Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Tulip Inn Meerkerk 3 stars

Energieweg 116, 4231 DJ Meerkerk, Netherlands

#2 of 2 hotels in Meerkerk

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 550 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    7.1

  • Facilities

    6.1

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    4.6
    No guaranteed WiFi
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel claims to have WiFi available in their lobby, unfortunately the WiFi belongs to the motorway services restaurant, the lobby is on the edge of the restaurant and was constantly loosing connection, the other option was to sit in a busy motorway service station which is not ideal. The reception acknowledged they had no WiFi but still offered no reduction. Very poor customer service

    Staff were very pleasant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable as ever but in need of updating, and information in English
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Entrance to the hotel/reception has moved - found it eventually! no air conditioning? only one lift working. Carpets on the staircase are tired and in need of updating. No bar or anywhere for guests to have a comfortable sit and chat other than in the bedroom or Starbucks or La Place cafeteria style seating. No WiFi in bedrooms (why not when there used to be?) although it is possible to logon free in La Place, Starbucks and Macdonalds if you want to carry your computer or tablet around Nothing to explain what was included in the breakfast options at La Place other than in Dutch Only fried eggs offered (not scrambled?) and no hot bacon at breakfast. Nothing to say in English what is available for the dinner menu.

    Pleasant staff. Good parking Interesting breakfast. Nice pancakes when you work out where to have them made. Nice bathroom toiletries

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.4
    The hotel was ok the receptionist was helpful, except the...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was ok the breakfast was next door at La Place very poor service in the restuarant not worth the money at all the eggs were not cooked they were still slimmy went to get another one they had ran out of eggs everything was cold around bad experience.

    The hotel was ok the receptionist was helpful, except the information given about the restaurant was not correct.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    Its good for short stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a bit too soft. The shower head was not clean. I could not manage to open the window, i did not understand the system. No wifi in the room, the restaurants closes quite early.

    The size of the room was ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    2.5
    Will not book again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet water pipe

    The water pipe was running all night, which was very loud and I could not sleep. I checked out the hotel at 8am. When I complained the lady at the desk told me that the hotel is old and this is a known issue which didn't help me whatsoever.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    2.5
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was excrement on the wall, excrement in the toilet, dirty carpets, uncomfortable beds, terrible decor, no a/c. The staff were unable to supply a fan or an iron. Considering there is no a/c I thought fans would’ve been provided. Would not stay here again.

    The only positive are the Starbucks and McDonald’s located nextdoor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    2.9
    I'll avoid this hotel until refurbished
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I've been visiting this hotel for 20 years already. The rooms are still the same. Need urgent renovation. No Wifi, No hot water the second day. All hotel smells bbq as the new restaurant on the first floor is open. Self-service breakfast and restaurant I don't like.

    Location is convenient for my job easy to park car and close by the place I'm working for.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    4.2
    Undergoing very much needed renovation, sub-standard, should be temporarily closed or price reduced.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel and room conditions are currently sub-standard and should NOT be open to bookings until renovation finishes. Only stayed because of late arrival and lack of alternatives. Should be closed for renovation or a drastic price reduction for the drastic drop of Tulip Inn standards.

    Friendly staff ackwardly doing their best trying to give best possible stay under the difficult circumstances...complementary wine bottle appreciated but not quite saved it...comfy bed and clean enough room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    Value hotel on main motorway route. Comfortable. Convenient fast food places next to the hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable bed, warm and easy parking. The hotel is slightly dated, but is under going some building work on the lobby area, which it not cause issue in the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    5.4
    The quality of food in the breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was in renovation. This was not clear from the moment of booking. The in-house AC restaurant was closed and it was not possible to have a dinner in house. The hotel is in a small village which also does not provide so many options to eat on Monday or Tuesday. Instead I had to drive to nearby town to obtain something to eat. Second, the heating system didn't work in the breakfast room. I had to have breakfast with my coat on! Third, the WiFI only worked the first night and was extremely slow. The other nights there was no more WiFi. They should have lowered the price per night in this conditions!

    The quality of food in the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.0
    Room OK, The rest a disaster and over priced ☹️
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a total Restaurant renovation at this Hotel with no prior warning before my booking I feel I was not warned or told about this before I booked My Trust in Booking.com has been eroded MM

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    5.0
    Okay for a stop-over. Not recommended for a longer stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are in urgent need of a touch up. The carpet in out room was full with stains and it really was kinda gross. The room itself was very dated, i didn’t mind the old furniture so much but more the lack of detail in the interior. All in all this felt abit like a “sad” place. What was the worst about our stay was the bed though. Very uncomfortable, couldn’t get a good nights sleep on, woke up the whole night with the feeling that i was sliding out of bed. Also, if you are sensitive to noise, i would definitley not recommend staying here.

    Staff was friendly. Location was okay for where we needed to be, although it is very much in the middle of nowhere, but easily accessible by car. Good for a stayover along the way, wouldn’t recommend for longer stays.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.5
    Basic hotel with great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was pretty dated and the floor was noisy if you moved on it. The bathroom was clean and the bed comfortable. There was almost no soundproofing so you could hear everything from the other rooms and the street. The breakfast was very basic, but ok. The location is excellent though.

    The location is excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    2.9
    I would not recommend staying in this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not like the room. My room was on the main floor, there were cracks in the wall and some holes in the ceiling, spiderwebs in the corners of the room and under the heater. Some of the plinths in my room were broken or missing. In the bathroom there was also dust and spiderwebs. In the morning I wanted to use the shower however there was no hot water neither in the bathtub, sink or shower. So I had to shower under cold water. I think the hotel definitely needs to renovate the room I was in, it sadly is not worth the amount of money I paid for it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    2.9
    I would like a refund
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The gentlemen who was working when I checked in was rude, there was no element of customer service. I went to the reception to buy one of the drinks which they had at the reception and he refused to sell it to me because "he didnt know what the price was". Overall I was not happy with this experience mainly due to the staff, noise and facilities. I would like a refund for this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    5.4
    I will not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad price/quality ratio, too expensive. Extremely old and dirty carpeting in rooms. No hair dryer. Very bad insulation - I was sleepdeprived. The whole place needs​ an immediate upgrade.

    Friendly staff. Free WiFi.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    6.3
    Do not come late to breakfast in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had breakfast at 10:15 and most was gone. The waiter simply told us there was no bacon anymore without making any intent to make some. Same with fruit, chocolate rolls...

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    5.4
    Noisy
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a conference being held at the time of our visit which made for noisy night of doors banging and lots of chatter in the corridors. The worst part was not being told they would be taking over the entire restaurant . A simple sorry "the restaurant will be full until around 8pm" would have been ok but we were just to told go to the self service café, which was not good & overpriced. On passing the restaurant on the way back to the room we were surprised to see it devoid of conference participants with just a few regular diners. As on previous stays there were delays finding anyone to unlock the front door prior to 6am. Won't be staying again.

    Handy location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    7.1
    That Booking.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    That Booking.com acknowledge that I could pay with Diners Club which isn't the case please ensure that mentioned accepted credit cards is available when I need to pay. Here I went into troubles as my visa card was used to its full limit for this month due to frequent traveling and I was looking for a place accepting Diners for this stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    It was the perfect location for my work.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the weekend there was a lot of loud music outside

    It was the perfect location for my work.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    No gym.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No gym.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    7.1
    There was no guest WiFi at the time - but we were not told...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no guest WiFi at the time - but we were not told until after we booked.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.7
    Good location close to the highway. Great buffet breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit old interior.

    Very good selection on the buffet breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    4.2
    No AirCo in the room, no glass available because the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No AirCo in the room, no glass available because the "restaurant" was already closed, no WIFI in the room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.3
    To much noise at night won’t use again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All inclusive breakfast at 12.50 Euro only includes basic coffee, not large macchiato???

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.3
    bed is comfy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bit outdated

    bed is comfy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    4.2
    Freezing cold room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Freezing cold room. Badly insulated. Hotel has seen better days. The staff quite nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.8
    Good value for money even though the hotel was going through a renovation
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle or coffee making facility in the room

    Friendly staff and good location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.8
    While it is a mess it is cheap, but I prefer to pay more for quality and confort
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is under renovation and as a guest you feel it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast was good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was to far from everything. taxis services were terrible.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.8
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Needs some cosmetic repairs, but as this hotel was relatively cheap, it was not a problem.

    Good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.5
    Quit night along the highway
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms are a little "tired". Breakfast is simple

    The rooms are quit. Nice helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double charged: debited fee on 13th April by booking.com and charged again by the hotel on 15th April

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    4.2
    Totally outdated and dirty rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Totally outdated and dirty rooms.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    7.1
    Gratis upgrade
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi is traag

    Gratis upgrade

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    7.5
    carpets are terrible and give a really bad impression
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    carpets are terrible and give a really bad impression

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    3.3
    Very poor. I would recommend NOBODY to book this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not clean, very very old skinny rooms, WC not clean etc. etc.

    The staff at the reception

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    10
    Always enjoy staying in Tulip Inn's, very friendly staff...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Always enjoy staying in Tulip Inn's, very friendly staff, clean & good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    6.7
    Entrance to hotel was difficult to find, doorbell did not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance to hotel was difficult to find, doorbell did not work. Staff did not know we were outside at the door and could not get in to check-in.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    7.9
    very comfortable beds and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast, serve yourself buffet style, but few staff available to replenish items running out ie, coffee, orange juice, bacon & eggs etc.

    very comfortable beds and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    7.5
    The location (near family);
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hardly any fruit on the breakfast buffet; the croissants were mini-sized and there were no krentebollen! Shower is impossible; nowhere to escape the overhead jet of water so the bathroom floor gets soaked. We paid extra for a 'superior' room too which was pretty much the same as the one we had last time we stayed there!

    The location (near family); good car parking. Loads of different breads for breakfast plus good bacon, eggs and cheeses.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    7.1
    The area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The restaurant was only open until 9pm there is a MCDONALD'S there but ho wants to eat there. Beer pump was not working had to have bottled beer.

    The area. Ideal place just of motorway hotel staff were friendly.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    7.1
    large bath with plenty of hot water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no tv signal for the channels we wished to watch despite contacting staff

    large bath with plenty of hot water.Ampleparking.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    8.3
    Pleasant room, given an upgrade, nice outlook.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pleasant room, given an upgrade, nice outlook. Quiet location

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    7.5
    The upgrade to a bigger room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The shower is a bit old and the water temperature is a bit difficult to regulate. The hot water is cooking

    The upgrade to a bigger room

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    9.2
    Welcoming staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No hairdryer in superior room No double bed (2xjoined singles)

    Welcoming staff Easy check-in/Check-out Breakfast choice

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: