Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang 4 stars

33 New Lane (Off Macalister Road), 10400 George Town, Malaysia

#64 of 132 hotels in George Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2317 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Super King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool too small, with something sticky in the border, maybe filler to repair that was still not fixed. Expect large families with kids crying in the swimming pool.

    Good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    The location, café atmosphere and the snorkle tour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast and restaurant aren't great. They never come tot your table by themself. The wi-fi is very poot. We never had even a connection . In the rooms you can't even find the hotspot.

    The location, café atmosphere and the snorkle tour

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    Short getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was incompetent, lack of courtesy, not service oriented, poor attitude

    Room on overall was comfortable, air con was a bit noisy tho, water pressure was great as I don't need to wait for hot water unlike other hotels I tried.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Overall great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was small for the size of the hotel with only 4 sun beds. The breakfast was ok not fantastic.

    The hotel was modern, clean and the rooms reasonably sized. Huge draw card was each room was provided with a mobile phone you could take out your room provided with free wifi😲. Absolute godsend with google maps to find your way around easily. Staff were very efficient and polite, beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.4
    Room is spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Twin
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the carpark area were pretty rude, didn’t allow us to go out with our parking pass, insist we get our parking tickets from the room. The fridge in rooms weren’t refilled. Nothing 4/5 star about this place.

    Room is spacious

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Very nice hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is strategically located very near to many eateries. Nice place to walk around the old city yet nice new shopping malls like the Guernsey Plaza is only a short taxi drive away. I love the water pressure at the shower at room 1102 where we stayed. will stay there again next time I am in Penang.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    Strategic location at the centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cafeteria is too small for their occupants. Had to wait for turn when breakfast. The swimming pool quite small.

    Strategic location at the centre of town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.7
    GOOD LOCATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was very disappointing and really not worth it. Took my breakfast around 6.50am as had to leave for airport by 8am. Wanted waffle but the staff just pointed to his waffle machine and didn't even bother to start making waffles for me.

    Good location - very near to Penang Times Square and good street food such as fried oyster and wan tan mee. Short walk of 10 mins to the best tau sar piah in Penang, Ghee Hiang Tau Sar Pneah.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.4
    Experience could have been better if staff paid more attention to customer’s needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi connection was weak in my room. I had to stand in a certain part of the room to get connected. Staff could not help even after 2 tries. Carpet feels damp and unclean. Breakfast buffet is super crowded. Come any later than 8.30am and you will need to wait for a table.

    Location is good. Mattress is firm and provides a good rest.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Great location , close to free hop on n off bus .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing .

    Great location , close to free hop on n off bus .. walking distance to shopping Mall Komtar . Nice hawker food just direct across the road . The staff very friendly . Especially a lady at conceige who help me book a grab ( taxi) to go directly to street art . The hotel room is very comfortable n great view too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.8
    Overall still good stay..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant for breakfast was small and seemed to be under staff. The tables were not cleaned in time for tenants to have breakfast. Insufficient culinary set for breakfast.

    The hotel was near to the shopping centre. And along the road, New Lane, was aligned with night dining market where local food were easily available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    outside food at new lane is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we had our breakfast at sun cafe. the food is nice but the place is a little bit too small. the queue is long especially around 9AM in the morning.

    outside food at new lane is great!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.7
    Stay here ONLY for the LOCATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool size in photos is deceiving, its a child’s pool. There are barely any deck chairs for sunbathing. They don’t have enough tables at the breakfast cafe, had to wait awhile. Food was so-so.

    Good location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    Generally a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Morning breakfast can be very crowded. Crows drinking from, and flying around the swimming pool can be unhygienic.

    Good location. Walking distance to good, reasonably priced street food, and to malls.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable hotel in Penang
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn’t find the hotel bar and may need a taxi ride to nightlife

    Well equipped and well kept rooms, located close to the Komtar interchange and bus stops, as well as the New Street food court

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Live up for it's name.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big tourist bus blocking the entrance to parking lot. Security should at least ask them to park properly before embarking clients.

    Great location. Very near to eateries. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.5
    Overall an enjoyable short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location a bit far from Georgetown; need to walk about 10 mins. Advisable to get the free CAT map found in the travel brochure in the hotel. Weather is very hot in Penang and there's not much shaded walkways and trees. It is advisable to wear hat and use umbrella in the day.

    Room is clean and comfortable. Outside the hotel is New Lane food centre with quite a variety of local food though some quite pricey and the popular stalls tend to have long queue. Concierge is helpful in getting us a Grab taxi to the airport. Besides nice street food and beautiful conservation houses, Penang also has interesting street murals. You can catch free CAT bus about 5 mins walk to bus stop at Komtar to tour round Georgetown. The free CAT map found in the travel brochure in the hotel lobby is useful for route and locating the bus stops.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    Georgetown luxury on a budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Duvet could be bigger in width, had to keep tugging it from partner to get a cover. Despite the lovely evening meal the terrines were switched off therefor the food was cold spoilt the food.

    Value for money, good location, free secure car parking for guests, friendly staff, comfortable bed. Really good food selection for breakfast, good waiting staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel for the price.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for double but get twin. Otherwise perfect!

    For the price i paid, this hotel exceed my expectation! Will definitely stay here again. No doubt! Excellent breakfast, comfort bed, great toilet/shower and supplies. Staff smile at you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    The hotel has a great location, and the facilities are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a great location, and the facilities are relatively new/ modern and the desk staff are friendly. It's pricey, but I still enjoyed my experience

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Clean, comfy environment, friendly staffs, convenient...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast spread needs improvement. They serve fried egg as omelette 😪

    Clean, comfy environment, friendly staffs, convenient location and worth the money. 👍

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Service, cleanliness, room amenities - all perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The stench coming from the sewers in the hotel's surroundings was gut-wrenching.

    Service, cleanliness, room amenities - all perfect. The hotel is well situated with a bus stop and a mall around the corner and a lively china town in walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Sunway Hotel is a good hotel in a central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sunway Hotel is a good hotel, with a nice roof top pool. We had the breakfast which was very nice, there was a good variety of both western and Asian food and a good egg station. We stayed in the family room which was both comfortable and spacious. The staff were so friendly and always making sure that everything was ok for you. The hotel is also in a great location, just outside is The New Lane street market

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.8
    When checked in to the room,we found out that our minibar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When checked in to the room,we found out that our minibar was empty which should be complimentary free.We called them for twice and waited them to arrive for one hour jus for the drinks.The next day morning ,we requested for extra vanity kit ,they asked what is vanity kit,later they said they will ask the staff to make up the room and replenish.After waited for one hour ,nobody came so we decided to looked for the housekeeping,when we asked for extra vanity kit ,the staff showed us black face with arrogant attitude.This is very terrible ,as a customer I jus requested for some extra vanity kit ,and I was asking in a very polite way ,is this the right way to serve customer ?furthermore the room sound proof is very poor,it is very noisy .Strongly not recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    not very alert in responding for guest request

    The cleanliness of room and front desk which is polite.. Didn't manage to try the buffet as not sure which one to go ground or underground is halal, but was impressed by the front desk and housekeeping staff who attended to us. Although it was my first time in Sunway Hotel but i enjoy staying in clean room which i am particular about cleanliness. I would like to thank you to everyone for the hospitality during our stay in Sunway Hotel Georgetown.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.8
    Good location but more to be improved for a 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was not up to our expectation. The lift does not have private access to our own floor as a 4 stars hotel quality. Staff should be more friendly and polite for example to greet a good Morning when you saw the guest. Overall, There is more room to be improved.

    Location was convenient .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.5
    This is my 2nd time staying in this hotel, love the friendliness of the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be good if the shower head is stronger and the swimming pool is too small.

    The extra comfy bed and the strategic location where we could easily get food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    Check-in experience was sub-par.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in experience was sub-par. We got to the hotel at 3PM (published check-in time) but had to wait an hour and a half for our room. The front desk officer apologized but was not able to manage expectations - no explanation on why the room wasn’t ready and how much longer we had to wait. We finally decided to get help from another staff member - explained the situation and got everything sorted in five minutes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.7
    Good tourist hotel to stay for short visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting for long check out due to a few guests ahead and only one staff on duty at that time.

    Location is good. The hotel is easy to access several places around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.1
    Hotel is good for short visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy at reception area sometimes when group of tourist are sitting there and talking very loud. Breakfast area is too small.

    Location is good. Just a few step walks from hotel to find hawker foods at night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    I was very early (11:00am) but the staff checked me in and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    I was very early (11:00am) but the staff checked me in and promised my keys would be ready when I got back from my meetings. True enough, at 5pm I announced my name and the keys were ready... voila!! Bed was firm and good pillows, nice breakfast spread.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.1
    nice hotel,terrible breakfasts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The worst part of the Sunway Hotel experience was the VERY poor,tasteless and overpriced breakfasts,and this was blatantly obvious compared to the wonderful food in the nearby street market.Unfortunately the street market is a night market so there didnt seem to be any other nearby choice for breakfast than the hotel. If the market vendors can produce delicious and inexpensive food,certainly your hotel should prepare breakfast buffets that are equally as good! Ironically ,the very worst part of your breakfast buffets are the Malaysian foods. Very,very poor food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Quite nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Contrary to the description there was no airport shuttle. The staffs could be friendlier.

    Located in central Georgetown. The bed is large and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.7
    The male staff at the club lounge was very polite and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at reception is very slow and not paying attention when I was checking in....keep looking back at their colleage talking/gossiping.

    The male staff at the club lounge was very polite and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Exellent hotel and pleasant vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurant could be a little bigger because it was crowdy sometime.

    The food was perfect, and the staff was very helpfull. When I walk on the Streets in the night you feel very safe. People on the Streets are very polite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    value for money stay in penang!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Super King
    • Stayed 1 night

    air conditioner is a little bit warm maybe due to high temperature season.

    my room is clean and tidy everything is neatly arranged. the location is a great with vicinity to interesting places in the heart of georgetown. staff are very welcoming and nice. breakfast served is very pleasing, alot of choice and the food was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.5
    Overall good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Premier King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was there at 430pm and yet they dont have the room ready for me. I also made a request to have two rooms to be near to each other, that request was also not being fulfilled.

    Location is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    Was good
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff wasn’t willing to book crab for us. As I had some problem booking from my phone. They wanted me to use the taxi in front of the hotel which is much more expensive.

    Room service was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    After the staff’s efficient responses, overall our stay is comfortable and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hope that whatever we booked with Booking.com, the requests that we have specified please provide as required. Is upsetting if our requirements are not met.

    Staff attitude, quick and prompt services provided and convenient location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Not something directly under your control : But please...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not something directly under your control : But please advice staff to be careful in providing advice about when to leave the hotel to catch the 6 am penang to kl Malaysian airlines flight. We had to do so, and asked the reception about timing. Actually we wanted to leave the hotel arounf 3.30 am 3.45 am to be sure. But the staff mentioned 4-4.30 is more than enough. We took her advice and delayed leaving till 4am. The time to the airport is around 30 mins, but the Penang airport is extremely understaffed in the early morning. There wasa huge check in line with only 1 counter. We had to wait from 4.30 - 5.20 to get the tickets and check in our baggage. IF we had arrived 15 mins earlier, it would have been much easier and we could have had a coffee and breakfast at leisure. So - please check the condition of the airport and advise clients. If they dont have baggage and can do checking from a kisok, arriving with little time to spare at the Penang airport is ok. If not go early as possible for the morning flight.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    Great location, spacious room, near excellent street food and friendly, helpful staff - with pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was a little too hard for my partner. The café area seemed a little too small for the numbers of guests on one day, but fine the next few days.

    The friendliness of the staff was the most outstanding, from the cleaners to security and the very helpful concierge and reception staff. The breakfast food choice was varied every day and the food was excellent, with good labelling and helpful staff to explain the ingredients if we wanted to try local dishes. The room had good lighting and lots of useful storage space.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    Hotel is fantastic no complaints at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't go by the rate on booking.com expect to pay at least 50 ringit more per night when you check out. This is not told to you on check in. And if you delay in check out expect someone to enter the room with out knocking.

    Hotel is fantastic no complaints at all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    4.6
    HOLIDAY BUT NO HOLIDAY!!! NO NEXT TIME!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was superhard despite how fluffy the pillows felt. Deposit required as much as rm500 for a rm260+ room! My credit card was useless, so i used my debit card but they charged my debit card more than the amount that was asked for (rm5+ duhh!). And not to mention i waited 10 minutes at the counter to check-in despite a few staffs were seeing chattering among themselves! It was almost 11pm, I guess i was invisible until my voice broke out their somehow very-important-conversation! This was the part that really turned me off completely with the hotel!! Beware if your kids are a little older than 5 years old, for they charge rm20/kid for breakfast. My daughter was a lil over 5 and son was 7. All the hotels we went to previously, though the breakfast voucher was for 2, they did not mind our extra 2 kids. But not for this hotel!!! So we had to pay extra rm40 for the kids breakfast (for cereals and milk as my kids eat very little for breakfast!!)!! And as a Genius Guest, the one reason why i booked the hotel in the first place was because of the Genius Benefits that come with it. We checked in very late the night before, so we needed the 2 hours late check-out benefit. But when we called the receptionist asking about the benefit, she told us it was upon available. And at the time, the hotel was packed so she said, no late check-out for that day! I was already pissed with paying extra for breakfast and now no late check-out as promised! She asked me to read again the deal i booked via booking.com! I told her i read every line, there was no mentioning regarding UPON AVAILABLE!! At last, she gave us 1 extra hour! Well, thank you but i took another extra half an hour myself still pissing on how ridiculous they manage with customers service. The one and only smile i got was from a foreign cleaner..not sure from Bangladesh or Nepal.. My advice is..if you are looking for a wayyyy better experience than these...book Neo+, book Holiday Inn, book Vistana, book...

    Quite spacious and clean room. Super fluffy pillows. Tasty and aromatic tea (coffee making area/room)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.8
    Lovely room in a good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is terrible. Obviously catering for the Chinese market. No Orange juice very little selection for the western pallet. This really let the hotel down

    Lovely room in a good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.3
    Bad customer service that resulted in bad impression of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bkfst is okay n I enjoyed the food. However the steamboat buffet was a total disappointing experience . The food was not fresh at all n caused my partner food poisoning.

    Variety was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    Service is good and the room is very clean.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premier Twin
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Egg station during breakfast had pre-cooked eggs which were already cold when I asked for the sunny side up, although I understand that was done due to large breakfast crowd and to speed up service. But the eggs should be cooked to order, which was the main purpose of an egg station

    Service is good and the room is very clean. Location is perfect, very near town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love the club lounge, staff are always so helpful and friendly! This is our second stay and I felt there were more options for breakfast and cocktail hour/snacks on. Our first stay compared to this one which was a little disappointing! But lovely to have the option of snacks drinks! Room was great so big and spacious and clean!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Great stay over multiple days with service remaining top notch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    This was one of the best hotels we stayed in...

    Staff were great, very professional. Hotel was super clean and well kept. Obviously well managed facility. Location was right by a great hawkers market and a short walk to old Georgetown. Breakfast options were good with a range for all tastes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.9
    Awesome 3-night stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No negatives~!

    1) Rooms were clean and well kept. In-room facilities were in good condition. Shower is really good (good water pressure, water is hot when it's set to 'hot') 2) Geographically good. There's a good selection of hawker food just at the doorstep. Approx 10-15 minute walk to KOMTAR and other shops, 10-20 minute walk to the murals/wall art, depending on which ones you're looking for. 3) Staff were friendly and helpful (ready to clarify our room rates and was also able to direct us to where to go)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel in the centre of Georgetown
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool, for such a large hotel was a bit small and it took 5 minutes to turn on the jacuzzi when asked for.

    The staff were outstanding in their friendliness and desire to please. The room was spacious and clean. The general ambiance was comforting and relaxing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.2
    Good for a short break only...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather is terribly hot in February...

    For breakfast, lunch n dinner, u can find Some delicious locals pushcart foods jus walkin distance. Prices are reasonable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    5.8
    System to tap room key card needs more maintainence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    System to tap room key card needs more maintainence. We had to change our room key card twice, and then request to change to another room, and the next day the door battery died.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.8
    Fair.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lot of tax with cash deposit, I need to spend my cash so I've no money to spend. When checked-in they got big note for deposit but when checked-out they return small notes.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.1
    Modern and clean rooms in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was much smaller than it looked in pictures with only a couple of deck chairs. It was clean though. Jacuzzi didn't seem o be working. Not much character and didn't look as nice as it did in pictures. However for a pretty good rate I was happy enough as I was only there for a couple nights and felt safe coming and going on my own.

    Newly refurbished and clean rooms within a good location. You still need to take a short taxi/shuttle ride to the centre if George Town/attractions but taxis and uber are very cheap. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was ok with a decent enough variety. Down the road from new lane hawker/street food meaning you can walk home, even if travelling alone. I would recommend this hotel to lone travellers, although be aware the majority of the guests were families. Massage place across the road!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.9
    Excellent place to stay for a short trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike about the place. Would return next time for another visit.

    Location was great, when you turn right after exiting the hotel there are excellent coffee shops and eateries for you to try the famous Penang street food. From the hotel a 10 minute walk would take you to Komtar the high tower landmark in Penang. In the other direction of the road would land you near Guerney Drive and the shopping malls there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.9
    The location very central easy to walk around from here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No porridge or butcher muesli for breakfast lacking a few English type dishes. Toast available otherwise great buffet brekkie

    The location very central easy to walk around from here

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    6.3
    Nice enough room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is spotty. Pool is tiny and usually over run with children. Elevators are horribly slow. Breakfast over priced. Too far away from central Georgetown.

    Nice enough room. Free welcome drink is tasty.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.8
    We had a comfortable and relaxing stay at a welcoming and friendly hotel in the heart of Georgetown,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was one day when our room was not cleaned. Once this was reported, though, it never happened again.

    The Staff were very friendly and helpful and always smiling. The breakfast, which was included in the booking, was delicious and comprised a good variety of western and eastern food choices. The vegetable dhal was my favourite! I had it every day!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.1
    Nice average hotel in Penang.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier King
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was certainly not a peaceful experience. The Asian tour groups stormed the breakfast room, and without going into detail, generally behaved badly and loudly ! Also no bar or comfy cafe to have a cup of coffee or a drink in the evening.

    The concierges were excellant and of great help to me. In general all the staff were very good. Location next o Times sq and near Komtar. Nice rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    6.7
    The location is convenient and close to lots of food stalls
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premier King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price showing in booking.com and actual invoice does not tally even with the conversion rate

    The location is convenient and close to lots of food stalls

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.5
    Comfy, just wish the parking could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The inhouse parking was very poor in lighting, imagine i hv to turn on my front vehicles lamps to see the way, is too dark, flurosent tube used had seasons n yellow causing poor lighting, parking system definately need major improvement, i was ask to show room card everytime going out, upon checking out i was ask for the resits in order to go off, hassal of stopping and come down to show this to the security whom was just sitting in the security room, a simple tag the car system upon check in should have solve this easily, why this simple system which being practice in most hotel cant be used ?

    The bed was more than size of king, large n comfy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    Nice hotel and perfect location
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice recption, spacious room, huge bed (maybe not for very tall people), gym was fine, pool nice, and location perfect with Hakker stall in front of the building.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.3
    Will definitely come again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not like the policy where deposit has to be given instead of holding it on a credit card. Having to produce the receipt to claim back the money is really backwards and ancient.

    Room was big and comfortable for it's price. Location was superb.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    7.1
    Global good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Global good stay. One issue with the payment as the staff asked me to pay right first at the check in and also when I asked for one more night. They got already the print of your passport, 2 nights paid...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.5
    A few good days in Penang with Sunway hotel as temporary home near to the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast room floor was sometimes a little sticky, a bit water and cleaning can avoid this little problem.

    The room is spacious enough, the furniture is good and comfortable, the bed is very good and "Kingsize" free wifi, a perfect tv flatscreen flat, enough channels and 2 English spoken channels, BBC and Fox sport. Coffee and tea and water cooker, refrigerator, the bathroom is perfect and foreseen with wide and separate shower cabin. The breakfast offers a wide range of Asian and Western dishes, eggs and noodle soup freshly prepared on request in front of the guest. Also the room service is available with a limited number of dishes but enough to make us happy. An outdoor swimming pool and indoor gym are available.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel - we had a great stay and would use Sunway again!! Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not really a dislike, but do not get too excited about having a welcoming drink available on arrival - it is a very refreshing free fruit juice which is available each afternoon, but it is not alcoholic, so do not get any ideas of getting 'smashed' for free each day!!

    The location was very good, being near the Komtar bus station (with excellent connections around Penang - we bought a 7-day unlimited bus pass for only RM30 each, which was very good value) . The hotel's location meant it was also walk-able to anywhere in George town. On arrival, we were upgraded to occupy a Club Room (though not given access to the actual club lounge (unless we paid an extra fee), but we did have a free mini-bar, free local mobile, and free daily local paper (in English) as a result of being in a "Club" room - Thank you, Sunway). Our "Club" room was fantastic in its facilities and layout. The breakfasts were excellent, with a comprehensive range of foods suitable for all tastes. Local Hawker foods of excellent value was available each evening outside the hotel and there is a complete range of restaurants nearby (with the upmarket restaurants being in the Penang Times Square mall). The staff were all superb (especially the staff in the Sunway Cafe, which we used for our breakfasts).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.7
    To have staff training to boost their 'love' for their company.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were NOT tactful in handling requests or answering inquiries made by guests. Lack of communication and courtesy to greet.

    Comfort, quietness, location, toiletries and facilities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Hotel and food service staff were very efficient and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel and food service staff were very efficient and courteous. Had a week's worth of laundry from prior travel done at hotel and the service exceeded my expectations.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.5
    Overall a very pleasant experience but could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Super King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel parking is tight and limited. Swimming pool is very small, room air-conditioning does not telly with setting, we set 24, it never did follow, so, was freezing in the room as was raining during our stay, the hotel could have more baby, child friendly feature, no baby utensil at suncafe

    Very near to the city center, location,

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    best penang to stay.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the weather is bad and hard to explore the surroundings.

    The services from super friendly staffs are impeccable. Feel really taken care of during the stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.8
    Excellent hotel, good location and value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We have stayed here for short visits over several years. Excellent location particularly for street food. Very comfortable and good car parking. I hope the recent improvements dont result in increased rates for next year.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.3
    Nice service and certain staff which made our stay enjoyable but limit of housekeeping stuff bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very piss off when we first registered with the counter staff. We booked Family Room through Booking.com and added a request to add extra bed. It wasn't stated nor highlighted that this room isn't allowed. Counter staff disallowed and questioned us why didnt we check with hotel when booking instead of writing that request through Booking.com. This really pissed us off. Isn't it this should be the job of Booking.com or Sunway Hotel should check the request and revert to us since we were told that the payment werent transacted but were on hold during our stay? If customer is to check with hotel, should we were advised to do so at the very beginning?

    Staff at my daily house keeping and Breakfast Section were mostly polite and willing to help. They have the willingness to serve.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Great and wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jacuzzi's was not hot water, if is hot water will be plus point.

    Great and wonderful. Staff service excellent, helpful and friendly. Received call to check on room satisfaction and any additional request. Good location - street food just beside hotel and walk ~5 mins reach Time Square.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the lift buttons is faulty during our stay.

    Room is big and clean. Bed is comfortable. Breakfast is awesome with different choices. Staffs are friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.9
    My Room was cosy and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good. Thanks

    My Room was cosy and clean. Food was tasty and service is very helpful. I stayed there only one night but I liked the hotel a lot. Location is very convenient.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: