Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

No. 1, Persiaran Lagun Sunway 3, 31150 Ipoh, Malaysia

#2 of 107 hotels in Ipoh

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 895 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.6

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Couple
    • Water Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was some construction near the pool as they are building a new Sky Bar...so not a negative really!

    Everything! Beautiful ambience, extremely friendly and accommodating staff, loved the ice cream surprise hunt, Dr. Fish pool, amazing Hot Springs, our villa in general with pool and jacuzzi, huge bedroom, nice amenities in bedroom and in resort overall, Jeffs cellar dinner was an experience to remember....I could go on forever! We will definitely be back here soon! Thank you, BANJARAN!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    10
    Staff were incredible, food fantastic, facilities amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A tiny little mould on the roof of our villa, number 14. Air conditioner was great, but needs a service for quiter operation.

    Staff were incredible, food fantastic, facilities amazing.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    10
    Luxury in a spectacular setting!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Water Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mosquitoes were bothersome but not unexpected.

    The setting and the villa were superb. The friendliness of the staff was exceptional. The food was of high quality. Everything was in walking distance.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    10
    5/5 stars. will repeat this retreat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    need variety for breakfast buffet.

    everything was great! from the moment i park my car, to the entrance with the sounds of traditional music instruments, the staffs, housekeeping to the director who greet all his customers in the morning and especially the magnificient forrest & cave. the hot water spring looked so magical after rain.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    9.6
    Best trip in Malaysia thus far....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lake Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were there to celebrate my mother's 60th birthday. Prior to arriving at the hotel, I wrote an email to the staff asking if they could leave a nice birthday gesture in one of the villas. They did bring it, and exceeded my expectations! The room was filled with rose petals, a lovely birthday card and a mini cake. The private hot spring bath tub in the villas was useful for when it rained outside and just had that wow factor that you used it anyway. Big shoutout to the management, a very thoughtful team. Thank you for providing us with endless organic insect repellents in your room and midnight local snacks. The staff was just a 5 star group of people with smiles all day round. Thank you for letting me know what the plushed toy tigers were about ( sorry folks, but you will have to go there to get the answer yourselves) The outdoor hot spring pools and fish ponds had amazing views ( perfect for that Instagram photo you dream of) Jeff's cellar just topped the game for a perfect evening, with an amazing dinner and special viewing of the private collection. All in all, one of my best travel experiences in Malaysia. The team deserves all the credit they can get.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    10
    Lovely nature - caves and hot springs;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was not very nice and with limited choices only; was told by the reception staff that breakfast ends at 11am but it actually ends at 10:30am

    Lovely nature - caves and hot springs; villas is lovely; bed is very comfortable; staffs are very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful place to truly relax and enjoy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were all quite friendly but often would direct questions or comments only to my husband. (“Good morning sir”, “How was your meal sir”). I felt as though we had gone back a couple decades.

    The grounds were absolutely stunning. Every morning we were just as in awe of the views as the the first day we saw them.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic getaway hideaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Probably the mozzies, though having said that, it really isn’t too bad. But with Eau de Insect Repellent, you should be fine. Don’t bother about your fanciest perfume.

    The Garden villa is excellent as a getaway hideaway. The spa is pretty good too. Jeffers cellar is nice food and ambience too. Oh, and no wailing children about. That was pretty good too. Place is pricey but no regrets. Well worth the feeling of rejuvenation and sense of discovery we felt.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    7.9
    This is a self contain eco friendly places that is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Need some improvement of the spa to attract guest with special offer especially for the first timer.

    This is a self contain eco friendly places that is beautifully engagement with the nature of tropical forest, limestone hills and natural hotspring. If we wanted to explore the Ipoh city which is nearby with plenty of foods to entice our appetite.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    8.8
    Our group of about 14 people may make another stay with Banjaran next year!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lake Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The coffee that is served in the restaurant during breakfast. Quality of coffee is not so good. You may need to look into the current bean or the coffee machine. The flat taste of coffee reduced the rating of your good breakfast.

    The natural landscape that is well kept and maintained. Well trained staff, polite and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    9.2
    Perfect place for a relaxing pampering weekend get-away from KL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe a bit too pricey, however, definitely a place to go at least once while in Malaysia. It would be great if they could provide more sun loungers at the pool area.

    perfect location, surrounded by nature, relaxing limestone caves for yoga & meditation, beautiful landscape & views, good variety & options for breakfast, nice surprise touches provided by staff (room upgrade, secret tree), amazing villa, great place for a weekend free of worries and stress.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    9.6
    The overall natural ambience of the resort and the cave...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hot tub beside the natural hot spring lake could have been hotter. It was luke warm. The food portion e.g. salads and soup in the Pomelo restaurant was too small.

    The overall natural ambience of the resort and the cave where the restaurant is situated.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful resort, the best i’ve visited in my life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only thing you might dislike here is the mosquitoes. But they did provide us with repellent spray to use, but it didn’t workout for me somehow.

    Wonderful resort, the best i’ve visited in my life. Everything was just so good and unique from reception till checkout.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    9.6
    Nice place and friendly staff there, bt a small suggestion,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lake Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice place and friendly staff there, bt a small suggestion, may arrange staff to help ur customer to take some photo with customer phone or camera when introduce the nice place for us,is a great memories if have few nice photo for ur customer, cause most of ur customer is couple or family, this might be a thoughtful action as well😊

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    10
    Staffs are great and always all smile!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staffs are great and always all smile! Love how peaceful and quiet it is, plus the limestones around make the whole place so special. Breakfast is awesome and love the espresso martini in jeff’s cellar!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent staff, good service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool area could be made more comfortable. A snack service, better umbrellas and a covered area for those sensitive to the sun

    Excellent staff, good service.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2018

    9.6
    World class place, excellent for honeymoon, need to tolerate some mosquitos, price could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Water Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price could be a bit better especially for last minute deals, but you do get high class accommodation and service. There were lots mosquitos here, mosquito repellent were provided but they were not that effective. Diner at Jeff Cellar need to be booked well in advanced, as there we no special provision for tenants.

    Excellent, world class property with exclusive personal dipping pool and geothermal jacuzzi. The breakfast was excellent, the best breakfast I've had anywhere in the world!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    7.5
    The retreat is in a rare natural setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food was very poor and disappointing. Have potential for improvements given proper management. Staff very willing to learn and very friendly.

    The retreat is in a rare natural setting. Beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    9.6
    A place that I would recommend to everyone!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A place that I would recommend to everyone! On our arrival we have been treated so special and all staff were so welcoming. We had a little tour on the buggy before we getting in to our villa. The staff was very helpful and showing us every places we can enjoy during our stay. This place is so dreamy, love at first sight! Our villa is fully equipped with Ren British organic skincare toiletries, fresh fruit, wine and Bose sounddock that connected to my Apple Music!! It feels like home in the heaven! We stayed here to celebrate my 38th birthday so they decorated fresh rose petal on the bed, very thoughtful! Beautiful villa overlooking our private pool and hotsprings tub! Such a beautiful view from the balcony overlooking the limestone hill and natural green scenery. After getting change into sport outfits, we ordered buggy service to take us to fitness hub. I had a yoga session in a very relaxing open pondokkie and my husband was doing the gym in a compact but well equipped gym room with clear glass so you can enjoy the greenery view while getting fit. In the evening we were thinking to book a table at Jeff’s Cellar but it was fully booked so we went to Pamelo restaurant. Great starter, I ordered Japanese curry ramen ( the brooth were slightly rich to my taste ) and my husband ordered Nasi Goreng it was good. Clean plate! Our cocktails were beautiful made and I ordered the Ipoh white coffee cheesecake it was divine ❤️ ( highly recommended as this is one of the menu from the Jeff’s cellar ) The next morning we had breakfast at flooding pier where overlooking the magnificent hotsprings view. A la carte menu with international breakfast menu and we both loved the freshly squeezed orange juice and freshly baked croissants. After breakfast we packed and requested for an additional an hour delay check out. They happily agreed to let us! Thank you Banjaran! So we spent an hour dipped in geothermal pool. So overall experience was incredible

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    9.6
    Great for Couple Getaways
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    My wife and I had such a great time and experience in Banjaran. A place where we could relax and rejuvenate even theres some intervention happen, but the surrounding makes you feel that the time you spent with your loved ones are more important. The staff was the bomb. Thanks to Raymond, Shahida and others cause being so friendly towards us. - Muhd Darhim Iskandar & Dr Jasmin Sofia

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    10
    extremely satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    More affordable room service menu

    exceed my expectation from all expect. i love this place SOOOOO much!! The hot tub in my water villa is amazing , service is sooooo good! will definitely come again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    9.6
    EVERYTHING.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    NONE

    EVERYTHING. From the reception staff, to the location, scenery, foods and the room. When staying here, fine dining at the Jeff's Cellar is a MUST. Everything is amazing and my husband and i had an unforgettable memories here. Will definitely come here again soon.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful resort with friendly helpful staff and good pools.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's a bit out of Ipoh. Jeff's cellar is excellent but expensive.

    Beautiful resort with friendly helpful staff and good pools. Enjoyed access to the next door theme park too

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    9.6
    the Serenity of the place brings you back to the nature ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed in the garden villa, we enjoyed the space but it’s time for some touch up. The coffee costs rm70 in the cafe which it’s super pricey for a town famous for coffee which cost you less than rm3 outside the property but again it’s complimentary inside the villa.

    the Serenity of the place brings you back to the nature , with hot spring - although we find it not hot enough , the cave and the surrounding are just magnificent. The breakfast are made to order so we had hot dishes unlike buffet served . And we got to pick the fresh fruits for the juices.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    9.6
    Lucky to be upgraded
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Minimal mosquitoes- only one or two to my notice (but guests are provided with repellant) - but this is normal as it's a retreat.

    From our arrival, the staffs are very attentive. Our check in was handled nicely (dont need to queue, but just enjoy our welcome drinks and pudding as the staff settled the check in procedure). Then, we were took by the buggy around the retreat, showing us all the activities area, then finally dropped to our villa. To our pleasant surprise, we were selected as the lucky one to be upgraded for free from lake villa straighttt to the garden villa! It's like a dream come true! The pool, the geothermal jacuzzi all are great. We're also given free pomelo too. The bed is superr comfy, and provided slippers for outside of villa use too, so basically you dont have to bring your own. Iron and ironing board is available upon request. Toilettries also very complete and lots of towels provided. To make the ambience complete, radio with speaker also provided to entertain us while dipping in the villa's pool. We enjoyed the complimentary antioxidant treatment, the sweet spot treasure hunting and literally went and relaxed in every caves there. As a photobook regular user, it's my pleasure that we've given free complimentary voucher. My husband never been to any cave, so being to the caves in here was such a great start for him and he likes the experience. We went to every crook and nook of the retreat. Even though it was a long weekend with public holiday, the retreat is very peaceful and private. The number of staff is just nice, and we like the fact that we met familiar faces here and there at the retreat. Room services also not disappointing. Evening got free welcome cocktail party ( we love the popiah so much and the refreshing drink). At night, also given some snacks to munch. We had dinner at the Jeff's Cellar and the experience was truly amazing. Friendly staffs also help us taking photos around the restaurant. No bad smell of cave here, and the food all delicious. Breakfast at The Pomelo also great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    10
    The Banjaran Hot Springs Resort - paradise in Ipoh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is not a single thing we can mention that was bad about this place, and if we could it would be over critical. The villa was huge and had great facilities, and the "sweet spot" was a lovely touch - you'll know what I mean if you go there.......everyone in their lifetime should visit this place at least once. Wow!!!

    Amazing food, incredible staff, and a fabulous location. Nothing is too much for the staff here, and they are all happy and surely proud to be part of an amazing team. The location is incredible, and the retreat is nestled and enclosed by gorgeous limestone mountains, making the scenery very rugged. The attention to detail is wonderful, and we also met Raymond the head of operations, he made us feel very welcome at the evening cocktail drinks. Jeff's cellar provided probably the best meal and ambience we have ever had. It was our 6 year wedding anniversary and the chef came out to talk to us and give flowers to my wife after the meal. Th staff took pictures of both of us around the 260 million year old limestone cave, and then showed us jeff's private collection of wine and champagne. Along with the superb facilities such as the steam cave, hot dipping pots, massage at the spa and wellness centre and jungle walk, we had an unforgettable experience here and will definitely come back.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    10
    Idyllic retreat in the Banjaran hills
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Water Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I happened to chance upon a family of monkeys during my walk back to the villa. While the smaller ones look harmless the oldest one probably the patriarch of the pack was aggressive and it took on an attacking mode. The dim lighting in the villa particularly the living hall which needs brighter lighting. Facilities in the villa could be better maintained. The wooden cabinet that stores the mini fridge in my villa has one of its hinges fallen off and the door couldn't close. The fridge is not stable.

    The natural landscape and the beautiful surroundings the villas are set in provide a peaceful, meditative and idyllic retreat indeed. Big spacious villas with great amenities provided. Love the sweet treat tree for snack replenishments. Superb buggy service and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    9.6
    Our stay here was just like a dream.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We wanted to book at the reception but the security guard refused us entry without a valid reservation. So we had to book our stay while sitting in the taxi. Only with the booking we were then granted access. That was kind of rude. But the rate on booking.com was better anyway.

    Our stay here was just like a dream. We liked the whole resort and the employees inside. It was overwhelming how they took care of us and how well maintained everything was! Initially we planned to stay for one night but ended up staying for two nights. The price is high but you get a lot for your money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    10
    Truly magical celebration
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Spacious resort rooms that was well maintained and equipped. Enjoyed all the facilities from the beautiful caves, to the hot spring pools and the majestic Jeff’s Cellar restaurant. For my birthday, the hotel even thooughtfully prepared

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    9.6
    Sweet escape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very welcoming and helpful staff. We got free upgrade from Lake Villa to Garden Villa. Buggy was provided for a little tour around facilities before they send us to our room. Variety of selections for breakfast and self custom juice. There are more than 10 activities/facilities to visit through out your stay. Plus a complementary ticket to Lost World of Tambun.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2018

    9.6
    Spectacular
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved everything about the Banjaran... from the free upgraded garden villa to the natural surroundings!!! The private geothermal tub in the room is a bonus!!! All the caves in the Banjaran were spectacular, the crystal caves were beautiful... Breakfast was exclusive (semi-buffet style) and the food were great!!! Perfect for a honeymoon gateway or for a peace of mind, away from hustle and bustle of the city.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    10
    Superb! Extraordinary staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    Everything was superb! My partner took me there to celebrate my birthday and we got upgraded to a garden villa. The staff are extraordinary, very friendly and amazing. The manager herself is lovely. They all surprised me with a free birthday cake when I was having dinner in the restaurant which btw serves amazing food. It was the best stay I have ever experienced. I cannot say a single bad thing about the experience. The villa is huge, even the smaller ones. The pool and jacuzzi are perfect. The shower is to die for. The bed is just great. I truly enjoyed like never before, wish I could have stayed more. Perfect place for a getaway.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    9.2
    I will come again and again..with good work environment ♡
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is my second visit frankly, the first visit is much better in 2017 because there is a lot of comfort in upgrad the room and in check in and booking tickets to kuala without any fees but this vist happened to me a lot of troubl I spent 3 hours in lobby the boss told me the room still need clean also in check out 30 min also whene I told to reception I need tickets to kuala the boss told me I will book to you but I need10 MYR more pretext of using the visa I think last year is much better than now ,also the man in restaurant name (burn) is not interested in arabs and has not paid us any attention or menu he go to who come after me ..

    thank you (Winnie)(Shee) (nadia) (shafeqa) I appreciate your cooperation with me and your help me but I think your boss is severe the work environment in the last year is much better than now last year I thought you were one family ..I hope return to this place at the third time and be there cooperation, ease and smile and not only money goal.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 31, 2018

    8.3
    The staft service was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Lake Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Coffee provided at the resort are not tally with the 5star hotel. Most of the hotel already change to coffee maker insists of 3 in 1 coffee. Is no problem if hotel prefer provide 3 in 1 coffee but at least provide trusted brand coffee especially coffee are very famous in ipoh.

    The staft service was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2018

    9.2
    Amazing resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lake Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s a bit pricey..

    Amazing resort. The facilities and amenities were remarkable. The pool and the hot springs are everything you need for a relaxing weekend. The check in process was very smooth, very welcoming staff. I can’t complement them enough, friendliest staff i have ever encountered, their costumer service skills are beyond great. You feel like the whole resort is for you and you alone, it never got crowded during our stay, we often had the pool for ourselves. The room is very well designed, we had treats delivered to our room, and the room refreshed more than once during the day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    8.3
    Nice
    • Couple
    • Garden Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise of the buggy on the walkways.

    The resort is beautiful, staff very helpful and responsive. We faced some issues in our stay and communicated it to the management. Mr. Raymond was helpful and took our comments seriously and acted very professionally.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    10
    Service was excellent all staffs were friendly &...
    • Couple
    • Lake Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service was excellent all staffs were friendly & attentive. The villa was amazing & the banjaran is totally breathtaking. Super relaxing in hot spring & greenery

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    9.2
    I will visit Banjaran again and it is a great place to chill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hot pool isnt hot enough

    Lovely ambience, great staff who goes all out to look after you. Nice breakfast. A little disappointed with the the "steam" caves the Villas are great, enjoy the hot pool in your room. its much better.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.6
    This is an amazing resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You pay what you get. Price is high but normal for what you get in return. Watch out for the mosquitoes around the pool area ! (None in our villa though).

    This is an amazing resort. Everything was spot on perfect. Staff is extremely friendly, rooms are super clean. We arrived late and had dinner in Pomelo, we were later than we expected but this was no problem whatsoever for the personnel. I had the best flat noodle I’ve ever had. Really, the restaurant deserves a 2star European rating. Late checkout was granted and we could use a locker in the luxurious Spa before taking a cab at 7pm.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    9.2
    Unique Resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I don't like this golf buggies but this is a personal opinion. All distances are short and there is no need to have this because you hear them driving around.

    This resort is absolutely unique in style, location, service and relaxation! Located little bit away from Ipoh City but easy reachable with a crap or taxi, next to the theme park. The surrounding is breathtaking and it's very quiet at all times a day. The restaurant in one of the caves "Jeff Cellar" is for sure one of the most impressive restaurants around the world! The food was excellent and the chef is always open for a quick chat, very very good. Btw the dessert is awesome! Breakfast is excellent too, huge variation and à la carte menu. We stayed in water villa and we loved the privacy. When we arrived to our villa they welcomed us with a tea tasting to relax and start the stay, simply a very nice gesture and lovely tea tasting with good explanation. The villa has everthing you might need. The spa is highly professional. We did different treatments and it was outstanding. The price might be a bit high but it's worth. Another funny and very special feature is the tree where you can find some candies, water, softdrinks, ice cream and so on inside the tree! It's all free of charge. Because of the lakes and othe water sources there are mosquitos around but don't worry you get different kind of repellant! We stayed for 5 nights which is very long for the bajaran and because of that we received some discount on F&B as well as a 4 hours private Ipoh sight seeing tour and discount in the spa.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Das Retreat ist etwas ‚overprized‘. Die Auswahl am Fruehstuecksbuffet könnte etwas größer sein.

    What you will really enjoy most is the perfect panorama as the retreat is settled in limestone hills, natural caves and a pristine jungle scenery. It was our first time geothermal hot springs experience in Asia, which is really awesome. We booked a water villa and enjoyed the jacuzzi and private pool a lot. Breakfast was also nice, as you can choose from a menue. Staff is more than friendly and we experienced a good customer service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    9.6
    Nothing beats the majestic Banjaran!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lake Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely stunning. It exceeded my expectation in many ways. The resort designed with distinction, every views and angles from where you stand seems like well thought of and crafted in ways that will stitched onto your memory forever. The surrounding are so serene and pure with sounds of the nature, water ripples, birds and crickets all day long. The geothermal hotspring and all the cave experience is outstanding. I am very sure every room have its own exceptional view but mine was surely be more mesmerizing. I had the Water Villa and the balcony opened up to the mighty Banjaran Titiwangsa. I spent most of my time at the balcony honestly, with such fantastic view, beautiful sound of nature, fresh air, who wouldn't? I also enjoyed feeding the fish every morning and afternoon at the balcony. I saw tortoise and lizzard too. The services are excellent, resort team are well informed, very friendly and hospitable. I enjoyed the huge selection of breakfast sets, my family and I ordered almost everything when we stayed there. It was really good. The Banjaran to me is exactly the sanctuary one would not think of getting out from. unless due to emergency; like you need to go to the hospital or have some banking issues, because there are so many things you can do in The Banjaran that you would feel you don't have enough time for it and deep in your heart you would like to extend your stay a little bit longer. My family and I had a really wonderful time here and we are looking forward to stay again in The Banjaran. We used to frequent Langkawi Island for getaways, but now I think, The Banjaran beats them all. My family and I wish to thank all the warm and very dedicated Banjaran Resort team for making our stay a very memorable one. Congratulations!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    8.3
    A real Retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mosquitoes, Spa - changing room is a walk to massage room - not suitable for Hijabis. Changing should be in the massage room.

    Facilities - Hotspring in the room(how cool is that !), spa, pool in the room, surroundings, departure gift, landscape, villas, friendly staffs, Hotspring pools, yoga classes

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    10
    Excellent and well above my expectation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Water Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Many mosquitos. It will be good to place more natural repellent inside the villa to prevent mosquitos from coming in.

    The private hot spring dipping pool and swimming pool in the garden villa is excellent for a relaxing stay. Good dining experience in the restaurant. The steak is tasty; the atmosphere is great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    10
    Geothermal heated pool was such a pleasure to swim in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing at all!

    Geothermal heated pool was such a pleasure to swim in. We loved walking about the resort instead of taking the buggy. Our villa had the biggest bed we’ve ever seen, and it was also the most comfortable! Staff were attentive and genuinely helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    10
    Privacy, luxury, comfortable bed, staff very attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Minor issues . The Bose sound system needs updating and the picture quality on the tv very poor

    Privacy, luxury, comfortable bed, staff very attentive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    9.2
    Our 2nd time stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately it rained very heavily whole the night… So, we couldn't enjoy the bath and pool inside our vila

    Very matured staff, Very comfortable vila, Very delicious breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    10
    A wonderful stay at the banjaran
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was perfect (Full team from the reception specially Nadiya and Hawkan were very welcoming and helpful) the experience in jeff’s cellar was amazing + breakfast from the pomelo was excellent... all in all it is a must visit

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    9.2
    Quite satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The maintenance team lack of experience , in the end the next morning we able to solve the jacuzzi bubble problem by ourselves

    Overall it’s very nice stay. Good restaurant for breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    7.9
    I know it's a peak season during Hari Raya but still,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I know it's a peak season during Hari Raya but still, you must manage the manpower properly. We waited for almost an hour only can check in to our room, it is unforgivable. We spent two thousand ringgit a night but can't fully enjoy the facilities as most of them closed at 7pm.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    9.6
    Magnificent 😘
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Water Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was delayed by 1 hour after 3pm. However, the management compensated us with a bottle of red wine with an apology message on a card.

    Magnificent 😘. Experiencing the zen, gives us the sense of tranquility, surrounded by the beautiful birds chirping before heading for our breakfasts. The breakfast was cooked upon request and there was a fresh juice section of fresh fruits/ vegetables.Cannot describe with words...Must never forget this beautiful moments...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    9.6
    Magnificent 😘
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Water Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was not ready until at 4pm. It was delayed by 1 hour. However the management gave a compensation of a bottle of red wine with an apology message on a card.

    Magnificent 😘. Experiencing the zen, gives us the sense of tranquility, surrounded by the beautiful birds chirping before heading for our breakfasts. The breakfast was cooked upon request. Cannot describe with words...Must never forget this beautiful moments...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    9.0
    Good, Definitely will go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Water Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The slight delay for check in because the room is not ready

    1. The staffs are very friendly 2. The environment is very peaceful and relaxing 3. Room is clean and comfortable 4. Breakfast is healthy and refreshing especially the mix and match your own fruits juice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    10
    Perfection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Water Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    As it’s in the jungle, bug spray is an absolute must. They provided repellent in the rooms but put it on before you get there!

    I’d already been told that the Banjaran Hotsprings was ‘the best resort in Malaysia’ so my expectations were high! It did not disappoint. The staff were incredible, the facilities and location are both stunning and it’s just an amazing place to stay. We only wish we could have stayed longer! Food is great quality and also value for money. We received a free upgrade to a ‘Garden Villa’ and it was the nicest place I’ve ever stayed. Just an brilliant experience start to finish in the most luxurious and peaceful surroundings. Thank you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    10
    The best retreat ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Water Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Need more lights at the jacuzzi area for nighttime

    The best retreat ever!!!!!!!! Water villa upgraded to Garden villa with bigger swimming pool and amazing jacuzzi!!!!! All the staffs are friendly and helpful!!! Lovely free wine and lovely handwriting apology letter for late check out, even that just late for half hour!!!!! Highly recommend to everyone!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    10
    Perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    This property has no faults. Its simply an experience like no other

    I had the most enjoyable romantic weekend away. The dinner in the cave, the massages at the day spa the caves the food, I couldn't recommend this more! Zero faults and the most amazing team. We cannot wait to go back

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    10
    This was really a super good experience in my life!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This was really a super good experience in my life! The staff is all very friendly and helpful. The room, facilities, bath tub, swimming pool, bed and balcony are all clean and tidy! I was really satisfied by the food for both breakfast and dinner, so many choices to choose and they are all very delicious! This is the very first time I rated my trip 10/10! They were also providing us welcome drinks before check in and souvenir after checked out! Super good experience! Highly recommend👍🏻

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    10
    Out of this world, there are lots of things to see and do within the resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The resort is an amazing place to explore. The rooms were spacious and recreational facilities (hot springs, Dr Fish pool, steam cave) were out of this world. We got a complimentary 15 minute massage. Staff were exceptional and very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    10
    Outclass perfect place must visit once in ur life
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Water Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything is perfect here its a dream.place to stay .

    EVERYTHING NOTHING TO SAY THAT ANYTHING WRONG HERE . I CANNOT DISCRIBE IN THE WORDS THE BEAUTY AND PEACE OF THE PLACE ... LOVE IT ❤❤❤😍😍😍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2018

    9.6
    A truly beautiful location for a relaxing getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stunning resort in a beautiful location. The rooms are lovely and private, the main pool is clean and usually quiet and the staff are very helpful. Dining in Jeff's Cellar is an experience not to be missed !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    9.6
    A luxurious treat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Lake Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The setting of the resort is so beautiful - surrounded by limestone peaks, jungle, the hot springs and caves. The gardens are natural and lush with lots of birds and butterflies, I even got to watch macaques from the pool! The service was excellent, very friendly and helpful. Although there are quite a lot of rooms the resort is spread out with lots of different areas and it never felt busy or crowded. Fabulous choice of food and everything I had was delicious. I really enjoyed the spa treatments and loved having the private hot tub and cool dipping pool with my room. Small touches like daily gifts of snacks or fruit to the room was really nice. Highly recommended, well worth considering 2 nights here rather than 4 for somewhere half the price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing - will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in process could have been improved. Photostated my identification documents behind closed doors - which i would have appreciated if they show me what they are doing with my docs. Otherwise all good.

    I have been to a few resorts. And i personally feel that the villa is really nice and the GM Alex and COO really make the effort to make our stay personalised. Food is good and healthy spread. Really thoughtful of them to make our honeymoon meaningful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    9.2
    Amazing place , good service , to relax and pamper my self
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Water Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Paid almost 1.5 k for the room , the least it could be a full board meal stay .

    Amazing place , good service , to relax and pamper my self Had my babymoon here and was given cake and room decorated with flowers for free Really appreciate it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    9.2
    The place was so tranquility, fresh air.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    maybe more checking to the private pool inside the villa found plastic condom being use in between of stone

    The place was so tranquility, fresh air..... the best place for relax and release stress

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    9.6
    Incredible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More selection for dinner and lunch

    Healthy choice of food. Good breakfast. There were three adults and they upgraded my villa to a larger villa to accommodate an extra bed. The staff went out of their way to make our stay truly memorable. It is an excellent retreat to relax and recharge. I will certainly be going back to the Banjaran Hotspring Retreat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    10
    PERFECT Birthday and Anniversary Celebration-Magnificent, Stunning and Most Romantic Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would honestly say it was the most amicable, serene, magnificent and romantic place I have ever visited in Malaysia. Thank you so much Raymond and the Banjaran team for making my birthday and 13th year anniversary celebration truly memorable! We surely look forward to revisit Banjaran again in the future. With much LOVE.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant and rejuvenating getaway. Love the hotspring.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Water Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1) Bed has ants (1st visit didn't come across this issue) 2) Preferred the toiletries from the 1st visit compared to this time (shampoo and hand lotion)

    2nd time here. Enjoyed the facilities and atmosphere. Great place for a getaway.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    9.2
    A real treat- a very relaxing stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Water Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was beautiful and we particularly loved the jacuzzi. Supper at Jeff’s Cellar in the caves was a unique experience and the breakfast was also very nice. We had a great massage at the spa. The staff were friendly and helpful in all our interactions. We also liked the quirky tigers in each room!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is nothing to not like about the place.

    Lake villa is wonderful. The indoor pool and hot spring jacuzzi was amazing. The bed and room spacious and super comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent service and comfort in an exclusive and private property with a beautiful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Water Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only certain public areas (eg. Balcony, meditation cave) had a bit of litter.

    Excellent service recovery from Ms Thien/Then, Grace from Jeff Cellars and Louise. The staff are generally very attentive and try to make your stay comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2018

    9.6
    On the whole it was a marvelous retreat and experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The dinner package was rather expensi

    It was a new villa with lake view. Love the privacy of the indoor pool and hot spring. In addition the balcony allows you to enjoy the sound of nature late at night and early in the morning. The caves were impressive too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    6.7
    stunning resort and facilities let down by their food and room service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food

    Food was terrible and over priced. We complained after we realised it wasn’t going to get any better. For the price, the food was poor and it ruined our holiday. We did bring it to the attention of the chef and manager and they apologised but the food is not up to standard- especially when the dishes are so expensive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    10
    It was a great experience with the good hospitality received...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Lake Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a great experience with the good hospitality received from the staffs and the relaxing and tranquil environment was a great time spent outside of the city =)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    10
    Very pleasant and relaxing stay in Banjaran! A property surrounded by all natural caves and cliffs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Lake Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    *Staffs are very friendly, caring and customer-oriented. *Guests safety are well taken care of. *Front office personnel are very responsive to Guests adhoc requests. Requests are accommodated well and fast. *Lovely property with lots of natural surroundings. *Delicious foods at The Pamelo with friendly Head Chef Mr Boon Lee greeting and gather feedback from guests personally. *Super exotic and exclusive Wine Dinner at Jeff’s Cellar ~ strongly recommended!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    10
    Almost too good to be true !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Lake Villa (No Children Allowed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We did wished for a breakfast buffet instead of ala carte breakfast. Well, that's purely because we like stuffing ourselves like a glutton instead of feeling judged of ordering one dish after another. But it didn't ruin any of our experiences there ! More to like a suggestion in a good way *thumbs up

    We love every nook and cranny of the place ! Perfect definition of retreat at a whole new level. Cost aside, I'll definitely stain this place with numerous revisiting over and over again ! Good job !

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: