Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Malaysia hotel reviews
  3. Sarawak hotel reviews
  4. Santubong hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Village House

Reviews of The Village House

Lot 633 & 634 Pantai Puteri Santubong,, 93010 Santubong, Malaysia

#4 of 8 hotels in Santubong

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 96 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2019

    4.6
    Over priced, need better service training.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rajah Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was dusty. The coffee cups in the room were covered with dust. Toilet seat was broken and which caused painful skin abrasion resulted bleeding. No room service. Staff welcomed us entering the property, and helped us carrying in our luggages, but when we checked out from the property there wasn’t any assistance on carrying out the luggages, which left a bed impression. For over $200 USD/ night, I expect better quality in service and cleanliness.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2019

    5.4
    Disappointing. It failed to live up to description on web site
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Village Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was totally inadequate. The same every day. No fresh juice. No muesli or plain cereal no fresh fruit except for a few slices of watermelon every morning. Where were the oranges, mango papaya, pineapple etc found in abundance in every other Asian country? Watermelon was the only fruit available for the five days we stayed and there and there was nowhere nearby to purchase for ourselves out side the hotel. There should be a choice of eggs either fried, poached boiled or omelette, scrambled?? Only fried eggs offered. Fruit juice served was watered down mango totally tasteless. No choice of fresh bread apart from soggy white sliced bread. And lunch and dinner not varied and only adequate fare No place to put clothes apart from left in suitcase on floor and for five days this becomes tedious. What is wrong with shelves if there is not enough room for drawers? Staff were very helpful when asked but were undertrained and did not speak or understand English well except for one lady who tried well enough.. Often leads to misunderstanding. No management on site to oversee all this. The village house is far away from any other facility like beach or restaurant so one is compelled to stay around he premises with no other activity except a swim in the pool. The staff didn’t advise or tell about other places to visit. For example, an interesting three day event at the Cultural Village was not mentioned.. we had to find that ourselves by accident. . The website suggests otherwise suggesting easy to access day tours of river and to beach . Not so. There Is nowhere to go for a walk along a beach or pathway to get out of village house except along a road for several kilometres.. The Wallace Room with tv and games was too hot to stay in as no air con turned on and staff didn’t know how to help with access to TV programs. Need I say more? We were very disappointed with Village House. The place was nearly empty the entire five days. Perhaps for good reason.

    The quiet and ambience. The pool was good. The garden good

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    7.9
    The environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I tought it is near yo the beach.. Like u can do sometg at the beach but this place is kind of isolated. The breakfast also not so good. Too oily, and not so many choice as expected from the fee. For me it is kind of overrated for the facilities with that price. Should consider a lil bit low price.

    The environment... It's really like kampung... Where you can feel you heart at home. It's a kind of good environment for you to find serenity and to clear your mind.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    8.8
    Exotic and relaxing, but not much outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Village Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The main disadvantage of this homestay is the location: It's in a small village 30km from Kuching, no other restaurants, no shops to spot. They used to have a small beach a few years ago, now covered with huge rocks for coastline protection, swimming impossible. Damai beach is more than 5km away - a long walk in the sun, unless you hitchhike. Or use the bicycle they offer. Unfortunately there are no motorbikes. The food in the restaurant is a bit expensive, with varying quality: The grilled fish in banana leaves with sweet potato was quite delicious and perfectly arranged, the mushroom soup however was a thick brown tasteless jelly. The complementary breakfast is of lower quality. Our recommendation to the hotel owner to make this a perfect place: - Rentable motorbikes (!) - Optimization of some dishes in the menu - A good coffee machine - For the breakfast fresh juice, self-made pancakes and crepes, quality sausages and ham, and a selection of eggs

    Inside it's a lovely place: Small wooden houses arranged around a large pool in a tropical garden with lots of decoration, hammocks and wooden loungers in the public area, drinks and food all day, very friendly staff, a good place for relaxing and reading. We had a small but nicely furnished room with comfortable beds, with good bathroom, nothing broken, all clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    7.1
    Relax resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Village Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff was friendly to the customers, but they don't look very happy. They look tired. The price for food and drinks at the resort were very high.

    the room the breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2018

    9.6
    Cosy and Quiet place for couples
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Village Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be of better standards - not many options at all Pool could be cleaner Quite a lot of mosquitoes in the room and bathroom

    Very quiet place Very beautiful outdoors Very beautiful indoors Cosy, nice and charming swimming pool of around 15-18m Very good restaurant diner Smiling team and good service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    9.2
    I loved the food, the atmosphere, the fact that no kids were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Village Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One of the staff members was really rude. When ever I went to the bar to order something, she was chatting on her phone and literally looked angry that I wanted something. Flora was superb and nice and the other girl with blonde hair was also really kind and nice.

    I loved the food, the atmosphere, the fact that no kids were allowed, the prices were low. All in all affordable yet excellent food, bed and atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    10
    Relaxing hotel with a much needed pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Village Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can't fault the place.

    Outstanding location surrounded by jungle with beautiful views and a nearby beach. A very relaxing and serene hotel with an amazing pool and comfortable rooms. Food was delicious and staff were very informative about tours in the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2018

    9.6
    Nice boutique hotel away from the city and with a feeling of "lost in the jungle"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Village Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only western breakfast (esp. American), should provide with local food too.

    The pool in the middle and all the furniture outside including the hammocks. Board games room upstairs is great. Staff friendly. Cocktails are nice. Location very secluded and immersed in jungle.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    8.8
    The food is amazing and the Hotel very nice, we loved the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Village Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Given the location of the hotel, a bit far from everything, it would be awesome to rent scooters!

    The food is amazing and the Hotel very nice, we loved the pool!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    7.9
    Overall whole environment is very good for relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Village Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There have gecko and some insects inside the room. Regarding the cleanliness problem, their bed sheets and towels have stains.

    Overall whole environment is very good for relax.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    8.3
    A pleasant and relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Village Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff - Flora and Stephanie were very accommodating and friendly. They were also very discreet and left us alone, giving us the privacy and private space that we seek.

    The staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2019

    8.8
    The cleanliness was of the room, the environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Village Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Place its a little bit small, should extend more since the area is quite big

    The cleanliness was of the room, the environment

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2019

    7.9
    The relaxed environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Village Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No or poor WiFi signal. Garden maintenance can be improved to enhance the beauty of the surroundings great stay

    The relaxed environment

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2019

    7.5
    Beautiful moment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Village Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel location next to the beach is excellent

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    10
    Worth every penny paid...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Village Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Worth money and a quiet / relaxing environment

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    7.5
    wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Village Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    cozy

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    10
    quiet, warm, friendly, surrounded by nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Village Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had rented a car at the airport and that was important, given the rather secluded location of the hotel

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    8.8
    Very nice and calm location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Village Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very nice and calm location. Friendly and helpful staff. Good food.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    8.3
    Love the place and staffs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No hairdryer at bedhouse

    The ambient surrounding

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    8.3
    Very relaxing small local boutique style with a nice pool and poolside long chairs. Excellent rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rajah Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast is basic with a choice out english or classic.

    More or less authentic style. Very cosy and no children allowed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    6.7
    The beach at Santubong has disappeared
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Village Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beach at Santubong has disappeared

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    10
    A really great stay- thoroughly enjoyed it. Much better than the nearby outdated resorts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Village Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. Everything was perfect. I'd highly recommend.

    Great service, food was good and a beautiful hotel!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2018

    9.6
    The stay was awesome i like it as it was a private property which will not get any nuisance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Village Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditional could be better since its hot in the afternoon

    Most of the things i like

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2017

    9.6
    Peacefulness
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No. Except a lil bit difficult to get a taxi here.

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    10
    I am staying there to celebrate my 1st Year Wedding Anniversary. Really impressed & satisfied
    • Couple
    • Village Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beautiful traditional 'KAMPUNG' design with peaceful atmosphere surprised me. Suitable for honeymoon, leisure and relaxation

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    10
    I’m extremely grateful of have been able to stay in Borneo in súcubo a beautiful place!
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The members of the staff were utterly welcoming and nice!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2017

    10
    the staff is very nice , helpful,need to have own transport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Village Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the staff is very nice , helpful,need to have own transport

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    10
    Everything was very good: Location, pool, room and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Rajah Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything was very good: Location, pool, room and staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    4.6
    The decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Village Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rules . Rules rules and rules

    The decor

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2017

    8.3
    A secret inn, great hidden getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Village Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mosquitos! But luckily not in the room.

    The privacy of the places.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful setting, very peaceful and away from it all, and a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The food was disappointing - I'd read reviews saying it was fantastic and the menus read that way so my expectations were high. But two mains on consecutive nights both featured very overcooked prawns and had key ingredients missing which weren't mentioned when I ordered, both tasted similar despite the fact that they should have been different. There was no white wine available by the glass (the only one on the menu was out of stock and an alternative wasn't offered).

    Beautiful setting, very peaceful and away from it all, and a few steps away from a huge and very quiet beach. All staff were lovely, I appreciated the flexibility over meal-times, the scrambled egg was excellent, and I REALLY appreciated being able to keep my room till 6pm without charge. Thank you!

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2016

    7.9
    Very nice place, friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is really isolated. There's only a small village with small shops around the place so you have to buy all the meals in the hotel.They should offer more local dishes. No fruits were available! Path to the beach and the beach itself are really dirty!

    Very nice place, friendly and helpful staff. Really peaceful atmosphere. Great place to relax!

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2016

    7.5
    The room was clean and neat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No television in the room. Kitchen food is non-halal, for muslim they served pancake and bread for breakfast. No slipper/shoes at certain areas. If you would like to watch tv you need to shared with others. Smoking at certain areas only. No tidbits/food allowed in the room. Wifi not available in the room.

    The room was clean and neat. Hot shower is really hot. The toiletries smell so good. The view are really pleasant and relaxing. The swimming pool so clean. Staff are really helpful.

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2016

    9.2
    Really miss the environment as it was very peaceful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hope that I can have the latest magazine or newspaper for my reading pleasure.Tq

    Really miss the environment as it was very peaceful. Staff also kind, soft spoken and very polite. Thanks for your good services and will be there some other time.

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2016

    10
    The design, services, the friendliness of the staff, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Food is not so bad but probably could improve a little bit more on the cooking :)

    The design, services, the friendliness of the staff, the cleanliness, the comfort bed and everything!! The hammock, swimming pool...

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2016

    8.3
    Very quiet, friendly staff and excellent food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The absence of wifi in the rooms.

    Very quiet, friendly staff and excellent food. Strongly recommended for a mature couple breakaway. Beautiful swimming pool and small library.

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2016

    9.2
    The relaxing ambiance and personal touch by their friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The relaxing ambiance and personal touch by their friendly staff- the welcoming emails from the resident manager and also to staff Alifa who made us feel so at home!

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2016

    8.3
    The hotel is a really relaxing, small boutique type of place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The hotel is a really relaxing, small boutique type of place. The standard of the buildings etc is effectively 3 star, but the attention to detail around the place, the attitude of the staff and the quality of the food were all absolutely excellent.The menu is a nice mix of Western, Asian & Local specialties. On rooms, I stayed in the Rajah Suite, worth the additional money if you have the budget. I'd definitely recommend The Village House if you are looking for a more personal alternative to the traditional "box" hotel.

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2016

    10
    Great location to do many things.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I didn't like having to leave this delightful hotel but time was up.

    Great location to do many things. Shuttle bus organised to cultural village. Also organized ride with friend when bus not available. Close to sea. Close to santubong which we climbed. beautiful swimming pool to cool off in at end of day. Best ethnic food in sarawak from resturant and a great bar. Lounge/tv/library room available for rainy days. Court yard decked our in old style setting. Very peaceful and relaxed. Situated in a small, sleepy fishing village, the Village House is a genuine ethnic experience. Bedrooms spacious, clean and well serviced. Absolutely lovely, helpful staff. Able to organise other tours for us.

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2016

    8.8
    This is a great place to just sit and relax for a few days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beach isn't so nice so don't expect to swim.

    This is a great place to just sit and relax for a few days. There isn't much around as Kuching city is about 15 miles away. So stay here if you want to relax.

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2016

    7.5
    Beautiful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Far from everything, expensive tours. Not recommended for backpackers, stay there only if you are going to hike Santubong or visit cultural village.

    Beautiful place. Clean and well maintained. Quiet and cozy, would recommend for couples staying for 1-2 nights just to relax away from city.

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2015

    4.2
    Peaceful place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The manager with a pony tail is extremely rude to us. His attitude attracts a zero score from me. He looks like a gangster when trying to argue over the payment with us. Very very unreasonable man. The good reputation of this guesthouse is ruined by his irrational behavior. I believe he should be replaced or dislodged.

    Peaceful place

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2015

    5.4
    A nice place for secret getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The service is suck. The boss is very rude though the place is relaxing. The boss attitude kinda ruin my stay here. This will be my 1st & last staying here.

    A nice place for secret getaway.

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2015

    7.9
    We liked how peaceful and tranquil it was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    If you're in the twin room without the bed canopy drapes, beware of lizard droppings. We asked if they had drapes for the twin rooms too but unfortunately there wasn't. The website said bicycles were available for hire but when we went, the bikes were in Kuching for maintenance.

    We liked how peaceful and tranquil it was. We liked the isolation and how it felt like we were surrounded by nature. There's not much to do in the immediate neighbourhood but Damai and Buntal was a short drive away with more meal options.

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2015

    9.2
    What it does, it does excellently.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad but make sure it is what you want.

    What it does, it does excellently. Rooms were well fitted and clean. Food, Asian and Western, was excellent. The setting, buildings in a garden surrounding a pool, was attractive.

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2015

    9.6
    Everything is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Everything is good. There location is good but there should be a signboard for the visitors to locate the place easily. I like the swimming pool. A good place for you to have a piece of mind.

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2015

    10
    Great service and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food choice was rather limited. Would have liked a few more authentic asian choices for breakfast and throughout the whole menu. Was the only disappointment of the whole stay.

    Great service and friendly staff. Lovely pool and gardens with fantastic ambiance. The rooms are comfortable and clean. I had an absolutely fantastic time here.

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2015

    9.6
    The Hotel is in the middle of nowhere, but I think...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The Wifi is not really good, but you shouldn't expect a good wifi and at the same time want to be in the rainforest.

    The Hotel is in the middle of nowhere, but I think everything on Borneo is. Due to that you are in the middle of the rainforest. The hotel organized some awesome trips (Orang Utan rehabilitaion centre, Wetlands boat tour and Bako National Park hike). The guides were super friendly and we have had the best time. We saw so many animals (Orang Utans, crocodiles, mudskipper, other kinds of apes I forgot the name of, flying squirrels, snakes, spiders,...) It was great. When coming back to the hotel the pool was refreshing and our dinner was already prepared and waiting for us. Delicious! The beach itself is just a two minutes walk away, but be prepared: at low tide you will have to walk an extra 20 minutes to get to the water. It is also more like a mudflat beach than a sand beach.

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2015

    9.6
    Very nice and relaxing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi just working in common area. No shuttle to airport. Dinner has to be pre-ordered before six.

    Very nice and relaxing hotel. Very kind staff, comfortable and clean rooms, beautiful swiming pool and great food.

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2015

    9.2
    The staff hospitality and also the environment itself.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff hospitality and also the environment itself. Very calm and clean. Was trully a relaxing stay. Since it was an 'adults only' place, waking up only to the sounds of nature and the pool was blissful. Also the staffs there are very kind and willing to explain and answe questions, whether you are a local or not.

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2015

    8.3
    A pleasant environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room need to maintain especially air conditioner; no tv in the room as well as coffee maker. The Check out time is a bit early 11 am.

    A pleasant environment

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2015

    9.2
    Loved the environment of the place, feels very traditional,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They should put up a sign leading to the Village House as it is rather difficult to find. Transportation may be a problem and taxis may be expensive. It would be great to extend the bar operating hours from 10pm to 12am.

    Loved the environment of the place, feels very traditional, away from the everyday city life. Food and staffs were nice too. Overall a superb place to stay!

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2015

    6.7
    Peaceful, clean, comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor selection of food on menu, didnt have some things when ordered. Price. Bar closes 10pm. No ATM nearby (closest is Kuching).

    Peaceful, clean, comfortable

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2015

    9.6
    A private resort, great place to get away from the bustling...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nearby beach (within walking distance) are full of sand flies, please do bring along insect repellent

    A private resort, great place to get away from the bustling city

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2015

    5.4
    - very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - the most expensive hotel we had in Malaysia (the price of a 5 star). But what you get is more like a 3 star hotel or small pension. It is way too expensive. - really remote.Few shuttles, no transportation after 5 pm. Don't forget to change money and buy fruits in Kuching because there is just nothing in the village - you cannot swim in the beach close to the hotel. you need to take a shuttle to got to Damai beach (15' using a shuttle, need to ask the day before) - many strange rules in the hotel: order you meal several hours before dinner, tell precisely at what time you come to dinner (if you come late. it will be cold), walk bare foot, one limited choice in the breakfast (one fruit, one toast then egg or pancake). It looks more like a school than an hotel - 3% commission if you plan to pay with credit card (which you may be obliged to do since there is no change). This commission is not mentioned on the booking.com conditions

    - very friendly staff - nicely decorated - small pool but clean and nice

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2015

    8.8
    The beauty and calm of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There were no bad experiences.

    The beauty and calm of the hotel. Bathrooms were extremely clean and stylish. Food was excellent and very well presented. The staff were very welcomming and made our son Robin feel very included.

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2015

    8.8
    I found the house style fitting to the region, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing to claim except perhaps the situation but as there was a shuttle it wasn't a big deal.

    I found the house style fitting to the region, the decoration proves love for details, great art pieces, nice pool & rooms. Excellent food. Personal very kind and discreet

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2015

    2.5
    When you check-in you are informed about rules in the house,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When you check-in you are informed about rules in the house, you feel like a guest who asked for sleeping in someone's house... After that you go to your room and see the house policy, f.e. That if you want to pay with credit card there is a credit card fee and so on. On booking.com they do not describe all of that! You are in the jungle, you can not go to the bank next door. When checking out they were not interested about not informing us, they just wanted our money, that was what we feeled like

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2015

    10
    Minimalist yet everything that is required to make the stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The Shuttle service provider at times forgets to pick up the guests from Villagehouse for their confirmed drop to City - this part needs to be made more reliable.

    Minimalist yet everything that is required to make the stay comfortable. Friendly staff, excellent food,, mashup with nature and surroundings of a Village Homestay. Liked the home rules too.

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2015

    7.9
    I like this secret inn whereby it is almost isolated, they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    weak reception of WIFI if you are inside your room. For those who looking for relaxing and would like to stay out of gadget then doesn't matter. No TV in the room and no coffee maker in the room as well. Is not easy to locate this hotel even GPS can't tell.

    I like this secret inn whereby it is almost isolated, they have a secret garden. I like the breakfast even through is simply but tasty. The staffs are polite and friendly.

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2015

    8.3
    Nice place for relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A little expensive in the restaurant. In the middle of now where and not much to to exept relaxing.

    Nice place for relaxing Nice restaurant Nice Pool

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel with an amazing pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beautiful hotel with an amazing pool. Staff were incredibly helpful and welcoming. I left my hat there and they brought it to me on the day! Restaurant has delicious food with good vegetarian options.

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2015

    6.3
    Small, quiet place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can hear everything through the walls, were fortunate that other guests were quiet. The food was fairly expensive and european-style (not so good), and the few malaysian dishes were not so good either (but OK).

    Small, quiet place. Friendly and supportive staff. Visually appealing. Beautiful beach within 5 minutes walking. Nice pool and places to relax (library, internet-area). Internet actually works (not always true on Borneo...)

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2016

    9.6
    Nice landscape layout, comfort bed,good services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Nice landscape layout, comfort bed,good services.

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2016

    10
    Perfect .
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends

    Perfect . Very relaxing. +++

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2016

    9.2
    Great place for a short getaway from busy city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great place for a short getaway from busy city. Like the atmosphere. Really relaxing and great way to experience the nature beauty in Kuching.

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2016

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2016

    7.1
    Very quite place and more privacy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little bit hard to find the location. Inadequate sign board to direct the way.

    Very quite place and more privacy. Staffs are helpful and courteous.

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2016

    9.2
    Ambience and food are Superbbb !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    WiFi needs improvement...

    Ambience and food are Superbbb !

  • Reviewed: January 25, 2016

    10
    We had a great time, it was very quiet and it feels like you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a great time, it was very quiet and it feels like you had the hotel to your self. The staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2016

    7.1
    the environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    secret. non halal kitchen

    the environment.

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2016

    7.5
    Excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food not so nice

    Excellent service

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2015

    10
    I liked the way we were treated by the staff the moment we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I liked the way we were treated by the staff the moment we entered the area. Their briefing was also helpful to achieve our convinence.

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2015

    8.8
    layback, private, peace, relax, good food, definetly will...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no complaint~ :)

    layback, private, peace, relax, good food, definetly will revisit again!

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: