Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Malaysia hotel reviews
  3. Penang B&B and inn reviews
  4. George Town B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of Good Friend Hotel

Reviews of Good Friend Hotel

284 Lebuh Chulia, 10200 George Town, Malaysia

#104 of 109 B&Bs and inns in George Town

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 47 hotel reviews

6.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.1

  • Comfort

    5.8

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    5.9

  • Value for money

    5.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 20

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    4.2
    Not good and dont recomend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms not cleaned had dirty sheets when asked for a room clean after 2 days of staying there they acted like they didnt understand, when we went in to more detail and asked for the bed to be redone they told us to do it ourselves and gave us dirty used sheets also the room has never been dusted as we opened the curtains masive dust balls fell down also there is a bad oder threw out the building especially on ground floor. The staff are very unhelpfull and exspect you to know everything on arrival for example ware your room is and comunual areas a lot of staf training is needed

    The bed was ok and good shower facility

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    7.5
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    One of the very few hotels that has impressed me. Room was nicely decorated and maintained. Service was great. Really can see the sincerity and passion of the owner in running the place. Please give it a try!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    7.9
    Wonderful stay, keep it up Good Friend Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is abit small

    Awesome hotel with friendly staff.Clean and comfortable room. A lot of eateries nearby and just within walking distance. Highly recommended for all kind of travelers.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2018

    5.4
    way too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    beware all the rooms with private bathroom have no window, my room was right next to the entrance and the stairs and it was very noisy. AC was making annoying noises. the price of the room was way too expensive (84rm) for a small room like this even considering the great location. don't book the room with private bathroom thinking it will be better, it won't.

    good tv with hdmi, internet speed not terrible. good bathroom. bed was ok.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    6.7
    Great location but hotel needs work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room always had mosquitos in it no matter what we did so we found it quite an uncomfortable sleep. One chap that worked at reception was very nice but the others didn’t seem to care much.

    Great location literally right next to love lane where all the bars are but not to close that you were disturbed at night. There were washing machines and dryers on site which is useful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    6.7
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillow. Lowered already. Need new one. No parking space as it is crowded area, many cars parked nearby.

    The bathroom is good. Though a small room but nice decoration.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    2.5
    Don't like it
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room too small. Not worth by paying almost rm90 for just small size room. Bathroom also small and wet floor. Put carpet not suitable for the small room like that because wet floor and smell not good. No parking provided and i got fine from local authority for being parking at nearby lane. They said can park. Not comfortable at all in spite of the sound from outside room.too loud! Disturbing my sleep time

    Doesn't like anything here

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    7.5
    Nice enough but needs improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were quite unprofessional and disorganised, often lying around reception and had trouble with basic things such as a card payment. They don't even give you the WiFi password and door code if you don't ask for it - something like this should be automatic. But it's a new place so hopefully they will improve! Had to keep asking them to reset WiFi on the upper floors because it was dropping constantly.

    Great location in the town centre, easy to walk anywhere. Our room was nice and comfortable with a window (but we saw most of the other rooms didn't have windows). Fairly clean and quiet (if you don't mind a little street noise). There was enough shared showers, always with toilet paper and soap.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    4.2
    It's very noisy the whole night, I can't even slept...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's very noisy the whole night, I can't even slept well the whole night. Attitude of the staff is also quite bad and there is no chothes hanger in the bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    2.5
    Horrible customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Booked a room with a shared bathroom but when arrived the hotel gave a room with no shared bathroom and asked why so, they just replied I don't know and refuse to rectify the problem.

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We’ve stayed in a lot of hostels this summer and this one is by far one of the nicest. Private room, small but very clean, air con, TV, WiFi, towels and bottles of water. Luxury! Lots of bath rooms which seem newly refurbished. Very good location for everything in George Town. Make sure you ask for the front door code as we weren’t given it on check in.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    3.8
    There's a toothpick hidden in the room's carpet...
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There's a toothpick hidden in the room's carpet which my friend accidentally stepped on it and caused my friend's feet to bleed The hairdryer is not working There's no mirror in the room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    5.4
    good if you are not expecting too much
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Smell in the room, towels, water in the room after rains, stuff smoking inside

    nice design on the walls, new bathroom

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    5.8
    It is a good stay. So close to any places with walking distance. Grab cars are easy to reach us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room should be cleaned. I found a box of cigarettes under the bed. I did not wish to look any further inside.

    The staff are friendly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    7.5
    Moderate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I wish there was a window

    The bed was nice

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    6.7
    Bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Uncomfortable price

    Bathroom

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    10
    Staffs were very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staffs were very friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    4.2
    It was not clean and comfort.
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was not clean and comfort. Also it was very noisy because of used wood partions.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    3.3
    noisy, rate n disturbing by staff who dont know who stay...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    noisy, rate n disturbing by staff who dont know who stay inside the room, just wake up call at 3am inthe morning

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    7.9
    Very clean and beutiful room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very clean and beutiful room

    Stayed in July 2018

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 20

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!