Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Jesselton Hotel 3 stars

69, Jalan Gaya, P.O. Box 10401, 88000 Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia

#16 of 123 hotels in Kota Kinabalu

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 550 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The corridor and room smelt a bit musty.

    Fantastic location in Gaya Street and nice for a treat. Bathroom facilities were luxurious, hotel was quiet, staff lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We traveled with my husband in Asia and booked a room in this hotel for 3 nights. We liked it so much that we decided to extend it. The room was very clean, people were very friendly and helpful. The location is great, although the place is quiet, it is the center of the city. The market and the main port are within 15- minute walk, bars and restaurants are nearby. We believe that this place is the best in Kota Kinabalu. So I would recommend this hotel and next time we will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the air conditioner in our room was not cold enough

    of course the location and staff were very friendly. most importantly, the hotel provides smoking room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was fine just needs a pick me up- it was a little dated and needed a little re vamp with the furnishings- but had old world charm Had a durian problem on the last night where I think someone sneaked one in and it went through the air conditioning

    The staff were friendly and helpful- the position of the hotel was good - everything was clean just the hotel was a little tired

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Little older style and fittings.

    Close to everything to walk, markets on Sunday just outside the door. Could walk to waterfront and food stalls. Bar and staff were very nice. Breakfast good choice. Older style hotel, but we were expecting this.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower curtain could use a little scrubbing as there was small amount of black mold at the bottom hemline

    Location is walking distance to eateries, shopping areas, supermarket, ocean front for sunrise / sunset view. Lively and interesting street market on Sundays, right at hotel’s doorstep

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel needs urgent renovation, as most of the facilities are old and in need of replacing. The hotel itself is small and lacks most facilities available in decent hotels, e.g. pool. The cafe was being renovated at the time so all food was done at the adjoining restaurant; the food was ok and service just about mediocre. The room was very small and stuffy; air conditioning had not been turned on so it was hot when we arrived. The double bed felt small, uncomfortable and the pillows were awful. We requested a baby cot which was delivered to the room on our arrival; unfortunately it was broken and the hotel had no sheets, comforter or pillow for it; instead they offered single bed sized sheets. The bathroom was also small, with a broken toilet seat and dirty shower curtain. Under the circumstances (they were unable to provide suitable sleeping arrangements for our son), I expected a refund for the second night; the request, however, was declined by the hotel. We will not be returning.

    The hotel is located in one of the main streets in KK, where the Sunday market is held, making it very convenient if you intend on visiting the market. It also retains some of that old town charm throughout the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was live cockroach inside the bath tub the first day I arrived the hotel, I saw cockroach the following days crawling in/out through the waste water exit of the bath tub. I also saw cockroach on the floor of toilet too. The bath towel was old, please bring your own towel. The room is small and the bed is short and if you are 6 feet tall, your legs would be hanging in the air otherwise, you have to sleep diagonally on the bed. I found very annoying was the wifi. I couldn't receive data at all even with wifi signal. I use two IOS device and laptop, all three devices could not receive any data, in particular night time. Hotel one time arrange taxi for me that I paid 25 ringgits for 7 kilometres trip but on return I use APP to order taxi back to hotel the same way only charge me 9 ringgits, so, what should I say!! No wonder the taxi driver asked if I would use his service back to hotel? The local tour offered by hotel is also expensive too although it is still affordable.

    There is a famous local restaurant across the street for any meal. Though it is 6km from the airport, it is quite cheap to order taxi to airport. The area around the hotel is not too bad in terms of safety.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walk out front door to Sunday market. Restaurants are within easy walk as are main city attractions. Rooms large and comfy. Staff very pleasant and restaurant attached superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were upgraded to a Deluxe Room upon check-in which was really nice. Room was very big with everything you needed. Internet was very quick. There was a charm about the hotel which I really enjoyed and would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs some maintenance as some areas in hotel looks rundown.

    Excellent location along Gaya street and centralised to Good food around. Very accommodating and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Having to leave.

    Staff were always available, friendly and knowledgeable. The hotel was quiet, even Sunday morning with the not-to-be-missed Sunday Gaya Street market. I like the way the hotel has maintained the original charm of elegance and tranquility.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel, though renovated it’s gross appearance is poorly maintained. Door men (or should I call them door “boys”) serving little purpose other than doing a meanial job at occasionally opening the hotel doors for you. Definitely lost it’s colonial charm and memorable staff.

    The location was very strategic

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given a room on 2nd floor that is not so nice even though we have been there every year. They need to change the carpet and some of its old furniture like chairs and table which have been quite old with torn fabrics .

    very good location .. most things are within walking distance.and its reasonable hotel rates and rooms are big. easy to get taxis.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    The oldest hotel in KK. Very small but quaint and unique. The bed was extremely comfortable. The staff were very helpful. A good place to stay in the centre of KK as close to all amenities and the sea front.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    laundry service was quite expensive

    great spacious rooms, really close to all main things in KK, great value for money and fully renovated and really clean rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the laundry service was quite expensive for the standard of the country - per item - about $5 for a tshirt, probably same price as dry cleaning

    great spacious rooms, was clean and rooms have fridge which is quite useful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The laundry services were quite expensive - charging per item rather than kilogram.

    The hotel is old, but fully renovated. The rooms were quite big and comfortable with a fridge and all amenities. Also the location is perfect - close to all main restaurants and markets - also really close to jesselton point ferries. The staff were super helpful at all times.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities very old and a complete makeover is long overdue! Just about every day we had a different problem, aircon, lighting, hot water, smell, etc. We're loyal customers, but may consider other options in future.

    Very friendly and helpful staff including Nora, Beatrice and Suvi.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just keep on improving. Nothing much I can say as I think all the things here are great.

    I like everything about the hotel. Near to everything I look for for a nighlife. Awesome bar with live bands just a walk away.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water jets in the Toilet bowls to wash the buttock not comfortable. Water pressure too low

    Accessible and near to all the facilities you required eg: Banking, food stalls, marts and within a walking distance to the Malls.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Couple of minor issues with the hot water and wifi which were swiftly fixed by the super helpful staff. Also, the restaurant cannot charge to the room as they have different administrations. That's about it.

    I cannot begin to say how amazing this property is. They literally saved our whole trip to Malaysia from becoming a terrible experience. After a dodgy experience in KL we arrive to Kota to find the reception personnel waiting for us personally. I had an unexpected change of plans, to which they were receptive and comprehensive, much more helpful than the booking.com service which replied to me two days later. This place is a colonial jewel and its worth every single penny, location is great at walking distance from the Jesselton Point (the jetty were you take the boat to the islands), the Suria Sabah Mall for shopping or eating and the waterfront. Room was swiftly cleaned everyday. Good and clean facilities. Absolutely amazing. I cannot thank these guys enough.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel Jesselton is oldest hotel in Kota Kinabalu. Very nice , clean and town centre. All the banks around the hotel. Some good eating place can be found. Breakfast , doesn't come with the hotel rate. Beside the Hotel , you have an Excellent Old Town Coffee Restaurant, and they serve very nice Breakfast and noodles.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful hotel with nice & comfort room. Walking distance for food and tourist spot. Sabah Tourism Board info center just few steps away from the hotel. Can get postcard (RM1) and stamps, also a post box for postcard delivery. Polite, helpful and friendly staffs that can speak both English and Malay. No car park provided. But easily can get car park lot along roadside with parking coupon needed (8am-5pm).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be good if you had a large restaurant with a good breakfast spread.

    The room was spacious and the bathroom was good as well. Location was perfect.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually it’s quite old. The water isn’t hot enough. I booked 2 night but no body clean my room. I won’t book this hotel next time.

    The security in the lobby is nice!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are some rooms that face a street that is behind hotel. Extremely noisy and couldn’t sleep. I suggest u make sure ur rooms don’t face that way.

    Excellent location best in kota

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I could not borrow an umbrella from the hotel so had to go out for my meeting in the rain, using a bag to shelter myself. I would have been quite happy to rent an umbrella or pay a deposit for it.

    The location of the hotel was very convenient and in a walkable part of the city. Lots of local restaurants are nearby. I arrived too late and just missed the local "tamu" which would have been just at the doorstep!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bayu restaurant next door could be a little more accommodating for vegetarians.

    Charming hotel, great vibe within the hotel and surrounding area, lots of lovely little cafes and eateries in the vicinity.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The standard room was smaller than I expected. Hence I requested for an upgrade - I didn't mind paying extra. Receptionist not only gave me an upgrade but it was for free. Friendly and customer-focused staffs. Definitely recommended!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This was a quaint hotel in the heart of the old KK town. The staff were friendly and so helpful; specifically providing us solutions for our continuing journey into the centre of Borneo. We were close to all manner of food options from restaurants to massive amounts of street food. So in line with the Malaysian culture.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When the master switch used to control the lighting of turn off it also turn of the power supply to the socket which I was charging my mobiledevice.

    Location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in the room was too dim and sometimes some of the lights will not come on despite being switch on The on off switch is temperamental . One of the chairs in the room was in a bad condition. The fabric was worn out and torn in places. I felt that our room was very dusty. It probably could do with a good clean esp the carpet.

    We booked a room with twin beds and the room was big. We like complementary newspapers. Staff are nice and helpful. Beds were comfortable. Location in the city is good with lots of eateries within walking distance.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a beautiful old hotel that's getting a bit tired! Both the sink and tub plugs leaked (so no soaking in a bath after climbing the mountain!) and little things like some tiles are loose on the bathroom floor. Only towels provided, no hand towels or bath mats etc... Possibly housekeeping just missed them, I was only here for 1 night so didn't bother asking for more.

    Such a lovely historical hotel! I thought the place was very nice and good value for money. Comfy bed, good black out curtains if you want a sleep in. I could also check out late in the evening (for 100mr) before an international flight.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No breakfast offering. But still loads of places to eat when you step outside the door so maybe not much of a negative!

    Great location. Comfortable bed. Really powerful shower. Old-school vibe. What else do you need?

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No breakfast at the hotel. Wet carpet in the room when i checked in.

    Great Location for Water activity in KK. Sunday market is just in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We left some foods in the fridge during check out and coming back to get it but found some food already been opened and ate by the 'founder' (either cleaner or hotel staff)

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is nothing I didn't like.

    This hotel is absolutely amazing! The staff is incredibly friendly, they helped me with locating my tour guide even though I didn't book through them for example. The room is clean, and super comfortable. This is one of my favourite beds in Malaysia so far.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed could have been a little more firm.

    The renovated Jesselton has retained its 1960s flavor without losing the modern amenities one expects. Daily newspapers are delivered, which is a nice touch. We stayed 7 nights here and appreciated its location more every day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable hotel. Decor is dated but still appealing and room was extremely comfortable. Good location for a variety of restaurants. 10-15 mins to the handicraft market / waterfront restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is old, many facilities doesnt work well, the air con in my room leaks water and ruin my sleep during first night

    Great location, many good restaurants just opposite the road

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Jesselton is an old hotel which you can see on the carpit, the sofa and wall are dirty. Now they renovate some rooms and the restaurant, so some kind of services was not available when we were there.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice stay during my family trip in Kota Kinabalu for 14 days. Central place in the city by Gaya street. 10minutes walk to jesselton point. Near old town white coffee and many other local famous Restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    in sunday, because of sunday market, it's little hard to find hotel

    location is very good, you can walk to two big shopping mall(at 'wisma merdeka' you can exchange your money and at food court of 'suria sabah' you can enjoy good wi-fi and ocean view), many nice kopitiam or restaurant in 5min walk distance

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am not big on carpet ,which this hotel has plenty of,would like to see nice granite tiled floors for that cooler feel ,but in saying that the carpet is what she came with back in the day ,either way it would not stop me from staying there again.

    Liked the location and the proximity to many tradional restaurants on the same road as the hotel,the hotel also has a very good restaurant attached,the staff are very welcoming and helpful with a friendly manner.The interior of the hotel is very Art Deco style with old world charm.The breakfast also gets you of to a great start for the day,would recommend this grand old lady just to experience the old world charm and its lovely staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A modern coffee machine in the dining room would be nice.

    Super staff were very helpful and caring. It's a traditional old school hotel but with excellent, modern plumbing!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking all the way up, down and up to Signal Hill was a bit disappointing because of the modern buildup on the waterfront effectively blocking the view. The main waterfront restaurants are about 8 blocks walk away but nice for the sunset. One can always take a taxi for three dollars.

    This hotel is an old style, elegant hotel. They have plenty of furniture including 2 easy chairs, 2 side tables, bathrobes and slippers in the rooms with lots of granite. We stayed six nights. I didn't book the breakfast package because I knew there were local restaurants very close by. The hotel's breakfast menu is fantastic from a North American or European view. I would add that to my booking but would sample the local restaurants like Fook Yuen across the street at least once. They also offer lunch, Afternoon Tea, and dinner in their restaurant. Everything looks great. I happened to have my birthday while in the hotel and Nora, the Front Desk Manager, presented me with a Tiramisu complete with lit candle. It was delicious. They arranged a local cultural tour for us and it was terrific. They are very knowledgeable about the city and the whole state. There are great local and international restaurants near by. Walking around at night is easy and safe. There are plenty of banks with ATMs close by. There are grocery stores In the area offering everything from local to international food and beverages. There are a few North American style shopping centres within three blocks. The Tourist Bureau is a half block away and the stairs up to Signal Hill are about a block away. It's about four blocks from Jesselton Pier where the boats go out to the islands for snorkeling. Inexpensive and a good excursion. Kota Kinabalu is amazing and the Jesselton added to it.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast provided with the room so the room price was high for what you got.

    Comfortable clean hotel in a central location with a good restaurant attached. The hotel has an old fashioned feel to it which is a nice change from cookie cutter hotels. Our room was small but it faced a side road and was quiet from outside noise. Would be good for one person, little tight for two. Rooms facing Jalan Gaya were much larger. Dinner was very good. Restaurant staff were very good. We would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - The bathtub was a bit small.

    - Beautiful, exotic, clean, comfortable. - Located at the city center and surrounded by restaurants, bars, and pharmacies. - In close proximity to a shopping mall and a Malay night market, called Sinsuran Pasar Malam, at which lots of seafood, fruits, veggies, etc. could be found. - Staff friendly and helpful. Helped us check out at 3:30 in the morning and arranged us a taxi to the airport. - Cleaning staff always greet us with a warm smile :)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    This is first hotel in KK. Very antique feel about this place. Near alot of foodie place. Very enjoyable as nearby market as well for souvenir and gifts.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Erratic and slow internet.

    Good location for walking around KK. Good choice of places to eat nearby. Comfy bed, nice room. Friendly and helpful tour booking.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed sheets, covers and etc are kinda old.

    This hotel is relatively old comparing with other renovated or new built ones, however, I really like its style and you can tell its elegance. The location is good, staffs are very helpful and friendly. The foods in the restaurant Kudo's is fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were helpful,I had a bath in my room which was lovely after climbing Mt Kinabalu. I had a 4 night stay with 1 night trekking Mt Kinabalu in the middle,the hotel were happy to store my belongings and provided me with a pre packed breakfast at a low cost.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Power point turned off after lights were turned off. Couldn't recharge mobile phones over night.

    Great customer service. Nice old time feel decoration. Spacious. Location.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 16 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities very old and tired, water leaking from the floor above, we had to change to another room which also had plumbing problems as well.

    The location, and the super friendly and helpful staff, especially Beatrice and Nora.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't always get fresh towels and toiletries every day and sometimes I had to ask for it. But this was minor, and staff were very polite and helpful.

    The interior decor and furnishings were what attracted me to the hotel. Very comfortable room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircond unit wasn't working well. Maybe the flap needs to be repaired. It was a bit disappointing that the room doesn't come with a bath tub. Breakfast should come together with the room or at least with a special price. I wouldn't complain much about this since there is a kopitiam nearby but it would be grateful if they can come with a package.

    The interior of the room was so exclusive. Maybe because they upgraded our room. Location is within distance to many key attractions. The hotel staffs were very helpful doing you favors. Anyway KK people are very nice folks, generally. Thanks for upgrading our hotel room FOC! Maybe it was our lucky day!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    I love the coziness and location of the hotel.The atmosphere is warm and welcoming. The friendliness and efficiency of the staff is the icing on the cake.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The classic style of the place including e.g. heavy carpets may not be for everyone.

    The property has a very classic style, service was impeccable. Food in the attached restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tea and coffee was provided in room, but were unable to get fresh milk when we returned to hotel at around 10pm as there was no 24-hour room service.

    Great location for looking around central KK. Staff were friendly and very helpful in getting our hire car to be delivered to the hotel. Room was clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed here for 1 night in Jesselton due to fully booked but we found this a great base to explore the city, it was about a 10 minute walk to Jesselton Ferry Point which was very handy. Local shops, bars and restaurants are all within walking distance. The staff are friendly and polite.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness is poor especially the towel, bath tub and smelly carpet. room is old and worn out. Some lights were not working.

    Location and friendly staffs

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in 3 different rooms here. First one was a little musty, other two were great. Staff will go above and beyond. Very helpful. We had a comfortable stay on each occasion. Hotel is ageing but is adequate for all your needs (freshening up & resting).

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant in the hotel is quite expensive for my budget, but serves decent food from what I could tell.

    Comfortable room and bathroom. Nice staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location was excellent, walking distance to the markets. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the on site resaurant was delightful, and not expensive - prided themselves in attention to detail.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Toilet door has no fixer to stop from it from swinging. The gap between the bottom of the door and the floor is too small a distance which affect the placing of the towel for drying the feet and prevent slippery after bathing.

    Food at Kundos is good. Staffs are very friendly and helpful. Good location for business as there are lots of banks around. Food are plentiful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was given a free upgrade and had a large room - absolutely beautiful ! The Sunday Market was on the doorstep - a great location, quiet, friendly staff .... wonderful!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looks a little shabby in the lobby area. Disorganised when booking on arrival.

    Location good. Staff very helpful especially when the airline lost our luggage. They checked regularly for updates on its arrival.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi in room was slow but much better in lobby. No wifi in restaurant.

    Large room, very clean, old style, good amenities, great hot shower, good location, very nice restaurant, great value for money. Sunday morning market right outside the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The ensuite is rather small (think Tokyo) but the room is very comfortable.

    The location is superb. Shopping destinations were within walking distance and there is no shortage of taxis. The staff are excellent and are always ready to help i.e. open the door for you with a smile.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift smelt very musty and the bathrobe in the room did not smell like it was freshly washed.

    The staff were extemely pleasant and helpful. The room was a very good size as was the bathroom. Handy location for going out of town and for walking nearby.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Management should discuss with their Internet Service Provider for more stable service and should review the locations of their routers. Lobby can be redesigned for more seating space.

    Excellent location for shopping and for some locally renowned kopitiams and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to up keep the furniture, my room had a chair that one of the leg is not stable, might fall down if not careful.

    Excellent location and very friendly staffs!

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near to shopping malls

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hot water takes forever to heat up for the bathroom.

    WaS EXPxting buffet breakfast, but no problem. The front desk staff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Jesselton Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: