Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ming Star 3 stars

217 Wisma Cermerlang, Jalan Sultan Zainal Abidin, 20000 Kuala Terengganu, Malaysia

#12 of 32 hotels in Kuala Terengganu

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 284 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall it was a pleasant stay. Room was comfortable, staff was nice and friendly and there’s designated parking for this hotel. You don’t need to worry if midnight hunger pangs, 7Eleven just across the street and the location is superb. Will come back for sure!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff service could be better. the facilities could be improve, the room given at first was too small & quite bad(can't scan to open the room,air-con slow,no refrigerator,dusty). But after that we get the other room with better facilities.(refrigerator,computer)

    the bed extra comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I dont like the bathroom because doesnt have heater too control , the pillow is too small . U need to change the pillow . The blanket looks old .

    The mirror

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wardrobe door broken, have to inform the maintenance to repair. Pests roaming in the room! Ants are on the coffee table, bed and study table. Computer (PC) provided is not working. The reception counter staff was missing and not contactable during check-out.

    Spacious room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed is not too comfy. feels hard. Bottle mineral water should be prepared instead of what had been offered now.

    The parking, and there is Qiblat direction for Muslim guest, along with a prayer mat.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mirror and the table was dirty & full of oil (i dont know where was the oil came from)??? The hotel also located by the main road so all i was heard was noise during night.

    The bed was sooo comfyyy i could sleep all they long. Also nearby to secret recipe & 7 eleven. The receptionist also friendly. Surprisngly, they did tidy up my room when i was out for 2 nights stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. The room a bit smelly when we first enter the room. 2. Centralized air conditioner. A bit warm at midnight. 3. Bathroom door made from wood and it has fungus inside. Then, the shower door not very clean. Please improve on that.

    The room was very nice and cozy. Very comfort room and great size of bed. A spacious room for my 2 kids running around.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Billed me on 28 September for 100% which incurred me extra bank charge.Unnecessary as no show was 100% anyway. Make available local city maps and where Visitor Info Centre is. Found out on last day

    Friendly staff but not good English. Breakfast, and young chap in charge who was very good. Location good being close to good restaurants and near public beach. God advice re massage. Noisy neighbours

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a little bit dirty for sink n toilet bowl.Sink was crack.Housekipping didn't clear our rooms at second day.

    The price is worthy for the great room,clean n comfortable.Near with famous cafe n more food restaurent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room now very small.There just renovation i think. Compare i stay before very comfort.Now no space to me walk around

    Receptionis very good & friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night staff look very tired but she could give us smile when we asked her politely.

    The room very clean and comfortable. Near with 7e, secret recipe and local restaurant. Only 5 min drive to pasar payang.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Sweet Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor (i booked suite, don't remember the name.the one wth gello kitty theme) can be improved..we did not feel 'safe'..and the hello kitty stuffs should have been sent for cleaning..

    The room n services were nice

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1)They did not take customer request seriously. 2)Takes time to find your own room. 3) Hygiene - There were ants everywhere, even at the bed. 4) Not sound proof

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No swimming pool and the walkway to the room is rather cramped :(

    Extra coffee pack and grocery/necessities are not insanely priced like most of other lodges

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very slow wifi.

    It provides hairdryer, iron & ironing board, prayer mat, etc. No need to call housekeeping to provide those as in other hotels. Plenty plug points in the room too. The location is convenient. Easy parking and many eateries surrounding it.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially got room 305 with a malfunction air-cond. The staff were helpful and changed us to room 314, which in our opinion is smaller and stuffier. Yes the aircond issue is fixed... but having changed to a smaller room feels like a downgrade on our booking. We didn't bother for a refund because we were travelling in rush. This is my second stay in Ming Star. It can be better.

    Clean and comfortable. Staff are courteous and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I already requested a non-smoking room but upon check-in, the smell of cigarette was all over the room. Please consider asthmatic patient.

    The toilet was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness can be much much better, especially toilet. Staff react like I owe her money.

    Location, 7-11, restaurant, pub are just within walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointed during I stay here, tv in my room can't function and shower heater also can't function. No one can fix the problem. I try to claim back but the staff said nothing can be done because I book this room under booking.com So bad.

    Clean. Staff also friendly. Near the town so I can easily reach restaurant and shopping centre.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to get food from nearby resraurant & stalls

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view in the room

    Near shop n beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got the old room. Too small. Aircond kind of slow.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near to delicious Chinese restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Sweet Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I LOVE THE DECORATION OF MY ROOM :) THERE ARE SO MANY HELLO KITTIES DOLLY

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel correct

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water clog in the shower area for room 302.

    The service is great and the room is big for a small family. Does not require deposit during check in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    comfy bed medium size room private parking location near to beach and city beautiful room good and fast wifi

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mybe the prize

    I like the view n location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small window

    Near to town centre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room

    So small

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is ok for one night

    Nice quiet back room and one VERY friendly and helpful staff. Free shuttle to China town

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor room design , AC is not functioning, musky smell, bad lighting.

    Looks better on the website than actual

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Submitted via mobile

    the staff supposed treat the customer or guest with SOP .. the food is sucks

    i just like the snorkeling ..but others just ok

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near to amenities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sweet Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ants on the bed Hello kitty plush toys, setup for the suite room. Fridge condition bad

    Access to the desktop in the room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed hard like rock

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly room, worn out air conditioning, toilets are dirty. There’s even maggot on the floor.

    Strategic location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower cube was too sharp and the sink was too slow to drain.

    I like the computer and the bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast selection not worth RM15 I guess

    The bed sheet not been change for 5 days I stayed here 🤔

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unexpected provide drinking water by a plastic container

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no

    i like this hotel...next time, i come again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff forgot to put my meter parking as agreed. I have to pay the summons.

    Location location location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.limited tv channels 2.no coffee or tea in room 3.no mineral water in bottle

    None

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room

    Bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited TV cannel and no radio songs eg.jazz sentimental songs ex..relexing before go to bed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and shops

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean, confortable, friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A towel a bit smelly.

    Private room. Overall is nice and good. I like to stay here

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    none

    just like the location&services

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The clean of room. And bathroom is clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room so comfortable. Very clean & save

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the restaurant was not punctual

    the bed is comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wall in the room was dirty..need to be repaint..all television channel was a bit disappointing.

    The location of the Hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are only a few channels on the tv.

    The distance to get food is near.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no hot water at early morning @3 am

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to find food

    Clean gud. Staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not spacious..not well kept..looks untidy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    LOVE IT!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price is more than worthy for the great room !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my booking,i requested wifi during my stay.. Ive got the room i want but the floor that i stay didnt have wifi coverage..

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    a calm atmosphere

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all ok

    bed ok

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room is a little bit small compare with others nearby hotels

    the room is comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a lot ant and dirty and no WiFi

    Convenience

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    No

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice Room. Very comfortable and easy to access

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    comfy bed and strong connection of wifi

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cant find the staff and have to wait for quite some time when we wanted to check out early in the morning.

    Polite staff. Clean room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking outside, expose to open space

    reasonable rate

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: