Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Federal Villa Beach Resort 3 stars

Lot 1698, Pantai Tengah, 07000 Pantai Cenang, Malaysia

#62 of 79 hotels in Pantai Cenang

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 296 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Location and swimming pool is amazing
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem I face is the internet the internet always disconnecting and sometime it is not connecting so I have not good reviews for the internet

    Location and swimming pool is amazing Best places to live for holiday Can rent a car from hotel price for car Is starting 118 Rm Daly Good service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    2.5
    Really bad, if holiday villa group dont want to operate the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really bad, if holiday villa group dont want to operate the federal resort, therefore should sell it. They not provide me wifi, location is just in the corner, the toalet really smell, bed cover dirty, insect in the room. They explain me why I book federal villa not holiday villa, then I have to upgrade my booking really expensive to change to holiday villa. I will never use Holiday group in anywhere again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.1
    The location is good, there is many restaurants nearby, just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is old, lack of maintenance, the room light is too dim.

    The location is good, there is many restaurants nearby, just 5mins distance to the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    4.6
    Once we had moved next door the holiday was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The buildings and rooms very tired indeed and in desperate need of a refresh / renovation. We asked staff to move to the other part of the hotel (Holiday Villa) immediately. The pool bar service was terrible (main pool) but the service staff in general were great and very friendly. The reception staff were less good as they promised a room and rate with breakfast to our friends (who had two small children with them) and then tried to go back on the deal - causing them needless inconvenience and stress.

    The best thing about this place was actually the hotel that adjoins it and is run by the same staff. You get to use the pool and facilities etc. but it is a bit of a trek to get across to it. The beach bar area is very nice to sit - especially at sunset where there is a great view and it's also happy hour.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    Lovely place to relax, no need to leave the pool all day!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar advertised as open till 1am but we didn't see the bar near reception open at all and no bar after 11pm, though room service was available.

    Staff were helpful. Situated on the beach and has a very large pool with a swim up bar. There is an infinity pool which is part of the complex,it costs £5 a day but it can be useful e.g. on a holiday weekend the main pool was busier. Food and drinks available at both pools. Accommodation had lots of space and was cleaned daily.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    a great place to unwind, read a book and go for lots of swims.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    take some insect repellent, a few mosquitos about.

    value for money, 4th visit to this hotel, had a sea view room, magic view. The Federal is the older section of the Holiday Villa but you use all the same facilities, the 2 pools are amazing, breakfast is top rate. the hotel is right on beach, across the road there is restaurants and convenience store, about 15 minute walk into main tourist strip.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing, great location on the beach, staff are very friendly and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We made a booking at the beach bar for a BBQ Buffet, we were left sitting there waiting for the buffet to start and had not been notified that they had changed the venue.

    The first room we were given was very old and tired. I had difficulty with the six flights of stairs as there is no lift, the following day the reservation staff offered us a disabled room on the ground floor, it was much nicer and much easier to access. We were very grateful, it was much better value as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location and great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could say the apartment could’ve been more modern or luxurious but that would’ve made it more expensive and I was happy that all in all it presented good value for money and my girls, who I went out to meet and who had been travelling and staying in hostels and budget accommodation, loved it!

    The Federal Villa Beach Resort was extremely good value for money as it shared the facilities of the Holiday Villa complex with a large pool with swim up bar and a lovely beach area both with plenty of sunloungers. There was also a newer infinity pool area overlooking the sea which charged 25 RM entry but included a free drink, lovely bar/restaurant, the most comfortable loungers ever and no children! The two bedroom apartment we had booked was a little dark and tired with no decent view but it was comfortable and well equipped with air con, a decent shower and free coffee, tea and bottled water. The gym was also well equipped and all the staff were friendly and the service was excellent. The general area was fairly quiet and not especially lively but there were a number of good restaurants, bars and cafes within easy walking distance of the complex. Would highly recommend Federal Villa Beach Resort if on a tight budget or more interested in sacrificing the accommodation for having good facilities and a great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.7
    The beach and pool were great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I should have a kettle in my room, but there are not Mosquito is terrible, I cant open my sliding door There are sands in my toilet floor when I check in the room

    The beach and pool were great. Such a relaxing place

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    Friendly staff, good location in front of the beach with huge swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room has that strange smell but the hotel staff came and sprayed the room to reduce the odor and they also offered us to switch room. Cleanliness can be improved especially in the balcony. This federal villa is managed by the Holiday villa hence facilities are shared including the main reception for check in and out so for those who stayed in Federal villa will have to walk further in to get to the rooms as the main gate for federal villa was closed. You have to use the holiday villa entrace. The infinity pool is at additional cost. I would suggest the pool to be free of charge with a limited number of guest at a time (to avoid too many crowds in a pool at a time) and probably not to include kids in the pool to retain the exclusiveness of the pool.

    The staff attended to all our needs and were friendly. The pool is huge and variety which includes infinity pool (with additional charge of RM25). Hotel is in front of the beach. A lot of eatery and spa places outside the hotel. 5-10 minutes drive to Cenang beach area (depending on the traffic). Hotel is located at Tengah beach so it is not as crowded as Cenang area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    Amazing location and friendly staffs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to ask for mineral water every time. If you request more than 2 bottles, you will be charged. That usually did not happen to me before.

    The staffs were helpful for friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.3
    Beach location was ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a bit dated but things like using a bed sheet as a bed spread could be improved. Place just needs some paint and care.

    Beach location was ideal. Rooms large and beds comfortable. Staff friendly. Close enough to town by taxi. Out on the main street theres mini markets and a couple of restaurants

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    4.6
    All in all our stay in the hotel were not so comfy as the aircond need to be fix.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the aircond in room 339 was not cooling, the shower area in room 340 was clogged. The curry for roti jala during breakfast was salty..

    Only the staff were courteous..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.5
    Good commonareas but rooms out Of date.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could need some freshing up We were unlucky to get a villa with the terrace facing a parkinglot so not so nice when you have a car as a view.

    Very good pool area and location. Nice with closeness to the beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    ANOTHER GOOD STAY IN LANGKAWI
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Had to keep asking for toilet paper!

    Stayed at the main Holiday Villa accommodation twice before so decided to stay in the Federal Villa this time. All facilities of the major part of the Hotel are shared so it was better to stay here at a cheaper rate. Room was very nice, kept very clean, lovely hot water and a good location with a lovely beach and facilites.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    6.3
    Had a bad luck with the air condition......
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air condition in our room was not really working to the max. It was hot.....

    The staff is extremely helpful and accommodating. The beach is beautiful with relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.8
    Peaceful and relaxing, a wonderful family holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We knew what to expect given the price/location/hotel facilities included (aged appearance and in need of upgrading especially the bathrooms) however it didn't affect our holiday enjoyment. Mattresses are quite thin and hard, recommend replacement.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful and quiet beach. Ample clean pool with swim up bar. Very family friendly too. 2 bedroom apartment (Suite 319) was spacious with 3 aircond units, basic but large kitchen, very close proximity to Holiday Villa facilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    The perfect place to stay in Langkawi for a relaxing holiday by the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are comfortable and well appointed, the location of the hotel is simply perfect, with a beach at your doorstep and a massive pool with an integral bar - the perfect place to cool down and chill after sight seeing in the heat of the day. Having said this, what really stood out for us was the warm welcome we received on arrival, particularly from Siti, the friendly and gorgeous manager at reception, who left no stone unturned throughout our stay to help make our holiday a comfortable and memorable one. So, thank you Siti for you professionalism and helpfulness. You are a credit to your organisation and the reason why we will return to stay in this hotel again! Well done to you and your colleagues!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    ‏It is an honor and pride to stay and enjoy in this...
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ‏It is an honor and pride to stay and enjoy in this wonderful hotel , we would like to thanks the administrative staff and all the staff working for it, which we have received good reception and good treatment throughout our stay in your hotel, you are awesome and your country is beautiful. From our side, We will promote the hotel for of all our relatives and friends in our country Oman . Finally we would like to thank you for the gift and it’s really nice . Best regards , Oman 🇴🇲

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.5
    Great location, nice pool and surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room itself is actually horrible, like 30 years old ... it’s all wooden, A/C is ancient, the shower works as in the dark ages ... it’s like going living in the jungle rather than a resort

    Great location, nice pool and surroundings

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.3
    Infinity pool really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room looks too old- they need recovery. Water came from ceiling.

    Infinity pool really good. Pool club and restaurant also super. Breakfast very good, a lot of choices. Service in hotel very kind and helpful. Easy taxi service from the hotel, fast. Small present and thanksletter in room in our last day before leaving, it was really nice by the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful location, nice buffet breakfast, nice gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds would have been more comfortable if they were double beds rather than two single beds joined together

    Friendly staff and excellent facilities and location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    5.4
    Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The pictures on the site dosent corresponds to the reality. The hotel needs to be renovated.

    Nice location. Good pool for the kids even if the 2nd pool demands extra payment to use.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    3.3
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very run down, musty rooms. Requested for rooms on ground floor n when checked in told there was only 1 available. Given a smelly, terribly musty room in a corner. Toilet cistern leaking. 😣😣

    Location & good beach

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    5.8
    Fair deal with this price with its own beach and pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit old and security with lock could be better. No bottled water or hair dryer. Got kettle, fridge and security box.

    Close to cenang beach and shopping area. Has its own pool and beach.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    10
    Amazing location staff, value and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That we could not stay longer

    This hotel is great value. I have been fortunate to travel all around South East Asia and this hotel has been a highlight. Rooms are clean and practical, beach is absolutely stunning and food and beverages are high quality. Hats off to all the staff who are friendly and accommodating and clearly committed to providing a personal service. To address negative reviews about this hotel - if you want a 5* luxury stay go and pay 20 times more someone else - please realise the term 'value'. If you want a beautiful beach and pool and great staff come here. Some people who leave negative reviews need to look at their budget or expectations - this hotel is amazing for what you pay. Wifi was also excellent BTW

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.3
    location is good (shops and restaurants are in walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room rate is quite high, however, the breakfast is not included and should be paid separately There are no mosquito nets There aren't many tv channels on tv

    location is good (shops and restaurants are in walking distance). beautiful territory. beautiful beach. friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    6.7
    Fairly good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows had bad smell The bathroom is not clean the shower’s curtain is stinky The towels are smelly There were no water with the room service which is weird and they explain that by being a three stars hotel! There were no brushes and toothpaste

    The location and its beach The breakfast The hospitality of the staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.5
    Nice place, friendly staff clean private beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms needed some repairs. No biggy

    The place was great, friendly staff very good cleanliness. The bathrooms needed some repairs, yet it was ok for few days. The room was right on the beach and the resort is placed in a very safe aria. I would recomand to pay a little bit more to get the rooms near by the beach it’s worth it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    In this hotel have two level rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In this hotel have two level rooms. 4* and 3* rooms. We was in 3* rooms and was great. Every day they clean a room and servise to the room was exelent ( food order to the room). Beach is very nice, private, clean. Pools is very great. One pool, where is red chears and exelent natural water, there have to pay 5.- euros per day. Put its okei, its so good :) and beautiful. You can play tennis free and in beach volley. We love it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.9
    Overall I am very satisfied. The location and pools were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on the second floor and at the back so not a good view.

    Had a fantastic swimming pool and jacuzzi. The location was good as the resort led onto a beautiful beach. There were also many varied restaurants close by.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    6.7
    A good location , great pools and gardens , just recommend the Federal Villas need a good upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As we stayed in the Federal Villa part of the hotel we were a first quite shocked by the state of our apartment . These rooms are in desperate need of a makeover . What you could hardly call a bathroom as it only consisted of a room with tiles and a scary looking shower in the corner . The basin and mirror were in the hallway for some reason . The kitchen was never used and couldn't find any plates/utensils ect. so its a waste of space really . Only pluses were we had two bedrooms and it was quiet , and oddly we ended up enjoying our stay fuzzy tv and all .

    The pools were large , well maintained and enjoyable to use . The breakfast had a lot of variety and staff very friendly . Meals in the restaurant nice as well .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.5
    Recommended for big family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The iron in not provided and have to go to iron rooms it itself which are a bit far from my room.

    The Villa suit was comfortable and very recommended with 6 persons. The swimming pool was bigger and the kids love it. Will suggest with my friends and family to choose Federal Villa is you have big family.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    2.9
    Very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness is very poor, floor wet and Sandy. Door room lock jamned Expection below par compare to price charge. The facilities has been overlooked and badly managed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    6.7
    Great breakfast and location however staff not friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The nicer infinity pool has an extra charge you need to pay for (about $8 AUD). Staff were not very friendly. I left a pair of sandals at the pool and they were not helpful at all in helping me find them. Rooms were outdated and quite dirty.

    Stunning location. The beach out the front is much nicer than the busy Penang Centai. The main pool is clean and big. Breakfast was great with a large selection of cuisines to choose from.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    5.8
    very much liked Langkawi but you need transport. We had scooters at 30rm per day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The room was cramped. It would have helped if they had not put such a huge sofa in the room. Small but usable balcony. The bathroom was dreadful, it needed updating as it looked old and dirty even though it was cleaned as best as the staff could do. The fridge didn't work for 4 days despite constant reminders. The safe didn't work despite being looked at and the wifi was sporadic.

    The hotel was nicely presented at front of house. Good pools and nice beach front location. Quiet area with a few nice little restaurants within walking distance, especially the Cactus which was just opposite the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    2.5
    Unsuccessful reservations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad smell in the rooms,carpet is not clean,toilet isn't comfortable,many bugs 🐜 inside the rooms also so many flyers and many small lizard 🦎

    🇲🇾I did not like any thing in that place neither my family 🇲🇾👎🏿

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    5.0
    Soooo bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms very old and insects goes in below the doors , my family were beaten bady by mosquito inside the room, the toilet was horrible even public toilets were better,the shower room is beyond explanations sooo poor , the electricity connections were visible and no saftey at all , the restaurant staff were very rude and don't know how to talk to travellers,really the worst rooms and toilets I have ever used.

    The outside

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.5
    Could be so much better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which, although large enough, was disappointingly dated, tired and not to the same standards as you would expect? I can't understand why this part of the hotel can't be renovated as I'm sure many guests feel the same sense of disappointment after walking through the grand foyer, past the beautifully landscaped pool and open the door to the apartment and are greeted with a space so ill-fitting with the rest of the resort?

    The pool is great and very big with a nice pool bar. The resort is right on the beach - which is stunning, nice and quiet!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.9
    It was a big resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk wasn't friendly enough. The water sport desk inside hotels beach were bargaining and taking customers outside hotel for activities.

    It was a big resort. It has 2 pools but infinity pool was paid. Clean beachfront property.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    8.3
    Great location on the beach and lovely pools
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to walk such a long way to our room and lugging our bags up and down stars

    Excellent Location but the hotel itself is a bit tired looking. Lovely infinity pool which is only available to those who want to pay extra and enjoy a little extra pampering

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    3.8
    Federal Villa....Terrible place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were checked into an old carpeted room that was damp, dark, smelt stale. Safe wasn't working, phone wasn't working. Lots of mosquitoes were flying about in the room. We asked for another room and it was no better than the first. BADLY MAINTAINED! Since Federal Villa was part of Holiday Villa, luckily the Manager was understanding enough to transfer us to a room in Holiday Villa. The first one on the ground was stale and damp again and then we were shown another room on the second floor which we finally settled in although the safe was faulty. Breakfast fare leaves much to be desired.

    the manager and staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    8.8
    Awesome place for price given
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking area easily flood. Some stuff are broken in the rooms... but not essential. Like balcony door handle... switch buttons...

    Awesome surrounding and cleanliness. Especially the beach and beach bar.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    8.3
    Run down hotel but amazing pool and beach location!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is a little bit run down but was still clean, what was expected for the star/review rating, the pool/beach made up for this though. About £100 was taken from our room though so make sure you lock valuables away

    This hotel is part of Holiday Villas which has great facilities! Huge private beach, a big pool, an amazing infinity pool, tennis courts, spa, gym etc. The best place to watch the sunset with a happy hour beer :).

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.1
    Adequate if you are travelling on a tight buget
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Distance from amenities, lack of WiFi, no hot water in hand basin and shower (instant hot water) at the very best tepid. Bar areas allow smoking (even indoors) and need upgrading badly

    Nice location, rooms basic but functional

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    7.5
    Would love to stay here again...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Limited parking space. - The stay was okay, but I think they need to upgrade their rooms, facilities (like that ironing room's aircond? or maybe add more lightings in the area?) soon

    - Close to the beach. The view oh so nice! - Two swimming pools. - The bathroom was spacious!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    4.2
    Expensive and not up to standard.No value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are stinky,dark,full of mosquitoes,aircond not cold and the aircond units hung outside on the door makes the entrance hot.At night some guests who came back late can be heard shouting could be drunk,room not sound proof or at least there could be some security people to hush these drunkards.The staff are just ok because one housekeeping staff knock on the door so loudly many times despite us answering before we get to the door.Reception staff can be better .At the price i have to pay per night ,I did not expect this kind of service,this is certainly the worst hotel i have been to .

    Plenty of food for breakfast,I like that they always replenish the food as soon as possible,the fruits are fresh .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    7.5
    i like view from my room, food its good and facilities also...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i don't like bathroom so small and i suggest area federal villa must repair the fencing because i see other people can coming up with the broken fencing hole.

    i like view from my room, food its good and facilities also good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    7.5
    I would go back but book 2 rooms in the main hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 389, was not 4 star, maybe 2 star. The lights were too dim to read by at night. The shower/ toilet could be upgraded, both these doors need to be replaced. The kitchen draws do not slide properly. Needs a maitenance upgrade.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location right on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not much to dislike. Langkawi is laid back and peaceful.

    Location. Peaceful. Food at a great price close by. Had ocean view at under $90AUD/night. Great value.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    6.7
    The pool, the beach, the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We received a very far away room....almost 7 min walk from everything. The house it was very close to the road and a new construction zone.... Breakfast is very expensive comparing with what you can find in the area.

    The pool, the beach, the breakfast

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    8.8
    Very calm place to be. Reasonable price with great ambiance
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are friendly. The breakfast spread was good. Swimming pool is big enough to occupy guests. They have easy access to the beach, very calm and relaxing. Very near to Chenang for nightlife (you can find street foods, music entertainment, shops, duty free and chilling at the Chenang beach)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    6.7
    Nice Beach and Gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom and toilet facilities in the apartment suite are in need of maintenance. The washbasin located outside the shower room is too small for facial cleansing. The kitchen lacked basic cooking utensils like laddle, sponge and washing liquid for washing dishes.

    I like the clean private beach and the pool. The front office staff and the concierge are friendly and courteous. The bedrooms and living room are cosy enough for 4 persons.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    10
    Beautiful spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were upgraded to a beautiful two bedroom suite opposite the beach, with excellent balcony overlooking the sea. We had originally booked a two bedroom apartment but it was close to building works which went until 2.00 am. Staff had no issue in moving us. The grounds of the resort are very beautiful as well. All the staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    7.5
    Overall quite good for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only problem we had was at checkin. Arrived at checkin time 14:00 but had to wait until 15:45 for our room keys. Not pleasant after a long day travelling.

    Good location, hotel facilities ie. the pool, the beach and the gym also good. The restaurant served a very good cooked western breakfast although it was not included with the room. Clean and comfortable. We will stay there on our next visit to Langkawi.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    8.3
    The beach and the pool are nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The furniture is old and the landscape of federal villa quite poorly maintained. Need to be improved a lot

    The beach and the pool are nice. Location is great, not too close to the crowded Pantai Cenang but reachable to walk around 15 to 30 mins.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    4.2
    Reject room and moved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Booked a superior room. The room was very dark, unattractive and did not appear to be clean. There was a 3rd iron bed which reduced the usable space in the room and made it difficult to move past the bed to the balcony. The balcony door was very stiff to open(my wife could not do it). On speaking to another guest they also rejected the Federal Villa for much the same reasons.

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    6.3
    the beach is better than the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room felt really old and smelly. they shouldve upgrade the room and toilet so it feels more like "resort" not "motel"

    the outdoor pool and private beach

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    5.8
    Good location, super old facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is just very old & musty with broken plug points, 1980's TV, no WIFI, one bathroom to share even for 2 bedrooms unit. Have to walk to the main building to iron clothes (ala living in a school dormitory). Didn't feel worth the money I paid ( a little over MYR500 per night for 2 br unit).

    The pool and beach are definitely gorgeous. Staff were friendly too.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    8.8
    A very pleasant place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Federal Village area is a bit of a walk from the main area.

    The pool and beach right there too were excellent. Lots of shade around beach area. My room had a beach view which was so restfull. All staff understand English, a big plus. A variety of good food options. The new infinity pool area is well worth the small entrance fee.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    4.2
    An okay place, needs higher standards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ants ants ants in the apartment everywhere!!!! It was an infestation. Broken cabinets, old rusty appliances and the yuk/ smell factor was up there. We even lost power for half a day. Resort too far from anything worth seeing, and from shops. Wifi only in lobby. Will not be staying here again, will stay closer to Tanjung Rhu.

    Huge lovely breakfast buffet. Nice pools, close to beach, lovely grounds, comfy beds. Good room service.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    7.9
    We will come back again...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't have drinking/mineral water in the bedroom. Hard to get nearby car park but overall is good enough.

    Bed is comfort. Swimming pool link with Holiday Villa, it's great exprience. Sea is just less than 5 minutes walking distance, feels great on it. Staff at the counter very friendly, enviroment very good. Location is just nearby Cenang Mall and restaurants...

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    7.5
    "Please Don't over develop Lengkawi !!! "
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have expected breakfast and wifi for the price..

    All the staff that I came into contact with, as a guest, were excellent The cleaning staff, the reception staff were all excellent..

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.9
    "Local" 5-star resort. Still good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Federal was acquired by Holiday Villa next door. Rooms in Federal need updating, but the rest was all good.

    Nice beach and pool. Restaurant is decent, with very good prices - Rack of Lamb for US$11

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    8.3
    Nice location and facilities, old villa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old villa and furniture. No wifi in room. Stuff took motorcycle to villa in every early morning to switch off light and that motorcycle is very noisy. Bed sheet not well cleaned and can feel the sand.

    Location. Breakfast. Hotel facilities. Swimming pools.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    5.8
    Good location on a quite beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are poorly maintained, hand held shower head had no wall mounted holder.Hand towel holder was broken and refrigerator didn't work. They don't supply complimentary bottled water in your room, which is the first place in Asia in fact the world that I have stayed that haven't done it. Very poor value for money which is a shame because it is located in a nice spot.

    Good location on a quite beach

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    7.9
    Good to avoid the crowded Cenang
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kettle.. kettle.. kettle.. It's a RM 240 chalet, but no kettle?

    The privacy. We want to avoid the hassle in Cenang, and we purposely chose Federal Villa for this reason. It's very near to the private beach. We enjoy the stay very much. And, love the fact that we can still access to the Holiday Villa facilities as well during our stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    5.4
    The proximity to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room seemed a tad run-down. Room cleanliness OK. Smelled a bit musty when we checked-in but we left the balcony door open for a while and was OK afterwards. Air-con was not too cold for the very hot weather we were experiencing. There is an infinity pool but even hotel guests have to pay a surcharge to use it. In the other pool, proper clothing attire rules were not enforced - some people were swimming in normal clothes. There are a number of eating places/bars outside the hotel, but if you want to go to the main Chenang area, it could be a bit far to go on foot.

    The proximity to the beach. Beach front was clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    5.0
    Do not go there
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    swimming pool and good access to the beach.

    I did not like the apartment at all. the furniture was very old the apartment was like jail cell for us. I tried to change my booking to go to holiday inn but unfortunately it was full.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled damp.

    Lovely pool and beautiful beach location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    4.2
    There is a lot of insects
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a lot of insects

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    4.6
    Very dated property, not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated property, not worth the money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.1
    Overall it’s a pleasant stay, good location to go around and we love the beach and sunset view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The villas are old and bathrooms are rather basic. Cleaniness can be improved

    The beach and sunset view is awesome!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.3
    The pool
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was not working well

    The pool

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    i wish i can stay in good hotel in malaysia with no beer and so on
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness, no butler to help with the luggage and kids, no iron

    Pantai tengah, breakfast, location close to pantani cenang

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Federal Villa Beach Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: