On booking free shuttle to Batu Feringgi we were asked several times if we required collecting at 10pm. (As stated on board) when we said yes, we were informed he’d had a long day and was very tired. Not a very good attitude.

    View from balcony was gorgeous. Staff very efficient and friendly. Great choice for breakfast. Rooms a generous size , each with balcony.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was old n dated, seriously need renovation. Even the room are quite old looking. For a 4 star hotel, it is quite dispointing to see dated room n bathroom. Anyway, perhaps tat is why the price is a little cheap.. therefore, the value of money do match with the level of service offering at the hotel. It just seriously need an uplift, renovation, n upgrade. N my sil do complaint that there should be a place where she can change the babies diaper as there was no baby changing room or any sort of room tat allows it to do at the lobby floor.

    The breakfast was great n worth it. Bed is clean n comfy. Aircond is cool n functioning well. Swimming pool was ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping needs to improve. Rubbish were left and not cleared. Room is extremely cold and humidity in the room is too high. Water stains on walls.

    Front desk staff is friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very old furniture, everything in the hotel makes you feel that no body care to improve this hotel. Not enough staff in the restaurant. access to the beach is troublesome. we needed a place for the children to play, simply don't have. Seats around the swimming pool, very limited, and some are broken

    Room view, fast response from room service. the freshness of the air flow from the balcony

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, lack of services, cost, needs renovations. Not much to offer other then a room. Water pressure in bathroom was more then a fire hose. Stained old carpets. Hot lifts with busted floor. Dont go near breakfast. Feeding frenzy of rude pushy tourist with kids with no manners.

    View

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible .. Please avoid, very old looking room, lots of patched up n broken stuff, sliding door of the balcony didn't open, just go to the other hotels nearby by, a million times better....

    Location... Thats it...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift from basement parking.

    Walking distance to the beach not far. Clean and comfort room. Friendly staff especially the maintenance staff, arrived within 5 minutes after called. Wifi coverage very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The condo infront of my room. Blocking the whole beach front view.

    Location easy access to everywhere, receptionist very nice. Easy checkin. Breakfast was good and room are fine. No comments only compliment

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was so hyped but it turned out to be one of the oldest and non maintained property I was charged 80 rm more at the time or check in because of 10 percent service tax which was not worth None of the showers were working properly in the toilet , I had to change my room in 6 th floor from room 605 to 601 but still it didn’t help or served the purpose Each and every item in the room was wearing out starting from the switch to lights and the Toilet accessories The bed sheet had blood stains and the aircon had never been serviced This is 30 year old building and the staff also knows about it that they are helpless I am surprised how come booking.com tried fooling me with this property even after using their service from such a long time

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift - Awaiting So Long Since 1 Of The Lift Under Maintenance Breakfast - Variety Of Breakfast , Just Simple . No option For Kids .

    Location .. Receptionist Very Good Service..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    We had a wonderful vacation, and I have recommended Copthorne Hotel to all of my colleagues, friends and family. Thank you again for such outstanding service. 

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is so small, it is very hard for me to bath with a very low water pressure. Laundry bag is not found in the room. Besides, I found some stains on the bedsheet. Some of the furniture is in old condition.

    The bed is large enough. Nice sea view, good location. The staff are polite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was the same except 1 of the items only will keep changed. The bed sheet need to be replaced often to ensure the cleanliness and if possible to vacuum the room by housekeeping. The price for the buffet breakfast can be reduce further as it did not match with what we paid for.

    We really enjoyed the place as it met our expectation for the money that we paid. The staffs are very friendly and very helpful too. The room service was fast and efficient too. It is nice of the Hotel to provide STAR newspapers DURING the weekend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing it was was great

    I celebrated my Birthday while I was staying 7 days at the Hotel and what a wonderful surprise there was a knock at my door and was presented with lovely Birthday Cake the staff were all so lovely and friendly I wish I could have stayed longer Our room had a lovely view of the sea and very private all was just so relazing Many thanks for a great time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. A staff that handled the bookings when i called. I have the name but would not want to mention in public 2. The check in time period took too long... System was not working well but d reception lady was awesome

    Overall the stay was pleasant. Plus this was not my 1st time. I liked d place alot n that is why i came back n stay thr from time to time...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Tower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing I have to point out is the mold-like odor coming out from the air conditioner every time we turned it on. I hope they could check their air conditioning system and have the smell removed.

    Friendly staff. Homey atmosphere. Delicious breakfast buffet(I love their nasi lemak and curry) by the pool. Beautiful view from my room. Spacious room with nice balcony. Bottled waters supplied everyday. Good selection of bath amenities (especially the laundry detergent) Close proximity to Tanjung Bungah market. Bus stops to Georgetown/Batu Ferringhi is few steps away from hotel. Nyonya dinner buffet with huge variety of dishes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Tower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast buffet was rather simple but we get for what we paid. Basement parking could be a bit more safer with security.

    Very clean room. Spacious. Good view. Quiet. Rather retro and old-schooled looking hotel. Good front service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else, the hotel is not clean in obvious way, we had to ask to change the towels as they were not clean, we had also our friends in another room who had to ask to change the bed sheets as they were not clean, this is shame for 4 stars hotel, also staff were not friendly, and management really need to change their uniform it’s clear that it’s very old. In summary the hotel is really old, not that clean, i will not stay there again

    Hotel location was close to the beach, breakfast was on acceptal level

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    good firm large bed, good hot shower.airconditioner works very well. pool is large, free shuttle service to georgetown and batu ferringi. friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - hotel equipped with 3 available elevators but only 1 was functional - Long walking distance from carpark to elevators and no lift access at all from carpark - Buffet breakfast needs more variety and improvement

    -seaview from the balcony/room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was old and noisy because the walls were thin. I did not like the breakfast, it was not a high quality although there were many options (especially for the Chinese guests but not for European guests). The children's play area beside the breakfast room made it very noisy.

    The hotel staff was very friendly. I had a room with sea view and it was aboslutely worth it! The view was beautiful and it was such a colorful sky during the sunset. The private beach was lovely. Free shuttle to Georgetown was good. You can get easily back to hotel from Georgetown by bus and the bus stop is in front of the hotel. You can also take the bus 102 to the airport (1,5 hours) in front of the hotel (3,60 MYR).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I get old block..the carpet was smelly...the bedsheet was smelly...the door can't lock from outside..

    The view of our rooms...the delicious breakfast..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture. Small room. The sauna and other facilities were closed under maintenance. Cleanliness is an issue as well

    The staff were good but the hotel should not be rated more than 3 star

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Should put a big signboard to alert suv driver not to enter the underground parking. 2) Beach is not really well kept, can find rubbish at the surrounding.

    Room is spacious and comfort. Staffs are friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not suitable for older folk due to the entrance to the lobby which was a short climb with stairs leading to the hotel. Apart from several restaurants nearby, little to do within walking distance.

    The purpose of this trip was purely relaxation and this is what we got apart from dogs barking EVERY night outside of our room. I would mention that the private beach and surroundings was exquisite although we didn't use it. In fact whilst I was there, I saw nobody use it. The swimming pool got plenty of activity.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far from the Georgetown area and even farther away from the airport. Not so many interesting places nearby. Bathroom was clean but looks old.

    Nice beach view, good breakfast, pool and access to a small semi-private beach. Personnel were really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The premises need to be refurbished. The toiletries provided in room was very little. The gym room is small. The hotel location is far from everywhere, worst, he scheduled shuttle service was infrequent, to komtar (city) is only once a day. So, we had to take grab car which cost around RM10-15 one way.

    Andaman sea view is awesome. The room is reasonably big and clean despite its age.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My sink is leaking, the bed sheet is dirty and i didn't get a sea view from my room as i expected.

    The staff very friendly and the parking spot easy to find

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    from parking area we have to climb staircase to reach lobby. It will be good if facilities improve by having lift or baggage pathway

    Private beach. Nearby Batu Ferringi and recreational area

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel in all cases is outdated. The rooms are big, but need renovating in all ways, including the furniture. The damp smell in the corridors with the old carpets were a big let down. Just as well we didn't spend much time indoors. The rooms were clean, but the decor is a let down, including the bathrooms are old and in some cases moldy (ceilings). The sauna was out of commission. The Hotel has so much potential, but in need of a good renovation.

    The situation of the property is wonderful and the rooms are big. The beach is remote, and right at the Hotel with lovely views. The beach is ideal for for kids and families. The pool area is very big and accommodating. The little shops and local food-court across the road are convenient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    iron should be in the room not separated room & shared with everyone. supposed to think about the muslim woman.

    The view & all staff are friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A malay male Check in staff was rude and not helpful. Room was dirty and very old.

    The swimming pool is clean and well maintained. Bed is nice and comfy. There is a minimart near the coffeehouse which offers alot of good deals and nice beachwear.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I dont like the breakfast because very tasteless, not interesting at all. I need to pay for my kids but very frustated

    I like the staff at the reception counter because she`s very polite and explain well when i ask a question.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -No elevator access from lower ground parking area -Food selection during breakfast too common -The facility in the room quite old -Still using physical key for room access, and not given any extra key

    -The beach, my son enjoy it so much -The staff, nice, friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself is 3 star with 4 star price! It has tired looking rooms with runned down bathroom. For the quality, this hotel is expensive!!!! They need a renovation big time. Also no lift to basement parkings!

    This hotel only survived because they hired professsional and very accommodative employees. The staff are 5 star!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditional not function well,breaksfast not many variaty,staff at reception counter no friendly ~not give id n password wifi directly while check in, given the correct password after making 5 times call, Poor service , booked non smoking area,but checkin in smoker floor.

    Staffs from house keeping deparment are friendly . Buffet dinner valuelable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    ExcelleNT hotel for overnighting but also for relaxing, Kind and professional staff,shuttle bus free to gorgetown and night market,beautiful view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property does not include any tax or servcie fees in its pricing, very sneaky as others in the area normally include this (excluding government tourist tax RM10 per night.) Made our accommoadtion 16% more expensive on arrival than initially quoted, then + Tourist tax. Very sad to see a once grand hotel allowed to fall from grace. Rooms very tired and in major need of an upgrade, one restaurant on site which is reasonably priced. However in the compendium the hotel boasts a bar which features live music, which has closed, the pool bar is also a thing of the past. The spa is broken, with a permanent closed sign on it. The second restaurant boasted a taiwanese breakfast but was not open during our stay.

    Very large rooms, large and deep pool and nice beach (although you can't swim in it due to jellyfish). Staff were helpful and restaurant staff very attentive. Free shuttle to Georgetown was really convenient. Ticked all the core boxes of a fleeting visit to Penang. Oh ... Indian restaurant over the road AMAZING!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little tired. The advertised spa and sauna are not operational which was disappointing.

    Location overlooking the bay is lovely. Pool area is very pleasant to relax and pool is kept immaculately clean. Also liked the hotel shuttle and local bus stop only a few minutes from the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A simple n cozy atmosphere.. The best part was I found out de hotel management still kept de simulator machine which happen to be some activities we used to play when we were young.. Great memories refreshed.. Me n my husband had great fun.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would nice to have more breakfast optuon as well as after 11pm menu. Bathroom didnt have soap provided unless asked for. Plug points in rooms weren't working.

    The location was good, staff was friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chilly air-conditioning in restaurant Slightly annoyed by them taking payment from my credit card before arrival, leaving me with a wad of ringgit to change back when I got home. With Booking.com I'm used to settling the bill when I check in, preferably cash.

    Great sea view from balcony of 'superior' room Tasteful furnishing and decor of room Bathtub with unlimited hot water Excellent wifi connectivity Swimming pool and fitness suite Quaint lifts! Choice of value eateries over the road

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room. It was runned down. Wood cabinets and skirting mouldy and rotting. The curtain had lizard droppings on them. The room had some kind of smell. Overall bad and did not meet my expectations at all. The breakfast was so so..not much variety.

    The beach and privacy of the beach

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Tower
    • Stayed 1 night

    the interior of the room is old style. on the positive side it's good to keep the classic style. on the other side maybe the management can refurbish them a little bit. for me both is okay

    check in was smooth, staff was very cheerful and friendly. room was comfy. breakfast was super delicious. a family accidentally left her handbag during breakfast and a staff took initiative to keep the handbag for them.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    See the details above. We repeatedly found that where there was a problem that was clearly flagged up they took no action. We would have felt better after my husband hand fallen through the chair if they had checked all the chairs, this could have been done in 30 mins. and could save a serious injury

    We booked this hotel thinking it would be good given that it was part of an international chain. When we arrived the rooms smelt so fusty that it was not an option to accept them. Eventually we found a room for a night, Booking .Com. responded to my email and an agreement was made that a fresh booking at Booking. Com's new reduced rate for an upgraded room at a similar price to the original room booked. There were problems with this room but it was possible to accept these-a small leak, a bulb that did not work, patio doors that stuck and similar. The hotel had offered an upgrade but they wanted a considerable amount of money over and above the original price. Inf act they did not seem to know what they were charging for each grade of room. We could appreciated they offer reductions for people staying for 6 weeks or so but to change the rate from sentence to sentence suggests they have problems. We took one evening meal in the hotel and had fish. When we got inside it the fish was under-cooked and the center had blood that was runny. We complained, the waiter simply said 'sorry' and removed our plates. The bill was presented in full! After a few days where things were running more smoothly and we were warming to this place my husband sat down to eat his breakfast and fell through the chair! Whilst he did not injure himself badly it kept him out of the gym for the rest of our time there. There were some positives. The maid was excellent. She spoke English so well that we felt we were actually communicating with her-she should have been on reception as we only had to tell her of a problem and she was on the phone to get it sorted out. The driver who took us to the airport was excellent.the courtesy bus was good and the loan of umbrellas to guests was so helpful as was free use of the Business Center to check-in flights and print out boarding cards. We have emailed Copthorne about the problems and await a reply.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The condition of the room is very outdated. Its not worth the price that I paid for.

    The staff were perfect & prompt. There is free shuttle service to the night market & gurney plaza. Breakfast selection was awesome

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front counter & bell serv staff should be improve. No towel at the pool is a big mistake. But the housekeeping & maintenance staff should be given a credit for their friendly & best service. Credit to the operator too....keep it up. Always give piority to local visitors & never look down on the small car who drove in to the hotels as miracles always happen.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My first night staying there i changed my room at 2am due to bedbug in the room. The second room just fine but two beds attached. Its not comfortable since im traveling with my husband. And the cleanliness in the room is not good at all. Its below from my expectation.

    For me the breakfast is nice. The nasi lemak taste good. The sea view is perfect. Ms devi who checked in us very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room Brocken toilet shower couldn’t turn off curtains stained neededupdstinh. On room change was given a smoking room which smelled. Sheets did not fit the bed holes in bathroom lamp covered in dust curtains stained. Whole room needed updating and sorting out. Not up to the stands red advertised

    View

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -The lift always have problem the left door cannot close properly, very dangerous,already informed front desk staff but after that still the same problem -the room a bit old and out from expectation -the sauna room was hide in a small corner, looks like no staff inside to incharge

    -staff was friendly and helpful -nice breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure is super low for toilet pipe. After you flush there will be no water run out anymore from the pipe. Difficult to wash yourself after poop

    Nestled next to the beach & sea view is nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room decoration a little bit old

    Food for breakfast are really good... nice swimming pool .. large room and comfortable for those who have child to play around.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The last time I stayed in the hotel they had massage service and also it was written in booking.com. However, when I checked in, I was told the massage centre moved to some other places. They only have the spa.

    I have booked a standard room through booking.com and the picture shown was with seaview.. however, when i checked in, I was told that all standard rooms no seaview.. I have upgraded my room to get the seaview.. Also the standard room , had stain on carpet and toilet looks not so comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Tower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When i reached hotel,there's a staff standing in front of the stair(before lobby). he saw me and husband are having difficulty carry luggage. he only ask "boleh ke bawa?" ..why not he approach and help the guest?

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It's 25 years since I was here last and 4 x 40 storey condominiums have been built around it taking away some of the views. Also the décor and fabric of the building looks tired and is in my opinion in need of a refurbishment...That said I found the areas and room clean and acceptable.

    Great staff and always ready to help

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When walking into the lobby area everything looks amazing until you get to your room and that's where the disappointment comes in. The room smells like a damp cloth and the furniture looks antique but it's very old. The hotel needs a major revamp! The room is not clean at all, the carpets were dirty and you can smell the dust. The bathroom is not comfortable at all as well, we like had to tip toe and always wear slippers. The cupboards were just as dirty and you can see it wasn't cleaned for sometime. The breakfast areas as well, the tables and chairs are old and needs to be changed! All in all, if this hotel really wants to be 4 star, a major revamp would definitely be needed. Wouldn't recommend this hotel until revamped to a modern and clean look.

    The only 2 things I liked was the location as it was close to the bus stops and the nice side swimming pool...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the tv channel was not really clear i guess because of the coverage, the hotel is still using key instead of card, the room cabinet seems to be quite old fashioned, the hotel was near 5 minutes from tesco and near to town so as for a person who enjoy nature more i prefer batu feringgi hotel since the hotels are near to the beach and less building.

    i was staying at the 19th floor with partial sea view..the room view was nice but can't really enjoy the view because i have children between 7 to 3 years old where the balcony need to be always closed for their safety, the room was spacious and carpeted..you can walk to the beach which behind the hotel building the beach was nice but you can really swim because of the jelly fish. so my children literally only can play with the sand not really swimming

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are a bit rundown and staff at the coffeehouse were extremely rude. Lacking of facilities if compared to other hotels of equal standing. Breakfast is so limited and same food served everyday.

    Only location of the hotel is good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the old environment. If you have been to other 4 stars hotel, you will feel this is a very very old hotel.

    the staff is friendly, lots of smile on their face. Very lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was excited to try the sauna but it was isolated, empty and quiet. I think the swimming pool could be improved & renovated

    The food was ok & nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took 2 hours for us to check-in. Our check-in time is 3pm so we arrived at 2pm, but we just got in our room at 4pm. They only have 1 receptionist so the queue is so long. And then they only cleaned our room once we got in the hotel. The cleaning took 1 hour! We were already tired at that time!

    It is cheap. The beach can be viewed from our balcony. There is a free van to Batuferringhi and City Centre.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are a bit old not exactly what you will see in the pictures (well i mean you will get the whole package in terms of furniture but not as new as it looks like). The bathtub and wash basin was clogged which i informed the front desk. The bath room hasn't been maintained.

    the hotel is located at the sea side of penang around 15min drive to the main town which is George town (FYI please use GRAB the application as a form of transportation as its much cheaper than taxi's in Malaysia over all) the hotel has entrance to its private beach which is awesome you can get away from the hassle of it being crowded and its open to enter from morning until 7pm. My room was facing the sea side so it was awesome in the mornings with a fabulous view, the staff were friendly. Oh you will have to pay additional 20 ringit upon arrival as tourism tax which is exclusive of the price you'll pay for the room. the breakfast was good and there are couple of restaurant, saloon, 7 eleven, pharmacy and so on opposite side of the hotel which you will have to cross the bridge to get to it. At night is very quiet and its close to some good tourist attraction.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Had to change 3 times rooms because of things not properly working (Balcony door not working , AC wouldn't turn off , safe not working , no hot water pressure ) / breakfast on week ends are insane waiting time in line up to 30mn / noisy on the side of the hotel we stayed : about 10 dogs are having "meetings" at night (every single night) going up and down the street barking at each other until 1- 2 am in the morning / you can also hear everything that happen next door / big air draft in the rooms from under the entrance door/ freezing cold in the rooms until you turn off the AC (which we had to ask the maintenance to do because it was not possible to just turn it off on our own they need to get to the AC and turn it off )

    The beach at the hotel is nice and mostly empty , even on week ends . Breakfast has a lot of choice but Asian kind of food , if you ask for something they will try to arrange. Most of the staff is very friendly and willing to help . There is a shuttle to the city and back (only 1 to go and 1 back but you can order a "Grab" or "Uber" for very cheap) make sure to sign up the day before on week end . They give baby beds for free you just need to ask and they are good beds , big enough for a 2 years old . Wifi is good enough to work (from the room we were in)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a 4-star rated hotel, at least an elevator should be equipped from the car park to hotel lobby. Can't expect customers to carry their luggage all the way to the lobby using stairs. The air-con temperature control in the hotel room is not working well, it was freezing cold. The room and toilet were clean but old. The toilet flushing system was faulty and it took more than an hour for the maintenance staff to arrive. Not satisfied with the nyonya buffet dinner on Saturday night. The food was cold (even the coffee and tea were not hot), not many varieties, taste wasn't good as well.

    The staff was friendly. Speedy check-in and check-out. Buffet breakfast was alright.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite - Tower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i was so disappointed to stay in this place, it really ruined my holiday mood, i booked and put a special request to get high floor unit with 2 single bed and i didnt get any of those, when i complained to the reception's only she apologized and asked me to check again next morning to change room, when next morning i went to complain again they just took the room number and told me they will check for me and they didnt do anything not contact me again not apologizing nothing at all which was really not professional, so i stayed in the room they gave which was lower floor cant see full view of the sea, the room is old fashion design with old furniture, TV with no ASTRO and blur local channel, i dont advise anyone looking for a good service to go to this hotel , for me it will be my last stay

    NOTHING I LIKED ABOUT THE PROPERTY

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite - Tower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking.com messed up my room booking. I booked for a Junior Suite but the booking system booked me for a Deluxe room instead. When they changed my room, no breakfast was included. The breakfast buffet was not worth the money I had to pay for. First time ever I came across a self-service Egg station.

    The hotel has access to a clean private beach. Good for families.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift wasnt working for almost everyday. I stayed for 8 nights. Room service was getting smaller and smaller each day. I got a torn towel and the tea cups were not clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    AS ABOVE

    NOTHING GOOD.poor rooms, cleaning not good. old carpets soiled with dirt and smelly overall very poor hotel despite good outside appearance and location. need a great renovation. won't recommend to anyone and won't book there again

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Tower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don’t really fulfill my wishes and room was not really clean. No privacy at the room when the window is open (junior suite) because of another residential beside the hotel. Disappointed, can’t really enjoyed sea view to the max! :(

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite - Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink was clogged..no proper maintenance. Not really recommended for wheelchair bound

    The room is spacious for Family of 5 eventhough the hotel furniture n facilities are a bit rundown.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff should be more helpful especially in the restaurant

    variety food for breakfast and delicious, very clean beach, the room very clean and nice beach view from the room. Is good place to bring your family for vacation

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was bad, insufficient food, limited variety and can't even replenish the spoons and cups. Lifts to room were sandy and wet.

    Nice swimming pool and beach plus room with nice sea view.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaniness & make me disspointed because i need to change room. I have called the hotel earlier to inform stay in 1 room for 2 days but it didnt happen.

    The location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room, the bathrooms were not clean, towels had stained and were torn. The latch of the balcony door could not lock - not safe for family with young kids. Rooms were not cleaned properly, lifts floor are wet all the time.

    The location was strategic, Private beach and breakfast choice was fairly ok.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    2 different wings of the hotel spaced quite afar. Had to walk the whole length each time. No good restaurants in the hotel. Breakfast was cold and unsavoury.

    Location only

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: