Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ajax 2 stars

Rokin 104, Amsterdam City Centre, 1012 KZ Amsterdam, Netherlands

#398 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1147 hotel reviews

6.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.6

  • Comfort

    4.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    4.9

  • Staff

    6.8

  • Value for money

    5.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    A bed and a bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Single glazing on the windows in central Amsterdam means you may get woken up at night. Sound travels particularly far in this hotel as there are small gaps at the bottom of the doors.

    If you need a place to keep your bags, lay your weary head, shower and go to the toilet then this is the hotel for you, because that is what you get, nothing more, nothing less. The staff were very friendly, the hotel was newly renovated when I stayed there, and they also have a cat.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    4.2
    Good location but overpriced and not that clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel wasn't super clean, cold air was coming from the windows: It was freezing in the room! The window was opening on wall... no sunlight. Would be great to know that before booking...

    Great location close to everything Staff was friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.8
    How close it was to the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not told prior to arrival that there would be renovations occurring every day. It commenced early every morning and the water was shut off with out being told. We had to wait 20 mintues for a shower and then at 1102 staff started knocking on the door for checkout.

    How close it was to the city

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great. The hotel was very very clean and the staff was helpful. 100% pleased with our stay. Hotel is in walking distance to pretty much everything. Will definitely be staying here again on our next trip.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.1
    Great location but unsafe building site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building site, hotel is undergoing renovation but after work nail and sharp objects sticking out of the staircase walls so be vary careful when climbing stairs.

    Location is great, walking distance to Red Light District and shopping. Right outside of ROKIN metro station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Absolutely would recommend this hotel, wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very steep stairs and at first we were on the 3rd floor but was changed to the 1st floor. No elevator. Lobby was under construction but didn't really bother us.

    Comfortable beds, hotel staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful. Had a hair dryer that we borrowed since our Canadian plugs did not work there. Right in the heart of the downtown, close to shopping, pubs, train etc.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.7
    Everything was perfect with the hotel accept the hair and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair on floor from not being cleaned properly

    Everything was perfect with the hotel accept the hair and bits on floor, I have stayed before and will stay again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.4
    Good place to sleep only
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was under construction. Room was given with air conditioning but that air conditioner was not ok as it was not functioning properly.

    Toilet was very nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    6.7
    Location was key Across the street was the metro
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    . there is no blow dryer and wooden floors are great but did not like hair from feet into bed that is not ours. They truly need to clean the floors. No elevator and small steps up 3 floors.

    Location was key Across the street was the metro

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    4.2
    I did not like the stay at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not aware of that the hotel was undergoing rennovation. The reception e.g. crowded with working tools. In one of our rooms the electrical wires to the bed lampa were hanging loose and not connected. The last day my wife had got a cold and I asked if she could stay some extra hours after checking out in the room - only possible for 2 hrs and at an extra 20 Euro. And this in a hotel in a miserable shape because of ongoing rennovation. Except location not recommandable.

    I did not like the stay at all.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.7
    The rooms themselves were clean and compact, the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was under renovation when we arrived and there was fresh paint and wood carvings on the premises, the stairs leading to the rooms were were narrow

    The rooms themselves were clean and compact, the room service was effective in keeping the rooms clean and the hotel staff was very friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    3.8
    Bathroom was lovely
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole hotel was practically a building site and for a £182 euros was a ridiculous price for a hotel that was being renovated i'll not stay again

    Bathroom was lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.1
    It was good thanks to perfect location, but I would improve some details.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our room was really small and bed was not really comfortable, but we were almost all days out, so size of room didn't really bother me. However if I had to stay there during the day I would probably not feel comfortable. Moreover in the hotel there wasn't any kitchen for guests, and in this situation I think it would be good to have at least 2 plates and basic cutlery. Unfortunately receptionist could not offer me anything like that. Also wifi didn't always work well

    The biggest adventage of this hotel is perfect localisation and friendly staff. What's more our room and bathroom was clean (I suppose recently renovated).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.9
    Good value hotel in great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovations still underway in public rooms! Not really a problem, but no breakfasts, staircase even more rickety than usual, and a lot of dust.

    Great location. Recently renovated room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    2.5
    I came to celebrate my 30th and the hotel completely ruined the experience. Awful from start to end
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! Rooms were awful and really really hot. Stairs were unsafe! (i have been to amsterdam over 10 times and have never had stairs as bad as this) Very dirty and dusty, if you didn’t wear shoes in your room your feet would be black!

    Nothing at all! Dirty and dusty as there are building works happening all over the hotel! Absolutely shocking!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    3.8
    Hotel Ajax. Travelers beware!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is under HEAVY construction. Had to slip by construction workers as they worked during the day. Hotel was unbearably hot at all hours. The room only had a tiny fan for cooling. Bathroom was tiny (think airplane lavatory) and smelled like sewer gas literally 24/7. Our room was up on the third floor with steep stairs. These stairs had no handrails and we're nearly impossible to step down on. Overall this was literally the worst hotel me or my wife have ever stayed in. Stay away from this place!

    The location is fantastic. That is literally the only good thing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    4.6
    Dissatisfied and unhappy at the cost as don’t actually know what we paid for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact we were staying at a building site

    Renovations were noisy and uncomfortable. It was actually like staying on a building site with no customer consideration cannot believe it cost so much considering the state of the place really dissatisfied

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    4.2
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was so small with no storage space and the beds were uncomfortable. Air conditioning didn't work. Tv didn't have a signal. Building works everywhere. It felt very unsafe using the stairs with no fixed rails.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.0
    Pay for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Going through a renovation, our toilet stopped working first day and after reportinf it to get fixed didn’t happen. Had to flush it with filling the bin up with water and pouring it.

    Bathrooms were done up nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.8
    Very expensive for that service
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was being renewed, there were workers and a lot of dust and smell of new wall color. Very annoying since they didn't notice us about this "little" problem

    Rooms where clean and renewed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As all people say the hotel outside the room is construction site

    The location of the hotel is perfect The room view is looking to the Main Street which is amazing view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    2.9
    For God sake, never stay in this creepy, ugly place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not like many things. First, there is no lift available. Rooms are upstairs, one need to carry luggages through a narrow stair case. Room is too small, hardly any space in the bath room to move. Shower cabinet is less than 3 x 3 feet. No aircon in the room, no phone in the room, no storage space. The room was not ready for check until 5.00 PM, although check in time was 2.00 PM. This property could be considered as a loge, not a hotel. They charged me $300 per day which was too high price.

    Shops are nearby

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed our time in Amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    having read other comments about steep stairs decorators and decorators mess I was a bit concerned. Yes there were very steep stairs but we got used to them and one of the male staff even carried my bag down them for me when we left. We were lucky and had a room on level one so only had the one set to climb. The walls are thin and noise can be a problem also no view from the window - just the building next door's wall. However we were only in the room to sleep so it didn't bother us. We were told that the refurbishment should be completed by end of July.

    Location was brilliant - so near to all the attractions and tram stop right outside. Plenty of eating places within 5 min walk. Staff were helpful and friendly - booked our cruise on line for us and printed the tickets. The room had just been refurbished so everything was brand new. I think its ranked as a 2* so had no complaints - the location for us more than made up for it. The cat is very friendly and likes to be stroked!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    3.3
    Sleeping on a building site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a building site, would potentially be okay once finished, but that won’t be any time soon. We wasn’t told when booking that it was a building site, and no apology for the state of the place, unsafe conditions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    4.2
    Disgrace apart from location. Not worth your money. The photos are a lie.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff especially the blonde One, so rude. Hotel was in a mess. Noisy streets late at night. Stuffy. Smallest bathroom ever. Bad internet. Nowhere to put clothes or any sort of object. The photos are not the real hotel.

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    4.6
    We felt unhappy and let down. It partially spoiled our stay in Holland
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The state of the stairs, corridor and reception room were appalling but then we hadn't realised the hotel is presently undergoing major renovations. We have pictures of them for anyone who would be interested in seeing them. Not many people would want to stay there at that price and in these conditions. All four of us felt mislead and given the state of the Hotel which was under major alterations it was poor value for money.

    The bathrooms were good as they have just been redone

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Loved it the hotel is right in the heart of Dam square. Will definitely be staying again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The steps on the stairs were very narrow

    Location was brilliant. Staff were lovely they looked after us really well. When we arrived there were renovations taking place but it didn't affect us at all. Our room was lovely and despite all the work going on the hotel was spotlesly clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    4.2
    I stayed at the single room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I stayed at the single room... which was extremely small. It was the smallest room that I have ever stayed in, by far. Although the room was recently renovated, the window was still the old one, and the insulation was very poor. As the hotel is centrally located, this means that there's is A LOT of noise coming through the window. The result: I wasn't able to sleep the first night. I complained about this to the staff, and asked them to do something about that, or to relocate me to another room. Their reply: not possible to relocate me, but here you have some earbuds. So, their solution to the noise problem was for me to use earbuds while I slept. They couldn't do anything else. Bottom line: book here only if you don't mind staying in extra small places, and if you don't mind having a lot of noise in the room during the night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.6
    Great location! Really central
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was like a building site as was being rennovated with no courtesy warning in advance. Sheets were dirty hadn't been cleaned. No remote for TV. No wardrobe, closet or chest draws to put your clothes.

    Location excellent. Lovely bathroom. Free wifi.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    3.8
    would not have booked this hotel if true info had been given
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything

    the hotel was being refurbished and resembled a building site none of the advertised facilities were available the whole place was a disaster

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    4.6
    Its in sentrum. And near to all attractions. Near tram stop station.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just expensive but the hotel is not nice. Very tight stairs no elevator. No cabinet for hang upcloths. Only 2 outlets room for 3 people. Small room but pay big. If i compare to other hotels in other countries ive been staying.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    4.6
    Disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst hotel room ever purchased! Big disappointment! The room was unbelievably dirty, dust everywhere from the renovation site just outside our room. The closet was door less, the bathroom was really small, when you sat on the toilet you bumped your head on the sink, the actual room’s door had gaps all around it. Renovation and was undergoing at the Hotel. So this meant: loud noise beginning with 08:00am (we could literally hear everything that workers talked), unbelievably messy corridors, reception and staircase.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.0
    Location great, far too expensive for what you get in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stairs were awful, TV did not work after asking 4 times, and being told it was going to be fixed and never did. Booked a double bed, emailed 3 times to confirm to arrive and find two singles pushed together.

    Location was excellent and room was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of work being done in the morning but it said on the site it was being renovated.

    The staff were very accomadating, anything we needed we could go down to reception 24/7. We were in a newly renovated room which was lovely but small, we didnt mind most of our time was spent out. It was extremely central to everything and everywhere. I would stay again just for how central it was, 2 minute walk from red light district, Amsterdam Dungeons and Madam Taussauds were 5 mins down the road. Only transport we needed was a train to and back to the airport from the grand central station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.3
    Working progress... literally !
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its being fully refurbished and booking.com nor the hotel mention or take into account when booking and this but it does make a difference to your stay. Had to pay 40 euro city tax, apparently was not charged when booked, only can be charged when you aŕrive.

    Friendly receptionists and fantastic location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    4.6
    I asked for a double bed when booking 4 month in advance and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a double bed when booking 4 month in advance and got 2 single beds , somone walked in our room while we was sleeping , it said there was wardrobes and wasn’t , you got a shock everything you touched the shower and there was builders drilling early in the morning

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    Room was brand new and does the job.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well they had building work going on but it didn’t put me off because you can see that it is going to be nice.

    Room was brand new and does the job. Will be a very nice little hotel. If your looking just to get your head down it’s brilliant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.3
    A disaster.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Facilities described in Booking.com, like breakfast, central heating, security box, simply didn´t exist . The whole hotel was a building construction site, which was well hidden far back in the hotel information. At that price, 150 euro, we expected something a lot better. I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone.

    A very sympathetic and helpful staff, poor them, having to work under these circumstanses! Nice view from our window. WiFi Functioning firealarm, the bloody thing released for no reason at all at 2 oclock in the morning waking us all up. Never mind, we couldn`t sleep anyway. A friendly cat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    2.5
    Nul
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv didn't work and the fridge was warm asked the staff to help they tried to fix them but couldn't and all they had to say was you'll have to put up with no tv and no fridge very unclean and the staff and cleaners run up and down the corridors at 7am talking to eachother also the building makes weird clicking noises all the way through kept me up for quite some time worse stay I've experienced for the price!

    Nul

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    4.6
    Could have been better...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was indicated that refurbishment was ongoing but not that the whole hotel is a work site! To access the room we had to climb over materials and tools that were left out in the corridor. I'm sure it will be a great improvement once completed but currently I feel it unfair to charge the rate that they do considering the state of the place

    Room newly refurbished - basic but adequate for our needs

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.8
    Amsterdam is the place to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls in the room where not very clean and after specificity asking if I could check out early in the morning, the receptionist arrived late.

    Location, literally 200m from Dam Square, and right across the road from A bikes, which does bike rentals and tours.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    4.2
    Good location, facilities suck!
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Apart from location the prices were too high and it was very saddening experience there. There's no lift in the hotel which compels you to take you heavy luggage till 2nd floor or even third floor. Also, there's no kitchen in the hotel, so you can't order something late night. However, you have some good eating options available nearby. All in all just go for this hotel only if you are looking for good location.

    The location of the property was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    3.8
    Overall we are very disappointed with our stay at Hotel Ajax, I will not be recommending this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right from the start this hotel did not come as advertised. There was construction going on inside the hotel that I was not made aware of when booking. When we got there one of the members of staff told us that the construction would only go from 10am-7pm daily. However, this wasn't the case as it always started before 9:30am and often went on past 7:30pm. On the website it displays that complimentary breakfast is available everyday. When we got there they told us this actually wasn't the case and that they don't offer breakfast. Not sure how they can offer that but don't follow through, especially if we are paying for it. Our room was not as promised either. The website says a safe and refrigerator are in each room. We did not have this. We also did not have anywhere to store our clothes and there were exposed wires sticking out the wall in our room. Not safe at all. Walking down the hallway to our room nails were sticking out of the walls and there were construction materials left throughout the hallway. Our room number was a sticky note, very professional. We spoke to members of staff several times and most were very unhelpful. We asked to speak to the manager and he was never there when we were told he would be. Very disappointed in this hotel, highly unprofessional and I would not recommend it to anyone.

    The location of the hotel was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.8
    Very well located, right in the city center and close to all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, you need to climb very steep stairs, with your luggage. Not an option for older people or if you bring children with you. Very noisy during the night, you can hear everything that is happening in the street as well as all the other hosts arriving. There are reconstruction works currently ongoing, very limited space at reception

    Very well located, right in the city center and close to all main attractions Staff is helpful and nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.9
    we had a great time in amsterdam
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i would of liked a tea or coffee making kettle in the room and the toilet would be better with a different lay out as the space is tiny.

    the hotel is having work done but it was clean and tidy and the staff were very nice. the hotel is in the centre of amsterdam so it is very easy to get around.the

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.3
    Hotel is too expensive for what they offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No breakfast, but there is a kind of bakery right next door. Room is very basic, bathroom/WC very small.

    Location is absolutely fantastic, very central, there is a shopping street behind the building, I could get anywhere on foot. I had a very good view from the window. Staff is very helpfull

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this very late and didnt really have a lot of options. In terms of European travel Amsterdam is a prettty expensive city, So I feel like I paid way too much for the triple room (which was 3 twin beds in a room only big enough for 3 twin beds) but everything was comfortable and the staff were nice. They also don’t have their own airport shuttle, but they are very helpful in terms of using public transportation to get to the airport and other places.

    Great location and close to public transport. They let you leave your luggage in the lobby after check out. The beds were super comfortable and the bathroom was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Staff made us feel very welcome and was overall satisfied with our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was sometimes cold and had no control over the room temperature. Shower was small and could not get the water temperature to what I wanted. (Too hot or too cold). Only one socket in the room which would work.

    Friendly staff, hotel was close to the centre, beds were very comfortable also rooms were cleaned every day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    When we arrived the room was under construction and needed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived the room was under construction and needed decorating. Room should have been ready for 2pm and was not available until 7pm. Construction going on the whole time we stayed there so if you needed a nap in the afternoon you could not have one. The door to our room did not lock so we had to leave our possessions inside the room without them being safe. There was builders walking round the hotel so they could have easily taken something but luckily nothing got stolen.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.0
    Very freindly locals, easy going atmosphere....but quite overpriced city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like the renovation works while staying. But the city is over priced👎🏻

    The location, and the night receptionest ...i think a chinease guy was outstanding and very helpful! Day Receptionest she was also very kind.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    5.0
    Great location and a poor facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Other then the location, everything else was disappointing. The mattresses had waves in them. The windows were thin and did not keep either the street noises or the cold out. Multple things broke as we were using them.

    The location was super

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.5
    Good if just using hotel as a base but not so if your intending to spend a lot of time in hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During our visit there was quite a bit of dust in the corridors as they are doing building works which was mentioned in the booking but in my opinion this would make it less viable accommodation for families and maybe should have been reflected in the rates.

    Location is excellent and staff very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    3.3
    Filthy, overpriced & tiny room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The disgusting rooms, hair in the bed, noisy, stains on the headboard, floor boards coming up, walls stained and cracked, bathroom tiny!

    The cat who seemed to live in the hotel reception

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.8
    Would not stay there if we were there for any longer than 2 nights. Will be nice when renovated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a leak in our shower. Walls were very thin. Were not told about construction happening on our floor (outside our door) from 10am to 6.45pm. Not ideal for an afternoon nap. As well as the noise this also created a lot of dust in the halls and our room.

    The room was simple but comfortable. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Leak in the shower got fixed quickly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    2.5
    Hotel is a scam. Booking.com is helping support it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ok, it's cheap. It's in the center. The photos don't look bad. STOP. AVOID at ALL COSTS. Pay the 20 euro more for the love of god and avoid a major scam. We arrived to a "lobby" that was almost completely full of construction supplies. Siding, paint, dust all over the floors. "It was in the description that we were under construction." Just went back to booking.com where we booked... nope. Not mentioned once. Next, got to the room. Exposed wires, headboard that looked like a rat had been chewing on it for a while. Dirty sheets with hair and dirt ... oh and blood stains! Cool! Went back to the lobby to say, "We'd like to leave and have our money back." Had the guy laugh in our face and say, "Sorry, non-refundable." Sorry, but please look at the pictures and look at mine. This place should be shut down. Major scam.

    Nothing! This is a scam hotel and booking.com you should be ashamed to have this property listed on your site!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    3.8
    Not for 3, should've been a single !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was listed as a 3 bed room. Size was tiny (3.5 m x 3.5 m including shower and toilet.) No hanging space whatsoever, wires hanging out of the ceiling. TV not working. Not very pleasant at all

    Not a lot, comfy bed. Clean shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing stay as hotel was poor standard and were building materials all over the place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was like a building site There was no electricity upon arrival The electricity cut out randomly throughout first 2 days Overall it was a poor experience

    There wasn’t much to like at all with hotel Ajax other than the location as it was only a 5 min walk from dam square

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    2.9
    No higher than a 1 rating!!! Wasn’t clean at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived the lady behind the desk went upstairs to check if the room was ready and then let us go up. We walked in and it was filthy!!! Hair on cabinets and in floor. It clearly hadn’t been cleaned, and late at night on both nights when we returned there were 2 coloured lads standing right in front of the doorway unwilling to move out of the way, so when you had to tell the buzzer what room you are in so they will let you in, you have no privacy. It’s very intimidating. WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN Booking.com rated this as a 2.9 according to my answers which I gave. I rated everything the lowest possible so how they got 2.9 from that I don’t know. I would rate this no higher than 1.

    Nothing. I stayed about 6yrs ago and it was just ok. So I rebooked again as I only wanted somewhere to rest my head, but it was awful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.5
    Will be excellent when finished.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heavy building work inside of hotel building materials in unsafe positions inside corridors. Work not complete in room. Not able to use any other rooms or facilities due to building works. Not suitable for children until work completed.

    Staff were very helpful. Location great. Room very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.5
    I liked the new bathroom and the size of the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no where to put any of my clothes and there wasn't any sort of refreshments in the room (tea or coffee)

    I liked the new bathroom and the size of the room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    3.8
    Noisy, dirty and grim. A perfect place to commit suicide!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, under construction, bare wires hanging from the ceiling, duct tape holding the beat to crap furniture together. Taped over fire detector, bolted shut windows

    Good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    6.7
    good value in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property was outdated with old furniture. But renovation was underway as we stayed, so hopefully will get sorted soon.

    Location was great. Bed was clean and bathroom was clean, that's all that mattered for a cheap stay to us.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    100 x better then expected going on reviews on trip advisor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Builders quite noisey in the morning because of refurbishment but we was told prior to our stay. No walldrobe or storage space to put clothes- not the biggest issue.

    Modern bathroom Bed was comfy and cleaned daily Definatley stay again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.8
    Apart from the noise due to renovations we were very happy with the room.
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We expected to have a hair dryer in the room, but that wasn’t a big problem, we were just very annoyed by the noise in the morning when we wanted to sleep. It was very very loud after 8 am due to the renovations which no one told us before our arrival. We could never sleep longer than 8/9 am ish because of the drills and noises. That was very disappointing.

    We loved the hotel due to its location. It is very central, the staff is nice, the room was very clean and refurbished. The price was very good for the location of the hotel. We would definitely book again when the refurbishment is finished.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    2.9
    Wouldn’t recommend! Misleading pictures!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None of the pictures of the hotel on booking.com match the actual look of the room. There were naked wires in the room, mouldy toilet ceiling, broken fridge, broken shelve, stinky room, sawdust everywhere from the construction, cat fur everywhere, staff were very unhelpful and very disrespectful especially the Chinese one. There was even a lot cigarettes lying on the roof outside of the window, even though this is supposed to be a non-smoking hotel, I have asthma which is why I always get non-smoking rooms, but this room just smelt of saw-dust and smoke causing me to struggle to breath at night.

    I liked nothing but the fact it was in a decent location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    The hotel was in the center of the city close to everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like all bad review's on this hotel becouse it's a 2 star hotel and for that amount of star's it's great.

    The hotel was in the center of the city close to everything,very clean and comfortable.The staff was very friendly and kind.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    4.2
    Location was ok rest was bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were Renovatig the room above us early saturday morning, no regards for paying guests sleeping at 8 on a weekend. We were told it was a newly renovated room and 1st ones to use it. It wasnt even finished, wires banging out everywhere! There was empty soda cans and ear rings on the floor. Also when they were banging on the floor above all the dust came flying of the light and onto our beds. Just not at all what we expected, even if we lived cheap in amsterdam before this was bad. And actually it is not cheap, we payed total of 174eu for 1 night(3beds with late check out) for that price u could go sleep in the marriott and be treated as you should. Lesson learnt.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    4.2
    Worst hotel ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was a mess and we ask for double bed we got two single beds . There was only one plug in the room as the plugs at bed were hidden by head board.

    The location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    2.9
    Disgusting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was dirty. Messy. Noisy. Filthy. Bin bags outside room door. Hairs on the sheets. Tiny shower. Cables hanging from ceiling. Staff were unhelpful.

    The location was kind of close to centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    6.7
    Hotel is not up to the standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As I was traveling with my partner I was expecting a one sharing bed or a double bed but there were 3 beds in the rooms and all those beds were three different sizes, so we had to sleep in a very uncomfortable way, and we were on the 3rd floor and stairs were too narrow and extremely dangerous, specially traveling with carry on bags.

    Location is the only thing I could recommend, staff was nice and friendly, in fact really helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    6.3
    I expected nothing and yet I was disappointed. It's cheap though and has an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dirty. In their defence they were renovating the place and had informed us, but still, that was ridiculous. The room felt claustrophobic. The low ceiling and bad lighting didn't help either. There is also no elevator so keep that in mind.

    The location is excellent. It's right in the centre of Amsterdam so you don't have to worry about transportation. The price is also good. It's very cheap so if you are on a budget and don't plan on spending a lot of time in the room then you should definitely consider this hotel. If you can spend a little more money then you shouldn't book a room at this hotel. I don't recommend it for more than two nights.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    2.5
    Absolutely horrible, stay away from this place. ratings 0
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place old. Stiff stairs, maintenance are working all day doing noise and clouds of dust everywhere. Couldn't even breathe in the room. When receptionist notified she didn't care and said to me "this is how it is.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    4.6
    Great Location, Bad Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I paid for a 2 day stay with my friends and we were given one of the worst rooms imaginable. The safe didn't work forcing me to carry my passport everywhere, one of the beds (middle) had a faulty leg forcing my friend to sleep in a certain position, the WHOLE bathroom was too small you can barely brush your teeth let alone take a shower, The bathroom door was not even the same size as the frame it was on meaning the room completely smelt like a toilet, The shower had no pressure and the temperature kept changing, The TV had no remote and we can barely watch anything and Lastly they disobeyed their own safety rule by not locking the hotel front door after 11PM. I do not recommend this place.

    The only thing I liked about Hotel AJAX was its location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    4.2
    Good location and staff however will avoid at all costs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was made of 3 wooden planks. 1 out of 3 beds were wonky, missing foot. Triple room is simply double with an extra bed stuffed in the middle. Constant noise and were told "the fire alarm may go off at any time" and there will be noise from renovation works which there was, constantly. Plug sockets behind bed mattress. Messy and old room facilities. Very cheap but I'd rather pay €10 more per night and stay somewhere a lot better than stay here, not worth the money no matter how cheap.

    Nice coffee from the machine. Most of the staff I interacted with were very friendly and accommodating. Great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    8.3
    Great location and value for money. You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a dated hotel like many in Dam..but location is amazing and staff friendly. Would recommend if your staying one or two nights and not planning on being in your room to much. You won’t get better value for the price.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: