Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Aan Zee

Parallel Boulevard 206, 2202 HT Noordwijk aan Zee, Netherlands

#19 of 23 hotels in Noordwijk aan Zee

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 929 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Hotel was basic, but we knew it would be and it was fine, it was clean and the staff were pleasant and helpful. The Car Park was in an open Public Car Park, a six minute walk along the road, just past the Lighthouse, but that was not a problem. The modest Car Park cost for our 4 night stay, was 10 Euros, which we paid to the Hotel. It is a modern building, surrounded by modern buildings, in a modern resort. The situation of the Hotel was extremely handy, in that we only had to cross over the road and immediately walk through to the Promenade, where there are many Restaurants. Also, you can continue straight ahead along a path through the sand dunes, to the superb beach, where there is another Restaurant. It is only a short walk to the general shopping street, where in fact there are more Restaurants. Also, Hotel aan Zee is only a very few miles easy drive to the wonderful Keukenhof Gardens, where we had a delightful day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a room of 6. The bunk beds were so squeaky and there was a strong smell of smoke coming through the bathroom vents,so much our clothes smelled of it.

    The staff was excellent and the common room/breakfast was beautiful. Close to the beach and lots of great restaurants!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4-6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The checkin person was very nice and explained the workings of the hotel. Breakfast was good included : Breads, cheese, cold cuts, cucumber, tomatoes, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, cereal, fruit, drinks. Room was basic but fit our needs and was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4-6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really I can't say that we had a negative experience here. All the Things other visitors wrote just don't bother us or were solved. We didn't go for a Hotel experience, we just wanted a comfortable bed while we enjoyed the sights during the day. All I can say, is that we didn't Close one of our Windows because it was hot, so smoke from the smokers out front came in. The shower was also a Little difficult to get a good temperature.

    The staff was very helpful and friendly. I asked about some of the Reviews here that the Hostel next door could be too loud and they said if it was to let them know and they would take care of it. The room was clean and a perfect place to sleep and rest for a Weekend get-away. There were no TVs in the room, but the WiFi is good and we had tablets. We were there to see the flower Parade, visit the beach, and Keukenhof. No desire to stay in the room too much. Parking was about 300 meters away, but the walk didn't bother us much. We got a Card from the front desk so we didn't have to pay for parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not directly at the sea ( big hotel built in front...). But beach very close.

    Family owned hotel, well run with friendly staff. All clean and well kept, basic no frills. Very good breakfat buffet. Parking at nearby parking lot for 3.50Euro/day - parking allowance through hotel. Good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very basic.... it met our needs, but it was quite small. The staircase was steep and small. However, there is an elevator.

    The hotel is one block off the very nice beach. The breakfast was very good; lots so choices and plenty of food.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good breakfast. Bad parking place and expensiv to park infront of the hotel. Staff was not so kind and defended themself, when I tryed to explain something to the head of the hotel. Staff at breakfast said to me; " you are not the only one here" in an angry manner. So it was a little frustrating and the first morning the water in the bath did not work when we wanted to take bath. Only the hot water was working so the kichten staff helped us open another room to take a bath. Thank you for oppening the room for bathing. An adwise to the head of the hotel manager; 1). Do not defend yourself infront of a guest, but say sorry for what happent; the bathroom water did not work and too the staff were rude. Only say; am sorry and no defends that would help a lot to be thankfull as a guest. A guest does not need a defends and angry tone, but just only a; "sorry that it did not work out well" thats it!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it's really noisy, when someone is walking in the hallway you hear it really loud. Shower sucked big time!!! Parking spot was 10 minutes walking. A bit pricey

    It's good located, Breakfast was okay

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms and bathroom. Parking place is about 5mins walk from hotel. No TV and air condition.

    Location of hotel is close to beach and lots of restaurants and shops nearby.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Negative points were given for comfort, primarily due to lack of storage space. There's no mini bar for a nightcap, but the bar downstairs should be able to solve any such needs. The hotel is in the second line from the beach, whatever the pictures or name of the hotel suggest. We actually had a sea view, but just between two hotels in front of our room. The beds for the third (and possibly fourth) person sleeping in the room are a sort of bunk beds like there used to be in the European overnight trains, i.e. they are fixed to the wall and folded down for the night. No problem for our teenagers, but might be for some.

    The personnel was EXTREMELY helpful and friendly :-) We got great advice and they were always ready to assist us. The rooms were clean and the beds good. If you expect a luxury resort, you're in the wrong place. But for a good bed close to the beach and in the centre of the town, that's my place to be. The breakfast buffet is diverse and well filled, but basically standard. Various juices to get you going, coffee and tee to be gathered from continuously refilled pots at the bar, you could indulge in various sorts of bread with jam, honey, the famous Dutch chocolate crumbs called "Hagelslag" or different sorts of "Müesli" to get your fill. Again, we were surprised by how clean everything was (especially since before us, a bus full of teenagers had just left the breakfast room!). Checking in and out was surprisingly efficient and very friendly. We enjoyed a room with a (share of the) balcony. Not much privacy, but still good to have the option for those who like it. The bathrooms are "space optimised" ;-) but not cramped for two people. The bedroom barely leaves room for a suitcase to be unpacked. If you want to stay for longer than just a night or two, there's a cabinet and a shelve to store some things, but not really spacious. Next to the breakfast room there's a bar, which also includes a table-football as well as some other nice pass-times. The furniture is comfortable and practical but not really fancy. There are public parking spots in front of the hotel. But it's just a handful and for short term parking. For us no problem, as we came home only after 9 pm; 2 EUR gave us parking permission until 11 am next morning. All others are advised to take up the hotel's offer for parking in the near-by (approx. 300 metres) parking for EUR 3.50 a day. To reach the beach, you'll walk less than 5 minutes. The beach is nearly endless and is soft white sand.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was unfriendly, location was very bad (near busy road and next to hostel). We had a lot of noise until 4 AM so lousy nights.... Beds were not that good, very basic room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4-6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff during breakfast.

    Goid breakfast and great location near the beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small Bathroom

    Staff, and breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was an excellent stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value and great breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the room was large and very clean. Excellent location!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking facilities not directly close to the structure and not included.

    Position and cleanliness.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4-6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cramped

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4-6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little expensive for my taste.

    Great location, free parking for the night and a very good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely complimentary breakfast, clean rooms, and friendly staff. Excellent location to the beach and shops.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotelroom outdated and smelly Very noisy on a Saturday night

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was s little small

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms had recently been renovated; new mattresses, new bathroom facilities. The food was excellent, the service was good. Some of the staff spoke some German or English; I am able to read and understand enough Dutch, so there were no communication difficulties.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had the window opened through the night and since the very early morning we could feel some smells from the kitchen.

    The breakfeast was quite rich. A spacy room. A perfect wifi. Parking place was about 200 m far from the hotel but there were a lot of free places (off season).

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    typical Dutch stairs (might be reluctant for older people), quite limited breakfast. Free parking places are quite limited as well on the contrary to what they say on their description

    perfect location, very clean place

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Parking could be a problem. Luckily we arrived late and there was a space available in front of the hotel. They don't have hotel parking which can be a problem.

    Nice staff, comfortable bed, and nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The bathroom in the room did not have any hand soap which is an inconvenience to anyone that practices good hygiene. The hotel review did not list or show in the pictures there is no t.v. in the room. I'm okay that there wasn't but it seems like that information should have been available. There is also no phone in the room. No way to reach ANYONE in the event of an emergency and we did not have mobile phones. The front desk is not manned around the clock so it is inconvenient to reach the staff of the hotel.

    It was a great location, precisely what we were hoping for! Breakfast was free, which is always a great thing. The room and the hotel was very clean and the bed was quite comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The walls are very thin. I could hear the guests in the room beside me having a conversation (they were speaking at a normal volume). The sound travels right through the wall!! This is very annoying. For this reason alone, I would not stay here again. Everything else about the hotel was great though.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. The wifi signal was strong (even inside the room). The breakfast area and the breakfast food was very good. Central location, 5 minute walk to the beach.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Noise from the bar next door kept up through the night

    location is excellent for beach activity

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our bathroom was really small. But it was clean.

    The breakfast was so nice. Location was great. Clean. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The town itself - Beautiful location but hideous architecture.

    Comfortable beds.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room was wery noisy. The bunk bed creaked.

    Nice location. The room, and the hotel was wery clean. The breakfast food was very good.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    To much noises from the hostel next

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Noordwijk aan zee is an old town, with old houses and hotels. No television in the room.

    inside of the hotel was much better than the outside.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    No tv in the room.

    Breakfast, fresh fruits ang veges.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    inexpensive

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Browse Hotel Aan Zee traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: