Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Majestic Malacca Hotel 5 stars

188, Jalan Bunga Raya, 75100 Melaka, Malaysia

#5 of 179 hotels in Melaka

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 781 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No particular thing I disliked. Just that you will need to drive out to explore the place.

    The room had a good ambience. The staff were professional and very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Beyond my expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is only if I were to nit-pick, it's the thin walls where you can hear everything that's going on along the corridor.

    Everything! Cannot find fault with the awesome service staff and the quality of the room provided. This is now the gold standard for me. Especially so at this price point.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was comfortable, amaze with the cleanliness of the room. A very warm hospitality that provide by the staff especially when check in to the room with the explanation from the staff and of course the chinese tea pot as well as the good tea that soothing us after a long drive . Also, we were flattered by the kuih that gifted to us as light refreshment. Worth of money and definitely will stay again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Quiet hotel away from busy areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise late one night when using mosquito chemicals A bit far from centre but quiet at night for this reason Pool had no atmosphere very functional only

    Lovely room with very comfortable bed and great bathroom Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything.

    Everything but in particular the staff were extraordinarily attentive and charming, and the attention to detail and old world style were flawless

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    The best hotel in Malacca
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrobe and slippers could be upgraded to suit the grade of Hotel and facilities.

    Old and new building are beautifully merged in at historical tourist spot in Malacca. Room was very clean and comfortable. A little care for guest such as complimentary snacks in the evening, and at entrance lobby gave us small surprises.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Very good 'clonial style' hotel. Would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All good.

    Lovely 'old colonial style' hotel with newer accomodation block built and decorated in style to match. Very good service. 15 -20 minute walk to old colonial centre. Good gym. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Lovely and tastefully done up boutique hotel, not right in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to not like. To be nit-picky, perhaps a welcome drink might have been nice. Evening turndown service happened at 8.30-9.00 when we had come back from dinner

    Lovely and tastefully done up boutique hotel, not right in the heart of town where it would be noisy and crowded but definitely close enough to walk to (or easily get a Grab)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Sweet staycation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The booking.com room rate does not include 10% service charge and 6% gst. Hence, be prepared to pay more than the price stated in booking.com

    The staff were nice and helpful. Room is clean and the bed is very comfortable. Overall, very nice and recommendable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    The staff were so kind and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My mum who I was travelling with didn't like having only a sliding door to the bathroom she would have preferred more privacy.

    The staff were so kind and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    This hotel is a wonderful tranquil haven. It is like going back in time to an old colonial hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet not extensive. It was good but could have been better.

    The attention to detail. Flowers on the bed. Fresh tea and local cakes to greet you. Bedroom decor beautiful colonial style. Good water pressure. Pedicure in spa. Staff friendly, helpful and discrete. Hotel peaceful and tranquil.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    very nice historic building
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room, lobby and breakfast room was very cold due to A/C! I immediately switched airco off in the room and opened the windows which helped. In the breakfast room the staff reduced the airco upon my request until other guests came. Apart from the first morning I didn‘t have breakfast anymore in the hotel due to the cold temperature.

    very nice historic building great spa treatments friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    A relaxing and comfortable stay which we will definitely be repeating on our next visit to Malaysia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing about our experience that was less than enjoyable. Thank you.

    The Chef (Chef Melba) provides and excellent assortment of menu choices and I wish we had longer to explore the menu. We recommend the Majestic Hotels attached restaurant for dinner as well as breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    6.7
    Is been great to stay there, just our luck not good probably.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room air condition is really piss off as we have changed rooms for 2 times at the same floor . Me & my wife didn't sleep well and wake up because too warm in the room. The coffee machine also have some issue where not functioning well. The Bathtub water was dirty and yellowish.

    The location and outlook is great. Luxury and staffs are well trained and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Location of the hotel was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of the hotel was great. Located within the heritage area you could walk everywhere. Hotel was beautiful and well maintained. Staff were great. Rooms were beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    I like everything and the hotel i guess is for couple to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool too small. Not suitable to bring kids coz its not family hotel . More to those want to relax and quite environment

    I like everything and the hotel i guess is for couple to have a quite environment.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Perfect central location for exploring Malacca on foot
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bar a little bland.

    A perfect central location for exploring Malacca on foot. Charming old colonial feel. Friendly and polite staff. Excellent restaurant. Nice swimming pool and spa.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    A great stay in a beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The kiblat sign was hidden in the closet, could have been a bit more visible.

    The extra effort made during check-in with welcoming tea, the turn-down service, friendly service and a beautiful hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    One of my best hotel stays ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing at all!

    I must say that this was one of my best hotel stays ever. The experience was simply great. The staff is extremely friendly and super-professional. The room was excellent with a super comfortable bed, a large bathroom and a combination of AC and ventilator, which I find great for sleeping. Lot's of attention is given to make you feel comfortable, for example each evening some fresh local sweets are delivered to the room - with some explanations of what these are. The location is very good, almost on the river-walk, allowing to directly and very safely walk to the UNESCO part of the city where most of the touristic attractions are. The hotel is off course not the cheapest, but gives tremendous value for the money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    A wonderful experience - not just another hotel. A real gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing at all.

    High tea - superb. Apart from that everything. A hotel like this is why we come to this part of the world often. If I could have rated it higher in some categories I would have. The front desk staff were just wonderful. Professional, attentive, a mine of local information and never intrusive. Superb breakfast. The orchid on the pillow after turn down service. The farewell from the staff. Glorious. Can't wait to get back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    The room was big and the bed very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I cannot understand why hotels think it is acceptable to have bathroom facilities that allow you no privacy when you go to the toilet. By all means have bathrooms that open up with sliding doors but at least make the doors solid so that if you close them then you get your privacy. This aspect of the Majestic Hotel turns it from being s great hotel into a good hotel with a significant flaw

    The room was big and the bed very comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Vintage hotel, love it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I don’t like

    Hotel built in 1932, well-preserved and equipped. Everything in order and extremely tidy. When we get back to hotel at night there’s even traditional snacks provided, delicious and heart-warming.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    Feels like home all the time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water piping can be heard

    Hospitable as they make you feel at home. Sincere staff. We left a toy car in the restaurant and they kept it for us. Love the bath tub and complimentary bath salt to wash away the stress

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast needs improvement especially the coffee. High tea selection was a disappointment.

    Service was excellent! Dinner at the restaurant was delicious. Compliments to the chef. We would have done the cooking class if we had a longer vacation. Massage at the spa was rejuvenating. Loved the goodies and cocktails at the bar too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.6
    Agatha Christie’s Old vintage refuge with all modern comforts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Old fashioned, highest quality hotel. Agatha Christie could have slept here, adorable professional staff, totally renewed facilities yet respecting vintage style. Guests of great quality and style. Little nice gym, little perfect pool. Room is beautifully classy and refined in old style yet super functional. Tea and local sweets offered were delightful!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    This is colonial style hotel with amazing frontage and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a lot, but if I'm being picky, this suffers from a common problem we found in hotels during our Malaysian trip and that was poor lighting in the room suitable for reading. Remember it starts getting dark around 7:00 ish. I know this is a very minor issue but it can be rectified so easily. However it would certainly not stop me from visiting again

    This is colonial style hotel with amazing frontage and entrance. The huge rooms are in a modern block behind but continue with the traditional colonial theme. I believe they all have views over the city and with the pool makes this a great stay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful colonial hotel - comfortable and great service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - it was all wonderful.

    Everything. Beautiful boutique hotel - fantastic rooms with gorgeous bathrooms. Friendly, helpful staff. This place is an absolute gem. We also did the signature spa experience, which was wonderful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had very noisy room neighbours. It went on until 1am. We did phone reception but not sure what was done. Their shower and bath made a lot of noise through our bedroom walls. The walls didn’t feel sound proof. We would still highly recommend despite this.

    Gorgeous hotel with attentive staff. All aspects of the accommodation were perfect. Loved our room! Easy 15 minute walk into the main town area. Good gym and pool. We didn’t eat breakfast there so can’t comment.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.6
    A pearl near the river with beautiful rooms in colonial style. Great service by motivated staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only 2 remarks: weak isolation between the rooms and wake up call from the mosque nearby.

    Smaller hotel with personalized service, great rooms with colonial style. At walking distance from downtown, local kitchen which you have to like of course. Wellness-treatments.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    6.7
    Doesn't live up to a YTL Hotel Tag
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For a YTL was expecting better room amenities and good quality showers and towels. The TV Channels was also shockingly limited.

    The nyonya kueh in the rooms was a nice touch as was the welcoming tea

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    8.8
    Colonial beauty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a noisy place but then probably any hotel around there is the same.

    Beautiful, large traditional colonial rooms in a colonial hotel. Great bathrooms and bath tubs. Good location 15 minute walk to Jonker Street. We ate breakfast at the street cafes so can’t comment on breakfast at the hotel. Nice pool area, quality service. Loads of places to eat nearby if you enjoy local food at great prices, which we do.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    4.6
    I wish I stayed in another hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the price of the room, there should have been breakfast, and at least newspapers. I really enjoyed my stay at hatten hotel. Even though the hotel was busy but they made it easy for us. There was breakfast and newspaper 👍🏼

    The room was luxurious

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    A charming and historic boutique five-star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have liked there to have been some salads on the restaurant menu, but I discovered that they can whip up almost anything you ask for if your request is clear and they are given a little notice.

    The reception was out of this world and very thoughtful. The Nunya sweets at tea time were delightful and the rooms spacious, and very well designed. Overall, this is a hotel with tremendous charm and character and a proud sense of the history of which it is a part. Most of the sights of Malacca are within walking distance. Only the few shop house hotels in the Chinese quarter are more central, but their rooms are cramped and the facilities often quite basic.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    evan for this hotel,you have a reason to visit malacca:) so...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    evan for this hotel,you have a reason to visit malacca:) so nice environment and friendly stuffs. The restaurant is also good with Southeast food...the location is excellent you can walk to most viewpoints in 15 mins!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    10
    Worth the value. The best hotel for cosy, classic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The bed was comfy. I request for upp storey, facing nice view.And my request was fulfilled. Majestic even decorated my room for my honeymoon. The staff were very friendly & warmth. The room was clean & the room service was tip top. One of the staff, Depal offer to take for us a photo outside the hotel lobby. And the spot that he took for us was fantastic.The photo turned up very well with the Majestic hotel background Overall, both my hubby & me are very satiesfied. Worth the money!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    8.3
    Generally, we enjoyed our stay experience. Great service and we probably will come back next round.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little pricey in terms of breakfast and spa treatment.

    The hotel ambience is very calming and peaceful with tastefully decorated, added a little christmas ornaments. We felt welcome by the staffs. The bed is really comfy that we could sleep through all the night.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.3
    Rooms were excellent and the bath tub was fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit far from the city centre but ok

    Rooms were excellent and the bath tub was fabulous. Car park was open air but a secured area so it was safe.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.9
    The luxurious hotel is a treat to the senses and is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu at the restaurant is not inclusive, very ‘local’ and although this is nice and true to the location and heritage, options for other foods and desserts would be welcome too.

    The luxurious hotel is a treat to the senses and is spotlessly clean, and well presented. It’s right on the river and away from hustle and bustle of central Malacca.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    Majestic indeed the Malaccan way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thin walls. It might be good to not have small children as this place seems to be more for couples to enjoy a quiet time together. It’s annoying when the family next door is unable to keep their children under control and the walls don’t help.

    Beautiful rooms that preserved the culture of olden Malacca and excellent service from everyone from front desk to Housekeeping!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    food. they could improve in it

    1. location 2. professional services 3. very comfortable hotel room 4. SPA service, very professional 5. design of the hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.5
    The hotel was pretty,staff are very kind and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place are quiet but still the sound insulation is bad, we can hear people walking and closing their doors. The bathroom's floor is so slippery that we almost fall for few times..

    The hotel was pretty,staff are very kind and friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.2
    The place to be when staying in Malacca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the hotel is a bit too far from downtown. We arrived from Singapore by bus: a nightmare especially if you chose like us Starmart Express. The return journey took 7 hours instead of 4... the 10am bus was cancelled and we were not informed

    The kindness and competence of the staff. The cleanliness. Leong at the reception has been extremely helpful and successful in recommending the best restaurants and bars in Malacca. We also took the free city tour at 10 am. The young girl at the reception (forgot her name...) who acted as a private tour guide was exceptionally good in explaining every detail of the places we visited. Her English was very good, she answered all our questions and explained with passion the history of the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.2
    Magnificent hotel. Great for couples and Family with kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little far off Jonker Street. Car park area was uncovered and was extremely hot.

    Beautiful hotel. Everything was exquisite and very clean. The complementary local kueh were delicious. Bed was very comfortable. Room was spacious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful slice of colonial times with great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was only separated from room by a sliding slatted door which means noise travels and it is not so good for travel with friends. We went for a swim and Pool had quite a lot of algae growing on the waterline tiles which felt a little unhealthy. The hotel is not in the main part of the old town which was surprising given that it is a colonial building. It is still walkable and plenty of other options such as taxi, rickshaw or river boat.

    The hotel had a lovely colonial feel and the reception area was beautifully decorated with Peranakan pieces. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. Staff were extremely helpful and even found and returned a mouth splint that I left in the room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.3
    Gorgeous Period hotel if you don't mind the walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    slightly out of the way, a 20 minute stroll along the river to the major sightseeing places. Breakfast was pretty average for the price.

    the wonderful period fixtures. The very helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    My favourite hotel in Asia ... love this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big comfy bed and a huge bath ... the staff are really friendly and helpful ... good wifi ... such a lovely happy atmosphere in this hotel ... their attention to detail is second to none ... I really recommend The Majestic in Malacca

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.3
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) very bad sound proofing. had interrupted sleeps whenever the next door or upper floor patrons use their bathrooms or open/close their doors. 2) the front office lady staff who managed our check-in on 30th Sept is quite unfriendly, didnt get the feeling of warm hospitality welcome. no smile, only few words spoken.

    staff named Leong served us well.. friendly guy!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.9
    Lovely stay but do not enjoy surrounding environment .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The area surrounding the hotel is not at the same level of development . Roadways and walkways are not maintained .

    First class vintage hotel in slow developing country , has not improved much in the last 10 years .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    6.7
    For a hotel that is part of the small luxury hotel group - disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I emailed the hotel beforehand to ask about transport and if they could arrange a cake for our wedding anniversary-no reply. The carpet in the lifts was worn and tacky. The person next door had a bath after midnight and the noise from the piping woke us up as he turned the water on/off/on/off. The other guests on our floor had a party on our last night, the walls seem paper thin.

    Good staff, a lot of smiles. Bathroom design in the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful heritage hotel with great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful hotel preserving a tropical colonial era mansion in almost its original grand simplicity. Lots of lovely local touches like free local snacks at the lobby. Staff were polite and friendly. Rooms were in a new adjacent block but preserved an "old" feel with 4 poster beds. Located a short walk from major Malacca attractions. Food at the Mansion - excellent example of Straits cooking. Try to meet and chat with Chef Melba - most excellent and knowledgeable host. Parking - although open air and in an unpaved lot was private and guarded by hotel staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    Superb !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet could have been better and the sound proof of the room could have been better too. I could hear the next door neighbour moving stuffs and the noise disturbs you a bit if you are trying to get some peaceful afternoon nap

    I just love the decor of the hotel. It brings you back to the olden days. The tiles and decoration was just beautiful. The staffs were fantastic and they would go all way to make your stay comfy. I just love the tit bits they placed around the lobby which reminds me of my old school days. Every evening they would place a pleasant surprise in your room i.e. complimentary nyonya kueh which tasted yummy which is an excellent way to promote our traditional nyonya kueh. Well done Majestic Melaka !!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.2
    I had an excellent stay, the staff were very pleasant. Comfortable and quiet environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar near the entrance - service was friendly enough but spotty , house cocktail was not value for money.

    The restaurant was excellent and chef Melba Nunis gave it a very personal touch.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    5.0
    Melaka food it great!...will try some other resort/hotel next time....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i will not recommend to anyone since its not value for money...

    maybe location only.......among all the YTL chain of hotels, Majestic Melaka could be one of the worst in terms of money value.... - breakfast food quality = except for eggs...mostly all cold; even the warmer was not working but the waiter insisted that it was, so I put my entire hand into & told him it didn't burnt!! do not go for breakfast unless its FREE - front desk staff is wonderful - credits to the ladies!...keep it up...& thanks for trying to put your best.....

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.5
    Overall ok but the room rate is expensive without breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wall is not sound proof. I heard the kids stayed above my room running and screaming over midnight. Besides, could not connect to WIFI after check in. Only available after few hours. The connection is slow and unstable.

    The bathtub design is good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    3.8
    I am disappointed beyond words.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am a huge fan of any YTL property. They are by far the most trusted hotel/ resort to me. However, I am deeply frustrated with how me and my family was treated at Majestic Melaka. I came with 3 elderly women aged 86, 65, 64 & my son age 5 together with my helper. We booked two rooms. 1. Upon arrival, I was told there is no valet parking and that I can't park my car at the corner in front of the entrance even for a while. Considering the fact that I have elderly guests & a kid, of course I am expecting some courtesy to allow me park my car at the side so that i can take my time to drop my guests off & check in. However, the staff firmly told me to drive out. (yes you have to drive out to the main road to get into the car park at the back of the hotel building) 2. It came to my surprise when I saw a few cars parked at the side of the main entrance later in the day AND on Sunday. We cant help but to wonder why we were not given some space to park at least temporarily considering that we have elderly guests. 3. Upon arrival, my mum wasn't feeling well. I told the reception that i need to order some food from the hotel and their only respond is, they don't have room service. With the current condition I was in at that time (mum is sick, grand ma is tired from the long journey and can barely walk & little kid), I was hoping for some exceptions by the staff. But yet i get a straight no. 4. I found a kind bar attendance on that day, told him how desperate I am that I need to get the food to my mum as soon as possible.. and he actually helped me order and packed some food from the hotel. He handed the packed food over to me at the lobby and i sent them to the room myself. But I kept thinking if this is how the guest should be treated? 5. How is it possible for a such a renowned hotel such as Majestic doesn't have any ROOM SERVICE? And have the guts to tell my mother to climb the staircase to eat at the restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    The hotel is the highlight of our trip to Malacca
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staffs, the interior, the bed, the turn down service, and the traditional snacks and candies at the lobby. They gave us bottles mineral for our journey home and that little touch of minor details really made a lot of different.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice, colonial style hotel just outside city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in time bit late at 3pm (was known at time of booking, but still), but suitcases could be stored.

    Luxurious hotel in characteristic colonial style. Nice mix of history and modern comfort. Chef Melba enthusiastically explained the dinner dishes. Good breakfast (ask for your omelet to be well done, unless you like it moist), wifi ok, small but nice swimming pool. City center within walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.8
    Excellent value boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have a slightly larger area for dining

    Great value for money;helpful staff and all you would want for a short stay. The bedroom was superb as was the garden layout There was an excellent choice for breakfast. I would recommend it if you are looking for a boutique experience

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.8
    Staff we're great, location of the hotel was good and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Open plan nature of the bathroom/toilet in the room took a bit of getting used to. The bar area was very small and no one seemed to use it, which was a pity as it's part of the original old building and has a great ambiance.

    Staff we're great, location of the hotel was good and you can walk to most of the sites in the town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    With the Scent of Old Malacca Enjoy Comfortable Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we had afternoon tea in a nice library, there was a large drilling noise coming from the entrance hall maintenance.

    I enjoyed staying in the Majestic, feeling the scent old Melaka in a comfortable room. Beautiful girl in traditional dress welcomed my husband I at the reception, ushered us to a stylish room furnished with old-style bathtub and made tea with a tea pot taking out from a colorful basket. Our room overlooked villa Sentosa, a beautiful Malaysian old town across Malacca River. Staff are warm and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Amazing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't want to leave.

    We stayed for three days in this hotel. Everything, from check-in to check-out, was perfect. The level of service, the staff, the restaurant (we've had our breakfasts and diners there), the pool and the spa were all great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.2
    A piece of history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi kept disconnecting and could be better.

    Historical building, with a lot of character. Small and cozy property. Very nice staff especially at the reception.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Magnificent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We should have stayed longer! One day not enough!

    Magnificent property. Full of character. Great staff. Free parking. Super clean. Wouldn't consider anywhere else in Melaka!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.6
    A night of style in Melaka
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My love of colonial style buildings led me to choose this hotel and I was not disappointed. Lovely attention to detail with planters chairs,interesting pictures and art. Staff were very attentive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    True to its name - a real treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For the the standard of the hotel the television quality wasn't very good; the in-house food was pricey.

    Excellent location - a nice walk along the river to the main sites; helpful and friendly staff; overall ambience of the hotel with some surprising special touches.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.8
    Perfect luxury stay for a night, a bit out of the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - distance from old city centre; you need to take a cab or walk 30min ( you can walk to downtown besides the river, which is nice ) - no roomservice, which you would expect from this hotel ( no deal breaker, just surprised us )

    Excellent room, very welcoming staff and classy/historic atmoshpere. Went into town for a brekky, so can't judge breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyed it but disappointed with the sound proofing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sound proofing in this hotel is pretty bad and this affected our sleep, since we could hear every movement and toilet flush, which is a shame because this is a nice hotel overall

    Lovely colonial hotel, big rooms, friendly staff, overall had a good stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.9
    Nice ambiance. not quite 5 star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was of mediocre quality based on its reputation. Checkin staff's spoken English was more local dialect rather than of an international standard. Maid forgot to provide a shaving kit as requested.

    Nice ambiance. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    More than a home from home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing。

    I saw the review before booking. Superb cleanliness was what i looked for. Indeed. Very clean. I give it a 9/10. Highly recommended. The whole room has been cooled by aircon in hot weather before arrival. The staff personally brought guests up to the room and introduced every part of the place. Upon reaching the room, serving tea.. Room keeping was done in the early morning and evening. Upon returning from tiring walk back to my room in the evening, I found bottled water replenished with glass put beside the bed, room cloth slippers next to the bed. The blinds in the room that's facing the city view was drawn up for privacy. I had little surprises every evening waiting for me in the room upon return. The nyonya snack. Taste very good and the ingredient used was of quality.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    5.8
    Unworthy Staying @ The Majestic Melaka
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) Swimming pool is small than my expectation. 2) I'm won't choose it assume I know it earlier as with this charges but is not included for breakfast. 3) Water is stucked on the bathroom floor after bathub session as drainage is a distance from bathub.

    The building and renovation is retro and can foresee the management are keep maintenance on it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely staff and ambience of the place which made it a pleasurable experience. Already hoping to ret
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No comment- just very pleased with the stay

    We did not use the gym, restaurant or pool as we were there just for a family visit and for relaxation.Very pleased with the comfort, lovely staff and general feel of the place. Brought my elderly mother to the hotel for afternoon tea which she thoroughly enjoyed. My mother is a Melakan and a retired nurse who trained during colonial times. She appreciated the lovely pictures in the library lounge and surrounding area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    5.8
    Upgrade needed of facility and staffing to match the 5 Star quality expectations of the YTL Brand.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was poor in terms of a 5 Star Hotel - limited choice of breakfast drinks, low quality coffee, scrambled eggs and poached eggs were overcooked, the creamy mushroom was tasteless, the croissant choice was limited and there were only a few dried up versions in an oven that wasn't heated....the list goes on! The special cocktails using the exclusive Malacca Tanqueray Gin were seriously overpriced. The staff in the restaurant need to be better trained to deliver fast and efficient service. Whilst they were very polite, it took a long time to get anything done. Within the room, the concept of segregation of bathroom and toilet facilities via the use of sliding doors may seem romantic and colonial era, however it does make it difficult to achieve any degree of privacy.

    The staff were lovely and very attentive, in the bar (Bob is a star!) and on reception. The room was spacious. Chef Melba was lovely, and the dinner was a good combination of flavours and taste.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Spacious and cozy room, I had an excellent night sleep. Easy to get to the main attractions, if you are okay to walk 15-20 mins.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    9.2
    Super hotel with friendly staff and best spa ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool rather small

    The staff was super welcoming, beautiful rooms, 3h package spa was the best spa session ever, piano concert during our dinner, good wine (also per glass) and nice waffles for breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.3
    lovely hotel friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The open bathroom concept although romantic unfortunately the louvered sliding doors didn't do much for privacy when you needed to use toilet !

    the staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Majestic Malacca Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: