Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Villas at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa 5 stars

Pesiaran Lagoon, Bandar Sunway, 47500 Petaling Jaya, Malaysia

#2 of 35 Holiday rentals in Petaling Jaya

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 254 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy fogging early in the morning like 630am. Noisy neighbour, on loud music + smoked. Can hear it clearly and smell it when I was by the pool! Can’t even have a quiet moment for myself:( Private pool is dirty, a lot of sands in the pool. Can hear loud music from sunway lagoon in the late afternoon! Far different when compared with the Banjaran Ipoh. Not much choices for breakfast.

    Friendly & helpful staff The room is clean and comfy bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water is always cold at sunwaylagoon and at the private swimming pool it need a beter heating system

    Location, privacy internet the reception the cleanliness of the room the hospitality and the view.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mosquitoes. But the setting of the property was with nature, so i guess that mosquitoes are to be expected.

    We loved the privacy. The services by the hotel's staff. The huge bathroom and tub. Our very own swimming pool. The room service. EVERYTHING!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Private pool water was so dirty. Lighting switches in the villa are not together. The cleaning team is asking me to clean the room and in every time I ask them to clean it at night because i want to stay inside the villa till after noon, and they come back again and again for more than 5 times!

    The breakfast can be delivered to the villa. Sunway city. Spa.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitoes in the room.

    Villa is nice. Staff was helpful and cooperative. Breakfast was superb with excellent options and variety of cuisines. Tasty in room dining. Nice location near sunway lagoon and shopping mall.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I believe the room was very dampened & the bed was terrible soft especially the middle part. It's time to change a new one.

    The atmosphere of the resort living

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    With all this, the price was high and the menu was limited to Middle East cuisine. I spent 3 days eating same dishes for Breakfast. If I need different options I have to go to the hotel. I came to relax with my wife not to move between the villas and the hotel.

    The room and the pool even if not big.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    everything very friendly staff Also its very beatiful place for couples and families great location next to the theme park and the pyramid mall

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    MOSQUITO, you need to walk for a long distance to reach the main lobby to get a taxi, there is some noise from sunway water park

    Privacy, spacious villa, very friendly staff, excellent spa

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All is perfect

    The resort and property (VILLA) were Amazing and the villa staffs Were friendly and kind and provided us with excellent services .Special thanks whole villa team and JOHNNY G & Zakiah for their warm welcoming & care ,looking forward to book in same resort for the 3rd time

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Villa has a lot of lizard and mosquitoes it's not comfortable place to stay as honeymoon. Also if you forget any thing it will be lost for ever you will not get it back or the property will contact you regarding the lost items as desent hotels and resort. I have forgotten my stone sphere ring and I have contact them but no positive answers even if have told them where exactly they can find it.

    Villa has nice small pool and privacy for couples.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Private pool was supposed to be more private as it's open to the nearby hotel to see, and the pool water was cold to swim in. -Ants and insects were everywhere and even getting inside our bags, can't avoid them in such a greenerly places but could do more to avoid them. - Expensive

    - The heart made of roses on the bed as we were on honeymoon and the private pool.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pictures of the villa are misleading. Very old facilities, and it is filled with insects! They are claiming that the pool is private, yet tall buildings are surrounding the villa. It is not private at all! Not recommended at all. Overall it was a bad experience, and this property is very over rated...

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slippery walking paths

    Comfortable and privacy.. to newly married couples!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool for kids was not so attractive

    Actually i was offered to a club suite due to hotel policy that i cannot bring kids

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    All

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Villa are old and over used

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool and the room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean. Lots of bugs also

    The villa

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance to the villa

    All

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place too old and not maintained well.

    The staff are very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was amazing. Very respectful, courteous, and helpful. The villa was very clean. The breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plenty of insects

    The concept

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot of type of food you can order from the room serves

    The hosting

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool, staff are friendly, view was beautiful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No thing

    The almost things I like it: 1- Villa design 2- Cleanliness 3- Foods 4- Employee behaviors

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money Cold indoor pool

    Location Staff Easy check in and check out Free min bar

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Non

    Excellent

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy and food not very good , poor menu

    Nice place good staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location Best for family and couples

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Couple
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I want to get to set free the duration of 5 days 🙊

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitos are soooo many of them and noisy environment due to near to sunway lagoon

    Many place to reach by walking distance

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The event at sunway lagoon was very uncomfortable and very noise.The

    The private pool,food and the service was wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely overpriced and dated! Moved to another hotel after 1 day.

    Good for family with kids

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bellows

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The annoying mosquitoes

    The privacy

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy sometimes due to theme park

    Private swimming pool and excellent room space

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Insects

    The service, the view, the location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The large amount of mosquitoes all over the villa at the pool and bed. It was so terrifying.

    The bed was super comfy and everything was pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Over priced if I visit sunway again I'll defiantly stay in the hotel not the villa. Tiny pool. Small bed and not comfortable.

    The location is perfect for those who want to visit the water park. The staff are friendly professional very helpful and always smiling.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the villa looked to the back of another villa , the advertised image is not true . a lot of bugs in the place (ants , spiders , mosquitoes ) empty fridge , no chocolate or nuts or any snacks . no 24 service for room dining , they close at 12 am

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The AC was not working and the room was extremly hot. The in-room-dining food was the worst I've ever had. There was alot more bugs than expected to the point that we couldn't use the bathtub because there was a worm in it. The bed wasn't big enough; my legs were off the bed. The tiles of the in door swimming pool were dirty. The staff were not bad but not very helpful either. Overall, the price wasn't at all worth the stay.

    The villa was spacious and looked romantic. The location (being inside sunway) is excellent. The LOBBY breakfast was great.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We would like to suggest that the glass panel at the top part of the bathroom be changed to frosted glass for enhanced privacy. If I am not wrong, room 103 has such frosted glass panel, which I am sure can be implemented for other rooms as well. We do, however, miss the wide array of breakfast offered at the Pavillion. I was especially looking forward for the siew mai which was offered in 2014, but to my disappointment it was no longer available now in both Pavillion and the Resort Cafe.

    We loved every aspect of the villa, from the food, the comfortable bed to the service. The ambience of the villa was heartwarmingly cosy and romantic, which was exactly how it was when we stayed there for our first honeymoon two years ago. What made our stay there more enjoyable this time round is the extra privacy offered since we were in the higher villa, and the availability of the Taste Enclave at Sunway Pyramid. We also appreciate the "Welcome Back" chocolate cake by Sunway Villas and their every effort to ensure that our stay was a memorable one.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old, noisy and bad service! There was an event happening at sunway lagoon that lasted to after midnight. And because the villa is situated right next to sunway lagoon, we weren't spared from the noise. Made a complain and the staff told us "it is the way it is". How rude. Definitely not worth rm1.5k-rm2k per night.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mosquitoes where a must to have, although some kind of plants if planted there will expel the mosquitoes

    Staff very friendly Location very private Awesome mandri spa Peefect breakfast Location feels out of the city but when you go out youbare in the middle of sunway where all what you need is very close

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    • Many mosquitoes • Internet connection was broken and I was informed that wifi has been not working for 3 months. They could have given me another villa since only 4 villas were occupied as I was told

    Almost everything

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beware this place can be noisy the water park is below is open 10-6 and screaming loud music and horns going off regularly not what you want in a retreat

    Staff very helpful and friendly Shout out to Jonny who was exceptional Cocktails and nibbles in pavilion

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff were outright disrespectful. I've had to wait for longer than an hour after my check in time while the staff lied and changed the reason.

    Facilities and the room were well maintained

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    check in desk is very hard to reach as cars cannot get directly to the villas, visitors must report to the Sunway resort first which I find a bit annoying especially with congestion. if the villa's pool is covered by any means this would give more privacy because of some tall buildings in the nearby those might host watching dogs those can bother your privacy! Sealing between villas is not very good as Residents next to my villa had very nosiy talking at 3AM that woke me up. I hope if the Villa can enfore some policy on Visitors to keep calm and quite after 12am.

    Atmospher and location.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast selection at the Pavilion was limited. Opted for breakfast at The Resort Cafe which was shared with the Sunway Hotel guests. Greeted with a long queue and unfriendly receptionist Jenny which does not reflect Sunway's hospitality. She was did not even smile and her gestures implied that she was impatient to clear the queue. While we understand that staffs were overloaded due to peak season, we were ushered in to seats like cattle into barns by another staff. Buffet spread was mediocre compared to other similar hotel class and the variety was limited. Check out process was seamless but we weren't offered a car to fetch us back to the main hotel lobby. We had to walked with our luggages to our car.

    Villa was spacious with private bathtub as well as pool. Limited units available making the villas exclusive. Check-in process by Johnny was very courteous and welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    If the room's accomodation fixed before we arrived.. i will rate 10/10 ..

    Its a different site of sunway.. at the beginning the staff does not thought we are the visitor due to my cloth..but other than that.. greatness..memorable moment and holiday..thank you

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The villa's restaurant is under innovation. So, it takes 1-2 hours for food to be delievered to your villa when u order in from sunaway lagoon.

    privacy is great just make sure u take a villa that doesnt overlook the walkway. Also, the space is great u have your own pool and the bathroom OMG simply amazing. Food is beyond great.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no services in this 5 star hotel, no room dinning after 12 pm, it takes an 1.5 hours for in room dining. The pool , furntiure, bathroom needs renovation. Noise polution in morning Too many bugs which made our sleep difficult, no matter what you do , you would always wake up with a sting. Only one restaurant for the hotel. No car to rake you after 11pm to your villa, it rained and we had to walk in the rain!

    everything is connected, the theme park, mall, and resorte

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pool is small and it is cooled, some villas not have 100% privacy.

    Stuff, location, free mini bar it is just a drinks but nice idea, nice interior very close from the mall and Sunway water park

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Luxury privacy service treatment location pool just about every .. will surly come back again but make sure no kids with you and u will love the place so much

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    So poor nothing to do

    The size of the villa

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some pillows have stains.

    Very Friendly staff. Quiet. Good honeymoon setup with natural flower. They bring desserts on the evining.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    noise from the park ( 9 am to 6 pm ) the room service its so bad and late bad welcome!! the stuff isn't friendly

    villa size , private pool

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I didn't like the mosquitos they are like a nightmare

    every thing was marvelous

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the bed had very huge pillows it wasnt comfey

    privacy ; i had a villa with the private pool and it is completely private

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I found price cheaper without booking.com

    The spa

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They should have pest control.

    Excellent location and staff

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor transport arrangement Poor maintainence arrangements where fogging is done 7am causing bad smell and noise

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room service menu not extensive. Breakfast buffet very little.

    The privacy. The peace and quiet. The location.

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bites of Mosquito specifically during the time of sleeping even AC on high fan and cold Temp

    Staff helpful and privacy

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the door is broken?

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    -

    Everything, specially the bed and pool

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is no transportation between the villa and the loby of the hotel,also there is a lot of mosquito inside the room.

    I like the design of the villa

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not clean .. very bad food and breakfast

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Couple

    Insects inside the sweats.

    Private pool.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location and the villa is amazing . Also it has a good internet Wi-Fi

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing there for you to dislike people

    I just love overall about Villa

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The A.C wasn't cool enough besides bugs at night.

    The privacy and it's close to the pyramid mall, theme park & restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    • Couple

    everything was great the stuff and the reception was great. the room was very nice from everything, the privacy, the cleaning, the location.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Facility, privacy and staff.

There are also 48 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Villas at Sunway Resort Hotel & Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: