Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Evergreen Laurel Hotel Penang 5 stars

53 Persiaran Gurney, 10250 George Town, Malaysia

#72 of 132 hotels in George Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 725 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First of all, the valet were rude. There's no one at the main door to help out on luggage, which is in the middle of the day. How can such service be qualified as 5 star hotel. The parking system is bad. Hotel guest were suppose to be given free parking, but we were rudely asked on it. Although it may be a 5 star hotel, but I don't think the service of the staffs are of 5 star quality.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Certainly not a five star hotel. Many breakfast dishes were cold, advertised cheap drinks however once we got to the bar we were told that they were not available. Pool area is not what I would normally expect with separate entrances for men and women.

    Location was great and clean rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the hotel room Is spacious , it was worn out . We have to remind them of the house keeping and those furnitures are worn out

    The hotel location is centralized

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel a bit dated - needs a renovation. Their charge procedures is a bit bizarre - take a big room deposit hold the money for the stay and then credit it back to you, then charge for the room.

    Loved the free drink coupon you get at check in - gets you a glass of sprite (with ice).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were dated, and too expensive for the age and service offering. The morning breakfast was not very good. The room's air conditioning system did not sufficiently cool the room. Although we were upgraded to the sea view room, we were looking straight into reclaimed construction works taking place, hardly a pleasant sight.

    Central location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The concierge and the staff at check out counter on 14/4 time around 8 , a lady. She was not friendly towards me. When I asked her do I need to sign the credit card slip, shejust passed me the slip and said “ you sign”

    The cleanliness and some of the staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property accidentally left behind in drawer one item headphone set wasn’t returned by staff ?? Stolen. Staff returned some of the items to lost property to house keeping. Manager should have the courtesy to phone us immediately as we already left Penang. Please address honesty of house keeping staffs. Thanks. Headphone sets worth $M800

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was old and smelled musty especially the bath. The staff are not helpful and accommodating. They are not knowledgeable about the area as most of them are not locals. The hotel is not located well, it was very far from Georgetown (old town) and tourist spots. We had to take uber everytime. A nice shopping mall is nearby, about 1KM but far to walk in hot weather. There were restaurants right outside but they are tourist traps (very pricey food and not so good).

    The sauna and jacuzzi was a nice bonus. The room is spacious. Deluxe room has nice seaview (well, not really sea as they said but it was looking out over a body of water)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our car is too high to enter the hotel parking and requested to park at the valet parking. We were asked to pay every entry and exit. V negotiated with the manager and were allowed to park. But when v exit and return back to hotel the valet attendant refused to allow us to park at the valet parking unless we pay again. Every entry to the hotel v have to explain over and over again. There were no communication amongst valet attendants. My credit card was blocked twice. 1 on 15th March 2018 for RM340.40 and at the check in on 18th March 2018 for RM450.00. The hotel can just collect a deposit of RM100.00 upon check in instead of swipe my card for another RM450.00. I m not sure when I will get back my refund.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is a great location especially for those who enjoy walking by the sea. The sea-view rooms are worth the extra cost, and the ones on the higher floors are stunning. The staff are very friendly and helpful. And the spa facilities are some of the finest.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed is firm and comfortable. Bedsheet, blanket and pillows are clean and comfy. Toilet is clean. All facilities are in good working order. And the fruit basket is nice. Keep it up!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in is long winded, if like me a debit card holder, they prefer credit cards.junior staff are still learning so give them a chance .they a bit like goldfish doing not a lot looking at the old hands at reception.🤔 Maintainance turned off water at 9 -30 a.m. As i was shaving and showering with out warning, very inconvenient as i had to halt shave phone to get waterput back on to continue with shower..

    The daily news papers, the full compliment of ameneties like shoe cleaning kit, slippers , razor, big safe, scales ,hot water to sinks view of sea, free fruit, and drinks.very clean bedding towels and common areas mirrors polished every where ,windows clean , it is dated but still has great pool, spa, and on gurney drive Offers great value all considered. Updated toilets with power wash japanese style.😌

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fittings in the room and lobby. Staff at front desk(10/2, 12.15Am) did not explain facilities and breakfast matters.

    Location was near to my event place. Price was reasonable. Comfortable pillow and bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Only 2 pillows provided for kig size bed & very soft. Really not comfortable for my head. 2) i make online reservation via booking.com after 5 o'clock & once i check in around 7-8pm,they ask me forward the confirmation email to them for manual check in. The auto process can only be if i do reservation before 5pm. 3) the furniture/decoration is like an old goverment style. Suitable for goverment guys having meeting/kursus kerajaan, not for me or anyone expected for new style/modern look.

    Only the view.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wondering what will happen when Marriott comes up next door. Wish the neighbouring coffee shops had better food stalls.

    LinkBike in front to get to Gurney Plaza, Pulau Tikus

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For the breakfast, Please improved it as the menu is almost similar since the first day I was there till The day I checked out... 4D3N of staying... If there is no improvement in the breakfast, next visit, I will just buy the room only as food can easily get around Gurney with the lower price if you compare to hotel breakfast.

    Whenever I am going to Penang, I will be staying in Evergreen Hotel.... The room is quite big and The cleanliness is very good... The bedsheet is very clean too so no need to worry about the bugs but The pillows is too soft for me and my partner... The toilet is quite clean and toiletries is complete to be used... The Gurney Plaza is quite a distant from the hotel but you can just take it as light walking exercise... For the food, you can get it easily with the affordable price...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Front desk staff during night shift was not helpful nor friendly at all. We wanted to pay in advance for our room but was told not able to because of the system not captured the room rate yet. We also requested an for check out extension since we are Booking.Com genius level, again was told her shift was about to end and we had to check back at 10:00am. She didn't realised she is talking to a guest with hotel system and operation experience.

    Clean and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No connecting rooms in this hotel (not suitable for family). Beds and pillows are hard, not comfortable. Parking narrow, Reverse and hit the top wall as there is no bottom wall for car sensor to detect distance. 2 sachet nescafe only. Have to pay if need more.

    Near to eating places.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall, did not have a comfortable stay. Especially the food was not that great.

    The hotel is ideally located. Close to major shopping attractions/eat-out joints of Penang.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Must have hand shower for toilet use not a bidet. Quit difficult for Muslim to take wudhu'. Its impossible for elder to enter bathtub to take a shower as they dont have a standing shower.

    Nice view, spacious lobby, cozy room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hard to find transportation to get to the heritage site. And the tax for foreigners is very expensive.

    Nice location, staff are very helpful especially doorman and housekeeper. They are so friendly. The room is very clean and comfortable. Location is great and close to shopping mall and night food market but far from the heritage center.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very clean. The pillows are very cozy. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was very neat and tidy. The fruits were extra surprise with the mini bar soft drinks.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the gym equipment was outside which was difficult for me because I had not acclimatised to weather. The buffet seemed more suitable for Asian or Indian palette than European

    This place was good value and the staff were all very friendly, I stayed there because it had a lot of gym equipment

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Plug points for charging phones were not easy to find. Had to charge above minibar.

    After all these years, the hotel has managed to keep up the property well. Have stayed there multiple times but was worried whether age would have caught up with it. The rooms although a little old style were really clean and comfortable and HUGE. The front desk was not super friendly but efficient enough. For the location and the facilities, it didn't cost an arm and a leg like some hotels in Penang. Has a children's play room, so cannot understand boooking.com's statement about children not being accomodated. Pool and fitness center all good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WHEN APPROACH FRONT OFFICE FOR DIRECTIONS THEY SEEMS TO NOT KNOW ABOUT PENANG. WHEN I TOLD STAFF ON DUTY THAT I WOULD LIKE TO EXTEND MY STAY ,I WAS TOLD TO BOOK ONLINE AGAIN TO ENJOY THE SAME RATE AND IT MADE ME CHANGE MY MIND NOT TO EXTEND MY STAY.YOU SHOULD LOOK INTO THIS CAUSE SOMETIMES WE DO NOT HAVE TIME TO GO OVER THE PROCEDURE OF BOOKING AGAIN.NICE AND APPRECIABLE

    GOOD PLACE AND NICE HOSPITALITY AND REFER MY FRIENDS AT THIS PLACE IN NEAR FUTURE AND WOULD LOVE TO COME BACK IN NEAR FUTURE.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The band in the lobby lounge, used to be quite good. The current one is pretty bad which was why the place was empty.

    Hotel is okay. Older, but renovated since my last stay. Close to some good street food places.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are not friendly. We had a long day due flights delay and check in late, after we check in we were not shown to our room. For a 4 star hotels feels like a motel service.

    Its an heritage hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some lamps are not functioning but as it just a 1night stay i dont really mind.

    Digital Weight scale inside the bathroom! I never saw it in other hotels that i ever stayed. It's glad to have it as i'm just thought of checking my weight..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is at the far end. Coffee and tea provided is not enough. TV channel is limited in choice.

    The room is spacious and comfortable. Toiletries provided is sufficient. Complimentary fruits nice n delicious. View from the room is wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My priority in all hotel rooms is cleanliness. Therefore I find there is no issues in this hotel. I will definitely return to stay. I am looking into staying here on my next business trip. I will discuss with my Company about this when I goes back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting a taxi is quite a problem.

    Staff is friendly and helpful, especially the housekeeping staff. Good location within walking distance, shopping malls, food stalls at Gurney Drive. Opposite the sea, quiet and relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    August 14 and 15, 2017, the hotel was doing maintenance of Hot Water for the bathroom in the rooms. The timing of hot water shut off was inappropriate. I had to let one of the Receptionist and later one of the Asst. Manager know that I was not happy about it. They offer for a room change and I said no cos I had one more nite left to stay at the hotel, then they offer a free buffet dinner for 2 but I was not interested. I asked them to give me a discount for my room. Eventually they did give a discount for one nite.

    It was easy to get around the area of the hotel. Lovely morning runs or walk by the beach front.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slightly far from the 2 big shopping centre, it is a good stroll though next to the sea. Facilities of the hotel are slightly worn, but the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    The staff were really nice and helpful. The hotel is close to sightseeing places, but a bit far from the big shopping centres and hawker stalls, like 20-30 minutes walk, but it is great for people who is not really there for shopping. Close to local food stalls, easy access to cheap and good local food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Check out slow but polite ..... more eating possibilities although it is surrounded with street stalls and a better Happy Hour with some local snacks... otherwise great

    The Evergreen is in an ideal position in Penang.... has old world charm like the Rembrant in Bangkok and is very comfortable..... Might not suit the the younger set although it seems very popular for weddings....great views of the city and an excellent fitness centre with swimming pool steam / hot and cold plunges to revive you after a hectic day shopping on Gurney Drive. this is our second stay in the past 3 months Alan & Sally Barnes

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No much international food.

    The Breakfast was good. The rooms are perfect. The Spa was very nice, really enjoyed it. The swimming pool was nice and setting beside it at the sunset was very relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most staff at the reception counter very good and friendly. Unfortunately I was attended to by one (Lukman) who made a serious mistake,because he is inefficient and called me a liar. Apologised but was insincere. Bad attitude

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Powdered creamer. Would have preferred fresh milk for tea/coffee facilities in room. Aircon was faulty.

    Staff were really friendly and helpful.Breakfast was of a good quality and variety. Room was large and cleaned to a high standard.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the nasi lemak and the sambal tofu is lousy and doesnt match . the nasi goreng is very dry. The Aircond is not that cool. the rest of breakfast is good

    The staff are all great and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff. No urgency to serve the guest. Took 10 min to register and give the key before we can check in. "Do not care attitude" and lack of respect to others!!

    The room is specious

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of warmth among frontline staff. They appeared jaded. Maybe tired and overworked due to overwhelming number of check-ins earlier in the day? Perhaps it was a busier than usual day. But they were pleasant over the phone. But something seriously needs to be done here. Something may be holding them back to perform in a friendlier disposition.

    Good location and size of property. Very courteous doormen. Very good housekeeping staff. Good upkeep of green surroundings by gardeners or maintenance staff. Friendly car park operator

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was not one thing i did not like about this hotel...in fact the hotel i stayed in after this although it had a similar star rating was a disappointment

    I enjoyed everything about this hotel ..the staff...the room ,... the facilities....

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hesitation of staff upon requesting to help bring up items left at lobby. Worst things are extra charges of food for my little 5 year old.

    Very strong wifi signal and clean facilities

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We checked in at about 3pm. The room was already made. However, we received an unpleasant surprise at about 5pm. A foreign worker knocked at our door and before we can answer it, he was already inside our room. He looked shocked to see us inside. He acted suspiciously. He insisted that the bed was not made and he proceeded to redo the bed and left. I called housekeeping to ask if this is their normal practise. They said no. We were lucky to be in the room. We suspect that the worker has intention to steal when guests are not in the room. Be cautious if you are staying in this hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free breakfast should be included, the lost view of the seafront,the slow drainage of the showered water(reported but not done).

    The 3 apples,1 free drink,the air-con,the smiling staff,the 4 free mineral water & the central location of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff at the reception was inpatient despite not having many people at the check-in counter (3 people including myself, my colleague and another person who just arrived). She had difficulties with identifying the room and the type of bed that I have booked via booking.com which was a double bed. She could not understand that I have booked a room with a double bed and insisted on giving me a twin bedroom, where is the logic in that? Which made me wonder, is it the fact that the type of bed that I have selected was not reflected in the hotel system? And if so, she should clarify and solve the problem instead of being sarcastic. After straightening out that portion, I requested, if possible to have a room that is not at the end of the floor or at the corner and the same check-in personnel. She retorted sarcastically saying "Oh now you do not want a corner room" as though I am being a demanding customer. I mean, despite all the ruckus on getting the right room, I was still asking politely if it was possible to not get a corner room but instead she made me seem like a demanding customer. The stay was overall pleasant, the check-in however was not. I prayed not to get her again when I checked-out, fortunately, it was a very pleasant young man which made the process fast and easy. Unfortunately, I did not remember her name and I am not one to hold grudges. Just hope the staff will be better trained.

    Convenience of the hotel location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Limited Time Promotion - Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room has the connecting door and in the evening suddenly someone open from the next room. I will never stay with connecting door anymore! It is too dangerous!

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Call for later check out but the front desk staff refuse says No and IS fully book.At that time i check in at 6.00pm.I call the front desk but No one pick up the phone.He tells me Only can check out at 12++ noon at that time i was so angry..due to my appointment at 11.00 so i need to cancelled my appointment.pls be consider i check in late...can't your hotel gives us extra 2 hours later check out? Pls tell the staff Don talk to a Customer using the Hard words says if check out late You need to pay...i'm not the Customer WHO staying Only in This hotel! I go round every hotel No one talk in This way to me says cannot check out late..Thanks.

    Comfort

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking price and final payment different. Check out reception staff no eye contact. Very rushing service even though I was the only guest check out at that time. Saw door man/valet do not bother to open car door for other guest arriving back from shopping in a taxi even though they have nothing to do but just stand and looking at the guest coming out of the taxi. Also door man did not bother to open the main door when guest coming in. Parking signage misleading "Staff Parking" and too narrow. Don't know what do you mean by "genius perks" Maybe lack of information/awareness.

    bell boy smile and greet. Staff cleaning rooms when guest check out at corridor also smile and greet. Welcome drink staff/captain greet, smile and eye contact.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Oh, we were not served any welcome drinks till we saw some guests having theirs. We have to ask to get our welcome drinks. It would be good if it was done automatically. Anyway your welcome drinks were very good it has varieties. Thank You!!

    The bed was comfy, well done!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bed was super hard.the receptionist was not friendly and to some extend annoying.the welcoming drink was only for 1person despite booking a deluxe room for 2.booking for sea view but given room with city view.very upsetting

    the bar lounge and the pool

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was good and nice view but the staff charge me with extra rm50 for the room rate.they didn't inform me that they charged me with different price.too bad

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Housekeeping standards need to be improved. While they generally did a good job, there was the occasional missing out of towels and shampoos. We had to call twice before someone showed up to collect the laundry.

    The rooms facing the sea had a scenic view but sadly the sea-shore has moved some distance away. Nevertheless, there was good food at Pulau Tikus nearby and shopping available within walking distance at Paragon and Gurney Plaza. There was an entertaining Filipino band playing nightly at the Lobby Lounge. The Health Club manager, Mohd. Noor Yusoff, was very helpful in making arrangements for our group to play tennis there while we were there.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked early asking for a double bed. Got two single beds. Very disappointed. We were also told that the money deducted from my credit card will be refunded and I had to pay them in Malaysian ringgit?? First time this has ever happened on booking.com

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please improve the fruit selection and quality at breakfast.

    Very clean. Housekeeping is excellent. The inclusion of mini-bar in the tariff is much appreciated. Door staff and Concierge very polite and friendly. The sauna is great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area could do with an update. Although the pool was sparkling the surrounds were dull.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Location is great and it's excellent value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom look tired, the tele were a bit small, expected more value for the amount of money which was charged. The hotel sign at the front entrance were a bit too small, we missed it and had to turn around to look for it. Not much landscaping around the pool area. Mismatch between bedroom and the bathroom, bedroom look fresh and clean, bathroom look tired. If all this could be fixed, the hotel would be fantastic.

    The rooms were large and spacious but the garden view was blocked by the huge concrete fence. Staff and food at the restaurant were fantastic. Bedroom was fresh and the bed was comfortable. Love the greens near the lobby!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We shifted rooms as the air cond was not cold at all. Unfortunately, none of the rooms was cold. I don't usually complaint , but I'm talking about my wife and me literally taking a shower middle of the night and fanning our self with newspaper.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lounge was fairly expensive Staff tend to cater to caucasian foreigners Little or no attention paid to other foreigners and patrons

    It is quiet for a good rest and sleep. Ample free parking Wifi and Broadband availability in rooms

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very well maintained and clean. Excellent location (2 malls and Gurney food market nearby) and super friendly and helpful staff. Outstanding transport option as well, in partner AV Limo, which my team used quite often to get around.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    meagre contents of bathroom amenities try - terrible toilet flush - no grips to get out of bath - poor tv choice of tv news channels

    breakfast-close to shopping mall-room even though it is a bit dated-nice fluffy towels and plenty of towels

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is not much choices.

    Location is very good, close to sea. Easy to find food and go to tourist places. Room is very comfortable and facility in the room is really good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    F&B staff to put on more smiles. The chef was more smiley & friendly.

    Breakfast was a spread with something for everyone. Croissant was so fresh! Room amazingly large.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet a little smell. Breakfast lousy. Convenient access by car. Nearby Coffeeshops.

    The spaciousness of the lobby. The seaview and the good Housekeeping.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No express check out , a big security deposit is required and needs a update carpets have stains ,

    Good, location with impresive range of facilities , sauna, spas, tennis courts , pool,sun loungers and a nice lobby area. Rooms are old fashioned /dated but clean and offer a bargain for the area, mini bar is free no beers but coke , coconut water and soya milk as well as bottled water, also fruit, on arrival, also free daily paper and mints, so all nice touches and a sea view . Wifi was o.k for our needs, good t.v. Channel choices

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service very bad.next time I will not come to this hotel.2pm check in.but I need to wait until 6pm.i complaint si much then they give me my room. Is bad experience first time I meet.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    couldn't really think of any. maybe can allow free parking in the parking lots in front of the hotel.

    location and it's generous space in the room and reception.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff working do not give proper information. Upon check in, we had to pay a security deposit of RM800 (what happens if guests don't carry so much cash??) when our payment for two rooms were only RM700+ (payment for rooms were done through credit card). Asked the staff as to why such a big amt of security deposit is taken as even most 5 or 6 star hotels collect a max of RM200 for security dep. We were informed its their procedure in case the guests wish to extend an extra day and the RM800 security dep will be returned upon checkout. Although unhappy, we gave the RM800 (which thank God we had at that time!!) and confirmed 3times with him on getting the RM800 back upon checkout. The next day, another staff was processing our checkout and gave us a receipt on the amount to be returned which to our horror from RM800 became RM76. We questioned him and was informed that it's for the payment of the room. Told him we had paid by credit card and even showed the message sent by the bank and informed when we asked repeatedly we were told the rm800 was as a security dep. The staff informed security dep is only RM50 and the rm800 was for the payment of the room and that they had not charged our credit card for the amount. He still insisted till we asked for the manager. The manager came and explained the hotel holds the room rate price on the credit card but doesn't charge it directly as some people prefer paying cash and it's no problem if we wish to confirm to pay by credit card. She directed the staff to return our RM800 and to process whatever needed and apologised for their incompetency. The staff however DID NOT bother apologising and still tried to prove himself right by saying only now i will receive a message from the bank on the amount deducted.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All staff just looking to you without greeting. When there is a problem or you request something, they pass to each other and finally it is not clear who and how they want to answer guest.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cannot operate the main switch on and off in the room and also cannot turn off the lights in the room. had to sleep with lights on. Drainage in sink stuck.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar was a bit soulless which was a shame as they tried hard by putting on entertainment but we were the only people watching!

    Very friendly staff and great location at the heart of Gurney Drive!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff too a little bit to long to respond my email; but maybe due to chrsmas holiday.

    The staff are very considerable and helpful ask I ask for honeymoon decoration but they are unable to provide it. Surprisingly, they gave a complementary cake written "Happy Anvsry" to my sister. Besides, the location is good and the room is awesome.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service charge for room should already included in room rate. Not to add as additional charge I'm billing.

    Room ccomfortable, staff kindness n helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrive at the entrance, unloading our luggages, and no staff attending to us. No bell boy to assist us to take the luggages to the lobby. Both of us had to pull all our luggages to the lobby ourselves. Breakfast- the foods are below standard. The French toast- the bread was hard. its like the leftover food.

    The view at high floor was nice

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner not cold during midnight. Door access not regularly maintained. No bidet in the toilet which is a must.

    Croissants very nice. The janitor/housekeeper very helpful (3rd floor) and also the gentleman who came to repair the room door very courteous. Welcoming fruit tray.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service when I arrived n the service frm Booking. Com. Sulks!

    Didn't like anything n this would b the last time I shall b using Booking.com for all my future travels. Sulks!

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: