Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Grand Renai (formerly known as Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel) 5 stars

Kota Sri Mutiara, Jalan Sultan Yahya Petra, 15150 Kota Bharu, Malaysia

#2 of 28 hotels in Kota Bharu

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 665 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    Clean, comfortable, next to Billionz
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The minibar wasnt working even after their technician came and checked 😂 i need to store my EBM tho...... and need to freeze my ice pack hm hmm. No one offered me the welcome juice lol. The staff just put it on my left and i had to ask either it’s for me or not. And he said “yeah it’s a welcome juice” ...... Why again i didnt feel welcomed? 🤣🤣🤣🤣 no hate

    Clean, comfortable, next to Billionz

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    5.8
    Aside of air cond everything was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chose smoking room. Not sure whether the room aircond is really like that or what. But the air cond wasnt cold enough. I often travel but that was the first hotel i faced such things. Not worth it with the price. Since at the first place they wrongly gave me non smoking room, not feeling good to argue about the air cond.Plus, it was peak season.

    Aside of air cond everything was fine.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.8
    1st time at Grand Renai
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of the room & carpet...it smells old & 'bau kepam'. The air ventilation in the toilet was not working & fresh air was not circulated well in the room.

    The buffet bfast was good & has variety of food. The front desk staff were friendly & courteous. They reacted on my complain about the room smell & offer to change room. However, i refused bcoz my baby already sleep.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.1
    Hope to be upkeep
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath room leaking every where. Pillow was not comfortable and there are only 2 Air cond are not cooling at all..

    The space of the room are confortable and nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.5
    great location and value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    lighting in the room was very bad. and overall, it looks jaded. security is a worry cause anyone can come up to the rooms without an access card. parking area not vey friendly.

    staff were fantastic...very, very friendly, super courteous and helpful.. good spread for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Premier King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurants in the hotel are ok for food but not cosy. Kota bharu is not really a touristic must see place but if you need to be in the city this is a good choice

    Good hotel in the city. Parking garage under the hotel (for free for hotel guests). Shopping centre next door. Room was very spaceous

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Great stay, highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More pillows would be nice, ideally 2 soft and 2 medium firm. Also, room rates could do a bit better in increasing value for money.

    Room was clean, the super single beds were comfortable and air conditioning works without issues. Breakfast spread has great variety and caters for everyone.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Kota Bharu Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room service was poor, choices were unavailable and they refused to accommodate simple special dietary requests. The fabulous view from the hotel was obscured by rather grimy windows.

    The reception staff were really lovely, very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.3
    Service with a smile
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Premier King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As this comes first, please read the whole review.... The hotel is dated and a bit old, but the central location and amazing staff more than makes up for the old furnishings. Down sides - They offered memory foam pillows which I requested for, but was given some very old and very used foam pillows which did not meet expectations of a 5 star resort, but wouldn't look out of place in a musty old motel. Room is very poorly lit, and as I was staying for work, needed more reading lights which was graciously provided (Great job to the staff for being extra accommodative) Breakfast - Small complaint, please do not cut the sausages and fry them up.... Seems like a small matter but makes the food look cheap and insufficient.

    Booked 4 nights stay for work. Stayed in the premium rooms. Room size was great, very spacious. Furniture was functional, a bit dated but still in good condition. Relatively clean. Bed and linens were very comfy. Pillow menu offered. Pillows in room were down pillows and comfy. Bathroom had separate shower and bath. Spacious enough and clean. Room service - 5 stars for food, ordered dinner almost every night, pasta was great, fried rice and noodles were also above normal hotel standards, nasi lemak was delicious as was their BBQ chicken wings. 2 thumbs up!!!! Breakfast was so so.... About average for hotel breakfasts, nothing truly special but they do try to include 2 local delights which changed daily. The standard fare was just normal stuff. I do like that they provide teh tarik, which to me is a plus point! Staff were attentive. Baked stuff was good, loved the croissants. Facilities? GYM IS AMAZING!!!! Full gym with loads of equipment, clean and airy with no stale sweat smells.... Didnt manage to try the pool, looked ok from the poolside. Staff is amazing, friendly, helpful and ever ready to serve with a smile. I miss this type of service in many of the big hotels I have stayed in previously.... Reminds me of the service of Royal Athenee Hotel in Bangkok, which also gets 5 star rating for service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    best in KB as for me yet with some improvements can be excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    dont have a privilage for frequent customer like me

    breakfast items not replenished quickly. sometime the toilet not so clean but it as only once or twice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.9
    Great !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking by other guests in settee area outside Room 1927 & Club Lounge .

    Your Front Office Mgr (Mr Vikneswaran), F&B Mgr (En Rafiq) and Head Chef (En Raja), as well as the Staff in the Club Lounge & Restaurant, went out of their way to ensure we had a lovely stay in your hotel . . our grateful Thks indeed . . we would return for more hols in the future .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No towels ready in the room when checked in. Request for it as well as extra towels, only received it 2 hours later wt 5 reminder calls.

    Breakfast are varieties..... easy access to many places

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    3.8
    Unhappy stay at there..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff give us the room without clean up...The bed and all the things was messy around...No telephone line in that room..We need to walk all the way to the reception again with our baggage...The staff use to change the room for us with the reason blaming on their hotel system...Not their false..Another is not enough food and seat for the paid buffet..We need to que for more than 15 minutes to serve for seat...And there are not enough food to eat...Very bad experiences at here

    No

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.9
    So-so.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the place is quite old, not enough toiletries, no person to welcome guest and pickup bags when we arrived

    The breakfast was good, the bed was comfy, staff were amazing, although the bellboy was late at times and no bellboy waited at the door everytime we came

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.5
    Ok but expect for better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception are not well trained

    Breakfast for guest was improper-too many guest & yet the hotels did not prepare enough food & the restaurant was too crowded

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    4.6
    Quite a disappointment for a frequent traveller
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff attitude could be better and services of room service should be improved as you can not charge your guest for asking additional towel when it is replaced for 2 days

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    5.4
    Worn and dated, not so great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very worn, in fact door was rotten and in need of replacement ages ago! Room and hallway smelled musty. A low wall socket in our room was coming off the wall, definitely hazardous for young children! The entire hotel is very dated and tired looking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    7.1
    Great place, but could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room, the toilet was faulty. Second room, everything was fine except we couldn’t use the safe.

    Friendly and very helpful staff, comfy beds and spacious bathroom. Excellent breakfast and lunch. I trust the new management would improve the quality of this hotel as I would like to revisit this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.2
    Worth trying once in a lifetime...in kelantan
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location... And the comfort of the bed

    The rooms are clean, great breakfast comparison to other hotels I have visited there... Staffs were very helpful.. And changed all my orange bulbs to white ones for studying.. Which I truly appreciates..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    I had a nice stay and definitely will come back again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the tv reception for channel TV3 was quiet bad but other channels was clear and ok. But that doesn't affected much for me

    The room is comfortable and the breakfast was great with many choices. Staff are friendly and helpful. I choosed to travel with Grab to the famous attractions around Kota bharu. Very convenient and easy accessible with Grab because of the hotel location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    booked 2 rooms (connecting).
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not many restaurants around the hotel.

    booked 2 rooms (connecting). the services were excellent. parking always available and free. beside a shopping mall (billion). kb mall, and pasar siti khadijah within 10min drive.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    6.7
    Just a place to sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’ve booked 7 rooms for me & friends and requested to be on the same floor but was denied. Instead all of us were located on 7 different floors! Could at least give 2 or 3 guest on the same floor! There’s a foreigner guy maintaining the front line was not co-operative and a bit arrogant whilst the Malaysian guy was more polite.

    The breakfast buffet was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.5
    It’s was a good stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish there were more kelantan local breakfast to choose from

    I like their local hot kuih that they fry at their stalls. They have nice variety of choices.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    6.3
    We might come to Kota Baru in the very near future with my family and we might your hotel again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We waited very long (about half hour) for a plate of 'mee goreng mamak' at your cafe and it tasted lousy!. Though at that time (approx 2.30pm or may be 3pm), there was not many patrons in your cafe! food is lousy

    One of your staff (who looks like a Malay as he is short and quite dark in complexion, at first we thought he is a Malay) was very friendly. We asked him to recomend us food to eat in Kota Baru and he gladly told us a few good place to eat out.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Love it love it..will book for hari raya for my stay. Hope it will not be too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the man front desk. He seems to not like my children or us requesting things. He urm feel like somewhat annoyed.

    I like because they can assist in everything

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    6.3
    Experience
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need major overhaul the room I stay was leak water going through window and carpet is wet

    Nothing great about in door look old fashion and I feel as l was in southern Thailand

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    4.6
    Don't stay here.. look for others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A. Too noisy during bfast. B. Staff was not friendly. C. Too complicated during checking in as bfast rate was hidden n has to pay separately. D. Shower water was terrible.. not hot at all E. I think not worth it for RM270. F. Will never stay there again. G. "F" for KB Renaissance n damage for brand. G. WiFi has to be purchased..

    Bfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    overall great hospitality from the staff members
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    old fashion furniture compared to some guest house apartment offered in town.

    breakfast was served with great variety and something for everyone. i enjoyed both western and local meals. staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.8
    Sastisfied
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking.com need to state approximate payment need to prepare by Visitor to stay at this property. Its a reminder. So many taxes & charges applied at property. Be prepare additional 16% from offered room rate.

    comfy BED delicios BREAKFAST. I like Teh Tarik. Prepared and served by Tea Lady and it was really "kaw" easy & free basement CARPARK access to Hotel Building

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Breakfast good but no to delicious.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything just fine. Keep doing great. Do often promotion to attract people.

    Breakfast good but no to delicious.. Can upgrade as it supposed. As it was in Kelantan, people prefer kelantanese dish.. No need western.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast was really amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Spa area for women was really the worst. Whirlpool was not working, nobody was there, it was cold and I cannot really say if it was old or just not clean. If you just want a nice room and breakfast, it is still a great choice to go there.

    Breakfast was really amazing. After all you can try a lot there because it's Buffett.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Excellent! Worth it hotel for me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not think there is anything bad about this hotel, but if there are room for improvements, I would say the parking around the hotel area is a bit hard to find, so it's a bit difficult if someone is waiting for you.

    It was a pleasant stay at this hotel. The room is very comfortable, bed is comfy, and breakfast was really nice with varieties of continental and local foods. Definitely value for money for me while in Kota Bharu.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.1
    Lovely hotel but spoilt by the loss of phone which nobody took responsibility for.
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housekeeping needs to be improved !

    Great hotel, friendly staff but slow service. My sister left her phone and charger in the room but despite several calls to the hotel , it was never located! Housekeeping needs to improve whereby left good are placed in a room for easy location and staff are aware of how to report such a find. We were extremely disappointed at this,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    6.7
    Borderline average
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The pillows! The ones that were provided were horribly soft and flat, and the extra one they gave me was extremely hard. They were worse than a budget hotel's. I had to sleep for 6 nights using these pillows! The fridge was broken or maybe it was the power point because when they changed the first fridge, it seemed fine at first, and then, it stopped working too. My foods were already spoiled by the time I found out. We also experienced a power trip on one of the nights for more than 1 hour! I chose this hotel because I was there on a week long business trip, so I wanted a really good hotel so I can rest well at night. But it falls short of my expectations.

    Breakfast was good. Staffs were helpful. Billion supermarket is right beside. There are a few restaurants around the area. Location is near city center. I needed taxi to commute for 5 days, and they sourced for me a really good taxi driver - reasonable fare, always on time and the taxi is very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Staff is extremely kind and helpful.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff is extremely kind and helpful. A/C was great and the beds were cozy. We had breakfast included (buffet) and it was great. All in all it was an amazing stay!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.1
    Maybe this is my last time to stay here.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast start at 6.30am, however the staff not yet started to prepare some of the food and I have to wait till 7am. The food for the event (21st-22nd July 2017 Nurses event) is too salty (fried noodle) and the hotel staff treat me like I am the helper for the event, actually I am the event organizer.

    I really like the spacious room and the variety of foods for breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.9
    Convenient location besides a shopping mall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The swimming pool and sauna facilities are a bit old. The furnishing in the rooms is also old.

    The front desk staff who took care of our checking-in were very friendly and helpful to our request!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    Nice stay..
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe could improve on b'fast, make it more varieties..overall was okay..

    I like the room, very nice..and Nina (Front desk) was very2 helpful too..😊

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non availability of vegetarian food. No Indian food. Being vegetarian I found very difficult to eat. Should keep more veg foods

    Mostly everything except food

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.6
    The service were gooď and staff were very helpful.... I would stay in this hoterl again whenever i p
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly. .. for the breakfast.. i have to wait for my omelette for quite sometime and on day 2.... i did not get... probabaly miscommunication. ..

    The hospitality was good and staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    5.8
    The room is okay for a solo one. Just nice
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet wasn't like what i expected, the rubbish bin don't have the cover, no movies provided. Maybe the room should be luxury like how the lobby is.

    Nice and luxury lobby decoration

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.6
    Pleasant Hotel in the City
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Heated swimming pool would've been great as the pool is at 8th floor, the water is pretty cold even in late morning or evenings.

    The pastries at breakfast were freshly baked, especially the croissants were good. Staffs were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.8
    Clean room and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture looks old but still tough and good condition. The toiletary provided is not enough maybe because of peak season.

    The bed is extra comfy. Clean room for non smoker. The staff very friendly and great service especially at front desk.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    7.1
    comfort stay, nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    food could be better. security could be better, the access card to the guestr floors in the lift is disable. it was only enable after our Deputy Prime Minister came to stay there. The carpet in the lift is so old, does not look elegant, plus no aircond in the lift.

    I stayed during Ramadan. So my breakfast is called Sahur. the food ok lah, not so delicious, not to my expectation of 5 star.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    7.5
    The staff are very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a 5*hotel,in-house slippers are not provided, have to required.Disappointed breakfast in the coffee house because of Puasa month.

    The staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    4.6
    OK but can do much better in the personnel department
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Your front office staff and yr door men are not friendly. Could try to be more hospitable and client friendly. of all places in Kelantan where the people are know to friendly an accomoditing. More trainning need perhaps on hospitality. I dont understand why I have to pay RM10.00 per day for using the internet. Even a no star hotel in Sabak Bernam give me free wifi!!.

    Not much xcept for your breakfast!!!.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    4.6
    Disgraceful to 5 stars hotel standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lots of thing!im so angry and felt so cheatedstaying in this hotel. First when i arrived with my car..it tooks me 1 and half hour to find the car park!they said the car park are easily accesible but they are a lots of lorry blocking the road to car park at the basement.There is no signboard to guide you to the car park also! What a nuisance! So ya then i arrive at this so called 5 stars hotel..but yet there is no bell boy at all to help carry my luggage..its totally a disgrace to 5 stars hotel standard...luckily i dont need their help n carry all by myself.. Then i spoke to the reception staff who try to be defensive to the customer..i admit i was moody n a bit mean but after the bad traffic jam n waste hours to find the car park.he making my life difficult by asking funny details of my identification and answering me with satcastic tone.So i replied him sarcastically bavk with my divasness to show him or her whos the boss..and to prove how bad their system is..somehow they cant find my booking no.another wasted time trying to clarify the situation i almost fed up with their service and regreted my bookings..i asked them to just cancelled my bookings without me being penalized..well of course they dont allow that..lastly they sort it out n gv reason their booking no differ from the one i used on booking.com.Wat a lame excuse...i oredy gv them my ic n booking no yet they make my life diificult. So the check in experience is the worst so far for 5 stars hotel.They i called their manager in charge..called rena ithink her name and i ask them to clear the road block ..apparently she is okay with it but you can feel she responded with sarcastic face(knowing i make noise earlier) and her tone is dubious with regards to really wanted toassist me..so i decided to go park my car at paid car park and wasted 3 hpurs just to check in to the so called 5 stars hotel.then i finally get to lay on my bed room after 3 hours..

    I lokke the ambience of the hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    6.7
    Friendly staff and good location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower pressure is average and the bed is a little worn out. People with mild back problem like me have backpain after first night. I went to the 8th floor for the swimming and sauna facilities. The swimming pool was dirty - water is brownish. The sauna was not working properly despite staffs confirm it is. Breakfast food is salty.

    Good location and walking distance to a few convenience stores. The staffs are friendly and helpful .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.3
    Overall is good
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room a bit smelly. To change the mattress and pillow pls. The bidet water spray is very hard to press.

    The breakfast is superb. Good combination of local and intl.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Nice experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should fix the fridge before we stay. It was not working at all! The lighting should improve more, because it was quite dark at 20th floor.

    The beds are very comfortable and clean. The view is perfect.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    4.2
    The fridge very smelly , the floor not clean still have some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fridge very smelly , the floor not clean still have some crackers at the floor when we first step in. The pillow too soft and the bed not comfortable. Table has ants running around.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    8.3
    Value for money, good service but aircon issues.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon was average. Didnt really cool the room for me and my colleagues room.

    Breakfast was very nice. Staff were very polite and helpful. The room is nice and big.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    6.3
    The room and location ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I've been informed by the staff, room rate bit cheaper if booking directly through hotel itself with breakfast. Room's toilet moderate,

    The room and location ok.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    4.6
    NG
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't like, first and last

    I'm not enjoying my stay, as first booking.com did not follow my request when place booking, don't cheat customer....

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.1
    give 3 out of 5 based on 5 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Room (School's Out)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facilities like table tennis,badminton court, futsal and for outdoor facilities in very poor condition, abandoned and not maintain. No safety for hotel resident since public/outsider can easily come in and out from basement parking up to the hotel room, even can come and swim at the pool for FREE!

    The bed is comfy and interior in well maintain.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    5.8
    Unacceptable conditions
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They forgot to provide towels to us, we had to call House keeping twice. Pipe leaked in bathroom, totally unacceptable, please improve your supervision and maintenance of the property

    Clean, location, delicious meal

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    9.6
    I had a good stay at the hotel and will consider of choosing the same hotel for my next visit.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The selection of foods for breakfast could be added and improvised. I would prefer local delicacies to be served.

    The room was in a good condition. The staff was very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    4.2
    Not Good.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No face and hand towel. Do not have toilet ameneties in toilet. Hand basin bottom bottle trap licking. Window never wash (I think) stain on the window glass. Pillow is super duper flap. Too old. Cannot believe this is under Marriot Group. Verg dissapointed

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    6.3
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was not clean enough and the toilet coudnt flush well. Plus there was not enough hot water. Room service was way too expensive

    I loved the promo menu for the room service. Cheap good food. All other itmes should have promo prices as well

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    7.1
    Very good recreational facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Am not satisfied w d foods served for the breakfast, including the portion n taste. Better get very good chef for this seriously.

    Very good recreational facilities

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    4.2
    Old hotel in dire need pf refurbishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too old, the lighting in the corridor is too dime n some spoilt bulks not being replaced. Peeled wall paper and noisy room at the 19th floor. This hotel in dire need of refurbishment.

    This hotel is really run down with wallpaper pealing off, room wiring is bad causing the bathroom n entrance room light been cut off fm time to time. Old linen n bathtower.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    9.2
    I've change and trying 4 rooms in 4 days,, so far my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I've change and trying 4 rooms in 4 days,, so far my experience for 4 rooms I've spend was superb and I like it.. Many thanks to Renai staff for my lovely and beautiful Miss Esha and both are my handsome Mr Andy & Mr Tengku for helping me since the first day I've been there.. it was my good experience with them.. Many many thanks dear.. Keep it up yea.. 💪🏻 And Good Luck.. 😘 Inshaa Allah we meet so soon.. 🤗

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    4.2
    Wait till its has been refurbished 1970s 5 star
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very old and musty, sneezed all night not sure if AC dirty or dust in rooms 20 years ago they where 5 star, i chose hotel thinking it was 5 star, the price reflected 5 star

    Staff and food great, location OK

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    7.9
    keep it up the good and cozy environment. We love it!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the thing i didnt expect to experienced was the 1st time me and my family try open our room door, room 1524, the door really hard to open .. untill one of the cleaner was so kind even though she is quiet old but she put all her energy to open the room door. Well, the management need to do some maintenance check up because what happen to our room door was the room door frame kind of pilled off which make it stuck half way and that was the course the door cant be open.

    the staffs are friendly

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.5
    Short good experience of KB
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable and breakfast was good spread.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Totally great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simply awesome

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.9
    Reception workers are polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Premier King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture in the room a bit old.

    Reception workers are polite.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.0
    Good for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast area limited need to expand

    Good for money

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    Location n service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Location n service

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.0
    Gent toilet lobby smells badly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gent toilet lobby smells badly Parking not secure Breakfast buffet limited space

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location and value for money provided you book early, will recommend for my family and friends🤗

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi coverage

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.5
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Kota Bharu Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    i can chek in at 12.00 noon...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    closed to shopping mall
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    door excess card not properly function, difficulty to open

    closed to shopping mall

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Place like home
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next to a shopping mall, drug store(Watson) & 7Eleven was across the street, free basement parking for guest. Very quite even next to main road.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Grand Renai (formerly known as Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel) traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: