Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of G Hotel Gurney 5 stars

168A Persiaran Gurney, 10250 George Town, Malaysia

#27 of 132 hotels in George Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 975 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    It was a pleasant stay and would be back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was strong but the wet floor in be bathroom are slippery. The water that flows out from the cubicle makes the bathroom always wet.

    comfortable bed and love the sea view. Happy with the toiletries. Strategic location to good food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    A Hotel that Cares for Your Comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was perfect

    The rooms were spacious and they provided really nice toiletries. Beds were wide and comfortable. They replenished the complimentary water often. Room service was so fast and excellent. The F&B offering in this hotel is wide. Breakfast had variety and it starts at 6.30am till 10.30am. The staff were amazing and attentive. They provided maps, made recommendations to nearby attractions and the best way to get there. Loved the gym and the sports equipment including yoga mats. Fantastic location. - between 2 malls (had a Cold Storage supermarket, 2 pharmacies and big retail brands)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Room was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good.

    Room was excellent. We were upgraded because they didn't have 2 twin beds and were upgrades to an executive suite. Very comfortable beds and alrge room. Breakfast in the executive lounge was fantastic, as was the view. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Highly satisfied! Would love to come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent room cleanliness, respectful and helpful staff, awesome food, very nice ambience, strategic location, and the mall is right next door - what more can i ask for?

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.7
    Efficient checkin , clean rooms but improve the room service !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I ordered room service for breakfast and requested for it to be delivered between 8.15am and 8.30am. It would have been better if the room service waiter just ring the door bell once or twice instead of pounding on the door as though it was a police raid ! It woke me up with a start and I had a terrible migraine the whole day as I woke up with a start.

    The clean and comfortable room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    We really enjoyed our stay. All the reception staff were very helpful. We will stay with you again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Penang. Apart from the location and accessibility, I found the personnel of the hotel extremely helpful, polite and the services of high quality. At the reception they welcomed me warmly and provided with any information I needed. The room was very clean and nice with attention to details.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge lobby with nice musician performing at night, the room was very spacious, staff were very helpful and professional, just walking distance to gurney night market and gurney mall

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location! Very close to Gurney drive hawker center. Sandwiched by two malls. Heritage town is a quick 10 minute taxi. Staffs are welcoming and accommodating. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    It was a good short getaway from the hetic city lifestyle. Thankful for this trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff ( Vivian) was very helpful and approachable. She took the initiative in engaging us in conversations and even offered to solve our problem! Really appreciate her extra mile, she has indeed make the check-in process really pleasant!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Great Hotel in Gurney
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great (near gurney plaza and you can enjoy the sea view). The bed is very comfortable. There is a room service in the afternoon who check whether you need extra towel, bottle water, soft drink.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Huge vibrant lobby, we loved having drinks downstairs at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The ketchup tastes weird :p

    Huge vibrant lobby, we loved having drinks downstairs at the bar or fingerfood. Tree bar is right outside with great ambience & delicious food. They have the best bar snacks! Staff is very attentive and friendly. Location is great with two enormous plazas on each side of the hotel, plenty of local food options next to the hotel as well. Can get very busy on weekends.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    overall stay is splendid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the access cards to lifts and room validity only for a day although my stay is for 2 days. quite troublesome to get access cards revalidated at reception counter

    Bed is very comforatble

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Very good for business and pleasure and getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much choice of entertaiment on television as well as the sound system is basic.

    Room is spacious and clean. Food is awesome. The most important thing location is fantastic!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Was OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff assisting in check out was a bit off. And he is not talking to customers like he should. No smile, mumbled while talking. I think you guys can do better in getting more professional customer service than this staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.3
    okay stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sink not very clean. Housekeeping knocking on our door unneccesarily to ask what time we are checking out.

    Room is big and bed very comfortable. Air conditioning adjustable to our comfort level. Nice view of the sea.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    Good stay, convenient
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the shower because it’s attached to the wall (you cant take it off).

    Spacious room. I like the toiletries and the complimentary mini bar with instant milo. Very good location, the mall is just next to the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    The room was quite big for a deluxe room that I thought I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the air-cond was not functioning properly as sometimes it can get too warm although the temperature has been adjusted to the max. Besides that, the 2 bedroom lamps on each side of the bed were not working. Not to mention the really expensive price.

    The room was quite big for a deluxe room that I thought I was given a wrong room. Checking in was quite quick. And you will not get bored staying at the hotel because it is located next to Gurney Plaza and Gurney Paragon.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.8
    Had a relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of non hotel guests loitering around the lobby area

    Staffs are helpful and friendly. Room size is spacious . Executive Lounge is a great hang out place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    2.5
    I didn't received a receipt for my accommodation, and it...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't received a receipt for my accommodation, and it took more than 3 days to send me just a receipt. I don't understand its slow and not professional management.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.8
    A comfortable place to stay, relax and shop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Chinese newspapers were not sent to my room for one day (31 March), though I requested (when checking in) it for both two days.

    The two neighboring shopping malls, Gurney Plaza and Paragon Mall, certainly added "bonus" or incentive to our stay in G Hotel. Food, shopping items and all types of services are so easily available there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.2
    the front desk work on the night shift around 10++pm on 22nd...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the front desk work on the night shift around 10++pm on 22nd March. I told him upon check-in over the counter that night that i want to include Breakfast. i noted the price for the breakfast and ask to charge to my room. and the next morning it turned up that my room is not in the list for breakfast. i am not sure what is he doing when i ask him to include the breakfast. where my 2 other colleagues requested to have a breakfast and their order was fully addressed just not mine. Maybe he is tired and could not concentrate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.5
    Hotel is nice, room is spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bellboy who took my suitcases didn't took care of my luggages. It's took a long time before I get my luggages in my room, by the time i finally get it they have damaged the stuff inside. I am so disappointed. All I got was an apology. They didn't have anyone to investigate or any service recovery.

    Hotel location is good, next to the shopping mall and night market.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.9
    Good time in the hotelroom, but I am not amazrd by the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast. Too busy, not enough choices, I didn’t like the breakfast compare to other 5 star hotels.

    The size of the room! It is very big. The smartTV is cool and fast! The size of the bathroom. Very comfortable bed!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    I will come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 for 1 and happy hour deals were not extended to room service

    The aglio olio was really tasty! The rooms are big. Sofa was comfy. Their toilet amenities smells real good. Including refillable snacks and soft drinks, they top up at least 2 bottles of mineral water everyday regardless if there is anymore left.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.6
    Overall,I was happy and satisfied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon in the upper deck of my room 1805 was not working for the duration of my stay. It was hot and stuffy at night and this affected my sleep. Highlighted to the hotel staff and although they did sent over aircon technician but he couldn’t find any fault and left. The problem still persist during my stay there.

    Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    A really wonderful stay but we wouldn’t book the suite with stairs if coming with toddler.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs in the suite, the pool could be made more fun for children.

    The spacious room and comfortable bed. Really like the toiletries and location of the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.5
    Convenient location plus 2 big malls nearby you can buy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient location plus 2 big malls nearby you can buy from high end stuff to daily necessities. Over the past 10 years, Room has been renovated and updated, the best way to maintain the quality of the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    good location and more than decent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights

    swimming pool area is not a designated non smoking area. Found smoking at carpark staircase and just outside hotel lobby (they even placed trash bins with ashtray on top at these areas, to encourage smoking???!) unfortunately the sofa at my room was suspicious for triggering my allergic rhinitis and conjunctivitis as well. these should be rectified.

    free carpark. cheerful and helpful staff. good location around hawker center and malls. breakfast spread is generous although it's the same everyday. room is spacious. gym is open 24 hours. Jr executive room is worth the money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Overall it is an excellent hotel, good location, easy access to the shopping mall Gurney Plaza easy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower head does not have a hose. Prefer the hose for easy washing of the body.

    the Buffet breakfast is perfect. The bed is too high but comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.7
    It's too crowded at the lobby with outsiders and public...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby too open to public usage!.Besides that,I found that the check in system something is wrong!We checked in at around 3pm plus,suddenly in not more than 1hour,when we are in the room,there's another new guest coming with luggage came knocking on my room door!reception call up and asked when did I check in as well!!!It's very disappointed with this system!

    It's too crowded at the lobby with outsiders and public just to go in and sit around the lobby to hang out which affected the expectations of a five star hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    Clear ocean view with nearby shopping amenities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could have featured their resident tenants in their website to assist in spa and saloon booking

    The services were excellent from the front desk to Housekeeping team.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    8.8
    Another stay at G
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The maintenance work. But their senior staffs were in the ball and stopped all work after I said that the work was bothering our rest. The duty manager on Wednesday 31/1/18 was on the ball, and the Front Office Manager addressed my concern very politely on my check out. All in all what I did not like did not affect my desire to stay at this marvellous hotel again in the future.

    As usual employees were great generally. Those who have been with the hotel really show their experience and skills.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.2
    Felt very welcome and well looked after. If the Hotel was given a face lift it would be perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly unlike its sister Hotel which is newer this one felt rather tired in decoration. The view was lovely due to the location, probably better than its sister but the Executive suite looked out of date and the bathroom in black with shabby grouting poor lighting and a safe which you had to get on the floor to operate and didn’t work was disappointing. The pool was a good size but drowned out by a big food expel air on one of the roofs so as you were swimming it smelt of fried food. Again a bit dated with dark blue tiles.

    The staff were so friendly and very kindly gave my husband a complimentary birthday cake when they found out in conversation. So kind. The Executive lounge was a bonus in the evening particularly when it rained outside and breakfast was excellent. Very convenient to the malls. Always made to feel welcome in the Hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed stay but argument over credit cards left 'bad taste in the mouth' on arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    gHotel requested and INSISTED I used the same credit card (as a deposit) as the one I had already paid for my stay (well in advance). There was nothing in the booking terms & conditions that I should use the same credit card even though I had already paid up fully. After a long argument, they allowed me to use another credit card for the deposit. Booking.com should state that the same credit card must be used, even though the full sum had been paid at least a month in advance.

    Hotel is next to 2 shopping malls with restaurants: convenient for short term stays especially. Staff at reception & concierge speak good English. Very good lighting in the room - rare for many hotels nowadays.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    가성비좋은 최고의 호텔!(Excellent hotel!!)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing. a little bit far away from George Town and Batu Ferringhi, But you can go there in 10~15minutes by taxi. I recommed you to take an Uber, not just a taxi, because normal taxis charge you almost twice than Uber does.

    very clean and comfortable, and kind staff. also good amenities(it smells good! lemongrass scents) nice restaurants and bar(they held a great and little music show), excellent pool(But I couldn't go inside because of rain)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    6.3
    Average rating should be fine. However the water issue I really could not accept.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The day don’t have hot water sin bath. So could only hazing shower with cold water. Terrible. Wifi could only connect 1 device which is. Also unstable.

    The location is really wonderful! Staff is friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.1
    It is a pleasant stay with ample choices for food, shopping and entertainment nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fire escape lobby smells of smoke on a non smoking floor. The live music entertainment at the lobby bar ended way to early although the entertainers were good.

    The rooms are comfortable. Near to shopping malls and local eateries. Ample parking in a secure environment. Staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.6
    Our first time in Penang and we felt the G hotel was a delightful choice and would happily recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All. Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The room decor and facilities were very good. The lounge and breakfast were excellent. The swimming pool and gym facilities were quite good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    Clean.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked front desk for a receipt, she replied she could not offer me one. I had to go through BOOKING.COM CS rep to contact hotel to gain the invoices.

    Clean. Large bathrooms.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    10
    One of my favourite stay in Penang 😍
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The brightness of the lights bulb along the steps to the reception area. The brightness leads to the blind spot of the actual steps which I nearly trip and fall 😩

    The quietness and cleanliness within the rooms area

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.5
    Place was nice, food was very good. Traffic jam was very bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many people walk into reception and lounge, and these are not guests. Executive lounge was close and we were not inform. They were close early too

    I think the environment, ambience and food were very good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Went there for my birthday trip stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just traffic in front of the hotel during the holiday season make a little frustrating to wait around 15mins to get out from car park to main road.

    Went there for my birthday trip stay. Surprised door gift on Christmas night when back to hotel room. Touched service make us feel warm even just “little” gift received. All good so far, Nice bed and pillow selection.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.6
    Great Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is always fully booked. Impossible to extend check-out time. Or even early check-in.

    Great Location. Super comfy beds. Choice of pillow types. Complimentary in-room mini bar.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.6
    Great location situated between 2 malls & a fantastic street food center!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Long wait during checking in but did have the good hospitality @ the executive lounge for making up though. Better if coffee machine is self serviced instead of waiting for overworked staff to serve during breakfast.

    Great location situated between 2 malls & a fantastic street food center! Rooms were big, clean & comfy. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    6.3
    Deposit stay not allow to pay cash
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I check in, I tell the reception that I want to pay by cash but they say cannot because I book from booking.com and is already deduct from my credit card. Ok fair as I check in late because of flight delay. But why deposit also need to hold by booking. com??? They tell me is booking.com policy. They told me When I check out it will release back to my account. But it will take few days to reach my bank then wait again till it go back to my account . Is wasting my time.

    Near shopping

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    5.8
    Could be better - should separate double from twin rooms for precise booking!
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked through booking.com. I also requested for a twin room, and the picture in booking.com showed two single beds. However, they gave me a double bed instead and said that they were fully booked and that they only have 9 rooms with single beds. They initially charged me RM480.00 for an extra bed until I mentioned that I had specifically requested for a twin room and would write a review on this.

    Toilet was large and nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    A very good place to stay for relaxation. Away from the city and will definitely come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - It would be better if I could pay the deposit or miscellaneous by cash and not by the card that I booked for the room. - full amenities of the room especially in executive floors eg; shaving kit, comb. - very limited tables at the executive floor breakfast area. I believe some of the customers had difficulties in sitting at those tables which is quite low. It may look nice but it doesn’t really useful.

    The staffs were friendly and helpful. Hotel was located very stragically because it’s near to malls, bars and eateries.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.5
    Parking is terrible. Otherwise, the place is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast charges for my 11 years old kid and my guest had to paid additional charges for breakfast for their executive double room. Aren’t all room should come with 2 breakfast? This is first time I book any room that only have 1 breakfast for the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.9
    Superb location and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a connecting room that I stayed, the partition in between was not good, I can hear the next door conversation.

    Spacious space, big TV, clean bed sheet, nice lounge with live band, and very very very to the mall and local foodcourt.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    Great stay and will stay again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head can’t be adjusted!!!

    Location is great, it’s surrounded by 2 malls and quite a range of cafes and restaurants. Nice view from my room as I see the Penang shoreline, pretty relaxing view! A few steps away from Gurney Drive food street though I will not recommend to eat there! Big room which is a plus!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent service, convenient and truly enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The driveway into the carpark floors are quite tight but I guess they will not be able to broaden it as these are structural designs.

    The hotel staff were well trained, attentive and courteous. Truly impressed by the service staff from the welcome reception to checkin as well as cleaning services team. Location excellent, next to Gurney Mall and walking distances to many good eateries.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.6
    I would be happy to stay at your place again .
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Safety Box at ground level was poorly positioned . It shoud be placed higher.

    Staff are polite, efficient. Room, clean, comfortable. Breakfast at Executive Lounge was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    Great place and clean and convenient.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The young staff checking me in was too eager to up sell. He tried to get me to pay for the extras after we were upgraded us to a suite as the hotel was really full because of a large group.

    Great location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.3
    Executive not worth the Money, room only perfect
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The executive Lounge was not worth the money ( breakfast quality and choices werde poor- went for the mall to have breakfast even though i had to pay ; the view was not good as the windows were dirty; too little staff to take care properly)

    The room is nice , people are friendly, all clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Enjoyed my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No beach near by, there is a construction of new park on the beach, so after the work is done the beach won’t be any long on the foot step of the hotel

    Location, between 2 shopping malls

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Really good location. Next to a big mall for shopping and short distance away from local food. Service was prompt and the room was big and comfy. Price might be a bit on the high side, but well worth the money spent. What I really liked, was that they had special parking lots near the lifts for female travellers. Says a lot about their attention to making the place safe. :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    We had a wonderful stay at G hotel. The breakfast was very good. Location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is not enough mirrors in the L executive suite. As we were rushing for time, my daughter could have done her cosmetic make -up at the dressing table if there is a mirror in the room or living room while my husband was bathing in the bathroom. This would be very convenient and save time. I noticed that there isn't any full length mirror as well in the executive room.

    It was my birthday when I checked in with my two children. The staff was aware when I gave her my Identity card. I was very surprised when a birthday cake was delivered to my room when we returned back late at night. It was indeed a pleasant gesture from the hotel. The staff at the reception was very kind too to fulfil my request for an adjoining room when my husband checked in the following day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.8
    'G for Great' at G Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The swimming pool is small. It tends to get crowded when many people take a dip all at once.

    The Japanese restaurant Miraku is the best in Penang. It is next to Gurney Plaza where you can shop and drop off your purchases in the hotel lobby for concierge to send to your room. It is also walking distance (6 min stroll) to the famous Gurney Drive Hawker Centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    We had an enjoyable and relaxed stay but somehow spoiled by having to pay the addictional 20% on the
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice to have slippers available in the room, expecting it to be norm in Executive Rooms. Went to the International Buffet Dinner one evening , were disappointed with menu choice and presentation of food , would not go again I was disappointed that the price quoted on booking did not include Tax etc and was caught by surprise to have to pay an additional 20% more of the bill! We are on a tight budget and somehow that extra costs had spoiled ours holiday.

    We had enjoyed our stay and all staff including those on the Excutive Floor were very helpful and very friendly, can't find any fault with them.. The buffet breakfast had many choice and very interesting varied food.on the menu The room was very comfortable and clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    Great Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Steep price

    Great location, walking distance to hawker foods, there's 2 shopping malls beside the hotel, need not travel all the way to Queensbay. To get around, use Uber.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pleasant surprise upon check in with ice cream offered to customers. The room size is big and have good facilities. Beside Gurney Plaza mall which is convenient for shoppers staying at G Hotel. Easy to move about Penang Island with Grab car.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.5
    I suggest can put more decoration in room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly I walk to lobby and doing check in .actually I was a little bit unhappy because when I check in have few Indian staff just stay there and seems looks down us and laugh infront of us make us felt unrespect .i hope don't do that infront if customer .i am also from hotel line and they not proffesional

    I suggest can put more decoration in room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.5
    Overall I am a little disappointed because of little view and deposit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the hotel has balcony but none. Besides why did the hotel has to hold a deposit of RM600 and will only refund me in 2 weeks' time.

    I requested for seaview but was given a very little partial seaview.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    The location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast foods could vary a little more from day to day. It's OK if you're only staying for 2-3 days. More care could be taken when cleaning the bathroom too.

    The location is great! So close to Gurney Plaza and food stalls. The staff were friendly and helpful. Excutive lounge was a really great addition. One bedroom suite was large and roomy. Very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.2
    It was grand!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more than expected to pay but it was worth it

    Liked the fact that you can share the lounge between kelawai and gurney. My parents had a lovely time. Live 2 piece band was good. Noisy at reception because of a wedding party but it was ok in the end

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.3
    Small issue but still a great stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    they were cleaning the carpet on my level when i arrive so the floor is a little dusty, even in the room.

    nice environment, good location and professional service staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    We were surprised with welcome ice cream cups on arrival...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During our stay, the ground level washrooms were under renovations. Unfortunately, we realised there were only 1 set of toilet access on the whole of ground level; it wasnt too convenient when we had to rush out to our car pick up.

    We were surprised with welcome ice cream cups on arrival check in. All the staffs were friendly. The shower essentials were great! we loved the smell and the lotion absorbs so well! We all felt like sleeping in as the beds were just too comfortable. =) The Live band on Sunday evening at the lobby were very good; we had an impromptu wine session and delayed our dinner as it was to pleasant to ears.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.2
    The lounge was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The walking area that connects the hotel to Gurney Plaza is very slippery when wet. I would suggest that the hotel install anti-slip stripes to improve safety.

    The lounge was very nice. The room was comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful would highly recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No designated smoking area in the pool area. Difficult at times for a non smoker to find somewhere to sit.

    Executive room. Very comfortable bed, wonderfully friendly staff, ambience was great, decor beautiful, executive lounge was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    It will be my first choice if i return to Georgetown for a trip in future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    so far so good.

    The bed and pillow are extremely comfortable. My mom even asked us to look for the brand of the mattress. And it is good that the hotel provided different types of pillow to suit different people. Clean room, 5-star servicing staff, great location, perfect sea view and modern+classy ambiance. Perfect for family gathering and business event too. Worth the price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    Great ambiance, Good location and excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Was staying in Executive Room, entitled to enjoy buffet breakfast at the special lounge. But sadly, it seems lack of the staff headcounts, ended up there's no refill on the dishes, the cutlery was well ready.... anyway, suspect that this scenario happened only when it is super duper peak season and is long holiday.

    The foods served is above average, and what the most is the Jacuzzi inside the room (staying in executive room). And, when we requested for more milk bullet for coffee machine, surprisingly they don't reject us which few of the hotels did to us previously! the staff in the lobby are friendly and helpful too. Overall, we were enjoy the stay throughout the nights.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel give me trouble by refund my credit card charge on 2 aug 17 though i already book non refund booking and my credit card already charged in june17

    Excellent location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.6
    It's consistently great! I don't need to look for a better hotel for futur trips
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should have a better spa for such a hotel

    Love the friendly team here The rooms are clean The bed is so comfy The food and drinks are great quality The executive lounge is great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.3
    Great but with a little flaw.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non hotel guests make use of the hotel as a short cut to McDonald's. It makes the lobby looks like bus station. It is always crowded and I'm not sure those people hanging at lobby are hotel guests or not. This can be a security concern.

    Close proximity to restaurant and shopping.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.8
    Great Location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no airport shuttle service for this property

    Great Location .5 minutes walks to the famous street food at Gunery Drive . The hotel is in between 2 big shopping centres

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse G Hotel Gurney traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: