Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Promenade Hotel Kota Kinabalu 4 stars

No. 4 Lorong Api-Api 3, Api-Api Centre, 88000 Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia

#62 of 151 hotels in Kota Kinabalu

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1095 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    8.3
    Great location for accessing the waterfront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was caught out by breakfast finishing at 10:00 which should be made clear when booking. Considering guests are not required to check out until noon, I would expect breakfast to extend to at least 10:30 (as it did in the majority of hotels I've stayed at).

    Great location for accessing the waterfront. Comfortable and spacious rooms.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    8.3
    Love the bed and the ambience of the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had trouble getting a room with double bed when I arrived. Slept in a twin room on the first night and was moved to a double room (and got upgraded to the club level) the next day! I would advise people to call ahead to confirm your preference before arriving.

    Love the bed and the ambience of the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    7.5
    Nice
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have booked for 2 person, open check in staf told me breakfast for 1 person only. Without check again my booking, i just paid breakfast for my partner with add on price rm50. I have sent email and ask again about my booking. The property said my booking is for 2 person . Then what the solution? Can i have been refund or just let it be?.. Toothbrush also for 1 person.. But towels and bath robe for 2 person. Feel bad to my partner for that . Maybe it just been that way..

    Breakfast was really nice.. Many choice. Strategic place.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful stay. Safe area. Convenient access to most places.
    • Couple
    • Promenade Superior Room with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar tender at the club floor on our first night was quite rude. My drinks came 30 minutes after I’ve ordered. And instead of apologizing, he made an excuse that there “were many people ordering.” It took him three minutes to make the drink. Why didn’t he do it earlier?

    This is our second time to stay here. We chose the Club floor because we like The privacy. The food is good, selection and variety is good too. Value for money. The wait staff at the club floor were accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    Suits only for Chinese people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Promenade Superior Suite with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact the hotel was based on Chinese people and so was the food.

    The whole hotel was based on Chinese race and so was the food so instead of staying 10 nights. We stayed only 2 as we already paid for it then we changed hotel to Hyatt Regency.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Excellent Service, Comfortable Stay and Very Courteous Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Since 10th and 11th Sept were public holidays, the closing time for the buffet breakfast should have been extended to 10.30am instead of 10.00am.

    The room was very cosy and confortable and the staff very helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.3
    a lovely comfortable hotel with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Promenade Superior Room with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the breakfast selection was wide and varied but a little disappointing if you're like me and only want European Breakfasts (the juices were cordials, no bacon, no cheese etc).

    paying a bit more for the executive floor was really well worth it. the free cocktails at sunset were a great bonus. The pool was great but could do with more sun loungers.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    overall , this is a value for money business hotel. i WILL COME BACK WITH MY TEAM.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Promenade Superior Room with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the varieties of breakfast in executive floor is not so impressive. can be better.

    so far overall experience was good. The executive floor services is good with the evening tea break. keep this .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.0
    Bell service.
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel did not provide toilet roll when roll finished. No choice but to replenished from lobby restroom :(

    Bell service. Very accommodating, 10/10. House keeping 9/10

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.8
    No longer the good quality value for money it used to be so probably wont be back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Renovations only a couple of years old but already carpet dirty and sticky. Water (I hope) leak above bathroom. Given an adjoining room and sound from other room came right through the doors.

    Location - close to shops.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    quite, comfy, clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Promenade Deluxe Room with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    As we arrived late we didn't get to use any of the facilities that comes with club floor rooms.

    Club floor check in, but would better if there is a sign at lobby to inform us to go straight to level 11.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.1
    Just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen staff do their best at breakfast time but get overwhelmed with the number of guests. Short sheets in the bed made uncomfortable on some days. Our first room stank of mold, the safe and fridge didn't work and the ac was set to freezing and could not be changed. When we went to the desk they were not surprised or even questioned it, suggesting they knew there was problems in the room. This is not something you expect for the price that you paid. We changed rooms and it was better, but not good value for the money.

    The pool is great and the kitchen staff do their best!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.3
    Very well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Promenade Deluxe Room with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Staff is not friendly and not efficient. - At the executive club, they are unable to help me scan a document, they are closing the breakfast before the time, they are not willing to accommodate any request and mostly not friendly - The way to the swimming pool is a joke : go down to 1st floor, go through all the floor to find the right area, then go down the run down emergency stairs, then go through the restaurant barbecue area, then get to the pool, which is located beside the main boulevard and sewage, which is noisy and smelly. - the pool looks 25m on the pictures and it’s barely 13m - the entire building is ran down and I efficiently managed - the food at dynasty restaurant is below average for Chinese food (where I lived many years) - the mojito served at the 11th floor lounge at sunset was really bad All in all this hotel has a lot of potential but is poorly managed. Staff is inefficient, unhelpful, swimming pool is dirty and small near the road, and the restaurants and bars employ people without experience, hence food and drinks are not good. It is a shame if you consider the price and the great location.

    Very well located There is a nice 11th floor tiny terrace to take a cocktail in front of sunset if you stay in executive floors The view from seaview rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel for the price in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was extremely busy when we went down for breakfast and they were a little slow to top things up.

    Great location! Easy to get around on foot from this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    My stay in Promenade Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Promenade Superior Room with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Certain facilities are old & degraded, for example the gym centre at level one. In addition to that, certain junior staffs are not sure how to serve customer, for example, I was invited to join a sunset cocktail, but after I presented my invitation card, I was just left alone & nobody come & serve me.

    Good location to assess free room WIFI, public transportation, shopping malls, variety of food choices & seaside viewing (sunset).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Fabulous People - Fabulous Sunsets
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, warm and welcoming staff makes you feel special. Loved my room on The Promenade Floor and especially the evening lounge offerings that were delicious! Sunset views were simply amazing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.8
    Did not receive the right hospitality as should from the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff not very friendly and rude until they notice I’m local Malaysian. The room wallpaper peeling off every where and the room sofa also peeling off all over.

    The view from the room, the friendly bellboy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet, although a large variety of food which was quite good, the food that should have been hot like eggs, sausages, noodles and hash browns or potato, they were barely warm. Liquor prices in bar highly overpriced.

    Clean room. Comfortable bed. Good wifi. Good AC. Walking distance to many restaurants, shopping etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    5.0
    very bad..remind me of my boarding life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Promenade Superior Suite with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    * It was like staying in a boarding, must clean own room else will be fine RM500. We stayed 2 days no one came to clean room. So we cleaned and makeup our room at checkout to avoid 500 rm. * Misguiding and cheating people by telling that mini bar is free though at check out they charged hifty amount 13 RM per drink it was crazy. * AC controler were not working and we want room temperature to be around 26. But it was 18 all the time. * Checkout staff were rude. All above i am just sharing. Although hotel managment wont give a damn coz it was packed with asian tourists. If yoy wana travel worry free with peace of mind. Please do book this hotel. U were end up paying alot in hidden fees.

    Modern room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    5.8
    Ok
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty and wallpaper peeling off. Was obviously once a lovely hotel that has been neglected

    Old and Jaded needs a good spring clean Windows were filthy and carpet in room horrible Safe didn't work and wouldn't stay there again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Promenade Deluxe Room with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 11 nights

    minor item - having to pay to park car - even though it was only Rm 4 - it should be free for guests

    Excellent location, great sunset views from the promenade lounge, very friendly and helpful staff rooms large and very clean, good choices for breakfast - would highly recommend this hotel to anyone

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.1
    The room is nice & they provide a taxi / shuttle bus...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I went there on Ramadhan month, the hotel provide sahur time starting from 12am to 4am, but unfortunately the food was not properly served & the choices are far less than breakfast menu. Not even nasi lemak or cereal/milk being provided. And when i checked in, desk officer are not friendly & less welcoming. For a 4 star hotel, its disappointment

    The room is nice & they provide a taxi / shuttle bus to airport for 24 hours

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.0
    Very brief overnight stay as our flight onwards was the following day. Staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very busy, not a very relaxing start to the day. Choice of tea at breakfast, I only drink Green Tea and was surprised it wasn't on offer.

    The meal in the evening was lovely, we were quite late and the only one's eating but we were well looked after.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.4
    The hotel is well located near of the sea promenade.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service is bad, the food is really average, quality of the product. The room is not clean, the wifi is no stable. Maintenance need to be revised, the water flush not working, the shower toilet broken the weigh balance not working seems that nobody control

    The hotel is well located near of the sea promenade. The staff is very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.5
    Strategy location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet bowl has a little problem when flushing. Even after the technician has try to fix it, but after a day use, the same issue appeared.

    Strategy location. Easy to access with Grab service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.7
    The bed was very comfortable and the shower was also very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on a smoking floor as there were no other rooms available on non smoking floors. The shower power was excellent but it leaked quite a lot

    The bed was very comfortable and the shower was also very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable room and good breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Good breakfast! Delicious foods and lots of varieties. The room is comfortable and clean. Location is just in front of oceanus shopping mall - hardrock cafe KK is there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location for KK centre and bars
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel didn't have enough double beds as I had requested. Breakfast ran out of many items by 0930

    Great location near to Waterfront. Very helpful staff. Nice views from room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Convenient location, lots of restaurants close by, walkable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quite dusty in the room especially the deco above the bed. A bit disappointed. The assistant of the tour agency in the lobby was very nice. However, the tour to Kota Belud was not good. I don't recommend that.

    Convenient location, lots of restaurants close by, walkable distance to jetty and shopping malls as well. Breakfast was okay. Check-in and out was smooth and the staff was very nice. The gym is quite old but the facilities are perfectly adequate for our needs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.9
    Overall, my stay at the hotel is lovely...i didn’t regret changing from Hilton KK to Promenade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Promenade Superior Room with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was put on the 10th floor instead of the executive floor which is located on the 11th floor which I don’t know for what reason. I do not have any complaints about my room on the 10th floor but only the inconvenience to go up using the lift for my breakfast & high tea at the club lounge on the 11th Floor. I think the lifts in Promenade Hotel need upgrading!

    I like the fact that i can have my breakfast at the club lounge & not queuing up for food at the hotel’s restaurant & i love the location of the hotel. In addition, the group singing at hotel lounge is awesome...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.9
    Location, cleanliness, club floor
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Promenade Superior Suite with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A broken water outlet was leaking badly. Informed the maintenance & front desk but it wasnt fixed. Had to endure watery floor after every usage of the tub/shower

    Location, cleanliness, club floor

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    5.0
    Far below expectation of a four starred hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room is hardly clean, there is drinking straw on the floor, there was no tissue paper available (an empty box was found), 2 of the lamps were flickering/out of order, the ‘mirror light’ and bathroom light is hardly bright enough for the shower cubicle. I am not sure if this is just one atypical experience. We only stayed overnight after climbing Mt KK and too tired to call the front desk to fix all the problems or change room.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Love the place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    The location is vey attractive. Convenient place, close to business centre including food outlets. It's a walking distance only. The hotels facilities are great and most importantly the kindness and welcoming staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    6.7
    I was happy Wien i moved
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Promenade Deluxe Room with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 21 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool very inconvenient 26 Steps down and 26 up no umbrela beach chairs very old and dirty no mattreas very hard round the pool the tiles brocken must be complectly renovate

    The panorama fro the terase and sunset

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.3
    Good business hotel with excellent location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilets on the 1st floor needs more regular upkeep, expecially when there are 4 seminars / functions going on at once. By mid-afternoon it was downright filthy.

    10 minutes from the airport, without traffic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    6.7
    Overall, room layout, breakfast and pool is okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lift is a bit clunky. My kids nearly stuck between the door couple of time. I request for non-smoking room, but the room is not ready even though at 2 pm. The receptionist feedback is also not good. End up in the smoking room. There is few stain can be clearly seen on the carpet in the room.

    Overall, room layout, breakfast and pool is okay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.8
    with polite, friendly, reliable and trustworthy staff - this is a place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Promenade Deluxe Room with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Polite, friendly, reliable and trustworthy staff - thank you housekeeping staff for keeping the rings safe, got them back on return from Mt Kinabalu climb. 2. No hassle to be transported to other apartment using hotel transport service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The suite was unfortunately very shabby with stains on the carpet and the sofa was very worn.

    We had an upgrade to a suite overlooking the sea which was a surprise. The breakfast was very good and when we left early they organised a packed breakfast for us to collect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    5.4
    It could have been a better stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed at junior suite 3rd floor. The room was not clean when we check in. Stains on walls & floors from previous guest still present. Also preferred non smoking room but was given a room on the smoking floor. The layout of my room & the view was nice. The parking was secured but smell from the leaking pipes. For guest, why we need to pay everytime we park our car. It shud be free or just one time pay. Breakfast just okay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    3.3
    Hotel need an urgent attention on their customer understanding and staff servicing skills
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff lack of servicing skills, basic smiles were not there. Housekeeping didnt replenish toilettaries and didnr even change the bed sheets nor pillow case for those 6 days that i stayed with the hotel!

    Strstegic location and close to malls, traditional markets and restaurants. Bell boy and doorman were good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    AMAZING PLACE
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy.. since my room is located near loading room or store.. also i can still hear sound from the neighbour room.. kindly make improvement on this. Thank you

    Its VERYYYYY COMFORTABLE PLACE TO STAYY.. it has a very comfy pillow.. very clean.. so cozy.. the staff is so helpful.. I rate 10/10..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.6
    The fittings and decor of the rooms was better than image...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No house keeping on 4th day.

    The fittings and decor of the rooms was better than image created in reception areas. The Lobby and Reception area are 3* whereas the rooms are 4*

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    5.8
    Our first stay experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Promenade Deluxe Room with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel lift is a scary experience. Buttons not working properly and landing is not smooth. Not appetizing Hotel breakfast buffet can be skipped any time. Plates piled up on the table are not cleared fast enough by staff either.

    Location near the newest Imago mall in town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.1
    good , nice and worth the money spent
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighbors noisy

    Located in the center of kota kinabalu ,near to shopping mall and food stalls at anjumg senja, just perfect to taste the different types of local delicacies

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.5
    Room size was good for city hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room size was good for city hotel. Location walking distance to main areas. Breakfast was busy given the guests but managed well and with a good range for items. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    6.3
    The price is reasonable and the location is Great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facilities is a little old and the carpet has some distinct odor.

    I like is this is in the center of town area. Walking distance to most of the food and shopping area

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    must visit
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything is good. nothing bad. seafood taste good. nothing disappointing. very good place for business meeting. good place for tourist/ holidays. good places for family leisure holidays. the seas are clean

    promenade hotel is suitable for bisnis traveler

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.8
    The sunset cocktail up on the roof was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Promenade Superior Room with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cups in our room had unwashed coffee stain in it, looked like whoever cleaned the room merely wiped down the cups instead of washing it.

    The sunset cocktail up on the roof was nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.1
    Its good staying at the hotel.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no cartoon channel for my kids to watch. It should have 1 or 2 channel for Kids

    Its good staying at the hotel. Most of the staff are all friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    5.0
    Will consider to return to promenade.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My booking requirements were all neglected. Requested room near lift, u gave me far from lift. Requested for double bed..u gave me two single be. The room ventilation so bad. In booking stated single pax but in invoice u put 2 pax. Breakfast- tables were not cleaned immediately.

    Location -Convenient to find food

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    8.3
    Generally a positive stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The comments from the man in the bar about ordering a cocktail. Did not go back there!!

    It was quite central. the pool was good and the breakfast buffet kept me going all day!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.2
    very helpful and attentive staff and great hotel location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we are most happy to have the personal attention of the manager Mr Simile. He was very friendly and took action on our complaint. He upgraded our rooms when we complained one of our room smelled badly of cigarette while the second room aircon pipe leaked and soiled our dresses. staffs at the cafe are helpful and attentive. i love the hotel location as early morning, i could walk to the river side to observe the beginning of a new day in KK.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    7.5
    Not bad
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I donated four ringgit every time (in a single day) l entered your parking premise.

    Location is ideal, close to shopping complex, food outlet, golf course etc

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    Strategic location in heart of Kota Kinabalu and the...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cleanliness and food quality at cafe need to have some improvement to attract more visitors.

    Strategic location in heart of Kota Kinabalu and the facilities offered are great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    2.5
    Had to downgrade my room as level 11 was a non smoking level.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Promenade Superior Suite with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to downgrade my room as level 11 was a non smoking level. Reception dis not make any effort to accomodate as the main reason was all booking was made thru booking.com.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    6.7
    we managed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    asked for lights to be repaired in our room failed to happen during our stay . Breakfast was a shambles to many people

    central to shoping the poolwas good , good size room with view

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing stay and the breakfast is always delicious!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lobby was very crowded when I came and no one is guiding the guest.

    I had stayed twice in this hotel and it's by far great and the view of the sea is best. The aircon is really cold. Will come back again soon!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    5.4
    The hotel/booking.com should confirm the details of booking to avoid disappointment.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel should confirm the details of booking and have to adhere to what is promised.

    Booked for king size bed but was not given. After pleading, given a room with king size bed but there was no electric power. So switched to two-single-bed room subsequently. It was wasting time and it was at late night about 11.40pm!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.3
    Recommended for business trips with superb Internet/WiFi and convenient location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Promenade Superior Room with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    No cornflakes for breakfast (without sugar). I stayed on 10th Floor and the floor had an unpleasant smell.

    Superb Internet/WiFi connection! Very friendly staff! Convenient location!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.1
    Reasonable accommodation as I had requested a room to be away from the neighbouring apartment
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Improved working table space for guests who would be working in the evening with documents spread out

    Room size good and working tables excellent in some rooms but poor in the one I was put in. Booking.com should consider including breakfast in the deal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Excellent place!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Promenade Superior Suite with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Need to pay for parking everytime you enter, but can get flat rate of RM3 if stamped at counter.

    Value for money! Beautiful sunset from 11th Floor Coffee House , next door to promenade

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    6.7
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't get my 2 hours earlier check in (as promised by Booking.com) No welcome drink/cocktail Some areas around the windows in the room were soggy (heavy rain). Had to change room but same with that room too.

    The staff were friendly The location is great Gave me an extra 1 hour for late check out

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money spent. Buffet food above all expectations. Ten min to airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were construction going on and finding a way to pool was difficult. Bed linen was worn out, but clean.

    Water damage in the room, Water flowing on the wall. Otherwise everything better than expected; the restaurant and dinner buffet, breakfast were glorious, Well prepared and tasty. The staff very friendly and helpful, Well groomed and polite. The shops and deli and bars were more than good, good prices, good assortment, good menus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable but expected more from a 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fitness suite and changing facilities were very dated. The breakfast was cold and there wasn't a great selection of international cuisine.

    The bed was extremely comfortable and the shower was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable Room, Convenient Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air-con sensor seems to be a bit not working right. Perhaps due to staying in joint room, can hear clearly next room chatting, sound proof may need improvement. Quilt has partial footprint at one corner. Prefer bathroom has ventilated fan.

    Seems have newly renovated. Room is comfortable & spacious. Bed is fantastic. Modern lights switches.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.5
    Great location, great staff, just below par hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Western breakfast was below par. The hotel is generally old and the 4th floor is a smoking floor which was never pointed out to us on check in. The pool is not great.

    Location is really great - I’d go as far as to say the best location along the water front. Good old school gym and friendly staff. Nothing was too much for them :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.9
    The executive loung is very good and offers great views as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Promenade Deluxe Suite with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little "tired" due to its age. However, it offers great value for money; particularly for business travellers or travellers that are stopping in KK for one or two nights.

    The executive loung is very good and offers great views as well as good food during the happy hour. The staff is generally very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    Good location, comfortable, nice view from the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some staffs at the breakfast restaurant was not helpful at all, I was standing next to a vacant table with used utensil on it while this waitress just walk pass me to clean the next table, I was looking at her for almost 3mins before I asked her if she can help clean up my table first instead of clearing the one with no guest waiting. Instead of coming right over, she pointed to another waitress walking toward us. On another occasion one waitress just stop and put up both her hands showing the stop sign and said WAIT! WAIT! In the unhappy tone of her voice. Now I wander if I was lucky enough to encounter the same waitress on these different occasions?

    Check in and check out is really fast, I was really impressed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.3
    Superb customer service and room quality, except for check in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Promenade Superior Suite with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When I was making my reservation, it was mentioned that amount of 1 night-stay's rate may be required in-advance. I assumed that I am to pay for the first night in advance and pay the rest once I check in in-person. But the staff at check in desk said that I am to pay the whole payment even though I have already made the 1/3 of the payment (I say 1/3 because I was staying there for 3 days in total. I was confused because I thought I was being asked to pay more than the original price and the staff started sighing and complaining that I don't understand the payment process (Turns out they will be returning 1/3 pre-payment to my account within 2 weeks). . I know misunderstanding can be frustrating but he was rude and the way he started sighing and complaining was absolutely offending. The quality of the room and other services were absolutely amazing except for this.

    The room actually exceeded my expectation. Both me and my friend enjoyed our stay and the daily fruits bowls + mini bars which were offered for free. The facilities and amenities were decent (swimming pool was small but not many people were using it so it was okay). Above all, their customer service was amazing except for check in. Will probably consider staying at Promenade if I come to Kota Kinabalu again in future.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.5
    A bittersweet stay in a great nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They should take much more attention to cleanness. We found several stains all over the duvet cover and the sheets, traces of some kind of oil on the bedroom's door, the window glasses where really dirty and there was some black mold on the bathtub curtain. By the way, they may want to replace these curtains for glass screens, they are a bit seedy. Anyway, we were happy with the room. Moreover, we extended our stay one night longer. We did so directly with the hotel to keep the same room. Well, they didn't respect the price we got on Booking for the previous nights, but charged us 50% more for the same room. It was very disappointing to find it out while going through the check out process. They didn't warn us before!

    Fantastic facilities. The Suite Junior is spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast is great. Well located in front of the sea and very close to a shopping mall and many restaurants and bars. A good deal if you book online.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel with lovely staff but with just a couple of criticisms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When you pay for an ocean view room you expect clean windows, ours along with everyone elses' were filthy and as mentioned before the soap tray in the bathroom was never cleaned

    Everything except window cleanliness and the soap tray in the bathroom which was dirty when we arrived and just stayed that way for our three day stay. Overall an excellent hotel top staff, except for these two previously mentioned problems

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.0
    Decent hotel but overpriced for what it is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    At first glance, the hotel looks fantastic, but then when you look a little more closely, you notice how everything is rather run down (carpets stained, old furniture, old mattress, etc), the location is surrounded by construction, and unfortunately, most of the food at the big breakfast buffet was quite low quality (and the coffee very watered-down!). Also, the swimming pool was small, especially for a hotel of this size.

    The location is not far from a waterfront area with nice restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.5
    A good short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked 2 rooms but only one was available upon check in. A bit inconvenient as the other was only ready around 4.00 pm

    Location was good, near to town and walking distance to philippino market n town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    It was a comfortable and leisurely holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Promenade Superior Room with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been better if we had a sea view to see the sun set and sun rise!

    The location and the club floor facilities. The cleanliness in the rooms and public areas were good. Surprisingly the durian cake from the lobby cafe tasted delicious!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    6.3
    Poor maintenance and lack of service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a suit room, highest floor with two bathrooms. The place isn't clean at all, maintenance is an issue there which is a pity as it wouldn't be a bad hotel. We stayed 4 nights and for 2 days we had a dreadful shower that didn't let water thru, water rose up to the legs. It was disgusting, I reported it to the desk 4 times and it took 2 days to send someone which fixed the thing in 2 seconds, just removing a bunch of hairs. I wished I was listed and somebody would fix it immediately so that we didn't have to shower in that dreadful conditions for two days. Finally for 3 days yhe safe didn't work and it took 4 interventions while I was in the room and 2 days. I believe that a good hotel takes care of maintenance and if a customer report is failure, it fixes it immediately while he is out of the room (we were out all the day) not the night at 10pm while he is there! I reported this during check out mentioning that it wasn't correct to be threaded like this and the receptionist told me that I should have told this to senior management. Yeah: I spent 3 days asking for my room to be fixed and then I also have to deal with senior management while I am supposed to be on holiday.

    The structure is ok, it has good potential compared to what is available on Kota Kinabalu.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Promenade Hotel Kota Kinabalu traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: