Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Aalders 3 stars

Jan Luykenstraat 13-15, Oud Zuid, 1071 CJ Amsterdam, Netherlands

#85 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1634 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is on a beautiful tree lined street one block from the two major museums in Amsterdam. Our room was large, clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful.E

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air condition in the room. TV reception was unstable.

    Location is perfect for those who wish to stay away from the noisy red lights district. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Fridge in room... Having to leave....

    Comfortable beds, clean, nice bathrooms, Excellent 24 hour reception staff, no hassle check in, location, quiet street,nice neighborhood, epic bakery down the street, overall a sweet find just outside the "zone" !!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room (no. 18) was on the ground floor, opposite the reception, and the adjacent room sounded like a boiler room, which made noise in the evening (and during the day). The noise level was not intolerable but a light sleeper may have a problem.

    Excellent location. All staff members were friendly and helpful. Room was small but clean (I had 'small single room'), bathroom looked new, shower working beautifully. Daily supply of mineral water was nice. The breakfast room was bright and airy, food selection was good (cold meats & cheese, different types of bread, pastries, cereals, hot sausages & bacon, boiled/scrambled eggs, fruits).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The "small single room" was just that. Comfortable single bed and clean en-suite bathroom. If you are going as a tourist, the location next to several major museums and only 100m or so from a tram route is great. There were several eating places within a few moments stroll at a variety of price levels.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a great experience here. Very close to museums and charming cafes. The room was snug, but comfortable. The staff were amazing and helped us find a restaurant last minute to celebrate our engagement and even gave us a gift in congratulations. I would recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No thermostat in room so we used fan and kept windows open. Fortunately - at least during our stay - the street noise was very low so not an issue.

    Totally happy with hotel. Spacious, clean room, fabulous location. Comfy bed. Very friendly and helpful staff. Wish we had more time in Amsterdam! Will stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location! Lovely quiet street very close to the museums and posh shops! Lovely area of Amsterdam. Quaint and pretty. Although the red light district is within walking distance (about 20 minutes) which is lively, busy,fun and 'an experience' was very glad we were not staying in that part of Amsterdam this part was so much nicer. Lovely staff, lovely family room. Thumbs up all round. 😁

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast hours, and whether you could just get breakfast one day at a time without signing up for the week should be more clear when making reservations

    Breakfast was excellent, the rook was pleasant and comfortable, staff very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    The staff could not have been more helpful. The hotel is perfectly located a few minutes walk to the major museums and the family atmosphere was charming. It was spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was difficult to keep shower water from spraying out into the bathroom floor.

    Excellent location, very friendly staff, and nice traditional furnishings

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are small - not an issue for us, but might be for some.

    Cosy, clean, and comfortable room in a quiet area of Amsterdam. Very helpful friendly staff at the reception, who provided us with a map and information on all the city's attractions. Within minutes walk of van Gogh and Rijksmuseum, and very close to bus and tram stops. A great experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms not very sound proof and small.

    Staff very helpful. Good breakfast. It was a nice location a little away from the city center but still close enough to walk or jump onto the tram.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room way smaller than what shown on Booking.com. We did not even have room for moving around as the luggages were taking all the available space. Bathroom super small, very uncomfortable. Quite expensive for the comfort/service received.

    Position was close to museums and good night life activities close by.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Limited breakfast options for the price. Better to eat outside in one of the many cafes in the city

    Great location, right next to the Rijksmuseum and tram line. Spacious room, very clean and silent. Great stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good. We did not experience any negatives.

    This is a 3 star hotel so we were not looking for over-the-top luxury. Our room was spacious, attractive, with modern bathroom, fresh and clean, and well serviced. The breakfast room is attractive and the food good value for money. We came specifically for the museums and the location was great. And it is a straightforward tram ride to and from the central station. Next time in Amsterdam I will come straight back here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed was kind of small for me and my wife ( aprox 130/140 cm wide). The breakfast (even though good) costs extra.

    Excellent welcoming staff (reception open 24h), lovely, clean hotel situated in a rezidential quiet and cultural neighbourhood (Museum Quarter) within walking distance to ALL the atractions in the center of Amsterdam. Good connection with the airport (bus 397 - station Rijksmuseum). Clean room and bathroom, comfortable bed, excellent Wifi and tea making facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Well, it could have been free. In other words, we liked everything.

    The shower was an unexpected pleasure. Great pressure, good drainage, lots of room. The staff was excellent. The breakfasts we enjoyed each morning in the hotel were really great. The hotel also was in a great location for the sights we wanted to explore with tram and bus lines close by.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didn't like that we had to hand in the key every time we left. It reduced our freedom to come and go as we pleased.

    Nice room, great value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was charged an extra night. We asked the front desk if there would be available rooms the following night- this was if we could manage to stay longer. We couldn't change our flight and had to leave as planned. We had only booked 2 night stay, but they charged us anyway for a 3rd night. Not a fan as we never BOOKED the 3rd night, they did.

    Bed was nice, the walkability was awesome. Staff was lovely. So close to wonderful attractions. We loved the place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was OK BUT poor sound insulation from other rooms and other doors opening and shutting. Ensuite bathroom poor with water from shower leaking over floor (poor design), functional but way short of expected standard, door handle came off (left on side to show need to replace using allen screw) and was simply replaced - still loose!

    Excellent location and staff. Upgraded to family room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For the money very little.

    Outstandingly helpful staff, all of them. We received a welcome helping of champagne when they found it was our (47th) anniversary! Lovely folk. Relatively quiet for a city hotel. clean and a great location. Bus from the airport - it is now no 397 not 197 almost to the door!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice small hotel, real Dutch atmosphere in a very nice neighborhood and close to the amazing Vondel Park, the Van Gogh and Rijsk Museums. Public transportation just two blocks away. Very attentive and friendly staff. Great breakfast with variety and hi quality items at very reasonable price. Large room with a lovely terrace.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a "small double room", which was all that was left on the site when we booked. It was very small, well designed to make maximum use of the space, but cramped. Attractive view of the garden at the back, but it was really a room for one person. I'd come back to this hotel, but only if a bigger room was available.

    Great location, very friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    * TV was somewhat small but OK * Breakfasts were available till 10 PM which is a bit early for me, but for most people it is OK * Beside Seafood Bar there are no good value (i.e. both cheap and tasty) restaurants nearby, but the hotel will provide you with map and list of all options; also Albert nearby, so in general OK

    + Good commute location: direct bus to the airport, trams, Hop-on-hop-off 2 routes (bus and boat). + Good touring location, as this is "museums quarter" including Van Gogh Museum and "I Amsterdam" point. + Quiet: traffic/people noise silenced by encircling buildings block. + Friendly and caring staff + Clean, tidy, functional amenities and good looking. You will not be ashamed staying there. Facilities in a perfect or close to perfect state, including shower, toilet, wi-fi, elevator/lift, very cosy beds. Everything was on par or better to random Ibis Hotel. + Albert shop close-by (up to 22PM, groceries and stuff; see "AH Van Baerlestraat" on map) + Reception offering to order and print tickets for touring. Printer and computer also available in bar. Reception is 24/7 which is nice. * Breakfasts provided up to 10 AM (as this too early for me not tried it, so cannot report). * Hotel providing a home-made map with ~10 restaurants and cafes nearby with denoting rough price range, so you will know what to expect. However I think only morning breakfasts are well done in the nearby cafes, so if you passed breakfast time you better eat in some other city district. As a final option, Albert having a variety of ready food. I think restaurants well expensive in Amsterdam. * TV set was relatively small, but kind of OK. Most importantly for me, it had BBC World News channel. * Lift/elevator is large and operable, however, if you need to ride wheelchair you better ask them first as to some rooms there is a narrow passage from the lift.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast great, location perfect and staff so helpful. Quiet location. Massive family room - twin beds for children would have been preferred but bed plenty big enough so not a problem

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    unfortunately, the bed was not very comfortable and the room rather "basic"

    Breakfast nice; staff friedly and helpful; well located close to tram stations and the museums around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have nothing to critize.

    We were very impressed by the size and comfort of the room. It was clean and quiet, perfect for relaxing after a busy day of sightseeing. The staff as very friendly and helpful. The close distance to various museums such as the Van Gogh or the Rijksmuseum was perfect. We also really enjoyed the breakfast room, which was really nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The night and morning staff are always smiling and ready to help. Breakfast is simple but nice. I've stayed at the Aalders almost 40 times in ten years (with some gaps), and I was always satisfied.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nowhere to hang towels in bathroom (sorry - a small suggestion only). No sit-down mirror in bedroom for doing makeup and hair when partner using bathroom. A little squashed in breakfast room at busy times (though enough seats/tables for everyone, which was good).

    Great room, upgraded from small room. Choice of breakfast very good. Friendly, helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Arrived late, noisy fan in bathroom couldn't get switched off. Waited ages until somebody came up from the reception, just to tell me straight on there was nothing he could do. When I dared to voice a complain, the person called me rude. Large room, but keen-eared, cheap furnishing, mattrass very hard.

    Very friendly breakfast lady. Very nicely located hotel, calm street. Spacy room, WLAN works well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. I liked everything.

    Perfect place for a solo traveler! The room was comfortable, had everything I needed and nothing I didn’t. The staff was exceptionally kind and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I was in room number 10, 3rd floor.. The windows and the Terrace were closed. I was trying to open it, It was locked.. Fresh air in the room is required.

    The hotel location is perfect! The Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum are near the hotel.. 7 minutes walking to city center.. The area is safe and quiet during the day. The hotel staff are cooperative and friendly. The breakfast is fresh and delicious.. Black Coffee, scrambled eggs and croissant were my favorite :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast facilities could be improved. A little bit dull in appearance and not fully relaxing atmosphere when the clock got close to last minute of breakfast opening hour.

    The room was fresh in modern classical style and the staff at the desk were helpful and in good mood.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave!

    Cannot possibly fault this hotel in any way! Location, facilities, breakfast, cleanliness, comfort and especially staff were all top class! We will definitely be returning!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were really Nice! Laura and Elvira were always ready to help us and the gave a lot of good sugestions about things to do and places to go in town. The location is amazing. Near the museus but still in a calm street, near good stores, restaurants. The room was nice, confortable and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 7 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    not very flexible management, not willing to help out when they obviously have disregarded information given through booking.com.

    Ok location, ok rooms, ok breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We absolutely loved this hotel! The historical architecture was beautiful and the updated bathrooms were so nice! We had a small room, but it was perfect for exactly what we needed; a place to sleep. It was perfectly located close walk to museums and short walk to most restaurants and Vondelpark! The staff are very friendly and helpful, offering restaurant recommendations, directions, and answering questions!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our toilet didn't have any heating in it.

    The personnel were so helpful and kind, that it made one feel like home. The hotel is just a stone's throw from Van Gogh Museum, and its connections to both airport and city centre are excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough milk for the in room tea and coffee.

    Very comfortable beds, very clean bathroom and friendly, helpful staff. Excellent breakfast with good choice of food including smoked salmon.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels were small. A small fridge in the room would have been useful, together with the provision of some fresh milk to go with the tea etc. Also the plastic spoons provided were less than useless! The fan in the bathroom didn't work. The breakfast was good but I would have liked a greater choice of fresh fruit and also some grapefruit juice would have made it perfect!

    Comfortable, very clean hotel in a good quiet location with excellent, friendly staff. The room was lovely, beds on the firm side, and the tea making facilities were appreciated.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nada.

    Excellent location, great service, all the staff was very friendly and always made conversation. Great washroom, comfortable bed, and the curtains kept out all the light in the morning so I slept like a rock.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tea and coffee not renewed every day

    The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is close to the downtown by feet. The lobby looks a little edgy no worries, the rooms and bathrooms are pretty fine and renovated.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room is really too small, something like 6m², and bathroom is only 1m width I paid 160 Eur for that, not worth the money

    friendly staff, very helpful well located quiet

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean comfortable room. Great breakfast. The biggest asset is the friendly, very informative staff. ( the reason I picked Aalders instead of similar Hotel type) Nothing is too much trouble. Very warm welcoming atmosphere with a personal touch.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was out of date. The shower was not consistent and kept going cold and hot. The bathroom extractor did not work and the telephone also did not work from the room.

    The bed was extremely comfortable. The room was spacious. We enjoyed the location as we were there to see the museums.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom not enough room to hang up towels for 3 Not being able to open the window

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel was as advertised. Very close to museum quarter and quiet but able to walk into centre easily. We like older style hotels.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast option is excellent, as is the location, right near one of the main tram lines. But, of course, it is always the people who make any stay memorable, and Hotel Aalders has them too. =)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise level in the morning was loud, unfortunitly we didn't get any ly in , seems the bin men come everyday also load music being played at night, to be fair i didnt get much sleep witch had an impact on my day with no good night sleep.we stead for 3 nights and didnt get any shampoo conditioner(any bathroom facilites) on are stay we had to make do, i am not one for complaining but maybe i should have said something.

    Street and area is for a more laid back approch on amsterdam, close to shops and transport.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wouldn't recommend getting breakfast there. Not a good quality for its value

    Amazing personnel, wery helpful and friendly. Location is very convenient, close to the bus stop from which the bus to airport stops. Also near the best museums in Amsterdam. Room's small but very clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As others have pointed out, the breakfast is a bit limited. The staff are quite helpful, the breakfast room is sunny and warm, and the location is fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel Aalders is a non-smoking hotel, but previous guests had smoked in the room anyway and we could still smell that. This was a bit unfortunate. However, staff did anything to accommodate us. The only tip I would give the hotel is to have a mixer faucet for the shower. We just could not get the water in the shower to get the right temperature. But this is a minor detail.

    The hotel is in a quiet and wonderful location near the Museum Square. I liked the overall atmosphere in the hotel - a real Amsterdam mansion. The rooms were clean and the beds were fine. All staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was a bit too small for 2 big people and pillows not very comfortable. We were sleeping with open window and it was very quiet

    Location is excellent: very central area, close to all most important museums, restaurants and shops and still very-very quiet. Staff is very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really lovely hotel perfectly located in the museum quarter and easy to access anywhere in the city by foot or public transport. Lots of shops, restaurants and cafes close by - 5 mins walk to the Leidseplein and Vondelpark and literally around the corner from the Van Gogh and Rijks museums. The staff on reception were exceptional so helpful, especially Elvera (hope I have spelt her name correctly!!) - she went the extra mile every time and we really appreciated it. Thenk you for a lovely stay, this is our hotel of choice for next time we are in Amsterdam and we will recommend to everyone!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was a little warm for me with the down comforter and the heat on. Room was a little small, bathroom was very small. It was hard to reach the towel bar and there was no place to hang up a towel, so we left them on the floor each day. Breakfast was not included.

    Location was great. Hotel was 1 block from the Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum, bus and tram stops. There was a safe in the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the staff very friendly and helpful, one lady I think her name was Laura was fantastic and very very helpful and friendly, great location and easy access to every thing you need,

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing not to like......

    Staff were very attentive and knowledgeable of area We were upgraded to room 20 which had 2 x double beds Clean and very warm Central location, within 5 minutes of tram stops Recommend breakfast, variety was outstanding

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    I stayed in Aalders for 9 nights in January, the good news started from the first minute of entering the hotel - I got a double room on the 4'th floor instead of the single room which I booked. Reaching the 4'th floor ins easy thanks the elevator (which can't be taken for granted in Amsterdam). The room is well furnished and equipped, no problem with heating and hot water either. The building itself is in a very good condition. The staff members are professional, polite and always there to assist. I had breakfast at the hotel occasionally and was generally satisfied, it is a good value for your money. The location of the hotel is perfect - it's located 2 minutes walking from Museumplein. Public transport (tram & bus) station is 5 minutes away (Rijksmuseum), which also makes it easy to reach the hotel from Schiphol airport and from any other part of the city. Reaching Amsterdam centrum by is also very convenient (by foot or public transport). One of the things which I really liked about the location is that the street is quite and there aren't legions of tourists roaming under your window like in more central locations. To sum up - you will have a really good stay at Aalders, don't hesitate to book.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was charged twice for one night - couldn't solve it on the sport and have to deal with it after my return. I'd recommend a more thorough check of what was already charged to avoid such issues.

    very good breakfast, nice atmosphere, clean rooms, great staff, very good location - literally in the center and very good access from central station

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No isolation between the door to the yard and the room. Cold air came into the room... Amsterdam is cold on January

    Location General atmosphere Relaxed place Value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was on the ground floor, next to the housekeeping room and near the lobby. There were barely any soundproofing. I could hear the staff and other guests very easily.

    All the staff were very friendly and helpful. I arrived very early in the morning ans everyone was extremely helpful with the situation. Also its close & easy to get to both city centre and de Pijp area. Stable internet connection.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    A dresser in the room would really help for longer stays. It would be nice to have somewhere to store things.

    All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent, including scrambled eggs, croissants and other pastries, yeast rolls, sliced breads, juices, hot beverages, cold cuts, smoked salmon (yum!), cereals, fruit, lots more. Generous-sized room (though we saw a couple of tiny ones). Rooms are not fancy, and a dresser would be nice, but very clean, comfortable, and quiet. Hotel on nice quiet street, very close to museums and tram stop. 24-hour front desk. Stored our luggage both arriving and departing, no charge. Small hotel (32 rooms), family run, highly recommended. Easy to get to via tram (from Central Station) or airport shuttle.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing bad to say about this hotel will definitely be staying again

    The room I was given was lovely, modern inside, very clean and spacious. I may have been once of the lucky one's as I hear some of the other rooms are quite small but either way it was great. The staff are fantastic, they are there all day and all night and you can book your tickets for attractions with them to avoid having to queue. Its set in a fantastic location, right by all the museums plus if you wanted to splurge it is next to the street of high end fashions shops.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom is too small and breakfast doesn't offer any or poor fresh fruit. One of the two waiters has not been so friendly

    I liked because I choosed the position which is in the area that I love the most and the general quality ad cleaning of rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great. The staff was really friendly and helpful. The room was excellent very spacious and clean. I really enjoyed my stay and would highly recommend staying here.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very small room and unsecure first filling coming to the hotel due to the very bad entrance

    great location near the Museum area. Excellent breakfast and very polite stuff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower ran hot and cold randomly mid shower. Other than that the hotel was perfect!

    The staff at this hotel were the best hotel staff I've ever met, they could not have been more friendly, genuine, and helpful. Spotlessly clean. The location is perfect for sight seeing and it's close to lots of bars and restaurants but it's on a quiet street so very peaceful at night. A really enjoyable stay!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The street names on the map provided, was difficult to read.

    Clean, warm comfortable hotel. Friendly, informative and very helpful staff. Good breakfast. Well placed hotel for museums, shopping, canal and places to eat.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stairs, so many stairs. But it's Amsterdam, get used to it or find a lift.

    The people there were very professional and courteous. The location is excellent, close to a tram stop, and they have a very good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All positive.

    Location was excellent.First class family run hotel .Staff extremely friendly and helpful in particular Rick who went the extra mile to please 6 demanding Welsh women!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Building is old and could use some upgrades. My small double room was very small, too small for 2 people. Difficult to access electric outlets for charging, computer, etc. Bathroom needs upgrades.

    Hotel staff working at the desk were excellent, super friendly and helpful. Location is outstanding, within very short walking distance to 3 major museums. Public transport is easy and close by.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you want to stay calm and silent, the location is excellent. Just one street from Van Gogh Museum and Vondelpark. Also the staff is very nice and helpful. The "Small Rooms" are not as small as you think. It is enought after opening two big luggages.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not having a bath (for tired legs after the day's sightseeing!) Breakfast room completely silent - some gentle background music would be more relaxing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have newer, mattresses. We’ve definitely slept on worse and it shouldn’t effect ones decision to stay here.

    All the staff was very welcoming, helpful and always available. They made reservations, helped us figure out public transportation and museum visits. Our bathroom had a nice shower. The location is convenient. We loved the on site breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom tile is about 2" thick and above the room level. We fixed the problem by putting a piece of duct tape on the sill to remind us to step up to the bathroom.

    Excellent choices, good quality, pleasant breakfast room

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Aalders traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: