Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Malaysia hotel reviews
  3. Penang hotel reviews
  4. George Town hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang

Reviews of Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Jalan Tanjung Bungah, 11200 George Town, Malaysia

#131 of 158 hotels in George Town

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2616 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    6.3
    Not very happy with the stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room are a bit smelly and smaller than similar hotels in town. The toilet was super disappointing and stinky. Carpet was super old and we thought that it smelled really bad. Safe box was not working and couldn't be replaced in a short period of time. A major renovation is extremely needed very soon!

    Staff were welcoming, place is accessible and location is fine for tourists. Lots of restaurants around. Breakfast was good (although can be improved a bit in terms of variety).

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2019

    6.3
    The property was strategic, close to the beach and a 20 mins...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property is old. Everything there looks like it has never been changed for 30 years. Some rooms were ok but I git the worst. My bathtub didn’t flow down so well, it felt like i was showering with a flood as high as my calf.

    The property was strategic, close to the beach and a 20 mins drive to Gurney drive

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    5.8
    Aged property
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Infrastructure needs major upkeep. Room has musty/moldy smells - need airing or major remodelling. 2.4GHz wifi infrastructure too is not fast enough for frequent business travellers. Limiting access to two devices too will reduce the appeal.

    Breakfast spread is good at this price. Room size is reasonably large but usual for hotel of the era.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    8.8
    Always going back with pleasure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Tower
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The buffet breakfast continental options remain disappointing. We have been going to this hotel for many years and still find the same choice of 2 dry mini "Danish pastries" and slices of bread. Some crusty bread, better quality croissants, brioches or slices of cakes would be appreciated in a hotel of this category. Pancakes are sometimes available but sadly not everyday. Savoury breakfast options though are very good but not everybody eats savoury in the morning.

    Super friendly personnel, gorgeous location, very affordable tariffs. Easy to catch a bus to Georgetown and back.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2019

    7.5
    Nice seaview and clean beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit far from the city centre . Maybe inconvenient for elderly and disabled to get to the lobby.Need to go up a slope and no lift from the carpark downstairs.

    Nice seaview and clean beach.Friendly staff Comfortable spacious room.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2019

    7.5
    Breakfast included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room seems bit dated and had a slight smell to it, seems like there were people smoking in it before (room 1013)

    Breakfast included. Good service and easy check out

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    2.5
    only the check out Ms.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food were old and not fresh. The staffs who check us in were not friendly and very judgy , it is not proffesional to judge your client! The place honestly is not a 7.1 as seen on booking.com! not going to stay here again.

    only the check out Ms.Devi was good. She was pleasant.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    4.6
    Spacious room with balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Overall the hotel looks old and need an update. The room was old and wasn't clean. Especially the bathroom. Long black hairs (have blond hair myself). And black mold everywhere. Had to complain twice at the service desk. And there was still no good cleaning. Also no apologies when telling this at the desk.

    Spacious room with balcony. Most of the staff was very friendly. Liked the beach. Feels like a private beach.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2019

    9.6
    See above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All corespondence with hotel between booking and arriving was prompt and efficient. The chech in process was swift. The room was excellent value. Location with its own beach great. Staff always cheerful . Easy to get around Penang Wish it had a dedicated bar though.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    4.2
    The location is marvellous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed and pillows are smelly. The towels are smelly and I have complained to house keeping. The exchanged bath towels too are smelly. It cannot be the detergents. The bed sheets did not entirely cover my king sized bed. It's was 90% covered but the other portion of mattress 'exposed'. The room 1502 changed from 1328 was smelly from dampness.

    The location is marvellous

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2019

    8.3
    Our preferred hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When booking I chose a king size bed but was given a twin bed

    The property location is near to Batu Feringgi and Gurney. Nice beach view. Value for money. Toilet sinks are clogged and get quick action from the facilities. Very Fast respond.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2019

    6.7
    Nice hotel but old infrastructure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice hotel but old infrastructure. The bedsheets smelled a little of dampness. Otherwise, breakfast was fantastic, rooms were quite spacious and had a great seats view, and beach was spectacular

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    6.3
    The staffs’ hospitality is great but the accommodation is not.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room was located at level 19. It was not a pleasure stay as the air conditioning is not working properly and everyone in the room was sweating. Your property does not meet my expection at all as i already request for a queen size bed but you gave me two single bed instead. The toilet’s door is also very hard to open and when we finally get to open the door it will also effects the ceiling of the bathroom. The condition of the ceiling is very worrying. We also faced difficulties to sleep as the sound of your broken ceiling from the outside is disturbing and quite loud. I understand that your hotel is an authentic hotel, your service was undeniably great but the facilities and comfortness need to be improve. We were so tired due to the unexpected journey that we could not afford to lodge a complain during our stay as we really wanted to rest. Hope you could check your room facilities and make sure it is ready for the guest to stay comfortably. Thank you

    The staffs’ hospitality is great.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    5.8
    Reasonable short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No ventilation in the bathroom so smelt mouldy. Toilet broke on the second day but staff fixed it quickly.

    Private beach was beautiful, and the swimming pool area was good.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    6.7
    Very nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I think the hotel could use and up grade. 10 years ago copthore would have been a great hotel. but right now with technological advancment copthore seems a little behind...you could use an up grade strongly recomended

    It was comfortable...

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    7.1
    In overall still can stay
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet was awful,open door ,the ceiling sounded weird,no table at balcony,the aircond not cooling at all,i feel hot at night which make me uncomfortable.

    The view are good ,bed comfort too

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    4.6
    Near to the town.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    During register took me to wait nearly 45min. I book for king size n the receipent never inform me dont have king size n when i go to room was 2 single bed and i call for joint the bed and no 1 came to do so until check out. Already call 2 times redi but never turn up. The room air con was hot until sweat.

    Near to the town..

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    7.1
    Quite a nice location on a small sandy beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I think in the 80s this was probably a fairly plush hotel but now it’s showing it’s age and is quite tired and shabby looking in parts, there were broken sun beds around the pool which were unsafe and that whole area looked a bit shabby . The pool bar was closed and I saw no pool or towel attendant . The area by the beach was also a little untidy with full litter bins .The room was decent enough though and the bed was comfy and probably new, carpet in the room also looked new .

    Quite a nice location on a small sandy beach. There’s a fairly nice swimming pool with views out to sea . Room was dated but clean with very comfortable bed , TV, good air com , fridge, kettle and free tea and coffee . Also a small balcony with chairs . Most of the rooms have full or side sea view . Breakfast was included in the rate and was pretty extensive but most of it catering to Asian guests with things like chicken curry and even bread and butter pudding! There were beans, hash browns but no eggs or sausages and of course no bacon . There was toast and very small fruit selection . Reception staff and porter were nice, friendly and professional but the restaurant staff a little cold and disinterested . I had a meal in the restaurant and it was ok but nothing special . There are quite a few restaurants within walking distance so no need to eat in the hotel. Wifi was free, good and fast both in the room and in public areas.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    9.2
    Friendly staff, comfortable room and easy acces to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Iron was not provided in the room or by request. Need to go to other floor to iron my clothes.

    Friendly staff, comfortable room and easy acces to town.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    7.5
    Front desk stuff was polite n able to get my accommodation...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not all the beds was comfortable.. booked 3 rooms but 1 room bed was hard.

    Front desk stuff was polite n able to get my accommodation fast. We celebrate birthday and Christmas, At night F&B stuff was helpful,friendly and food is quite good i must say... Othr family is a vegetarian and they were very satisfied with the food. breakfast was simple and delicious. Overall, i feel its a Great place all together. would come back another time bcos of cheap reasonable price n good food available. Thumbs Up.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    6.7
    okay but i am not so happy with the cleanliness of the bathroom in our room. value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    menu selection doesnt reflect their local dish.

    the breakfast is as expected to be buffet quality,edible but nothing fancy. I really hope they can do better with their menu selection.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    5.8
    Quiet and nice beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old Hotel with smelly corridors and rooms. Could have booked much better hotels in better location with cheaper rate.

    Quiet and nice beach. Good balcony view. Friendly staff and very helpful security guards.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    5.0
    Nothing to like.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This place was horrible. The air condition was not working properly, it blew out humid air. The whole place smelled of mold. Everything was wet in the room and I had trouble breathing. I was cold all night because the sheets and cover were wet. The wall behind the bed had black mold on it and all corners and crevices were black. There were several bugs in the room, including in the bed. We left after the first night and lost the money for two more booked nights.

    Nothing to like. Stay clear of this hotel!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    4.2
    Only the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1) shuttle bus driver not happy to the night market cos he said it will be jam on 25/12 2) toilet -toilet cover was stained for one room and wall as well for both rooms -basin tape was loose for both rooms -shower tap loose for one room 3) bath towel with smelly for one room, requested to change ... 2nd night same issue

    Only the beach

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    3.3
    Not recommended as the management can i considered as very rude.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I booked a superior room with king size bed through booking.com. However the room prepared for me is a twin bed room. It is not even a seaview. I have informed earlier that i’m on my honeymoon at the hotel and the last thing i want is a twin bed for me and my wife. I was very dissapointed and upset about this matter. The hotel management did not even have the courtesy to come and apologize and no compensation given.

    Beaches is very beautiful and cozy. Room are cleaned on time. The concierge staff is friendly and actually asked me about my stay.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2018

    4.2
    User friendly swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old hotel.. Photo in booking dot.com shown quite bit different than reality.. The bathroom not properly cleaned up. The sauna room was closed during my stay.. The room telephone is broken and not being fixed. And mostly I hate the way one of the woman receptionist at the reservation counter who answered my call. It was really ruining my mood from begining. If not because of her, all the disadvantages as mentioned above, I still can close my eyes.. But, from my experience.. I felt that she seems to act cocky to me. Go to hell!

    User friendly swimming pool. Good baggage carrying service.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 27, 2018

    5.8
    Nice view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower pipe loose & broke at 1st night & water came out all the way. Called maintenance to service but they didn't came until the next morning. I booked for queen bed but i got two single bed.

    Nice view.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 26, 2018

    5.8
    Copthrone Review
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed and pillow too soft. Too difficult to sleep. Toilet flushing was not working properly. Just manage to use. Bathtub is just moderate condition. Guide at swimming pool to be more humble and too smile. Others is good.

    Food was good. Access to beach was good. Room service was good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 24, 2018

    6.3
    i dont know.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    i dont know..how to say..not expected..spent rm400+ and i get very poor room..towel yg koyak rabak...blanket so nipis and lama punya..sampah are around the balcony..so.sad..hope the manager will do something...

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2018

    4.6
    Nothing, not even the mattress.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything, and the food sucks. Who serve instant noodles for breakfast? Or maybe its not a instant. But still. The food sucks. 4stars hotel, but most of the 3 stars hotel in the area are better.

    Nothing, not even the mattress. But they have friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2018

    5.0
    It was not a pleasant stay considering I have paid in advance for 4 days stay. Not even close to 3*
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Toilet is not clean and difficult to maintain it dry as water is dripping as taps are hard to handle. The carpet is wet and walls seem wet due to leakage and no one should be placed in that room until it is fully reconstructed and maintained. Smelly and very cold for us. Towels are not in usable conditions, smelly and very old. Should be thrown away and changed to good ones.

    Staffs were friendly and efficient especially the front desk.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2018

    5.0
    Overall the stay was average. Staff made the stay possible and the hotel needs to be torn down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel rooms had a stench in it. Breakfast buffet spread was alright at best. Bathroom experience was bad due to clogged toilets and drains. Extremely slippery bathrooms, even agile and strong young adults can slip and fall easily. This is an extremely aged hotel and do not let the professionally shot photos provided fool you. Rooms had bugs and insects in them at times, mine had ants.

    The view was spectacular and free parking was useful if u rent a car. A rather quiet hotel but probably due to lack of guest in property. Big rooms for quick gatherings. Pricing is on the low side, good for travelers that are looking for a budget hotel that is far from crowd and noise. Surprisingly good in-room dining services with rather tasty food at extremely affordable prices except the drinks menu, should definitely get the food only. Staff were friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    6.7
    Good price, fairly comfy but bathroom tiles need to be upgraded because it's VERY slippery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The towels were rather old and smelly. The floor in the bathroom is VERY slippery. Twice my son slipped as he entered the bathroom. The bathtub was also old and uninviting. The room has a slight musty smell as we entered

    The price is good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2018

    7.1
    Rooms are spacious and the view is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The property is a bit old but would be good if some minor refurbishment is done. On the first night, I requested for a pair of glass wine and I was told that I need to go down to the restaurant to get it. I find it utterly ridiculous! These are really little things that I expect the Hotel would show some hospitality. I also noticed that used F&B utensils that are left outside ond of the guest rooms was not taken and left there almost 2 days. Very disappointing.

    Rooms are spacious and the view is nice. Location is good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2018

    7.9
    Good at all amenities with superb beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food yesterday not enough since its school holiday, lots of people coming for holiday. Need to wait for Nasik Lemak

    My bed infront of the beach. The view was superb & in the morning bring my kiddos & lovely wife to the beach was super great and awesome! They really enjoyed!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    9.2
    Quite and comfortable.
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I prefer u provide any channel for the television, I mean not only local channel. Maybe u will receive foreign customer.and the WiFi its difficult to connect.

    I think the blanket not feel comfortable ,because the blanket must be 1 PCs ,

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    6.7
    Staffs was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The carpet seems like its not clean.. i try to lie down on the carpet while playing with my daughter then i feels my back really itchy.. The bathtub also got hairs inside it when we arrive. My friend on level 11 got broken aircond and it was leaking.. their room smells like smelly socks.. Breakfast is really average and boring.. Got very limited car parks. Need to park far away near the mainroad.. Not sure how this hotel got 4 stars rating..

    Staffs was very friendly..

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    6.7
    Location near beach
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is no lift access from parking level to the lobby. The bed is not comfortable. Backache when waking up from overnight sleep Only one key given for one room of two person causing inconvenience for occupants go to different places with different timing of coming back to hotel

    Location near beach

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2018

    4.6
    Convenient, with good access to facilities available
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Junior Suite - Tower
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Leaking tap in bathroom, bath wasn't very clean. Light bulbs weren't working in bedside lamps. Fridge was dirty.

    Beautiful views of ocean from veranda, nice bed

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    9.0
    value for money and happy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the entrance not accommodating and hilly. no transport can approach near the entrance .

    the location and its surroundings. the cleanliness as well as the food. the staff is friendly the hotel is value for money and affordable especially when u go holidays with family

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    8.8
    Bath tub and really comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bath tub and really comfortable bed.house keeping department really good.especially house keeping staff -indonesian girl that wearing spectacles We really enjoy breakfast.delicious . The best part hotel provided brush teeth and toothpaste. We really enjoyed stay here. Thank you😊

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    7.5
    It's a nice stay overall, if you're not a picky person
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    should improve shuttle service to different location and the timings. the water shower temperature turn knob in the bathroom ought to change, it's ancient.

    Small, cosy, nice room, facing the sea view where you can watch the sunset everyday. Buffet spread is good. though, changing sometimes will be better.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    5.4
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All the facilities are old! Not like what we’re expected... Buffet b.fast so bad that I ever had... front desk staff was suddenly handle other guest when I was in check in... it’s so terrible... what I requested was simply changed by them... even though my card already charge it...

    I like this property just because of sea view

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    9.6
    The hotel location is very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Need to improve the basement parking. Maybe a lift

    The hotel location is very nice. The beach view superb ! The pool the food and the staff is very five star 🌟

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    7.1
    View is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Need to do Reno. 2 out of 4 Electric socket unable to use. Bathtub with black stain and got difficulty to off the water tab. Restaurant chair is really really crazy dirty.

    View is good. Near to georgetown and batu feringgi if driving.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    5.0
    Need to upgrade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The interior design look old plus all the furniture seems very old. The bed is hard like a wood. They seriously need to upgrade and renovate. Air conditioner are not cold and the controller is manual which is very complicated. The shower also malfunction. We can't control the temperature. When its cold it will be really cold and when hot it will be very hot.

    The view is nice and the breakfast is okay. I really like the bread pudding. The staff also seems friendly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    6.7
    The location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Junior Suite - Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1 . Difficult to get parking. 2 . Dirty balcony 3 . Quite far from parking to junior suite

    The location is good. Also the sea facing view is beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    9.2
    The view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The furniture. It felt outdated, the bed was too stiff. You’d think in 2018 every room would have outlets next to the bedside table to charge your things, but no. Had to leave our electronics on the other side of the room to charge.

    The view. It was breathtaking. Especially during storms.. can’t explain it but it was amazing. Sea view. The pool. Large and well serviced. Hot bath/shower. Excellent staff. Well-run hotel. Breakfast. Large variety and fresh. Between Batu Feringgi and George Town. A 10-15 minute grab ride to either.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    7.1
    The room was comfortable and all the facilities also good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was very annoyed when the check in time should be on 2.00 pm as I'd noticed in booking.com but we check in on 3.30 pm. Then when I make a call, they let me waiting for long time , pass to many staff and gave many excuses. Please manage room properly either weekdays or weekends especially for guests already had booking and make payment in advance.

    The room was comfortable and all the facilities also good.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    8.8
    Friendly staff, valuable price, good environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rules that have to swim with swimming attire in the hotel pool, not every one will bring it on vacation, its difficult a bit.

    Friendly staff, valuable price, good environment

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent except the breakfast which still has lots of room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff unable to cope with the breakfast rush. No staff manning the Egg Counter.

    Butter croissants were nice but cold. Long wait to heat them up in the Oven as many ppl waiting in the queue.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    5.0
    Not worth the price, hotel too old
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel too old, need to upgrade! There’s nothing to explore surrounding the hotel except the beach. You need to travel to town for food and places to visit.

    There’s a beach at the back.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    4.6
    is very old hotel and all in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    is very old hotel and all in room.facilites need make over please do renovation and breakfast is not value for money this is.penang where fampus for food but the breakfast is totally sucks sorry to.say.no ironing facilities in room.and were assign to go 15 floor to do ironing please go own self to see the place are very dirty floor it self also reflect the house keeping not not doing their job visely did any one of housekkeper check the towel received from laundry all is in grey condition with abad smeal is over dry cause this .look to all this .

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    7.1
    Compare the price its worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food. Really bad. The cleanliness of the toilet very bad. U used a lot of bleach cousing the toilet slippery. Theres no lift from car park to the lobby. Difficult to carry out belongings.

    The room, the facilities, the price. The location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    4.2
    The swimming pool is ok for me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Inside the room, some lighting not functioning and inside the bath room toilet bowl not functioning well can't use. This is very bad experience for me to stay at the four star rating hotel.

    The swimming pool is ok for me.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing, comfortable, restful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Tower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We enjoyed a relaxing few days, savoring the quiet rooms and beach. Breakfast buffet was filled with a variety of foods, the service was superior, and the staff friendly and helpful. Decore is a bit tired, but clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    8.8
    Nice and peaceful
    • Business trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I like the peace surrounding, quite and good staying here, ample spacious and comfortable, facilities quite old but in a working and well condition, necessities all are provided well, friendly staff and we had good breakfast too. Thank you and definitely will come again.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    7.5
    Excellent Hotel to Relax and Enjoy the Sea View
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints...so far so gud. Keep up with the gud work and try to keep the room charges as it is or lower😁...Tq

    Evrything including staffs at the Front Office are friendly and cooperative.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    7.9
    Worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite - Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The toilet pipe was broken. Sometimes toilet was nearly flooded but manage to prevent it from happening. Breakfast buffet menu was disappointing as only little variation served.

    Facilities is great. Nice sea view and situated in a good location which not too far from town.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    5.4
    Delicious breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed not comfort at all, some stain on pillow. Besides, no usb charger / socket for phone charging which most of the hotel will provide nowadays. Overall the facilities inside room need to upgrade.

    Delicious breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    7.1
    It should provided hair dryer as well
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When it was already confimed to delay 2 hour check out time before the leaving date 1 day ,it was not communicated.the hotel will charge more payment. It make me disappointed.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    3.3
    don t book this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the building is too old the bathroom old and not clean the humidity was too high odor evry where in the hotel

    nothing was good in that hotel i would advise people never book this hotel just the swimming pool was good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    10
    Environment hotel like cool and fantastic and also all...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel dont have lift from basement to lobby receptionist and too far

    Environment hotel like cool and fantastic and also all round beach very clean n my family very happy n sastified

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    7.5
    Good Holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom condition need to be improved, Nozzle was broken and the water flow was too slow.

    Nice sea view and big room, very comfortable n clean room with extra pillow and worth money.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    10
    The room was spacious, balcony view was awesome to watch...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The first room we stayed the aircond was not cooling at all... But the maintenance ppl repaired it however no changes n they changed the room for us.

    The room was spacious, balcony view was awesome to watch sunrise. Buffet breakfast was great too.. Many choices of food n pastries to choose from from the table. There were choices to choose from for all ages ppl. Ample of parking space n friendly staffs.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    10
    We had a lovely time at the hotel and will definately come back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only negative I have is the carpark to lobby is quite a walk.

    Comfortable room, slept well. Location was good. Pool was nice, my son enjoyed it. And breakfast spread was also good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    7.1
    acceptable accommodation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast buffet was disappointing. lacks choices of food. breakfast starts at 630 am but the egg counter only opens at 730am. the servers were not help at all.

    the reception and bellboy is friendly and helpful. room is clean. the view of the sea is great. convenience shops and restaurants are walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    10
    Spectacular view with sea scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    breakfast buffet was awesome.. variety of local food & international which attract people to dine in. The pool, the beach and also the view was great. Last but not least a very good staffs assisting us during our stayed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    6.3
    Not bad for a short gateway
    • Group
    • Junior Suite - Tower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air-cond doesn't really functioning. Super hot during day time. Parking provided but very narrow size carpark lot for bigger car.

    The properties connected to the beach. View from room nice since it facing beach side

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    3.8
    . Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very dirty. Visible dirts and stains on the curtains. Despite informing housekeeping, it was not changed. Needs to be refurbished. Very noisy. Dogs barking and children shouting. Breakfast dining area was like a petting zoo. were cats n crows practically on the guest table.

    . Nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    6.7
    Good hotel if you don't mind minor inconveniences.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff over the phone could be a little friendlier. The bathroom's drainage needs some work.

    It's located in a very convenient area of Penang

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    7.5
    Comfy enough n i like the seaview rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Place for breakfast not enough n car park full we cant park.

    I like the breakfast but not enough place to sit.room service gd.friendly staffs.overall gd .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    6.7
    The customer service staff at the reception is courteous...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The tap at the sink was broken. We have to twist the tap zillion times before the water could come out. The flush of the toilet bowl is slow. We have to wait and flush a few times to get all residues flushed out. All together it took us almost 20 minutes to get everything properly flushed out. The room needs to be refurbished. The furniture and carpet are already old and dirty. You could see stains on the carpet. We have been enduring all these patiently but an incident which occur during our 2nd day here turned us off. Me & my mum went down to have breakfast 1st as the rest of our family members told us that they would come down a lil bit later. At first we sat at a smaller table as other tables are full. Once we saw a bigger table became unoccupied, we moved to the other table so that our other family members could sit with us. My mum were approached by the staff a few times asking whether other people can sit at the table and my mum explained that we were waiting for the rest of our family members to joined us. We would not even take the bigger table if it was just the 2 of us. We understand that it was a peak time and the staff were trying to find tables for the other guests. But the staff did not have to talk about us infront of other people. I overheard 2 of the staff (who did not even come and ask us earlier) were saying there were just the 2 of us and we sat at a bigger table as if we were selfish and did not want to share the table. It is not fair to make that kind of assumption when you did not even bother to seek explanation. My mum was so upset and embarrased and just went off and did not want to have breakfast at the hotel the next day. Very bad attitude of the staff at the dining area. They were busy talking about the guests until i have to take the empty plates myself to the empty plates cart because they did not even saw that the emply plates on our table were pilling up!

    The customer service staff at the reception is courteous & efficient. The check-in & check-out were fast and smooth.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    8.3
    Not bad, It's good overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hmm, the towel of the swimming pool..... a bit too smelly :S

    nice & comfortable environment. much better experience compare with rainbow paradise resort!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    4.6
    Not a recommended property
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The checkin staff by the name of Rosie was very rude and not helpful at all. She showed no hospitality at all. It started with the breakfast vouchers. We had booked 2 rooms by booking.com, so should have been given 2 breakfasts per room but she was not agreeing to it and we were only 3 of us. This got rectified once we spoke to the manager. The rooms were not cleaned properly, there was an empty coke can in the bathroom with spills but when we saw the ant nest in the room, we requested for a room change which took 2 hours. The following day the rooms were not cleaned properly. We found coffee stains on the tables. The basement carpark is not signposted properly, I could not find the exit and walked through service corridors, lost till a staff found me and directed me. On the whole the hotel is very dated and requires renovations which were carried out in the dead of the night while guests are trying to sleep. Drilling and knocking noises kept me awake. The breakfast is not worth the quarrel I had with the checkin staff. I would not recommend this property to anyone.

    Did not like anything there

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Copthorne Orchid Hotel Penang Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: