Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alexander 3 stars

Vondelstraat 44-46, Oud-West, 1054 GE Amsterdam, Netherlands

#157 of 410 hotels in Amsterdam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2149 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a little cramped. There was no fridge and the rooms were very hot. The fan in the room was static and did not face the bed. In all i didnt find it great value for money.

    I liked the location and the staff were helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel does have a lift, but if you are on the 3rd floor, you still have to go up the last flight of stairs on foot, and they are very steep and narrow- somewhat hard to manage with bags or for older folks, I imagine. Also, breakfast is 10-12 Euros per person and they ask for 1-day advance notice of breakfast plans.

    While our family of five had to be split up into rooms very far apart, three of us were in a very sweet garden terrace room. Timmi at the front desk was so kind and extremely helpful: service with a smile. Great location: walkable to Musuemsplein and Vondelpark.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think the cost benefit it is not good. You have to pay separately for the breakfast (10 dollars) and it is not good, I don't think it worth it. They don't have plugs next to the bed.

    It is a good location, you can walk 5 minutes to the Vondelpark or get a tram. It was OK for 2 nights.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot room, no aircon, bed on a sideways slope, pillows are bags full of someone's rolled up old socks

    Location, staff very friendly, €10 breakfast is excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The cost of brekfast.The noise from scooters at night needs addressing by Amsterdam council.The hotel is in a beautiful and quiet street ruined by noise from passing scooters and motorbikes.

    Brilliant location close to Vondelpark and The Museum quarter.Friendly staff and spotless clean rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room this stay was very small.

    Quite tired property but staff are really outstanding. Very convenient location for city centre, museums, park and 100m from bus stop for 30min ride to airport. Our second stay here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Super located clean & nice hotel. Value for money and even more. Tasty breakfast. Stuff was beyond expectations. Would return. Highly Recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't find any fault at all

    The staff at this hotel were so obliging ,friendly . The accomadation we stayed five nights and had breakfast was really nice . The location of the hotel was excellent tram and bus only a short walk away... The street was fairly quiet at night ...all in all a really nice hotel and we are both looking forward to future visits in the future

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is KING. Rest is OK & acceptable, nothing to complain about. It is obviously not a hotel you would go for a honeymoon but if you're looking for an affordable stay in the city center this is one of your best bets.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds weren’t that comfy and there was hair in the bathroom when I checked in (not mine). Stayed for 3 nights but the waste basket didn’t get emptied during the stay.

    Great staff, good location, nice breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not impressed that we had to pay to use the hot drinks machine outside breakfast hours and no hospitality tray in the bedroom

    Breakfast was very good, lots of choices and plenty to eat

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a lot of doors and stairs not friendly to big lugagges.

    Staff is nice and willing to help. Room is good sized. Location is really amazing, in a few minutes walk from Museumplein and Centre, in a excellent neighborhood.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The 14 extra steps to our floor once you got off the elevator.

    The convenience to everything in the Art district was amazing. Our room was on the top floor and faced the garden, so it was super quiet, despite being there on King's Day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you have problems with stairs it’s better to inform the reception (even though there is an elevator you might need to use the stairs)

    Perfect location! Perfect staff! After my buss was broken and the other hotel cancelled my booking for the night I booked here and even though they didn’t have to they tried to cheer me up!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was Travelodge standard except much smaller, with no air-con and no coffee-making facilities and with a TV volume control that didn’t work and a fan whose lead was too short to reach a socket.. No problem if you’re paying a bargain rate, but extremely bad value at about £500 for 3 nights.

    Location and friendliness of staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful little garden cottage ideal for a family. Well located and far enough out from the main tourist hub to be peaceful. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decor was old and tired. Furnishings old and stained. My room was cramped and bed tiny - like the size of a broom cupboard. Noisy as in basement and window onto street level. Avoid room 5

    Difficult to pinpoint anything positive apart from friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a little outdated. We were on the ground floor with windows onto a courtyard that had people in it fairly often. What we paid seemed a little high.

    Our room was quiet and the beds were comfortable. The hotel is in a good location. The front desk staff are very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we checked out we were asked to stay in the hallway while the one member of staff checked the room. He locked the reception space behind him and did so. This request has never, in fifty years of marriage, been made to us before. We are not in the habit of stealing the lavatory paper!

    The croissants were indeed flakey but the only eggs were hardboiled and cold. The main problem was that the room was tiny with the side of the bed against the wall. The sheet was not properly tucked in. The room and the shower room though not actually dirty were not wholly clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I think is little bit expensive.

    The breakfast was great. The receptionist answer your questions very kindly. When we arrived they gave us very useful information about the city and they also recommended us some specials tours to do. A very pleasant stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location was great. Really close to the tram lines and all the shops and restaurants. Kept lovely and clean! Rooms are small but have everything you need!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small rooms, not a good place for family with baby, or someone with disabilities. Need to improve the breakfast.

    Excellent location, the staff will help to make your stay as good as possible.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was just ok, overpriced for what it was. A little dated, but we didn't care.

    Easy check in and out process. Clean and comfortable, great location. Very good price for the rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was great for resting after long walks during the day, maybe the bed a bit too soft, but this is just a personal preference. The breakfast has good coffee and some cold cuts and sweets to start the day. The location is perfect, one can walk to all attraction around city center.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps the bathroom could be a little bit bigger...not much place to put all the toilet stuff we carried...

    The situation of the hotel is excellent, good public transport near it. Near bus stop to Schipol airport. confortable junior room for four.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in the upper floor, And the roof is very low, in certain parts. the room was fine but I couldn't stand in the bathtub while taking a shower...

    Very central, Friendly staff Good communication Room size was bigger than expected

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms in the garden bit noisy as it is the only smoking area. Car parking outside the hotel very expensive.

    Good location not far from center and museum area. Staff is very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities in room, wasn’t a huge amount of floor / storage space.

    Staff left a rose and chocolates on the bed on Valentine’s Day. Bed was very comfortable. Shower was good. Check in was quick and friendly, lots of advice on places to visit.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi could only be received if standing in the corner near the door that didn't stay shut unless locked.

    Cleanliness was top notch and location was fab.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were small and the pillows were slightly uncomfortable. However we were out and about so much the size of the room was not a big issue.

    The hotel was in a really fantastic location. Lots of nice restaurants around and a ten line 5 minutes walk away which takes you to the Centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The corridor leading to our room smelt like stale smoke. Not pleasant but I only had to pass this 4 times so it was bearable.

    Room was clean. 4 beds! Value for money. Prime location but street was nice and quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. No frills. No bar licence but staff directed me to where I could buy a good bottle of wine. Happy out.

    Very central. Basic. Simple. Clean. Lovely staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was very comfortable. The location was exactly rught for us because it was near all the the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum. The staff exceeded our expectations. They made available to us a tea kettle for our entire stay. This trip was a. Birthday trip for my spouse and they surprised us with a gift of wine

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom could have been cleaner, and because of this, the overall feeling was that the room was not so clean. There were stains in the sink, like those you get when you don't clean for a couple of days; the shower pan drain was stuck.

    The location was excellent. Very close to good restaurants, public transportation, and it's just a few minutes walk distance from the Vondelpark. The staff was really kind.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requesterd for a double bed but it was just two single beds pushed together. Maybe the walls were thin so you can hear people walking by. And no electric kettle in the rooms for making tea or coffee which would be nice especially if you go to Amsterdam during winter or cold season.

    We really liked the location of the hotel, all the time we were in amsterdam we were only walking from the hotel to all the attractions in the city. Also a lot of places and stores nearby. Staff were accommodating as well and speaks english well. I am also happy with the room they gave us which is quite big considering all the comments Ive read saying they have small rooms. Im also claustrophobic so the high ceilings of the room helped a lot. The view was nice as well

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My partner thought the cheese could have been of better quality - not supermarket processed - since we were in netherlands, home of good cheese. Coffee portions (when you had to pay for them outside breakfast hours) were VERY small for 2 euros.

    Very helpful staff who found us a nicer room as soon as they could.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean enough (stuff on floor and spots on bedding, uncomfortable sloping plastic-like mattress. Very dated facilities. Time to update!

    Excellent location (that's about all your paying for ) but not worth €100 p.n. Nice staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very cold during the daytime. We split our days into 2 halves and came back to the room to relax between excursions. The heating must have been on a timer as it wasn’t possible to get heat from the radiators during the day. Our visit was in December.

    Really comfy bed, quality toiletries provided in the bathroom

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mistake to take the semi-basement bedroom that's facing onto the street. A film crew were working in the street and set up their catering table right outside our window. Very noisy at 7am in the morning.

    The bed was lovely, very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was excellent, so near to bars, restaurants and tram. We had a room for 4 which was great for what we needed. Nothing fancy but clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chairs, blankets, couches were not clean with stains on the blanket We asked for a double bed and we got two single beds with two mattresses and two blankets. Heater wasn’t heating enough and the room was cold the whole stay We asked to change the mattress at least or change the room since it was cold, not clean enough... we got one big blanket in return and that was it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small room is REALLY small and not that good isolated so it's colder than one would expect, breakfast could be a bit better if it included some warm dishes too

    Central and quiet, close to public means of transport, close to museums, very friendly and helpful personel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is clean and bigger than we expected. The beds are very comfortable. The washroom is clean. The staffs are very helpful. Nice location and just a walking distance to the museums and Ledesplein. Will stay here if I visit Amsterdam again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a little bit noisy - we were in the sub basement level, which gave us a nice door to the back garden, but also people smoking and chatting right outside our door/window in the middle of the night. Also, the breakfast room was right above us, so lots of footsteps going on early in the morning

    Location, location, location!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were a couple travelling with our 6-month daugther. Though we asked for a double bed, we got two single beds that were put together, with a space in-between. That was not the best, but ok. The heating did not work perfectly, but I think it could also be because we were at a top floor room, which was kindly gave to us by the hotel. Great hotel with amazing staff!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent place to stay in Amsterdam, close to everything but feels secluded and peaceful! The hotel is run with kindness and dignity and the rooms are great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    small room is very small sometimes you can hear the noise from nearby rooms

    easy reach to center rich breakfast lovely garden and nice people to help clean rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top floor room. Ceiling slopes in such a way you can't sit up properly in bed. Would have preferred tea/coffee facilities in room, rather than going downstairs to use a machine.

    Breakfasts excellent, good variety. Reception staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms are quite small but that's the Amsterdam style, I guess.

    Good breakfast, perfect localization of the hotel, 24/7 reception and friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was not happy with the shower into bathroom. The shower was closed by a simple curtains. I pretend at least a plexiglass door for a 3 stars hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lower price?

    just he price is expensive, 125 euros for a day in a hotel ,, is way expensive,,, i would ve a day there for 30 to 40 pounds, staff is good, but over price dont conpensate..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night staff was terrible , the hotel pillows when i checked inside it was with spots , there is no even water in the room

    It was just better procing than other hotels , but will never try again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the light in the would flicker be bright one minute then the next it would be dim and have a flash in between.

    the position of the hotel was perfect for a nice walk in to amsterdam central

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is simple, tasty and fresh. It's served from 7:30 so it's comfortable to have it before a morning meeting. worth the 10 euro's Staff is very pleasant! Always helpful with good recommendations

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room damp and moldy. The holes in the floor by the elevator. The mold on bathroom walls, ceiling and shower curtain. No laundry service. No iron. Double mattress is actually two singles pushed together. Being locked in the building because the front desk guy had to step away? Who does that? I’ve never been held hostage in a hotel..I almost called the police.

    Despite not being helpful, the staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was on an upper floor and the bed was where the ceiling came down - a great use of space but meant I couldn't sit upright in bed, which bothered me. I ended up sitting against the side wall, but the light was right there.

    The location was great - I was looking for easy access to the US consulate (museumplein) and it was a short walk. Also easy to across the canal to lots and lots of restaurants. The room had a decent working desk.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee and tea making facilities should really be available in the rooms. As kettles are available its surely only a small step to provide the rest. Our mattress cover had a a large nasty stain only discovered on final day. Not really good enough.

    The breakfasts were very good. Exactly what a continental breakfast should be like. The staff were extremely helpful. Good to have a lift in the building.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing that spoiled out stay, yes decor a little bit dated but cleanliness compensated

    Good shower, towels changed daily, pleasant helpful staff, kettle provided on request, luggage storage, room temperature easily managed, nice garden & great location next to Vondelpark & museums

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a little scruffy but it is also very obvious this is being addressed

    The staff were amazing - they even got rid of a broken suitcase for us), excellent location for us (close to museums, cafes including the Hatd Rock Cafe, and hop on bus stop), fantastic breakfast sets you up for the day and well worth the €10!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First floor is really up very Dutch staircase. Not handicap friendly. Room is only 6 foot wide. Breakfast is European style, and plentiful. 10 steps to enter building, steps to elevator.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast offered to minimum. Should offer full without additional charge.

    Central are in London . Close to shopping for Oxford street and night life Soho. Easy and nearest public transport to all attractions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny, includes only bed, table, small closet with a safe and bathroom.. There was no elevator to the floor and the stairs are hard to climb especially with luggage. The room didn't have mini refrigerator nor teapot (for tea or coffee) The room was old and felt like hostel than hotel. Also the walls are very thin so we could hear when other guests were coming.

    The location was perfect and the staff were very nice and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was perfect, location,service,I would definetly recomend it to anyone.quite place and not far from the center of the town.Great expirience,stuff was very helpfull.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Small rooms, halved by the ceiling of the old house Bed not comfortable at all Toilets not cleaned during some days of the stay

    Very nice & helpful staff, always available Great terrace! Nice location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the decor needs cleaning up in the bedrooms and the bathrooms need modernising.

    Great location and value for money. Staff are really helpful and friendly. The bedrooms are nice and clean, don't expect the Plaza, it's more like a Holiday Inn.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was situated in a lovely quiet street and located close to the museum area . It was like staying in a bed & Breakfast. Staff were helpful and available when required.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single room was tiny, but enough for 1-2 nights, so not really a complaint.

    very convenient hotel in a serene neighborhood. Close to public transport and easy to access. Lotated just few minutes walk to Vondelpark for quick escape in the green from city life. Good value for money. Breakfast sufficient and tasty, could use some more variety but OK.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly stuff, delicious breakfast, very comfortable bed. Nice place to stay, close to the museum district, shopping and main attractions of the city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really liked the location of the hotel - nice and quiet on a residential area but still close enough to everything. Great staff. They let us check in early ~ noon since our room was ready. Very clean room and more space than I thought we would have. There was an elevator, but you still have to walk up a couple of stairs to the lobby and once we got to our floor, we had to walk down two steps. It wasn't an issue for us, but it might be for some.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    as expected for a standard room in a city, the dimensions were quite small, in fact the room was bigger in height than in width/length.

    staff friendly and helpful, breakfast of a good standard, neighbourhood quiet but close to city centre

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Small room, basically a bed and spot for standing on: No drawers, just a thin cupboard, everything has to remain in your suitcase. The shower is adequate but the lavatory is so hemmed in by walls that it's difficult to use.

    Great location, close to transport, museums, shopping and many restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Very stylish, welcoming and sophisticated. Well located to enjoy pleasures of Amsterdam Warm and helpful staff. Thoroughly enjoyable and I look forward to a repeat visit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We was disturbed all night from a noisy upstairs room which wasn't the hotels fault but a late checkout would have helped (11.30am latest they would do), they was fully booked but I have stayed in fully booked hotels many times and stayed until 1pm - this isn't a bad thing its just not an extra point basically! Upstairs room above us was very noisy (as mentioned not the hotels fault) Small single beds, but very comfortable, taller/bigger people may have an issue.

    Great price and decent location Nice staff and always on hand to help out Bathroom is pretty good for an old hotel, shower is spacious. Just book a top floor room and you will have a great stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very polite staff and clean, comfortable room. We asked for a quiet room and got it. The hotel is located near the museum district and busy square filled with restaurants, bars, shopping ,etc. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend. 24 hour reception. FYI: the property is not the best for disabled. Though there were elevators, there were also stairs before and after them which isn't helpful for someone in a wheelchair.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor is tired and uninviting and the room lacked character.

    This hotel is in a good location and offers basic accommodation but with some high levels of service. The receptionists I spoke were both extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfast at 10 Euros extra was good value. The room I had was clean and comfortable but had a feel of more hostel than hotel. For people on a limited budget this is a great value place to stay. Although the weather was not good for my stay the garden is a bonus and gives this hotel a further selling point.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Alexander traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: