Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Swiss Inn Chinatown Kuala Lumpur 3 stars

62 Jalan Sultan, 50000 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

#139 of 512 hotels in Kuala Lumpur

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1489 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    6.7
    Uninvited Guest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Avoid the first floor. We reported a rat in the room - a huge rat at that which scampered through a gap in the ceiling on seeing us. It was around 9.30pm, however we didn't expect the desk manager to say there was nothing he could do about it. Eventually he agreed to change the room but from twin beds to a double. My daughter was not happy. Eventually after showing us that we had really inconvenienced him we were allowed to upgrade to a deluxe room where there were twin beds. The next day, when we approached the desk manager, she actually apologised and was very sweet saying the manager would write. A week later and we've heard nothing from the manager despite our clothes being rummaged through and some of my daughter's clothes being ripped. I also had a hole gnawed through my rucksack.

    The facilities were excellent for the price of a superior room on the first floor although access to the floor involved going up in one lift, across the corridor and then down in another. A good selection of TV channels, a decent shower and plenty of hot water. There was no window but the room was decorated well and was quite cosy. The location was excellent for both MRT and LRT. The deluxe room that we were upgraded to on the fifth floor had no rat, was more spacious and had the added bonus of a fridge and safe,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.9
    Nice to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extension floor in between 2 blocks are too far from the rooom and the elevator quite slow.

    Location and environment cos near the china town and petaling street and there's a lot of food stall located at there.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.5
    Reasonable quality and fair priced hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Window
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Satellite TV channels were not adequate because there was not one English news station like Al Jazeera or BBC and the one movie station called Vision 4 was poor quality. Only National Geographic channel was worth watching, but as with all these satellite channels they continually repeat. Would be difficult to find parking if guests had a car. Coffee at breakfast could be greatly improved.

    The room was quite a nice size and very clean. Coffee & Tea making facilities and reasonable speed WiFi. Breakfast was tasty and enough variety. Staff were friendly and helpful. In room safe and CCTV cameras everywhere shows this hotel considers security as important.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.8
    Hotel was in an excellent location within walking distance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were in an extra area of the hotel which had small but comfortable rooms. Good overnight stops but not for longer stays. Steps between the loby and the dining area became tedious.

    Hotel was in an excellent location within walking distance to the venue we were attending. Fantastic location with access to road and rail systems. The hotel is in China town. great fun in the markets and interacting with the vendors. Fantastic food options, on the street and in the many old, new and exclusive restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.2
    Would definitely book Swiss Inn Chinatown again.
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Window
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows too high and hard. No access to Petaling St entrance after 10pm. Beer the only alcoholic drink at bar.

    The staff very friendly and solved any queries quickly. Interesting location and access to transport. Good breakfast selection .. Asian and western. Good lunch dinner selection.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    The location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only complaint is with the Wi-Fi. I could never log on either in the room or the lobby. I had to get the clerk to log on for me. Each time I left and came back to the premise, the clerk had to re-log for me. I am very uncomfortable for the clerks to fiddle with me cell phone. The clerks said other guests could not log on either. This happened during my previous stay. I hope the management fixes the problem. It seems an easy matter to resolve

    The location is excellent. The staff if friendly. Very clean, Good value for the money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    I like your bed and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Please upgrade your Wifi connection. The connection seems very slow and its kinda irritating when we need to download and upload files.

    I like your bed and service. The location is just awesome for us to move around the city

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.5
    Swiss inn at Chinatown, KL
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Picture show a bigger size room for deluxe, actuall room is small. Furniture used almost old, need to replace with the modern concept.

    Price in booking.com Nice staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.2
    Great Stay as always
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Window
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room on the 7th floor can be a little bit frustrating waiting for the lift,

    Newly refurbished deluxe twin beds. Generally clean. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel cos there were so much more delicious chinese food for breakfast outside.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic location and comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Window
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the bathroom was well laid out and had a separate shower area it was quite small.

    The rooms are huge and ours had a great view over the famous Jalan Petaling. All the facilities you could want are here and working well. The wifi was excellent and very fast and having a fridge was conveinient. The breakfast was excellent and the staff were helful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.3
    The location is good for sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is without windows. The mattress is a bit hard. Breakfast is the same everyday, the croissant is hard and not flaky. No parking in the compound, have to park at the car park in the opposite building, which is hidden behind other hotel.

    WiFi connection is good. Staff at front desk is great and enthusiastic.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    3.8
    Will not come again even for free
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place is musty Place is too old Rooms don't have window Air conditioning is blowing germs inside the room I've tried 3 rooms with same as above points When I tried to tell the reception guy he pointed to a what's app number saying you can complain if you don't like the room.

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.1
    Good stay. Will come back soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath toiletries need some improvement. Unable to press out the soup inside the tiny bottle as it seems stuck inside.

    Comfy room and Wifi signal is good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    Value to the money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Misleading information regarding of breakfast availability for certain room rates.

    The decoration and multiple layers of security measures in place for guess.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't love the breakfast but was still fine. Made up in all other areas.

    Fabulous location. Room was great. Staff were lovely. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel but staff could smile more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first room 718 was great. Quiet and comfortable. But it is a long way from reception and this is a bit of a drag. Our second room 331 was more expensive and worse. It was a family room and while we were just two, we had to take it as it was the last room available. the bathroom was pretty bad, and the floor was always wet. you got your feet wet going to the loo. The air conditioning was noisy. On a positive note breakfast was good. in common with most people we met in Kuala Lumpur including the immigration staff at the airport, many if not most people did not smile and were often rude. It is very different from neighbouring countries in South East Asia. I haven't figured why yet. The restaurant staff were friendly.

    Breakfast The beds

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.9
    Our stay was ok except for the non-working WiFi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their WiFi access was down during our stay. We were expecting that we will have net access. It would have been so convenient to research things online but since net wasn’t available, it was difficult for us to get info like what MRT station to get off; what bus to take etc. 😞😞😩😩

    Stayed at the property before. Even recommended it to my friends. It’s in the heart of Chinatown that comes more alive at night. Short walking distance fron the nearest MRT station (Pasar Seni). Value for money coz room rates are very affordable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.9
    Chinatown KL
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of works were going on in the area, which meant it was dust, difficult to get across roads, no pedestrian walk ways.

    Great location that meant you are able to catch the trains to any destination in the city or even to the airport. Chinatown is an experience you can't miss. Reggae club & another rooftop bar that is nearby adds to a little nightlife.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.4
    Location was near to food market.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with Window
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff were ignorant and plain lazy. Poor attitude in terms of focus and concentration.

    Location was near to food market. Housekeepers were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No easy access to parking. The hotel does not have parking. I advise traveler to use public transport. The MRT is just a stone throw away. WiFi could be better. Waiter at the petlaing street cafe were all foreigners. Don’t speak Malay and understands English poorly.

    Excellent location at the of heart of Petaling Street (China Town). Room is very clean and very comfortable. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.1
    Nothing Swiss about this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has undergone a recent refresh, although it seems to be mostly superficial. Our "new" room was heavily scented but had a overall moldy smell. Indicating probably that the mold in the rooms had not be dealt with .. only painted over. We were happy to have just booked it for one night.

    Good location if you want to be in Chinatown.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.1
    Not worth staying here, Avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big construction work going on while I stayed there, of which I was not informed prior to arrival. Sheets on bed were filthy. Had yellow stains and marks on them. Had to ask for new sheets,

    Receptionists were very nice and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had 4 rooms. 2rooms had no towels for shower. The room Safe was lock, toilet no lights,the last room wc washer hose was broken. They gave towels with holes and not useable for shower. Walkway aircon not on.Very bad will never recommend anyone to this hotel.wrost hotel

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.7
    Thumbs up to the location and also the front line personnel,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have stayed at this Hotel for the past 3-4 times, however this time round I was given a room where the condition is bad. The bathroom door looks like about to be detached from the wall. Water flowing from the bidet. The room was hot even when the air conditioning is on but after some adjustments made by the staff, there was improvement. Some renovations are ongoing and hopefully, it'll be better after the renovations.

    Thumbs up to the location and also the front line personnel, Joey who was helpful, friendly and courteous.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Great stay, very happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Window
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are very small - we had a window but no outlook. For the price its an excellent place to stay. Tiny little bathroom but great pressure in the shower.. As with all asian hotels, mould in the grout that they just cant get off - Recommend some bleach, a toothbrush and some gumption to the hotel management.

    The location and the lovely staff member on our level, he really looked after us. We had single beds and they were super comfy with really nice linen. Plenty of water to drink, tea and coffee - and mugs not cups. Television worked well. Being able to walk out the back door through the restaurant straight on to Petaling Street was fantastic. Breakfast was pretty good too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Window
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the facility is a bit old, the door card easily spoiled and got to get it replace a few times. 2 buttons in the 2 lifts got missing, for us that staying at 7th floor, got to get out at 6th floor then climb up to 7th floor using staircase, just because 7th floor button is missing,LOL.

    Location! Location! Location! Right in the center of China town area and jalan petailling street market, easily accessible using taxi or Grab or public transport to all shopping malls.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.1
    About the rate should elborate more on hidden charges...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    About the rate should add in deposit plus 10$ total amount advertise on the internet rather than juz the room rate

    About the rate should elborate more on hidden charges example 10Rm deposit The rate on net dosent tally with the actual amount pay on the net it advertised 103MYR but reach is charge 114 plus deposit i tink tis info should say upfront what if the traveller dosent bring much $ and he or she cant stay there tis info will be useful so as to prepare more cash

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location in middle of Chinatown. Good food and shopping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower covered in mould! Staff could be more welcoming. Have stayed here previously but probably won't again due to condition of bathroom. Walls are thin so noise can be a problem with inconsiderate guests returning late at night in the corridor. Renovation work in progress.

    Location in Chinatown. Price with breakfast included is good value. Great food and shopping at doorstep. Recommend Hong Lee Claypot Chicken Rice Restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    3.8
    Most disappointing stay ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very very very disappointing stay for my family. The wifi in the room is extremely bad, when we go to the reception and get them to fix it, the wifi could be use for only a few mins before going off again. Since the wifi was bad and we could not use it to contact each other, we tried using the hotel phone to contact only to find the hotel room spoilt where there are certain numbers that could not be pressed - and this wasnt for just one room, a few of our rooms had the same problem. Since the wifi and phone is down, we had to walk to each other’s room which is at different level (booked a total of 4 rooms and was given 3 different levels for it). But walking to each other’s room was also made difficult as the hotel’s lift wasnt functioning normally - there are floor levels that could not be reached as the button was spoilt too and we are left with only one lift to use but whenever we press, the lift that button was spoilt was the one that served us but we couldnt take it as it does not bring us to the level we want. I even heard a hotel guest saying he waited 30mins for the lift. Wifi, hotel phone and lift aside, the room is also terrible. The rooms were small, not clean and one of our room’s bed even have blood stain on it. There was a room where the aircon was not cold, we called to ask the staff up to help, the staff came to the room, pressed a few button and left, but the room still remained hot the whole night - the aircon wasnt fixed! In another room of ours, the basin in the toilet was clogged... And all of these were what we experience within the one night stay at the hotel, cant imagine having to stay more than one night in a hotel with such terrible conditions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.7
    Consider staying somewhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The front desk is not very fluent in English so its hard to communicate. Also, it is hard to get to the hotel room as you need to get to 2 separate lifts and walk into various hallways - its like a maze. There was also a part wherein construction is on-going so walking through this path made me uncomfortable. Their in-house restaurant, Kafe Petaling does not serve food anymore at around 7PM (they said they were closing at 11) due to "no crowd" which is a bummer as we need to go outside to get food. We tried eating at the restaurant the next morning and they have a breakfast buffet. But you need to pay an extra 18MYR as this is not included in our stay.

    The room is clean with free toiletries, complimentary coffee / tea / water bottles. The location is accessible to many restaurants and shops as this is situated in the heart of Chinatown. The hotel is mid-range in price but I think that you could get the same price with a better service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    I like the staff very much.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Every room should have window. I did not like that very much. Also the toilet paper should be of good quality, as it is a hotel. Also by booking.com the price was different and when I paid in the hotel it was double price. I did not understand the policy and system of the price of the hotel. Moreover room without window does not fit the price I have paid.

    I like the staff very much. They are very polite, helpful and kind. Service was perfect!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.3
    The TV has many channel that are interesting to watch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They didnt provide towels for my room. The aircond takes time to get cold. At first its super slow you're wondering if its working. The bedsheet is stained and dirty.

    The TV has many channel that are interesting to watch. The pillows are good and comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    2.5
    Fake property description.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I'm a frequent traveller, easily satisfied. But when I pay € 35+ per night in Kuala Lumpur, Chinatown [i.e., it's not Zone 1 London], I've got expectations. Facts: ~ Room advertised as being 'Superior' with no window. ~ Hair found on the floor, below the desk and the bed. ~ Lift not reaching floor 3 [~just take the stairs, not my problem if you're disabled] ~ Half of floor 2 in renovation [~noisy work until late in the evening] ~ Shakira-only playlist being played everywhere in the building. ~ You have to log in to access the internet, every time. I mean come on, 21st century. ~ Staff isn't helpful. They basically hate their job, which frankly I understand. ~ No refund possible, of course. Do what you want, but I'm not coming back.

    Nothing ~ my stay was horrible.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.0
    Extremely disappointing. Reception staff makes you feel not welcomed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at Reception was very unfriendly, sounded money oriented only. No welcome, no desire to help. We wanted to give an item for laundry, in our room there was no laundry list for guests but there was a laundry list for staff uniform! We called Reception to get a correct list, it was never delivered. We had to go downstairs to give laundry. And guess what: it was returned to us next day at 11 pm only though they promised to return by 6 pm! We were very worried as we were checking out early morning, and every time calling Reception we heard: maybe, let us check but nobody ever called us back. Very disappointing. Hotel is going through renovation, so to enter the guest rooms you need to go to 2nd floor, then walk, then take another elevator which doesn’t go up to 7th floor. If you stay on 7th floor you need to take a staircase from 6th. So if you have heavy luggage be ready to carry it up the stairs! There’s no bellboy and only Security person may agree to help you with luggage if he is available. In general it was a terrible experience comparing to all other places we stayed in Malaysia. Will not recommend to stay there.

    Location - right in Chinatown, big selection of food places around plus evening market. Metro station and free buses terminal is very close.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    4.2
    very disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Window
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A very disappointing stay. this is not the first time we have stayed here. we used to love this little hotel. however now they are suffering with renovations that should have closed the hotel, they have lost there liquor licence and the rooms were small and dirty. i hope they can recover

    The location was about the only good thing about this hotel at the moment. one or two of the staff were excellent. how ever the rest need to look for jobs away from customer service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable room. Good location with an entrance on Petaling St.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Window
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some renovations happening - but that should mean improved facilities in the future.

    Very comfortable room. We would like to commend Redoy who was very helpful to us, cleaning our room and helping with luggage. The breakfast staff are great for replenishing food (eg fresh croisssants) and keeping everything clean. We feel very welcome at Swiss Inn.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.0
    Not worth remembering except for the nasi goreng in the coffee shop in the basement!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    Firstly, to get to my room on the 7th floor, I had to take a lift from the 1st floor to 2nd floor, walk a loooong corridor to another lift lobby to take a lift to the 7th floor. There were 2 lifts there out of which only one could get me to the 7th floor - the other lift was working but for some reason couldn't go to the 7th floor. I woke up the next morning after I checked in at 7am and couldn't go back to sleep even though I only slept at 2am earlier in the morning because I woke in a sweat - the aircon had stopped producing cold air. Hotel was very rundown and looked so seedy; lighting was dim. For the same price, my friend stayed just across the street in a much newer, brighter and cleaner-looking hotel. I felt very cheated.

    The hotel was right in the middle of Chinatown, so food was no problem.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.0
    Don’t expect too much
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room is located on the other side of the building, it’s confusing to walk inside and take 2 different lifts to reach our rooms. They are renovating their second floor and a lot of dusts flying around. It’s a good thing they upgrade the rooms. The rooms are really humid and smell bad due to the mosses I think because there’s no windows so it’s hard to air the room. The some parts of the ceiling and around the aircon are stained too because of the moisture. Our pillow cases had stains on it and were changed after asking the staff at the counter. The whole bedding feels a bit damp like I said it’s hard to air. For a one night stay, we didn’t ask to change our room and just go for it. Wouldn’t return to this hotel anymore. It’s cheap and just don’t expect too much.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.5
    Room was kept clean daily and beds made.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Window
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool despite the ad

    Room was kept clean daily and beds made. No disturbance from the hotel staff. Breakfast was not such a great variety but didn't lack the basics. We had a window in our room but view not good as we had the back of someone's house. But glad to have had natural light all the same. Location was excellent for us to get to everywhere we wanted and we had access to GoKL the free bus with Wi-Fi.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location +local food. I always bring my foreign friends to this hotel for about 13 years now.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Window
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Ongoing renovation work on 2nd floor and noise. But understand that it is necessary. Thanks for upgrading quality of hotel. Draft beer machine not working

    l one local food ... chinese porridge; malay nasa lemak. Western friends liked that croissants, eggs and sausages were available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.3
    Good location. Basic old Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Well, I have a lot to say. Website pictures are really deceiving. Not at all what I was expecting. AT ALL. Apparentely there is one new part and an old part of hotel. I stayed in the old part. The room was small, the internet did not work properly as it did not reach the bed. Not even my cell phone worked (no service). It had a really bad smell of mould. Even though I think the room and corridors were recently painted it has a old and used look. I stayed in room 103. Breakfast simple and without many western options.

    The location is great. In the heart of KL Chinatown. The Receptionist, Zoe. Amazing, super professional, quick and very nice!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.1
    my favorite KL Chinatown stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    inconvenience of renovation work and related noise . But this is temporary ... the upgrading is appreciated

    good location, good value, staff friendly. I've been using this hotel for 12 years and will continue doing so. I am Malaysian - living abroad - who enjoys spending the first days of my return home soaking up the atmosphere of Chinatown

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.3
    Exactly what to expect for price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not very good. Just stick with the noodle soup and croissants! It is slightly dated but clean for the most part. Our previous guests in our room had durian in the fridge so every time we opened it, you could smell durian which well, isn't very pleasant but not too bad. Just funny!

    Within minutes you are at different Chinatown places including some incredible restaurants. They let us check in early, which after an early morning flight was really nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.4
    Close to Petaling street
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting woken up by noisy neighbours at 3am every night.My credit card getting charged RM $100 for security bond and then been told it can take up to a month for the money to be refunded I always thought a bond was just on hold not actually removed from your card

    Close to Petaling street

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with window
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking - need to use external car park (very expensive) Restaurant - closes at 9 pm, limited menu and pricey

    Very helpful front desk, strategic location, quick and efficient check-in and out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    3.3
    overall poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    first came at hotel swiss inn feeling i was very disappointed. The hotel does not provide parking services and we check in the counter waiter not to say the payment is due. When we got out and the parking counter said it charged RM75 and I was shocked. The parking counter has said it needs to get a stamp from the hotel to get a discount. I had to walk a long way to the parking lot to get cops from the hotel. Once again the hotel counter did not say anything when I asked for a cop and I was reminded that if the cops from the hotel did not need to pay any more. but we were charged RM20 for hotel accommodation. I was very disappointed and when we reported at the hotel's officer on duty he said dissatisfaction was charged. She can only say the hotel does not provide parking and hope not to go out by car. Many places we already plan to go. I feel very disappointed with this hotel service. the first time in my life to get a hotel that does not provide parking services and have to pay the price of parking alone. Service housekeeping is very disappointing as well when we have telephones early in the morning until noon and at 2 new housekeeping come packed our room. The reason when we call and ask the operator on duty he states housekeeping according to floor. The services provided are very disappointed and I can not recommeded to my friends and family. Thank you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    Very central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are rather small and without windows (at least ours) - which can be good or bad, considering the noise in the streets. Breakfast could have been better.

    Very central location. You can reach most sights on foot. The next metro station is only 5min away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    a good value for money relative to hotels around this area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    access to the rooms at the back is confusing. there are lapses in hotel security for the back rooms. there isn't any toothbrush provided. toilets at the back rooms are a tad too small due to the glass partition for the shower. i feel that the class partition should be removed if the toilet is not big enough.

    the cleanliness, the cafe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    very enjoyable as always everywhere in Malaysia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with Window
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing.

    location and price were the best part. in the middle of china town so great food everywhere convenient for public transport and airport bus is nearby also. i will stay there again for sure when ever i get to k.l.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice location close to China Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, can't open the window

    Comfortable bed, good WiFi, clean bathroom, they changed the blanket after we saw some spots, close to China Town

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    6.3
    happy with the location but disappointed with the wifi sevice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Window
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very poor in term of wifi. just feel like being cheated cos before booking did query about the wifi facility, some how rather the wifi service was very very poor, most of the time off line and very hard to connect. even the technician came to my 2 rooms and confirmed no wifi service.

    very comfort room and bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.3
    Swiss Inn great location, great staff, location, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    2 minor housekeeping issues but I mentioned it to the duty manager as I checked out and I'm sure they were taken on board

    Love staying at the Swiss Inn, this time I was upgraded to a window room which was great as I had always feared the noise from busy Petaling St (Chinatown) would reach the room but I could not hear any noise.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    6.0
    Provide more varieties for the breakfast pls
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Your staff at the counter should be more welcoming and friendly. They are rather stiff compared to the previous staff that have served me before

    Provide more varieties for the breakfast pls

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    5.8
    Nothing like the photos. Good location but not a very nice atmosphere. Terrible TV reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought it should have been cheaper for what it was. The wifi was very slow and sometimes poor signal.

    Bed was comfortable enough. Bathroom was fine, just old. Good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    5.0
    Damp Squib
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No customer service whatsoever, the room was mouldy with the smell of damp the bed felt this way too. There’s a real problem with ventilation in the rooms with no window when I complained about the room the reply was you’ll have to pay extra to change rooms. The bathroom was so small I couldn’t even sit on the toilet. Great hot power shower though. The hotel is no good for people with walking issues part lifts part stairs with no assistance being offered / given by the staff with luggage. The WiFi was down for two of the three days I spent there, nobody cared no explanation nothing from staff. The restaurant at breakfast was busy first off there was nowhere to sit, on my return an hour later plenty of places to sit but the used plates hadn’t been cleared from the tables no new place settings. I had to clear a space myself. At best it’s a great location if you want to experience China Town for one night with no other decent accommodation in the vicinity. Be prepared to pay 16% more than what’s advertised!

    Location for China Town

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.3
    Well sometimes we may observe negative issues but its good to take note, cheers
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swiss Inn had always been my first choice hotel in KL over the years, however this time round the TV & the hair blower were not serviceable especially when voiced out during the check out, the staff had shown no concern or querry about the matter.

    Neat&tidy, good locality

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.3
    Great location and value in KL
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I always stay at the Swiss Inn when in KL, I love the location right in the heart of Chinatown. Was happy to get an upgrade on this occasion. There were some very minor housekeeping issues which the manager noted and I'm sure will be addressed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    Hardly Parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Parking area provided. Have to park at private Parking which need 5 miniutes walk distance at least & need to pay RM12 for overnight.

    location is Good for access to many hawkers etc.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.8
    Central location, comfortable room, a haven in busy Chinatown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    Pleasant hotel in very central location. Good restaurant and open air bar/eating area, perfect for people watching on local market street. Helpful staff,comfortable room. Ideal for tourists and will stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had stayed here several times before but encountered 1 bad experience in this stay with the night reception counter. He was very Rude, Unpleasant & I wasn't comfortable at all to deal or ask anything from him. Other then that the rest was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.9
    Great location, super helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room with window
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cigarette smoke outside of the room in the corridors. There was a horrendous smell coming up through the shower drain but the cleaner fixed it for us.

    Great location with rear access through Cafe to Jalan Petaling. 7th floor was quiet and had the most amazing view of the city, especially at night. Staff were lovely, room was quite large for Chinatown. Tea/coffee and fridge.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    6.7
    It was ok. But hard to find parking nearby that cover until noon of payment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price stated to be paid at counted different than the hotel asked me to pay. There was one time, my room tripped power when I tried to use the heater and took the technician a long time to arrive at my room.

    The technician guy was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.3
    Swiss Inn great location, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a slight smell of cigarette smoke in my Room - 528 though the room was supposed to be smoke free.

    The location right in Chinatown is great, staff are friendly and helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.3
    Perfect for our needs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Probably our 4th stay over a period of years, we love the location, right in the middle of Chinatown for shopping and restaurants, close to MRT, and yet very quiet hotel inside!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.9
    They have upgrate us to better room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Indian receptionalist was not really pleasant and did not behaive way that we are customers.

    They have upgrate us to better room. 160RN per double with room. Very quite place and awsome bed. But for same price if we would sleep at room w/o window and smaller would be to much expensive

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    10
    Always an enjoyable experience, staff are very helpful and considerate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms are too small though, a little renovation/ extension to the 'depth' would be good, i cant comfortably use the toilet as I am over 6'2" tall. Theres plenty of space to extend by 20 or 30cms at least. The rooms could do with a luggage table, the space next to the wall safe in some rooms with no wardrobe is too small for a medium sized 24" bag with wheels.

    I always stay here for everything good about an affordable hotel. .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.0
    Midnight staff malay male.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Midnight staff malay male.. he not handle the guest very well. beside me have 1 foreign tourist he just say thank you to your staff but your staff did not notice that.. and night shift also don't have : 1) Greeting and welcoming desks as they approach the front desk 2) The procedure for check in is in front the guest not behind at your back office 3) Never leave your guest with out explain to him where and what you want to do at back office because you bring all the document p&c guest but suddenly already check in the room. 4) you can double check if you have CCTV at front office on 9/2/2018 from 6pm till 11pm during his working time for better quality check in staff 5) during check out your staff very nice and have polite attitude she middle age of Chinese lady good and i recommend as a guest in house in your hotel I'm not upset over what happened I understood the task and the responsibility as a worker. I am a worker in the tourism sector and as a guest in your hotel to relax we can imagine something better than this. i understood with your "graveyard shift" but guest always think come to your hotel like haven of the world. please don't make other people reaction for our hospitality worst.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    5.4
    Great location for those exploring Chinatown. Close to little India and close to many tourist site
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor property upkeeping - damp smell from the water leakage above the air condition at door entrance . Leftover used towel above open clothes rack Stained furniture Leftover rubbish under the bed - must been from Many other former Guest and the Housekeeping did not clean it up . Ask for iron an Board , staff send only iron with reason no more board . Small size of bathroom , don’t like the shower room - too cramp even for small size person like me .

    Friendly employee from lobby to the housekeeping floor maid. They offers help and they they hard to meet request .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.3
    the bed in room 322 need to upgrade.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hope in the near future the hotel would provide enough umbrella for the visiting guests. well done Team Swiss Inn. keep up your GREAT work.

    the bed in room 322 need to upgrade.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    6.3
    Strategic Location, cleanliness of the bed need to be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness of the bed sheet, blanket and pillow case need to be improved. Unpleasant smell from the pillow and blanket. Cleanliness of bathroom was quite good though.

    excellent location, strategic for those who want to stay a night after going to concert at Stadium Merdeka (walking distance from Swiss Inn to stadium merdeka main entrance). Also there is a 24hr convenient mart, tons of food stalls nearby. You can grab supper after crazy concert night.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.0
    Location by Chinatown
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price charged was not what booking.com had advertised - the hotel created their own rate - of course we all know we have to pay Tourist Tax but what the for final bill was around 25% higher than it should have been - plus I had asked for a quiet room high flier and was given a 3rd Level obelookkng the market - I left a fat early and moved to Mandarin Orientsl

    Location by Chinatown

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't do your laundry here, very overpriced!

    Second time we've stayed here. Goon location close to Central Market and a metro station. Clean room with comfortable bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    6.7
    The room was clean, A/C good, fine for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    Four flights of stairs to the room were a bit much. The main issue was breakfast (included in price)--1/2 hour after it was to open, the staff were chatting, nothing was set up, and dirty dishes were still there from the day before--decided to eat at the airport.

    The room was clean, A/C good, fine for the price. Location is good for seeing the small colonial area of Yangon.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    5.8
    Location and price only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Old hotel. - No windows in the rooms. - No AC in the elevators. - Had to move from section to other to get to my room. - No toothbrush or shaving tools. -The smell was so bad in the lobby. my worst experience ever !!

    Location and price only.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.6
    A Good Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a cheap hotel to be so close to Chinatown! The location was great and the staff very helpfull. The restaurant in the buildning had a very good breakfast and okay food. I can recomend staying here!

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Swiss Inn Chinatown Kuala Lumpur traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: