Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alexander Hotel 4 stars

Oude Zeeweg 63, 2202 CJ Noordwijk aan Zee, Netherlands

#3 of 23 hotels in Noordwijk aan Zee

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1196 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 64

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In a deluxe room for this price, I would have liked to have a kettle in the room. No minibar (the small fridge was there, but empty). Breakfast too expensive (18 EUR) so I did not take it.

    Room was quite nice and large, clean and well maintained and with a balcony. Reception open 24h and hotel bar was open late. Good wifi. Check in and check out very fast, staff at the reception was efficient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    We had a very nice room towards the back, which faced onto a wonderful green garden. Very close to the sea (500m), but no sea view. Easy parking. Our room was very quiet, and we had the windows open every night. The room was very comfortable, with everything that we needed. Lots of restaurants very close by. Wonderful tulip farms close by, and 20 minutes driving from Keukenhof (if no traffic!). Included in the price was free access to an exceptionally nice gym (or probably more a spa than a gym) which is about 100m down the road. It is actually worth the walk to just go for a swim in the beautiful pool! Breakfast was really excellent! Unlimited proper coffee (i.e. from espresso machine), fresh fruit bowls, brilliant croissants, bacon, eggs, etc. Best breakfast of a two-week trip through a few countries. The hotel is one of the smallest in Noordwijk-aan-See, which was really nice. Everything is more personal, and quieter.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Glass bathroom door was partly see through and didn’t close properly. This is just a pet hate of ours. Staff at breakfast were not at all friendly and were quite distant (apart from a lovely girl who appeared to be a trainee-at least she spoke to us and smiled).

    Reception staff very welcoming and friendly. A balcony was an added bonus to enjoy the beautiful weather. Well situated for a lovely day out at Keukenhof gardens, well worth a trip.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom door does not really close and no real privacy

    Bed was very comfortable, room very clean. Restaurant very well decorated and modern. Breakfast was just right, had everything I would expect and more.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    they should indicate clearly until what time you can eat in the evening on the menu.

    The breakfast room was super cozy and had a great spread. Not a dinning hall feel but a trendy place. Also the bar, just redone into a trendy and cozy place to sit and drink with your friends. Next door is a great wellness center to which you get free access if you stay in the hotel. Also a really nice place, clean, big and plenty of stuff to do.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about

    Next to 2 larger hotels, is the Alexander Hotel, the outside of the hotel is nice, but it doesn't represent the atmosphere you feel inside. The design is great, the rooms clean and very comfortable, soft carpets in the hallway that are not run down. Breakfast was great, nice diversity in bread, meat & fish, cheese, eggs and real Dutch bread toppings, but also cereals.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Airconditioning which would only be an issue in high season

    The friendliness of staff was remarkable, both reception and breakfast room. The lobby and restaurant are modern with a twist, the rooms a little older but you only see that in carpet colour, anything is of quality and very clean. The mattrass was super comfortable, shower very strong, and great to have a balcony to the room. I would highly recommend this hotel over some of the larger ones in Noordwijk.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hand rails for steps to parking places in front of the hotel. The near the floor location of the bedroom's combination lock safety deposit box. Operation of the combination lock is more fiddly than most current models.

    Reception staff and dining room staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English. The restaurant food was very good. The bed and bedding was very comfortable. The ensuite bathroom met all requirements -- the shaving mirror was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms have carpet. Prefer wooden floors.

    Great breakfast, stylish bar and restaurant. Great Restaurant at the Beach on top. Parking free of charge at Hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fare per night is too expensive.

    Excellent hotel. Staff very friendly, clean and comfortable room. Good and rich breakfast. Sauna and turk bath available inside the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was mainly old people there and the Wellness centre had alot of rules etc what we didnt knew about. So we didnt used the wellness unfortunately. Oh and they dont have double beds so its basically beds together with a gap in the middle.

    It was close to the beach and shopping centre. And it was nice and peacefull. I love the area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weather could have been warmer but nothing the hotel could do about that.

    Helpful & friendly staff, comfortable clean & pleasant room, easy parking, location. Short & easy drive to Keukenhof tulip gardens but needed Sat. Nav.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sorry we didn't have time to check out the wellness

    * I liked absolutely everything about this hotel, and I hope it will get a much better rating on booking, because it truly deserves it. * Quite location (had a room to the garden). Rooms were very well equipped and clean, staff (reception, bar and breakfast), were all very nice and professional. * Very nice breakfast. Glass of Prosecco on the house for my birthday :) * Had dinner at the beach club - it was a place to remember: very nice design, food and staff also top.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No mineral water (still/sparkling) at breakfast, nor a fresh orange juice. I was missing a tissues box in the bathroom. It would be good to have a computer accessible for guests to allow e.g. flight check-in.

    The room was elegantly furnished, and looked as if it was freshly renovated. It was really silent (our room was on the garden side) and I slept perfectly well. Breakfast buffet was quite small, but the selection was changing each day - interesting concept if you stay a longer time, but it may not be satisfactory for some people if they stay for just one night.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stay was excellent in every respect. We were unsure what to expect given that the exterior of the hotel is very ordinary and the interior decor is a bit dated.

    We were allocated one of the best rooms with a good balcony and view which made our stay much more enjoyable than expected. Receptionist on evening arrival was extremely helpful. Really good restaurant in terms of quality of food and service. Very convenient location with onsite parking. We stayed an extra night as everything was so comfortable and convenient. Not much ambiance but would still recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant, Dylans, was very pricey and did not offer much in the way of choice of dishes. There was only one vegetarian option on the menu as a result we had to eat at a local Italian restaurant throughout our stay, although the breakfast selection was good.

    The room was very comfortable and clean and well furnished. Parking was on site and the hotel was well situated for all the local amenities. Bar staff were very pleasant as were those on reception.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived they told us breakfast was at 07.00 When we came at that time we were told we were too early. Breakfast started at 07.15. No excuse or compassion. At 07.25 the cheese was served and the scrambled egg was at 07.30 still not there. We had to leave then. At the receptiondesk the reaction was that the behavior was typical for the one who served breakfast. But also there no excuse.

    Room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The online photos of the hotel are a rather deceiving making it look a bit nearer to the beach than it actually is but this was not a big problem as it was only a short walk to the sea front. The service to top up the breakfast buffet was a bit slow on Sunday morning.

    The staff were all very welcoming and helpful, in particular the bar staff in the evenings who went to a lot of effort to make our first night in the hotel (after a long day travelling) very enjoyable. The associated spa facility is excellent and free for hotel guests. The hotel also recommended an great bike hire shop in nearby Schoolstraat and we enjoyed a great cycle ride through the sand dunes. The hotel is well situated within easy walking of the beach, town centre, bars, restaurants and public transport (bus). We would definitely recommend this hotel and happily return.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bathroom , toilet papier was too far away from the toilet could not reach it from my sitting down position---- door did not close properly just needs a few magnets.???

    Hello and Welcome to Alexander Hotel that was the first words the receptionist said to us a very warm welcome..Very very friendly staff from the receptionist to the bar staff ,waiting and cleaning Staff everything was Top both inside and outside .We are looking forward to our next visit.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was located on a busy traffic island junction and on a busy road into the resort. Was very noisy late at night with people shouting returning from the local bars, also lots of noisy cars and motorcycles revving engines and racing up the road

    The restaurant food was excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The first room we had was awful, very strong plastic smell and no sleep with open window because of noise from the street (cars and party). Glass door to the bathroom means: no privacy (sound, sight and smell) and "lights on" in the bedroom when you use toilet at night.

    Super friendly and helpful staff. Great location, 10 minutes walk to the beach. Breakfast was available even 30 mins after "official" closing time (seems they wait until the last guest finished).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't get to spend too much time in the room but overall Ok. Quite a strong smell of air fresher. Not pleasant. Would stay again. The views were nice and rooms were OK.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent rooms

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was completely occupied by non-hotel guests, so on e has to go out for dinner.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable bed and spacious room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible artificial smell in the room (204)

    Breakfast and great bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking could be beter - but the staf was always ready to help u! Fantastisch .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing to dislike.

    Lovely hotel, clean, large rooms, comfy beds.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the location! We watched the parade right from our hotel balcony. The breakfast was wonderful with many choices.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast is great. The staff are friendly especially at the reception. In the restaurant, Elliott is great

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None hotel guest Party in bar was to loud.

    Good breakfast, Nice staf, wellness andere health club excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Enough breakfast,comphortable rooms,and the staff was amazing! Receptio,bar ,breakfast and dinner staff just well done!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    STAFF

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no password-protected Wifi, only and Open access one, which to me is a bit risky.

    The room and the bafhroom were spacious and modern.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing in the minibar

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Fantastic stuff - Nice view to the North Sea - Great breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    We like the location of this Hotel within Noordwijk. It has easy access to beach, shops & public transport. We like the Hotel style, size & layout. The staff are friendly & polite. The rooms & public places are very clean & well laid out. Parking at Hotel is easy & secure. Breakfast & Dinner is excellent. Our third stay at this brilliant Hotel. We will be back!

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Couple

    We explicitely asked for a double bed during booking process, but we got two single bed with two single mattresses and two single covers. Even if they were put close side by side, this doesn't equal a real actual double bed! Very uncomfortable in the middle, not fair for an expensive 4 stars hotel

    Nice breakfast and dining room, good food quality, hotel services

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent staff who went out if their way to help my wife with a gluten free diet requirement. Nice comfortable large rooms. Easy parking. All in all first rate.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not really about the hotel, but access to the wellness center must be booked in advance, so no possibility to enjoy if you have suddenly unexpected free time.

    Friendly staff, comfortable room, good breakfast, sea-view rooms, convenient location...

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Glass door on the bathroom and lack of assistance in the way of handgrips for getting in and out of the bath/shower. I slipped and fell as the side of the bath is high.

    Close to town, free parking and use of the very good wellness centre located nearby, it had excellent facilities and a super pool.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    An amazing property. Staff could not be friendlier. Everywhere you where greeted with a good morning or good night. Each guest was greeted in their own language. Bar and restaurant all amazing.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    coming from the beach there is no possibility to dry the stuff on the balcony - no hook. our room was under the roof, 3rd floor, was really hot. no ventilator available, we kept the doors to the balcony always open.

    The hotel is near to the beach -about 350m to walk- located a a roundabout close to the centre of the village. Rooms to the backyard are really quite. Enough parking space free of charge.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I have stayed at this hotel several times in the past five years. After this last visit I will not be returning. I have noticed that one of the receptionists has an abrupt and unfriendly manner, which I had previously assumed was just the Dutch way of doing business. However, on this visit she was rude and argumentative with me when I questioned one of the charges on the bill during check-out. I have stayed at numerous hotels throughout the world on business, and I don't think I have ever encountered such an unpleasant receptionist.

    Close to town centre and good location for visiting ESTEC.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No refreshment facilities in the room.

    Staff excellent, room comfortable, food excellent.Good location.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Couple

    no tea making in room. no toaster in restaurant

    it was a comfortable stay

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea/coffee making facilities in room

    Very good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent service and very friendly staff. Nice lobby.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Heating system in our room not so good

    Beautiful place, close to sea and various restaurants. Time has stopped there, worth staying.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing spacial.

    Pleasant design, spacy in seize.Comfortabel and not overdone.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Well run hotel with lovely friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room wasn't ventilated properly, and when opening the window it was very noisy.

    Nice location. Nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    none

    location perfect beach not far from amsterdam and the airport

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Spotless, well maintained, free parking

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Spotless, quiet, free parking

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast overpriced.

    Calm, comfortable hotel. Walking distance to the beach. Beautiful beach club.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel very clean, spacious rooms, good breakfast, friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No aircon

    Location, cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The classic style, white tablecloth and carpet...old fashionate but nice !

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The facilities and the helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    booked a double deluxe room and found two twin beds pulled together with only the sheet holding them together!!!!

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little bit old-fashioned

    Staff was extremely helpfull and friendly Litlle terras at the room

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shuttle bus to estec stops at the Hotel

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Browse Alexander Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: