Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Pacific Sutera 5 stars

No 1 Sutera Harbour Boulavard, 88100 Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia

#36 of 154 hotels in Kota Kinabalu

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1085 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    10
    Borneo... a hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fault my stay... absolutely loved everything! The lovely staff go out of their way to ensure everything is perfect. We will definitely return 💛

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    6.7
    Great for a quick stop over in Kota Kinabalu - Don't expect too much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Golf Course View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast, Too much Korean based food. Room smelled slightly damp, needed renovating, very dated and tired looking.

    Location, Breezes beach bar. good sized room. Helpful concierge staff who helped to arrange breakfast grab and go kits for early morning starts.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    5.8
    slow check in , even slower room service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    所有的服务都太慢了。房间里没有电吹风 我竟然需要等一个小时等他们送过来 Cons: Really slow check-in and really slow room service(wait more than 1h for a hair dryer). 1. I stood with the reception for 20 min to check in and they asked me to go back to reception cos they forgot to charge me the tax. And they called me again in 2 min asking me to the reception again...2. I called for a hair dryer and the house cleaner came to check TWICE that no hair dryer is in our room. We reached for the reception twice but they did almost nothing. And finally, MORE THAN 1h after the first time I called, I got the hair dryer... They said sorry but I don't think they really do.

    Pros: Nice breakfast and they allow eating Durian in Room. Good sea view from the executive suite room.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    6.7
    Nice resort but definitely room for improvement...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pacific Club Room with Golf Course View and Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi was terrible and I was in a junior suite. Very slow service at the two restaurants we went to at the resort - we left one even before ordering. Problems with my hotel room phone.

    Complimentary upgrade. Very close to the airport. Buffet breakfast was great. Swimming pools, resort grounds and fitness center well maintained.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.3
    This resort isn't cost effective and bit disappointed for some reasons.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This resort isn't enough to fit my expectation due to out dated facility, uncomfortable location for electric outlet and Super bad wifi condition. Breakfast SUCKS and foods are so bad in club restaurant but expensive only. And i felt most of staffs are untrained.

    I obviously like the location and swimming pool. And view from room is 80% great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing and comfortable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Golf Course View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be cheaper...

    Direct access to the beach Pool is nice with pool bar Prices in bar and restaurant reasonable Room big and comfortable Staff friendly and helpful Localization is good Breakfast is very good and full of choice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.7
    excellent view in the restaurant at 11/F.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pacific Junior Suite with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the hotel is old. no terrace in my room, unable to feel the environment. The breakfast is not up to the standard. we need to queue for 10 mins for the breakfast at the restaurant at 2/F, not acceptable. the hotel is obviously not up to the level of magellan which i had been stayed in 10 years ago.

    excellent view in the restaurant at 11/F. excellent view in my room. excellent location of the hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    3.3
    Dilapidated
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pacific Executive Suite with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel/ hotel room (we had a suite) sadly is in a dilapidating state. No renovation/ refurbishment made over the years. It smelled humidity in the room. Locks and latches were broken. Air conditioning not working. Bed sheets had black stains on it. The room rates however are more expensive than ever!

    We’ve had many holidays there. We even climbed Mount Kinabalu and stayed in the hotel. Many wonderful memories.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.8
    very good resorst in KK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Golf Course View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beach very little; closest one is the public beach that is a bit dirty.

    Resort close to KK center with a cheap shuttle bus service. Breakfast very rich. Amazing sunset at swimming pool bar. A large choice of swimming pool. Fresco restaurant top.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    A nice a elegant place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Golf Course View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Expensive

    The hotel is part of huge complex contain a hotel, a resort, a harbor, and a golf country club. With a good place on the KK beach line and a lot of swimming pools, restaurants it is one of the best places to stay in Kota Kinabalu .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.7
    Booked 2 rooms for Parents and Children and they placed them...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Booked 2 rooms for Parents and Children and they placed them on different floors and did not have access to each others floors. Had to constantly get this fixed. Service was very slow in bars and restaurants. Great location easy access to marina for island trips and KK town. Lovely sunsets from beach bar

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyable stay with magnificent view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pacific Club Room with Golf Course View and Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had two rooms booked which specifically request for two single bed for the two rooms. However it doesn't reflects on the booking nor my printout of the booking. I only realise till the very last day of my stay when Im about to do the payment, realising there is a small little print on the second page, special request section. The words were too small to get attention to and it was on second page. However, the staff is really helpful and attentive. Trying their best to solve the problem. I was only given one room for two single bed and the other remain king size bed as there were fully booked. It will be great if this special request can come to the attention when we were check-in given this is a 5-star hotel and the price is on the higher end .

    Magnificent view!! The bonus of having the access to the lounge club and the sunset view is amazing. Friendly and attentive staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Patchy wifi - was a slight nuisance to constantly have to re log in everytime. Construction work on the premise meant it was a little noisy during the day. The pool was ok. More suited for kids - however you can access the pool at the adjoining resort Madgellan which was much nicer and larger. Breakfast quality was ok - expect crazy crowds during busy season.

    The room is nice and clean. The front desk and restaurant staff are very friendly and helpful. The ala carte menu at the in-house restaurant was delicious! Added bonus we were upgraded to a larger room. Beautiful sea views! Location is good as you are walking distance to large shopping centre Imago (cheap eats and supermarket supplies)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Overall it's a really nice place to spend your time with love ones!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Golf Course View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in procedures took really long time. It was 2pm check in time but it said cleaning was not done yet. The chef cooks breakfast omelette at 1st floor was terrible. Continuously talking to colleagues without wearing a mask and he took long time to make an egg.

    The facilities is extremely good! We are allowed to use facilities of another resort under Sutera Harbour. Good location. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Amazing resort stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Pacific Club Room with Golf Course View and Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was minor issue with WiFi and hot tub not working but after asking staff it was sorted out ASAP.

    Staff were friendly and attentive. Club lounge was great for sunset cocktails, snacks and quiet breakfast. Room service was tasty too. You also have access to other hotels on property. Loved it wish we could have stayed longer. Very close to Imago.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    5.0
    Not what I expected (not in a good way)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Golf Course View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast hall - do not sit outside as it is prone to pigeons and swans flying at you and your table Flushes in our toilet in our room - weak, have to flush 2 or 3 times It says it is a ‘beach’ hotel, but the ‘beach’ on site was probably 20 metres long and you’re not allowed to swim at the beach. Considering there is a sign that says ‘no lifeguard and swim at your own risk’ yet, whenever someone went in to swim or just have some snorkel fun, the life guard appears blowing their whistle saying to get out and read the sign. The sign is very contradicting, because at the bottom of the board sign it is also highlighted in white saying ‘the beach is available for swimming from 8am to 6:30pm’ but yet still not allowed to go in. I have uploaded picture of the sign. Also they had a red flag for there cause of sea urchins and jelly fish, but then says swim at your own risk which people do and they get told to get out! Don’t make sense! This shouldn’t be listed as a ‘beach’ hotel because it is not! People just ended using that spot just for pictures! They keep your ‘pre-authorisation’ payment for 2 weeks! As well as being able to charge you for the stay. Example for me, I got charged for the 3 days I stayed (as I had to cut my journey shorter to original stay) as well them keeping my ‘held’ money. Coming back to London I had to be without funds! Spoke to my bank and they said if funds are held they should automatically return because I wasn’t charged for anything. After 5 days of them not returning my emails (when they did respond they just apologised with no explanation as to why NO-ONE got back to my email for 5 days) I had to call from London to Malaysia for them to inform on the phone that this would be returned in 14days! Not happy! Then a miracle happened, after calling them I got a response by email within 30mins, which made me wonder if I didn’t call, would I have got a response?! Hmmmm.

    Good variety for breakfast Good amount of restaurants if all you’re going to do is stay at the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Great experience in a 5 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Golf Course View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Many Chinese and Korean customers, a little bit noisy in the public area. The area is so big and the room doors just like the same, easily get lost.

    We stayed 2 night in this hotel. At the beginning, we were allocated a room that with a bad view. Fortunately, after communicating with the costomer service, they give us a room that with a balcony and the golf-view, which is very fantastic. We also love the view of the hotel swimming pool. A great please for relax and fun. The Chinese reasturant in the hotel is expensive but it worth it. Their dishes are creative and delicate, which is worth for a try if you are interested in Chinese food. The breakfast is a little bit disappointed, but overall, this hotel gave me a 5 star experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    2.5
    Extremely poor service. I will never recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Golf Course View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor experience. Arrived in hotel at 2PM, no available room until 3PM. I tried to complain to the lobby manager. He just ignore my words and say they are all busy. So, that’s the service level you can promise?

    breakfast is ok

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Other than noise disturbance it was a great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Golf Course View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a greater need for soundproofing the doors to the rooms. As it is Atrium style with the rooms opening onto an open pathway several flights up the noise from other guests leaving very early for flights etc is very disturbing and we were woken almost every morning with people walk and arguing at our door.

    Food was wonderful and the staff extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.2
    The pool area was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pacific Club Room with Golf Course View and Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The executive lounge was disappointing. Only select drinks offered and very few choices for “tapas”. (We Had just been to the Movenpick Bangkok Lounge the week before, where we had a huge selection so we really noticed the difference) The food on offer is directed mainly at the Asian culture. Breakfast wasn’t over impressive.

    The pool area was fantastic. Great concierge, very knowledgeable. We booked the Executive Lounge Deluxe room and were upgraded to the Family Suite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.9
    Close to the dock
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shuttle bus to downtown is not very often

    Not in the central downtown, but there is a dock for island hopping. You can buy the tickets directly at the dock, and join the trip without reservation( reservation is needed for islands far away)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.5
    Relaxed and fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Golf Course View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice location, very easier to go to nearby Islands using the sutera harbour. Staff were very friendly and accommodating the kids. One staff Ms.Sanipa took care of kids well in restaurant. Food quality was good and worth for money. Evening buffet was excellent with lots of choice for desserts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    I could use swimming pool and everything except room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service, the taste of stake was whoo....OMG.

    I could use swimming pool and everything except room. So I could staywmed until my flight time. Can share the swimming pool of majelan's .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    A nice family resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Golf Course View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms starting to look tired. The bathroom is a bit weird because they have French wooden windows ajoining into the living bedroom which makes using the toilet embarrassing as they can hear everything for anyone on the toilet :( Other than that -nothin else as we spent most of the time out of the room

    A very good hotel and the location is excellent. Amazing for the family as I stayed here with wife and daughter. The facilities are good and plenty to do and see. The hotel allows you to have access to the other Sutera hotel and country club as well. The staff was always attentive and helped at every opportunity. Definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.7
    Not a 5 star
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Golf Course View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the restaurant and the rooms were old and dated. Towels were clean but used too much. Definitely not a 5 star hotel.

    The location and view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.5
    Great view. Great facilities. Great staff. BUT the room condition was a major let down
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is quite old, stuffy and unpleasant smell. Seems it was closed off for some time and unventilated. The odor really kicks in and making it uncomfortable during the night. Carpet and chair look it haven't been cleaned for quite some time. The building is a bit run down. Major renovation are much needed.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Truly asia culture. Great facilities. Multi restaurant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic stay. Superb facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Golf Course View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Great facilities. Loved all the sports and recreational activities on offer. Superb choice of restaurants. Staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. Highly recommend staying here. Lovely pools and beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Amazing Hotel, will definitely return some day, highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Golf Course View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only Watermelon (red/yellow) and Papaya fruits for breakfast. Was hoping for more Indian and Malay cuisine choices for breakfast.

    Delighted we picked the Pacific Sutera for our stay in Kota Kinabalu. It was a really nice hotel. The facilities were amazing, swimming pools, tennis courts, billard tables etc. The staff were super helpful and friendly. Breakfast was busy. Amazing Roti Paratha + Dhal and curries. Chefs were excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Transportation around the resort was available and quick.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Golf Course View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Transportation around the resort was available and quick. Staff were always ready on hand to help us get what we wanted, and if you want to do some shopping, there's a shuttle bus to IMAGO.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.2
    The Pacific Sutera Hotel is still the best place for fabulous views of the South China Sea!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pacific Junior Suite with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel Pacific Sutera is now looking slightly tired, as are the bedrooms themselves. The lift system using key cards can be somewhat challenging, when it decides not to work.

    The bathroom toiletries were plentiful, and replaced every day. The views from the Pacific Club are wonderful. The staff in the Pacific Club are very helpful, friendly and pleasant. The breakfast in the Pacific Club is excellent, lots of choice and plentiful. The staff around the swimming pool are helpful, attentive and friendly. The gardens are extremely well cared for.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    3.3
    We spent 3 nights for Chinese new year holiday in this hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Golf Course View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We spent 3 nights for Chinese new year holiday in this hotel , but i don't understand why the hotel need to paint the wall in the 3 days . The smell of the paiting is too bad , we can not have a good sleep . The TV in the room is too old , we booked 2 rooms , all the TV is bad performance !!

    We spent 3 nights for Chinese new year holiday in this hotel , but i don't understand why the hotel need to paint the wall in the 3 days . The smell of the paiting is too bad , we can not have a good sleep . The TV in the room is too old , we booked 2 rooms , all the TV is bad performance !!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.1
    To be avoided during Chinese public holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort is right under the take off path of the airport (just a few km away from the resort) and the noise insulation of the room was poor. WiFi is a crap. It disconnects continuously. Regardless the perfect weather and the total abscence of waves, swimming in the sea was always forbidden. The place was overcrowded and roughly 90% of the guests were Chinese and Koreans, meaning endless queues for breakfast, loud screaming, spitting and littering everywhere in the rather small park around the outdoor pool and in the lobby, where most of the guests gathered all day long. Because of this last point, the experience was not worth the price.

    The resort itself is wonderful. Because it was overbooked we had a free upgrade. The staff was super nice and kind.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.2
    Lovely landscaping and views
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about. The breakfast buffet was a bit hectic and crowded. But that is to be expected with all the families with kids on cny week.

    Landscaping and gardens were. Immaculately kept. Building interiors were very nice too. Staff were friendly and went out of their way to be helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.8
    We got bumped up to their suites which was very spacious and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a lack of service staff in the reception which created queues. There were also issues with the water heating and air conditioning in all 3 rooms we were in. Rooms are also quite dated.

    We got bumped up to their suites which was very spacious and there were plenty of amenities for us to enjoy for our night's stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.1
    tg aru for next viistS
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pacific Club Room with Golf Course View and Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    portion size is small, seems like on a budget from meals point of view. as mentioned above, club lounge facilities are limited, not worth the extra charges. ok if you like to drink all you can between 5 and 7pm but food is limited. it is quieter compared to the breakfast lounge but again choices are limited.

    views. location. accessible to airport and KK town. ease to get UBER at lobby. plenty of tourist though hence very busy hotel. pool can get congested lacking chairs to sit on. magellan seems better if you have small kids. better pool, kiddies club nearby as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very much catered to Asian tastes but we never went hungry. Shuttle into town could be more frequent.

    Staff were amazing, helpful, friendly, lovely

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    Relaxing, comfortable, very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Golf Course View
    • Stayed 15 nights

    Soy milk was missing in the breakfast buffet, I had to buy my own milk from the supermarket.

    Very happy with all aspects of our stay at the Sutera, beautiful resort, walking distance to shops, restuarants.The staff were all friendly, polite and always willing to help.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    6.3
    The environment is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old facility, towels looks like used 10 years, even they look cleaned. Bed sheet and pillow case have stain on them...

    The environment is good. Convenient location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    6.3
    The staff are polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Centralized aircon is too cold & having smoking smell, where we emphasized to have non smoking room during registration. Room lights too dim. Incomplete bathroom toiletries & floor mat. Water not draining fast from bathtub.

    The staff are polite. Food at cafe & chinese restaurant are good. Hotel landscape is nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    5.8
    Check in and out terrible. Ammenities and other staff great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The check in / out was terrible!!!!! I booked and PAID FOR a NON smoking, king bed, room facing the ocean. After waiting for 40 minutes at the reception area, we were then told only smoking room available (said no), then only twin beds (again no). Only after complaining did I get the right room. When checking out my credit card was billed again the final total bill, but the first check in acknowledgement charge was not cancelled. When asking why the two charges remained I was told the first charge would be refunded / removed in 14 days!!!!! Hence my credit card is limited for 14 days. Not good enough!!!

    This is a hugh resort with many many facilities. The pools are fantastic and the choice of places to eat great. No need to leave the resort if you want to just relax as everything is there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.9
    Family for vacation and shopping
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Golf Course View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility is getting old and lack of proper maintenance and upgrade.

    It is a great resort location with relaxing environment with only a short distance from the KK town center.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    It was a delightful experience and a memorable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    The hotel staff went out of their way to make the stay most memorable when I alerted them it was for a wedding anniversary. The bouquet of roses was specially arranged on the bed and we had special treatment. The dinner at Ferdinand Restaurant was an evening to remember. I shall return soon.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.8
    Staff were friendly, attentive and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Golf Course View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very popular with tour groups and, unfortunately, it can get a little crowded and noisy at breakfast and in the main lobby.

    Staff were friendly, attentive and helpful. Have stayed here several times and it has always been consistantly pleasant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.9
    one day is not enough to enjoy the luxuries of sutera harbour
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Golf Course View
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE BROTHEL LIKE FEELING OF HAVING JUST A SLIDING DOOR TO COVER THE TOILET FROM THE OTHER OCCUPANTS OF THE ROOM.

    EXCELLENT BREAKFAST BUFFET. DEFINITELY ONE OF THE BEST THAT I EVER HAD!!!! Well I recommend the meatball soup with a bit of wakama, yellow radish and ginger. Also the coffee makers were amazing. However, the juices weren't fresh tasting and perhaps one can improve with the kimchi as well but all in all still one of the best. The best being food cooked by my loved ones. PS: THE BREAD PUDDING WAS ALSO DELISH!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    8.8
    Thoroughly enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Golf Course View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only had a very small beach. Sometimes service was rather slow especially at the bar.

    The resort was excellent with 2 hotels (Pacific and Magellan) both offering excellent dining facilities. The adjacent marina offered many options on boating trips to the islands.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    Definitely a place to return back for a quiet and relaxing time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Golf Course View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great Atmosphere, Amazing staff's with beautiful smile.. Facilities in good condition, well maintained hotel.. I will definitely recommend this to place to my friends

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    6.3
    Disappointed but still enjoyed our weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Golf Course View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was spotty across the hotel, too slow for us to do work which was incredibly frustrating. The buffet food at breakfast didn’t change enough so it felt repetitive by day 3. The decor needs some attention, it’s old, brown, drab and straight out of the 70’s. Also - don’t bother trying to email them via the app or the email with requests, I got zero response from 5 emails. This hotel feels really run down when comparing to its sister ‘The Magellan’ - go stay there.

    Staff were friendly. Beds and pillows very comfortable. Lovely setting with resort-like feel. Location is a short taxi ride from down town. Lots of activities you can do by booking. Overall it was a reasonable hotel and vacation but not 5 stars.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    6.7
    Room was clean and comfortable, overall well maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Golf Course View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath towels were stained so we requested for a new set but it took more than half hour for housekeeping to bring over. Second day, the bath mat was missing after cleaning service ☹️ Also, the lobby area stinks of food from the restaurant all the time, definitely not a pleasant smell when you enter the lobby.

    The bathroom was very clean and great view by the beach

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.1
    Good facilities, shame about the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Golf Course View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested non-smoking room, initially given smoking room, requested to change and staff sorted it out. However non-smoking room smelt like smoke and air freshener! Not very pleasant.

    Nice pool, bar & beachside restaurant with good atmosphere. Handy for airport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    6.7
    The food for breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Golf Course View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were so thin. Could hear people next door also at the walk way. Room so tiny. Definitely not worth the money

    The food for breakfast was good. And the hotel staff prepared a surprise bday cake for my husbands bday

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.1
    Not worth the high price tag but ok
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Golf Course View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was little to offer someone who has allergies or gluten intolerance. I found it very difficult to eat here, as with the rest of Borneo as it is hard to find allergy friendly options.

    Great to be able to access restaurants across both hotels and explore with children. We enjoyed the pool and hanging out at Muffinz.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.5
    Better than Shangri-laTanjung Aru in terms of "birds" management in breakfast area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The private beach! It is extremely small. The sands was coarse, it's hurts our feet. Not able to stand there even 5 minutes.

    Shuttle bus provided to go to Magellan hotel. It is available whenever we told the concierge . Concierge calls driver and driver reached in 5 minutes times. There are signage (in 3 languages)to inform guests not to feed birds There are alot of birds during breakfast when we sat at open area of Cafe Boleh . However there were staff around to ensure the birds do not come to eat the breakfast that was left un-attended. The staff were prompt to clear table whenever guests finish their breakfast and leave their table. All these efforts towards the unavoidable circumstances shows they really care.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    Great Family Hotel/Resort that is close to the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pacific Executive Suite with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did have a Suite with a King Size bed but needed a 'Rollaway' for the little one. It would have been nice to have one included for the child without a charge. It turned out ok when he used the couch.

    We had a Suite and therefore the room was pretty nice and spacious. The Suite had an great view of the ocean and the breakfast had a good spread. The Staff in the hotel was very attentive and the F&B staff were also very efficient. Very Decent gym and Pools are good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.5
    Resort stay in a city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we booked was a deluxe king with sea-view. A little disappointed that our view was blocked by a huge tree.

    The room was comfortable. Good variety during breakfast. Weekend bbq at Breeze was good with entertainment.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    Friendly staff, very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Golf Course View
    • Stayed 1 night

    On the coast but signs up saying beach closed. Apparently because of jelly fish

    nice pool area, staff friendly in restaurants and bars. Comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    6.3
    The resort, together with Magellan resort, is big, with big...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and food in the resort were not good, not expensive though. I found stains on the bed sheet. Beach is very small.

    The resort, together with Magellan resort, is big, with big area of swimming pool. The buildings and the gardening made good atmosphere of holiday.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Overall, a pleasant stay with lovely sea view. below the image of the view from our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is not much not to like in this hotel. The ony thing that annoyed me is by the poolside and in the pool. I recognised that the pool is for all guests to use, so really annoyed me when some guests used big massive unicorn shaped floats in the pool which is really a nuiscance for other guests who would like a decent swim. Do not mind floats for children but not big massive ones for adults.

    I have stayed in this hotel several times before. Though the location was a bit off from town centre, the hotel offered a paid shuttle bus to the city centre. My family & I have always enjoyed staying in the hotel with its lovely pool and seaside scenery. There are facilities like bowling in the Magellen Club a short walk away and a free cinema. You are also able to use the pool facilities at the sister hotel Magellen. You can also book boat rides to the islands from the hotel. Breakfast was good but variety is not as much as it used to be. The rooms were very comfortable and so is the bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.9
    Big room with nice view - very friendly staff - enjoyed the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Golf Course View
    • Stayed 13 nights

    WIFI is not very stable - need to login every time you want to use it

    Big room with nice view - very friendly staff - enjoyed the evenings @ Breeze bar - good cocktails

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    Great facilities, great views and great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Golf Course View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing everything was great

    Loved this property - part of the Sutera Harbour resort which also includes Magellan Sutera. Guests can use all the pools and bars/ restaurants which means you have a great choice and plenty of variety so we didn't get bored. There are two small beaches at the property really only suitable for paddling and children. It is necessary to take a boat to the islands for the best beaches and these are handy and regular. There is music at Breezes Beach Bar and a regular BBQ plus nightly entertainment in the lobby bar by a very good band. Happy Hour at Al Fresco provides great value for money especially for wine drinkers, like myself! Our room was lovely with views over the golf course to the rear but all the restaurants etc. have great views across to the islands. We saw some spectacularly beautiful sunsets and would recommend and return to this hotel without a doubt.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.5
    Good location and facilities but rooms in need of refurbishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms generally look to be in need of refurbishment and the bathroom in particular had seen better days and looked a bit grubby. Resort seemed to be full of large groups - sometimes quite noisy so not the ideal place to relax.

    Lots of facilities and pool area very nice although crowded at times.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.8
    Short and sweet vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Twin Room with Golf Course View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very crowded, tables not cleared away after patrons left, some food stations were not filled up quickly

    Excellent, well-maintained swimming pools with glorious views of South China Sea; Big rooms, comfortable beds, separate shower and tub; excellent choices of hot and cold breakfast items.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.3
    Good resort hotel with an abundànce of amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Golf Course View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mess on the beach, plastic bottles and rubbish. Pool was very crowded due to a Chinese holiday.

    Location by the marina and other hotels in the group was excellent. Pools were good but the beach had lots of debris and was no good for swimming. Food and drink choices were good enjoyed the beach bbq. Breakfast was plentiful but a little busy. Room was large with comfortable bed and good air conditioning. Room was kept clean and towels replaced when needed. Taxi arranged through the hotel was the same cost as one from the airport which was unusual as there is normally a premium cost through hotels.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.9
    Excellent but heart breaking on my last stay
    • Couple
    • Pacific Executive Suite with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad management at the outdoor near swimming pool restaurant or club. Paying so much for a night and request to have 2 or 3 songs and the attitude of the manager answer me with those kind of look yet never think that his mistake at all.

    Nice room nice view with free drinking and beautiful sunset.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Luxury stay in KK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing!

    The room and the view were fantastic. The staff were lovely and the restaurants and bars were fabulous. The pool area was spacious and comfortable. There was a shuttle bus to various sites in the town and taxis were cheap and available. All told it was a lovely hotel and I would recommend it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Stay in the Pacidic Club if you can.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pacific Club Room with Golf Course View and Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eggs florentine for breakfast were very nice except they were stone cold. Should have returned them but staff so nice.

    Everything was lovely as stayed in the Pacific Club. Free canapés and drinks late afternoon.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.8
    Very nice room, great entertainment. Food leaves a bit to be desired
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Golf Course View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food wasn't great. Service incredibly slow. Don't bother ordering room service unless you have a couple of hours to burn. I would say it's scraping that 5th star. Set-up for families, not so good for couples.

    Room was very nice. Sports facilities very good. Great entertainment options for a city hotel!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    6.3
    I have booked a room with SEA VIEW AND SMOKING ROOM.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have booked a room with SEA VIEW AND SMOKING ROOM. I WAS HOWEVER PLACED IN A 4TH FLOOR WITHOUT SEA VIEW !!! They informed me that they don't have a sea view with smoking room!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.2
    Pacific sutera do not have any indoor kids corner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pacific sutera do not have any indoor kids corner. I had to walk to Magellan little magellan kids corner. I didnt know the nearest kids corner is at Marina. Breakfast time do not have any regular asian food. Would prefer fried mee/mee soup as I have a younger child a toddler. He only ate corn there. And also there are no pancakes!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    6.3
    As returning guest the resort is now a horrible money-milking machine take it or leave it
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Resort has changed to suit the chinese behaving in such a manor that I will never use or suggest anyone to use Pacific Sutera

    location and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    1-night stay definitely not enough! :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wish I could spent more than just 1 night here. The area is so big that I should have explore the whole area more.

    - Location! Close proximity to the airport. - Swimming pool is the best. Big enough for me to do my laps and for other kids to play around without us bumping onto each other. - Their teh tarik is THE BEST. I wonder how people didn't notice the teh tarik area during breakfast? I guess maybe because most of em are tourists from South Korea. - Breakfast was delish!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.3
    Club stay at Sutera Harbour
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Pacific Junior Suite with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning wasn't powerful enough as it was a club room on the top floor. Also the Tv should be 40 inch at least not 32inch a minor observation.

    The staff were very friendly and the food was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    6.3
    Old Facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room with Golf Course View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Can't make coffee in the room. 2. Breakfast item availability varies from day to day so was the quality. 3. House keeping staff did not change our towels and sheet was not clean. 4. Hotel shuttle was not frequent enough.

    It has a pool and the breakfast is included in the room. They were able to provide a bed for our toddler.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    5.0
    Relaxing but not value for money for a supposedly 5 stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room with Golf Course View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at the breakfast live station were not communicative. We didnt get our rooms till 2.15pm and thst is we follow up. Bathroom condition could be improved.

    Nice view of golf course and surroundings

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.9
    was celebrating my daughter's birthday and the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Pacific Executive Suite with Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room and bathroom need a facelift (a bit outdated for executive suite room)

    was celebrating my daughter's birthday and the hotel sent us a slice of cake

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pacific Club Room with Golf Course View and Club Lounge Access
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need more sun beds at the pool.

    Excellent location with fabulous views, if you have a sea view room. It isn't far from the airport or the town. The club lounge is wonderful. The club rooms are a good size. All the staff are very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Pacific Sutera traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: