Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mingood 2 stars

164 Argyll Road, 10050 George Town, Malaysia

#113 of 132 hotels in George Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 422 hotel reviews

6.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.4

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    A decent hotel, well located, from the tower of Kamtar less...
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 12 nights

    A decent hotel, well located, from the tower of Kamtar less than a kilometer. The staff was sympathetic, cleaned the room and changed linens daily, drinking water was put in the room every day, which is very convenient. We were in Penang by a group of 9 people from 4 to 17 September, any issues were resolved immediately. Thank you to the hotel for the warm and friendly welcome of our group. Natalia

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    The good hotel and strategic place with good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) breakfast's time - suggestion time from 8 am to 11 am. 2) information not given early and not explain much -the extra charges were not inform during registration but when check out suddenly got information

    Clean and tidy room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.3
    Spaces Rooms / Nice Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extra charge taken for breakfast for an Egg omlette/Sauggage. Lighting bit poor. Blankets.

    Staff at front desk is helpful. Mr. Usman specially was very helpful to me went out of his way to give me lots of information about the area around.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    3.8
    Gone downhill won't be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was rude and unhelpful. Used condom in the bathroom bin the day I checked in. It's a shame as this is the 2nd time I stayed here and it's really gone downhill.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    5.0
    Comfortable and good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would like to have a better view from the window, not walls

    Town area and the parking is ample but the construction nearby is making miserable noises

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.7
    Just ok.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was not very clean - toilet was dirty (not being cleaned properly) The sink was also dirty. I got a smoking room - very smelly indeed. I did ask for a non-smoking room. Felt so uncomfortable.

    Friendly staff. Good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.3
    Reasonably priced Hotel close to attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being an old building it stinks damp.

    Spacious double room with seating area. Good choice of break fast with cerials as well. Very cheerful lady at the breakfast counter.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.1
    Overall ok
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot tub as stated Had warm water for shower instead of hot water Carpeting old and lots of stain...eye sore Breakfast good but would prefer a bit of variety

    Very friendly and good staffs Excellent services by all stafffs Kudos and good job to all

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.3
    Its ok
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked one night for an specific price but got surprised with other expensive costs. Its almost duplicated the total amount.

    Lovely staff. Comfort beds. Breakfast is very simple but you can ask for scrambled eggs and sausages for extra 5 ringgits.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    3.3
    Ridiculous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. The room. The carpet is smelly, beds are OK, but the pillows are like squeezed and with fungus. I could see "maps" and stains on the pillows. The air-conditioner is bad, takes hours to actually cool up the room. Also Refrigerator is in bad condition. 2. The bathroom. Bathroom is bad. For Muslims, there's no water source you could grab-on after pooping. Water pressure from the shower is ridiculously slow. Floor is slippery due to unsettled clean up service, or improper cleaning. 3. Reception. It is stated that we could check-in at 2.00pm, but instead, we have to wait for the cleaning service to finish and only managed to enter the room near 4.00pm! Ridiculous! Also, staff is not that friendly, even if people are massive, you have to smile, show your hospitality to attract customers to come to your place again. This is basic! 4. Parking is bad. Limited to only like 10-15 vehicles. Crazy. This hotel is not recommended at all, sincerely. My first experience to facing this kind of ridiculous hotel after tons of travels I've made around the peninsular. 5. Breakfast?just forget it. Its a frickin waste of money. They serve only cereals with milk and breads. Totally not worth embed the room with breakfast package.

    1. The chinese auntie who serves breakfast. 2. Location-wise. Hotel is near to food stalls, some restaurants. Good ones. 3. External breakfast place (rooftop). Plenty of magnificent bonsai plants. Good view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.4
    Dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was too dirty to use. Shower didn’t stop running. Floor was very wet and slippery, so I think very dangerous... Breakfast service has only bread and drinks, doesn’t have any means.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.5
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Room service india women and Chinese women is nice talk .i like. They are same my Mom. Clean room very nice. Anything absolutely well. Nice talk good clean. I Like. 😘

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.1
    Satisfied
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit old and pricey for this kinda old hotel. Breakfast is so simple,maybe a little more choice? (only toast and cereal)

    Spacious and clean (as there is housekeeping everyday)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    5.0
    It less from my expectation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I dont like their toilet because not have pipe at toilet bowl just tissue...they also no make sure the room clean and not provide soap...the aircond also take time to cool

    I like they provide parking and breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Pro n con's
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think i request room with view, but unfortunately, the hotel seem doesn't mention that the view are facing new renovation building that are itching my eyes n my roommate,

    I like the staff, especially aunty that serve for breakfast, very humble and friendly, suggesting list place to visit

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    The rooms is quite big, spacious and comfortable with me and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) The TV position which are not facing the bed, hard for us to watch TV just sitting on the bed 2) In the booking.com, it state that there are bath tub in triple bed room, but there are no bath tub installed in our room

    The rooms is quite big, spacious and comfortable with me and 2 of my friend (as we book room with triple single bed), where it make we easy to perform our Muslim prayer and eat together at the middle of the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.3
    MINGOOD HOTEL ARE GOOD BECAUSE THE HOTEL HAVE A FRIENDLY...
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NOTING...THE ALL FACILITY I LIKE.

    MINGOOD HOTEL ARE GOOD BECAUSE THE HOTEL HAVE A FRIENDLY STAFF AND THE BED ROOM ARE BIG AND COMFORTABLE FOR ME AND MY FAMILY.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    4.6
    It was very bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel. The only place that looks decent was the lobby. The place was a little run down. Looks so antique and the smell of the room wasn’t pleasing at all. Apart from being in the centre of the island, there’s nothing much to praise about this place. They need renovation badly.

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    2.9
    Mingood never again!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This place is the worst experience I've had so far during my 4 month business trip through Asia. First, they didn't want to accept the amount that was specified in the booking confirmation: not because of the usual taxes and fees but because their system said it's only for 6 days and not for 7! And because it's Chinese New Year... At the end of the week they confirmed it was 7 days... Second, this place is dirty because the personnel is too lazy to clean the room, they just do a fake cleaning when coming to make up your room. I had bed bugs which didn't let me sleep, who needs carpets in the room at 30 degrees Celsius? The overall condition of the rooms and the building itself is very poor, the hotel management is not ready to invest in the highly necessary renovation of that place, both management and employees get upset and feel personally offended if you critizise this in an adequate manner. Breakfast is a horror...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    4.2
    Not satisfied at all.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old and run down property. Not as picture and description.While check out, staff approach with "yes yes" instead of proper approach and felt like I am in run down grocery shop.

    While check in service and staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    4.2
    We went to another hotel for night two.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything looked pretty old and needed a make over. Not enough plugs (outlets) to charge all our electronic devices. Pretty rough accommodations.

    Staff was friendly, helpful and spoke good english.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.9
    It was a pleasant stay with friendly staff, and near food places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel did not provide 2 cards for my family. It's not convenient to have only one card when we split into two groups for different sightseeing. There's no floor rug. I had to make sure the floor is not wet so my children will not hurt. The toilet cistern was leaking and water was running continuously.

    The hotel is walking distance to Jalan Transfer and Jalan Penang where we find a lot of food. The staff is extremely friendly, helpful and compromising. It's walk-able to wall art, and was also easy to call for Grab car services.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    Value for money. will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilets should have hose for washing after doing our business. Toilet papers are not enough. Especially for those who wash instead of just using tissues.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    5.8
    location, comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty. Moreover we expected to pay 198 MYR per 2 nights as it was published on booking.com but actually we paid 255 MYR. Receptionist claimed the rest of the amount, which was 57 MYR, as taxes.

    location, comfortable bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.5
    The motel was cheap and nothing special in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lift was old and was getting repaired while we where checking in. most of our stay we took the steps :) The top blankets on the beds needed replacing. The internet would not work at times, A staff member told me there where floods at one time and the internet has never been the same in the area. Our room was positioned at the end of the building next to the building next door getting built so from 8am till 8pm was noisy not the fault of our Motel.

    The rooms where old but ok. Staff where pleasent.The beds where passable, Breakfast was Toast with a few spreads and a choice of 2 Cereals with coffee, tea and orange juice or there where meals like eggs on toast etc that could be purchased.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    3.3
    The value of money paid does not meet expectation.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The value of money paid does not meet expectation. They need to ensure the facilities are being checked properly before selling the room (AIRCOND, TV). NO cable TV and the local channels are also don't have proper coverage.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    5.0
    Decent location- less than 1km from the nearest free CAT bus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were initially in a room which was not clean, and the water refilled very slowly in the flush (easily about 45minutes). The youngster in the hotel reception initially refused to give us another room but later spoke to his manager and gave us one which didn't have the aforementioned issues. However, the AC wasn't turning on, requiring more reception contact. Often there was a strong smell of cigarette smoke near the elevator WiFi speeds were not ideal. One has to checkin and turn the AC on in the rooms (i.e. the rooms are not pre-ventilated). So, there's a period of time one would have to contend with the heat.

    Decent location- less than 1km from the nearest free CAT bus. Fairly close to the historical area of Georgetown. Spacious rooms They had a breakfast option but we didn't use it because of an early checkout

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    3.8
    Such a disappointing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a disaster, the bed and breakfast was disappointing, I have booked this hotel because it was the only available option in the Christmas and i ended up paying twice the original price, there was a water leakage in the bathroom, when i asked to repair it they refused saying that its not a big problem and it will cost them double the charges because its Christmas holidays (although i was paying double the price as well for the room).

    The room was spacious, the wifi was very fast and the hotel atmosphere was great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    6.3
    Good for short staying.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet was stained and old, smelled a little bit funny and old. Breakfast was only toast with butter

    The staff at this hotel are the best part of the stay. Rooms are getting very old and need a upp lift. But good for it's purpose. Shower work fine. Even though furniture/carpet/paint are stained and looking bad, there were no cockroach or ants and the place did not stink of bug spray. Quite good for price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    6.7
    Happy for fridge, Free good Internet, kettle, free breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The hotel offer you balcony with view in writings in most options, but they have just 16 rooms with it and if you order it you will be happy if you get it. The rest has No view or bad view and ok for one night stay.

    Happy for fridge, Free good Internet, kettle, free breakfast and the staff, Most the cleaning staff...bus to beach just around the corner and more places and food food food everywhere. One big supermarket 10 min walk away.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    2.5
    Worst Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most uncomfortable hotel of our whole 10 day Malaysia tour. The hotel property looks haunted in the night. Lizard came into our room. No shower or water pipe for toilet use.

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    2.9
    Worst stay I've ever experienced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smells like no one ever sleeps in there for 10 years. Dark, musty room. Old building and design, very much suitable to film horror movie, luckily we were exhausted so we're able to sleep that night. I've stayed in cheaper place with much better condition. The younger staffs were rude, can't even properly answer simple question without using high pitch. Where were your manners young ladies.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    5.4
    It's good for the price if you can't find anything else as booked it too late
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's an old hotel - smells weird, there at least 2 times the plumbing is re-done and it shows and the hot water is just warm. Breakfast is like an in-joke, you will get a coy smile and then you realize that bread, jam and cocoa puffs are not really what you're looking for (yes, they literally only have what was shown in the picture).

    Floor is carpeted. For an old, cheap hotel it is nicely maintained.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.0
    House keeping must be improved! Please do something to the smelly carpet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very terrible room! The most important things to concern when I stay at a hotel is its cleanliness. And Mingood hotel score minus in this matter! The room smell like 10 years never cleaning the carpet, whole room full of moldy smell, I am not even dare to walk on the carpet with my feet. The bath room is hell for me, how come the bathtub is fully cover with dust, and spider web anywhere, by the way the wall is not properly painted also. I know I should not expect much from budget hotel, but I have been stay for few hotel around Georgetown, some are also not so luxury, but at least it is clean. I can accept the facilities to be old, and updated, but please at least make sure the room is clean.

    Good staff, good service. Strong internet wifi.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.8
    Would give it another go.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's just old and no good view from my window coz there's another building that's under construction. As much as I want to open my curtains, I couldn't coz eyes were popping from the building across.

    The room is big and the floor's carpeted, very helpful and congenial staff. I love the female staff at the breakfast hall.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    This hotel is good for all traveller who want to feel like 5 star hotel following your low budget.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually the parking is not to much and please multiple your choice of breakfast.

    Size of room are big and comfortable. There are many facilities inside room such as refrigerator, water heater and safety box. All the staff are very friendly and give good services.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.5
    I've stayed here several times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms need some attention.

    I've stayed here several times. I like the large rooms which are ageing like me and the breakfast room leading onto an open roof.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.2
    would definitely stay again good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought the staff were really helpful. good that the pirce included breakfast. i also really liked the decor it was walking back into the seventies.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    4.6
    u have a good location but poor condition with that amount.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    he carpet was dirty... felt like got many dust... the bed got buts bite us.,,,, the outlet was out.... i think the hotel need to renovate for improvement .....

    u have a good location but poor condition with that amount.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Worth a try, you wont cry!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff are friendly and helpful. We arrive the hotel earlier than what we had planned. so we request for earlier check in time, and they do try their best to help us to settle the check in as early as possible.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    2.9
    Bad.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet n breakfast offer. Just simple bread n coffee/tea

    Nothing overall. But not worth the value compare to the price for others with same rate.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    5.0
    nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You gave me bill for RM200 for 2 nights but the hotel demand me RM240.They demand that is the amount I have to pay.Finally I stayed 1 night and I back.Pls note all my booking I does with Booking.com if such incidents happen again I have no choice but to look for others.Thank u.

    nothing

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    9.6
    Lovely old fashioned hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is work in progress around these days, but at night it is quiet and the staff tryes to give you the room with less noice. There are no moskito nets but we didn't noticed moskitoes as well. Flush in the toiled barely worked, there was even special pot provided to fill it. But I think it could be better to repair.

    Very nice place to stay with a kind of retro style. Yes, the furniture is not new but it's still ok. And the room is really big with city view balcony. Staff is helpful and speaks good English. Breakfast is simple but essential (coffee, toast with peanut butter, butter, marmelate or marmite, cornflakes, etc.) The location is close to many attractions.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    4.6
    DISAPPOINTING STAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quite dusty with old carpet and the pillow case and blanket were dirty. The bathroom had mould on the wall, shower curtain and the toilet flush did not function.

    The staffs are friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    6.3
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough blanket, bad lighting in the bathroom

    The location was good near to restaurants and not that far from city center. The room a little bit dissapointing due to lack of light. The light in the bathroom exactly like a horror movie scene. The bed is comfortable but the blanket provided it's not enough for 2 it's like a thin layer material. Breakfast served is continental, if you wants to add sausages and egg then you need to pay for extra RM5.This hotel is considered okay for 1 night stay,but if you'd like to stay more than 1 night then maybe you can choose other hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    7.5
    Mingood is good but could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom is not so clean and the furniture and fittings are old and some parts are dusty. Housekeeping can be done better

    Location is perfect and the staff is friendly and helpful. Appreciate the simple breakfast provided. Toast & coffee. Enough for me and children who don't eat much in the morning. Thank you!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    7.5
    Valuable Stay !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - No -

    Great experience and nice stay with my family members, I had book for 1 family room and 2 triple rooms. Due to no family room, the staff changed change for us 2 double rooms without any additional charges. Good location as well.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    7.5
    Hotel for family with good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet was a bit old and should be of better quality then the outside instead of using the same one the entire floor. Toilet can use another water hose for simple washing instead of going to the bath tub every time. The lift ride was a bit stressful as it closes too fast especially with kids around.

    Price is good, spacious and good for family. Good location.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    7.1
    good location close to center;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom could be cleaner; a new building is in construction right next to the hotel so the environment is pretty noisy

    good location close to center; breakfast included and served on roof with nice view; friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    7.9
    Friendly and helpful staffs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel a bit old. Toilet hose didnt function in our room. Floor carpet seemed old, dirty n seriously need recarperting. Blankets didnt seem freshly clean ones. Suggest that hotel change clean sheets n blankets after every check out.

    Friendly and helpful staffs. Mostly senior citizens at housekeeping n coffee house but can speak wonderfully fluent English language.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    7.9
    Excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is limited

    The staff are extreamly friedly and kind. One of the staff accompanied me on the lift till my floor to help me open the lift door just because my hands were full.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    6.3
    Ok for 2 nights stay
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    (a) Breakfast Only provide bread with butter & jem and cereal. Can add variety of breakfast like nasi lemak/fried mee. (b) Room lighting Room a bit dark since there are only two lights provided. Can add more light in the room. (c) Bathroom Provide a pail because there is no bidet spray in the toilet. (d) Room confirmation I send message to hotel mentioned that I will check in late. Then, I got reply mentioned that my room will be released after 7pm. Me and my friends are from KL and we only depart at 8.30pm. It was impossible for us to arrive at Georgetown. Then I call the hotel to confirm our arrival time. At first they reluctant to hold my room but after few talks, I say we will arrive before 1 am and they will hold my room until that time. Thank God, we managed to arrived at the hotel at 12.45 am.

    Near to Georgetown City. 20 minutes walking distance to Penang 3D Trick Museum. Nearby to street food. If don't want to have breakfast at the hotel, can try to go for the street food stall. Not bad the food.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    Overall Worthy and Competitive !
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old building interior (rooms corridor), which makes the hotel looks quite creepy

    (1) Well-functioned in as well as outside the room facilities (AC, Wifi, hot water bath tub, elevator, paid-computer) (2) Good (strategic) location (3) Clean / hygiene enough (room & the surroundings) (4) Great customer service (friendly & helpful staff) (5) Extra facility such as water refiller (RO water)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    8.3
    All in all this hotel offers value for money for family and big group
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The old bathroom requires some maintenance works especially for the shower and bath tub. No hand bidet at the WC (toilet).

    Location of the hotel is very convenient for tourist since it is located in the city centre and nearby to all the tourist attractions. The Triple bedroom's beds are comfortable and the air-cond works fine. The hot water shower also working fine.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    3.8
    Very poor for the price they put!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet! They dont use water in toilet! They use only napkins.thats not right because we Muslim use water for toilet.

    They say include free breakfast but i still pay 5rm for egg! This is not free breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    7.5
    Good for short stay and visa run
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better. Staff great though and most helpfull

    All staff cleaners. Reception. Breakfast ladies really pleasant and helpfull. The manager arranged my Thsi visa with no problems. Job well done.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    4.2
    The price set by booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price set by booking.com was not the one which the hotel was demanding

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    2.9
    nigthmare!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No

    Stupid choice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Good location and friendly service.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location and friendly service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.8
    Need to change the carpet bcoz it look dirty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to change the carpet bcoz it look dirty. Also the aircond need to repair bcoz it sounds noisy n disturb me to sleep.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    2.9
    Feel bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room foetid very clean bad, the floor bathroom still have sand many breakfast terrible think that would not return to the again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    6.7
    Hard to parking
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to parking

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.7
    OK 2 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited parking space

    Great location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.4
    Near with lif
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff too fussy, quite noisy

    Near with lif

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.7
    Classic style of the hotel,like during P.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard bed

    Classic style of the hotel,like during P. Ramlee's time

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.8
    Simple, recommended for the backpacker
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast too light

    Simple, recommended for the backpacker

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    2.9
    Dissapointed.it is dirty and bad smell
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad smell

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.8
    Location is nice, many resturants near the hotel. Staff wasver nice and rooms were comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    washrooms have no muslim shower

    Staff is very nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    Good location and the staff are very friendly and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The aircon isnt working so well, it needs time to cool the whole room

    Good location and the staff are very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.0
    The staff is very polite and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is wet all the time (not bathing area) and other things are old.

    The staff is very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Good service comfortable and clean.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good views easy to park the car around the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    4.2
    refrigerator provided
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    bed not comfortable and breakfast not nice

    refrigerator provided

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.8
    ok lah
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    big room only for two person..

    tgh bandar

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    The staff’s was very friendly. And thanks to Mr Shan to drive me to clinic at 4am
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet doesn’t have the biget hose.

    The room was spacious. Very quiet & comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Staff were amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: