Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya 4 stars

No 11 Lebuh Tenggiri Dua, Pusat bandar Seberang Jaya, Prai, 13700 Perai, Malaysia

#2 of 11 hotels in Perai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1440 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice stay and valuable for money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very comfortable and clean. I have no issues in regards their services. Just a walking distance to mamak stall and few restaurants which can be explored for. Very valuable stay and definitely will come back and stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.1
    It was a pleasant stay although it was only an overnight stopover for us as we left early.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It did not come with breakfast but it was not a problem because of easily & affordable local breakfast available in the vicinity of the hotel.

    Clean room & fairly spacious, comfortable bed. Staff was helpful & informative. Private & secured parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.8
    Clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was bad if you were there for a leisure trip. Only a few things to do in Seberang Jaya. Hotel was also short staffed. You would have to wait for things eg room service or wanting extra towels and amendities

    Great facilities, amazingly clean and so comfy!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Overall ok.
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't get discount even though I always stay here almost 6 times per year.

    Comfortable. Easy access to shopping mall, mamak reataurant, victoria stations, CIMB Bank MayBank, bla..bla..bla..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is average, doesn't taste that good. We came during eid celebration so they were short-staffed and took longer time to clean the tables and replenish the food

    Great service - reception, room service. Conveniently located near mall and shops

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    The room was clean, the bed comfortable, in room safe, iron...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was clean, the bed comfortable, in room safe, iron & ironing board provided , good shower & bathroom amenities. The staff were also wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    The location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room abit stuffy because air con cannot adjust to our desired setting. I set air con to 16 celsius but it automatically changed to 24 celsius. The staff at the front counter could be a little friendlier.

    The location is good...very near shopping mall and eateries.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    An excellent choice, albeit a little hiccups
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff who handled my first day breakfast during sahur seems to be more lost than I was when I asked to be allowed to participate in the buffet breakfast. She responded by saying that my room didn't include breakfast - which I already knew but I was asking how to be a paying customer instead. Sort of put me back a little because it sounded as if I could not even opt to pay for breakfast. The other thing which let me down this time was that the bathroom had what I just assumed is pubic hair on the corner of the shower area and also another corner outside the shower area. I didn't ask for a room change though as I think that would just be annoying to the staff anyway.

    The staff who casually mentioned that "I've been here before" during my check-in, that was a gesture which made a real difference to my experience. The pleasant smell throughout the entire hotel to my room. The comfortable room as always, and the housekeeping team whom returned my thank you note with a "welcome". Excellent! Also, there's plenty of shops, ATMS, and eateries around so location is fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    Good stay so far
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist during checkout was quite rude and not helpful. No smile as well. Have to change to other staff to do the checkout.

    Love the bed and pillow so much. Super comfy! The buffet breakfast was awesome. So many choices and tasty too. Will stay again next time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.7
    Just ok
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast still no improvement on vegetarian options although this is our third stay. Always ended up eating bread, salad and fruits. I expect more for what I'm paying. The whole world is moving fast towards veg & vegan options but Malaysian hotels still struggle to meet the standards. Should prepare some veg meal for us rather focus on too many non veg items! As I said, I'm paying for it! Room is ok, could see the dust and even had lizard 💩 around. Staffs need to be more friendly rather being "just listen to what I'm telling you" kind of attitude. This I noticed at the counter and cafe on both days of stay.

    Strategic location is what making us to stay here. But I'm thinking to try other hotels after this.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Good but not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The duvet was only clean at the top but underneath had blotches (which is very disturbing to see in the bright morning). Booked without actually looking at the details due to the name, thinking there would be a pool, but there is none. (May I suggest a rooftop pool then).

    The room was nice and the staff were friendly. The bathroom was very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    Good service and clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at the breakfast buffet were proactive and friendly and they were good with our kids. After we had checked in the front desk called to see if we were happy with our room. It's more geared toward business travelers but generally well set up.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They have improved their breakfast choice compared to my first stay in the hotel... There are more varieties and better in taste as well... Keep it up!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.1
    I just being real
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not that friendly, seem like they so into "read" person with their own perception I think, not that knowledgeable, smiling faces not seen except for the bell boy who was polite and did asked if he can be at any help...I like him, he should be put at the front desk!...anyway, I support sunway hotel for being non smoking hotel even though I'm a smoker...not going to stay there no more I think....

    Near to city and the place I'm heading to

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.0
    I have no other option in Seberang Jaya.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The smell is quite bad. I almost falling down at the entrance. My mother was bitten by insect.

    I like the location is strategic with restaurants. Easy to get foods.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.9
    Bed , room , all ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The time to check in take time , about issue cant find my booking through booking.com , and food at coffe house when breakfast they doesnt topup the food so pity for those that havinv breakfast around 9 am .

    Bed , room , all ok

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    My stay was pleasant, no complaints whatsoever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As with every hotel, I find lighting in the room to be only satisfactory.

    Staff efficient, friendly and courteous. No hesitation in recommending this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.5
    Satisfied.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe can have aromatherapy kind of thing on the floor so that it smells good as you get out from the lift / escalator or from your room. boost up your spirits!

    bed was comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.0
    The room is spacious and location is strategic, it is worth...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we have make calls to confirm before arrive, unfortunately the calls can not be reached or cut-off during the line transferred, the room got smoking smell even that is non-smoking room and the receptionist response very slow even at non-peak hours.

    The room is spacious and location is strategic, it is worth for the value paid.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    5.8
    Your staff didnt give priority to pregnant woman.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Your staff didnt give priority to pregnant woman. This make me stand almost 20minutes in order to be entertain. You should hire more staff. Very inconvenient. I only ask him to open my room due i left my key

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    This is my favourite hotel in Penang..keep coming back at least in every three months
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The credit card verification. Most of the time I have to call the reServation department a week after checking out in order to request them to call the respective bank and cancel the credit card transaction which was meant for verification purposes.

    Almost everything about the facilities, staff and food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.5
    Price and location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property do not accept debit card when booking! When booking.com send confirmation the property always rejected. It's a hassle!

    Price and location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    4.2
    Poor
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Non smoking 2. No basement parking 3. Extra parking far from hotel. If raining it's difficult to walk from car park to hotel. 4. Poor breakfast menu 5. Housekeeping did not knock the room door before came in.

    Clean and bed is comfy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    Decent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that i made booking is inclusive taxes thru booking.com. Nevertheless, during check in hotel said it is not included. Toilet room 811 - the sink was mouldy not clean & clogged.

    Early check-in at 12noon Complimentary shuttle service to sunway carnival mall Welcome drinks

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.3
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room is comfortable, neat and clean, the staffs are friendly and helpful. I booked 4 rooms for the family and it is excellent for the price we paid. I will consider this hotel again for our future trips

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.0
    cleaner should not simply enter the room while guest is...
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cleaner should not simply enter the room while guest is inside the room. it happened on the first day during my stay. it was one of the unpleasant experience i had for the previous trip

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Sunway Seberang Jaya my favourite hotel in Penang. Dont leave home without booking..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hardly, they treat me well all these years and try everything possible to accomidate us.

    This is my regular hotels when I travel to the north. Everyone kniws me well ans I know them too. I have noticed their breakfast spread has improved tremendously. Perviously I had breakfast outside but now I prefer to have breakfast in.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Convenience place especially for those travelling with infants and senior citizen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is spacious and comfy...the menu for breakfast is amazing..the staff are friendly and attentive..on top of that it is very strategic location, next to shopping malland surrounded by shoplots and eateries.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.1
    To travel with infant, the hotel didn't equipped fully...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To travel with infant, the hotel didn't equipped fully likr basie baby baty basin not available. Its few ringgit item but couldn't imagine why is not available in hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    Zaidi at reception was very efficient, helpful and courteous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking ticket quality needs improvement. The machine at exit failed to read my ticket on 2 different occasions! I was given a replacement ticket but it is very inconvenient...

    Zaidi at reception was very efficient, helpful and courteous. My reservation was not yet updated due to very last minute booking but he explained and handled it very well. Waiting time to resolve this was less than 5 minutes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.9
    All
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I lost my watch there, it was very important for me, because it was my grandma bought it for me. And she was passed. I don't doubt your stuff who cleans our room. But if it is possible, please, please, find and return it to me. I can give you some money to regard as a gift for thanks. I'll stay in Malaysia until 9 February. Please. Thank you for your helping.

    All

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.3
    The price is cheaper in Booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price is cheaper in Booking. com but after made payment including taxes, it is no different with my company corporate rate. During booking RM168 and after taxes RM198.80 but no breakfast. My company corporate rate is RM 221 including breakfast. So please give reasonable price if offer discount.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    8.8
    A very enjoyable stay and recommended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food at the restaurant is not up to Sunway hotels standard. It has one of the worst hotel food in the group.

    Room is clean and location is close by to malls and food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    4.2
    Very bad experience. First time we got a bed bug bite in 4* hotel
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed at 2 rooms at level 8. Me and my daughter have a very bad case of bed bug bites from 2 rooms. The bed is really old looking and not properly kept.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    8.3
    First part was uncomfortable but rest of the day was wonderful
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premier King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need improve the customer service especially the front desk staffs.A day before i asked for early check in and they ask to call back on check in day but the staff said, we can't check in(1pm).customer service is important

    Very well located for shopping and for foodies .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.1
    overall room is very comforted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    as a 3 star hotel, we were suffering with the guest lift service during our 3 days stay in hotel. they have lift maintenance/issue for all their main guess lift, all hotel guest been requested to use the loading bay/kitchen lift to access to our room floor.

    overall room is very comforted. Room service is just nice, they are fulfilled all the request from their guest as soon as possible.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    Clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel price in booking.com should show inclusive of gst and service charge, so that the customer has better estimation of the total amount needed to pay.

    The room is clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.9
    The room is comfy and well equipped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff on the reception were passive. When we checked in, no detail has been told. This included the breakfast time. The worst was every room entitled for free parking. They didn’t tell us how to waive the parking fee. And we wasted our money paying the parking fee every time we went out. Until we check out, the bell boy told us how to waive it.

    The room is comfy and well equipped.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    4.6
    Not so good an experience this time around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift under maintenance while there. Checked in to a smelly room . Asked attendance to spray wih deodoriser .. no effect. Even the phone was smelly... never wiped ??Finally asked to change room.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel and close to Sunway carnival mall
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet dinner looks unappealing and food does not look appetising. I did not eat the buffet on this trip but previously I had breakfast which does not reflect the hotel standard for it's f&b.

    The rooms are new and clean. It is close to Sunway carnival mall and there restaurants all around the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    6.7
    The room is average but comfy, however there is so many
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bed is not confortable, and quite noisy from aisle you can hear people walking and chatting, the door is not sound proof, the water pipe sound from room next door really disturb of my sleep The sink inside the toilet is not in order

    all services is average

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.6
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested for room for disabled person as my husband is kn wheelchair. I have called to comfirm 2 days before arrival and the reservation desk has confirmed. Upon arrival we were informed that the room is occupied by a long stay customer. Though the toilet is ok but still my husband has difficulty to shower and use the wc. We were ok but the stay would be more convenient should we stay in the room for disabled. Thank you

    Bed is comfortable Aircond is not so cold

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    5.8
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer Service very poor. 1) Call up to ask for assistant internet problem in the room, never attend till the day I check out. 2) Never asked how was my stay but 2 people from hotel customer service called to my room asking same question about my room after I check-in. 3) I call up the hotel a day before to check on my reservation, talk to Vani not helping. Requested talk to Duty Manager on duty, en. Firdaus never attended me & never call me back till im check in the next day. Not even meet & greet. I don't think I will come back to this hotel next time.

    The bed & pillows was very comfy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    8.3
    The breakfast is so good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room have a bit problem with the aircond. The temperature is lock and can't be change.

    The breakfast is so good. Many choices.. Clean and spacious room. Value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Very very satisfied w food n in house hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Suite offered had only one centralised air conditioner, had to ventilate a large room.

    Very good complimentary measures taken. Offered free upgrade to suite because fully booked

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.9
    Good location - restaurants, shopping mall & supermarket...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby is a bit small.... congested with people waiting for the tour buses

    Good location - restaurants, shopping mall & supermarket within walking distance. The hotel is clean & has ample private parking area

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    It was a very comfortable hotel and the variety of food during the breakfast was superb
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect even the room. However, just a minor setback. The bathroom has a slight urine smell when I checked in. Although I was not sleeping inside the bathroom but perhaps the housekeeping should be alert when cleaning up the room.

    The staff were very courteous and made sure that help is always within reach. Most of the hotels in town are fully booked and I needed a room for the night as it was getting late. Although the hotel rooms were fully booked, the staff took the initiative to upgrade my room without further charges. I never expected that. Thank you!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    6.3
    Bad reply from hotel staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a king size bed room, but they only reserve twin bed and I get the reply is fully booked. Under booking. com, they will not reserve the right for booking.com customer. And they charge me the same price of king size bed room. Tis is what the hotel staff reply to me.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    Everything just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I cannot used my genius bonus for extra 2 hours late checkout. Because the bed so nice, I need more time to enjoy the bed with movie.

    Everything just perfect..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    3.3
    Not comming back unless it refurbish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) Room carpet is dirty. 2) Under the bed carpet is filty dirty and full of dust and it can be collect and turn in to cotton wool. 3) Everythings in the hotel is very old seem like never being upgrade.

    Nothing that can impress me

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    5.4
    aweful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was the second incident involving the same hotel never will I ever step in the hotel again

    The sad experience was that my credit card was compromised.Made payment on 23 Oct to the hotel,immediately the data was stolen and on 24 morning the clone credit card was utilized to make purchases in England up to the amount of $2400.My bank is carrying out investigation and I strongly suspect the internal staff are involved.No reply from the hotel in spite of my complaint.Please advise guest to be vigilant using oversea credit to make payment

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    10
    The flower smell of the lobby
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Singapore bihun doesn't have spring rolls as described The mushroom soup is delicious but a little bit salty otherwise the garlic bread that paired with it is just perfect

    The flower smell of the lobby The ban heang cookie King size bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.6
    A great stay, definitely recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I noticed the water in our bathroom did not clear quickly after a shower.

    Our room (Premier double) was very spacious and well-spacious, perfect for a family with 2 small children. The welcome drinks, complinentary drinks and biscuits in the room are very kind gestures. Staff are also well-trained and polite. Furnitures in the room are well maintained. Bed was very comfortable; love the large pillow sets. TV offers a variety of channels(non-astro ones though) but still some good ones with drama and movies. Bathroom is quite spacious, with many toiletries to make your stay a little more comfortable. Location wise, the hotel is very near Sunway Carnival Mall and shoplots, with eateries and convenience stores within walking distance.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.9
    Clean and feel-new room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioning cannot be adjusted to what it says on the controller, heater & fan. so the room just can be set to air conditioning and switch off option. How comfy if the heater can be used as well. room 1118. Hope can give discount for returning customer as well

    Clean and feel-new room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.1
    Overall a good stay
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast choices are limited. Two days breakfast same, not value for money. Will opt for no breakfast next trip

    Location is good, near shopping mall and F&B outlets. Room is well maintained and air-con is cold.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.5
    Booking Directly would have been cheaper. Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walk in price is RM178.00. The Booking.com charged RM169.00. Disappointed to see the price discount which was given by Booking.com????????? Claimed to be the cheepest???????????????

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.9
    The location, staff and cleanliness is the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast choice is so limited. Unexpected for a hotel under Sunway Group. Only the teh tarik worth mentioning. The rest can't even beat the food court standard of meal!

    The location, staff and cleanliness is the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If they have the Halal certification, that will be perfect.

    Free mini bar, very nice amenities, clean and comfortable room. All in all, it was one of my best hotel experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    It is in the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None to comment, our stay was too short to find any fault with the properties. All was good.

    It is in the city center. The rooms are spacious and clean. Our initial room that was confirmed has been fully booked upon arrival so we got upgraded to a nicer room as a complimentary.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely n comfy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps more seatings at the lobby. Air cond setting in room a little confusing but it was ok with instructions.

    Lovely n comfy room.Front office team very helpful n attentive. Gave us all double bed upon request. Eating area- plenty. Parking lots - plenty. Welcome drink n Penang Biscuits in the room. Very comfy bed n spacious bathroom. Sufficient toiletries. Great location as we r jz staying on mainland to attend a wedding.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    10
    Awesomeness!!! Just come here and stay NOW!
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to complain about really. I'm not much of a fussy person.

    Staff's pleasant attitude and helpfulness! Hotel cleanliness and services provided. Cozy bed and pillows, and did I mention staff's pleasant attitude? Yes, I emphasize on that twice!!! :) Pleasant smell upon entering lobby area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.1
    overall a good stay
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My booking through this site was not updated in their system, so, I had to wait for about 20 minutes before I could check in.

    The bed was very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.1
    Would stay again for convenience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast cafe was quite cramped and the selection of dishes can be improved. Some bedside sockets would definitely be helpful for travellers who like to work leisurely.

    Staff were helpful, very big open space car park. Location is quite convenient, a selection of food eateries nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    5.5
    Not sure what too put here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The breakfast buffet food was mainly for muslims and people from the local area. There was very little western food to choose from. I did ask for the cook to make me an omelette but he said no. The food was not appealing to me...it was not refreshed when ran out. I pre-booked at this hotel for 9 days but ended up shortening my stay at this hotel and went to another...

    The first night was a nightmare, I tried to get down the elevator (only two for customers). Little did I know there was a convention going on that night and the lobby was really full with people trying to access the only two elevators to go to their rooms. There are stairs, but to access them you activate the fire alarm so I didn't use them. it took me over 14 minutes to get from the 7th floor to the lobby. Then when I wanted to go back to my room, I couldn't...I asked about stairs and the manager gave me access to elevators in the back for people that work there. Those elevators should be used by everyone to alleviate the problem of just two working elevators for customers. Im glad there was no fire that night!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    6.3
    Clean and spacey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was impolite.. allowed another guest who arrived later to jump queue. Bathroom was broken.. sink was stuck then leaking.. so was the bidet.

    Clean and spacey. Fast respond time by staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    6.3
    The day when I stayed there, too many events until I felt...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The day when I stayed there, too many events until I felt that I can't release my tense, disappointed as I came all the way from KL to Penang just to stay here. I have been given the nearest room to the lift, 1101... Too loud with people's voices

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Great stay with Sunway Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too bad the reception don't have any iPhone charger as we forgot to bring it with us.

    The room is clean and spacious with all the essential facilities, like iron and iron board. Enjoy the complementary snacks

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.1
    Some dumb idiots who still smoke in the hotel room even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some dumb idiots who still smoke in the hotel room even though there is No Smoking sign. It's annoying where child is concern. Hotel must play important rule too !!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.8
    Sunway Hotel Just Like Home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my opinion the breakfast needs to be upgraded. The Light and Ixora they have better choices. Indonesian hotels of the same range serve better breakfast than Malaysian hotels. Most of the time I take and enjoy breakfast outside the hotel.

    This is THE hotel no matter which range you choose they are equally equipped. I have been a regular and love it that eventhough I tried to change to a better hotel, in the end I came back to Sunway Hotel SJ. I found the water pressure in the bathroom is so good that you don't feel like to get out of the bathroom. The space is good no matter which range. There is big closet, mini fridge, hair drier and good bath gel and shampoo, iron and kettle too. This is the only hotel in the wirld that parking at ground level is not a problem. The bell biys and the security guards they are very friendly people. The reception will depend on the number of guests check-in. There is a big mall if the same name and plenty of restaurants and shopping around the hotel. Even bird's park is also within walking distance to those without transport.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Good all round
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were upgraded to d club room ..would have been better if we were allowed to hv breakfast or at least coffee st d club.

    The breakfast was decent, i had toadted english bread with youghurt and a pau.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel to stay in mainland part of penang
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining hall (beside front desk) is small, need to share table w strangers during breakfast

    Perfect location if you going to mainland of penang, mcd, kfc, subway, shopping mall n shop in walking distance, ample parking, very friendly front desk staff including bell boy, rate is cheap compare to hotel facilities and room' comfy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.1
    The hidden cost.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hidden cost. Why do they charge me on room service even though I didn't request any? The non stop music played could be listened from my room and disrupted my peace

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.6
    Superb hotel and Value for money!!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some workout equipment was out of service. Please maintain and repair whereby possible.

    Warm welcomed by the front desk staff, superb breakfast and well upkeep toilet facilities, nice views and value for money, will back for next business trip stays!!! Good works!!! renovated recently

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.1
    Decently happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 20 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not too safe to walk alone outside the premises of the hotel building to nearby restaurant rent a car if possible.

    Value for money, nice staffs and convienent place overall.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    4.2
    Worst..get insulted by your staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    none ..the room very smell and ventalition not working .water pressure very low... rate below avarage ..i am not recommanded to anyone or going to stay there again.

    none..you staff shouted at me ...

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: