Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort 5 stars

C-O Lot GL-04 Lapangan Terbang Sultan Mahmud, 21300 Redang Island, Malaysia

#1 of 7 hotels in Redang Island

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 822 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    Seemed to be cutting back on value added.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cliff - Premier Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The exorbitant price. Poor value for money. Items on the menu regularly unavailable eg there was no watermelon juice for 3 days, in Malaysia! There was no a la Carte menu for the evening in the main restaurant.

    The dive team are brilliant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    I wish management will work towards the service improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cliff - Hill Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Poor food selection & super overpriced for the quality given. Mango sticky rice with 20gram of rice, sandwiches look Like food from 7/11, bad bad coffee in buffet, room and all or the restaurants. The food mostly is just bad and takes super long to prepare. Breakfast choices include many Asian Bfast choices but not enough fruits and sandwich topping selections. I’d rather see the breakfast a-la-carte with good then buffet with endless bad one. Bell service takes forever, the buggy never came to help with bags for check out. In short: the resort is aiming to be high-end but F&B is not catching up at all, slow service. Forgetful room service.

    Great location and beach, clean facilities, managers are friendly. Beautiful surroundings, from food pasta and pizza was nice, good snorkel sites, peaceful and quiet, good interiors. Nice music.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    A little paradise with a heavy price tag
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cliff - Hill Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food and drinks in the restaurants are far too expensive and not very special.

    Beautiful views, very well maintained, very friendly and professional staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.7
    The beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden - Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    quality of food vs the price (at all 3 hotel’s restaurants), reception is totally helpless in solving the issues (I.e. we’ve found a big spider in our bathroom, had to call the reception twice and go physically once more though no one came to us (45 minutes passed). We ended up catching the insect ourselves and letting it out outside the room. Several times the stuff forgot to bring the drinking water to our room: have to call 2-3 times and it took 1-3 hours to get our water, etc. The 1st floor rooms at Garden Suites are way better too dark, it feels like you are in the basement. During the breakfasts - if you do not come by 8am - there is very few choice left. Overall, not in line with its pricing AT ALL.

    The beach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.3
    My review of Taaras
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden - Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food, the pricing of the food. The room, water was leaking from air conditioning, toilet and the shower room

    Staff are really friendly and helpful. The sea and place was beautiful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    3.8
    Terrible experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cliff - Premier Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible experience! The worst experience ever for my holiday. The facility is old and snorkeling is simple Nothing! I would not recommend anyone to go there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    4.2
    The hotel is totally over rated - very expensive - food -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cliff - Bay Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is totally over rated - very expensive - food - excursions etc you cannot access boat taxis from the hotel - you are captive in that one bay. The food is really not very good and expensive .. 160 rm for a mediocre buffet Too many people queing at breakfast etc etc

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    the reef is at the swimming distance, you can rent a canoe...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cliff - Hill Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the reef is at the swimming distance, you can rent a canoe at the hotel and swim with turtles (less than 5 minutes canoe!) also the snack bar on the beach makes delicious meals, really recommend the pizza! you can also call the on site "golf cars" of the hotel they will pick you up and drop anywhere you like! (so useful when it's hot!)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    Rooms for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cliff - Hill Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taaras should think of energy saving bcos noticed that after house keeping cleaned the rooms, aircondition & lights were still turned on

    Helpful & friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    Amazing place for a weekend getaway or a relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cliff - Bay Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service and food are ok but not fantastic. Overall it’s not a very cheap place to visit, however, this is the best hotel on Redang.

    Amazing beach: beautiful, clean, not crowded. Nice spacious rooms. Massage at the spa was amazing, we had great and knowledgeable therapists. Friendly and welcoming staff. You can snorkle or kayak next to the hotel and see large sea turtles (no need to feed them calamares, they are there and come up to the surface for air regularly notwithstanding the food). In addition to hotel boats, there are also non-hotel boats leaving from the same jetty (Merang waterfront). They depart from Merang, if I am not mistaken, at 11 am, 1 pm and 3 pm. Return from Taaras at 1 and 4 pm. These additional boats give you more flexibility (and they cost significantly less).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Very nice for relaxing and staying at the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cliff - Hill Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hoped for a buffet at lunch or dinner. Eating at the same two restaurants for 4 days was a bit much.

    Very nice resort for a few days of calming down. Amazing beaches with clear water and white sand. Food was delicious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    Beaches were absolutely stunning- snorkelling the best ever...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden - Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I am afraid the food was very poor- especially breakfast- long queues each day for the basics- eggs and coffee- the machine kept breaking. The rest of the food was only just adequate and on a couple of occasions I ddi not eat the meal. The staff were lovely and overall tried to be really helpful but the service for lunch at the beach bar was not great- 25minutes wait fro 2 drinks.

    Beaches were absolutely stunning- snorkelling the best ever and the sea was beautiful. Setting and location of the hotel was excellent. Pick up good, staff tried to be helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location, good food, attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Cliff - Hill Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check-in experience was just terrible. Why do we need to check-in twice, once at the airport and another time at the resort? I hope we just had bad luck and that most people have a seamless experience. The staff, who are attentive, seem however to have been told to run through a script every time they speak to guests: "where are you from?", "how long are you staying?", etc. After a while, the repetitiveness gets quite annoying, as it begins to feel fake. The resort seems to be staffed with students with very little experience and quite a poor level of English, making communication difficult at times. We had some issues with out-of-order equipment whilst there: pedalo was not working and wasn't repaired while we were there and the air conditioning broke and was also not repaired, but we were kindly offered a replacement room.

    Great location, good food, attentive staff. Luckily the resort had very few guests when we were there, which made for a very calm and relaxing stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    A good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean Retreat 3D2N Fullboard - Cliff - Hill Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing much

    A good place for family holidays and relaxation.Beauty of the beach is remarkable.Typically one with clear blue sea and white sand.Good array of buffet meals.Its definitely worth it to take the full board package.Otherwise meals would be pretty pricey.Friendly staffs and very accommodating. Taaras also offers good activities for kids if you are travelling as a family.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Loved the place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cliff - Hill Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For aged guests or guests with limited walking ability it is better to reserve beachfront chalets. Rooms in the buildings means you will have to climb the rather steep staicase several times per day

    One of the few, if not the only one, real 5 star hotel on the east coast islands of Malaysia, with wifi in the room, comfortable beds, a bath and other 5 star amenieties.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    The beach looks like a piece of heaven- so calm and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden - Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff werent professional, they couldn't speak or understand english well. Room service was poor- most time no one picked up the internal calls through the extension. Food was not of high standard or standard of a 5 star resort, specialy breakfast!

    Location and scenery! clean ans clear water which was perfect for snorkelling and diving. The private beach is amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Paradise beach in Malaysia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cliff - Hill Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast may be improved to be truly rated 5 stars

    Exceptional beaches, probably the best in Malaysia. Great atmosphere, not too crowded, good activities & equipments.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    A little paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden - Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The resort is amazing, in a great position with a wonderful private beach and turtles living just close to it. Staff is very nice and available to satisfy every request. In Malaysia don't consider this attitude for granted, because it s not! In terms of food, we tried only the beach bar and was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Amazing stay, will definitely come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean Retreat 3D2N Halfboard - Cliff - Premier Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The land transfer from the airport was at 11:45am. We had to wait for more than three hours at The Taaras lounge at the airport and that was quite a waste of time. There are only early morning flights from Kuala Lumpur and if one plans to take the first boat to the island, you still need to wait for hours as the first transfer is only due at 12:20pm from the Merang jetty! Of course you can take the 1pm flight from Kuala Lumpur but then the next trip to the island is scheduled at 2:30pm. It would be good if the hotel can schedule the land and sea transfer earlier.

    We stayed at the Premier Suite and the room was incredible. The view of the ocean was stunning and the buggy service was pretty efficient. Buffet spread was not that extensive but all dishes served were delicious. Staff were very accommodating and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.1
    Good but little bit overrated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden - Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs keep saying it’s ok or done even it is not ok or done. Because of this, we need to re-send emails for registration for 4 times. Everything was too expensive so that I didn’t feel it’s in Malaysia.

    The beach in front of this resort was really beautiful and we can see sea turtles. Property was really beautiful and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel although some of the facilities should be more well maintained and food less pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden - Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food at the hotel was a little pricey but that’s because there weren’t any other restaurants in the vicinity or other choices besides the hotel except for a friendly Malay restaurant just outside the entrance. You either eat at the hotel or at the Malay restaurant.

    We really like the private beach, the crystal clear water and the fluffy white sand.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    Amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cliff - Hill Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All is perfect!

    With no doubts the staff are the best in Govardhan Bungalow! Everything we needed they helped us with a smile. The place is lovely, clean and very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.8
    It was a peaceful and relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cliff - Hill Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Food, drinks, massage are really overpriced. The food in their restaurant doesn't value the money.

    The private beach is wonderful. All staff is very friendly and the resort is very beautiful and peaceful. The massage is awesome but overpriced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Amazing beach and a warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cliff - Hill Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in the restaurant was not great with a very small selection. But that doesn’t matter as there are a couple of excellent restaurants within a few minutes walk of the resort.

    Beach was amazing. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Snorkelling was incredible.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful location, but expensive!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden - Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort is quite pricey. When you pay this much I’d expect a 5 star high standard in everything. Our room was simple. Spa facilities, transportation, food were too expensive. The island is worth a visit, but I’ll consider to stay somewhere else next time.

    The location next to the beach is the absolute highlight. The resort is beautiful. The staff was service minded and friendly. The food at the beach bar and the restaurant was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic stay and brilliant views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden - Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garden view rooms should be displayed on a map so you can see how far away they are from the beach etc. Not sure i agree with them selling food so you can feed the turtles in the next bay.

    The original room we booked in the gardens was quite small and didn’t have a good view. Luckily, the lovely staff managed to organise us an amazing upgrade and so we had a fantastic time as we stayed in a stunning suite which made our holiday. All staff were kind and friendly. Would love to go back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.8
    A bittersweet experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean Retreat 3D2N Fullboard - Cliff - Hill Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service is too bad for the price you pay. Attitude of employees is good but employees are either not properly trained or doesn’t have the resources to do a good job. In a spring break weekend the menu was at 50% the buggies to go to the rooms are maybe 2 or 3 for hundreds of rooms, just to name few examples.

    The beach is amazing. Its a shame that the hotel is not up to the standard of that beautiful location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    It was a fun and relaxing vacation with my friends but we had a very bad experience with sand flies.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden - Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didnt like the sand flies - the beach is is clean but the management has to address the issue of sand flies. My friends and I were very bitten. This can deter me from going to Taaras again.

    The ambiance of the property is very good. All staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cliff - Bay Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Refused entry into Brasserie restaurant without booking, even though restaurant was empty.

    Beautiful beach. Great snorkelling and large rooms. Good food options, reasonably priced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Excellent facilities and beaches, restaurant service can improve substantially
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cliff - Premier Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow service at restaurants. Have to chase for service. Ask several times for attention or menus and for bill payment.

    Beach and reefs marine life at pulau lima

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Amazing beach, nice ambience around the resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden - Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The local food at the Asian restaurant was really good but a little too pricey. Could not find much choice of desserts in the resort menu such as ice creams, local desserts, when people go to resorts like this, most tend to enjoy to splurge on comfort food like this but unfortunately not much of these was offered on the menu.

    The beach is definitely the main pull for this resort.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice quiet private beach to relax from busy work life:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cliff - Hill Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 223 wall divided between shower and basin have water leakage. So as the toilet bowl. The room had snacks crumble left by previous customer not cleaned when we check-in. The Turtle tour briefing should have informed us that we were going to next beach before taking us to jetty and make a huge round. The rocky part of beach need to remove the black rubbish plastic and further clean up.

    The private beach away from local eyes and allowing the use of swim suits and bikini without feeling awkward. Ability to go out and walk around the local village. Polite, energetic and friendly staff. Buggy services. The netting for doors and windows shutting the bugs and gecko enterance. The medium soft tooth brush. Strong water pressure in the toilet. Hot dry towel prepared near the shower after the beach. Long breakfast time up to 10:30AM.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    Rooms and views are perfect, staff is friendly except for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cliff - Bay Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We’re not so enjoy the dining experience.the view of all 3 restaurants were nice, but we’re not happy with the services.very slow service,no one approached when we sit, and sooo hard to get the attention of the staff. table not properly setup,not much choices for food, and even stated in the menu,they dont have this dont have that. And so many times we saw staff prefer to entertain foreigners than us, the local guest.

    Rooms and views are perfect, staff is friendly except for the staff in the restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    6.7
    The beach jut in front the hotel is really great, with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cliff - Hill Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurantes are really poor, with few options in the menu, and service is terrible, with waiters running around without knowing what to do. Really far below our expectations.

    The beach jut in front the hotel is really great, with cristal clear water and white sand.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    Pleasure pleasant and a beautiful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cliff - Bay Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom tiles near the shower might need to be replaced or polished

    The staffs are friendly and somehow we are looking forward to seeing them every time we went out for our meal or even chilling at the beach

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.5
    The resort has a lot of potential but the management needs to work on the service and the customer c
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden - Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service is not up to expectations. The email exchange before our trip was quite difficult as the staff seemed not to understand our arrival and departure schedule: it was the same when we were there for the checkout. There is not much flexibility on the resort side and it shows especially at the main restaurant where the special menus are fixed and can not be changed, though quite expensive.

    The beach is very nice and baywatchers were always on duty as the sea was quite choppy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.8
    A stress free comfortable stay with the most friendliest staff and beautiful beach I have ever seen
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cliff - Hill Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Two comments : 1) need to increase the food menu at the resort if one is staying for more than a week as options are limited. 2) To increase games facilities (indoor and outdoor) as during my stay, the games room was under renovation.

    The staff were asking what more could they do to help make our stay better instead of the other way. Hotel staff were extra friendly and always smiling especially the main 2 staff whose name I have shared with the GM. Stress free holiday with comfortable bed and clean bathrooms. Our privacy was also preserved during our stay. Fast and efficient / seamless check-in. Very accommodating to our personalized needs. My personal enjoyment was the view from the gym.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.8
    Excellent and memorable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cliff - Bay Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival our ferry was planned for 2:30 but was cancelled due to weather condition and we reached hotel by 6pm Almost lost one day

    Location is excellent Beach is very nice Comfortable access to beach and restaurants

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.2
    Absolutely amazing - but also not cheap compared to 5 star hotels in countries like Italy and Spain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cliff - Hill Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relatively high prices (higher than even European premium standard) and some things that could be bought locally (e.g. fresh fish from fishermen and coconuts) were imported.

    Super friendly and flexible staff. Make every wish possible (e.g. food), help with everything (e.g. helped to re-schedule flights), greatest beach we’ve seen in a long time and everything super clean with also wildlife on the premise (e.g. monkeys, squirrels, lizard, turtles close by)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.9
    The hotel itself is great, though you are quite isolated and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden - Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel itself is great, though you are quite isolated and you shouldn't expect to explore anywhere outside of the hotel complex. So perfect if you want to eat/sleep/drink in the same location but if you prefer small luxury boutique hotels with the option to explore elsewhere i'd recommend another hotel. My only criticism would be the food on offer - it was ok but considering the surrounding areas I would have expected higher quality food (and this is including local dishes).

    The hotel itself is great, though you are quite isolated and you shouldn't expect to explore anywhere outside of the hotel complex. So perfect if you want to eat/sleep/drink in the same location but if you prefer small luxury boutique hotels with the option to explore elsewhere i'd recommend another hotel. the staff were extremely helpful and rooms were impeccably clean. getting to the hotel was extremely easy and was very straight forward but I would budget a minimum of 2 hrs for the boat journey. We were advised it would take 1.5 hrs and almost missed our flights.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    7.9
    Would come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cliff - Hill Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great facilities, beautiful beach, swim with turtles 200m off the beach is amazing. The beach isn’t great for snorkeling. But really nice for swimming.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.1
    Family weekend gettaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cliff - Hill Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant is not 5 stars even though the prices are. There is a lot of staff, but everything in the restaurant takes a lot of time. The staff don't know how to promote the snorkeling facilities.

    The beach is amazing. The sand is white and you can go snorkeling right of the beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.2
    Luxurious Hotel at perfect beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden - Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    high prices for meals in the hotel (but two cheap local restaurants outside the hotel available as an option)

    perfect private beach, white sand, delicious food, large rooms, coral reef directly in the hotel bay (for snorkelling)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    5.4
    Okay but could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cliff - Bay Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is definitely overpriced and would not consider it 5 star, maybe close to 4 star (3.5 to be precise). The place was clean but needs refurbishing especially the bathroom and the carpets in bedroom. The food wasn't brilliant, the bar on the beach had decent food. There was no decent food close to the hotel where we could go and eat. There wasn't a lot to do on the resort because everything was overpriced.

    The best thing about this hotel was the amazing beach with the crystal clear waters. The staff was also really friendly especially the manager called Richard.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    6.7
    Overall, very pleasant stay, very beautiful beach, and staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean Retreat 3D2N Halfboard - Cliff - Hill Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cumbersome to get to, some water sports were not available as advertised. Towels on the pool or beach have holes. The air conditioner is very noisy. The hotel need some refurbishment.

    The Beach and Food at fine dining restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.1
    Good but the transportation should be on the hotel as there is no other ways to access to it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden - Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charge 16% of taxes in general so prepare your pocket, also property has only two restaurants and not a lot of choices on the menu and there is no where else to eat. The room was dusty. The staff were not so happy when we asked to be driven by baggy everytime to our room as our room was very far

    The property is amazing but they should invest on an infinity pool for the view they have

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.3
    I stayed at the sea view room and it was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cliff - Bay Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service and reception of the hotel was really poor, had to wait two hours past check in time to get my room ready. Since I was only spending one evening, that made my stay a little bit less confortable. I could enjoy the beach at least.

    I stayed at the sea view room and it was amazing. The room itself is very spacious and clean. The view is breath taking. The location is simply amazing. Would love to come back. To get to the island I used the Merang jetty, they offered quite good connection times, good price and only 30 to 40 min ride to the island. From my prespective there is no need to use the Ferry

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    5.4
    You pay the price for the beach view only, other is really average. Not worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden - Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. The food is tasteless and not worth the price, buffet breakfast also average 2. Tv was sucks 3. Wifi very slow 4. Bathroom toiletries don’t have body lotion 5. The female staff at the front desk when we check out dont know how to talk with customers and a bit rude. 6. Swimming pool is average 7. Tea / coffee pantry in room don’t have spoon

    The only thing i like about this resort is the beach, white sand and clear water is beautiful view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    The best place to stay in Redang
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cliff - Hill Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The drinks at the beach bar were extremely expensive and more then twice, not very well done. Although the rooms are comfortable, there are some walls specially near the AC that need some care and need to be painted.

    The staff was really nice and friendly. They offered us an upgrade and it couldn´t be better! Breakfast was delicious. The room was very comfortable. The beach is just perfect. We really had a great time here!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Small Heaven in an island
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cliff - Premier Twin
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    first day arrived, we already found the balcony is dirty. Also Airconditioning is not working at bed room side. Also under the bed was dirty. But we forgot about that problem easily since we really enjoyed the beach.

    Everything.. beautiful under water life. very clear water. many monkeys around, some lizard, and squirrel. You must try the ATV ride. I did several time in other country, but this one is really different. Powerful engine and also very nature route.. Very recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    very
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I just don't like the staff come to room to check the minibar everyday ,Is it necessary ?maybe it just occasionally 。but everything is good , it‘s not important for us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    Thank you TAARAS for amazing experience and memories. Thanks for FREE upgrading to garden suite :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cliff - Hill Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I dont have enought money and time to stay a little bit longer there. :(

    Friendly staff and huge comfortable room. Clean beach and crystal clear water like i dont want to go back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.9
    Very good and relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cliff - Hill Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like much the room. I think for 5 star property should be better maintained .

    Staff is very nice and helpful and private beach is amazing. Beach also got very comfortable sun beds . Restaurant serve very good breakfast with lot of choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.9
    The private beach is really beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Ocean Retreat 3D2N Fullboard - Cliff - Hill Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Check in process should be improved as we paid for full-board but they did not give us the voucher until we finish eating and did not tell us which restaurants were incl. And what items were not incl. 2. Pricing reflected in Booking was not correct and precise. There was only 10% service + 6% tax excl. from room price but the reality was room price (shown)+ 16% (as above)+ 6% (GST- which is also a tax) and MYR10 per room per night for sth else that I don't remember now. 3. Food was not great (breakfast was quite ok) but lunch was eatable only and "fine dining" was only "fine" Full-Board is not recommended for this hotel as room price+ whatever restaurant you eat in the resort would be less than the full-board price.

    The private beach is really beautiful. The staff was really gentle, patient and willing to help so overall service was really good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Fell in love at first sight! Highly recommended and will definitely visit again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden - Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If only we could stay for longer time! 4D3N were too short!

    Woke up to breath taking view every morning from our sea view suite! All the staffs were friendly and well trained, greeted us with bright smile every time they saw us. Could just spend the whole day sitting on soft sandy beach looking at the crystal clear sea. Food were excellent especially their local cuisine, and lots of choices for breakfast buffet. Daily complimentary activities for everyone including children. We did the kayaking and got to see sea turtle up closer to us! Fine dining at their brasserie was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.2
    Just amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cliff - Hill Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a bit big, making you have to walk long distances for example to your room.

    By far the most beautiful resort you would stay in Redang Island. Everybody on the island was jealous of us that we stayed at Taraas. Compared to other beaches and resorts this Taraas was truly like paradise!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Great value, we loved it and hope to return eventually.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden - Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The live music at dinner time (while pretty good), was a bit too loud to still have comfortable conversation in the outdoor dinner area.

    The staff was extremely friendly and attentive. We thoroughly enjoyed our 5-day stay and would recommend going there to anyone. On top of things, as we were there just after high season, we got upgraded to a cliff room which was amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful beach, hotel in general good but the service needs to be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cliff - Premier Twin
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Despite a number of hick ups, we really enjoyed our stay as the beach is amazing (also, we'd read the reviews, so knew about potential issues in advance :)) 1. The rooms are a little bit tired, we still greatly enjoyed ours but worth being aware of it 2. Our first room had a strong bathroom smell (we were moved after informing Reception) 3. Service in the restaurants could be improved (e.g. the side dish was brought out separately and 15 min after the main course, by the time it arrived the meat was cold and other parties at the table had already finished their meal). 4. Our departure ferry booking was not handled well. We asked for public ferry, staff didn't ask us to which jetty (apparently, there are two, we didn't know). After a hotel employee showed us which ferry to board, we, by accident, found out it was not going to Merang jetty. At that point the hotel rep had already left, so we ended up having to sort out a different arrangement with some local boat drivers hanging around the jetty (we had to get back to Merang jetty as our car was parked there). 5. Hotel staff were encouraging guests to buy baby squid to feed to the sea turtles. Boat operators from other hotels were doing the same (throwing food into the water for the turtles to approach the boats). This is not the best way to treat the environment. Especially, since the turtles are there anyway and are so easy to spot! We were kayaking pretty far away from the "squid mafia" and we saw tons of turtles. Also, they come up for air every 10-20 min. When you are surrounded by 5-6 of them, at least one is guaranteed to get close to you, no need to feed it artificially!

    1. Beautiful beach, not at all crowded. 2. Our room was spacious and nicely decorated 3. Hotel has a house reef where you can snorkel. If you hire a kayak and swim a couple of minutes to the other side, there are many sea turtles. 4. We visited the spa a couple of times, the massage was lovely and the staff very friendly. 5. Staff in general are friendly and make an effort to be helpful. TIPS: 1. consider bringing your own snorkelling gear (hotel's is around 40 myr/ day/ person, 18 myr for 2h) 2. booking hotel transfer is the easy option, especially if first time in Asia, but you can also ask the hotel to book you a public ferry (significantly cheaper and offers more time options), there is still a hotel rep at the Merang jetty who will help you to get to the right boat. Public ferry is not offered, you need to ask for it specifically. 3. there are two local street food cafes outside the hotel. We didn't eat there but this is an option if you don't fancy taking water taxi to a different beach and want something cheaper/ different. 4. We saw more turtles in the morning (9-10 am) than in the afternoon.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    6.7
    Lovely beach but not for service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden - Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was quite disappointing. It took a while to get the operator in line and the check-out process was very disorganized. On our last day, the hotel was out of electricity but no explanation given to us.

    We love and enjoy the private beach so much. The place is not crowded and perfect for family with kids too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    5.4
    Nice and good beach but bad hotel service and attitude.not worth the high price for the service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Retreat 3D2N Halfboard - Cliff - Hill Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant staff is not polite and friendly at all. Food is served unusually long. And the staff selectively choose who to provide service. You may get better service if you are foreigner. If you are local, out of luck.

    The beach

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.9
    The staff were very friendly and did their best to accomodate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean Retreat 3D2N Halfboard - Cliff - Hill Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had the cliff hill deluxe and it was a very long walk to the beach, so we had to use the golf cart service every time (They were very prompt though). The rooms were a bit dated, and did not feel like 5 *.

    The beach was just amazing, lots of fish and very clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    6.7
    Great relaxing stay, just need improvement in service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean Retreat 3D2N Halfboard - Cliff - Hill Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service. All the staff need to attend a re-training on customer friendliness. I understand property is big and is difficult to manage but i can't understand restaurant or lobby not picking up the phone. The transport arrangements from Airport to property was very badly managed but there is no other option you can take.

    We stayed in ocean front room which had great view of ocean. Everything was walking distance from the room. The beach is good with crystal clear water. Marine life is clearly visible from the end of floating jetty.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cliff - Bay Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot shower was not available for a few days.

    Beautiful view, both above and under the sea. Spacious and clean room. Good access by cart to reception and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cliff - Bay Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is not very good.

    The beach is the paradise and the hotel is amazing. The room with bath tube in front of the sea is wonderful (I recommend cliff bay suite). Staff are very nice, always smiling and trying to help you. Breakfast is included and it is really good. Taaras is the paradise inside the paradise of Redang Island.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Amazing place.The beach is very beautiful, so natural and enjoyable place. It like paradise on Earth
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cliff - Bay Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. Bad side - internet link can be slow, good side - you don't need to respond on emails :) 2. Cannot stay endlessly :(

    Rooms are really well designed, comfortable. The beach is like heaven, very clear as well as the sea. Nice atmosphere. The staff is very friendly, organized to perfection.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    4.2
    Nice beach but with poor service in dining room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden - Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room service is poor! They can even miss my order, get us waiting for almost 1hour. Then something bad happened, my son starving to omit, it was enteritis!! Fortunately, there is a clinic on the island. I complain to the hotel, but didn't receive any official apologize. The manager of the dining room mentioned to send some fruit to our room, but I never see it.

    The private beach is beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.2
    Best beach ever, with coral and turtles nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cliff - Hill Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Live show at night is always the same and boring

    Best beach ever, with coral and turtles nearby. The sand and water is perfect. Head of restaurant staff is very helpfull

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    The complex, the beach and the accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden - Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant service needs a thorough review with more attention to customes needs. Table bookings need to be honoured. Candle lights on All tthe tables on the terrace as well as cushions on All the seats. Take dinner orders in succession and serve accordingly instead of leaving guests eaiting for an hour whilst othet late arrivals are served first.

    The complex, the beach and the accomodation

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.3
    I've never swam with that many sea tiurtles in my life! loved every minute of our trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ocean Retreat 3D2N Halfboard - Cliff - Bay Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We've lived in Malaysia for 8 years so we went with the right expectation. Service is average but the scenery is amazing. The service is average not because staff is not good, but I think they just need to be better trained. They serve you with a great friendly smile but a bit slow. If you go with this in mind, you'll love it!

    The water is unbelievably beautiful! The diving experience was superb! Very friendly staff, great staff and equipment! The cliff sea view suit is superb! Our other rooms (garden suit) was quite good too but not to compare to the cliff sea view suits. We loved the water, never seen this color except maybe in the Maldives.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful location, ultra friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cliff - Hill Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived at room and although two people on the room only one of everything set up, nothing was replenished during our four days tea bags/ bathroom, spa destroyed my nails but i was refunded, quite a few shouty children jumping and splashing in pool, transfers to hotel expensive additional charge

    Beautiful location, ultra friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.7
    amazing location, charming beach, but food and facility need improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Cliff - Hill Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room had some defects like the water heater which was fixed on the first day, and the exhaust which was never fixed though I reported it. Also, the food was not really good against its price, the value of money is not there in terms of quality of food

    the location is amazing, the beach is really nice with clear water. Staff are friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    7.5
    Luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden - Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak wifi signal. Breakfast is Halal. there was no pork or pork products. Isolated area.

    Private beach is perfect. Excited to see wildlife, monkeys, lizard and squirrels.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.9
    Stunning location and beautiful beaches
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ocean Front - Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, but service can be a little slow. Would benefit from greater attention to detail... but generally speaking a lively place to stay.

    Stunning location and beautiful beaches

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Real paradise place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden - Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband and I spent lovely 3 days in this hotel and we regret it was not more! It was unforgettable experience. Everything was perfect from check-in until leaving the hotel. Organization was perfect-hotel shuttle picked us up from the speed boat, and dropped us back when we're leaving. Staff is just amazing friendly, always smiling, very helpful. Service perfect, room very big, nice and clean! We were living in the garden deluxe room, but it was only 3-4 min walk to the beach. Monkeys were leaving on our roof! The beach was the best beach we ever visited, so clean, transparent water, and it was empty. Even hotel was medium filled up with people, nobody ever disturb you, very quite. Perfect place to relax! Hotel offers boat ride to the turtle bay, where we could swim with them (2 min boat from hotel). Also hotel organized plenty of sport activities , some of them are for free, some not. We had dinner in hotel restaurant (very nice service, tasty food)-there was life music every night. Breakfast was the best breakfast ever, such a big choice, every day something new! And it was so delicious, very good tasty coffee! If we will have chance to come back to Redang island, for sure will be staying in Taaras Beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    Good, rather than excellent but there again not as expensive as places that I would rate "excellent"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden - Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Minor issues only (e.g. ordering coffee and it not arriving, a few times during our stay). No big deal for us, but can see why some guests might get frustrated if either they felt it is top end of their personal budget, so anything short of 100% would be disappointing OR if they are used to First Class service always. We're relaxed and used to a range of mid to high end establishments and this seemed reasonably good and not overly expensive.

    Very good resort. Worth the trek to get there, staff friendly & helpful. BUT not all 5* trained. Have stayed in other resorts with closer to 100% perfect service, but have had too pay a lot more at those other resorts.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: