Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre 4 stars

Vijzelstraat 49, Amsterdam City Centre, 1017 HE Amsterdam, Netherlands

#154 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 736 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to many bars and restaurants but careful what you wish for- very noisy until late at night and also rooms on facade face a street car line. The fact that two pairs of earplugs are provided in the room without asking is considerate but also sends a message that my experience of noise is not unusual.

    Spacious room, helpful staff, nice continental breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked deluxe twin room paid more than €200 per night and got the tiniest attic they could have for us, same size and quality like the hotel you get in central London for £60 a night. Defiantly not worth the money. And you had to pay extra €19 each person for breakfast. The furniture were dated the shower sink was blocked. The staffs were welcomed and polite although we had to wait about 20 mins when check in. Any way wouldn’t pick again or recommend for this kind of money.

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    After showering; a lot of water on almost all the floor in the bathroom. Too little Space whwn you had to sit down on the toilet. Far too expensive.

    The bed; very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its noisy at night. The bathroom sink lacks space to put stuff on. Lack of closet. Bed is hard. Breakfast is bland not worth the 19 euro.

    I like the location walking distance to the center. And the staff are helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very small and everything feels crammed, from the reception area, lobby and breakfast room to the hotel rooms. Breakfast is average and runs out very quickly, so you need to get there well before closing time to find somewhere to sit and something to eat. There are no facilities - no gym, wellness or anything of the kind. And at 340€ per night (including a whopping 15-20€ city tax per day) for a single room I expected much, much more. This is NO VALUE FIR MONEY and I am sorry to say that I will not be going back to this hotel if I can find something else, like a proper 4star hotel with facilities or an airbnb flat.

    The location is good and the staff do their best to be helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t care for the area where breakfast (and dinner, tho I didn’t go for that) was served. Small and tight space for buffet breakfast. Food choices were decent, but was not included in room price. Had breakfast there once and then went out.

    Excellent location, steps from a canal in old part of city. Good restaurants and bars nearby, easy walk to museums or to canal boat tours. Front desk staff very helpful with suggestions and bookings. Room very comfortable, with Nespresso machine, and wonderful fluffy towels. View was only of the street, not so great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was VERY small. No adequate storage room. The bed was uncomfortable. Like sleeping on the floor. The Tour company mislead us about the time it will take to visit the Gardens. We missed the next one.

    Staff was very helpful throughout our stay. The room was clean and well taken care by the staff. Excellent location for all our needs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Tv selection could be better They used to be able to rent movies but not no more only a couple of English channels available apart from that everything was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our cleaning person kept the room very neat and clean but missed replacing used coffee cups & some bathroom supplies. Other staff members were quick to respond.

    A great added feature was the free "Handy" device available to us throughout our stay. You could carry it with you for maps, internet, google, etc (just like a cell phone). Very helpful for finding our way through all the streets of Amsterdam. The location was easily accessible for walking everywhere and public transportation. The staff was friendly and very helpful. I highly recommend the Albus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not good, lacked considerably. Did not decide to eat it as looked too unappetising. Modernize please :)

    Great to have option of two single beds. Mattresses IKEA but very comfortable and new.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even with an upgrade, the rooms are terribly small. The bed was ok, not the best sleep i've had in a hotel. The breakfast was very disappointing, a buffet at €19 per person. It was underwhelming.

    Great location, easy to get around. Quirky decor and nice, modern bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fist night we were in a room at the front of hotel and hardly slept because of noise. Although we were moved and it was great. Staff were so helpful.

    Very good location, nicely furnished rooms and very clean. Staff were great and it was a lovely stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no mini bar in the room and although the room was spacious there wasn't much place where to put our stuff. Better use of space would be great. Also the slippers available were too big and the shape impossible to wear for smaller feet.

    Very central. Tram stop just near the hotel. Niels the receptionist was super helpful. He welcomed us and offered advise as to places one ought to visit in Amsterdam. The rest of the staff was also very helpful. The room had a coffee machine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel within walking distance to all tourist attractions. 15m walk to Heineken experience and central station. Rembrant square on your doorstep, Dam square a few mins walk. Really enjoyed the glass of bubbles when checked in. Bedroom was small but has everything in it. Complimentary bottles of water, nespresso machine, even had a smartphone to use during our stay with 4G and this was free of charge. The hotel arranged balloons and party items to the room as we were celebrating a birthday. Tours and tram tickets can be purchased from the front desk. Staff were wonderful throughout our stay. Really enjoyed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I am being really picky then I had three small issues: 1. Only one elevator for a 8floor + basent building. It's used for housekeeping and guests so waiting time can be long. (Not the property 's fault per se but building codes). 2. Room was just "nice". It wasn't fantastic as I would expect for the price and in my experience travelling globally. (But it was comfortable and clean). 3. Perhaps the biggest issue and something worth considering - I took a late check out (and paid for it) but the propertys system was such that I had to go down to remagnetise the key at least 3 times. Perhaps worth looking into the system because if someone has taken a late check out, at least the system should automatically recognise it.

    Location is just superb. It's exactly midpoint of Amsterdam central with everything within a 5 minute walk. The staff is some of the most friendly one's I have ever interacted with. Special mention to Max and Niels (both trainees) who took that extra step to just be friendly and courteous. Even the restaurant staff was very very nice and helpful. In my many travels I would perhaps rate this management for keeping the best staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel fine..clean, but basic. Breakfast was diabolical at €19 each it was a rip off. Cold mushrooms and substandard choices/ bread gone hard as left too long and not checked - buy breakfast elsewhere!!

    Good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from outside was incredible and 24hrs. The hotel provides earplugs however I wouldn't class that as a 4 star hotel trait. Better glass is the expensive and most needed option

    The hotel is very stylish and practical.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and room confort. A/C noisy, plus room design, confort and size was more likely a 3 stars hotel

    Location, quality of staff, travel buddy, refreshment in the room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately quite early in the mornings, around 8am the cleaners seemed to be right outside our rooms, talking and going in and out of rooms, it was loud enough to wake us up, and it did almost sound like they were in our room!

    We liked the location of the hotel! It was easy to find and the trans stopped right outside! We were checked into the hotel with a glass of Cava, it was all very easy!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked the room, I stated it was for my boyfriends birthday which was back in September (we arrived in February), one night a member of staff came to the door with a note saying happy birthday and a present to take home to remember the Albus - it was 5 party hats and party poppers. I thought it must of been a joke! It was his 21st birthday not 15th lol. That was quite strange but apart from that was a nice hotel.

    The bed was so comfy and big, we also loved the little coffee machine that was in the room and replenished everyday!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t have breakfast included as was quite pricey!

    Extremely close the everything! Even though the tram stopped right outside we walked everywhere! The room was clean and the bed was comfy!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was a bit weird for some time at night, having to reconnect (or at least try) many times.

    Very nice and friendly Staff. The place is pretty central and if you are staying for work it's totally worth it. Lots of places to eat and drink nearby.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Breakfast was finished before 30 minutes of official closing 2. Staff really not very friendly. Lady at reception did not want to help me when i asked to recharge the key as it did not work. 3. There was a problem with taxi during checkout and finally they gave wrong address to the driver, but I showed address from my phone.

    Very good location Welcome champagne

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't recommend this hotel more. The staff were so lovely and helpful and the room was perfect. Bed was super comfortable and the room was so clean. The hotel itself was lovely and modern, perfect location too. We got a complimentary glass of Cava when we arrived and the lovely receptionist upgraded us for free and showed us to our room and showed us around. My third time to Amsterdam and we will definitely stay here again. Already recommended the Albus to 2 friends who are planning a weekend here.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had breakfast one morning but did think it was expensive for the selection.

    In a great location. The staff were so helpful and the hotel itself is lovely, really comfortable. Rooms are nicely laid out and spotless bathrooms.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi seems to be somehow limited. I could not connect stream player for TV for kids to the internet. Connection is not very smooth

    Nice cozy hotel next to Blumenmarkt. Friendly staff, nice rooms and good atmosphere. Has family suits.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a 4* hotel at least for Spanish standard. Rooms too small, the furniture is old... and the restaurant closes really early at the night.

    The location was really great. There is nespresso machine in the room with a set of “free” capsules.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the walk in shower was splendid. All staff throughout hotel were courteous, pleasant and attended to our requests. The cleaning service was also excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant not to everyone's taste- could do with introducing menu with options

    Location amazing- tram stop just outside. Rooms very comfortable- bathrooms lovely and modern! Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was expensive and not much choice, not much choice on room service either.

    Beautiful hotel, brilliant location, staff very friendly and helpful, hotel very cosy and clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom sink/shelves/storage.

    the staff were really welcoming and couldn't do enough for you. the only downside was the lack of storage/shelves in the bathroom and light in the bedroom where mirrors are (ladies will understand!) but overall, very good!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We was not given tea-making facilities (kettle and tea bags) to begin with we had to request them.

    We were given a balcony which was fab! Bed was comfy, it was very cosy. Bathroom was lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing stood out as disappointing. only thing that didn't work was when we tried to print off some tickets to an event but it was understandable why

    I liked the design style of the hotel which made it appear like a modern establishment. staff were friendly and the location allowed us tick off every bit of our to do list

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the rooms were very insufficient, making it very dark and hard to fix up and move around at night or in the mornings.

    The staff was very helpful and location was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room faces a busy main road - so take ear plugs. We had very noisy neighbours one night and the front of house staff did nothing about this despite numerous calls down to reception - noise went on until 2 in the morning. The sound proofing appears very poor and there are gaps under the doors to the hotel room itself which lets a lot of noise through.

    Location was fantastic and the rooms were decorated and fitted out to a good standard.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we missed a night with a flight cancellation..but couldn't fault the place staff were amazing and so helpful with everything just a question away

    Excellent location literally in the heart of amsterdam not even 10 minutes to dam square and right around the corner from rembrandt square too...so perfect for exploring the city as your equal distance to all attractions couldn't have been happier with this pick

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather was very cold when were there, and our room was very cold during the night. There were no extra blankets in the room, and there were very thin duvets on the bed.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Decor was lovely and modern. Location was good. They also have the facility of a phone called Handy which is loaded with city guides and maps, and can be taken out around the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise outside was awful and didn’t stop until gone 5 in the morning and the room was freezing so we had to sleep with the air con on full to keep warm so I woke up all bunged up and the double beds are just twin beds just pushed together with 2 different quilts

    The staff were really friendly and did everything to help

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can literally hear everything through the walls of what’s going on in the room next door. However would still stay here again.

    The staff are extremely friendly and make you feel comfortable as soon as you enter the hotel. Very modern with a nice decor. My room was the superior double which isn’t that big so wonder what the standard double looks like however the size really wasn’t a problem for myself. The bed is so comfy as are the pillows! My room was very clean as was the whole hotel in general. Great location literally next to all the shops and market place. Would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was uncomfortable and dingy - not worth the money paid. Not the cleanest room either.

    The staff were incredibly friendly and was a very good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was originally given a room (101) which was on the ground floor by reception storage room and small bar right outside. Although staff where very accommodating and changed room.

    Room was lovely, good size. Good size comfortable bed. Bathroom of high standard. Great location, right in city centre. Staff excellent, nothing was too much. We arrived quite early for check in. Staff made me and my partner a coffee and put out luggage in hold. Also little details like plug adapters available which is something we forgot.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed at size of the room and size of the bathroom

    Room temperature was good ,beds comfortable very clean.staff amazing could'nt do enough for you

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some traffic noise from the street as our room was on the street side.

    Beautiful hotel with unique interior design. Perfect location. Cosy beds and pillows. Very polite & kind staff. Delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    The staff and the excellent customer service that they provided, they all went above and beyond to make an amazing birthday trip very memorable 😊

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room Souterrain (Basement)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its staff and location wad excellens they helped us very kindly .we were near all facillities and wonderful rambrant squere.We have comfortable bed and feel relax when we were tired at night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you need pitch black at night it can be a little difficult to sleep when there is a light illuminating a power point by the door. (I ended up putting a sticking plaster over it.) Also, the bathroom light is motion activated and goes out after 15 minutes. This is a long time in the middle of the night, waiting for the light to go off.

    Very friendly staff who are willing to help with any little thing. The facilities were gorgeous and also conscious of the environment. A 10 minute walk into the main shopping area, half an hour walk to Rijksmuseum etc. Alternatively, the trams are just outside. Surrounded by bars and cafes so lots of choices for eating - but you can get a quiet room to the rear if you desire.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am so grateful of Sarah in reception who was so kind and helpful. To park in centre, please consider wepark which is the best option in Amsterdam. Really value for money:)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel phone annonymusly rang every couple of hours waking us up and knocking on the doors. Location was a bit out of the way and awkward to navigate.

    Staff friendly, lounge very modern

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 301 at the front of the hotel was extremely noisy due to outside noise from the street and it was also located beside the lift so unfortunately did not sleep well on either of the nights that we stayed.

    Great location - this was the best thing about the hotel. Nice hotel and good facilities. Check in was excellent and got complimentary glass of champagne which was a nice touch.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Was frustrated at lack of drawer space beside bed or anywhere in bedroom; very little space between end of bed and wall to get through - particularly in the dark (considering it wasn't the basic room. Quite a lot of noise from room upstairs, and doors banging early morning. Bathroom looked very smart, - but sitting on the loo my knees almost touched the door, and when i had a shower there was water all over the whole bathroom floor not just in the shower section. One of the windows didn't open as the window handle was missing, but the room did have aircon but didn't really need it. The view from the window was overlooking a rather tatty back yard. Avoid room 209!

    Bed very comfortable; phone/computer charging facilities in room - excellent. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfasts were very good - great selection.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing that would put me off booking again.

    Walked in and was greeted with a glass of Cava. Our rooms were not ready so we were able to lock them away until they were. Staff were friendly and the hotel was clean, room had everything you needed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were faultless. Exemplary service from the moment arrived. Travelling with two children via multiple transport and an early flight time meant that we were flagging once we arrived. We arrived a few hours before check in but we were offered refreshments and a place to store luggage until our room was ready. Bottles of water and nespresso machine in rooms were a great little touch. Beds were incredibly comfortable and pillows are huge!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Little storage in the bathroom would be my only complaint.

    Location was perfect, easy to get around. Took the train to get to the airport and it was so very easy too. Really enjoyed this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed was two singles put together, even made up with two sets of sheets so we really felt apart from each other. The lift was really slow. The maid staff were very loud early in the mornings right out front our door.

    Very modern hotel in perfect location. Busy area but close to everything. Lots of choice for dining nearby. Staff were extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful. Prosecco upon arrival was amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only lift at the hotel. The bathroom door didn't have a lock. I am not sure why it was like that.

    Modern design hotel with comfortable beds and clean bathroom. Good location too!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic location easy to get around the city without the need of public transport. The tram is just outside the property if you would like to take tha tram. Beds and bathroom facilities were excellent. Couldnt of picked a better place to stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor soundproof. You can hear literally everything whats going on on the hallway.

    Excellent location. Pubs, restaurant, shops and flower market is right there. Tram stop in front of the building. Very friendly and helpful stuff and a glass of Champagne at the arrival.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The pillows were super comfortable, which is unusual in hotels. The blackout curtains were good. The walk in shower was pure luxury as were the fluffy towels and the bathrobe was a nice touch. The location was perfect for shopping, restaurants and exploring, and the tram stop (No 24), was located just outside the hotel which we used to get to and from the railway station and airport. Tram tickets could be bought from hotel reception.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window in the family suit was broken and due to the fact it is really low, our toddler could've easily opened it. We asked for help and the hotel repair man said he cannot do anything about it. I was really disappointed to receive that answer, but when we came back that evening I saw they locked the window with screws . So though we didn't have any fresh air, at least we felt safe :) The shower didn't make any sense.. with each shower, tons of water flooded the bath area and we had to use some of the towels to control the situation

    Very nice and spacious room (we took the family suit), clean and has a Nespresso machine, and we received a complimentary Heineken . Comfortable beds and very nice hotel staff . Great location!!! Across the street from the flower market, close to lots of good restaurants and shopping areas

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely friendly helpful staff. Very clean and comfortable. Very good value for money. Within 5 mins walk of most areas of interest. Went for our anniversary and staff helped with a room upgrade and organised a bottle of champagne for us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The fact that, without advanced notice, we realized upon our arrival after a long flight that 1. we have to pay for all our stay in advance and 2. that the hotel policy was not to accept payment with notes of 500 or 200 Euros! The advice of the staff was to go to the nearest bank (15 minutes walk in a hot day after a long flight!) just to realize that they don't deal with cash money! We than had to look for "change" which accepted only 1 note per person (and we needed more!). Later in the transportation office and in shops we had no problem to pay with these notes! I call this a scandal and the management didn't feel that this was a missbehavior- not to accept a legal notes. Ovetall, a small hotel with staff shortage.

    Fairly good, central location and close to the public transport which I needed in order to get to the main congress hall.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom smelt. Dirty loo roll wasn't flushed when we arrived to our room.

    Black out curtains. Comfey bed. Location easy walk to ref light district

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows were too high and big for me to compfortably sleep on, and they didn't have other pillows available. Had to wait quite long to check in but staff were apologetic.

    The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Lovely room, with expresso machine. Shower was very good, high pressure and hot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms so noisy !! Noisiest hotel I've ever stayed in noise outside which I know you can't help and really noisy guests but we put up With it ! And bathrooms no where to put anything quite tiny but small problems

    Lovely large comfy beds .very clean hotel friendly staff great location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is really not suitable for business trip as the rooms are very loud and I couldn't sleep the whole night The bed was not comfortable. Even though I had a room on the 6th floor, the windows were small that made the room quite depressing to stay in Check in took too long The hotel restaurant seems really good but not appropriate for room service unless you are in the mood for 3 or 6 course surprise menu

    The room was clean Check out was fast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A/C was not working and in the room during the day you couldn't stay. But the personal, hotel and position was very good. Soon we will be back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms to the front of the hotel are noisy as the street outside is very busy. The bar in the hotel closed quite early - i.e. by 12:30pm ish, so a last drink after a night out was not possible.

    Location excellent base for walking to all of the major sites in the city. Very friendly staff and modern rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was amazing so much space! Lot better than what I was expecting. Surrounded by shops and the really easy and quick walk to the dam square! Also the pillows were amazing made it so comfortable to sleep

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is quite small and the Shower doesn't have a tray to catch the water so u have to put towels down to stop it running up the floor. For a lovely modern wee hotel I couldn't understand this. Also the air conditioning was broke in the room and they didn't tell us this at check-in. But when we telephoned down to reception to enquirer they said it had been broke for a few weeks and they were waiting to get it fixed. But they sent us up a fan which was ok because we really only used the hotel for a base!

    I think this a wee gem of a hotel and it's in a great location. The Champagne on arrival was a brilliant wee touch and the 2 girls at reception were really nice (Veronica & Jennifer). The room was a grand size. We had a lovely quiet room on the 3rd floor at the back of the hotel and the pillows were sooo comfy too.👍🏻😄

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had to pay more than we were expecting as the air-con was broken in the room we had originally booked and so they offered us an upgrade. We were given complimentary breakfast however to make up for this , and the new room was lovely

    Stylish room, with immaculate bathroom. It was very quiet in the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room got very hot and there was no fan or air conditioning (though apparently they are installing it now). We couldn't leave the window open as the property backs onto a very social and loud area. Pillows are huge and uncomfortable (but they did track down 2 less inflated ones for us), mattress a wee bit thin. Internet is slow, computer in lobby won't print and staff could not get it to work.

    The staff was very helpful and tried to fix what they could, and booked museum tickets, airport transfer and bikes as requested. Location was very central, near the floating flower market and museum distrinct, and walking distance to many things. Bikes rented are 3-speed with hand brakes (some places only offer 1 speed and peddle brakes). Room was clean albeit very small.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The A/C was switched off from the hotel. So we have to open the window and enjoy the noise from the drunk people from the bars under the hotel. I will never book this hotel again. We booked a room from 2 adults, 1 child & 1 infant. They give us a small room without extra beds.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room we had, 209, could have been a little bigger. Not a big issue but the cups provided for tea were, to be honest, very chic and very annoying. They had no handles, so you burnt your fingers trying to drink from them.

    An excellent location. The staff were exceedingly helpful, friendly and efficient. It had a cool atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to access hotel from taxi.

    The hotel was situated in a perfect location to explore the city by foot. The hotel was clean and modern, staff were fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More milk and sugar supplied in room for the coffee machine.

    Bed was comfy, coffee machine was a bonus and the selection was lovely. Complimentary bottle of water on 1St night was lovely. Staff were professional. Friendly and informative of places to visit.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Albus Hotel Amsterdam City Centre traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: