Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Equatorial Melaka 5 stars

Bandar Hilir, 75000 Melaka, Malaysia

#34 of 179 hotels in Melaka

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2150 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs a serious upgrade. The carpet is dam and have a mouldy smell. Bathtubs are yellowish and shower cutrains are don't know what to say. I got a premier room, the room feels dam with a smell and the toilet bowl was choked. It filled up the brim when we tried to flush twice thank God it didn't overflow! Changed to another room which looks fine but also the carpet problem was there. The next morning found a patch of wet patch on the carpet and also a big lump on the ceiling dripping water.

    The location is good. Shopping center, cinema and food is just a street across.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Equator Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed a tge suite and club room, the hotel really need a major renovation. It is really old many of the fixture need to be replacwd . The carpet has a very bad smell. We have sensitive nose so we keep sneezing

    The room services comes twice a day to clean our room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. Collection of the hotel deposits. For a room payment of MYR $950, I am initially charged with a MYR $1,200 as deposit at checkin. The deposit charges is more than the total price of the room dont sound s logically. Totally unnecessary. 2. Room facility getting old and unrepaired. Power socket cover is lose and can be detached which is dangerous. 3. Power socket not working intermittently 4. Aircon motor very loud in the room

    1. good location and big room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it's an old hotel showing it's age in some ways. A bit pricey given that there are newer hotels now coming up nearby.

    comfortable bed and good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first time in check in - Toilet light blow off and on. Pillow got smell. The hot flask is dirty. Need to have some freshener inside the room. When we request for make up room, there is no top up coffee/creamer and cup wit coffee did not wash up. Need to improve.. overall is fine. :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was wondering whether Equatorial have any plans at all to revamp or refurbish certain floors/rooms? 1. During my last stay (Chinese New Year, February 2018), I commented that certain floors have bad water marks/patches and unsightly wall paper peeling as well as badly stained carpets etc that gave out a bad odour ie. Equator Club Rooms, 10th & 12th Floor 2. I had the pleasure to stay in your Governor Suite yesterday (checked in 26th, checked out 28th). While I was happy to be given an upgrade from Executive Suite to Governor Suite, I noticed 80% of your furnishings are dated (it was impressive 20 years ago) and some of them extremely shabby. Your jacuzzi/tub’s faucet (head) broke on the first night. Though your maintenance team was fast in responding to the matter (thank you), this is a wake up call as many other items are falling apart. Your glass doors to the balcony are stuck; not enough charging points, no power point at all next to the vanity table for hairdryer and the list goes on... 3. We stayed loyal to Equatorial but if I had to endured rooms that are dated and shabby, we will switch to Double Tree as we’re also Hilton Honor Members.

    1. I ALWAYS choose Equatorial because it’s convenient and obviously centrally located. Other than that, I loved the lounge (as we only stay in Equator Club Rooms)(my apologies, the one in Bukit Jambul is much better though😅). It gives my husband and I a place to unwind while we catch up with some much needed work. 2. You have awesome staff working on the 21st floor! Especially Amin! 3. Thanking for airing the REAL MADRID vs LIVERPOOL live @K5 Bistro!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower tap spray was not even

    ALL the staff with whom I had contact (Front Desk, Housekeeping, Bell Service) were very courteous and helpful. Hotel was very clean and air in rooms and corridors was fresh. Parking was easy and convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost everything: the quality of the building with broken ceiling nest the fitness room, the abondoned facilitties and the messy way the poolbeds were stored, the wallpaper coming off in the hotelroom, the hard bed, the noisy old lights in the bathroom, the outdated look and the food. The hotel manager has many of the Same excuses on Another famous review website, but this hotel should be AVOIDED until it has been fulltime updates and renovated!

    The staff was friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was not very good and were below expectations when compared to the previous reviews we read.

    Staff were lovely and the hotel overall is beautiful. Room has a nice view and requests for extra pillows have been delivered promptly. Location is great, just opposite Pahlawan mall and near to Mahkota Parade.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is quite old. Room is old especially the toilet, walls and windows which made us feel kind of uncomfortable.

    Hotel staff are very friendly, pleasant and helpful in general. We are very happy about this.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Equator Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The general decor in the public areas looking shabby and in need of refurbishment. No sun umbrellas available by the pool.

    The Equatorial Club lounge staff gave us excellent personalized service over our 10 day stay. The club room breakfast for a peaceful,quieter option. The large outdoor pool area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff promise me to give cake when i booking for my besday.when i arrived, it has not there. Then i am asking the staf and she promise to send to my room. But till cek out i did not received it. Next time, please don't promise if u cannot fullfill it..quite dissapointed. 😔

    Nice view and comfort room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Equator Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    simply said all were in order.

    Breakfast was outstanding as there were many varieties of food to choose from. The room was the highlights of the stay for which we were upgraded to a suite due to some maintenance problems in the existing room that we've booked much earlier. The outdoor pool on the 4th floor was the best as it opens up to 8:00 pm. One should also try the Nonya Restaurant on the 2nd floor as it served the best of the Peranakan cuisine in Melaka.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Equator Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Checked in to a room with mould growing and a musty old smell. They upgraded for us but that room did not have a balcony as requested. We changed a room again to something clean and nice. Then the toilet blocked and the electricity was very temperamental. - They offered to move us again but for a two night stay, four rooms would have been too much. I just used the toilet by the pool.

    The amazing swimming pool. breakfast and Equatorial Club privileges and friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We book 2 rooms and the toilet in one of the room don't function well. The food at the nyonya restaurant was lousy.

    The overall ambient was nice and comfy and location very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in is late 3:00pm but check out is early 12:00pm, short time for my kids to enjoy the pool- they love so much to play at pool but limited time to catch up check out time. It should be can review back check in time maybe at 12:00pm and check out at 3:00pm- fair enough

    Strategic location Comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Listed below is BAD, The sliding Door in the room was not in tact very hard to slide. The toilet pipe at the WC was low water and cannot be adjusted. The TV cannot see movie channels and while watching the existing channel the 'NO SIGNAL' sign will distruct the channels

    The breakfast was good. Front desk service was GOOD.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel seriously need to upgrade the rooms...... Rather old senario.....

    I did not eat in the coffee house, had function at the Grand Ballroom on Saturday nite. food ok. fair

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs refurbishing. Carpet looks old, the building needs a new coat of paint, too.

    Very polite and friendly staffs, helpful, too. Room is very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My friend staying in room 0621, the aircon was unadjustable, they feel very cold whole night and they even off the aircon but still feel very cold. There are spiderweb found on the ceiling corner.

    Our room was clean and there are sufficient pillows provided.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cup in the room is not clean as you can see hair inside it. Stain also found in the bathtub. As our room is facing the main road noise can be heard even we were at 13th floor.

    Vegetarian corner of 3 to 4 dishes provided during breakfast. But please check with chef before consume as the curry provided might have onion.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    on my last trip, we booked the suite and it was spotless be it the bed and the 1.5 bathrooms. However, i noticed the unpleasant smell of the towels and the day bed/nook/seat by the window and also the sofa was somehow old, smelly and worn out. the hallway to our room was horrendous with the ceilings cracked open and leakage problem. Please maintain your good name especially when hotels are budding speedily around the area.

    i love everything about this hotel , thus the very reason why we always stay here since i was a little kid

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I've got to stay ni corner room even the hotel I surely get so many empty room available. Corner room, so the toilet is really narrow. Uncomfortable. My request to stay in room near swimming pool have been ignored.

    Staffs are really nice. Friendly. Excellent service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wouldn't blame the hotel for the burst water tank, which was an unfortunate mishap, but steps should be taken to improve its plumbing infrastructure, considering the age of the property.

    Equatorial is one of the longer established hotels in the city centre. Its big plus point is its central location and walking distance to the main historical attractions and jonkers street. No doubt, the hotel has been refurbished and the rooms are updated and comfortable. However, during our stay, the hotel had problems with the plumbing. There was no hot water for 1 day and water pressure was a bit erratic. The hotel did explain to me that it had an unexpected plumbing mishap. Equatorial should take steps to improve its infrastructure/ plumbing, as such mishaps could severely affect the stay experience. Apart from this, the hotel is very nice, and value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. It’s walking distance to Jonker’s street, Mahkota Shopping Centre. There’s plenty of food nearby with 24hr McDonald’s & across the street there’s 24 hr roti prata too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a little let down. It's a 5 star hotel yet the breakfast was only 3 star (or mayb lower)quality.

    They upgraded my room from from deluxe to premier therefore my room is a little bigger than usual. The hotel is near to everything (mall, river, historical site)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel seems to be run down a lot. This is unacceptable for a 4 star property. It was once quite grand. Toilet on the lobby level near the Rest House Restaurant smells and seems to need a deep clean and an air freshener. The walkway to our room was an unsightly mess.........large stains on the wall, rubbish on the floor i.e discarded tissue and a single bedroom slipper thrown away. The bathtub was stained in three areas! Housekeeping on holiday? Our a la carte breakfast at the Rest House Restaurant on a Sunday morning was a disaster. My wife received her dish after 30 minutes and mine came after two reminders 50 minutes after the order was placed. Chaos reigned!

    Location. Near to most areas of interest.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was spacious enough with a king size bed, breakfast was really good with so much variety, customer service is good where everyone is always helpful with a smile. Location is rather strategic next to the malls. And the weekend seafood buffet was totally value for money at RM68. Will definitely recommend

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Equator Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looked like a rundown hotel. Stayed in Equator Club room at Level 13. The corridor wall is flakey (peeled off). Staffs in the restaurant were not that friendly (moody too).

    The ambience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Major piping issues. Could not shower for the 1st night as there was only hot water, no cold water! They need to resolve their piping or boiler issues.

    Great Location. Central to shops and close enough to Jonker Street

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tennis court should be free of charge not payable rates as clients. Bathroom - Toilet bowl area should have been bigger and not a narrow area for us to squeeze through.

    Room was well designed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of the bed sheets and pillow sheets is not good. It have the smell of a vommit I can assume that the laundry did not dry the sheets well before send it to the hotel.

    The location was perfect and the hotel staffs was so king and helpful in attending my reuqest.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Equator Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Airport shuttle. Check in. Floor filthy in lift area on our floor throughout our stay even though we were assured three times that it would be cleaned. Aircon very noisy all night. NO HOT WATER in shower at any time.

    Staff. Lunch in restaurant. 21st floor in the evening.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Equator Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - No lift at the car park - Old paint starting to crack in some parts of hotel - Balcony in the room a little dated. Could benefit from some touch ups

    - Friendly & helpful staff - Superb desserts - Nice pool - Great room service - Comfy bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is a bit tight coming in from the street. Replenishing towel at the pool could be improved.

    Location, tv channels ( categorised movies selection ) , panoramic view of the city room 1020 ( like WooAAAHHH ), value for money!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hospitality..

    Staffs must be friendly, poolside must always have competent person to safe guard visitors/tenants in case or emergency. Standby first aid kits and CPR equipments at an easy access..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance, reception and lift areas were very nice but the structure, especially the exterior walls were tired and need of attention (painting). There was some evidence of damp in our room - a musty smell, slight humidity even with the air condoning on and several small areas where wallpaper was peeling.

    The staff were exceptionally attentive, thoughtful & helpful in every way. The buffet breakfast choice was very good. The swimming pool was very very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom tub , sink, wooden screen door at the window are primitive. l have stayed before 10 years back. l don’t see any new changes. Very old and need replacement.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was crowded and most of food finished by 9am. Avoid this place at weekends and school holidays.

    A run down down hotel which is amazingly still popular with visitors. TV did not work, wi fi password was given but no connection made and there was no hot water. Shower water pressure was weak at best.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) water in shower is not hot enough 2) the use of tv was a little confusing and difficult to navigate.

    1) Rooms are clean and well-kept. Very comfortable 2) Aircon has thermostate so we could adjust temperatures (and it works!) 3) Seri Nyonya (restaurant at the hotel) has fairly good nyonya food (a little pricey but tastes good and saved us a trip out at night when we'd already had a full day out during the day) 4) Close to A'Famosa; about 5-10 minutes walk. Approx 10-15 minutes walk to Jonker Street. 5) Also close to shopping malls and shops to stock up on any supplies or if you prefer a less sweaty stroll.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Equator Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have liked more efficient service and better level of integrity from the hotel about the room size!

    Staff were very polite and pleasant, but not terribly efficient. Bathroom lights were not working when we checked in. And TV stopped working each night and technician was sent up after several reminders to front desk. It's reasonable to expect better response time from a "4 star" hotel. The room I booked was supposedly more than 50 meters [the main reason for my booking]. The room we got was considerably smaller. Hotel facilities and location were very good though.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maintenance should be improved, bathroom especially.

    Great hotel close to the city center. Everything feels like it is build as a luxury hotel. Big room and good internet speed. Great value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Despite the hotel having that rustic old feel to it, the facilities and the cleanliness are excellent. The room are comfy and clean. The location of this hotel is really good as well as it is located very near Dataran Pahlawan and malls. The nearest tourist attractions are just a street away from the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff at reception but no welcome upon arrival. Room had some issues. Wallpaper peeling off. Room window was unlock next the closet being on the 20th floor. Dangerous to infants n children. Bathroom ceiling has a towel stored up. For what reason, not known.

    The location right in the heart of town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Your service lift can be quite slow. I noticed you have 4 lifts available but it didn't synchronized upon demand from various floors. Small issue but it makes a different during peak period.

    Your bed was really comfy - we had great time watching your in-house movies on bed !! When we have problem with your toilet, it was fixed almost immediately. Your hair dryer was not serviceable, by the time I came back from breakfast, not only the room was cleaned, your staff already placed a new portable hair dryer on the bed ! that is what I called service go with extra miles !! Your staff is definitely Equatorial's asset. Well done.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Equator Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no ramp at the main lobby and it's a hassle for me to bring up my luggage and my kids stroller

    The balconies in the room was great with an awesome view. The main lobby was also quite comfortable with plenty of sofa

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No towels at the pool area and no staffs were there on the morning i stayed there. have to go down to the receptionist area to talk to the receptionist. there was a phone to call but the phone was unable to use

    The hotel location was very good. excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are quite run down, the sofa was dusty and the shower curtain was moldy. There's also.a smell on the blanket.

    The location is central and easy to locate. It's next to a shopping mall and have everything u needed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath tub is old and dirty. Swimming pools could be better maintained too.

    We had a pleasant stay with friendly and courteous staff. The rooms were comfy but the bed linen don't seem to be very clean. Pls improve on the cleanliness of the bed linen.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet door doesn’t work well. The hotel is old, along the corridor the Aircon is leaky and I’ve experienced the same in my previous stay but overall the hotel is old but well maintained.

    Location, staff service is excellent I book a suite and premier inter connecting room and have special check in at club lounge at 21st floor which tremendously cut short the queue time due to cny crowd. The room is big and spacious

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps the parking could be improved.

    The excellent location with awesome shopping trendy malls, the famous Jonker and Heeren Streets and magnificent Melaka Riverside within easy vicinity.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The free internet WiFi was a bit sluggish and the room could do with a bit of uplifts!

    The staff are friendly and room are ok , although a bit dated they are comfortable and close to city centre. A perfect place for tourist to wander around the historical sights and to try out the local delights.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested for a king size bed but was given double single bed. Also requested for a baby court but didn’t arrive until we requested the 3rd time. When we called the front desk to asked the reason, they just rub it off by saying that they are full house on the day.

    Good location, staff was relatively friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Equator Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    for once I have nothing to nag... I am pleasantly surprise with this stay..

    1) Hotel has impressed me VS the last visit, in term of the room cleanliness and how it is managed. The new GM and team is doing a great job! 2) The front desk staff, a Chinese lady was great and very very professional, she was also the one that handles the check out. 3) I had my birthday cake and a cup of fantastic Americano with hagen daz ice cream at the café. The staff there was very friendly. 4) I enjoyed the staff and will make this my selection in the next trip.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Equator Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel building need to have new paint to have a good look.

    Good location nice shopping place, many good restaurants nearby just walking distance. I will stay there again in my next visit.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was delivered late and cold to our room when we used the in room dining and one of the male staff was extremely rude when we were placing orders. The showerheads are bit old and the rubber nozzle clearly looks aged and chipping off. There are stains on the showerheads as well. The balcony appeared to be overlooked by housekeeping as well as there was a Maggie in a Cup left there which had fungus or things floating which clearly shows that the Maggie in a Cup had been there for ages.

    Just the location!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Equator Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing much to complain though.

    The staff at the hotel were extremely courteous and help full. The pre-cocktail provided at the lounge far exceed our expectations.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    supposed i've tried to get double bed instead 2 single bed. hope in future no issue on the room booking.

    the breakfast superb and too many choices.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hair dryer was not functioning. There was no hot water shower in the morning. We had a guest for breakfast after 10am - ala carte. Service was good, but the serving took a long time to deliver.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that i requested 2 adult and 2 children in the room booking and I had to pay for the extra bed. My understanding is that if the hotel accepts you request for the number of guests in the room, then the extra bed has to be part of the room charges. It should be stated in the booking before payment confirmation that any extra bed will be charged when we have children staying in the same room. Besides this, my stay was too short for any other review.

    Hotel was decent. Rooms will give you an 'old' feel. It was rainy season so the pool was deserted. No towels. F&B services at the pool area was non existence. Cant blame the hotel as they have to cut on staff expenses during these period. Also, my guess is that its not a vacation location so you may not get many families using the pool. This may be different if the season was different.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On our check in we found the toilet was leaking. A hose broken and I had to call the reception to fix. The phone in the room was not working so I had to use my friends room to make the call. In the night the aircon was not working and it only got fixed the next day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room where I stay need some renovation. Above all the Bathroom, some spots of humidity and old curtain in the shower. When the hotel is in is full capacity the breakfast experience is not very good. Take my meal outside, luckily not very hot... but smokers!!! Few TV channels... Swiming pool toilets need renovation. I hope the hotel resolve some issue: I stayed there 2 nights so I take 2 breakfast. At my check out 3rd receipt regarding to a buffet??? I never lunch or dinner there. Maybe someone join the 2 breakfast and come a 3rd receipt. Last, I book the room by Booking.com, at my arrival a value of 650RM - room plus some extra - was in stand by/authorization. On the Check out why not use that CC operation, which was bigger than my expense? Why a 2nd CC operation? Resulting on a 650RM retain for a few days/week?

    Localization is perfect. Close the historical center and shopping malls. Great breakfast - a lot of variety (despite the full house experience...). Very nice outside pool. I stayed already a few times on this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin beds were very small. Bathroom lights did not work properly. Room felt a bit cold and damp.

    TV movie channel selection was great. Good WiFi, without censoring. Bathroom had a tub. Nice balcony with a sea view. Short walk to both historic area and shopping malls.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No comence. Good

    Service is excellence. When we complain of the hot water tap in the bath room not working, they sent service staff within 10mins to attend to our complain, and the staff served us with politeness. When we ask for directions to places of eatery the front desk staff was happy to explain n show the direction thru his computer and patiently explained the direction. I want to comence on this particular person by the name of Samsuri at front desk. He was very helpful n patience.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Concierge were not very helpful when asking about local attractions or coach pick up points; not as close to the centre as many other hotels but the walk was straightforward and safe; room was very dated with obvious signs of ageing inc peeling wallpaper and an odd smell

    Excellent swimming pool (if a little cold first thing in the morning before the sun comes around the corner); balcony in our room on 21st floor overlooking the port was great, especially during a thunderstorm!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were dusty. Corridors were old and dusty. It's very shamby on the inside and run down. Bath tubs were all old. Aircon was very loud and banging at night. Not worth $100 per night.

    Good view of the sea and fireworks over new year's.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Equator Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is like Melaka. A little old, full of character and the people as friendly as hell!! Love it.

    I initially had a moan about this property but now regret this. Rahman, the manager, greeted us at the desk even though we arrived at 10:15am and book in time was 3pm. We were ushered up stairs to book in on level 21. Our wonderful book in staff member, Sam, realised we were both exhausted from an all night flight followed by a 2 hour taxi ride. She offered us breakfast and we were permitted to go to our room immediately after. Such a fantastic, helpful and wonderful hotel! The next three days we were astounded at the lengths the staff went to to ensure we had a fabulous time. Never have I had a hotel management and staff go to such effort to ensure we were happy. We will be going again and a big thank you very much to Rahman. Such a lovely man. The Equatorial is lucky to have a manager like this.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was staying at the 14th floor. The carpets on the floor were smelly and unpleasant.

    Overall like the rooms provided as there are extra pillows and beautiful views.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa facilities could be better maintained. Seemed abit run down and masseurs were burping and sneezing away during massage.

    The ideal location of the hotel, cleanliness of the room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Equator Club Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was mostly geared towards Malaysian people. Nothing wrong with that, just not my taste.

    Great location. Comfortable room. Nice pool. Nice coffeeshop in lobby for a quick bite.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    Hotel Clean,nice,location very good,near at town,staff very friendly,housekeeping very good and fast when ask to change my bed comfeter.parking also good.no need to drive car to town.just walk in

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    free breakfast was not included.

    the room - bed and bath room. My son like the hotel pool. Hotel is near to dataran pahlawan, jonker walk and other main historical place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -There were slight stains on the toilet and bathtub which could have been cleaned a little better. -The room that I had booked was supposed to come with a balcony but the actual room that I was given did not come with one. Besides that all were good.

    -The staff were excellent in delivering hospitality. -The hotel and rooms were clean and well maintained for an aged hotel. Its one of the classic beauties that still exist amongst the new contemporary hotels. -Location is centralised. -In-room dining menu LOOKED very scrumptous although I did not try them. -Bathroom and toilet were all functioning well unlike what were told on the previous reviews.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff are very friendly and accomodating. The doorman, front desk, housekeeper, carpark attendant, are always smiling and makes you feel welcome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower is abit short with dusty ceiling. Swimming pool is quite dirty. No bathrobes in room.

    Friendly and helpful staff. A good, strong working airconditioning in the room. Comfortable bed and good city view

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Equatorial Melaka traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: