Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Royal Penang 4 stars

3 Jalan Larut, 10500 George Town, Malaysia

#89 of 132 hotels in George Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1285 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.3
    Average
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should open some sweet music that can be hear along the corridor so that its not to scary to walk to find your room. I think its too quite and make me feel scary. And i also cannot sleep all night long. Room little bit smelly. Should have a lif from car park to lobby.

    Staff all good. My room have aircond problem. And they change my room immediately. Bfast good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    Definitely recommend staying at the Royal if comfort at an affordable price is a priority
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bathroom are very spacious.comfy beds.excellent air conditioning and room service. Hotel staffs were very helpful. The neighbourhood has a lot of food restaurants including kfc at the opposite of the hotel. perfect view of the city and the sea from the room.overall had a great stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.5
    Good location to stay at!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Housekeeping did not do a good job on our last night and our rooms were not made up well. We had 3 rooms and all rooms were not properly cleaned up, towels not changed, sheets not tucked in. Rubbish was not cleared. We were disappointed for the last night we stayed.

    WE enjoyed our stay however on our 2nd last day, housekeeping was a big FAIL. However, Location is great! We used GRAB to get around the area and it was affordable and hotel was well known.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    2.9
    Will not go back to Hotel Royal Penang again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was disheartening and discouraging the moment I was at the front counter. Apparently, the front counter staff were not experienced at all to be at the front counter. Their attitude towards customer service is near to ground zero. Perhaps they have not been well looked after by the management of the hotel. Overworked and under-paid sort of returns from them. Very sad to experience such from front counter to bedroom qualities and cleanliness.

    Unfortunately none to my reasonable expectation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    The nice hotel to stay for valeu of your money.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. The pool quite small and no changing room available for guest. 2. Lobby lack of sofa for guest to sit as before. 3. Many choices of food for buffet breakfast but the taste was just fair.

    1. The fast respons from the staf when my room which i stayed had an aircond problem. After the maintenance check upon the related problem and cannot fix it, the management immediately change me to the new room. 2. Comfy bed and pillow plus the room is big. 3. Friendly staff at the reception counter, bellboy and maintenance guy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.3
    The Wi-Fi worked well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 20 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was the same every day. All furniture in the room was old and uncomfortable, including the bed. TV channels were poor.

    The Wi-Fi worked well. The sea view from the windows was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    2.9
    Very bad hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.There is a lot of cockroaches in the rooms (I reserved 3 rooms) 2. They do not change bed sheets 3. There is a bad smell in the room 4. There is completely absence of welcome and hospitality. I do not recommend this hotel

    its location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    First of its location is super awesome. Of you are traveling for business you need to stay here. As for price, I think they are not charging you for their location because its quite good. The rooms are not bad either. They accomodated me even when I checked in at 3 am, So I will sayvthe reception sraff was quite accommodating. The breakfast was also not bad.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    (1) Need to refurbish the old assets and renovate the bathroom, looks so old fashioned having "not so clean" bathup and shower curtain (2) Need to vacuumyour window curtain, i can smell the tick dust on it :'( (3) Not in the route of free shuttle bus CAT Georgetown, so you need to go to the KOMTAR first. (4) It is located in the one way area, so a little bit tricky if u choose bus as your transportation.

    (1) Size of the room is bigger than other (2) They provide soap, shampoo and toothbrush, the towel still in white colour =D. I also had iron and its table in my closet. (3) Near GIANT groceries if u want to have snack or drink (4) In front of the KFC old-fashioned building outlet for easy meal since Gurney hawker street is 2-3 bus stop after (5) Good variety of breakfast, had different menu of main course during my 2 days of stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    3.8
    Will never go back to Hotel Royal Penang.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircond very bad. The room was really hot. Got cockroach Leaking aircond Staff unable to upgrade room after 2 rooms given as replacement still had the same problems as the initial room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect and nothing wrong!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool should be bigger!

    The evironment was great. The breakfast, swimming pool, staff everything was great and it definitely exceeded our expectations. Loved our stay here! Recommended to all types of travellers!👏👏

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    4.6
    no happy & not satified
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    air cond system need to be upgrade, with the weather in penang, the temp of the air cond is 25.5 with auto, is it not suitable.

    the room is old fashioned with cockroach accompany to sleep at night ... the air cond is not cold ...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    5.8
    Main room, beds, food and the location were really nice and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The washroom was clogging and whenever we use dirts were coming out of the outlet which really a matter of concern and unhygenic. We endup keep calling cleaning staff whenever we use washbasin which really made us uncomfortable as we were stying with kids. It seems to be a known issue for the hotel staff/mgmt.

    Main room, beds, food and the location were really nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    Charming old fashioned comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area was not too good, 4 uncomfortable loungers and it was on the 4 th floor on the side of the hotel so only got the sun for an hour a day. Staff were friendly but we had to ask 3 times for some glasses and for a new sign requesting the room be cleaned so our room wasn’t cleaned until very late or not at all. Breakfast was poor, cheap juice drink, bad coffee, same 2 or 3 fresh fruits, over cooked fried eggs, under cooked omelet & limited western choices.

    We had a good deal thru Booking.com, nice size room. Very comfortable bed, tv. A/c, fridge, kettle, iron. Staff were friendly & when we had a problem with a/c it was dealt with promptly. Location is a 15 minute walk from Little India, 15 minutes from Gurney mall. 101 bus stops outside. There’s a shopping mall linked to the hotel by a walkway with a supermarket on the ground floor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    The room rate is really good value, especially with full...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a little far out of town, but we enjoyed walking as much as possible anyway, and Grab will get you to sights further away. Malaysia apparently now has a foreigner tax, RM10 per night, as do some of the tourist venues.

    The room rate is really good value, especially with full breakfast thrown into the deal. The staff were friendly and helpful. The gent that assisted us with our luggage near fell over himself to help us. The room was a good size. The breakfast was definitely value for money with a wide choice on offer..... local cuisine, cereal, eggs cooked to order, fruit, full continental breakfast too. My partner and I really enjoyed our stay here. This was an awesome hotel to stay in for my first trip overseas. Please Royal Penang, keep the high standard going, as next year, we’ll be definitely coming back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room WAS actually better before its renovation. It was providing more comfortable and premium feeling. Current room, which seems to be renovated, looks a bit too cold like a contemporary budget hotel, particularly, owing to the lack of drawer under TV in my room. There was one hand towel prepared but I couldn't find bath mat (I should've asked). Its underground carpark has too small capacity and the charge, 10MYR per entry, would be annoying to me even it's refundable.

    Location is good. The room is clean and the bed quality is superb. Staffs are so shining. Overall, Hotel Royal is doing well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No problems with this hotel!

    Very kind staff at the reception, comfortable room with a nice bed, view to the city and harbour. I didn't try the breakfast, because it was expensive (try the asian food court near the hotel). I liked staying there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.1
    Really good hotel, but the maintenance can be better. The deposit comes back over 7 business days.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The window and the mirrors were not clean. I wish the carpet in the room can be more fresh.

    Great view, good hotel, well located. Very rich breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.5
    I had a good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe it's just me. But there is weird smell inside the main lobby. I have a very specific description of what it smells like, but out of respect I will not say it. But they really should do something about it. It destroys the ambiance of the place. It's not a good first impression.

    Nice location. The view from my room was gorgeous. The carpeted room floors was a first for me. The staff was nice and accommodating. The Wifi speed was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.7
    Nice location and helpful staffs.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no hand towel and floor mat when we checked in. Asked for extra bath towel also didn't get. Found cockroaches roaming in the room.

    Nice location and helpful staffs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    5.4
    Good location.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staffs are unprofessional and unfriendly. Might need more training on how to deal with customers. The manager, Ms Mawarni is doing a great job though.

    Good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the smell and the cleanliness in room and toilet(toilet bowl and sink)..hope will be better next time.good luck

    the facilities like water heater,hair dryer,iron and iron board.. and the place is strategic.got kfc in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Marvellous
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    I saw a cockroach on my first day

    I enjoyed a large room for the rate. The furniture appeared fine, but tired & worn. I only tried the dining room once. I would recommend eating out. Breakfast fruits were best.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    affordable and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room aircond are not cool enough have call staff to repair the aircond but the aircond are not cool enough gym equipment are not complete.. please prepare more equipment at gym sauna room are locked and there are no staff avaiable at sauna area to assist

    the location are very strategy in town. the view very nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.1
    overall just okay.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived at 3 pm but my room isnt ready yet. Have to wait for 15 minutes. Request for large bed but end up get combined bed!!

    First time see the rotary parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.8
    I stayed in this Hotel very often when I am back in Penang. But SADLY This time was BAD!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Toilet: Couple of Defects not addressed - Hot water shower : Water Hot. Towel holder Broken- not Fixed. Hose handle Broken. Television Programmes vey Dull- surprising for a 4-5 Star Hotel, only 6 channels available- BBC, Discovery channel and mostly local programmes. DAMN BORING!!! Upon checking in- A Plastic containing Rubbish not collected. Towels not Replenished! Staffs at the Conciege not friendly at all. Request for Newspapers - Rejected! Was referred to the newstand even though they have available in the drawer!Iwas stayin DISCRIMININATING I GUESS!

    Location- Excellent! Close to lots of amenities and food. Convenient to move around town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.1
    Not bad for the price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not especially clean, everything is a bit tatty and I had many small cockroaches in my bathroom. The pool is tiny

    Well located within short walk of many cute old colonial buildings with cafes and restaurants. Gym is ok and rooms are spacious and fairly comfortable. Was probably quite an impressive hotel in its heyday. For the price, it was perfectly comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    Most disappointing stay in any hotels I’ve stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room checked in did not have towels, face and hand towel and floor towel. Contacted housekeeping for those items and said it will be delivered in 15 mins but after waiting for more than 30mins nothing was delivered Called them again to remind them only was delivered However only two bath towels the rest of items not delivered as they said not enough and will be delivered later. Items only delivered much later when I was not in the room. Disappointed that they don’t provide house slippers and have to walk around room bare footed The small fridge not cold. Left air conditioning switched on to go out for dinner and on return after a few hours, the whole room smelt of ammonia. Reported to reception and was told they will send housekeeping to spray air freshener but I refused. Only then they volunteered to change room for me. When I checked into the so called upgraded deluxe room, there was no face towel and floor towel. I had to go to the other room to get it. Upon inspection, found the safe was missing, the shower head was loose and only water sprayed vertically down towards the mixer tap. Kept some items in the fridge and even after a night it was not cold at alll.

    Have stayed in the hotel many times but this time it was very disappointing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom wasn't really clean and generally scruffy.

    The location is great. The room comfortable enough but a little dated. Good value for money and breakfast was good. The staff were very accommodating and pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.9
    Good, but needs improvement
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was terrible. No signal to connect. There was a mold infestation in the bathroom. Gross. The bath tub needs an anti-slip mat, I had slipped and almost fell.

    Front desk staffs and concierge were a friendly lot. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is tidy. But i saw small cockroach few times on the table even in the toilet. Maybe you can call pest control to get rid of it.

    Location. Very near to the mall, tourist spot. Strategic. Worth your money. Room is comfortable and spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    5.8
    Fair.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only bath towel were given, no other additional towel such as small towels given. No room slippers provided. The tub looks old, and rusty.

    The bed was comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    4.2
    Apart fron the 'NOT SO HELPFULL' receptionist lady :
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. BAD EXPERIENCE WITH RECEPTION LADY DURING CHECK-OUT : I had requested details on my hotel bills as been overcharged for breakfast on 3rd day. The lady arrongantly refused to explained about the details of double charge on breakfast & she also don't want to listen to my explaination that we only insist add-up breakfast charge on day 2 only But she demand me to pay the amounts !!!! 2. Overcharge for 3d2n stay : I've explained to reception lady that booking.com stated my ROOM RATES ARE INCLUDING BREAKFAST = RM 417.85 (Including tax 23% + rm6 heritage caj for 2 nights) (Attached are my confirmation slips). Additional charge are breakfast for kids on day 2 (RM 32.00). But the reception lady had charged me twice for the breakfast (day 2 & day 3). She refused to listen about the double charge on breakfast. She said that breakfast are charged during stay (btw, my room rates are including breakfast !!!) 3. Slept on un-even beds with broken castors : We reach hotel at 1230am & enter our room at 130am but sadly we slept on un-even beds with broken castors. We hilite this issue at reception after taking our breakfast (day 2), they informed us that maintenance officer had been alerted & OTW. So we waited for 1 1/2 hours for maintenance to come, but none. Had to call reception again for maintenance officer & said that 'they're OTW' again. 4. Air-cond not well functioning : Our room air-cond are self-auto setting 'sauna-like room temp' at 27c (since 1st night of our stay) although our numerous attempt to set at 17-18c. Air-cond maintenance guy mistakenly knock our door & we asked his favour to fix the issues. He fixed the air-cond valve but failed & we stay in 'sauna-like room temp' during our 3d2n stay. 5. Our worst experience in so-called 4 stars hotel : Been staying in numerous hotel under booking.com, but this hotel are NOT UP TO THE STANDARD in term of services (esp.

    Apart fron the 'NOT SO HELPFULL' receptionist lady : 1. There is helpful staffs assisting guests such as Amirul (Reception during our midnite check-in), Shaiful (F&B), Hamizon (air-cond maintenance guy who mistakenly knock our door) & the Bell-Boy team (sorry cant remember your name) & Miss Candy Loo (Account Dept) that been trying assisting me about overcharged : Please REFUND MY MONEY that been overcharged !!! 2. Parking lots during stay. 3. Great view from our 14th floor room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.2
    worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lights were too dim in the hallway & room. Front desk’s services could be improved. Breakfast needs more variety, the food seemed to be tasteless.

    Location, cleanliness, housekeeping

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.4
    Very poor due to lack of sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed at the Royal as it was a little out of the centre and we thought it would be quiet. On the first night we were woken at almost midnight by a member of staff asking if we wanted room service, and the 2nd night we were woken at 1am by a large group of tourists who shouted and screamed down the corridor for several minutes., this was on the night before we had a 25 hour journey, so it was important that we had a good night's sleep. We did not feel that our complaint was taken seriously by the reception staff .

    It was in a good position, near some nice restaurants. The room was large and there was a bath as well as a shower, which is good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    6.7
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They never replace or give spare toilet rolls. We stayed for 5 nights and they did not do any cleaning or vacuum except tidying the bed. Cleanliness is a big No.

    Location is good. Underground parking always got spaces available.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.5
    Return Guest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our 2nd visit in 4 years and we noticed this time how "tired" & "run down" the property was looking. Our room was spacious and the bed was comfortable but the curtains weren't hanging properly, the bed valance was torn and hanging at the corner. The room was serviced daily which was nice but the replacement of towels was a bit hap hazard. One day 2 towels and a bathmat, no hand towels, the next day 2 towels, 1 hand towel & no bathmat etc etc. Also after we finished the tissue box within the 1st two days it was never replaced over the next 6. Small things I know, but the attention to detail was sadly lacking. Now the actual cleanliness of the bathroom was unforgivable. I can overlook the odd hair or slight mould in the grout if I have to but what I couldnt overlook was the obvious fecal/vomit splashes on the outside of the toilet bowl! Which was very obvious when faced with the reflection of ones self on the toilet from the mirror on the back of the bathroom door. Luckily I had disposable gloves with me and a quick trip to the supermarket for cloths & disinfectant and problem was sorted. Also whilst on the "throne" the thick black mould in the vanity basin could be seen quite clearly, which wasn't that noticeable while standing. So all in all whilst our stay was pleasant there are issues that need to be addressed.

    The location was great & the buffet breakfast had enough choices to keep most people happy, although I must say most mornings the dishes were cold.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    Malay lady receptionist was chatting loudly at the reception...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Malay lady receptionist was chatting loudly at the reception counter disturbing her colleagues that were busy trying to quickly resolve a check-in issue for me. Other than that, everything is great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    4.2
    Location excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not 4 star. No clothes hangers. No phone in room. No safe. Fridge not working.Water leaking from room above. All the above were rectified when I asked except for leak.

    Location excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    4.6
    There was barely anything we liked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible staff! They welcomed us with lot of arguing and confusion. After 20 hours of traveling we wanted to accomodate. Firstly they claimed we did not have reserved rooms. After 20 minutes they admitted we were right. Then they were unwilling to accept our cards (VISA), because they said it did not work. We spent half an hour persuading them that the card WAS GOING TO WORK and to at least try it!!! And finally they accepted ( there was probably a mirracle and it worked!)..we had dirty room with hair of previous guests, they kept forgetting to refill the towels during the day, eventhough they already took the dirty ones. There were bugs in the bathroom. The man at the check out also made mistakes with refunding our deposit and was so rude he did not even say goodbye. We are used to traveling low cost, not looking for anything luxurious, we like also guest houses and everything that is nice and clean. This is not a 4 star hotel and I would never come back again!

    There was barely anything we liked. Maybe the view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    5.0
    Could have been bettee
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It really needs an upgrade both human and property. Housekeeping was not done properly. Porters just stood around watching as old lady carried bags into the hotel.

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.9
    Nothing stands out
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant menu has very little choices and the cooking was not up to standard e.g. the fried beehoon was mushy. There were little cockroaches in bathroom and bedroom.

    Nothing stands out

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.3
    Definitely i will come and stay again.
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hate with the small cockroaches which are roaming around the room walls.

    I like the environment of the hotel and the cleanliness which makes me so relax and calm.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.5
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the amenities on the room can be improved

    this is my second stay, i like the hotels because old hotel with good condition and renovated. also valued for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    4.2
    If i have choice, i will not come back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Both the towels provided are smelly, no slipper provided in room, staff were rude at the check in counter, not efficient in processing check in, saw him yelled at a china tourist who did not quite understand English. The other lady also has the same attitude. Stayed for 5 days in a row, breakfast foods are repetitive. Nothing fancy.

    Bed is solid and comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.5
    The three days there were happy. Missing the nice stuff.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owner should invest on improvement of basice faciiities.

    Hotel cafeteria serves good dishes with competitive price. There are lots of choices of food shops and supermarket nearby. Stuff is friendly. Front desk responds quickly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.1
    We enjoyed using the hotel as a base to explore Georgetown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is a walk away from any of the main historical sites so if you don't like walking then it is better to find a hotel more central to Georgetown old town. The bathroom needs a refurb, it is very dated compared to the rest of the room and at the very least needs a new shower curtain. The toilet for the restaurant was very dirty and not up to standard. The pool is very small and there is very little seating room around it.

    We had a great view overlooking the sea and town towards the mountains. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had the Valentines dinner buffet which was lovely and they had a little celebration for Chinese new year too. The hotel is a 20 minute walk one way to the Burmese temple and 20 minute the other way to the old town. The hotel joins on to a little shopping centre which has a supermarket and pharmacy/beauty store which is convenient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.2
    good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I booked a two-bed room in booking.com. But when I arrived to the hotel, staffs said my room was overbooked so I have to be in double bed room.

    Cheap, close to George town, good view

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.5
    The pool had not clear water.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool had not healthy water Otherwise. All staff were good and kinf

    The pool had not clear water. You could not swim in it I was disopintaed when I was opprimism to use the pool according to the hotel description

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.3
    Good hotel if you want just a place to sleep. Poor staff and dirty bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was unaware of payment possibilities, rude, unwilling/unable to speak english, Failure to exchange towels everyday, to provide water bottles as promised Bathroom full of former guests hair and other garbage, occasional bugs, rust.

    Value for money Eggs for breakfast View from both sides Proximity to Komtar and UNESCO area in Georgetown

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    Unprofessional skill during my checked in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unprofessional skill during my checked in. Check-in time is longer then other hotel. Room key given but can't enter the car park & room. Car park to lobby no lift to transport our baggage, not convinent for elderly people to move up n down.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    5.4
    Not too bed, location quite good, close to city center, shops, restaurants, but not very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn’t very clean- hairs in the bathroom and bed, bugs... A/C couldn’t be adjusted to certain temperature- either on or off. We had breakfast included and the plates weren’t washed properly many times. But maybe that’s what they are used to (us, Europeans are not).

    King size bed was comfy, A/C working more than wanted, hotel provided 0,5l water for every guest a day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed the stay tremendously.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More smiles all around, especially by the male front counter check-in staffs, should be mandatory. More training perhaps.

    Have stayed here many times before. Breakfast spread is still good. The view from the room cleanliness and the hotel location are excellent. Will come back again and again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    5.0
    Good bargain accommodation but potential hazards exposed to customers have me to think twice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stayed in 1505. Dated hotel room. Rubber sealant on the window is deteriorating hence traffic noise might affect one's stay in the room. Mildew smell of pillows and blanket. Pillow cases are stained despite new set was changed. Bathroom tiles are mouldy. Carpet started to buckle. Loosen bathroom door handle due to missing screws. My sister came to visit and locked herself in. Cover of the plug of the electrical kettle is left opened and exposed.

    The staff were attentive at the counter and room keeping. Overall there is no shortage of staff when one needs one. Good location and easy access to local food stalls by foot or by car

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.8
    Good for this price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little far from the georgetown center but still easy to find taxis. The rooms were a little old. They add to the prices some extras which is not on the notes in booking reservations. They said that those were some taxes but i don't know.

    Good hotel with this price. Comfortable room, good employees, clean and nice place. The best thing was the supermarket just beyond the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    6.7
    Grab and Uber is an easy way of transport..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few baby cockroaches sighted during my stay. And I had to call in 3 times over 2+hrs for towels that they forgot to replace.

    Paid less than S$50 (all in) for a night.. Quick check in and out.. The bed is comfy.. about 20mins walk to Georgetown and it's 1min to Giant supermarket.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay for reasonable price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot of restaurants in the area, it feels like you are not really in the City center

    Very nice rooms! Very fast elevator! Beautiful pool on the 4th floor

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool

    The breakfast buffet was amazing.loved the egg counter.staff at front desk was polite n professional.room was big n comfortable.worth every penny

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.1
    Great value for money. Good location to get to lots of places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Information from the staff. They couldn’t advise me on bus stops or eating out nearby. There was one knowledgeable doorman though.

    Large clean rooms. Very convenient for buses to the jetty, to the Botanical Gardens, to Batu Ferringhi. Also very close to hawker stalls & an upmarket Nagore square. Giant supermarket and atm next door.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.6
    It was a comfortable and pleasant stay and the staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that there weren't many Breakfast pastries but I loved the local cuisine available so it was ok.

    I liked the nasi lemak and noodles available for the Breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    6.3
    mr fausiual guest manger so friendly and give me nice room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there is small ants inside the room keep coming up and the housekeeping didnt clean the room in the right way ,.....

    mr fausiual guest manger so friendly and give me nice room but the room not much clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.9
    Pleasent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Various amounts of Tax added on, make sure you understand all taxes added before paying.

    Rooms were quiet large, reception always manned, room air con perfect and super comfortable beds with good channels.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.5
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from attractions.

    The room was fine with a king bed which was very comfortable. The room was cleaned each day and the pool was great. Plentiful breakfast but a bit too far from shopping complex and tourist attractions. On saying that the back street behind the hotel was filled with many lovely restaurants and ice creamery which we went to every night. The hotel is definitely value for money but a bit tired. With an update of furnishings it would be a great hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.8
    I really disappointed with maintenance services, when wash...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really disappointed with maintenance services, when wash room pipe leaking.Complaint already made but not action from hotel maintenance department to solve this problem.

    I really disappointed with maintenance services, when wash room pipe leaking.Complaint already made but not action from hotel maintenance department to solve this problem.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel. Penang has lots to dolocal transport so cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was supposed to be free BOOKING.COM messed up ended up having to pay. Check you booking details it's happened to me more than once, FREE BREAKFAST IS FREE BREAK FAST! !!

    Staff great. Room big, bed comfy. Breakfast brilliant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.1
    Nice, but not fancy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything looks very old, it's not as "royal" as it looks like in the photos. I would say 3 stars are adequate, not 4.

    Comfortable bed, helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.2
    Absolutely brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like that I booked with booking.com x it said free breakfast but when I got here I had to pay. Not hotel fault booking,com fault always double when you receive confirmation email

    Bed so comfy. Big room compared to a lot of hotels. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It was a bit far to walk from the hotel to the heart of George Town. Pavements are intermittent and it is not always easy to cross the road safely.

    I loved the faded glory of the place, and didn't mind a bit of shabbiness at all. Great views from room. Also having the Nagora Square restaurant/cafe area and mall right next door was very convenient. All the staff were marvellous.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.1
    Less crowd and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service for room is bad. Requested a towel and they took 2hours to send to my room. Ruined all my plans to get a good clean up of myself.

    Less crowd and comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    5.0
    As we were there for only one day overall it was ok
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we checked and wentnto our room no towels in the bathroom. Coffee and tea were only 2 packets most of the hotels there will be more. Toilet was not clean upto a hotel standard

    Overall it was ok but can be bit more clean and also breakfast not much option for vegeterians

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    5.4
    I like like it but i dont like the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleenliness is poor My drinks pots that they put sugar, tea, creamer and so on was filled together with the coackcroaches and bugs, idk but there were a lots altogether with the eggs. Disgustting The toilet drain was stuck by something, the water cant properly being flow out. The shower cant be used properly, it cant be opt between the main water paip and the shower for the bath tub,

    The location The wifi The staff The breakfast is fairly fine but dont have so much of selection

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    6.7
    The venue was good value for money, but wouldn’t stay here...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no notice about R100 key deposit and as a foreign traveler you exchange a certain amount of money and budget for your trip so you don’t have to take out or exchange money and lose money on bank charges, so this was extremely annoying!

    The venue was good value for money, but wouldn’t stay here again as some staff members were lovely, but the service delivery was not great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.2
    It's a great hotel and suitable for family.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There don't have hair dyrer in room. The lighting in room is a bit dim. The TV channel need to improve, limited channel and the connection not so stabil. The pillow in room isn't comfort enough. The breakfast is just normal, still need to improve on not to cook process food.

    I've stayed in Hotel Royal Penang, twin bedroom for 5D4N, Room no 1617, at level 16, it's a non smoking floor. The environment is quiet and comfort, really love it so much. There are a swimming pool and a gym room at Level 4, i've tried to use the equipments in the gym room, overall is ok. Free wife in room is just great, i'm really enjoy on it for playing youtube videos. The bed is comfort. Provided basement car park.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    5.4
    Room was quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because not many people stayed there, there was a horrible moldy smell coming from the ventilation shaft. Leaving the front door open did not help and the windows couldn't be opened. The place looks pretty old / dated e.g. something built in the 1970s.

    Room was quiet. Not many others when we stayed there. Room was also relatively clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.3
    Beds were fine, breakfast was adequate, position was perfect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds were fine, breakfast was adequate, position was perfect for getting around Georgetown. Hotel attached to Penang Plaza which has a very good hairdresser, supermarket and other shops. Plenty of restarunts nearby.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: