Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of PARKROYAL Penang Resort 5 stars

Batu Ferringhi Beach, 11100 Batu Ferringhi, Malaysia

#5 of 19 hotels in Batu Ferringhi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2184 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My car roof was full of monkey dung and pee as a result of been parked for three days under a tree. I thought it was a good idea to leave it there but clearly it wasn’t. Don’t make the same mistake I did. I think the hotel can give a heads up to customers who drive their own cars.

    Staff were attentive to your needs. Rooms were clean. Overall deco was nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Lanai Suite 331 - captivating
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Lanai Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maintaining on plant/schrub at balcony planter pot Hick up on checking out, front desk asked to call bank by myself to release my money back due to i am using debit card

    The rooms with nice id, good water pressure, the breakfast, the view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    A perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Seafacing Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Nothing

    I loved the way the staff, anyone we passed in the corridor would all smile and greet us. The staff we actually dealt with were all very friendly and very polite and very in touch with our needs. Loved the foyer entertainment.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    We have stayed there a lot and we are happy with the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We found the breakfast to be quite cold. Good selection though and the coffee was a big improvement on last time we were there.

    We have stayed there a lot and we are happy with the renovations however it would have been better if they had rooms with bath tubs.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Fabulous Hotel in Penang Island!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Seafacing Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was great. It's a brand new room and spacious and definitely value for money. Had chance to enjoy the in-room dining, and the food was good, really good. No doubt i ll be here again with family when visiting Penang Island in the future! Good job PARKROYAL Penang Resort, u deserve 5-star rating!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.7
    It’s close to the gardens as well other hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - no swimming because of jelly fish - expensive coast for the tour agent inside the hotel - rooms small compared to the coast - doesn’t like a 5 star hotel , facility is old

    Night market a place beside , breakfast suit middle eastern people ( thanks to mr. Zakaryia). - room service is fast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    RELAXING AND FUN
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a blackout when we arrived and had to wait for almost an hour to check in. Even after checking in, the power was still down. The breakfast range was not as wide as expected. Quite limited though the food was quite good.

    The hammocks, swings and deck chairs placed near the beach provide good relaxation to read a book and enjoy the beauty of nature around. We sat by the beach in the evening and watched the sun set. The hotel is also near to the night market lined outside and close to other food places.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Nice hotel, great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As breakfast is included and many families stay here, it can get a little messy which is not great for couples. And the pool is overrun with kids when it's busy during the day. Didn't like the jet skis... They should really be banned after 6pm to allow people to enjoy the location and sunset in peace... Otherwise it's not very nice... And limit use including only when it's booked! (The people than run the service were just burning the jet skis all evening.)

    Great staff who are friendly and helpful, nice room and well cared for grounds. The swing is such an amazing feature but for people to really enjoy it, might be worth putting a small respectful sign to wait until it's free to use it rather than join people already on it...that way each party gets to enjoy the experience equally. The lobby is a great place to relax in the evening and the live music was really nice. But all in all, it's a great place with great service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely and comfortable stay for family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Seaview One Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None

    Room size is modern, new and fairly large at about 400sf for a family of 4 including 2 young children. Upon entering the room, the hotel has provided the extra bed which can accommodate 2 kids comfortably in place of the day bed/sofa. Breakfast selection is fairly good with fresh juices and good coffee. Lovely. The beach is fairly quiet and it was relaxing to spent time on the beach. The kids love the swimming pool and the water slides too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.7
    The beach is just 100m away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over price. Expected to be more when you spend a lot. Should be rated as 4 stars instead of 5. Would never come back.

    The beach is just 100m away. Warm & friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    Good to be away after busy Raya
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Selection of food for breakfast could be improve, but its still good though.

    Very friendlt staff. Nicely refurbished. Good location to have some activities done.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.7
    Relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Seaview One Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There should have a children pool area so more family oriented. Breakfast food varieties should have more choices.

    Good room size and pull out bed is a plus point.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.7
    Design of the room is Modern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Seafacing Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room with no balcony , not as expected , when i book the room from booking.com there were showing included balcony in the package , and there is no necessarry to pay parking fee with customer staying in the hotel but no staff telling the customer when check in time .

    Design of the room is Modern

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Very comfortable room for family and great place to relax. Pleasant staff with great hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Seaview One Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food need to be replenished timely

    The family room had extra bed and have 2 tv. Bathroom was big and spacious. Shower was excellent. Very cool and comfortable place for family to relax and rest. Kids loved the swimming pools. Food was excellent with authentic Penang dishes Overall we enjoyed so much and definitely will come back again. Thank you so much for the hospitality.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    We had a great time overall ,all the staff made us feel welcome, especially Mr Jagen. Best hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Afternoon high teas were very small, poorly thought out considering its Malaysia. Alcohol, cocktails could be a bit cheaper.

    It was my husbands birthday, they gave us a free upgrade, perfect. Staff were Fantastic, special thank you to hospitality manager, mr Jagen, for making us feel like we were special. Breakfast fantastic. Would definitely book this hotel again. Looking at park Royal in Australia now. Hope it's as good as this one . Thanks Patricia & Billy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    A definitely will go again resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Our 2nd time stay. All staff were polite and greeted us whereever we went. Pool slides were a plus point for the kids. We got free upgrade to sea view rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    Our stay at the Park Royal was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The things that we did not like were due to renovations. The gym was small but a bigger area is being renovated with more equipment. There were no outdoor showers to wash off sand before entering the property but once again they were being installed while we were there.

    The staff were wonderful, treated us like royalty. The childrens areas and facilities were better than expected, and they are building more areas for kids. The most family friendly resort I have seen. Great location with the beach just meters away. The restaurant food was amazing, a new restaurant is opening soon as well. We definitely will be staying there again if visiting Penang again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Relax and quiet place, good for quality time with my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lanai Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kids pool water quality is not clean, the breakfast menu need to improve especially for asian and salad item.

    Relax and quiet place, good for quality time with my children. Love the ambience and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    High quality hotel by the beach with friendly, attentive staff and good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Building work by the swimming pool and gym, but not too disruptive. Quite expensive room rate.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast with plenty of choice. Comfortable room with great sea view. Large, clean swimming pool with good facilities. Free on-site parking. A comfortable and convenient base from which to explore Penang.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location for the beach and night market.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for the beach and night market. They are currently renovating the poolside bars which means there is no happy hour / place to sit and have a drink outside. However they do have poolside service. Plenty of places to sit and relax and very chilled atmosphere. The Wi-Fi worked even in the loungers overlooking the beach so a bonus if you have work to do.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Excellent as always - will stay again if ever we go back to Penang.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A longer Stay!

    It is a beautiful hotel with a wonderful garden setting around the pool area. Staff were extremely helpful friendly and the breakfast buffer was an excellent choice and varied for all nationalities. I cannot fault this hotel - there was a warm welcome and drinks, and any question was answered quickly, efficiently, helpfully.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Amazing short weekend at a beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much other than balcony lights were dim and tv control was low in battery.

    Hotel upgraded us to a suite. Sent us free cupcakes at midnight for my moms birthday as Per requested for free. Amazing people and beautifully newly renovated rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    One happy and satisfied guest!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great for family with kids. Very spacious playland room for younger kids, pool with slides and also their beach is very clean. Couldn’t ask for more. Thank you Park Royal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    3.8
    Better to be “4-Star” Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Seafacing Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It should be rated as 4 star hotel, not clean room, a lot of bugs, noisy, staff at check-in was not kind and friendly and did not explain about the facilities and breakfast, only asked for money! Also, at the breakfast, we were waiting for long time to get a seat and was not organized line!

    Only the location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.1
    Storefront and food was ok, but take time when something...
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The very bad thing which was not expected from 4 or 5 star hotel, when arrived at late veining I enter the room ... the toilet was not clean ... I call the staff directly and take a 30 min time to change the room. 2nd shocking ... that the staff initially said, we will send someone to clean ! how come ... even NO sorry about this big mistake ... *** This is totally not accepted even from 1* hotel. But at the end my stay was very fine :)

    Storefront and food was ok, but take time when something finished to refill !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.3
    value for money is good, especially if travel as family; don't recommend the lani suite though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lanai Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Facility: 1, we booked the Lani suite with sea view. But the suite is basically two awkward shaped regular rooms joint together and don't have much view. View from bed room is limited by the size of the window, and half the view from balcony of the living room is blocked by giant wall of other rooms, really a mood killer. Luckily they got lot of activities downstairs. 2, in general, you can see the facility is bit of aged but the hotel did good job to maintain it. Service: Overall good, a few complaints: 1, we arrived 2 hrs before the check-in time, but still get a low floor. 2, we used the elevator close to the in-door play ground for the kid. the elevator is very small already, but still some hotel staff couldn't just wait for us to go first but bring luggage cart into the elevator, make people inside a bit uncomfortable.

    many things to do for the 3 yrs old.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.3
    Amazing surroundings/ grounds/ views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the ladies, probably manager at breakfast, wasn’t very polite. The other staff were all nice!

    Amazing surroundings/ grounds/ views! Poolside and beach! Complimentary cookies! Breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Will go back to this hotel?? YES.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sorry, please read the above for this questionnaire

    The restaurant food was rather disappointing as for example, vindaloo is supposed to be hot but sweet! The breakfast was badly organised, have to wait for a long time to fill the tray, have to ask to be served at the noodle counter not only once, but all four days when we were there. I wasn't the only one, long que and was ignored by the nearby staffs, just looked away, should called for help but NO But, overall we are happy with the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    - Very clean, excellent food and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The big slide was broken and therefore unavailable for our entire stay except the first day

    - Very clean, excellent food and service - everything was convenient - night market right outside - family and child friendly - loved the nightly band and singers Highly recommend and will definitely return

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    Such beautiful room that you have to drag yourself out
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in staff could be friendlier

    Everything, from the newly revamp big room, to the breakfast spread, to the lobby, to kids playroom, to the pool, and of course beachfront...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    it was a memorable stay for me and family..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Everything was amazing..

    The spread of food for breakfast is fantastic. I love the strategic location of the hotel. sunset view was beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.3
    Love the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs attitude and friendliness. Not well versed with information. Also, very rude lifeguard. Misleading information on the barbeque dinner at Uncle Zack by the Beach. Very old gym.

    I love how the refurbished rooms look like now. Really beautiful. Thankful for Mr Azmi, not sure of his position but he may be the manager of the hotel for assisting me if not for the staffs not being well versed on the buffet information.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    Great stay with ever so helpful people at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would like slightly longer hours for the live band performance, say to 1 am.

    Breakfast offered a good range of local fare which provided opportunity to sample local Penang food. The staff at reception are great at listening to any problems you have at check-in and usually managed to solve them (from my personal experience and also observation of other guests at check-in).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Very high class hotel for paradisiac holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing except the perhaps excessive cost of one coca-cola at the swimming pool side and the slightly too important noise and pollution from motorable see activities

    Great staff, zen design and high class paradisiac atmosphere from the beach to the bed via swimming pools and their toboggan, lounge and its concerts, restaurants and various relaxing activities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Great service
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and lunch were good but it would be nice to have variety every day.

    Excellent services by all staff. Very friendly and accommodating to all our requests. Kids friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.7
    Expected a little more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Seaview One Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is small and the outdoor area is ageing, the beach bar was closed for renovation which was a big disappointment, they kept doing construction work all around the hotel without lowering down the room rate...all over the weekend. It fell like a waste of money. The breakfast was nice but below expectations (we came down at 10am not much was left).

    The reception, the welcome drink, the redesigned areas are beautiful! The family room is spacious and was absolutely perfect!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.9
    The hotel was lovely, if only they had mentioned they would...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was lovely, if only they had mentioned they would have been doing improvements at the time of our stay it wouldn’t have been as disappointing when there was work noise around the pool and outside the room everyday

    The hotel was lovely, if only they had mentioned they would have been doing improvements at the time of our stay it wouldn’t have been as disappointing when there was work noise around the pool and outside the room everyday

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Great stay! Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We got special rate so our room was not sea view and windows were sealed, we used AC so that was ok.

    Very good atmosphere in the hotel: nice and friendly staff. Breakfast was really good with plenty of freshly squeezed juices and good selection of food. Comfortable and clean room. Was really nice to get cookies in the afternoon to the room :).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    10
    Excellent, comfortable relaxing stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our first visit back to Penang since 2002 and the Parkroyal did not let us down. Very well kept comfortable hotel. Good choice at Breakfast and ideally located. Nothing not to love about the hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing and enjoyable 6 night stay would definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t really swim in the sea this was due to it being murky and the worry of jelly fish. However the beach it self was nice.

    The room was very spacious and had a great view of the pool and ocean. Breakfast was great with lots of choice and the staff were very attentive. Good location being very handy for the night market which started right outside the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.5
    Always a loyal guest at parkroyal. Stayed at other hotels,but always end back in Parkroyal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room facing city did not already have a balcony, but at least provide a dryer line to hang wet suits in the bathroom as it is a resort hotel. So we had to ask for hangers to hang our wet suits all over in the room. Connecting room doors when open makes the entrance to the room doorway extremely narrow. No locks in the bathroom door makes it no privacy for parents with kids At the refurbished coffee house, the floor step at door exiting onto the outdoor dining should be printed with a caution tape.

    Friendly and attentive staff. Refurbished hotel and facilities Kids always love the swimming pool and slides. Pity that the yellow slide was out of order while we were there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.9
    Beachfront comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having happy hour or drink specials at the pool bar would have made this hotel much better. Surrounding hotels have drink specials. Cinnamon (the hotel resto) dinner menu was the same as the room service menu and was limited if you didnt get the nightly dinner buffet. Service was also not great at dinner. I ate ala cart the first night and everything was tip top. A water bowl with citrus was provided for me to wash my hands at the table. The last night? I was ignored for almost the entire meal.

    Location and cleanliness of the rooms were amazing. Balcony view of thr water also made for great sunset viewing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.8
    Average stay - better to pay a bit more and go with Shangri-la. Not at all competitive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pool areas - Slides closed,Pool Area Umbrella's and space to sit limited Food - Average choices and expensive - 5 star prices for 4 star hotel. Too expensive - Forces people to go outside as the difference is too much Kids / Adult pool activities - Zero....

    Breakfast and size of rooms was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.5
    Great location, great for kids and young families
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lanai Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym was basic, the umbrellas/ shade was not sufficient for the deck chairs offered, room service was slow and general food quality was average.

    Location and staff and the view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    6.3
    The pool and beach area were nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the main road that the hotel overlooks to one side. If you have not paid the extra for a seaview you will overlook this noisy main road. The food, drinks etc are also expensive.

    The pool and beach area were nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    Nice cosy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Seaview One Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far from city area. Will be good for those looking for relaxing experience as the place is quiet and serene.

    Nice cosy room. Good breakfast and the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Superb breakfast system and arrangement
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) Very big king size bed. 2) The treatment and the system for the breakfast was superb. No need to queue and no pressure asking about numbers of family members.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    Repeated stay can be considered. Quite enjoyable but NOT fantastic, if to match with the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lanai Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unpleasant experience during 1st night dinner at Uncle Zack by the beach. Unsystematic, slow table service, offered buffet appetizers & desserts don’t do the price$ justice. Even the waiter didn’t know what fish (salmon or garoupa) which he was serving to the table. Obvious lack of manpower to serve the fully booked venue. Appetizers/ desserts, soup & salad bar didn’t get replenished efficiently once ran out due to the crowd. My 2 young boys had to endure hunger for almost an hour (at outdoor) before the main course arrived, which by then all of us were already almost ‘full’ by gulping down those appetizers & salads & bowls of soup. Won’t return to this eatery again in future. Also,Koko-Nut Kid’s Club quality can be improved further a lot more, in order to attract young guests to stay longer inside (playing). Play stuff for kids inside said room seriously require an upgrade & cleaniness indoor/ outdoor of the club to be maintained more proper. The actual place doesn’t tally with the picture potrayed in the hotel website advert - apparently a huge dissapointment.

    Nice ample size & clean room with great sea-facing view. Lanai room is comfy & well equipped with whatever a small family needs. Particularly loved the ‘mini’ coffee espresso machine provided in the room. Buffet breakfast at Cinnamon was satisfactory & hotel location is great. Overall, observed that hotel staff is customer oriented & room service is top notch (helpful & efficient). Adding on - Guan Guan restaurant nearby is recommended for nice cooked food, as alternative than hotel food, if one desires. By the way, the hotel pools & beach out-front are nice (plus points) as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Staying in Park Royal really was a value for money spent .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu needs to be worked upon. Choices are not many. Some items for example veg vindaloo was not very good. If was too sour.

    The property is newly renovated. Everything looks modern and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    Great Time at the Parkroyal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were smokers at the buffet. And near the pool. Not very family friendly. Even though they were sitting outside during breakfast, the smoke still entered the hall. There were children everywhere being exposed to the second hand smoke by these inconsiderate guests.

    Check-in was wonderful but the check out took some time. The pool was great! My 3 yo had a great time. There is some renovations going on with paintings and some cordons in place. The gym was well equipped. The buffet had a delicious variety with the mains changed the two days we were there. The beds were comfortable and room clean. Some noisy neighbors did not spoil the trip. The beach was clean but busy, we spent most of our time in the pool. A Starbucks just a few meters away accessible from the beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Awesome stay ! Staff that’s ever willing to assist
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have a wider range of fruit

    Good facilities Lovely friendly staff Loved the fresh juice at breakfast Great location Cleanliness

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.3
    The hotel was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were abit slow and rude at times.

    The hotel was great. Breakfast was good. Rooms were nice and big. Facilities were good too. The entire place has a clean refreshing look to it. The place was great value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.1
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym was being renovated while I was there. Wish I knew before I booked but it’s not the hotel’s fault anyway.

    The kids zone is nice. Buffet breakfast is lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.3
    OK but avoid school holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It was school holidays, apparently, so the place was swarming with large families with many small children. Normally fine, but not when they want to play football and have running races in the corridors at 1:30 a.m. Security staff obviously under orders not to intervene even when the place is full of cctv. Non smoking policy not enforced as the corridor and thus our room smelled of stale tobacco. Not the hotel's fault I know but these things should be made clear on check-in. There's only one climate controlled area where you can eat and drink. The hotel really needs a bar with a/c.

    Lounge bar staff terrific, always pleasant and helpful. Concierge good. Breakfast OK. Place was spotlessly clean everywhere. Housekeeping staff efficient and unobtrusive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Perfect stay by the beach and ideal for relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They could add a little bit more variety on the breakfast menu.

    The beds were quite comfortable, rooms very clean and the receptionist very polite and nice. Asked us to sit by the longue with refreshments and brought the checkin to us rather than us waiting at the checkin desk. Ideal location and surely worth for the money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.0
    Great Resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was exceptionally warm and it was too hot to sit on the balcony when we stayed in mid March. Restaurant was a bit expensive.

    Top notch resort, well maintained, excellent staff. Lots of restaurants a short walk away. On the 101 bus route which takes you to several attractions such as the national park, spice garden, butterfly farm and amusement park. Relatively quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    the location is strategic, walking distance to batu...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    the location is strategic, walking distance to batu feringghi night market, plenty of food stalls, the resort is facing beach..lots of water sport activities..staff are friendly & helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    The room was newly renovated and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no power point in the bathroom for the hairdryer, and no mirror near the power point in the room to dry your hair.

    The room was newly renovated and very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was okay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    A fantastic hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was recently upgraded. So all the decors were relatively new. The staff were super friendly which made the stay more enjoyable. I'll recommend this hotel anytime.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Short getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast variety was disappointed. First time queing in a 5 Star hotel for breakfast. Ask for tea spoon n they told me no more.

    The rooms are new & clean. Nice view from the balcony

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed our stay there and were especially happy about there being a playroom for kids!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lunch menu at Cinnamon had some entrees labeled as spicy and others not. I do not eat spicy food so ordered one that was not spicy -- fished baked in coconut leaf, while my husband ordered something spicy for himself. They turned out to be equally - quite - spicy, and I could hardly eat my dish. I checked with the staff and was told to maybe use my iced drink to take the heat off. I think the lady intended well but was just not trained well to handle this situation. Hmm... Anyhow, we were in a rush to leave for the airport that day so I just left on an empty stomach. That was the only time we felt disappointed by the hotel. Another small thing was that there was only a shower -- although a spacious one, and not a bath tub in our bathroom. With a one-year old that really added difficulties to washing her for us.

    Most parts of the hotel seemed to have been remodeled recently. We loved the style and feel of it, especially in our room and the lounge in the lobby. It was "tropical, relaxed but cool," and put us in perfect vacation mood as soon as we arrived. The playroom, which was the reason that we chose this hotel over another, was really great to have for our one year old. It could use some updating, but the fact that it was there, that it was spacious and there were things like the ball room, little slides, a giant Connect Four, a quiet room for the little ones, and that it was free for guests to bring their children in to use, was wonderful. We spent at least half an hour there with our little one every day during our stay. The waterslides were also a bonus. The more faster one of the two was really excellent. My husband and I enjoyed it a lot!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.9
    Staff are friendly in general.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was smaller compared to the picture. A bit disappointed. Not value for money in my opinion.

    Staff are friendly in general. Good breakfast with nice sea breeze in the morning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Thank you Parkroyal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Seaview One Bedroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    need more lighting at the barbecue buffet dinner food serving area .

    All the staff were very friendly . It’s a very comfortable stay for my family ; I travel with 9yr old child and 3 elderly . The room were spacious , food were great and it’s a very clean hotel . Will surely return to PENANG and stay with them

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    5.8
    Room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Seaview One Bedroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - Kids club is run down, many toys are broken - Very slow restaurant service - Pool closes already at 7pm

    - Some of the staff was very friendly in particular at the entrance

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel should provide packages for it's guest to have special discount on watersports. The discount must be better than other vendors. Maybe vouchers which can be used with all surrounding vendors to get best deal.

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.1
    We had a great stay, facilities in the rooms could do with an upgrade and maintainence of generally
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was undergoing some refurbishment when we stayed. We were first given a room at the corner of the hotel with a construction site as a view (not impressed) I believe this was the old side part of the property. The staff did not advise of a turn down service which was a bit shocking as having checked in at 3pm you wouldn’t expect the cleaning service back in the room - this wasn’t particularly handled properly from my opinion. I am not one to complain but accepted the explanation and did not let it affect my stay.

    The hotel is spacious and offers a satisfactory service in certain areas. Renuka who checked us was very understanding and helpful once we expressed our interest in being offered a different room. The new room we moved to was nicer, had a balcony and even better robes than those in the previous. The view was not the best but it felt like home for the few days. Also Callie & Lizzie in the spa were amazing - those foot massages were worth it after walking around.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.8
    The staff where fantastic always happy nothing was to much trouble . A credit to the hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much information on what restraints where open times .Came back into hotel 10 pm would have liked to sit outside for a drink it was always closed .We where told later by a guest you could get 20 per off drinks if you gave your room number we where paying cash so did not get any discount .

    Room was nice very clean lots of soft white towels .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    5.0
    Disappointed with room cleanliness and size, but the outside space was pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Do not bother booking a premiere room with sea view, it's an overpriced standard room, no extras included and not sound proofed like the standard rooms. Save your money, everyone eats at the same restaurant for breakfast anyway. Hotel grounds and pool area well maintained and pleasant.

    The location is good, access to night market and food courts, some low key restaurants near by,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful modern rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only downfall was the beach bbq Buffett hosted on a Wednesday and Friday. It needs to be looked into as it just doesn't work.. Unless you like to wait in a line with a plate of raw food in your hand for an hour. We gave up in the end and ate in the main restaurant which was delious!

    Beautiful modern rooms. Lovely decor. The staff went out of their way for you. We would stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.5
    The staff were really good, i stayed at alot of hotels in my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Alot of speedboats and waterskis around the beach, a bit noisy but its off the hotels property so i guess theres not alot to be done about it. The cool bananas restaurant seemed to have some problems during our stay, sometimes when we would go there it took a really long time to get our dishes.

    The staff were really good, i stayed at alot of hotels in my life and i have to say that i never felt so well treated and welcomed before. I noticed they really did their upmost to take care of their guests. The pool area was really nice, and there were plenty of space.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    6.7
    Perfect place if you are looking for relaxing and not a city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t have a very pleasant check in experience. I booked 2 twin rooms on booking.com and when I arrived 4 times the staff tried to give me upgraded deluxe double rooms. I explained my situation that I didn’t want to share a double bed with my sister but they were insistent on trying to give me a double room. Finally after about 30 minutes I got 1 twin room which I requested all along. It didn’t start my trip of on a good note. There was no apology for the mix up and no gesture from them for the inconvenience.

    The pool was great, it had enough loungers to service the size of the hotel. The free flavored water that was available by the pool was the first time I have seen that offered.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    Overall is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The service is not as good as HRock and breakfast served is no longer as good as compare to my last trip here. We are trying to order some drink around 9.30pm unfortunately this order being push from lounge to swimming pool bar and push it back to lounge again. Beverage menu given by lounge at last and trying to confirm order but Lounge get us to order from Cinnamon. No joke, this is really a bad one as we as customer need to walk in and out so many times just to order 5 cups of juices. Disappointing! The range of breakfast served seems lesser but the croissant is really good!

    The bed is extra comfy!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.9
    Parkroyal family holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could have been cleaned more thoroughly. Wooden planks on balcony were loose. For a 5 star hotel the staff could havr more attention to detail

    Great decor, large room, good location, nice pool

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.2
    Gorgeous pool with great area for children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Seaview One Bedroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The family room only had one towel hook

    Gorgeous pool with great area for children. We spent hours playing water volleyball, other ball games and going on the slides. The breakfast was excellent and the staff were always super friendly, courteous and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    6.7
    We do enjoy our stay with my family becuase they are small seaside and pool make their days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lanai Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Food & No computer game for 16 year person, he seem boring this whole trip

    I would like to see much improve on foods provide in B/F and luch or dinner

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse PARKROYAL Penang Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: