Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5 stars

No 20, Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, 88100 Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia

#12 of 123 hotels in Kota Kinabalu

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1867 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tanjung Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was annoyed. when I had a breakfast, staff’s mistake, someone sitting my own seat, even though my phone and food on the table, I dont understand this situation.

    Cool Clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Kinabalu Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is full of visitors. Sapi island is overwhelming with too many tourists.

    Very comfortable stay. Staff very helpful especially good at the marina centre and the massage at Spa heavenly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Kinabalu Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The buffet breakfast display not arrange properly, Chinese food have Western food display. The bread corner no butter, we have to go and look for butter and jam at another table.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Kinabalu Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a 5* resort by uk standards! I’d probably say 3.5 star. The rooms are tatty and in huge need of revamping. We had to move rooms twice ! There was mild on the ceilings in the bathrooms, stained chairs and a broken table in 1 room and our bathtub was stained so badly I wouldn’t have wanted to use it. The staff however were very apologetic and we finally found a better room although still definitely wasn’t up to the expected 5* standard Also note that the Italian restaurant serves the worst Italian food I have ever tasted and is expensive! Roughly £12 for an antipasti that looked nothing like the picture and the only Italian thing on it was olives !

    The spa was beautiful. The had a few treatments and they were all lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Kinabalu Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet was much too small for the masses of guests, food quality not good, cafe Tahtu where the breakfast is served looks like a Burger King restaurant. Papers instead of fabric tableware, plastic tables, dirty spice stander on the tables. Dirty light switches in the rooms. F All in all it didn’t meet our expectations which we have on Shangri-La. Poor value for money.

    Good location, very nice sea view, friendly staff. Very good air condition.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tanjung Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really ANNOYING, huge numbers of non hotel guests visited hotel during sunset hours, seriously disturbing hotel guests in pool area. They were everywhere!! I won’t consider to visit again if I would look for a peaceful and relaxing stay! Hotel management must do something if they want to maintain Shangri-La as a premium brand in KK

    As usual with Shangri la hotel, good services and food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Kinabalu Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The room was spacious and clean. The infinity pool area was amazing with the best view during sunset. Staff was friendly and efficient. Breakfast with variety of choices. Overall the best hotel I've stayed so far compare to other 5 stars hotel!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kinabalu Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast experience was awful. Overcrowded with lots of Chinese guests pushing and shouting and kids running everywhere.

    Lovely pool, good that part of it was sectioned off to the kids.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tanjung Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No relaxing place by pool or beach - kids everywhere. No shuttle bus or any transportation for the Borneo marathon.

    Great view of the ocean from the room. The breakfast and dinner buffets were very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tanjung Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The amount of money spent on the rooms are not to what i expected. For RM1300++ per nite i expected the room is in a luxurious condition unfortunately, its like as if i’m paying for a room valued at RM500++No coffee machine.. only kettle.. there’s no WOW factor in that allocated room for me. The view wasn’t a fully seaview room. It was side view, the other side was a putting area for golfers. When i came in to register, the front desk staff told me that the room i wanted was fully occupied. You are telling me that? Aren’t it suppose to be reserved once i booked in your website? And the booking was NONREFUNDABLE if i dont show up. And you have already charged one nite before the arrival date. Meaning its already reserved for me UNLESS i didnt show up!! The resort surroundings no doubt is good. Unfortunately no live entertainment. When i asked the staff, gave me invalid reply. She said there will be a live band on that particular saturday and on sunday. But it was NONE !!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Kinabalu Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    * on our first day we wanted room service but there was no menu found in the room. we requested for one but it took about 40 minutes for it to arrive (miscommunication between front desk and restaurant perhaps). unfortunately when the food arrived a salad was missing, so this was requested again. mgmt were very apologetic and made sure that we were well taken care of following this and we were very happy with their service. the staff were really excellent! * breakfast was chaotic. i'm not sure if the hotel was running at full capacity, but at breakfast it certainly felt that way! afew glasses/ plates smashing, lots of disorder and long queues waiting to find a table.

    * We found the staff at Tanjung Aru very well trained in hospitality and showed great response and care in helping to make our stay as comfortable as possible, especially after afew hiccups on the first day. * The Family room in Kinabalu wing was excellent for us and 2 kids who loved the bunk beds and their own little TV. Big bathtub and good bathroom. * Kids play centre was a great retreat after breakfast where they got to play with lots of toys. Probably one of the best designed play areas in a hotel. * Water slides, bucket, shallow pool areas excellent for little tots and offered endless amounts of fun. * ice cream bar by the pool every day! * glorious sunsets and well priced food at one of the seaside restaurants. * lifeguards around pool were attentive and quick to act if anything was not right. * loved the use of glass water bottles in hotel rooms instead of plastic * check in and out was quick and efficient, and staff offered our kids sweets and milo for a treat * lovely bowl of complimentary fruit and a birthday cake!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Kinabalu Club Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Professionally catering ,accomodating, big smile beaming ,mostly staff members, nicely maitained facilities and using the Star Lounge before heading off to a red- eye flight was a great bonus. Thank you for everything to make our family trip peaceful and quite enjoyable. You're looking at a repeat guest.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kinabalu Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More shade near sunbeds and some if outdoor furniture looked worn.

    Spaciousness, cleanliness, staff had great attitude, great food, views. Excellent tai chi instructor

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tanjung Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing much, a little too busy was the only issue. Good stopover hotel with nice facilities

    Club rooms worth the extra, lovely breakfast, excellent staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Kinabalu Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in to the resort took awhile. The rooms (booked 2 rooms) werent ready as we reached the place before 12 noon. The staffs on duty were only 2 of them when there was a queue to check in to the resort. The counter was confusing. Unsure if the other counter on the right was meant for check in also or check out only. May I suggest if the management can improve on that by dividing the front desk to check out counter n check in counter so that it will be more convenient for the tourists..& to add manpower to the front desk to aid the check in & check out process.

    My stay was perfect. The view from our room was magnificient although at first there was some hiccups. The first time we checked in the view was blocked with tall trees n facing the tennis court. U can barely see anything till we sort out with the management to clarify the issue of room with mountain view. But after changing the rooms to higher level, U can really see the sunrise & whats more breathtaking was the sunset. The beautiful horizon. Totally love the scenery, the good food they have..n travelling out of the resort was no hassle. The room is spacious & tidy. Staffs were polite, friendly n always put up their best smiles. Definitely will come back again. Loves the culture in Sabah too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tanjung Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Being so far out of town, if they dropped their drinks, Italian, Shang restaurant prices, a lot more people would simply just spend more money at the hotel. Sometimes management just need to get a young beancounter to do a sensitivity analysis and perhaps run a promotion and then check the results. There's always so much fixed costs probably needs 30% increase in volume to be ahead.

    Location, breakfast, staff, facilities, room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kinabalu Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are comfortable but a bit tired looking. Old light switches and few plug sockets.

    Amazingly friendly staff. The hotel is trying so hard to combat the use of straws and single use plastic items. It’s fabulous.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Kinabalu Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food is not very delicious. Small pools. Some pools limit access to children

    Convenience in its proximity to the city. A pool with water slides suitable for children to play in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tanjung Executive Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach is small.

    Location is nice. Great sunset views. Club lounge for breakfast and afternoon tea were perfect for the family. Boat charter was worth it and very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tanjung Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be better if couples were put in rooms in the same area away from families, as at times it was very noisy with children playing and screaming( which is what children do and fair enough).

    Very helpful, friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Kinabalu Executive Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    ALL hotels need to remove carpet from the bedroom. You could replace with timber looking vinyl flooring AND have a simple square rug in suitable places. For example, we stayed in the executive family room that had adjoining kids room. Friendly and smiling staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Kinabalu Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    none

    everything is perfect including room conditions, working people, star lounge, swmming pool, gym and sunset bar!!! especially breakfast was so delicious and dishes were so tasty. also all of employees were excellent and tried to satisfy with my orders. i cant forget the memory of the resort forever!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tanjung Executive Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having booked a suite giving access to a club lounge in the hotel, I was given a leaflet indicating that there was a specific dress code to respect in the evening (no shorts, no flip flops, no t-shirts ). We respected this basic and logical requirement but many other clients are admitted to the lounge dressed exactly against those instructions and staff don't react ... In the suite, I would recommend to fix the system of air conditioning. When you open the doors to the terrace, the air condition stops, but the detectors are not fixed properly and it's then difficult to make the air condition restart properly ... in a suite charged more than 500 euros per night, this should not exist. I would also recommend to improve the quality of the gift shop in order to include more typical handicraft gifts from Borneo and real post cards (so far, you can only buy post cards featuring birds or fishes ... not saying much to our friends and families from abroad), but it's a general problem on Borneo.

    Excellent situation, beautiful hotel, very kind staff. Very good food, many activities for everyone, not many European tourists, specific areas in the pools dedicated to children and to adults, which guarantees a peaceful holiday to everyone according to his needs ... Excellent welcoming and luggage handling staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kinabalu Club Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Limited range of restaurants and supermarkets in the surroundings

    Good hotel with a nice pool area. The beach was however very small if you prefer to go for a swim in the sea. We stayed at the Kinabalu wing, which we perceived as a little bit calmer than the other side of the hotel (Tanjung wing) where the pool was. The lounge was really good with free drinks during two hours in the evenings. A range of warm and cold dishes were also available. Breakfast was really good. Nice room with a wonderful sea view and everything you needed. Hotel staff was very service minded. A big plus for that the hotel had it’s own marina, from where you could do boat excursions to nearby islands for snorkeling etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tanjung Deluxe Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The swimming pool is a little noisy. (than past)

    A good pool system for children. A nice view of the room - Ocean swings Good room condition, kindly crew. A Great bar beside the sea. (Cocojoe's Bar and Grill)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Kinabalu Club Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Spa treatments were too highly priced to try.

    its location,expanse and friendly staff..Next to property is a great activity centre for boat rides,snorkeling,parasailing,flying fish etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tanjung Deluxe Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    VERY bad food quality, over price as well. Extremely SLOW services, waited 4 hours to get our room, and take at least 30 mins to get your food in the restaurant

    Room is big and the view is very nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Kinabalu Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check-in experience was bad. Hotel made us wait for our room for almost 2 hours after a 6-hour drive despite arriving shortly after check-in time at 2pm. This was difficult as we were tired and our baby was very cranky and needed a rest. They offered drinks from the bar but unfortunately our kid wasn't having it, which made the check-in more stressful. They eventually offered a different room after we approached them twice, and offered a small discount to extend our stay another night. Their make-up of our room was slow and of average quality. They didn't wash our utensils even though we placed them by the sink and left our items in our doorway without arranging them. Also, not sure why, but the room settings resetted in the middle of the night, turning on the lights and tv while we were asleep.

    Extremely kid-friendly, which was the main reason we chose to come here. Great pool with a little waterpark for the children and adults to play in. The breakfast area had a play area outside for the children.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kinabalu Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit too busy at the breakfast area and around the pool. Would have been nice to have the adult only area a bit further from the mayhem of the kids area. Overall though it was very nice.

    Right on the beach and with a nice pool. Nice restaurants

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tanjung Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very slow response by email. I got an offer for pre-arrival discount but when I have queries, the response was quite slow that I ended up not able to apply for the discount in time

    A nice place with a lot of facilities, very good for travellers who just want to enjoy themselves in the hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Kinabalu Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    around there are no restaurants or supermarket. the restaurants were a little expensive and the quality was not at the level of a 5 star Hotel

    Staff and the Facilities

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kinabalu Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The day we went to the spa for bath and massage the bathtub has broken so we were offered the steam room instead which didn’t work well either. Despite that the massage was really great. We also didn’t like the sea - beach near the hotel was quite small and the water was a bit dirty maybe because we came in the rainy season

    Breakfast was great. The staff was nice and friendly. Even though we’ve booked the Mountain View room we still could see the sea. A lot of activities inside the hotel. Rooms are very clean. We really enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kinabalu Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff lie to you about booking tables at the sunset lounge - they tell you it’s first come first served, but then you get there and all the tables are reserved. Service in the restaurants is poor.

    Location is perfect. Hotel overall is very nice and the staff are all very friendly and kind.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kinabalu Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is old. The entire resort is old. Below my expectation of a 5 star resort. With condition like this, I feel the hotel is over charging. The resort is over crowding during breakfast hours. With dining tables so close to each other, there isn’t enough private space for their guests. Not what I expect for a 5 star resort.

    Breakfast buffet spread is good. Peppino serves good pizza.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tanjung Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many people standing in front of reception. No sitting places.

    The atmosphere so comforting. Friendly staffs. Beautiful hotel. Wonderful room. Great experience and romantic scenery. The best hotel I’ve ever been.. Great holidays

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kinabalu Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    none

    the place is amazing, we did enjoy and we had a great and relaxing time off.. We did not necessary to get out from the place, the area itself had so many things to do.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Kinabalu Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent service at all times. Very good range of facilities and very comfortable. Only a cheap taxi ride to town and very near islands for snorkeling.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tanjung Executive Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was mediocre for a 5 star resort. The restaurant staffs try sit us on tables that is not prepared nor clean properly. Need to look into that.

    The kids pool area is superb. My son loves it. There is children playroom as well, looks nice but never had chance to use it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tanjung Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't like the breakfast. Fewer menus and less tasty than my own experience with 5 star-rated accommodations. There's a distance from the downtown or shopping mall.

    Neat and clean room & bathroom. Friendly staffs. One of the greatest sunset point of the city. Huge pools. Cheaper than other chains.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tanjung Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was very nice that you have golf ground to play with family. My son and daughter have never played golf before. I taught them a little bit and we were able to enjoy Golf during staying Star resort. I asked my kids about the most thing they liked in Kota Kinabalu. They definitely told to play Golf and swimming in Star Resort.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kinabalu Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is old and the front desk staffs don't really look friendly and aren't helpful.

    The hotel restaurant is awesome, especially restaurant staff is friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kinabalu Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coco Joes Grill outside restaurant evening meal selection was a bit limited and no 'Grill' options in the evening eg no burgers. It was still a great place to eat outside.

    Buffet breakfast, good choice of different nationality food options.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kinabalu Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. RM300 is hold as the deposits. Will be released in 2 weeks time. Do not understand why is there such a process . Not lean. 2. There are alot of birds flying around the breakfast area, eating un-attended foods. Not hygiene . Staff do not attend to clean tables immediately. 3. Super expensive massage packages in Chi-Spa. 4. Not much indoor activities. Such as bowling, karaoke. Once raining, nothing better can be done. 5. The Beach has jelly fish, not encourage to play in the sea.

    1.Infinity swimming pool. Superb view. 2. Borneo lounge band were great ! Nice performance .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tanjung Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Due to the period of our stay, it was over crowded and there was a lack of tranquility and privacy at times, especially since the hotel is targeted to families. Breakfast area needed to be opened up more due to the sheer volume of people present all at the same time.

    Rooms are sufficiently equipped and beds are comfortable. Hotel property itself was great, many activities to stay entertained especially for families with kids and the sunset at the end of the day was absolutely stunning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tanjung Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. The air conditioning in the room was rather cold even after adjusting the temperature or switching it off. 2. The Long wait for a la carte orders at the restaurants. 3. The over-crowdedness at Tatu during breakfast, especially by the Chinese nationals whose presence in the whole resort makes it impossible to enjoy the peace n relaxing atmosphere that a resort is supposed to offer.

    The staff's attitude - they were warm, helpful, thoughtful n made me feel that I matter to them.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kinabalu Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone says that this is the best resort in KK. But I have to say, it is just so so. First of all, the place people eat breakfast just like a market. Full of people, and their systems are not that good. It was so crowded, their staff even asked a guest who had already taken food to go back to reciption to do registration carrying food. I don't think that what a 5 stars hotel should do.

    This is a good resort. Good location, you can see a really good sunset. Swimming pool is good. And many restaurants which are expensive. Anyway, in this resort, you can have everything. You don't have go anywhere else.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Kinabalu Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Too many people checked in to the hotel, especially Koreans. Over 80% of them. Limited choices in breakfast and too crowded in the restaurant. Wished there could be more local Malaysian food like curry and rice. Staff in the concierge were not particularly helpful and friendly. I didn't feel totally welcomed in the hotel.

    Nice swimming pool. The Chi Spa is amazing. Good dinner at Coco Joe's & Grill.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kinabalu Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is huge, and has a bit of a 'factory' feeling. The room was bit shabby - the furniture was old and the carpet had stains on it.

    The staff in Peppino was amazing! Breakfast had huge variety of choice, which was nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kinabalu Executive Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food can be a bit hit and miss. eg the club sandwich was like eating a full size bloomer- not sure where they are going with that they need to change it.

    The staff were very friendly & made us feel welcome- also great views & pool area. Italian resturant was good, as was dim sum at the Chinese resturant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kinabalu Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No certainties to check in time due to accupancy.Improvements needed for that issue

    Friendliness of staff,wonderful surrounding,magnificient sunset & trip worth while.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tanjung Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check out process can be improved. Waited to be served as no receptionist were there and it was at 11.30am (check out period). When there was a receptionist, only one way available so had to wait longer to be served. My check out process took 20mins in total including waiting time.

    Love coming back here. Kids loves the pool, the slides, breakfast spread and the friendly helpers around the facility.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tanjung Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price for accomodation is quite high. Guess is becasue they are the best hotel in KK. More discount will better ; )

    Everything was excellent. Staff is very helpful especially Front Desk and Cafe. Hotel send a birthday cake even my bday passed. What a big surprise! Thank you!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Kinabalu Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Many of breakfast buffet was Asian. However, would like to have more European or American breakfast. 2) The hotel tenants at our floor wing were really noisy day and night, their children were playing and shouting at the rooms corridor as well. 3) Would like to have more variety at the resort shop. 4) need a little improvement on staff response time.

    The kids cool zone, and the Tatu cafe (for dinner only)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tanjung Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have most of Malaysian food on the breakfast tables but I don't think it suit on our plate really. So, It should be consider diverse menu for grobal taste.

    Hall - Sensitive interior design of oriental with nice palm trees and beach view. Room- Their Bed was so comfortable with very well cleaned condition. Good and speed room service whenever I call them. Food - There are varies kinds of restaurant such as Italian and Chinises with good dishes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kinabalu Club Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered room service on our final night as we didn't feel like going anywhere after our spa session. I would say the food we ordered were overpriced for the taste. I think that can be improved, we are willing to pay for top notch quality and taste.

    We booked for the Kinabalu Club Seaview room but we were pleasantly upgraded to the Kinabalu Club Suite. We arrived at 12:30pm and the room was not ready as check-in time was 2:30pm. I liked that we were given access to the Star Lounge until the room was ready and we could also stay at the Club Lounge with complimentary snacks and drinks while waiting. And apparently we could have access to the Star Lounge had we departed after checkout time too. The hotel staff was generous to give us the room upgrade and on the next day surprised my husband and I with a slice of cake to celebrate our wedding anniversary. There was much to do at the resort, it's a good place especially for families with children. We loved the ice cream at Cool Box by the pool, view of the sunset from sunset beach with music from sunset bar. At night we were given complimentary drinks and food at the Club lounge at a separate timing than families with children which was a good move by the hotel. We loved the ambience of Chi, The Spa. Overall loved our stay at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tanjung Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expect free and frequent shuttle between two Shangrila hotels (one is Tanju Aru and the other one is Rosa rio) Would be great to provide room transfer service who plan to use both facilities..

    Beautiful place to spend your holiday with family and friends. Location is good both from airport to city and swimming pool is beautiful and food is also great. Want to come back for family event.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Adult swimming pool was good to enjoy swimming and has really nice view. but the breakfast was not so great. Rooms were a bit old but very tidy. If you wanna book sunset bar, you'd better book early as right as you reserve your staying.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tanjung Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 15 nights

    It wasn't particularly sold as a family hotel but was full of families, being a couple on our honeymoon we would have preferred less children running around.

    The service and facilities were excellent. Also the hotel is very close to Kinabalu town which was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Tanjung Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Employees were lack of services and absolutely unprofessional compare to other shangri la. It was the worst vacation ever. Employees were making fun of customers. They thought that we could not speak english. It was very uncool. Epsecailly, employees that worked at rental and return service at pool. The images of Malaysia and Shangri la were crashed down. I will never recommend shangri la tanjung aru.

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tanjung Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were noisy due to guests in corridors at all hours .... breakfast was just crazy .... huge buffet of poor quality items attended by huge numbers of guests with Plates piled high .... felt like a canteen rather than a classy breakfast ! Reception staff were incredibly slow at check in / check out ... this seemed to be the norm as we watched many frustrated guests queuing .

    The hotel is conveniently located for the town and well placed for amazing sunset watching

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Tanjung Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The making up of the room is seen better! Toiletry is just thrown at the bathroom table, not changed. Eventually I had 9 bottles, 4 of them cointaining body lotion which I hadn't used at all.

    Really nice to stay in the Tanjung wing. Nice pool. Really good food. Roomservice at low cost. Staff is very kind and helpfull.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tanjung Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    As a 5 star resort, should have "ok" coffee for the arrivals. It is important!

    Room service was very very slow. The coffee in the lounge was disgusting.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Kinabalu Club Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    Everything!! We felt like Royalty. There was so much to keep us all entertained. Our two boys (8 & 6) loved the swimming pools, the water slides, the tipping bucket, the water balloon wars, the kids' club COOLZONE. There was giant chess, table tennis, petanque. Floating cushions in the South China Sea! The food was amazing. Plenty for everyone. Didn't have to queue for long. Yes, it was a bit more expensive after the service charges, but well worth it. The staff could not do enough for the guests. We loved the Club Lounge, where you could go for nibbles and drinks (inclusive in price) 2 hours/day. Fantastic day spa. One of the best massages I've ever had. Highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tanjung Executive Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that went 'wrong' was that our bed sheets had some red stains on them. After waiting for quite a while, the Head of Housekeeping arrived with the Head of something else (apologies, I really can't remember!) and asked one of the housekeeping staff to change the sheets. She mentioned it was the stain from the rust of their cleaning machine...which raises all sorts of other questions! We did not pursue the matter as we did not want our anniversary celebration spoiled, but I was disappointed that we were not offered any compensation!!!!

    This was the second time my family and I stayed at this hotel and this time we decided to get the Executive Suite, which was a bit more pricey but well worth it! The Suite came with all sorts of privileges, not least among them access to the Club Lounge on the 6th floor (oh and the room came with breakfast so another bonus!)...which in all honesty if you were looking to save a few quid on food one can just binge on the food on the club lounge! But that would not be a proper holiday now would it?! The best things about this hotel are its staff, who were friendly, accommodative and gracious from start to finish...and if you have children, this is definitely the hotel for you! plenty of room, safe, plenty of activities to do...on the plus side, we were actually there for our anniversary so the hotel and its location is also very romantic!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tanjung Deluxe Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I BOOK SUITE WITH 185 M THROUGH BOOKING .COM FIT FOR 3 ADULTS AFTER ARRIVE WE FOUND THAT HAVE ONE BED PUT IN LIVING ROOM AND NO SHOWER PLACE FOR ADULT NO 3 ,HE MUST USE THE MASTER BED ROOM SHOWER , THIS MAKE US UPSET FOR THIS TRIP

    LOCATION IS SO NICE NEAR THE SEA

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kinabalu Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the food was hit and miss. The surf and turf at Coco Joes was excellent but the pizza at Peppinos was bland.

    very hospitable and lovely representation of different ethnic tribes of East Malaysia. also LOVED all the pokemon stops.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Kinabalu Club Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    there were many bugs on the corridor and balcony. little bit frustrated . this is the only thing to mention.

    every thing was great, especially the sunset bar and swimming pool. the location is easy to tour the island and close to the airport.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kinabalu Executive Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I sent many mails before I visite here to notice that I want to stay a room with nice ocean view, but I couldn't stay.... I waited almost 3 hours to check-in.....

    The restaurant and the location was good. The staff who spoke korean was kind. Nice sunset....

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Kinabalu Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The concrete walkways around swimming pools were scaldingly hot, we could hardly walk with bare feet for 10meters. They should consider covering them with different materials.

    We like everything, particularly, the hotel's exclusive fine sandy beach, swimming pool with water slides etc, children can play there all day long. Water sports and snorkeling are available on site, which is every handy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Kinabalu Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach wasn't clean,the water muddy, but the pool made up for it.

    Spacious rooms and large balcony. Walks around the grounds lovely, great for families and children-separate areas and well catered. Loved the pool and the Spa.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Kinabalu Club Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed from 9 to 14 June and it has only been exceptionally wonderful. At the beginning there was an issue with our room, I made a feedback(not even an angry complaint) and the hotel worked on it immediately and gave their full attention to us thorough our 6 days stay. Many times they have gone way beyond their duties to ensure we are comfortable, satisfied and enjoyed our stay, for which we are very grateful. We have the best room, the best seat at sunset bay, the best butler service during breakfast buffet and the best farewell from the team! Fortunately we have no issues with other guests, as many of the people here seem to encounter. There were some loud speaking Koreans but hey this is a family resort, chaos at times should be expected and are no fault of the hotel. Many recommended Kinabalu Club for their breakfast but we felt the variety are quite limited, so dining at the main restaurant for breakfast has been our choice. We went there 4 times and did not encounter scary-pushing around-stuff food in mouth guests. Family with kids can go for the Ranger Experience at Shangri La Rasa RIa. My kids have fun but beware to wear long sleeves and pants, and pour plenty of repellant. Finally, HUGE thanks to Whett and Feezah from front office, Majib from Cafe Tatu and James from Concierge. All of you and your team have been great and have made our holiday a truly memorable one!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tanjung Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The sea has a lot of floating rubbish in the surrounding area and around the islands not the hotels fault its people!!

    The hotel was lovely and very clean and all the staff we met are very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Service is very slow, they didn't know about our early check-in and late check-out request.

    - Watersports facilities are very good, they are well organized (we did water skiing, diving, snorkeling at the closed by islands, jet-ski), there is one lady which runs the show - Pool and waterpark are really nice - Sunset Bar is amazing (here the service was good) - Breakfast is OK, the breakfast room is a little bit old fashioned

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kinabalu Club Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major worth mentioning

    Club room was worth it. Pool was great! Views amazing. Staff attentive. Floating bean bags in sea really fun. Loved every minute!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food can be expensive, especially buffet at Tatu Cafe.

    The resort is great with everything you need on site. Staff are friendly and always eager to assist you. Highly recommend this a place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: