Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai 5 stars

Off Jalan Sepangar Bay, 88993 Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia

#56 of 153 hotels in Kota Kinabalu

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 995 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    8.8
    Amazing Resort.
    • Couple
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet breakfast only have few options. We have dinner in the “Olives”, unfortunately the lamb rack meat was a bit rubbery and hard to chew on, not quite up to its value. Location a bit too far from city

    The scenery, the clean beach, the amenities, the spacious room (chalet), all the amazing, friendly and helpful staffs, checking in/ welcoming service was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    6.3
    Ok rooms, terrible food, far from the city for a daily city trip for dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom: you have to push the toiletflush-button for 10 seconds, otherwise you're toilet will flood. And also when we pushed the button for 10 seconds, our toilet/bathroom flooded... it's not quality you would expect for this amount of money. The location of the resort is nice, at the beach, but to far from the city for a proper dish at the city because the quality and price of the food at the resort is horrible. The personal acts as if we are at an very luxurious and good restaurant, although the restaurants are definitely very expensive, that is the only similarity. The service provided is a bit over the top. At the penyu: The fresh seafood was of bad quality, tasteless and furthermore not resupplied when some had horded all the crab and shrimps. Also the deserts were tasteless. We are in Asia, why is there only a italian preperation cook/stand and not also some fresh local dishes preperation stands? The warm section was only a bid better, most dishes were already cold or overcooked (vegies) or undercooked (fish an chicken). At the sunset bar: Also tasteless and overpriced food. At the noble house the quality could be also better for the price you pay. Olives: we only had breakfast there and that is average, good eggs though. The Korean grill was closed when we wanted to eat there, hoping for better quality of food. I know I am picky on quality of food, but cooking tasteless is more difficult than cooking tasteful, also cooking something not over or under done is not that hard. Nexus asks a price for it that you at least expect the food to be tasteful, cooked perfectly and resupplied when needed.

    The staff is very friendly. The rooms are ok, spacious and clean(except for the sofa and chairs, they look as if someone has pooped on it), comfy bed. Nice bathroom, daily fresh towels.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.5
    Location is perfect, staff is very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were 2 different locations for breakfast, 1 for Chinese guests and 1 for the others. The non-chinese breakfast served an english breakfast and 1 bowl of noodles. The Chinese breakfast was bulky with asian food. I do not travel half the globe to eat toast with eggs & beans...

    Location is perfect, staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.8
    The friendly and helpful staff made my stay memorable,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Nexus Club Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is a little old and tatty around the edges but the facilities are excellent, the staff exceptional and the beach is fabulous.

    The friendly and helpful staff made my stay memorable,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    5.4
    The beach, sunset view was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant staff were not as pleasant, had the “I don’t want to service you look” or like I owe them money look.. The beach has a lot of flea/ flies around it especially around the sunbath seats area so have to be careful

    The beach, sunset view was amazing Massage was relaxing, worth a try Room was clean and tidy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    9.6
    Nice view, peaceful air.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean Panorama Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is available at almost evey place, but it's slow

    Nice view, peaceful air. Room was large enough and dosen't feel old. View of the balcony was amazing. Airconditioning was perfect also.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.8
    Excellent staff and lots to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s no where near anything else!

    Excellent staff and lots to do.... property is a bit tired but all the facilities are good... staff were extremely helpful and accommodating.... drinks etc are a bit expensive but what you would expect. Lovely to have access to the beach too

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    5.8
    The view(the nature) is great,stuff is nice
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility is not good enough. U can see dust on the table and no one will clean it. Also the bath need to be improved.food is soso and so many flies that makes you really don’t wanna eat.

    The view(the nature) is great,stuff is nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.3
    the room are spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    they should do maintenance check on the air conditioning. and the toilet bowl flushing. our 1st night was hot as the air conditioning not working well. after information them an having it fix. the water kettle to was shocking to us as we found lizards was inside it's. the toilets flushing system needs to hold about 10 second for thr system to flush out. WiFi are not able to use.

    the room are spacious. nice view of the beaches. the toilet too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    2.5
    Beach front
    • Family with young children
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel charge deposit 200MR per night/room, we did not have the amount of cash when I checked in, have to use my visa debit card to pay for the deposit. When I checked out, this hotel refuse to provide any receipt to proof they will refund my deposit into my debt card. They said the money will refund within next two to three weeks which will depend on the banks. When they charge the money they never inform me any this part of information!!! Hotel’s furniture is very old. Wardrobe can not close properly the light inside of the wardrobe is always on during the night. Bathroom is lacking water all the time. One day the bathroom is no water, not able to use the bathroom at all. Room Cleaning service need to contact the reception in order to get our room cleaned. Breakfast is very poor selections, the coffee cup and water glass are dirty. All the services within hotel area all charge for money. Even borrow towel to use outside of the hotel we need to pay for RM5. As this hotel is far away from the town center(40 mins)we need to use Shuttle service which is charged at 30 RM return per person(not informed by anyone,Only find out this information when I read the small leaflet) This hotel is cost €100 per night, in Sabah it can be expensive. However I just feel they charge the expensive price however the quality of the service is very low. Not recommend!

    Beach front

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.3
    The location and the buildings are wonderful but just...
    • Couple
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alot of black mildew in the bathroom. Unfortunately, it was a 5 star location, as they look inside I think they are 2 stars. The cleanliness I guess is done in part and on the run because the bath persists in the mold. I think they need a better manager.

    The location and the buildings are wonderful but just outside.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was only one issue with our room 6202, the balcony had a lose panel which had clearly already fallen onto the roof below, so we had to keep our 5 yo off the balcony.

    The resort is set in beautiful grounds with a wonderful beach, the best beach I’ve come across on Borneo (crystal clear waters and no sand flies). We stayed for two nights in a deluxe garden room, perfect for two adults and a child. Room was tastefully decorated and comfortable. The staff were so friendly Christina and Florina at reception were so helpful and kind. Hafiz at the beach bar makes the most awesome cocktails and will go out of his way to find replacement ingredients if they have run out (something not usual in Malaysia). The kids club is Fantastic, it gives kids clubs in Europe a run for their money, best ever!! Swimming pools are fab and it even has an adults only pool (bliss). There are around 8 restaurants on site, we ate at the Italian and Chinese, food was superb and reasonably priced. The sunsets were amazing. I really can’t say enough on how wonderful an experience it was staying at the nexus. Booked again for December fabulous

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.1
    Disappointed Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Ocean Panorama Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We waited for the check in for more than 1hr. The staff didn't tell us that our room was not ready until we make a fuss out of it. They compensated us with free drinks but wasted a lot of our time. Our balcony view was not panoramic, it was blocked by the coconut trees. Overall, the resort was not well maintain, it's run down and the breakfast is lousy, not much choices. Waited for 30 mins at the egg station because only 1 chef cooking & serving the guest.

    The property is beautiful, just no proper maintenance. Luckily the room that we got was newly renovated. The beach & pool are nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    6.7
    Nice beach resort but could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room toilet didnt work well. Check in process took too long. Breakfast buffet was very limited,i expected more choices at this price range.

    The staffs were very friendly and helpful. Private beach is amazing. There are options for all sorts of beach activities. The garden has a lot of different fruit trees but a bit unkept.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.8
    The place is amazing, inside the nature and on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean Panorama Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would only suggest to improve the Wifi connection

    The place is amazing, inside the nature and on the beach. It is not so close to Kota Kinabalu, but it is perfect for relaxing, and enjoying the sea (or swimming pools for who prefers them) and the nature (we even saw a monkey and the monitor lizard). The staff is very kind and helpful. Very nice breakfast. Spa is also very nice. Of course internal spa and restaurants are pricy compared to Malaysian average, but it is quite normal inside a resort. I will be definitely back.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    We definitely will come back for the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Nexus Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was not what we expected. for a 5 star resort they should cater more variety of food. i think they can do better. i believe the management were trying to cater to a big korean group but that left us (not korean) all tasteless. Hope the kitchen would improve.

    My family and I fell in love with the beach. we stroll every morning to the beach and it was perfect. neither one of us wanted to leave. The more surprise to that on our way back to our room in the evening we spotted not one but two pair of hornbills. wild hornbills. You could not get that anywhere. The kids loved it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Amazing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved our stay at the Nexus. We had a lovely renovated room with a balcony and sea views. The staff at Nexus are beautiful people, very friendly and went above and beyond to make our short stay amazing. We will definitely be returning to the Nexus next year. Thank you to all the wonderful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.4
    It is near beach.
    • Couple
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price is way too expensive as compare to the facilities and services that they provided Room not in good condition.. all furnitures looks old. Air conditioner not cold. Bed is not so comfy Last day of our stay, no water connection in our room.. and we find out only when we called service counter, and they simply ask us to go to other building to take bath, as simple as tht, and the building is quite far, and we need to share with others.its nonsense! Buffet breakfast is not great at all. Food is low than average. I can get same food in 1 or 2 star hotels. Sambal nasi lemak need to improve definitely as all of you represent our beloved malaysia

    It is near beach.. the beach is clean and water is clear like in the island... sunset is nice.. staff is cheerful and kind Swimming pool is great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic time all round, such a welcoming place to stay, great for families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Nexus Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The swimming pool was a little disappointing for the standard of everything else. Only very shallow in all areas, nowhere to really swim, good for a splash but nil else. Very full at all times. However the beach is so fantastic we didn't use the pool as much as usual.

    The main thing about this hotel is the friendliness of the staff from the dedicated personal guide who met us every day to the cleaners and porters, all happy to smile and say hello and make us feel very welcome. Rooms are spacious and we had a great seaview. Beach was a real highlight, beautiful sand, long stretch and not too busy. Surf equipment available and gentle surf for kids and us to really enjoy. Restaurants were all of a really good quality. The food was excellent, we tried the Chinese Noble House, main Malaysian Buffet and the sunset bar restaurant. The restaurants are reasonably priced for a 5 star hotel and service was of a high quality. Got very busy at Chinese restaurant and had a long wait for food but it was worth it in the end.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly and helpful staff, beautiful and well kept...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean Panorama Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath tub is very dirty-ocean view room 8415

    Very friendly and helpful staff, beautiful and well kept landscapes/gardens with wild life. Really nice tropical architecture.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Perfect stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean Panorama Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Haze in Malaysia. Not related to the hotel.

    Everything was perfect! The room was super clean, beautiful view even its a bit far from the sea. Nice breakfast, they even have gluten free bread. Staff are always welcome to help. Would come again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    3.0
    They forgot to clean up room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They forgot to clean up room. When we asked to bring towel instead of clean up room, they didn't send staff soon, we had to wait 1 hour until getting towel. We couldn't use water night time. We couldn't enter room on time for check in. We understood that they had any problem, but we recevied stress too much though we expected holiday. When we made complain about these stiatuaion on check out, their Mgr. didn't meet us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.8
    Extremely dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean Panorama Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I moved menu the shape of it still left on the table surrounded by 1cm of dust. I cleaned it up because my child will touch everything and I am allergic to the dust. Then I realised that all room, furniture, bathroom covered by dust. When my child sit on the floor I understood how dirty is it and after half day cleaning I said to myself that I'm not going to clean the floor!! Better not to look under bed! And linen. Better to have bad vision and leave your glasses before enter room. Linen were with big yellow spots. Bath didn't function well. This is 3* hotel, not 5*as declared. The room named PANORAMIC OCEAN VIEW photo is attached. When you travel far away from Europe you would really want to see panoramic ocean view.

    Breakfast was perfect. I would advice to go to Borneo signature massage, fantastic. The dinner with cultural dance was interesting even to my 2 years old child.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast menu is completely focused on Korean and Chinese food. There should be some options for Indian, Arab and European guests as well.

    Everything....room, lobby, restaurants, pools, beach area. Everything was excellent. A very lively hotel all the time.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.5
    Good, silent asylum for families and golfers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Nexus Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Food quality differs between restaurants in the resort. Once we were served a burger which was really awful. Should never reach anyones table…. We complaint about that to the staff and were not charged for it. After all received basked of fruits with a letter saying how sorry they were etc. It was nice that they did care and promised to improve.

    Nice Resort far from the noises of the city. Great golf course. Nice, sandy beach. Spacious rooms and good breakfast in an italian restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    4.6
    The resort has beautiful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort is very isolated which means the resort was very expensive, they would buy from local shops around town and put prices up in their shops and bars. Staff was not very helpful, we have a 5 month old baby and girls aged 14 and 9 and we had to ask twice for our room to be cleaned after putting the clean tag on our door, we went out all day to come back to a undone room with no toilet paper shower essentials or water. They offer a shuttle bus from and to town but a price is to be payed per person. Me and my family went to the sunset bar for a meal one night to be added meals to our bill and also meals did not turn up to our table, Very disappointed with our stay.

    The resort has beautiful views.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    6.3
    Location is good ifyoure looking for something secluded
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness, or lack of it Room felt a bit dirty. The night I arrive I askew for 4 spoon and it took them about an hour and a half to deliver it. By that time my family was already asleep and I made my own spoon from the plastic bottle. Large cockroach in the bathroom didn't help either

    Location is good ifyoure looking for something secluded The beach is lovely and private. Pool was okay but there aren't any slides

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    4.6
    Extremely disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel stands entirely on its own. A taxi to the airport takes 45 minutes to an hour. An airport taxi costs 75 MR however the hotel tried to charge us 180 MR for our return to the airport. They said they couldn’t guarantee another company would pick us up in time and said their service was our only option. They basically held us to ransom but agreed to reduce the price to 100MR. The meals and drinks are overpriced and below standard - I was presented with the worst Nasi Goreng ever, at 6 times the price I’d eaten in Kota Kinabalu and Kuching. If you like wildlife there’s plenty at the hotel. Due to tourists feeding the monkeys they now attack people for food, our son had to throw his rice cakes to a marauding monkey and was terrified of them afterwards. The monitor lizards are lovely and normally stay around their pond area however they also venture into the swimming pool. The swimming pool is adequate but the slides are roped off to stop children accessing them and the pool for adults. This seemed particularly unfair. The kids were constantly given trouble for trying to have fun by over zealous lifeguards. The kids weren’t doing anything wrong!

    The beach was wonderful and the sunsets were beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.6
    Amazing team, amazing sea view and beach, very memorable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It will be great to have a chinese or japanese restaurant.

    This was the best birthday celebration in my whole life! I was very amazed by the service crew from Nexus, lead by Mr Justin the front desk manager, they gave me a very big surprise on my birthday, and I did not inform anyone there. They sent me a nice birthday cake, helped me to upgrade to a nicer room, even treated me my birthday dinner! This was way out of my expectations! Despite I have been to many 5 star hotels or resorts in many countries, in fact, this was the best ever. Every staff in this resort is very polite and well trained, greeted me by my name, smiles to everyone, very friendly etc. Besides, the view and the beach was amazing! We enjoyed almost everything provided in the resort!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    A little piece of heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff, so friendly, always smiling and always willing to help. Great food and many restaurants to choose from. Facilities were great- pools, gym, tennis/volley courts, spa and golf course. A very chilled vibe at this resort, all in all an awesome place to relax and recharge

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Stunning resort with amazing service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    This resort is beautiful and the facilities are amazing! We were lucky to have our room upgraded for free and the staff even brought us a cake and a card after hearing we recently got married. The staff at Nexus are very friendly and take really good care of you. They are always on hand to answers any questions you have. In particular I’d like to give a shout out and big thanks to Christina and Yvonna who helped us out so much. The location is secluded but everything you need is inside the resort including 5 restaurants, spa, swimming pool and sports facilities. The food is tasty at the restaurants and very reasonably priced. All in all I would recommend this resort to everyone and I hope we get the chance to go back again some day!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.0
    Great location with nice beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Panorama Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restuarant choices limited. The Malaysian restaurant did not do great food and was not good value. The fine dining restaurant was fine but we did not want to do fine dining everynight. We did expect better Malaysian food

    Great location with nice beach

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.8
    Nice room, friendly staff, nice stretch of white sand beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is in two locations depending on booking. One is excellent (I was mistakenly allowed into this restaurant the first morning) the other is pretty poor. No indication is given about this or how to upgrade, felt a little second class. Staff are friendly but constantly interrupt. Was woken from my siesta on both days by the phone ringing with someone asking me how my stay was - would have been better if allowed a siesta on holiday! No privacy, the room was ground floor and the outside seating was in full view of guests and staff who wave hello as they pass. This is very friendly but I prefer my privacy. It’s a little noisy when the music starts in the restaurants, my location meant I could hear the music from two places at once - enough to give anyone a headache. The room was nice but fridge didn’t work and the door kept jamming and setting off an alarm. The toilet did not flush easily, often taking a few goes. Food in the two locations I tried was both bland and had little choice.

    Nice room, friendly staff, nice stretch of white sand beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Amazing friendly staff special Yvonne, Christine and Anna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The terrible sound system and Music at the Beach bar .. you really have to improve!! It should be more chill out music and a better quality system The rooms where nice.. the Golf Course amazing .. we loved it.

    Amazing friendly staff special Yvonne, Christine and Anna

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Luxurious hotel. Thanks to the staff for making us feel so welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There isn’t much to do outside the resort, since it is quite some distance from Kota Kinabalu, at least half an hour away. But the hotel does arrange a shuttle service at a reasonable cost, and really there was plenty to keep us occupied at the resort itself.

    The Nexus is just pure luxury. It has wonderful accommodation, a glorious beach, an abundance of fine restaurants, a stunning golf course, and warm, relaxing swimming pools and spa, but what makes it so special is the staff. You are treated like a celebrity from the moment you arrive. Every member of staff seems to know your name and greets you with a lovely smile. Breakfast was included for us and was very enjoyable, catering for all types of requirements. My family and I tried all the restaurants during our 5 night stay and enjoyed the variety of food ranging from Italian to Malaysian. Our favourite was the Chinese food at the Noble House. Food prices are very reasonable, with only beer being quite expensive. Instead though, try the different cocktails around the hotel bars, and especially the Rain Forest at the beach bar, which are definitely value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice place to get away from it all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Borneo Executive Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t order the cendol. All restaurants had same breakfast menu so when you stay there long you eat the same thing daily

    Location and staff was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    3.8
    Overall disappointed with total packages provide by Nexus Resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room - Nothing at mini fridge and hair dryer not working. Services - Super poor services from staffs, super low responses. Pool - Some pool facilities is not working and under repairing seems like long time ago. Price - Prices of foods and conveniences stalls is over rated. MYR100 for buffets but the foods quality is very low and the services is poor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    6.7
    The private beach is awesome with the sunset view.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The counter staff’s English needs to be reinforced. WiFi should be basic facility not the extra charge service. When I asked for bottle of water, it took me two room service calls to get it.

    The private beach is awesome with the sunset view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.3
    BEAUTIFUL BEACH HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    SANDFLIES

    Our breakfast in the Olive restaurant was great.Service and waiters were fantastic. Our club room was spacious and set in beautiful gardens overlooking the sea.The room however does need updating. The only drawback to our holiday was the terrible sandflies on the beach. PLEASE do something to eradicate the PROBLEM. WE CAME HOME BADLY BITTEN. Overall we had a wonderful holiday for the second time at this beautiful resort

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    Now a little overpriced, once-upon-a-time world-class resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For some reason, our minibar was empty and a welcome letter addressed to some other guest was sitting on our coffee table; the pool is nice but way too hot -- I even wondered if they heat it; the beach is an awful pity: full of trash, not directly in front of the hotel, but just take a little walk...; sand flies all over, be prepared with your anti-insect product or stay at the pool; the lights and AC system is a little dated, some buttons did not work properly;

    The huge bed; the very nice and helpful staff; the garden; the free wandering Monitor lezards; breakfast is a blast, first freshly-squeezed orange juice in a breakfast buffet of my 2-months travel across Malaysia

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    The staff were very helpful and friendly. Brautiful gardens and very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of minor things...once aeay from the hotel frontage the beach is quite littered, but i know staff do their best to clean up daily against the battle imof the tide. Rooms are large and clean but a little dated. Some of the food was not the greatest in the olive restaurant, but the manager removed the poor meals from the bill

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.8
    I got food poisoning and got sick for 5 days ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got food poisoning and got sick for 5 days , For the price we paid I would expect fresh ingredients and better quality food with trained staff (super friendly but lack of awareness of European standard : you can’t claim to be an Italian restaurant and bring white vinegar while the request was balsamic to dip your bread !!!!)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful place, amazing staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The WiFi is not good enough; you have to switch between zones across the resort which drops out and mean you accidentally use your own data which could be expensive. Also we could never access it from our room. You should be able to have one login across the resort and a good signal in your room. - The resort is over 30minutes from Kota Kinabalu so should have an ATM for cash, as using cash saves on charges for the trips and activities and can be more convenient. Also more up to date payment devices so that modern payments like Apple Pay is accepted. - The drinks are too expensive. A small can of Tiger beer is £5 and the cheapest bottle of wine is £40. Whilst the cocktails were great and only around £4 they should balance the pricing to suit everyone’s tastes.

    We had a fantastic relaxing stay at the Nexus after spending some time in the jungle and climbing Trus Madi, it was the perfect way to unwind and repair. The private beach, pool area, and incredible spa facilities were all excellent. The thing that really makes the Nexus special are the staff; from the beginning B.B. was extra helpful with great communication about our reservation and helped make special plans for one of our birthdays. Vian the restaurant manager was also excellent and made sure the birthday was perfect. A big thank you to Christina, Melvie, and Romario, and Billy who gave us advice on local restaurants and organised some cultural dancing for us. I do have some suggestions for improvements to make Nexus better: - The WiFi is not good enough; you have to switch between zones across the resort which drops out and mean you accidentally use your own data which could be expensive. Also we could never access it from our room. You should be able to have one login across the resort and a good signal in your room. - The resort is over 30minutes from Kota Kinabalu so should have an ATM for cash, as using cash saves on charges for the trips and activities and can be more convenient. Also more up to date payment devices so that modern payments like Apple Pay is accepted. - The drinks are too expensive. A small can of Tiger beer is £5 and the cheapest bottle of wine is £40. Whilst the cocktails were great and only around £4 they should balance the pricing to suit everyone’s tastes. In general a beautiful resort with amazing staff that with a bit of modernisation would be perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous place..!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location fairly remote, no nearby restaurants or town to visit (KK 40min by taxi); patchy WiFi connection. Rooms may need some refurbishment in future to keep up high standard

    Well maintained property, great scenery from pool area to private beach. We got lucky with sea facing villa offering fabulous views. Two spacious rooms with connecting door very comfortable for our family of 4; excellent staff, very friendly and attentive, really make the difference !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    We had a relaxing stay in a calm and beautiful environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Kota-Kinabalu shuttle has awkward drop-off locations (we certainly did not want to be at that spot, many better choices in town for shoppers / dining out) There were six restaurants, but almost all has failed. We have missed the famously delicious Malaysian dishes from the selection in Kingfisher, claiming to be Malaysian. The Korean grill is not grilling and they failed to serve basic Korean dishes. The beach bar serves no snacks?!?! Sunset bar food is good but despite of plentiful staff very slow service and chaotically disorganised. Penyu, despite hardly any guests, slow and too many mistakes by staff. Olive (European) we did not try as we are from Europe. Noble was the best choice with good service and good food. The darling-darling pub was good, its a pity that it cannot gather more people. With the failing restaurants the hotel is too far from towns where better food selection is offered. It would be nice if the hotel could have a list of nearby options outside the resort for longer staying guests. If the food and service in restaurants improves this resort would easily gain a full review point up. Minor annoyance is hectic wifi in room (works better in common areas) and broken toilet roll holder

    Friendly and flexible staff, room well cleaned every day, we enjoyed our sea view upgrade very much, comfortable, beautiful gardens, long beach walks, morning TaiChi and Yoga, playing squash, golf, games, nice pool and nice cocktails, nice spa. Our stay was very relaxing and calm and active at the same time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    A pleasant retreat to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean Panorama Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I struggled a bit at breakfast but enjoyed the fruit and smoothies.

    The location was great for me as I was looking for a quieter retreat away from the town to relax. I had no problems with cleanliness and I had expected the property to be on an older-decor in need of updating side so I was not surprised. My room was large, with nice views across the sea and the bed comfortable. I had a very pleasant massage in the spa and a pool for adults only was appreciated. The beach is beautiful, very pleasant for an evening walk and a shop on site perfect for snacks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.8
    Overpriced hotel and bad service in paradise surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean Panorama Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms especially the bathroom are really oldish and need a serious facelift. The beach is beautiful but poorly maintained. Around umbrellas and sunbeds there are lots of cigaretes and if you walk 50 m from the umbrellas, the beach is full of plastic. The transport arrangements to/from the ariport and to/from the city are expensive. Better call a grab or a cheaper taxi, but do not expect the staf to help you with it: "it is not the hotel policy". One more thing which annoyed me a lot is that the evening cinema on the beach is so noisy that instead of enjoying waves' sound and birds singing from your balcony, you hear only noise of an action movie. It was the worse stay in Malaysia in two weeks time.

    The surroundings including the garden with birds and animals are beautiful. The beach was almost empty. The pool area is nice and clean. The breakfast has lots of options (Asian and European), fresh juices are just excellent. The Chinese restaurant is very good, although expensive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice staff and awesome beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was quiet poor (the same every day) and everything (like furniture, wall painting) was old and need renovation. Food in restaurants is expensive but not tasty

    Nice staff and awesome beach

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    location the beach was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ocean Panorama Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a little tired but will be renovated this year

    location the beach was great sunset bar a long way from our room but very nice good variety of food spa excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Great place to relax and enjoy the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At first, they "upgraded" for free a room with sea view. That room was sloppy, dirty, lack of details, old mattress, so disappointing. But we complained and not only the manager apologized but he gave us a pretty nice room with amazing views of the sea and great service.

    The breakfast buffet is great, the facilities are nice, the private beach, the big swimming pool, the views from my bedroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    As in some reviews the rooms need a bit of a decorative update, but are perfectly adequate. We would have liked more individual dishes of Malaysian cuisine rather than a buffet for a set price.

    Staff at the resort were ALWAYS friendly which is a great plus for the resort. The beach was great, quite and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Laid back, relaxing holiday in beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    would have preferred an evening programme offering soft background music. Piano bar finished at 7pm. Became extremely quiet by 10.00pm Lack of sun umbrellas around pool. Breakfast catered more for Asian guests, lack of Western cuisine.

    Relaxing resort/hotel. Spacious grounds. Very friendly Attentive staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.8
    If you want to be away from the city hassle, it is a nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean Panorama Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Transfers organized to and from the city run only 3 time a day and cost 30 RM. The transfer from and to the airport offered by the hotel is very expensive (120 RM). When I asked to call a cheaper taxi and gave the number, the receptionist refused and said I had to call myself from my room which is chargeable. Better call uber or grab. As rightly mentioned, the beach is spectacular but it is not well maintained: lots of cigarettes and plastic all over (see picture). Also, the hotel needs a serious face-lift. The painting is my bathroom was falling from the walls. Restaurants in the resort are overpriced. Some staff at the reception has very limited English skills. In general, the price does not correspond to the quality of the hotel which is far from being a 5-star hotel. All other hotel experiences in Malasia were way better than Nexus.

    If you want to be away from the city hassle, it is a nice place with a colourful garden. The beach is really beautiful and not crowded. The swimming pool area is nice and clean. The breakfast has lots of options and it is pleasant to take it outside. I liked the Chinese restaurant of the resort. Rooms are big and clean, although very oldish. The staff reacted quickly when I needed to open the safety box.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Brilliant, relaxing, beautiful place to stay with wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is no hotel transfer available, only taxis or Grab

    The rooms are large and have large comfortable beds. The food in all of the restaurants that we ate in was excellent and good value considering this is a high quality resort. The beach is clean and beautiful, a 6km crescent of pale sand, with a safe swimming area and a small selection of watersports available, and there is a friendly beach bar with happy hour from 3-5 that does BOGOF on beer and cocktails, so you can sit on the bar swings or beanbags and watch the sunset with a few cocktails lined up. You can also have a massage in one of the pagodas right by the beach. There are 3 pools with a shallow one for small kids, an over 18s pool, and the other one for all. Both of the larger pools have a swim-up bar selling drinks and ice-creams. However, the jewel in the crown of this hotel is the staff; every member of staff we met was polite and friendly, and they could not do enough to make our holiday special. We were unfortunate enough to have a small gecko fall on to one of the beds; housekeeping arrived and had changed the whole bed linen set within 15 minutes. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff here and they really made our stay a very pleasant experience. The hotel is about 40 minutes from Kota Kinabalu, but the hotels closer in don't have this fantastic beach. We used Grab to book a car to and from the airport, which was cheap, but most of the cars are a modest size so it was tight with 4 of us and luggage, however you can get the hotel to book a taxi at about MR120, but we paid around MR38 for a Grab car and we did not have to wait more than a few minutes each time. We took a Grab in to KK and visited the handicrafts and food market. The food market is right by the fishing boat dock, so the fish and shell fish are as fresh as you can get. You pick what you want, fish, squid, lobster, tiger prawns, chicken etc, and they weigh it, tell you the price and cook it and serve it straight away for you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Exactly what we aren’t looking for !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The F&B options are limited. But since we got a car, it was pretty easy to drive to kk city center to eat. Takes around 40 mins one way. It might be helpful to provide a sign of “jelly fish” on the beach as we had a few bites, but we were told the type of jelly fish is no harm so all good. The resort has a list of daily activities, it will probably be nice if some staff can engage the guests. We tried to sign up two activities but was told not enough people signing up.

    Great area, resorts around by nature parks. Well maintained private beach. Amazing helpful and friendly staff. Very comfortable pool. Good golf facilities. Best option if you need a relaxing holiday. We had very pleasant stay with nexus and extended the original stay from 2nights to 5nights. The staff is doing whatever they can to improve guest satisfication. We will for sure stay here again if we returns.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.7
    Cheap but you might consider other options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionists are nice but they are only doing their job and weren't joyful when serving guests. The room they gave me needed maintenance in different aspects such as electricals.

    The beach area is lovely. The bathroom in the property is the best of it. The food seved is good but can be improved.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Run away to the Beaches of Borneo - You will Never Want to Leave!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Nexus Club Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Property is in need of cosmetic 'facelift' to get ahead of normal wear & tear. Lots of unused space which can be repurposed. Should create 'Departure/Arrival Lounge' with lockers to leave bags for early arrivals or late departure. Should strictly enforce 'No Cell Phone' rules in spa. Very disturbing many folks on devices, beeping and loud, ruined our relaxing spa time, plus it's violation of personal privacy. Nexus lounge should be open all day for access to coffee/tea, not just after 4:30-6. Billing system is antiquated, difficult to understand with bill run 3x and still not correct. Folks were very nice as they tried to provide correct final bill.

    Amazing Nexus Club room, spacious, comfortable, wonderful beach view. Incredible beach cleaned daily and well maintained. Staff very gracious and helpful, especially Vyonnes, Florina and Romario. Many dining choices with mix of cuisine and different vibes based on preferences. Really enjoyed reading Borneo Post each morning at breakfast while sipping delicious coffee by beach surf. Comfortable beach lounge chairs with umbrellas. Nice pool area, centrally located. Good resort for families and couples. About 45 minutes from downtown so away from hustle and bustle of city, but still accessible for shopping excursions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.8
    Beautiful beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor in the room has constantly been dusty, staff in the sunset bar take ages to do everything, food wasn’t good, undercooked and no fresh

    Beautiful beach

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.1
    Relaxing and amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food is average, the place really needs some investment like a new coat of paint and the gym needs upgrading to.

    Staff make the place. The beach was great. Movie night, pool and peaceful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful sunset and good service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean Panorama Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view of the unkempt pond from the room is an eyesore. Would be great if it is fixed quickly. It looks like the outdoors is not well maintained. The pools and the yards could use some upgrade; they are nice to see but not inviting enough to use. The road coming up to the resort too is in a dire need for a re-tarmac.

    The sunset was as scenic as expected. The room service - from ordering to delivery - was super smooth and impressively fast. Checking out was easy. I enjoyed breakfast the most; the food, the view, the super friendly service. Loved the water pressure in the shower, too!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.0
    Needs a major shakeup of hardware, the property and also software in terms of staff numbers & trng
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. No hot water for a shower as the heater was on maintenance can’t figure why but shouldnt the room be taken off the listing for the day 2. Phone was clearly disconnected and we had to connect it to call front desk to report the hot water issue 2. Breakfast was just good to get by 3. The room looked dated, in fact the property looks dated and in need of a gigantic spruce up

    The sprawling piece of real estate next to Nexus beach which is also the bane of the resort as it seems like it does not have enough manpower and even perhaps the funds to maintain the entire property

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.4
    i have to wait for 1 hour to get my room ready (got call to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i have to wait for 1 hour to get my room ready (got call to get my room key from counter at 2.56 pm) because the housekeeping haven't settled eventhough the stated check in time is at 2.pm....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ocean Panorama Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i booking for 3 rooms but one of our room only ready almost 330pm...i have friends drive from Tambunan and want to relax here but they have to wait for their room ready......

    nature location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    Amazing staff, nice beach, well maintained however some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Might be more choices for breakfast with local food, a bit far from anything, but the resort is good by itself so not many reasons to leave the resort

    Amazing staff, nice beach, well maintained however some rooms would need an upgrade, nice location, cool beach bar, a lot of activities for guests and kids, reasonably priced shop on-site, lovely environment

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Love the private beach , can see sky with star !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love the private beach , can see sky with star ! ! Love the room with balcony , room is big , with bathtub , clean , very nice The resort is large and u can call the hotel shuttle to send u to the facility Love the spa , little expensive than the town , but is pretty and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    Great stay, value for money but a hotel that does need upgrading !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Panorama Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are ‘worn’ and need modernising as does the whole hotel but it was value for money and the staff and facilities were great ! The beach outside the hotel was amazing but if you walked either side of the hotel there was a lot of rubbish uncleared from the beach.

    Great resort but needs an update ! Great swimming pools and facilities but the whole hotel needs money spending on it ! The beach is amazing !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.5
    Relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a little dated, food service took quite a long time and maintenance didn’t come to fix a flooded bathroom despite a number of calls. They hotwl is on a beautiful location though and staff were lovely and welcoming.

    The hotel is on a beautiful long stretch of beach. Great value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    6.7
    The beach is absolutely great - very broad, super sand,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Nexus Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The resort is a bit run down and in some places in need of renovation. Rooms are basically OK, large but nothing fancy.

    The beach is absolutely great - very broad, super sand, perfect for kids, safe swimming. The grounds of the hotel are also nice. Ocean view from all rooms. Staff very friendly. The kids loved the monitor lizards roaming the grounds!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    4.6
    Check-in experience was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ocean Panorama Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is very far away from anything. The resort is very rundown, old, with little to no updating. The food and service at the restaurants is very poor quality. The bartender at the pool bar made comments to me that made me feel uncomfortable. The cocktails and other drinks are also very poor quality. When checking out, it was very chaotic and no one seemed to know what was going on regarding my booking the day before for a ride to the airport. For the price of this resort, it is very disappointing. I will not come back and would not recommend it unless they update their facilities and train their staff to do better food/drinks/service.

    Check-in experience was good. Pool area is nice when it’s not so crowded. The private beach is nice when there’s no rubbish being washed up on the beach. The overall grounds of the facility are kept fairly nice and it’s a big area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.5
    Great relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean Panorama Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The food options for local malaysian food were surprisingly limited, and the dinner time opening hours were not great with a 1 year old. We found the breakfast buffet options very limited, and food did not get restocked after 9am (fruit platters empty, muffins run out and nothing offered as an alternative). The western food options (pizzas and pastas) were actually very good, but we really wanted to try more local foods. Seemed to cater for Italian or Chinese cuisines, but not a lot else. The hotel is starting to show its age a bit, probably due a renovation in the next few years. Certainly not a modern 5 star, but it suited us fine.

    The location was perfect for relaxing, and the property is huge so it never felt crowded. The rooms were large and spacious, with a lovely balcony overlooking the sea (perfect at night listening to the waves)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    Friendly front desk staff upon check in and Reservation...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean Panorama Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed sheet with sand and felt like they didn't change it prior our check in. so disgusting! The floor very dirty with a lot sand on it as well.

    Friendly front desk staff upon check in and Reservation department staff Ms Bibi was so caring and helpful too. We loved the beach and swimming pool.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    Love the beach, clean, breezy and soft sand. My kids enjoyed every moments of our stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean Panorama Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast quality somehow is getting worse. Back then (in 2014), Karambunai served one of the best breakfast I have ever tasted.

    I have been there back in 2014, I observed a lot of improvement in term of surrounding cleanliness and facilities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent, comfortable room, good food and surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach has a real problem with plastic trash being continually washed up onto the beach. Nexus try their best with up to 14 people constantly raking and collecting the waste. Soul destroying work for the Nexus ground staff. This seemed to be a problem across Sabah which can only be tackled by government action to stop dumping at sea.

    The breakfast selection was very good and catered for all tastes and the beach bar was a great place to start the day. Nexus staff were very friendly Justin really made us feel welcome. The resort puts a huge amount of effort and resources into keeping the the grounds. The grounds are landscaped to very high standard.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    6.3
    Nice environment next to the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Ocean Panorama Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inside the room - old, need repaint or refurbish. Need more info about the dinning hours like which restaurant is a la carte and which one is buffet etc.

    Nice environment next to the sea.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Amazingly beautiful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Borneo Garden Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi in the room (but we got a router from the hotel, which was great)

    - amazing beach! We had the beach almost to ourselves most of the time even though the hotel was fully booked) - incredibly nice staff (friendly, helpful, professional); special thanks to Billy for the bike ride - great vegetarian and vegan options in some of the restaurants - good gym equipment - comfortable bed -> we keep coming back to this resort

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: